About Derma Genetix

Published on: May 30, 2017

Derma Genetix bills itself as an injection-free solution to age-related skin issues, especially targeting facial skin health in its marketing. The product claims to be able to smooth out wrinkles, brighten your skin's appearance, and even restore the firmness your skin perhaps once enjoyed.

The makers of the product claim that 75% of the skin’s “dermal matrix” is made out of collagen, which is a protein that is responsible for your skins overall health and elasticity. They also claim that over time, our skin loses its natural ability to produce collagen, leaving it exposed to the elements, UV rays, and more.

From a basic standpoint, it looks as though the above appears to be true. WebMD shows us that our skin is made up of over 75% water and collagen, and that over time, exposure to ultraviolet light rays, repeated facial expressions, and even smoking can have an effect on our skin's health as a whole.

Derma Genetix claims to deliver a protective serum that will reinforce the the skin's elasticity and help to reduce the overall appearance of wrinkles. It stands to reason that a product that could truly deliver on these claims would potentially be extremely valuable to just about all of us at one point in our lives.

In fact, it seems as though we’re always looking for the product that brings us one step closer to the fountain of youth, especially as we begin to age and we find that our skin isn’t what it once was. Of course, none of this matters at all if we can't rely on the product to truly deliver on the claims made by its creators. To that end, let’s take a closer look at how the skin cream is actually supposed to work.

How Does Derma Genetix Claim To Work?

According to the manufacturer, Derma Genetix works by boosting the collagen and elastin already found in your skin, which they state in turn will help to smooth out your skin and reduce the appearance of wrinkles. They also claim that the product can improve the skin's hydration and nutrient density, locking in more moisture than you’d typically be able to.

Finally, they claim that the product can actually boost your protective epidermal layer, stating that this helps to protect the skin from future damage and degradation.

Collagen provides the vital support network the skin needs in order to keep its elasticity and form. Over time, the skin's ability to produce collagen is reduced, leaving you exposed to all manner of skin issues like wrinkles and dark spots. According to HowStuffWorks.com, it is indeed possible to improve our skin's elasticity, restoring some of that smoothness we once enjoyed in the process.

Based on the above, all of the claims made by the manufacturer might potentially be possible, but it ultimately depends on what crucial ingredients are used in the product’s formula that might be able to facilitate this process. In the next section, we’ll take a specific look at these ingredients in order to determine just how effective they might be for you.

What Ingredients Are Used In Derma Genetix’s Formula?

On the main website for the product, we’re told about three different active ingredients used in Derma Genetix’s formula. These ingredients are Ceramides, Retinol, and Acmella Flower Extract. What we aren’t told, however, is whether or not these make up the only ingredients used in the product itself.

They are listed under “key ingredients”, so it stands to reason that there might indeed be others used in the product, but upon reaching out to customer service, we were told that they did not have this information on hand.

Because of this, we’re only able to evaluate the product’s formula based on these three ingredients. Let’s take a look at them each individually, cross referencing the manufacturer’s claims against data taken from authoritative websites such as WebMD and Examine.com.

Ceramides

Ceramides are naturally occurring lipids, or fats, and are also a major part of our skin's overall structure. These fats play a crucial role in helping the skin keep moisture in and stay hydrated.

The makers of Derma Genetix claim that this ingredient protects and traps moisture in the skin, preventing moisture loss and providing a barrier between the skin and environmental pollutants. One French study seems to support this information somewhat, showing that Ceramides and other lipids have been shown to improve skin barrier repair.

It’s important to note here that one study does not necessarily prove that the ingredient will have this effect–just that there is some support for the claim that Derma Genetix makes about moisturizing the skin.

Retinol

Retinol is a key compound of Vitamin A, which itself is a collection of different compounds that can be found in many fruits, vegetables, eggs, whole milk, butter, fortified margarine, meat, and oily saltwater fish. It can also be artificially created in a laboratory environment.

Retinol helps the skin shed dead skin cells faster, paving the way for new cell growth and preventing the breakdown of collagen in the process. The makers of Derma Genetix claim that retinol actually replenishes collagen levels in the skin, but we were unable to find evidence of this directly.

That being said, it looks as though the substance has been used for treating skin conditions of all sorts for many years now, and the science seems to be quite clear; retinol is good for the skin overall.

Acmella Flower Extract

This extract is a traditional medicine found natively in the wilds of Brazil. Though the manufacturer claims that the extract helps to relax and rejuvenate the skin, we were unable to find any authoritative data on its effectiveness when applied topically.

Potential Derma Genetix Side Effects

Livestrong.com shows that Retinol can cause reactions such as burning, redness, itching, peeling and scaling that can start after two to three days and can sometimes last up to three months during use. Additionally, the vitamin can cause photosensitivity, meaning that the skin might be especially vulnerable to exposure to the sun.

