Doc Socks Review: Will They Really Help Your Aching Feet?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Doc Socks are one-size-fits-all compression socks that claim to help prevent plantar fasciitis, limit swelling and reduce pain for those who are on their feet often.

The sock claims to use seven different compression zones to help improve circulation and support your foot. The site claims that a leading podiatrist designed the socks but it did not give any additional information as to who the podiatrist is.

As you consider buying these socks, you’ll want to get a clear understanding of how it works and what science says about its claims. Once you have those bits of information sorted out, it will help you know if these socks are right for you.

In our review, we will begin by addressing those two main areas – how the socks work and what science says about compression technology – and then discuss the sock’s pricing.

How Doc Socks Work

As we mentioned a few seconds ago, these socks have seven different compression zones and there are three different levels of compression amid these zones.

But, from what we can tell from photos, those seven areas are:

  • Back of ankle
  • Upper heel
  • Lower heel
  • Mid-underfoot
  • Front underfoot
  • Top of the foot
  • Front of ankle

Each one of these areas plays a role in your foot’s mobility and bears a lot of when you walk, sit down or stand up. Therefore, compression in these areas, the thinking goes, will promote foot health through increasing circulation and reducing possible pain points through added support.

Because the socks have a universal fit, you won’t have to worry about choosing the right size. They should stretch out to conform to the shape of your foot.

What Does Science Say About Compression Socks?

It might be hard to believe that a pair of socks has the ability to strengthen circulation and help support your feet. While you might be skeptical, science actually has a lot to say about the effectiveness of compression socks.

They Can Help With Aches, Swelling, and Circulation

Here’s a snippet from WebMD’s breakdown of what happens when you wear compression socks (keep in mind that they’re describing socks that go up to the top of your calves):

“Compression stockings can keep your legs from getting tired and achy. They can also ease swelling in your feet and ankles as well as help prevent and treat spider and varicose veins. They may even stop you from feeling light-headed or dizzy when you stand up. Because the blood keeps moving, it's harder for it to pool in your veins and make a clot.”

What’s tough about this description is that it’s not speaking specifically about your feet. Rather, it focuses on the legs. This creates a little discontinuity since Doc Socks only go around your foot and ankle.

While there is a little bit of a disconnect between what Doc Socks do and what WebMD says, we do believe the site presents sufficient evidence that compression gear can increase blood flow and reduce swelling.

Not a Lot of Evidence for Plantar Fasciitis Prevention

Now, the other main piece here is that the site claims the socks can prevent plantar fasciitis, a painful condition that pops up where connective tissue attaches to your heel. WebMD notes that the best way to alleviate the condition is rest and pain medication.

Based on this, we believe that compression socks aren’t a cure for plantar fasciitis; rest, pain medication, and, in some cases, treatment from a doctor are.

As far as prevention goes, the articles we read listed various things you can do to keep your plantar fascia in good shape. Shoe inserts and heel cups are two solutions, as they keep your foot’s arch in good shape and reduces plantar fascia stress.

The Jacksonville Orthopaedic Institute recommends doing various exercises to help strengthen your plantar fascia:

  • Wear proper fitting shoes
  • Scrunch a towel with your toes
  • Do daily calf stretches
  • Run on flat surfaces

Doc Socks Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of publishing, Doc Socks offered the following pricing tiers:

  • Two pairs: $52
  • Three pairs: $69
  • Five pairs: $95
  • Seven pairs: $119

After we checked these prices and tried to leave the page, Doc Socks offered us an additional 10% off our purchase.

We checked out Amazon to find compression socks specific to the feet and ankle that received at least four stars from customers and found that prices ranged from $9.99 to $18.99.

The site says that you have 30 days to return your socks if you don’t like them. To complete your return, you’ll need to send the socks along with your order number, name and address, phone number, an explanation as to why you’re returning your socks and whether you want a refund or an exchange.

The fine print says that your refund won’t cover the shipping and handling you paid to get the socks or return them. Also, you have to send the socks back along with the original packaging and any instructions or paperwork that came with your socks.

The Final Word: Reviewing the Pros and Cons of Doc Socks

Based on our research of these socks, prevailing research on plantar fasciitis and pricing of comparable products on Amazon, we believe that Doc Socks have specific pros and cons.

First, the positives. We believe that compression socks are effective in promoting circulation and reducing swelling, two things that are good for feet, especially if you’re on them all day and are looking for extra support.

Second, the refund policy for these socks is decent in the sense that, if you choose to return them, there’s a good chance shipping cost will be around $8 or less for USPS shipping, which means the risk isn’t all that high if you end up not liking them.

