What Is DermaSet?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Sep 6, 2017

Advertised as equally effective for men and women of all skin types, DermaSet Skincare is an all-in-one anti-aging formula that promises to deliver a blend of 10 clinically researched botanicals and natural elements that can increase skin elasticity, firmness, and moisture retention.

The website tells us that the luxurious, nutrient-rich cream should be applied once in the morning and again in the evening, in place of your daily skin care moisturizer or other facial product. After 30 days, we’re told you’ll notice a reduction in age spots, crow’s feet, and wrinkle depth.

In addition, the company claims DermaSet will provide more even tone and texture, your skin will be soft and ultra-hydrated, you’ll boast an “overall younger looking air brushed appearance,” and the serum’s antioxidants will help counter the aging effects of stress. And with time, this stem cell renewal treatment will only penetrate your skin more deeply, thereby boosting its impact on both the face and the neck.

Just because DermaSet’s cream is clinically tested, dermatologist tested, and hypoallergenic, does this mean it will necessarily make a valuable addition to your skincare regimen?

Even then, will it help you reclaim your youth, as claimed on the website? Does it actually represent a time machine in a tube? Is it the most powerful option around? You're here for some answers, so let's dive right into the topic of stem cells.

What Role Do Stem Cells Play In the Aging Process?

In a nutshell, there are basically two types of stem cells: Adult stem cells have the ability to transform only into the same type of tissue (e.g., muscle, skin, etc.), while embryonic stem cells are pluripotent; that is, they have the ability to become any type of cell in the body. In either instance, the body uses stem cells to help maintain and repair tissue.

And while the aging process is extraordinarily complex and isn’t fully understood by the medical community, according to the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, “new evidence indicates that a progressive decline in stem cell frequency and function may significantly contribute to the conditions related to aging, but it is not known why this is.”

Consequently, it might make sense that boosting stem cell count on the skin could help alleviate some of the side effects of aging. But exactly how does DermaSet claim to do this, and what kinds of results might you realistically expect?

Taking a Closer Look at DermaSet Skincare’s Ingredients

While no formal label was listed on the website, we’re told DermaSet contains the following 10 clinically proven ingredients:

  • Apple Stem Cells
  • Edelweiss Stem Cells
  • Sea Fennel Stem Cells
  • BV-OSC
  • Argireline Extract
  • Chromabright
  • Dermaxyl
  • Matrixyl
  • Hyaluronic Acid
  • Phytoceramides

DermaSet’s Stem Cells

Like the human versions, plant stem cells are undifferentiated and can become any other cell in the organism. And according to Truth In Aging, there is some clinical evidence that edelweiss, mushroom, and apple stem cells may impact different aspects of external aging.

However, interviewed for a 2015 USA Today article, Margaret Foster Riley, a law professor and expert on food and drug law at the University of Virginia, noted:

“Stem cells that are in contact with skin are not really alive anymore, so I don’t really see how a stem cell product is working on the skin. I suppose some of them may actually work in a way that cosmetics work otherwise, because of moisturizing capability. But it’s not stem cell capability that’s working there to the degree we know how stem cells work.”

DermaSet’s Proprietary Ingredients

BVC-OSC is a proprietary form of vitamin C. In general, the Micronutrient Information Center at Oregon State University indicates this ingredient has been shown to provide antioxidant benefits for skin and prevent ultraviolet damage.

Argireline (formally known as acetyl hexapeptide) is another proprietary ingredient, although it works by inhibiting muscle contraction and reducing the appearance of related wrinkles.

Manufactured by Lipotec, Chromabright promises to inhibit tyrosinase, an enzyme that plays a key role in skin color. As a result, it’s said to help lighten areas where it’s applied.

Dermaxyl is claimed to stimulate cell communication and repair age-related skin damage, while Matrixyl (palmitoyl-pentapeptide 3) is said to stimulate collagen synthesis and skin repair.

Outside of Matrixyl, however, we didn’t encounter any double blind, placebo controlled clinical studies supporting these claims during our research.

What About the Remaining Ingredients?

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule that can hold many times its weight in water, which can help maintain moisture on the skin. Although phytoceramides (plant-derived ceramides) are lipids, they can also help keep skin hydrated and plump.

Is DermaSet Clinically Proven?

