About DoorBot

DoorBot is essentially a standalone doorbell unit that also contains a camera, microphone and speaker encased in a single unit. It works with an app that you download onto your smartphone or tablet to allow you to see and communicate with anyone who rings the doorbell on DoorBot. The product website claims that even if you are thousands of miles away from your home, you can still communicate with the person on your doorstep, as DoorBot works through your home’s wifi network. It essentially turns your doorbell into a mini video-intercom system that works regardless of where you are.

Invented by James Siminoff, who has started and sold several tech companies already, DoorBot has been featured on the ABC TV show Shark Tank, attracting the attention of investors on the show. On the DoorBot website, Siminoff says he invented the device after he missed an important package delivery because he could not hear the doorbell in his workspace. A KickStarter campaign and TV appearance later and the DoorBot company, based in Santa Monica, CA, was created to manufacture and sell the product.

How DoorBot Works

DoorBot is a standalone doorbell with a camera, microphone and speaker that streams video over your wireless internet connection. When somebody comes to your door and presses the doorbell, it activates the camera and alerts you on your smartphone or tablet. You then log into the DoorBot app on your Android or Apple device and it shows you what the camera is seeing and allows you to communicate with the person. DoorBot is capable of alerting multiple devices at once and you can also have multiple DoorBots connected to the same device.

The DoorBot is a single unit device measuring 2.3 inches wide and 5.68 inches tall consisting of a perforated aluminum faceplate mounted on a frame of injection molded high density polymer. It’s easy to mount and comes with its own level and mounting screws, plus a proprietary mounting screw to prevent theft. (If your DoorBot is stolen, it will also be replaced free of charge by the company.) The camera, housed inside a plastic bubble, is also moveable, meaning you can position it to point any direction you want.

As for powering it, you can either hook it up to your home’s electrical system through the wires that ran your old doorbell, or use the rechargeable battery that comes with it, which is good for over 12 months of regular use.

DoorBot Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

DoorBot sells for $199 per unit and has free shipping within the United States. (International shipping is $20 and will bring the total up to $219.)

It does not come with a money back guarantee, but, as previously mentioned, it will be replaced free of charge if it is stolen.

You can call 1-800-656-1918 if you have questions. The website also has an extensive list of FAQs.

Bottom Line

The promotional video touts DoorBot as being perfect for second homes and vacation properties, as it lets you see who is at the doorstep even when you’re not there. It’s also compatible with Lockitron, another device the company sells. Lockitron can remotely unlock your door at the touch of a button, similar to Kevo. (Lockitron is not included if you order DoorBot.) DoorBot also reportedly records video of visitors who ring the doorbell so if you do happen to miss speaking with someone, you can view the video and see who it was. (This costs extra, however.)

There don’t seem to be any consumer reviews for the product online yet, but review websites tend to give it positive reviews, noting that it especially seems to make sense when paired with a remote door lock device like the Lockitron. One review site said the video and audio tends to lag in an environment where there is a lot of devices depending on the wifi, but that likely wouldn’t happen in a simple home.

The idea behind DoorBot is solid and if it works the way it is supposed to, it seems like it would be highly useful, particularly to those who have a second home to keep an eye on.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 51 DoorBot Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  49
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Doorbot? No, DoorRock

    • Singapore,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I bought the DoorBot from them as one of the early backers, although it got delayed over 2 months from the original shipping of Start Nov to End December 2013, i received the item ultimately.

    But here is where the horror starts. On Following the instructions in order to program the Doorbot, it did as told but no, It functioned no more than a Rock. On 23th December 2013, I lodged an email for help request. Until today, Not a single reply.

    I went to their Facebook page and lodged a complain that the item doesn't work. Amazingly, within five minutes of the complaint, All my post where Removed and i was blocked from accessing the page.

    I noticed a few other complains from other users as well, using my partners account, i logged in to see, they where all subsequently blocked and removed as well. DO NOT TRUST this "company"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Worthless. Avoid.

    • Australia,
    • Feb 2, 2014

    I have one. Currently trying to get a refund.

    1. They require 2mb minimum upstream (Dispite not listing this ANYWHERE on the requirements.)
    2. They Ignore/censor requests for help. Have a look at their facebook page. They sure delete a lot of posts. That is until the turned off comments entirely.
    3. It dosent actually work.
    4. Its a client server setup. So your video call when someone presses the button, goes to america and then back. I'm sure it works great for people in america or elsewhere without a 18000k mile round trip.
    5. The battery that is supposed to last a year without needing recharge lasted four weeks and 10-20 test calls (While it sat on my kitchen bench, unusable, didnt install it)
    6. The application needs to be always open so will kill your phone battery. They also dont have a desktop app.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Doorbot - almost useless

    • Arcadia, CA,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    The video is acceptable but the audio is almost impossible to use. They claim they are updating the device software weekly but I haven't received any updates. They claim it will ring your in-house bell in addition to the DoorBot bell but it doesn't. When I send emails to support they never answer. They do not have either phone support or chat support. Until this company starts being responsive to customers, stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Doorbot - it is a con! Does not work at all!

