About DashCam Pro

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 23, 2017

Called a “personal security camera for your car” by the manufacturer, DashCam Pro allows you to record audio and full HD video while driving, so you can be confident behind the wheel.

All you need to do is set up your DashCam Pro in 3 simple steps:

  1. Place DashCam Pro’s pivot mount on your windshield and snap the suction cup into place.
  2. Pull down the wide-angle, instant view video screen.
  3. Drive with confidence knowing you can record up to 14 hours of video.

Using the built-in SD card slot, DashCam Pro can record up to 14 hours of 120º wide-angle video, and can be programmed to start upon ignition (using the included car charger). Or if your car’s parked, when it detects motion.

Other handy DashCam Pro features include image stabilization, auto adjust from light to dark, time/date stamp, picture mode, and endless loop recording. It even features six built-in infrared LED lights that allow it to record video at night!

And once it’s time to review your video, you can do so immediately using DashCam Pro’s built-in screen, or you can download the video to a computer or flash drive, where it can be saved or shared.

Compared to other dashboard cameras that can cost hundreds, DashCam Pro certainly seems tempting. But will it work as well as the competition? Is it a good value?

We had a unique opportunity to test out DashCam Pro, so we’ll provide our firsthand insights in a moment. First, let’s look at price.

How Much Does DashCam Pro Cost?

One DashCam Pro will set you back $39.99 plus $6.95 S&H. You’ll be able to purchase a second at checkout and receive free shipping.

All DashCam Pros come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges.

If you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact Inventel’s customer service department at 973-531-4421.

Compared to the competition, what will DashCam Pro’s low price get you?

DashCam Pro vs. the Competition

If you search for dashboard cameras online and sort the results by price, you’ll quickly find that there are dozens of low-priced options, many of which feature the same basic design as DashCam Pro. This includes wide-angle lenses (120º+), rotating LCD screens, night vision, anti-shake technology (aka image stabilization), auto on and off—not to mention HD resolution, which is an important factor.

Pro tip: If price is your number one factor when selecting a dashboard camera, be sure to consider DashCam Pro’s non-refundable S&H charges. This could mean that local options might provide more value, even if their base price is slightly higher than DashCam Pro’s.

Just what is high definition resolution, though?

What Does “High Definition” Mean?

You’ve probably heard the term “high definition” a thousand times, but in the case of DashCam Pro, what does this really mean? After all, the manufacturer just claims it has “full HD,” without providing a whole lot of details.

According to WhatIs, “full HD” is defined as:

“Full HDTV, also referred to as ultra-HD, true HDTV, and 1080p, is a television (TV) display technology that surpasses the video quality and sharpness of the original high-definition television (HDTV) technology, providing an image resolution of 1920 by 1080 pixels.”

Although we originally believed this is what you could reasonably expect from DashCam Pro, we were surprised by how it performed when we had a chance to test it in the real world (more about this soon!).

But think about this: Regardless of the quality of video you’re recording, if you can’t store it anywhere, it’s basically useless. How does DashCam Pro save your video?

DashCam Pro’s Video Storage Capacity

DashCam Pro doesn’t come with a built-in hard drive, so you’ll need a separate SD card, which is inserted it into a slot on the side of your DashCam Pro.

The manufacturer claims that DashCam Pro supports SD cards up to 32GB, but how much recording time does this actually give you? Is it really 14 hours?

According to DashboardCameraReviews, there’s an actual formula you can use to calculate how much video your SD card can hold. But even the simple version requires that you know your camera’s bit rate, which is something we’re not told for DashCam Pro, whether on their website or in the included instructions.

Bit rate or not, what’s it like to use DashCam Pro? Does it live up to promises made in the commercial? We’ll reveal everything next!

Our Hands-On Testing with DashCam Pro

Based on our original review, DashCam Pro’s manufacturer kindly reached out and offered to send us a couple complimentary units, so that we could test them out and see how they performed for ourselves.

Initial Impressions

When I first held DashCam Pro, I noticed it felt light, and my immediate thought was, “I wonder how much regular use this will withstand?” I also noticed that the screen had a couple (what appeared to be) air bubbles underneath it, as well as a lot of light scratching on the surface. This didn’t seem to affect the view or the performance, but I thought it was noteworthy.