It’s important to note here that there may indeed be other ingredients inside Derma Genetix’s formula that we aren’t told about. Seeing as customer service was not able to provide a full list of ingredients to us, we would advise caution if you are concerned about any other potential side effects that might stem from any unknown ingredients.

Derma Genetix Pricing & Return Policy

Derma Genetix is currently only available through the manufacturer as a “free trial”. This trial will cost you $4.95 for shipping and handling, and you’ll be able to try it for 14 days. If you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can call customer support at 877-719-5656 within your 14 day trial period to cancel. If you do not call, you’ll be charged $94.77 for the initial supply.

In addition, you’ll also be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Membership Program, which will send and bill you for a new supply of the product every 30 days. This will amount to a recurring fee of $94.77 plus $4.95. You can cancel this membership by calling the number listed above and requesting a cancellation.

The company states that there are no refunds on trial supplies of the product. There is a 30 day return policy in effect for any regular, unopened supply. To return an unopened product, you’ll need to reach out to customer support to obtain a Return Authorization number. Refunds do not include any shipping or handling fees.

Are There Products Similar To Derma Genetix?

A simple Google search reveals that there are literally hundreds of different anti-aging products out there in the wild today. In fact, here at HighYa, we’ve covered products with strikingly similar stated benefits, and even some that feature almost identical websites, such as the Luminescent Serum and La'Cell.

A common theme in products similar to Derma Genetix is the inclusion of Retinol in their formulas; the substance can be found in tons of different over the counter anti-aging products, likely due to the wide array of scientific data available supporting its effectiveness.

Because there are so many different products available, it can be incredibly difficult to choose based on brand name or ingredients alone. In general, though, we recommend finding products with ingredients that have been proven to be good for the skin, such as the Retinol used in Derma Genetix’s formula, as well as a wide variety of competitors.

Looking around online, we were able to find many Retinol-based products on Amazon for a fraction of the cost of Derma Genetix, some even sitting right at $20 or so. Additionally, some of these products had over 2,000 reviews, with an impressive amount of them being 5 stars.

That’s not to be taken to mean that you’re guaranteed to have a better experience with these products than you would with Derma Genetix, but it does warrant some consideration, especially because we haven’t been able to find any verified customer reviews of the latter product online.

The Bottom Line: Will Derma Genetix Really Work?

Derma Genetix looks as though it is a product that could potentially live up to the benefits it claims to have, based on everything that we’ve learned about the anti-aging cream and its formula. The presence of Retinol seems to bode well for the product when you consider that our research shows us just how effective the substance can be at improving skin health and reducing the appearance of wrinkles and other age-related skin issues.

Having said all of that, we feel that the autoship program employed by the makers of Derma Genetix might not end up being able to provide enough value to justify the nearly $100/month fee you’ll have to pay to receive the product, especially when similar (and well-regarded) Retinol-based solutions exist for a fraction of that amount elsewhere.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Consumer Reviews for Derma Genetix

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This product is no good.

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyers beware of this product. I got this product and it gave my face a rash. They said it would cost me $30.00 to send it back and also shipping and handling. If I keep it, it would cost me $50.00. The company lies to you and makes you pay for a product that no good for your face.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Hawkins, TX,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this product, and it is a scam. Not only do they charge you the full $94.77 after 14 days from the day they shipped the product (it was barely in my hands for just a few days) so there was no way I could see if the product actually works. But they charged me another fee of $93.80 on top of that. By the time I got my statement, another shipment had come in, so they had enrolled me automatic shipping.

    I called to get an Authorized Return number. They told me I could not send it back because they would just throw it away. I told her I had not even opened the box and she said they would still just throw it away. I asked to speak to the Supervisor (Catherine), and she told me they would take the return, but they had already charged me another $98.77 and $99.72. Of this amount, they would only refund $163.07. After five days, I received a refund of $99.72.

    So I paid $287.34 for a product that does not do as advertised but seems to be nothing but regular face cream.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam

    • Perrysburg, OH,
    • Aug 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had the same experience. I ordered the face cream and got both the face cream and the eye serum. I liked the cream, but not enough to pay $100 a month for it.

    I called to cancel on the 10th day or so. I was told I had to return the unused portion and pay almost $13 per product as a fee, or I could keep the products and pay half, about $50 each, or continue receiving it and pay $100 a month each. I opted for returning the products, and they charged my card immediately and sent me a number via e-mail to return it.

    I went back and re-read the terms and conditions. It says it is not necessary to return the "trial" size. When I called back, they said they don't offer "trial sizes," and they sent a 30-day supply. I argued with them and finally asked for a supervisor. They eventually said I could keep the cream and that my subscription was canceled. I've been watching my bank account carefully to make sure they don't try to slip it in.

