About Derma Essence Cream

Derma Essence Cream claims to feature proven skincare technology that can help you look younger in just weeks by decreasing under eye wrinkles, fine lines, and dark circles; increasing collagen production, retaining moisture, and rejuvenating skin cells, without painful injections, expensive lasers, or invasive surgery.

According to the product’s website, Derma Essence works at the cellular level to “eliminate the blood-originating pigments responsible for dark circles and local inflammation around the eye area” using ingredients such as:

  • Glycerin – Claimed to help maintain skin moisture.
  • Ceramides – Claim to hydrate skin and reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Phytoceramide Cream – A “powerful” antioxidant that’s claimed to prevent free radical damage and to boost collagen production.
  • Hyaluronic Acid – Claimed to bind to moisture and plump skin.

Some claim that your eyes are the windows to your soul, but they’re also a dead giveaway as to your age. But can you realistically expect Derma Essence to help reduce the signs of under eye aging, or is it a waste of your money? Consider the following:

The Rise of Trial-Based Anti-Aging Products

First and foremost, there has been a rapid increase in the number of online-only anti-aging products sold exclusively through free trials, which is something we covered in-depth in our article titled Exposing the Widespread Scam of Anti-Aging Products & Free Trials.

While you can read the full article to gain a better understanding of the situation, for the most part, these products often make huge claims without providing any evidence to back them up, are generally of poor quality, and leave customers with an expensive product they can’t return.

Granted, this may not be what you’ll experience with Derma Essence, but it’s definitely something you’ll want to consider.

Is Derma Essence Serum Clinically Proven to Work?

According to the Derma Essence website, “skin treated with DermaEssence increased in measureable cell vitality by as much as 75%.” However, the serum’s website doesn’t provide any clinical citations to back up this claim, which leads us to believe that it may just be marketing hype.

A screenshot of Derma Essence Serum websiteThere is no proof provided for these claims on the Derma Essence Serum website.

Can Derma Essence’s Ingredients Provide Anti-Aging Benefits?

But if Derma Essence Cream isn’t clinically proven, what about its ingredients?

According to WebMD, there is insufficient clinical evidence available showing that glycerin or hyaluronic acid can provide any measurable anti-aging benefits when applied topically, outside of moisturization.

Ceramides “are a family of waxy lipid molecules” that “are found in high concentrations within the cell membrane of cells.” From a skincare perspective, ceramides are contained in the epidermis, and are responsible for maintaining moisture. Similarly, phytoceramides are a plant (versus animal)-derived ceramide that provide many of the same moisturization properties.

Interestingly, in order to back up their claims, Derma Essence’s manufacturer references five “studies” for the proprietary compounds Argireline, Lipogard, GluCare S, Pentavitin, and Trylagen PCB, which are not listed as ingredients anywhere on the product’s website. With this said, these are only promotional materials from each manufacturer, and provide no third-party verification of their claims.

Ultimately, this means that the primary benefit provided by Derma Essence Cream appears to be related to moisturization. As such, unless your skin is excessively dry, the ingredients contain in the serum almost certainly won’t provide the dramatic effects claimed by the manufacturer.

What Are Derma Essence Serum’s Customers Saying?

Derma Essence is a trial-based anti-aging product that’s only sold through independent affiliates. And for each sale of the Serum these affiliates refer, they earn a commission. Because of this, these affiliates will often resort to less-than-stellar marketing tactics such as posting fake review websites (this is one of them) that just want to trick you into buying through their marketing hype.

Outside of these, there weren’t any legitimate online customer reviews available at the time of our research. However, HighYa readers have rated similar trial-based anti-aging products very low, such as DermAktive, Nuvie Skin Care, and AbsoluteDerma, with common complaints citing high price (more about this next), failure to work, and difficulty cancelling trials/obtaining refunds.

From a company perspective, Derma Essence is manufactured by Perfect Natural Skin based out of Salt Lake City, UT, although they are not listed with the Better Business Bureau and there isn’t any additional information about them online.

Derma Essence Pricing & Refund Policy

Derma Essence Serum is only available through a 14-day trial for $3.95, for which you’ll receive a full 30-day supply of the product.

Then, after your trial has expired, you’ll be billed $84.75 for the full price of the product, and will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program. This means you’ll continue receiving a fresh supply of the cream once per month, and your credit card will be billed $84.75 plus $3.95 S&H each time.

Important note: In our experience, free trials are intended to get ahold of your credit card number, while autoship programs are intended to make sure you keep paying month after month. Because of this, we generally recommend avoiding products sold only through these methods.

