What Is DermaSet

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Sep 6, 2017

Advertised as equally effective for men and women of all skin types, DermaSet Skincare is an all-in-one anti-aging formula that promises to deliver a blend of 10 clinically researched botanicals and natural elements that can increase skin elasticity, firmness, and moisture retention.

The website tells us that the luxurious, nutrient-rich cream should be applied once in the morning and again in the evening, in place of your daily skin care moisturizer or other facial product. After 30 days, we’re told you’ll notice a reduction in age spots, crow’s feet, and wrinkle depth.

In addition, the company claims DermaSet will provide more even tone and texture, your skin will be soft and ultra-hydrated, you’ll boast an “overall younger looking air brushed appearance,” and the serum’s antioxidants will help counter the aging effects of stress. And with time, this stem cell renewal treatment will only penetrate your skin more deeply, thereby boosting its impact on both the face and the neck.

Just because DermaSet’s cream is clinically tested, dermatologist tested, and hypoallergenic, does this mean it will necessarily make a valuable addition to your skincare regimen?

Even then, will it help you reclaim your youth, as claimed on the website? Does it actually represent a time machine in a tube? Is it the most powerful option around? You're here for some answers, so let's dive right into the topic of stem cells.

What Role Do Stem Cells Play In the Aging Process?

In a nutshell, there are basically two types of stem cells: Adult stem cells have the ability to transform only into the same type of tissue (e.g., muscle, skin, etc.), while embryonic stem cells are pluripotent; that is, they have the ability to become any type of cell in the body. In either instance, the body uses stem cells to help maintain and repair tissue.

And while the aging process is extraordinarily complex and isn’t fully understood by the medical community, according to the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, “new evidence indicates that a progressive decline in stem cell frequency and function may significantly contribute to the conditions related to aging, but it is not known why this is.”

Consequently, it might make sense that boosting stem cell count on the skin could help alleviate some of the side effects of aging. But exactly how does DermaSet claim to do this, and what kinds of results might you realistically expect?

Taking a Closer Look at DermaSet Skincare’s Ingredients

While no formal label was listed on the website, we’re told DermaSet contains the following 10 clinically proven ingredients:

  • Apple Stem Cells
  • Edelweiss Stem Cells
  • Sea Fennel Stem Cells
  • BV-OSC
  • Argireline Extract
  • Chromabright
  • Dermaxyl
  • Matrixyl
  • Hyaluronic Acid
  • Phytoceramides

DermaSet’s Stem Cells

Like the human versions, plant stem cells are undifferentiated and can become any other cell in the organism. And according to Truth In Aging, there is some clinical evidence that edelweiss, mushroom, and apple stem cells may impact different aspects of external aging.

However, interviewed for a 2015 USA Today article, Margaret Foster Riley, a law professor and expert on food and drug law at the University of Virginia, noted:

“Stem cells that are in contact with skin are not really alive anymore, so I don’t really see how a stem cell product is working on the skin. I suppose some of them may actually work in a way that cosmetics work otherwise, because of moisturizing capability. But it’s not stem cell capability that’s working there to the degree we know how stem cells work.”

DermaSet’s Proprietary Ingredients

BVC-OSC is a proprietary form of vitamin C. In general, the Micronutrient Information Center at Oregon State University indicates this ingredient has been shown to provide antioxidant benefits for skin and prevent ultraviolet damage.

Argireline (formally known as acetyl hexapeptide) is another proprietary ingredient, although it works by inhibiting muscle contraction and reducing the appearance of related wrinkles.

Manufactured by Lipotec, Chromabright promises to inhibit tyrosinase, an enzyme that plays a key role in skin color. As a result, it’s said to help lighten areas where it’s applied.

Dermaxyl is claimed to stimulate cell communication and repair age-related skin damage, while Matrixyl (palmitoyl-pentapeptide 3) is said to stimulate collagen synthesis and skin repair.

Outside of Matrixyl, however, we didn’t encounter any double blind, placebo controlled clinical studies supporting these claims during our research.

What About the Remaining Ingredients?

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule that can hold many times its weight in water, which can help maintain moisture on the skin. Although phytoceramides (plant-derived ceramides) are lipids, they can also help keep skin hydrated and plump.