    There is also a cream called "Nouveau Restore Skin Cream" that has the exact same promises and even uses the same model's faces. They are located in St. Petersburg, Florida. Beware of both of these. Who knows how many other fake sites they offer. Make sure you read the "terms and conditions" before ordering anything off the Internet and if you do, make sure the address is not a P O Box in St Petersburg, FL.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Biggest con I've ever seen

    • Florida,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, this site says this (PLEASE NOTE THIS, and I quote this site):

    "Derma Genetix is currently only available through the manufacturer as a “free trial”. This trial will cost you $4.95 for shipping and handling, and you’ll be able to try it for 14 days. If you’re not satisfied for any reason, you can call customer support at 877-719-5656 within your 14 day trial period to cancel. If you do not call, you’ll be charged $94.77 for the initial supply.

    In addition, you’ll also be automatically enrolled in the company’s Preferred Membership Program, which will send and bill you for a new supply of the product every 30 days. This will amount to a recurring fee of $94.77 plus $4.95. You can cancel this membership by calling the number listed above and requesting a cancellation.

    The company states that there are no refunds on trial supplies of the product. There is a 30 day return policy in effect for any regular, unopened supply. To return an unopened product, you’ll need to reach out to customer support to obtain a Return Authorization number. Refunds do not include any shipping or handling fees."

    The truth is, that is not true either. You don't get 14 days to try the product at all then call to cancel as this site says, you only get ten. I tried it for 11 and then was both billed and refused a refund, only a partial is coming back and that was due to my credit card company. The following is what they say, again I quote:

    Try it for 14 days (10-day trial plus four days added for transit time) to experience the benefits, and if for any reason our product is not for you, you may call our Customer Care toll-free at 877 -719-5656 within your 14 day trial period to cancel.

    What a bold faced lie! You ask If I'd recommend this to a friend, I wouldn't recommend this to an enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't buy this product. The "free" trial seems like a bargain and is pretty common with cosmetic companies. You try a small sample for a discounted price, and then if the product sells itself, you continue to buy. Derma Genetix takes this consumer right away from you! They say you just pay shipping to receive the first trail free, but it should say "free for 14 days." After the 14 days, they automatically charge your card the full price.

    Terrible way to do business! I will warn all of my friends to not buy this product. When I called to get a refund of the second charge to my card for $200, they offered a 25% refund? So I received $35 back and a product that doesn't show any results. Frauds. Read the tiny fine print at the bottom before you purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Virginia,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the eye cream only but received the eye cream and face cream. I was charged $4.95 and $4.77 for the trial offer on Facebook. Two weeks later my bank account was charged a $98 + change, plus a $97 + change. Yes, two charges!

    I called my bank first, and they called the customer service. Their first remark was, "you had two weeks to cancel." I told them I did not sign up for additional shipments. I consider it fraud. My bank retracted the payments. The same day, I received another package. I called the bank, and I called customer service to let them know I would be mailing it back to them with a tracking number. This is no miracle face cream, go buy Neutrogena Hydro in the blue jar; it works nicely.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Derma Genetix

    The advertisement is a SCAM. I was too taken for a fool! I was charged $94.77 and $93.80 for a cream that could have been purchased at a drug store. When I called to question the payment, customer service was extremely rude and said I had a 14-day trial. When I received the order, there was nothing stating 14-day trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • California,
    • Aug 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As others have already stated here, Derma Genetix advertises $4.95 for a sample cream, but buried in fine print its a full subscription, and you soon will be billed almost $100 for that sample bottle. Each subsequent month you will be continued to be billed that amount as well.

    Who sends a full supply labeling it as a sample? And if you aren't happy with it, you return it. So you return some cream worth $100 that will then be disposed of? Scam artists. Buyer beware and stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Never buy something that says 14 days.

    I try calling the numbers they gave me in my email and numbers my bank gave me to call, and there is no answer, or this number is no longer in service. To send back the product to have an address to send it to. They took my money out of my account, $150.00 they took from me. I had to borrow money from my relatives so I can have food in the house and to get to work. Skin cream and eye didn't work on my face. I would never spend $150.00 on makeup or skin care products. This is a fraudulent company; don't buy anything from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't get it!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam! You get the free trial and get a bill for over $200 to pay for them if you do not cancel in 14 days. I was out of the country and couldn't call, so I am out that money. The creams are like everything else you buy at the drug store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Expensive and \"free\" trial is no good

    • Thorndale, PA,
    • Jul 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the free trial face cream for $4.95 and started using the product, which I liked. The cream is thick but not greasy. After using it for a few days, so I decided to check out their website. I then found an article about the free trial and future shipments. To my surprise, I was going to be shipped a new jar of cream monthly at a cost of $100!

    I called the number on the card included in my package and was told I could keep my "free trial" if I paid an additional $20+ or I had to return the product on my dime and pay another $12.95 for them to dispose of the product. Really? I spoke to a supervisor who waived the return fee, but I still have to pay to return my "free" trial. Don't fall for this scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for Derma Genetix!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review