A company representative sent us a copy of a July 2017 clinical study conducted by Abich, Inc., which involved 52 participants. Over the course of six to seven weeks, each participant had a strip containing DermaSet cream adhered to their back for up to 48 hours at a time.

No adverse reactions were noted.

While this is certainly positive, it’s important to point out that the study was only designed to test DermaSet’s irritation and skin sensitization, not its effectiveness at reducing any of the signs of aging or supporting any of the other claims made by the manufacturer.

Are There Potential Side Effects With DermaSet’s Ingredients?

The product’s website indicates that DermaSet is specially formulated and doesn’t contain harsh chemicals or artificial ingredients that might irritate skin.

And according to many of the same sites listed in the ingredients section above, most won’t cause anything worse than mild, temporary redness or irritation at the application site (no specific circumstances were noted), especially for those with sensitive skin.

There have been rumors circulating online that continued Argireline use could lead to skin sagging, although Truth in Aging indicates there’s insufficient clinical evidence to support this.

However, because everyone’s skin is unique, you’ll definitely want to speak with your dermatologist about DermaSet before applying it to your face or neck.

How Much Does DermaSet Skincare Cost?

The only way to purchase DermaSet at the time of our research was through the company’s 30-day trial.

Here, you’ll pay $4.95 initial S&H and will be sent a full 30-day supply of the cream. After this time has passed, you’ll be charged the full price of $179. And from there, you’ll continue receiving a 60-day supply of DermaSet once every two months and charged $139 each time.

All initial orders come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, while recurring orders are only covered under a 15-day money back guarantee and must be sent back unopened and in the original packaging.

To request a refund or to cancel your recurring shipments, support can be reached at 855-936-8700 or support@dermasetcream.com.

What Can We Learn From DermaSet Customer Reviews?

As of 8/8/2018, 102 HighYa readers had given DermaSet an average rating of 4.0 stars. Here, most compliments appeared to reference effective results (reduced appearance of wrinkles, improved skin feel, etc.), professional customer service, and good value for the price.

On the other hand, common complaints frequently revolved around no results, unknowingly signing up for the full-price trial and recurring shipping program, and less-than-stellar support experiences. Granted, the bulk of these complaints were nearly two years old, so the company could have addressed many of these concerns since.

On Amazon, we encountered another 175 reviews and a similar 3.5-star customer rating for DermaSet, with many of the same compliments and concerns found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, DermaSet (parent company Hollywood Skincare, Inc.) had 26 reviews, 64 closed complaints, and no rating with the Better Business Bureau as of 9/6/17. There, most of these complaints revolved around being charged the full price after the initial trial.

Given everything we’ve discussed, how can you decide whether or not DermaSet has earned a place in your home?

Our Final Thoughts About DermaSet Skincare

While there are perhaps thousands of different anti-aging creams available in the marketplace, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends that simple sunscreen (SPF 30 or higher) and moisturizer might be the best place to start.

If they don’t work after a few weeks, the AAD recommends focusing on a product that targets your concerns, whether wrinkles, dark spots, or anything else. You’ll also want to buy a product formulated for your skin type, such as oily, sensitive, and so forth, and that’s within your budget.

When browsing products, look for those advertised as hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic or non-acnegenic, as well as those from companies that feature a consumer hotline for questions.

Finally, they emphasize that, “anti-aging skin care products deliver modest results. You cannot get the results of a facelift from a cream.” As a result, keep your expectations realistic.

How does all of this line up for the product in question? On the one hand, DermaSet came with mostly positive online customer feedback, a 60-day refund policy (for initial orders only), a customer service phone number and email address, and several ingredients that had clinical support for their efficacy related to moisturization and the inhibition of muscle contraction.

On the other hand, it was one of the highest priced anti-aging products the HighYa team has reviewed to date, and the only way to purchase it was through a trial that automatically rolls into a recurring shipping program.

Looking for the most value? As consumers ourselves, we think speaking with your doctor about options specifically formulated to address your concerns, your skin type, and your diagnosis is the best way to go.