The downside to the socks and compression socks, in general, is that we weren’t able to find any conclusive evidence that said compression socks of this type can prevent plantar fasciitis. Experts note that choosing the right shoes and wearing shoe inserts are an effective way of maintaining your foot arch and, in turn, promoting plantar fascia health.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 11 Doc Socks Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good but fragile

    • Idaho,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I worked a desk job for 12 years so the first week at a very physical factory job my body was miserable! By the start of the second week, I had my Doc Socks and I couldn't be happier! The pain from my plantar fasciitis, bad knee and sciatica almost completely disappeared. Just to be sure I didn't just need time for my body to adjust to the new job, I have intermittently gone without them and regret it every time. My co-workers ask why I have a spring in my step after 8 hours on the line and I happily tell them my "secret."

    Even though I only hand wash mine, I did run into the issue noted in some other reviews where they unravel. I also found that some of the white "pressure threads" break, causing some irritation. I wear them over a thin pair of regular sucks and fortunately, I'm good with needle and thread, but I agree they could be a little sturdier. I recommend them to everyone and just bought 3 more pair!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No help

    • Millville, NJ,
    • Apr 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wore it for 8 days straight and found no relief at all for my feet. I am Diabetic 2 and feet hurt most of the time. Would not buy again, too expensive. I feel that a lot of seniors are wasting money they cannot afford in the hopes of a little relief.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Hate that they’re toeless!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found relief in foot and leg aches, but I hate that they are toeless. Every time I put on shoes, they fold up under the foot. I’ve tried them over socks, under socks, and without other socks. It happens no matter what. They’d be better off making them in sizes, with toes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    MS sufferer

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have MS and have been having feet issues pretty bad for almost 2 years. The doctors have tried different meds, but its just part of the disease and I live with it. The last few weeks the tingling, numbness, and pain are pretty painful. My best friend bought these for me and said to give them a try. The day I put them on I had some relief. At this point in my progression of my MS, even if I get 10 % relief it's a real breakthrough. I got a 40% difference. I was able to walk more, sleep better. Now it's only been a day but the true test will be after one week.

    Thank you for the little relief, I feel like a human again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Pain-free after 3 days!

    • Florida,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three pairs about a month ago and was amazed that my Plantar Fasciitis heal pain went away after three days and have not had any pain in the past three weeks! I'm morbidly obese, have weak ankles and a lot of swelling which has reduced tremendously by wearing the socks. So far they've washed well and kept their shape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great

    I put my Doc Socks on and wore them to work for the first time today and my feet felt the best they have in a long time. I was very surprised by the difference they made. I have type 2 diabetes and my feet and toes feel the tingling and pins and needles, and these definitely helped me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to get something that would help with swelling and circulation in my feet after being on my feet all day. One size fits all really doesn’t fit, but the real problem was that they started to unravel the minute I started to put them on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful product

    • New York,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These socks feel wonderful. They keep my feet warm and definitely help with circulation and pain. I have bought and gifted several pairs. I had an order issue and was helped generously - prompting my review. Thank you Doc Socks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Doc Socks fall apart

    • Ogden, UT,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have foot pain and neuropathy in my feet. I was so hoping that these socks were an answer to some of my feet problems. I never got a chance to find out. I put on the first pair and as I was putting them on, the socks started to unravel. Black thread everywhere. They ended up in the wash and when they came out, they were a big ball of thread which I had to untangle from the other clothes in the washer. I thought that maybe it was just a faulty sock. So I opened the new pack and put them on. They did exactly the same thing. Unraveled immediately. This time I didn't wash them.

    I still have 4 more pairs but have not opened the packages. So, they may be a scientific discovery that may work, they may not. They just need to improve the design and/or the quality and they may have something. I don't know. What I do know is I probably will not try these again. With the 30-day moneyback guarantee, I am too late to send back. I have seen other reviews with exactly the same problem. I would not recommend these at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 16, 2019

      Roseann I.

      Completely agree with the above comment. My socks are unraveling from a gentle wash in cold water. I too had to untangle lots of black thread from other clothes. Do not buy them. I wish I could send these back.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Question

    • Delaware,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just recently bought 3 pairs. I have only worn them once and didn't notice anything. I will try again. I do have one question, why are they made in China? I really try not to purchase anything made in China for two reasons. The first being quality and the second being that a lot of things manufactured there are by slave labor. Even if they do help, I will not purchase any more, which I was going to if they worked I was going to get some for the whole family.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy

    • West Point, PA,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After spending more money than I wanted on socks, I broke down and made the purchase after reading great reviews. I am quite happy with how my feet feel wearing these socks but terribly disappointed in how they hold up. After only two washes, they are falling apart. The seams are coming apart, making it very difficult to put socks over these socks because they bunch up. Also, the black threads are entangled in my laundry, which is time-consuming to separate. P.S. I have never put them in the dryer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2019

      janisl h.

      I need to send them back, but no one answers at 855 861 5238! Can anyone help me with a return?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a Review for Doc Socks!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review