Doc Socks Review: Will They Really Help Your Aching Feet?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Doc Socks are one-size-fits-all compression socks that claim to help prevent plantar fasciitis, limit swelling and reduce pain for those who are on their feet often.

The sock claims to use seven different compression zones to help improve circulation and support your foot. The site claims that a leading podiatrist-designed the socks but it did not give any additional information as to who the podiatrist is.

As you consider buying these socks, you’ll want to get a clear understanding of how it works and what science says about its claims. Once you have those bits of information sorted out, it will help you know if these socks are right for you.

In our review, we will begin by addressing those two main areas – how the socks work and what science says about compression technology – and then discuss the sock’s pricing.

How Doc Socks Work

As we mentioned a few seconds ago, these socks have seven different compression zones and there are three different levels of compression amid these zones.

But, from what we can tell from photos, those seven areas are:

  • Back of ankle
  • Upper heel
  • Lower heel
  • Mid-underfoot
  • Front underfoot
  • Top of the foot
  • Front of ankle

Each one of these areas plays a role in your foot’s mobility and bears a lot of when you walk, sit down or stand up. Therefore, compression in these areas, the thinking goes, will promote foot health through increasing circulation and reducing possible pain points through added support.

Because the socks have a universal fit, you won’t have to worry about choosing the right size. They should stretch out to conform to the shape of your foot.

What Does Science Say About Compression Socks?

It might be hard to believe that a pair of socks has the ability to strengthen circulation and help support your feet. While you might be skeptical, science actually has a lot to say about the effectiveness of compression socks.

They Can Help With Aches, Swelling, and Circulation

Here’s a snippet from WebMD’s breakdown of what happens when you wear compression socks (keep in mind that they’re describing socks that go up to the top of your calves):

“Compression stockings can keep your legs from getting tired and achy. They can also ease swelling in your feet and ankles as well as help prevent and treat spider and varicose veins. They may even stop you from feeling light-headed or dizzy when you stand up. Because the blood keeps moving, it's harder for it to pool in your veins and make a clot.”

What’s tough about this description is that it’s not speaking specifically about your feet. Rather, it focuses on the legs. This creates a little discontinuity since Doc Socks only go around your foot and ankle.

While there is a little bit of a disconnect between what Doc Socks do and what WebMD says, we do believe the site presents sufficient evidence that compression gear can increase blood flow and reduce swelling.

Not a Lot of Evidence for Plantar Fasciitis Prevention

Now, the other main piece here is that the site claims the socks can prevent plantar fasciitis, a painful condition that pops up where connective tissue attaches to your heel. WebMD notes that the best way to alleviate the condition is rest and pain medication.

Based on this, we believe that compression socks aren’t a cure for plantar fasciitis; rest, pain medication, and, in some cases, treatment from a doctor are.

As far as prevention goes, the articles we read listed various things you can do to keep your plantar fascia in good shape. Shoe inserts and heel cups are two solutions, as they keep your foot’s arch in good shape and reduces plantar fascia stress.

The Jacksonville Orthopaedic Institute recommends doing various exercises to help strengthen your plantar fascia:

  • Wear proper-fitting shoes
  • Scrunch a towel with your toes
  • Do daily calf stretches
  • Run on flat surfaces

Doc Socks Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of publishing, Doc Socks offered the following pricing tiers:

  • Two pairs: $52
  • Three pairs: $69
  • Five pairs: $95
  • Seven pairs: $119

After we checked these prices and tried to leave the page, Doc Socks offered us an additional 10% off our purchase.

We checked out Amazon to find compression socks specific to the feet and ankle that received at least four stars from customers and found that prices ranged from $9.99 to $18.99.

The site says that you have 30 days to return your socks if you don’t like them. To complete your return, you’ll need to send the socks along with your order number, name, and address, phone number, an explanation as to why you’re returning your socks and whether you want a refund or an exchange.

The fine print says that your refund won’t cover the shipping and handling you paid to get the socks or return them. Also, you have to send the socks back along with the original packaging and any instructions or paperwork that came with your socks.

The Bottom Line: Reviewing the Pros and Cons of Doc Socks

Based on our research of these socks, prevailing research on plantar fasciitis and pricing of comparable products on Amazon, we believe that Doc Socks have specific pros and cons.

First, the positives. We believe that compression socks are effective in promoting circulation and reducing swelling, two things that are good for feet, especially if you’re on them all day and are looking for extra support.

Second, the refund policy for these socks is decent in the sense that, if you choose to return them, there’s a good chance shipping cost will be around $8 or less for USPS shipping, which means the risk isn’t all that high if you end up not liking them.

The downside to the socks and compression socks, in general, is that we weren’t able to find any conclusive evidence that said compression socks of this type can prevent plantar fasciitis. Experts note that choosing the right shoes and wearing shoe inserts are an effective way of maintaining your foot arch and, in turn, promoting plantar fascia health.


Read 33 Doc Socks Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 36% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful product

    • New York,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These socks feel wonderful. They keep my feet warm and definitely help with circulation and pain. I have bought and gifted several pairs. I had an order issue and was helped generously - prompting my review. Thank you Doc Socks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great

    I put my Doc Socks on and wore them to work for the first time today and my feet felt the best they have in a long time. I was very surprised by the difference they made. I have type 2 diabetes and my feet and toes feel the tingling and pins and needles, and these definitely helped me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Pain-free after 3 days!