Once the trial has passed, no refunds are available on the original shipment. However, all subsequent shipments come with a 14-day refund policy, less S&H charges and a 15% restocking fee, although all returned items must be unused and in original packaging.

In order to cancel your trial, request a refund, or cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-920-2813 for an RMA.

Will Derma Essence Serum Reduce Signs of Under Eye Aging?

Chopping to the point: Considering the lack of clinical evidence for the product and its ingredients, as well as the fact that it’s only sold through a free trial and subsequent autoship program, it’s our opinion that Derma Essence’s very high price is far out of line with any benefits you can expect to achieve from using it.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

86 Consumer Reviews for Derma Essence Cream

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  85
Bottom Line: 1% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 86
Sort reviews by:

  • 39 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Theft and fraud

    • Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
    • Apr 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product shouldn't receive any stars. If you are reading this before you try this product and Creme Ultime, do not buy. I did purchase a 14 day free trial. I called and canceled well before the 14 days were up, but that didn't matter to this company as they have taken $360.00 from my account. All of the four withdrawals were different amounts. I have called this company and complained wanting my money back, and all I got was “there's nothing we can do”.

    Then the lady offered for me to send the second shipment back but I will be charged $30.00-$40.00 for returning each product. This should not be happening, this is their fault because I called and canceled. I never used the product from the first shipment because of the horrible reviews.

    This is theft and fraud, this company can not do this. I have made a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and with Consumer Report. I have written this complaint and one with Google reviews as well. I will keep making complaints until this resolved to my satisfaction.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2016

      Jamie

      Find a way of getting a hold of as many unhappy users of this product as you can, then file a law suit. This will make it more public and warn more people before they suffer what you did or worse. Consumers need to stick together to get rid of the crap that is selling junk at a high price.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    What a scam

    • Riverton, Utah,
    • Mar 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband ordered "samples" for me. Horrible on my face. Made it red, dry and flaky and it hurt, Figured no big deal, I have really sensitive skin and I was out the $5.95 shipping on each product. Then today, I received an e-mail saying I had been charged $89.95 and $92.95 for "Revive Derma Completion" (I assume one for the eye cream and one for the snake serum stuff). The opt in was either non-existent or very small, as my husband didn't even notice he was signing up for an on-going supply of the gunk. Don't be scammed, do NOT sign up for a "free sample" of this stuff. I will be working through my bank for a refund as I can't find contact information for a refund anywhere. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Zero rating and beware!

    • Feb 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw this on Facebook and ordered the free trial only, but I never received any of it! This company had taken almost $300 from me, and hurt me financially. I now have a disconnect notice on my power bill for the 24th of this month because I didn't have the funds to pay it. When I called the company to get a refund, they told me they could only refund 25% of it. I explained that it was never received, and they told me to call my Post Office and make a claim with them. I did so, but my Post Office said that I could not make a claim because I didn't ship it, and the company had to do it. They also told me that they couldn't do it because they shipped it first class, and there was no insurance attached. Big RED fIag. I only received a credit for $84.95 of my over $300.00, and now have to live in this very cold weather and house for an entire week before I can pay my electric bill. I don't understand how on earth can people can get by with this? I canceled my card, canceled the cream, only to be told that they'd give me a VIP discount on more that they're sending out this week. Well, haha! I hope I do get it, and let them call my house demanding money for a product that I canceled, and I'll educate them in the southern curse word category.

    Hopefully, I can find a company that'll examine this product, so they can be shut down, because that's my plan! I want to try and do this for the thousands, if not millions, of innocent women that have order this fake product. Hopefully, we will all get our money back, or at least justice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    this is a rip off

    I ordered online samples that were offered for free except for shipping. My invoice total was $6.94. I used my debit card for this purchase. When 2 products arrived, I naturally assumed they were the samples I had ordered. On 10-10-2016 at 4 AM, my debit card was charged $94 and $96!

    I never authorized any continuing products. Upon talking with a customer service agent, I was told that those were the products and I had 30 days to cancel my order.

    I never received an invoice for that amount with the products (which I thought were the samples )or any indication that those were not samples.

    This company is a rip-off. Please be careful when ordering. I have had to cancel my debit card because of this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It is a trap!

    • Southern California,
    • Mar 18, 2015

    If you miss the 14-day trial window, you are stuck in a re-billing cycle for a worthless product that smells good.

    If you take the trial bait, immediately terminate the account until you have experienced the last drop of the product. If you choose to get the product, it will be re-shipped faster than you can use it; the bills will pile up; and you will still keep aging. If you are very lucky, you may get a little wiser and less afraid of your seniority.

