What Is DermaSet

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Sep 6, 2017

Advertised as equally effective for men and women of all skin types, DermaSet Skincare is an all-in-one anti-aging formula that promises to deliver a blend of 10 clinically researched botanicals and natural elements that can increase skin elasticity, firmness, and moisture retention.

The website tells us that the luxurious, nutrient-rich cream should be applied once in the morning and again in the evening, in place of your daily skin care moisturizer or other facial product. After 30 days, we’re told you’ll notice a reduction in age spots, crow’s feet, and wrinkle depth.

In addition, the company claims DermaSet will provide more even tone and texture, your skin will be soft and ultra-hydrated, you’ll boast an “overall younger looking air brushed appearance,” and the serum’s antioxidants will help counter the aging effects of stress. And with time, this stem cell renewal treatment will only penetrate your skin more deeply, thereby boosting its impact on both the face and the neck.

Just because DermaSet’s cream is clinically tested, dermatologist tested, and hypoallergenic, does this mean it will necessarily make a valuable addition to your skincare regimen?

Even then, will it help you reclaim your youth, as claimed on the website? Does it actually represent a time machine in a tube? Is it the most powerful option around? You're here for some answers, so let's dive right into the topic of stem cells.

What Role Do Stem Cells Play In the Aging Process?

In a nutshell, there are basically two types of stem cells: Adult stem cells have the ability to transform only into the same type of tissue (e.g., muscle, skin, etc.), while embryonic stem cells are pluripotent; that is, they have the ability to become any type of cell in the body. In either instance, the body uses stem cells to help maintain and repair tissue.

And while the aging process is extraordinarily complex and isn’t fully understood by the medical community, according to the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, “new evidence indicates that a progressive decline in stem cell frequency and function may significantly contribute to the conditions related to aging, but it is not known why this is.”

Consequently, it might make sense that boosting stem cell count on the skin could help alleviate some of the side effects of aging. But exactly how does DermaSet claim to do this, and what kinds of results might you realistically expect?

Taking a Closer Look at DermaSet Skincare’s Ingredients

While no formal label was listed on the website, we’re told DermaSet contains the following 10 clinically proven ingredients:

  • Apple Stem Cells
  • Edelweiss Stem Cells
  • Sea Fennel Stem Cells
  • BV-OSC
  • Argireline Extract
  • Chromabright
  • Dermaxyl
  • Matrixyl
  • Hyaluronic Acid
  • Phytoceramides

DermaSet’s Stem Cells

Like the human versions, plant stem cells are undifferentiated and can become any other cell in the organism. And according to Truth In Aging, there is some clinical evidence that edelweiss, mushroom, and apple stem cells may impact different aspects of external aging.

However, interviewed for a 2015 USA Today article, Margaret Foster Riley, a law professor and expert on food and drug law at the University of Virginia, noted:

“Stem cells that are in contact with skin are not really alive anymore, so I don’t really see how a stem cell product is working on the skin. I suppose some of them may actually work in a way that cosmetics work otherwise, because of moisturizing capability. But it’s not stem cell capability that’s working there to the degree we know how stem cells work.”

DermaSet’s Proprietary Ingredients

BVC-OSC is a proprietary form of vitamin C. In general, the Micronutrient Information Center at Oregon State University indicates this ingredient has been shown to provide antioxidant benefits for skin and prevent ultraviolet damage.

Argireline (formally known as acetyl hexapeptide) is another proprietary ingredient, although it works by inhibiting muscle contraction and reducing the appearance of related wrinkles.

Manufactured by Lipotec, Chromabright promises to inhibit tyrosinase, an enzyme that plays a key role in skin color. As a result, it’s said to help lighten areas where it’s applied.

Dermaxyl is claimed to stimulate cell communication and repair age-related skin damage, while Matrixyl (palmitoyl-pentapeptide 3) is said to stimulate collagen synthesis and skin repair.

Outside of Matrixyl, however, we didn’t encounter any double blind, placebo controlled clinical studies supporting these claims during our research.

What About the Remaining Ingredients?

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule that can hold many times its weight in water, which can help maintain moisture on the skin. Although phytoceramides (plant-derived ceramides) are lipids, they can also help keep skin hydrated and plump.