    • Florida,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three pairs about a month ago and was amazed that my Plantar Fasciitis heal pain went away after three days and have not had any pain in the past three weeks! I'm morbidly obese, have weak ankles and a lot of swelling which has reduced tremendously by wearing the socks. So far they've washed well and kept their shape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    MS sufferer

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have MS and have been having feet issues pretty bad for almost 2 years. The doctors have tried different meds, but its just part of the disease and I live with it. The last few weeks the tingling, numbness, and pain are pretty painful. My best friend bought these for me and said to give them a try. The day I put them on I had some relief. At this point in my progression of my MS, even if I get 10 % relief it's a real breakthrough. I got a 40% difference. I was able to walk more, sleep better. Now it's only been a day but the true test will be after one week.

    Thank you for the little relief, I feel like a human again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Happy feet!

    • New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My feet were unhappy, always cold and sometimes painful. I saw an ad for Doc Socks and thought, "Why not give it a try." That was one of the best decisions I have made. I have been wearing the socks daily for three months now with great results.

    I had one instance with one sock where the thread at the top came loose but was quickly repaired with needle and thread. They have all survived several visits to the washing machine.

    I like the fact that they are open toe as this allows me to comfortably wear my thongs (I think you all call them flip flops). When wearing shoes I put on a regular sock over the Doc Socks with no significant issues or discomfort.

    My feet are happy and so I am happy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Doc sock works for me

    I found this ad on Facebook and for 20 bucks I figured why not? I didn’t have the problem they advertised it for, the plantar thing but I had recently started having hip problems after sitting for over 30 minutes when I stood up it would hurt like heck in my left hip and leg for about 30 steps then stop almost like numbness combined with pain, so I tried them out and by day 3 last night I sat for 45 minutes driving home and when I got up I could barely feel the pain. I almost expected it as I got out of my car then realized there was no numbness, nothing, so I’m going to keep wearing them and see what happens. Almost afraid to stop and see if the pain comes back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    They really do work

    • Mississippi,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was like anyone else, at first, skeptical. I believed in the ideology of the socks so I decided to put my money into a pair and got a good deal for a second pair, so I got two pairs. Am I glad I did.

    I was self-confined to bed when I got them. When I finally decided to wear them, I didn't give them the credit they deserved. I thought the changes were due to other things that I wanted to do.

    If it weren't for the socks, I wouldn't have gotten up and done those things I had been wanting to do.

    And the more I was up doing, the more I wanted to do.

    They didn't take away my scoliosis, but now I can move around without all the pain.

    They didn't cure my fibromyalgia, yet now I am not as fatigued as I once was.

    And I am sure it has been beneficial with my diabetes. I lost weight with the increased activity. I no longer have high blood pressure. And my cholesterol even improved. So no more blood pressure and cholesterol medicine.

    I recommend them to all my friends, family, and anyone who wants pain relief. I get looks from people like their just being kind to the crazy lady. But they're going to realize how crazy they must have looked to me for not believing me when they finally do try them.

    As I can afford them, I want to get them for my family and friends for holiday and birthday gifts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love my "Doc Socks"

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, there are companies who have tried to copy the Doc Socks and failed.

    One lady said hers were notwithstanding the laundry and threads were all breaking. They were NOT true Doc Socks.

    Mine are the real "Doc Socks" and although I hand wash them in the shower, are holding up very well.

    They DO help relieve some of the pain from Morton's Neuromas in both my feet. My feet burn and sting like crazy some nights when I go to bed but after wearing the socks, I have no pain in the morning.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Good but fragile

    • Idaho,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I worked a desk job for 12 years so the first week at a very physical factory job my body was miserable! By the start of the second week, I had my Doc Socks and I couldn't be happier! The pain from my plantar fasciitis, bad knee and sciatica almost completely disappeared. Just to be sure I didn't just need time for my body to adjust to the new job, I have intermittently gone without them and regret it every time. My co-workers ask why I have a spring in my step after 8 hours on the line and I happily tell them my "secret."

    Even though I only hand wash mine, I did run into the issue noted in some other reviews where they unravel. I also found that some of the white "pressure threads" break, causing some irritation. I wear them over a thin pair of regular sucks and fortunately, I'm good with needle and thread, but I agree they could be a little sturdier. I recommend them to everyone and just bought 3 more pair!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worth the money

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got 3 pairs of Doc Socks at my husband’s suggestion. He wears one pair, I have the other, and my son-in-law wears the third. I believe they help a great deal even when you are not walking. I have a bad arthritic knee that sometimes wakes me in the middle of the night. I put on the sock and the pain is gone and I can go back to sleep. Not easy to get on and off if you have trouble with your hands but I do it and I cannot open jars anymore. My husband has a bad back and he believes it helps him. Have not yet heard how my son-in-law likes them. He is on his feet all day so I will be anxious to hear. Thinking of getting them for Christmas gifts for the family. Wish they were a bit cheaper and came in assorted colors and patterns though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love the Doc Socks

    • Massapequa, NY,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unlike many reviews, I found these socks to fit well under another pair of socks. They had just the right amount of compression. I stand on my feet for hours at work and I found they helped relieve the pain and leg fatigue I had without them. Wonderful product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for Doc Socks!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review