DashCam Pro Bubbles & ScratchesIt was difficult to photograph, but my DashCam Pro screen had air bubbles (upper left-hand corner) and a lot of light scratches.

On the other hand, I appreciated that DashCam Pro came with everything I needed to get started, including an SD card, USB cable, car charger, instruction manual, battery, and even clips to reduce cable clutter in the car.

DashCam Pro All PartsYou won’t have to purchase any additional equipment to use DashCam Pro—or will you?

Getting DashCam Pro Up & Running

After inserting the battery, you’ll have to plug DashCam Pro into a power source using the car charger or USB cable. In order to begin recording, you’ll also need to insert the included SD card.

Important note: DashCam Pro wouldn’t recognize the SD card included with my test unit. It also almost wouldn’t come out when I attempted to remove it (I had to enlist the help of my trusty needle nose pliers). Luckily, I had a spare SD card laying around, which DashCam recognized and worked perfectly fine.

Speaking of SD cards, the ‘doors’ covering the card slot and USB port felt rather flimsy, and I could foresee them breaking with only the smallest effort, so be sure to handle with care.

DashCam Pro DoorThese ‘doors’ on DashCam Pro would break off without much effort.

I found setting up my DashCam Pro test unit was fairly straightforward, although the menu might be considered a little clunky. I was surprised to find that DashCam had some very useful features not advertised in the commercial, such as the ability to choose three different resolutions (1080p, 720p, and VGA), voice recording, still photos, the option to turn motion detection on and off, choose light frequencies, and more.

Recording Video with DashCam Pro

When recording, most important information was easily viewable on the screen, such as battery level, brightness level (daytime or nighttime), current resolution, and time/date stamp. Playing back any video was as easy as pressing the Mode button a couple times, as was deleting any unwanted footage.

DashCam Pro ScreenDashCam Pro’s screen wasn’t cluttered, but still provided all the important information I needed.

Important note: Regardless of what I tried over the course of 20 minutes, I couldn’t get DashCam Pro’s suction cup to stick to my windshield. As a result, all of the video you’ll see here was shot using my hand to stabilize the camera between my dashboard and the windshield.

Does DashCam Pro Provide Good Video Quality?

When viewed directly in DashCam Pro, the videos didn’t look too bad. However, once I had the opportunity to download them into my computer, their quality didn’t appear as great. In fact, I found that DashCam’s lowest quality setting (VGA) actually produced the best-looking results.

For me, one letdown is that you can’t export video directly from DashCam Pro, which means you’ll need to manually remove the SD card (and risk breaking that door) and insert it into your computer or an SD card reader in order to extract the video.

Regardless of my personal opinion, based on my personal experience with DashCam Pro, the quality definitely won’t have you shooting Hollywood blockbusters anytime soon. Instead, I’d liken the quality to an old VHS camcorder from the 1990s; enough detail to provide a fairly clear picture of what occurred during an accident, but not enough (for example) to read someone’s license plate of someone in front of you. Also, the audio seemed excessively loud.

Another thingI experienced was that the video is rather shaky. As we discussed above, this is because—despite my best attempts—I couldn’t get DashCam Pro’s suction cup to stick. Given the fact that it was supported from three directions though (my hand, the dashboard, and the windshield), I would have expected less shaking. Especially since the company claims the video camera features image stabilization.

Taking all of this together, would we recommend that you give DashCam Pro a try?

Bottom Line: Is DashCam Pro Right For You?

Overall, we’re thankful to Inventel (DashCam Pro’s manufacturer) for sending us a complimentary test unit. After all, this allowed us to test it firsthand, provide you with more informed insight, clear up any misconceptions, and give you our experience-based opinion. So, what do with think about DashCam Pro?

As we concluded in our original review, if price is your main deciding factor, it’s probably going to be tough to beat DashCam Pro. At this price though, you’re not going to find any frills, and it’s not exactly going to be elegant.

In addition, we’d recommend keeping your expectations realistic. While everyone might have their own perspective on what constitutes high-definition video, based on our experience, we’re not sure that DashCam Pro’s output will be much better quality than what you’d get from camcorders a couple decades ago. But at about $47 (including S&H), we think this is about the most you could ask for.

