About Dial Vision

By HighYa Staff

Using sliding lens technology developed by optical scientists in Oxford, England, Dial Vision promises to deliver customizable focus control, so you’ll have “crystal clear vision” near or far. You’ll even be able to adjust each eye independently, giving you the ability to “customize your prescription.”

Made of a flexible, high-quality material that’s scratch resistant, we’re told that Dial Vision’s frames won’t break and that their adjustable nose bridges can provide even more comfort.

Whether you’re thinking about buying Dial Vision glasses as a backup pair (in the inevitable instance that you lose or break your current ones), or as an everyday option for around the house, what can you realistically expect? Will they work as well as the manufacturer claims, or will they have you cross-eyed with frustration? First, let’s find out how they operate.

How Does Dial Vision Work? Is It a Unique Product?

If you search online for adjustable glasses, you’ll quickly find that this concept originated with a product named the Alvarez Dual Lens, invented by a company named Adlens. As mentioned in the Dial Vision commercial, Adlens in based out of Oxford, England.

Here’s what little we’re told about how these adjustable non-prescription eyeglasses work:

“Each lens is comprised of two wave-shaped polycarbonate plates that are able to glide across one another [and change] the power of the lens. The power of each lens can be adjusted to suit your vision, all at the turn of a dial … for reading, distance and everything in between.”

Taking a look at Adlens’ glasses and comparing them to Dial Vision’s, there doesn’t appear to be any meaningful differences. In other words, they both seem to feature the same basic design (although Adlens offers a complete line of eyewear in different colors and designs) and operation.

However, there are at least a couple other popular options within the adjustable eyeglasses market, including companies like FocusSpecs, as well as another essentially identical option called Instant 20/20 (we’ll talk more about this one in a second).

How do these other options stack up against Dial Vision from a price perspective?

How Much Does Dial Vision Cost?

One pair of Dial Vision eyeglasses will cost you $19.99, plus $7.99 S&H. You’ll also be able to purchase a pair of Signature Series Dial Vision Sunglasses with UV protection by paying an additional $9.99 fee.

Either way, your order will include a professional eye chart and protective hard case, along with a 30-day refund policy (less S&H, or course) and a 5-year guarantee.

To make good on this refund policy or to process a warranty claim, you can call BulbHead (a division of Telebrands) customer service at 855-235-2095.

What Are Customers Saying About Adjustable Eyeglasses Like Dial Vision?

Although Dial Vision was a brand new product without any online customer reviews yet, the Instant 20/20 glasses we mentioned above appear identical, so we should be able to glean some good information from its online reviews. What’d everyone say?

On Amazon, Instant 20/20 had 428 customer reviews and a 3.1-star average rating. Most compliments claimed that the lenses were adjustable and actually helped improve their vision while wearing them. On the other hand, common complaints cited:

  • Unable to dial in the lenses to see clearly.
  • Lenses are easily scratched. In fact, more than one reviewer claimed that even using the eyeglasses as advertised (turning the dial to move the lenses) resulted in scratching.
  • Limited viewing angle.
  • Make you look silly, so you might be self-conscious wearing them in public.

Now, it’s worth emphasizing that we’re not told who manufactures Instant 20/20, so there’s no way to know if you’ll experience the same with Dial Vision. Given their identical appearances and similar price points, however, we think it’s worth keeping at the top of your mind when placing your order.

Let’s talk a little more about customer feedback before coming to a conclusion about Dial Vision.

What Do We Know About Dial Vision’s Manufacturer?

Dial Vision is manufactured by Telebrands based out of Fairfield, NJ. Originally founded in the early 1980s by A.J. Khubani, Telebrands has grown to become the largest ASOTV company in the industry, with popular recent products like Pocket Hose Ultra, Hurricane 360 Spin Mop, Lazer Bond, and many more.

Like most other ASOTV products (regardless of the manufacturer), these tend to come with lower-end customer reviews; usually 2 stars or less. Most often, these ratings are the result of common complaints like poor quality, poor performance, and poor customer service.

Without any customer reviews yet, it’s impossible to know if this is what you’ll encounter with Dial Vision. Again though, we’d recommend keeping it in mind.

Will Dial Vision Help You Achieve “Crystal Clear Vision”?

Based on customer feedback for nearly identical products, it appears you have s solid chance of experiencing improved eyesight using Dial Vision (only while they’re being worn, of course). On top of this, Dial Vision eyeglasses are meaningfully less expensive than some of the mainstream competition.

Pro tip: Just keep in mind that, according to one Amazon reviewer, Dial Vision seems to have a “spherical power range between -6.0 D to +3.0 D.” So, if your eyesight is outside of this range, you might not find them very useful.