In the meantime, be sure to read nine home remedies for getting rid of dark circles and how to treat wrinkles, creases, lines, and folds.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 120 DermaSet Skin Care Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 81 4 star: 16 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 120
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    It's a Scam

    • Maryville MO,
    • Aug 5, 2015

    This company is running a scam. They do not tell you that they will take $179.00 out of your account. The minute you request the free 30 day trial package for $4.95, they will put a hold on your money the very second you give them any info. I personally think that's a scam in my mind. I was not even told this when I called Nadine at customer service, who hung up on me. So I called back the very next day to get these charges off my card, and again Nadine answered and was very very rude. I had to go to the bank and close my debit card and fill out paper work to stop them from billing me. So don't order from this company if you don't want to do all this crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 31 people found this review helpful

    The worst product and they SCAM you

    • Cinnaminson, NJ,
    • Aug 25, 2015

    They do not tell you that you have return and cancel in 30 days or they charge you. This is the worst product and a TERRIBLE company and a disgrace to good vendors. I will tell everyone I know how bad they are.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Deception and Rudeness

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Feb 10, 2016

    I ordered the 30-day trial and paid the shipping fees. Without my consent, they sent me two 30-day trials, with $179 invoice, if I did not cancel and return the second set. I went online and found out that, despite celebrity endorsements, the overwhelming opinion is that DermaSet is overvalued, and the marketing is deceptive. The word "scam" is probably a fairly accurate appraisal, and was the most common adjective used to describe this company. I called their customer support to arrange for a return, and was treated very rudely by them. Deception and rudeness are a guaranteed way to sink a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 30 people found this review helpful

    The product is just another skin lotion.

    • White Plains, NY,
    • Dec 9, 2015

    I was using the product religiously and I don't see any difference. I am using it for almost 3 weeks and don't see a difference at all. I signed for a sample to check it out but what I got is a charge in my credit card for $179..I did not order it. It is on trial. It is really a scam to charge for the lotion. At the outset I did not know that price. Really surprised. It is a game they play.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Don't order DermaSet

    • New York,
    • Oct 21, 2015

    They said 30 days free trail, but have to return used product within 3 weeks if not satisfied. The price is $170, and it's not for a two months supply, just a month only. I never recommend the cream. Unhelpful customer service people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Simple Lotion and False Claims

    • Fremont, CA,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    First of all, this is a scam! Never did they state it would cost over $100.00 if you kept it. I noticed it did nothing for my face. Neutrogena works so much better. I talked to a professional and she explained to me that it's a waste of my money, that most of the ingredients are filler and it's just clogging my skin. Say what?! Then they make it difficult to return, so they can keep your money. This is a scam. Let's get the word out. This is very disappointing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Scam & Celebrities don't know they're being used

    • Aug 22, 2015

    Someone tweeted to actress Tricia Helfer (Ascension, Battlestar Galactica and more) an ad with her "endorsing" this stuff tonight. She had no idea what it was and was surprised to the point of saying "WTF"!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Aug 16, 2015

    What they don't tell you upfront is that if you don't return the unused potion of the 60-day supply in 30 days at your own expense, they will charge the card you used to pay the shipping $179 dollars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Product is no use. Customer Service is a sin.

    After many months of using the product, hoping to see something, any slight change would have kept me going – nothing. OK, well, gave it a fair shot, BUT, and this is the kicker, when I tried to cancel future delivers, was totally ignored until I threatened to stop payment and report to BBB. Then they send a very condescending e-mail stating they never received my cancel request. They sent me an e-mail with return/refusal directions and a number that if not used within 3 weeks would be come invalid and refund would be rejected. Of course, as they planned, I'm sure the delivery came 3 weeks and one day. To the day, one day after the precious number 'expired'. So now I have the product, have told my credit card company to refuse all further charges and have all the e-mail backup to proved my claim. Don't do it folks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the price

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jul 27, 2015

    Rip off. It's that plain and simple. I'll stick to Strivectin.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    This company is a total scam, from product to payment. After nearly a year later they send me a collection of 214.00. I called and they said it was a mistake, that it was only 35.00. The order date does not match and the order number does not match. They also told me that there was a collection through a New York based company which I never received one notice from. Now I got one from Billco Collection Agency. Dermaset does not remember the New York based company. My product was returned and I have email confirmation of my return and they are still trying to get money from me. Total scam, do not use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 29, 2017

      Company Response from DermaSet

      I apologize you did not read our terms and conditions. We have it everywhere on our website, on the order page, in the emails we send and we also include it with the package. I am sorry you overlooked it.


Showing 1-11 of 120

Write a Review for DermaSet Skin Care!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review