Doc Socks Review: Will They Really Help Your Aching Feet?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Doc Socks are one-size-fits-all compression socks that claim to help prevent plantar fasciitis, limit swelling and reduce pain for those who are on their feet often.

The sock claims to use seven different compression zones to help improve circulation and support your foot. The site claims that a leading podiatrist designed the socks but it did not give any additional information as to who the podiatrist is.

As you consider buying these socks, you’ll want to get a clear understanding of how it works and what science says about its claims. Once you have those bits of information sorted out, it will help you know if these socks are right for you.

In our review, we will begin by addressing those two main areas – how the socks work and what science says about compression technology – and then discuss the sock’s pricing.

How Doc Socks Work

As we mentioned a few seconds ago, these socks have seven different compression zones and there are three different levels of compression amid these zones.

But, from what we can tell from photos, those seven areas are:

  • Back of ankle
  • Upper heel
  • Lower heel
  • Mid-underfoot
  • Front underfoot
  • Top of the foot
  • Front of ankle

Each one of these areas plays a role in your foot’s mobility and bears a lot of when you walk, sit down or stand up. Therefore, compression in these areas, the thinking goes, will promote foot health through increasing circulation and reducing possible pain points through added support.

Because the socks have a universal fit, you won’t have to worry about choosing the right size. They should stretch out to conform to the shape of your foot.

What Does Science Say About Compression Socks?

It might be hard to believe that a pair of socks has the ability to strengthen circulation and help support your feet. While you might be skeptical, science actually has a lot to say about the effectiveness of compression socks.

They Can Help With Aches, Swelling, and Circulation

Here’s a snippet from WebMD’s breakdown of what happens when you wear compression socks (keep in mind that they’re describing socks that go up to the top of your calves):

“Compression stockings can keep your legs from getting tired and achy. They can also ease swelling in your feet and ankles as well as help prevent and treat spider and varicose veins. They may even stop you from feeling light-headed or dizzy when you stand up. Because the blood keeps moving, it's harder for it to pool in your veins and make a clot.”

What’s tough about this description is that it’s not speaking specifically about your feet. Rather, it focuses on the legs. This creates a little discontinuity since Doc Socks only go around your foot and ankle.

While there is a little bit of a disconnect between what Doc Socks do and what WebMD says, we do believe the site presents sufficient evidence that compression gear can increase blood flow and reduce swelling.

Not a Lot of Evidence for Plantar Fasciitis Prevention

Now, the other main piece here is that the site claims the socks can prevent plantar fasciitis, a painful condition that pops up where connective tissue attaches to your heel. WebMD notes that the best way to alleviate the condition is rest and pain medication.

Based on this, we believe that compression socks aren’t a cure for plantar fasciitis; rest, pain medication, and, in some cases, treatment from a doctor are.

As far as prevention goes, the articles we read listed various things you can do to keep your plantar fascia in good shape. Shoe inserts and heel cups are two solutions, as they keep your foot’s arch in good shape and reduces plantar fascia stress.

The Jacksonville Orthopaedic Institute recommends doing various exercises to help strengthen your plantar fascia:

  • Wear proper fitting shoes
  • Scrunch a towel with your toes
  • Do daily calf stretches
  • Run on flat surfaces

Doc Socks Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of publishing, Doc Socks offered the following pricing tiers:

  • Two pairs: $52
  • Three pairs: $69
  • Five pairs: $95
  • Seven pairs: $119

After we checked these prices and tried to leave the page, Doc Socks offered us an additional 10% off our purchase.

We checked out Amazon to find compression socks specific to the feet and ankle that received at least four stars from customers and found that prices ranged from $9.99 to $18.99.

The site says that you have 30 days to return your socks if you don’t like them. To complete your return, you’ll need to send the socks along with your order number, name, and address, phone number, an explanation as to why you’re returning your socks and whether you want a refund or an exchange.

The fine print says that your refund won’t cover the shipping and handling you paid to get the socks or return them. Also, you have to send the socks back along with the original packaging and any instructions or paperwork that came with your socks.

The Bottom Line: Reviewing the Pros and Cons of Doc Socks

Based on our research of these socks, prevailing research on plantar fasciitis and pricing of comparable products on Amazon, we believe that Doc Socks have specific pros and cons.

First, the positives. We believe that compression socks are effective in promoting circulation and reducing swelling, two things that are good for feet, especially if you’re on them all day and are looking for extra support.

Second, the refund policy for these socks is decent in the sense that, if you choose to return them, there’s a good chance shipping cost will be around $8 or less for USPS shipping, which means the risk isn’t all that high if you end up not liking them.