What about DashCam Pro’s 1.2-star average rating here on HighYa? Reading through, most appear to reference long shipping times and poor customer service, versus complaints about the product itself. Hopefully this is something that will be rectified soon so we can get a clearer picture of how it performs for other customers.

Speaking of which, tell us all about your experience with DashCam Pro by leaving a review below!

Editor's Full Disclosure: Two DashCam Pro units were sent to HighYa free of charge by Inventel Products, LLC for the sole purpose of testing and writing this fair review based on HighYa Staff Members' personal testing and experience of the units. No money was exchanged in return for this review and there is no material relationship between HighYa and InvenTel. This review reflects the honest experience and opinion.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 53 DashCam Pro Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 7 3 star: 5 2 star: 1 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 46 out 47 people found this review helpful

    I got scammed.

    • New York,
    • Feb 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I would have read these reviews before ordering two Dash Cams.

    Like almost everybody else, I wrote them because they never answer the phone. I asked them why was it taking so long to get the cameras. I sent them my confirmation for the purchase. Imagine my shock when I got an email from them stating they couldn't locate my order, but if I wanted to I can order another two, since they hadn't "deducted any money from my account". What a crock of crap. The money was withdrawn from my account the same day I made the purchase.

    How is it possible that these thieves and scammers are allowed to operate in the US and get airtime on national TV. Don't buy from these thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Do Not Waste Your Money

    • Delaware,
    • Mar 8, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered 2. Received about a month later. The first one - I charged the battery and set up some of the options, 1080p, 3 min recordings, etc. After a full charge I installed the unit in the car. The 2 inch screen did not work. It only had blue lines. Called CS and was told to return it. Still waiting.

    Installed 2nd cam in car with a 32G disk. It did record, but after reviewing on my computer, the AVI files are no where near 1080p. After about 30 minutes of driving the unit beeped and shut off. "NO DISK" was the error message. Checked the disk on the computer and found 15G used, 15G available. Reinstalled disk and it began to work fine. No idea why it thought it was out of memory. Also, when memory is full, it is supposed to begin re-recording over previous files. Obviously, this did not happen, it just shut off.

    While driving with the screen in the down (viewable) position, it continuously rattles and vibrates which is picked up by the microphone, making any audio recordings useless.

    Motion Detection option is useless. The car has to be turned on. The video they show on the ad where an angry guy slams his shopping cart into the front end of the car would never record, unless you went to the grocery store and left your car running in the parking lot. When the car is off, the camera is off. Totally useless.

    At night, the IR lights did not come on. The recordings were dimly lit from my headlights and random street lights. Totally unusable if I were in an accident and needed to prove what happened. I called CS again and they said to read the manual. The manual states that in the setup menu there is an option for Infra Red Lights - Auto/ Off. On the camera menu no such option exists. CS said the IR lights are automatic then. I told her no they are not, because the recordings do no have IR light on. She said I should return the camera for replacement since its not working properly. How about a return for REFUND?

    Manual is Chinese converted to English. Very confusing and inaccurate. Menus in the manual do not match the menu on the camera. Customer Support is useless. No technical support available and broken English is difficult to understand. The entire unit is cheap plastic poorly assembled and screen is wobbly. Even though the battery indicates fully charged, the unit will not stay on unless it is powered by the DC plug in the car. One of the 2 batteries would not charge at all. A dud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 38 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Dash Cam Pro

    I ordered a Dash Cam Pro online, and have not received an email, confirmation number, or any kind of correspondence from this company. I finally Googled Dash Cam Pro and found a customer service telephone number, I called it and was told by a recording that this number is not working properly and it gave another number to call. I called and after a few minutes some guy answered, I could not understand a word he was saying, but I think he said he was going to look into my order and send me an email with a confirmation number and an estimated time of delivery. None of this happened, so today I repeated the whole process and FINALLY got through again. I was told the same song and dance by another person that spoke horrible English. I'm beginning to think I got duped by this company. I wish I would have read the reviews first, since I am a disabled U.S. senior citizen living on a fixed income. I still drive my car and I wanted this camera for my personal protection in case I get hit by someone. I would have never thrown my money away on this product. Still waiting!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 37 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Rip-Off