Is DermaSet Clinically Proven?

A company representative sent us a copy of a July 2017 clinical study conducted by Abich, Inc., which involved 52 participants. Over the course of six to seven weeks, each participant had a strip containing DermaSet cream adhered to their back for up to 48 hours at a time.

No adverse reactions were noted.

While this is certainly positive, it’s important to point out that the study was only designed to test DermaSet’s irritation and skin sensitization, not its effectiveness at reducing any of the signs of aging or supporting any of the other claims made by the manufacturer.

Are There Potential Side Effects With DermaSet’s Ingredients?

The product’s website indicates that DermaSet is specially formulated and doesn’t contain harsh chemicals or artificial ingredients that might irritate skin.

And according to many of the same sites listed in the ingredients section above, most won’t cause anything worse than mild, temporary redness or irritation at the application site (no specific circumstances were noted), especially for those with sensitive skin.

There have been rumors circulating online that continued Argireline use could lead to skin sagging, although Truth in Aging indicates there’s insufficient clinical evidence to support this.

However, because everyone’s skin is unique, you’ll definitely want to speak with your dermatologist about DermaSet before applying it to your face or neck.

How Much Does DermaSet Skincare Cost?

The only way to purchase DermaSet at the time of our research was through the company’s 30-day trial.

Here, you’ll pay $4.95 initial S&H and will be sent a full 30-day supply of the cream. After this time has passed, you’ll be charged the full price of $179. And from there, you’ll continue receiving a 60-day supply of DermaSet once every two months and charged $139 each time.

All initial orders come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, while recurring orders are only covered under a 15-day money back guarantee and must be sent back unopened and in the original packaging.

To request a refund or to cancel your recurring shipments, support can be reached at 855-936-8700 or support@dermasetcream.com.

What Can We Learn From DermaSet Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original article, 47 HighYa readers had given DermaSet an average rating of 3.2 stars. Here, most compliments appeared to reference effective results (reduced appearance of wrinkles, improved skin feel, etc.), professional customer service, and good value for the price.

On the other hand, common complaints frequently revolved around no results, unknowingly signing up for the full-price trial and recurring shipping program, and less-than-stellar support experiences. Granted, the bulk of these complaints were nearly two years old, so the company could have addressed many of these concerns since.

On Amazon, we encountered another 175 reviews and a similar 3.5-star customer rating for DermaSet, with many of the same compliments and concerns found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, DermaSet (parent company Hollywood Skincare, Inc.) had 26 reviews, 64 closed complaints, and no rating with the Better Business Bureau as of 9/6/17. There, most of these complaints revolved around being charged the full price after the initial trial.

Given everything we’ve discussed, how can you decide whether or not DermaSet has earned a place in your home?

Our Final Thoughts About DermaSet Skincare

While there are perhaps thousands of different anti-aging creams available in the marketplace, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends that simple sunscreen (SPF 30 or higher) and moisturizer might be the best place to start.

If they don’t work after a few weeks, the AAD recommends focusing on a product that targets your concerns, whether wrinkles, dark spots, or anything else. You’ll also want to buy a product formulated for your skin type, such as oily, sensitive, and so forth, and that’s within your budget.

When browsing products, look for those advertised as hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic or non-acnegenic, as well as those from companies that feature a consumer hotline for questions.

Finally, they emphasize that, “anti-aging skin care products deliver modest results. You cannot get the results of a facelift from a cream.” As a result, keep your expectations realistic.

How does all of this line up for the product in question? On the one hand, DermaSet came with mostly positive online customer feedback, a 60-day refund policy (for initial orders only), a customer service phone number and email address, and several ingredients that had clinical support for their efficacy related to moisturization and the inhibition of muscle contraction.

On the other hand, it was one of the highest priced anti-aging products the HighYa team has reviewed to date, and the only way to purchase it was through a trial that automatically rolls into a recurring shipping program.

Looking for the most value? As consumers ourselves, we think speaking with your doctor about options specifically formulated to address your concerns, your skin type, and your diagnosis is the best way to go.