    Make no mistake! This is a marketing scam of an unverified product made with cheap ingredients that only enriches a few investors.

    It is very difficult to extricate yourself from their system and highly profitable for them. No law defines the particular illegality of this scheme. It is a trap. Read other web analysis for product evaluations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 2, 2015

      Anonymous

      Yes! Total scam! When you call the number in the terms and conditions they refuse to cancel your order per the terms and conditions. Every person in the call center states they are a manager, you cannot move up the chain. They won't tell you the name of the company, they won't tell you the name of their company only that they are a 3rd party. The fulfillment center in Utah says the same thing. Then they don't ship your product until halfway through your trial period. Do not order this product from any website.

    • May 4, 2015

      Wanda Terry

      I agree. This is a total scam on attempting to cancel. On hold for 28 minutes at a time. I left my phone number and the Robo calls me back and tells me to hold for 26 minutes. They keep adding minutes to keep you holding so you give up. I have stage 4 cancer. I can't hold on forever. They also don't accept e-mails. They send you an e-mail to tell you that. The only thing left is to contact my credit card company and tell them to not pay anything else. Oh, I am well within before the 14 or 15 days, so it seems they just keep placing me on hold.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible products

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this for a week, and I broke out with hives and a rash all over my face, for about five days! I thought it was just me, so I gave it to my daughter. Well, guess what? She now has hives all around her eyes. Do not buy this, it is a scam, and it's too difficult to get your money back, and will cost you more money. VERY upset.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off

    • Philly,
    • Dec 22, 2015

    I thought I would buy this as a present for the wife. It is a complete scam. It's a run of the mill moisturizer for almost $90 for a little container. They are phishing scammers and one day this will be illegal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 7, 2016

      Bambi Brown

      What a bunch of BS. I ordered a free trial and it said no obligation. They send me an automatic one the next month and charge me 80+ dollars. When I call, the best they can do is charge me half and cancel. I am a single grandma raising a grandchild on my own and now have to find a way to pay my important bills this month like rent and food. This product made my face look like it was sunburnt, and it peeled as if it where. Way to go Derma Essence. I will tell all my friends and anyone who will listen that your product is worthless and you are a horrible company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Impossible

    • Council Bluffs, IA,
    • Feb 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    They didn't even tell me that I was enrolled in the auto ship program. It does come in fine print with the free trial (which I didn't read), so it was totally my fault, but because the shipping label was created, they refused to cancel my shipment and give me my money back, just so they could charge me for a restocking fee, and for shipping. I would never refer this to a friend, and am still using the free trial for almost a month now, hoping for a miracle I guess. There has been no change at all in my wrinkles, but I did break out on my forehead today, and I think it's from using this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 24, 2016

      Donna

      Yes it's from the product. I broke out with a rash and hives all over my face for about 4 to 5 days. Thought it was just me so I gave it to my daughter and she broke out in a rash now around her eyes. Stop using this. Very bad product!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam and rip off

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a trial. Mediocre product. Buyer beware, before you know it another shipment will show up and you will be charged an exorbitant price.

    I called customer service and demanded refund. First they offered 1/3, then I got them up to 75% refund. Finally I threatened legal action and got a number to return for a full refund.

    I am calling my bank Monday to get these charges removed. I am sending this stuff back, and I am not waiting the 45 days they say it will take to refund.

    I also apologized to the poor girl I spoke to. It wasn't her fault, she works for a scam company. Do not give up on your refund. Keep at it until they come through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Florida,
    • Jan 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a very bad way to do business.

    They offer a 30-day free trial, and 15 days later, they charged my account with a recurring charge. I did uncheck all the options when I was ordering and still got the charges. I called customer service to ask for a refund, and the person on the phone (after canceling the subscription that I did not agree with) hung up on me.

    Very rude. I want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy. Prouduct is not free.

    • Seattle WA,
    • Nov 12, 2015

    Just got another $280 taking out of my account -- this is the third time! I thought I was getting free samples with just paying shipping but that's not the case. Now that they have your credit card number they continue to pull money out of the account. I am calling the Better Business Bureau and my attorney. It is a scam, the product does not work at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 12, 2015

      Kyla,

      Cancel your cards people. They won't be able to continue to charge. 

    • Feb 18, 2016

      Wanda

      I hope and pray that your lawyer shuts this bogus place down! They've taken over $300 from me and now I've got a disconnect on my utility bill because they robbed me! I canceled my card.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 86

Write a Review for Derma Essence Cream!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review