    • Owasso, OK,
    • Feb 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the DashCam Pro on December 5, 2015, and have not yet received it, as of February 10, 2016.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 36 out 36 people found this review helpful

    This company isn't for me

    • California ,
    • Feb 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never received the cameras but the money was taken from my credit card. I called and was told over and over again that they cannot refund without approval from their manager. Well I asked to speak to a manager but of course one was never available! Do not buy from this company because you will get nothing yet they'll get your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 35 out 37 people found this review helpful

    My order

    They took money out of my bank account, and never gave me my DashCam Pro. I called them and they said that their system is down, and to call back in two hours, which I did, and they told me the same thing. I feel like its a sham, because why advertise something on TV, but not deliver the actual product, and take the customer's money. It's sad what happened to me, but I'll get to the bottom of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 30, 2016

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We sent the package 2 times, however the carrier returned it to us with the same label - "UNDELIVERED ADDRESS." We have processed today a refund in the full amount $71.92.

      We trust this resolution is satisfactory, if you have any further questions we will be more than happy to help you.

      Sincerely,

      Inventel Customer Service
      323-375-1042


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    What you see is ALL you get!

    • Virginia,
    • Mar 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Based on my experience, Iif you add your own SD card, it does record as you drive. However, you have to be satisfied with their settings which includes date, picture quality, etc. Units (I bought 2) do not let you go into setup and change settings to all the nice things they advertise. The customer service did not offer me much help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 35 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Don't try to buy it.

    I made the order two weeks ago, they mysteriously do not send the order, yet I have a confirmation number. I started with a chat window help and she was RUDE about the fact she could find the order and basically ended the chat session before I could ask more questions, Secondly, I called the number on the website and again they magically could not find the order number, yet I clearly have an email indicating my order was complete for $93 dollars (I attempted to purchase two or these with extended batteries) they gave me a run around, for several minutes. I finally had to tell them, “Forget it, cancel the order” and if i find a unauthorized charge I will sue them.

    Clearly this company is worthless in getting orders and customer service is bar none the worse.

    Buy something else. I would not even attempt to purchase from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 29, 2016

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      We deeply apologize for the inconvenience. We have processed, on this day, a refund in the full amount of $93.95 in your account.

      We trust this resolution is satisfactory and therefore, close the issue.

      Sincerely,

      Inventel


  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    I ordered the DashCam Pro and accessory in September 2015. Heard nothing from the company about when to expect delivery. On November 2, 2015, my bank account was charged by DashCam Pro. It took a while, but finally found a phone number and email to request info on delivery. I have called and emailed, to no avail about the delivery. According to the recording, I would get a response back within 48 hours. That call was made 5 days ago. It is now over a week and nothing. There was no response to my email inquiry.

    As of this writing, it is Saturday, November 14, 2015 and still no camera or response from anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Run, don't walk away from this Company.

    • Livonia, Michigan,
    • Apr 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered by phone, then they claimed they never processed the order even though they gave me a confirmation #. They said to order it on the web. I ordered it on the web and then called to confirm the order and they claimed the order never was processed even though I had a confirmation #. They said they could place the order over the Phone?. I said you better not charge my card for the other two orders. They said don't worry we wouldn't do that. Well guess what - THEY DID. When I called them they acted like gee, how did that happen? What a scam this company is.

    Then they said they would give me a few dollars off for the inconvenience. The whole ordeal was a nightmare. Do not order from this Company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 12, 2016

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Hello Cheryl, We apologize for the inconvenience. We have sent you an email regarding the issue you are having with your orders. Please check your email and let us know if there is anything else we can do for you. We hope this is a sufficient resolution to the issue.


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Overcharged & Never Received

    • Boalsburg, PA,
    • Jan 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think I've been snookered! My order was $121 but my credit card was charged around $150 and I still have not received product. I tried to call but it goes to voice-mail. I left several voicemails but no response. I also tried to email and that went unanswered. I suggest you think twice before ordering.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from InvenTel, LLC

      Dear Customer,

      We apologize for the inconvenience. We would have been more than happy to help you, please get in touch with us for any future issues at 323-375-1042 or customerservice@inventel.tv.


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for DashCam Pro!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review