Is DermaSet Clinically Proven?

A company representative sent us a copy of a July 2017 clinical study conducted by Abich, Inc., which involved 52 participants. Over the course of six to seven weeks, each participant had a strip containing DermaSet cream adhered to their back for up to 48 hours at a time.

No adverse reactions were noted.

While this is certainly positive, it’s important to point out that the study was only designed to test DermaSet’s irritation and skin sensitization, not its effectiveness at reducing any of the signs of aging or supporting any of the other claims made by the manufacturer.

Are There Potential Side Effects With DermaSet’s Ingredients?

The product’s website indicates that DermaSet is specially formulated and doesn’t contain harsh chemicals or artificial ingredients that might irritate skin.

And according to many of the same sites listed in the ingredients section above, most won’t cause anything worse than mild, temporary redness or irritation at the application site (no specific circumstances were noted), especially for those with sensitive skin.

There have been rumors circulating online that continued Argireline use could lead to skin sagging, although Truth in Aging indicates there’s insufficient clinical evidence to support this.

However, because everyone’s skin is unique, you’ll definitely want to speak with your dermatologist about DermaSet before applying it to your face or neck.

How Much Does DermaSet Skincare Cost?

The only way to purchase DermaSet at the time of our research was through the company’s 30-day trial.

Here, you’ll pay $4.95 initial S&H and will be sent a full 30-day supply of the cream. After this time has passed, you’ll be charged the full price of $179. And from there, you’ll continue receiving a 60-day supply of DermaSet once every two months and charged $139 each time.

All initial orders come with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, while recurring orders are only covered under a 15-day money back guarantee and must be sent back unopened and in the original packaging.

To request a refund or to cancel your recurring shipments, support can be reached at 855-936-8700 or support@dermasetcream.com.

What Can We Learn From DermaSet Customer Reviews?

As of 8/8/2018, 102 HighYa readers had given DermaSet an average rating of 4.0 stars. Here, most compliments appeared to reference effective results (reduced appearance of wrinkles, improved skin feel, etc.), professional customer service, and good value for the price.

On the other hand, common complaints frequently revolved around no results, unknowingly signing up for the full-price trial and recurring shipping program, and less-than-stellar support experiences. Granted, the bulk of these complaints were nearly two years old, so the company could have addressed many of these concerns since.

On Amazon, we encountered another 175 reviews and a similar 3.5-star customer rating for DermaSet, with many of the same compliments and concerns found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, DermaSet (parent company Hollywood Skincare, Inc.) had 26 reviews, 64 closed complaints, and no rating with the Better Business Bureau as of 9/6/17. There, most of these complaints revolved around being charged the full price after the initial trial.

Given everything we’ve discussed, how can you decide whether or not DermaSet has earned a place in your home?

Our Final Thoughts About DermaSet Skincare

While there are perhaps thousands of different anti-aging creams available in the marketplace, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends that simple sunscreen (SPF 30 or higher) and moisturizer might be the best place to start.

If they don’t work after a few weeks, the AAD recommends focusing on a product that targets your concerns, whether wrinkles, dark spots, or anything else. You’ll also want to buy a product formulated for your skin type, such as oily, sensitive, and so forth, and that’s within your budget.

When browsing products, look for those advertised as hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic or non-acnegenic, as well as those from companies that feature a consumer hotline for questions.

Finally, they emphasize that, “anti-aging skin care products deliver modest results. You cannot get the results of a facelift from a cream.” As a result, keep your expectations realistic.

How does all of this line up for the product in question? On the one hand, DermaSet came with mostly positive online customer feedback, a 60-day refund policy (for initial orders only), a customer service phone number and email address, and several ingredients that had clinical support for their efficacy related to moisturization and the inhibition of muscle contraction.

On the other hand, it was one of the highest priced anti-aging products the HighYa team has reviewed to date, and the only way to purchase it was through a trial that automatically rolls into a recurring shipping program.

Looking for the most value? As consumers ourselves, we think speaking with your doctor about options specifically formulated to address your concerns, your skin type, and your diagnosis is the best way to go.