    • London, England,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    Does not bode well. I have had almost the identical experience.

    Doorbot is utterly useless as a device and company. My device does not function at all on 80% of presses. The rare occasion it notifies my iPad or iPhone the video quality is shocking and the sound does not work at all. I have written to them 5 times, guess what? No response at all.

    Doorbot is a absolute rip off. If this is representative then they have fleeced a large number of people with a poor quality, unserviceable product. Yep, I have been had!

    Please be careful as being an early adopter leaves you with no protection, I paid for mine back in September and as a result have zero credit card protection.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company!

    • Mar 1, 2014

    I was one of the backers and they never shipped me my unit. They "lost it". They didn't even had a clue until I contacted them. I can't even begin to fathom how that can happen with all the databases, spreadsheets and barcodes... Hell, even a good old pen and clipboard will do. I've been sending them emails for two months now, no luck. Their customer service is clueless and disorganized and the whole operation is a total mess.

    I'm hoping for a refund.

    Stay away from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    No delivery / no replies to emails / no professional practice

    • Spain,
    • Jan 20, 2014

    I backed them just at the end of their campaign, September if I remember correctly. We all know about the delays due technical problems and such. That brought us up to a promised delivery for December. At the end of December I received an email stating that the we should use the previously emailed link to track my doorbot which I actually never received. I emailed twice after asking what my doorbot's status, without any reply. I tried calling today but no answer, just an automated message. In the end I found another email on Jamie Siminoff's personal blog and asked what the problem was - not much explanation but a promise to send me a doorbot ASAP. After speaking with my partner we decided to cancel our order and supposedly as of 25 minutes ago the refund has been made to my account and will show up in the next 5-7 days. I really wanted to back this project but I stopped trusting them and got the feeling something was awry. I've given them two stars because I still can't confirm the refund. When I receive the refund I will be back to give my final verdict.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Sydney ,
    • Jan 19, 2014

    Per reviews above Doorbot have zero customer service or response. I was an early backer and my unit was supposedly shipped in early Dec. Never turned up as address they shipped to was incorrect (despite confirming beforehand). Despite over a month of trying to contact them via phone, email, support line etc. there has been absolutely zero response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I think it's bricked, and not one reply from customer support.

    • England,
    • Jan 21, 2014

    Don't buy one, they will take your money and run. I was so looking forward to getting one, after lot's of delays... and emails from them to say it's delayed... it arrived, had a few problems setting it up but finally it looked like it was done and was doing some sort of an update... but when the lights stopped flashing, I device just won't switch on and the reset button does nothing. I even emailed the woman back who told me about the delay, and still no reply. Completely unprofessional. Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I think it's a scam

    • United States,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    Worked for 2/3 weeks, tried to work out problems with customer service. Not working. After that they refused a refund. After waiting seven months the product only has a 30 day refund policy. I was six days late.

    Customer service quit responding to me. $199 down the old flusher.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Scam and cons

    • Australia,
    • Jan 29, 2014

    Don't bother ordering one of these pieces of crap, I ordered mine over 2 months ago and still waiting for it asked for my money back numerous times no response . They are the worst company I have ever felt with no customer service at all so I have taken my complaint to the Australian fraud squad and consumer protection scam watch. They are professional cons and money thieves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Major Technical and Account Processing Problems

    • Richardson, TX,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    I purchased the DoorBot and they charged my credit card immediately even though they didn't ship it until a month later. I tried for hours to get it to work properly and had lots of trouble with both the picture which would frequently pixelate and the sound which only the visitor could hear but you but you couldn't hear them. And if you have double doors, don't bother with it because you can't position the camera at a far enough angle to focus on a visitor.

    I tried and tried to return the item. You are supposed to email them for a return. However, after an e-mail from inside their website and another e-mail from my Gmail account I never heard back from them. I finally got a telephone number for them but when I called got a recording to e-mail them if I wanted to return the item.

    Finally gave up and opened a dispute with my credit card company. DoorBot had more than 60 days to respond and apparently never did so the credit card company refunded my money. I'm still sitting here with the DoorBot all wrapped up ready to return with no instructions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for DoorBot!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review