In the meantime, be sure to read nine home remedies for getting rid of dark circles and how to treat wrinkles, creases, lines, and folds.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

53 Consumer Reviews for DermaSet Skin Care

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 62% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • Highly recommended for women after their 40s

    I love the product. They gave me the product for 30 days free of charge. I was able to try it and notice the results. I would definitely recommend the product to everyone over 40. No product can stop aging, but we have to do our best to preserve our skin as much as we can.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Wonderful

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Oct 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using it and was planning to cancel after the trial, but the product turned out to be really good and I kept it. After I noticed the improvements around my eyes, I decided that the price is reasonable and I can make the sacrifice for my face.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awesome product. Great results.

    • New York,
    • Oct 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this as a present about 8 months ago. I've been so happy with the results I've seen on my face. My skin feels so healthy and much firmer. It's not greasy. It's easy to apply. It's part of my daily regiment. After I used it, I subscribed myself and couldn't be happier. I think my skin really improved. It's very different than other products I've used in the past.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Never knew about the botanical stem cells

    I don’t typically write reviews, but in my case, the product worked. I know it really depends on the skin type. I recommended it to some friends, and it didn't work for them. That is why I will give it only 4 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    For men too

    • Hallandale, FL,
    • Oct 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 68, and I don’t see anything wrong in using anti-aging products. I found about DermaSet through a friend. The price of the product is not for everyone, but I think that taking care of my wrinkles at such a late stage of my life is just as important as eating good and exercising.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Personal opinion about DermaSet

    Knowledgeable and friendly staff. I really noticed a difference in my skin with the anti-aging cream. As a vegan, I was looking for a high-quality, cruelty-free lotion. One of my vegan friends recommended DermaSet. It is exactly what I was looking for. I have very dry skin, and it moisturizes well without leaving your skin oily. My go-to lotion!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My favorite product!

    I’m using the product since 2015. I recommend it to everyone! It makes the skin feel so hydrated and tight. Thank you DermaSet!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My little secret

    • Los Angeles, California,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This cream is great. I'm using it for more than 2 years and I can't be happier. I am 74 so there aren't many creams that could really make a difference at this point. I love DermaSet and I would recommend it to everyone who can afford to pay a little more for a skin care product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The company is misleading

    • Durham, NC,
    • Aug 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very upset with this company and consider them greatly misleadIng. Therefore I do not recommend ordering this product.

    It was advertised as a 30-day trial, and all I was supposed to pay was shipping. When I received my package, a regular size was inside along with a piece of paper that stated that if I did not return the product within 30 days from the order date, I will be billed $179.00! In order for them to accept the return, you must also call the company for a processing number and if not returned within 21 days, pay "additional charges." Now I will have to pay to ship it back. What a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 10, 2017

      Nick, Director

      Hello,

      We apologize for your experience, but we have to say that there is no misleading. We are informing you about the conditions of the trial BEFORE it starts. We are letting you know multiple times. One time on the "terms and conditions". If you miss them, we encourage you to read them on the "thank you" page and another time on the "thank you" email you received.

      We also have a video explanation of the trial on our website. In case you still missed it, we add this letter to protect people from unwanted charges. Also, if you read carefully, you will find out that even after we charge you $179 for the full price of our two-month supply, you can still get a full refund up to 60 days. I apologize, but this is plenty of time for you to determine whether you like our product or not. We are offering a trial so everyone can try the full-size cream.

      We are working VERY HARD to satisfy our customers spending hours and hours improving our customer service, terms and conditions, and products. Also according to your record on file, it shows that we even extended your time so you don't get charged.

      Thank you for your time!

    • Aug 22, 2017

      Kim Looney

      I don't know what planet you are on but no one extended my time! I sent your product back the next day after I received it in the mail. I paid for the shipping both ways. My comment still stands that you are misleading and I do not plan to ever do business with you again!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Satisfied!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 45 years old, and I have a very good looking skin. I have a very stressful job so in the past six months I started noticing little wrinkles around my eyes. I'm not a big fan of the surgeries and Botox, so I chose to try DermaSet. I am happy with it, and so far it works for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Best birthday present

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this for my mom for her birthday. So far she really likes the product and can see the results. It took some time to see the results but after a week or so things changed and she really is enjoying it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for DermaSet Skin Care!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review