The downside to the socks and compression socks, in general, is that we weren’t able to find any conclusive evidence that said compression socks of this type can prevent plantar fasciitis. Experts note that choosing the right shoes and wearing shoe inserts are an effective way of maintaining your foot arch and, in turn, promoting plantar fascia health.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 25 Doc Socks Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 25
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Sedona, AZ,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One size does not fit all. I'm an active woman in my early seventies and I never do reviews. However, it took extraordinary effort to put on the socks and when I needed to remove them I was just a hair-trigger short of removing them with scissors because I could not get them off myself. They seemed okay while I wore them but after what I went through to get them on and off it is not worth it. I sent them back the next day. Also, the shipping and handling charges (over $10.00) are non-refundable, plus you have to pay the return shipping as well. This is not disclosed. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Sketchy

    • Leesburg, FL,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never got the socks because my credit card wouldn't release the funds to them. I tried 2 cards, and neither one would release payment. I find this very strange as I shop on FB often. Definitely a red flag to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Debunked

    • Portland, ME,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am returning these tubes that hurt my feet in every possible configuration that I have worn them in the past four days. The open toe is great for flip flops or sandals until the rib on the toe open-end rides over the ball of the foot and rides toward the heal pressing on the toe joints and creating uneven walking pressure. I walk 2-4 miles a day and this is not a helpful feature. Wearing tie shoes I tried these tubes under and over regular socks and had the same ride up the foot experience. There is no way to keep the toe opening at the toe unless you are sitting still. Watching TV with these socks on is the only positive experience of the pressure value. If a person is bedridden or confined to minimal mobility it may be a great comfort to wear these tubes. But as soon as I get out of the chair and walk to the kitchen the tube rides up over the ball joints and puts uneven pressure on the very painful places I am seeking comfort for. If you buy these socks don't plan on walking very far or being very active. If you are an active person don't waste your time or money trying them. AGAIN, I learned my lesson to ignore online hype promos for "unbelievable miracle" products. Haven't been lucky yet!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not helping

    • Allen, TX,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very disappointed with these socks. They don’t have compression in them. They are too big- you can’t have "one size fits all" for women and men. I should not have wasted my money on another scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    The socks are not fit for purpose and there is no after-sales service

    • Emerald, Victoria, Australia,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two pairs of socks but in spite of the "one size fits all" claim, the socks would not go on my husband's feet. Inside the box and hidden from view the plastic bag with the socks in it was labeled size S-M.

    When I contacted Hush socks they offered me two options - a 25% discount (so I could keep the useless socks but they would give me some money!) OR I could pay the shipping costs plus something they called a 10% restocking fee.

    Basically, there is no after sales service, and a "take it or be ripped off or pay more" approach. There has been no chance to test the usefulness of the product as it doesn't fit and they don't want to refund or exchange. I will be letting lots of people know what a SCAM this is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Sizing

    • Georgia,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received the socks for my husband and I and they are definitely not one size fits all. My husband who has size 11 feet was not able to get his on. I had to help him and it took about 5 minutes per foot to get on. Once they were on, by the end of the day I did see noticeable less swelling in his ankles. I just don't know if it's worth the wrestle every day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    They really do work

    • Mississippi,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was like anyone else, at first, skeptical. I believed in the ideology of the socks so I decided to put my money into a pair and got a good deal for a second pair, so I got two pairs. Am I glad I did.

    I was self-confined to bed when I got them. When I finally decided to wear them, I didn't give them the credit they deserved. I thought the changes were due to other things that I wanted to do.

    If it weren't for the socks, I wouldn't have gotten up and done those things I had been wanting to do.

    And the more I was up doing, the more I wanted to do.

    They didn't take away my scoliosis, but now I can move around without all the pain.

    They didn't cure my fibromyalgia, yet now I am not as fatigued as I once was.

    And I am sure it has been beneficial with my diabetes. I lost weight with the increased activity. I no longer have high blood pressure. And my cholesterol even improved. So no more blood pressure and cholesterol medicine.

    I recommend them to all my friends, family, and anyone who wants pain relief. I get looks from people like their just being kind to the crazy lady. But they're going to realize how crazy they must have looked to me for not believing me when they finally do try them.

    As I can afford them, I want to get them for my family and friends for holiday and birthday gifts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Socks

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi, after receiving the order, we are not happy at all. The socks are very small and you cannot put them on at all. I wish we could return them. I think it is a total hoax. I think they are made for children, with very small feet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Doc sock works for me

    I found this ad on Facebook and for 20 bucks I figured why not? I didn’t have the problem they advertised it for, the plantar thing but I had recently started having hip problems after sitting for over 30 minutes when I stood up it would hurt like heck in my left hip and leg for about 30 steps then stop almost like numbness combined with pain, so I tried them out and by day 3 last night I sat for 45 minutes driving home and when I got up I could barely feel the pain. I almost expected it as I got out of my car then realized there was no numbness, nothing, so I’m going to keep wearing them and see what happens. Almost afraid to stop and see if the pain comes back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Worst scam ever!

    • Connecticut,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I could not believe these socks when I got them. They are just a piece of junk! There is no way they can stop ANYTHING. I can't even feel any compression at all. In the process of returning them right now! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    They don't fit many sizes.

    • Delaware,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid $88 for 6 pairs, for me and for my dad. They are too big for me. There is zero compression. I wear a woman's size 7. They are too small for my dad. They don't even go halfway up his foot. He wears a men's size 13. The actual range of sizes should be listed before spending so much money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 25

Write a Review for Doc Socks!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review