In the meantime, be sure to read nine home remedies for getting rid of dark circles and how to treat wrinkles, creases, lines, and folds.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

105 Consumer Reviews for DermaSet Skin Care

Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 69 4 star: 12 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 105
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Short term use thus far

    • Kansas,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I began using this product about two months ago. I have noticed some benefit in the reduction of fine lines on my neck. I plan to continue to use the product hoping to see more prominent necklines reduced.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you for the nice words Irvilene! We appreciate your feedback!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    DermaSet

    • Flushing, NY,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to say, this is one of the best antiaging creams I have ever used. I say this because after I wash my face at night, whatever is in the cream stays, and my skin is soft, smooth and the moisture is locked in, it still keeps that healthy glow when I first put it on, hiding all my imperfections, and the lines around my cheeks and jaws are tightened.

    Usually with other creams, after I wash my face, the imperfections are back, and the lines around my cheeks are jaws appear again, my skin is without glow, until I use the cream again. Using DermaSet once, it actually stays, and each day it improves.

    I only wish I could afford this, it is quite costly for me, but if you can afford, it is well worth it.

    Undergoing any skin procedure, it would cost much more and the side effects may be detrimental. It is something to think about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you, Brenda! Your feedback means a lot!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Approved

    • Craig, MO,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like it because it's light and not heavy. It takes a small amount and goes on smoothly. It has a pleasant fragrance and makes the skin feel very soft. I have mentioned this product several times to my church friends and told them how much I like it. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thanks Owen!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    DermaSet is AMAZING!

    • Danbury, CT,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought DermaSet for my husband, and it started working almost immediately. He was looking younger and healthier within a few days of using the product. I would definitely recommend this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you, Bonnie! We appreciate your comment!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Maryland,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an amazing product! I noticed great results in just a few short weeks. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking to see real results! I was skeptical at first but read great reviews. This product proved to do exactly what it claims.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thanks Kathleen!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Flushing, MI,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using the product completely until gone, I do find that it did very little for me. Because I’m 75 years old I think a product needs to be a little bit stronger to help a woman's skin in this age group.

    Most companies do not do much for women over 70. All the models in the magazines and on TV "older women" are usually not much past 50 years old...and have been professionally made up to look great. It does not really truly represent the average 70 and over aged women.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you for your feedback, Carolyn! We will take your comment into consideration and work further to produce marketing materials that will better fit different age groups.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    DermaSet

    • Rye, NH,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the product for about a month, and I can honestly say that I noticed a difference. I would recommend this product for others to try; I think they would see a difference. It is a bit pricey but if one can afford it, go for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you Carol! Don't forget that as a loyal customer, you can always call us to get a special discount for life!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best I've used

    • California,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried three different but similar products for a month each. They were all very good and did a good job. I found DermaSet to be the easiest to use. It was absorbed quickly and doesn't leave any residue on my face. If it wasn't so expensive, I would keep using it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Hello Mary! Thank you for your feedback! Please don't forget to reach out and ask our customer service representatives for a special discount. You can also send us your before and after pictures and get a free tube!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    A good surprise

    • New York City, NY,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my doubts about the product and all the feedback. Out of curiosity, I tried the product and to my surprise, it worked. I would now recommend the cream. Too bad it doesn't last long.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you, Paul!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good product

    • Oceanside, CA,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like this product. It is kind of expensive but I noticed a difference in my skin. I would order it all the time if I could afford it. I have been in the sun my entire life, mostly without sunscreen, so I have a lot of skin damage. After using DermaSet for one month or two months, I think I'm seeing improvement in my skin.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you for your feedback, Beth! Your feedback means a lot. We are glad that DermaSet was able to help you with your skin damage. Call us in and we will give you a special discount!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Dublin, CA,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried more products than I can count to help improve the firmness of my skin. DermaSet has by far been the most effective product I have used to accomplish this goal. My skin is firmer, including the all-important eye area. I can honestly say that for me it does what it promises. I would definitely recommend it to others. My only concern is the price. This factor may prevent me from continuing to use. We’ll see.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 14, 2018

      Nick, Director

      Thank you, Karen! We appreciate your feedback. As a happy customer, we want you to be able to afford your DermaSet! Please call us in and we will give you a very special discount!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 105

Write a Review for DermaSet Skin Care!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review