Does this mean they’ll provide an equal value, though? Perhaps. Just be sure to factor in Dial Vision’s steep, non-refundable S&H charges, which is especially important if you purchased the Signature Sunglasses.

Did you find Dial Vision’s adjustability useful, or was it a waste of money? Give us the details in your review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 52 Dial Vision Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 0 1 star:  49
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • Crooks

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ya'll are a scam, ya'll are a scam, took my money and have not recevied my glasses. Crooks, scammers. I'm going to sue you for fraud if you don't send me my glasses, you crooks. I'm angry, do you understand, I'm going to sue ya'll for everything I can get.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Straight to the bin

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two pairs to use while watching TV. It took over 6 weeks for those to arrive. I followed the instructions to the letter and after trying for over an hour without success they went straight to the bin. They look and feel really cheap, I would be surprised if the cost more than a few cents to manufacture. I honestly feel conned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • California,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst product I have ever purchased. Cheap is cheap, but really...how about advertising something that works? I opened the package up. Followed the instructions and presto. NOTHING! SURPRISE SURPRISE. Your company and product are a joke. In the long run though, you are the ones laughing all the way to the bank. You found another fool to fall for your scam. Needless to say, there in the trash can.

    P.S. This is an honest opinion and not a false statement. It's an honest one. Maybe your company should try being honest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not used yet

    • New York,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had just ordered them and usually, I check reviews but did not do so this time. From what I read, it was a mistake buying them. Also, eBay sells them for $10.00 and free shipping! I will probably throw them in the trash if they do not work as I usually don't buy junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not just bad - a SCAM

    • Florida,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The glasses that I received were a total waste of money. I was going to use them for certain functions at work so I didn't care how "ugly" they were, but they are cheap junk. If they had worked, I would have accepted the rest of their failings. The lenses themselves are blurry no matter how much you dial, it's not going to get any better.

    As others have said, it looks like you were going to get these from the US - a scam in itself. Now, to send them back you have to pay to ship them back to China. Don't buy. All a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I believe this is a scam

    • USA,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received these glasses today, inside the cheap plastic bag were the container case. It had been open. There was no case or pouch. I pulled the glasses out, put them on, covered one eye, turned the little knob, and NOTHING. I tried the other eye and same thing, NOTHING. I took them off and noticed one side was 1/4 inch away from the nose bridge and the other side wasn't. I put them back on to see if there was something I could do or was doing wrong. They don't work, they gave me a used pair, I paid to much, and the company that it shipped from is in China. The phone number listed here is a 2 to 3 hour stop gap measure to make you give up trying to get your money back. But I am claiming postal fraud if I don't get my money back in 3 days from today.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Junk junk junk!

    • Anderson, IN,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I could have given my $25.00 to a person struggling or needed a bite to eat or anything, or let someone find it on the street to make their day. This was is the worst purchase I ever made in my life. You can't see anything out of these so-called glasses, one big blur is all I could come up with, and the rollers just moved the blur around. TOTAL waste. And then to pay shipping to get them returned...kiss that $25 goodbye! I will give them to someone as a joke and we will just have a hell of a laugh, that's what they are to me - one big joke!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Dial a piece of junk

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The plastic these are made of has to be the cheapest possible. I could get one side almost to where I needed it, to be able to see a little, but the other side simply stayed fuzzy.

    Someday this may be a great idea, if they work and are made of something better. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Absolute rubbish

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only need glasses for reading, but I could not attain clear vision for either eye at any setting or distance.

    Just like looking through an empty coke bottle!

    Eventually, the right-hand adjusting screw came out completely and it took 30 minutes to reassemble the two lenses and the screw back into the groove.

    I can’t believe those video reviews which sing its’ praises; the only explanation could be that I inadvertently purchased a poor imitation.

    Mine was shipped from China.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scratched lenses, flimsy construction, can't adjust properly, thought I was buying here in America, came from some country

    • Cumberland, RI,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst purchase I ever made. Glasses came out of the package with scratched lenses, so flimsy, can't adjust them properly, lens coming away from glasses. I can't return them because I ripped open the packaging. I would not recommend anyone buy these glasses. I paid almost $30. They look like they have been used because of the condition. I contacted the company who said they might have gotten damaged in transit. They told me to send them back, but I have to pay the return shipping. My own fault for not reading their return policy. I would definitely not recommend these glasses to anyone. Terrible purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the postage to mail them.

    • Springfield, IL,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I ordered them, I suspected that I would be dissatisfied with them. I was right. They are useless. The frames are made of a form of polyethylene plastic...extremely thin and flimsy. The lenses are clear plastic mounted on some sort of screw track inside the frame. The screw rack doesn't feel like it operates the same on both sides. They didn't work at all for me. It was a total waste of nearly $25.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for Dial Vision!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review