Read 51 DoorBot Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  49
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    DoorBot, piece of crap

    • The Netherlands,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    As stated above, this is an unfinished product. Sadly, it simply does not work as promised. Video is choppy, notification is delayed 30 plus seconds or doesn't work at all. No reply on email or phone calls. What a way to threat your early backers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Doorbot - almost useless

    • Arcadia, CA,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    The video is acceptable but the audio is almost impossible to use. They claim they are updating the device software weekly but I haven't received any updates. They claim it will ring your in-house bell in addition to the DoorBot bell but it doesn't. When I send emails to support they never answer. They do not have either phone support or chat support. Until this company starts being responsive to customers, stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Digital snake oil

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    In my experience and opinion, the CEO of DoorBot is a con artist. Plain and simple, he will take your money. He will provide you with a product that doesn't work (my two units were dead after month). He will refuse to refund your DoorBot. He will replace the units with more broken units that don't function as advertised.

    Doorbot is nothing more than digital snake oil. DoorBot has rebranded as Ring. Shiny new packaging, but who knows if it works. The Chief Inventor claims the company has learned a lot with version 2. Yet he isn't doing anything to appease people with defective first-generation units, aside from offering a discount.

    Stay away. Unless you like being robbed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    DoorBot is not working

    • Hoofddorp,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    Received DoorBot today. After spending 4 hours on this product I have lost confidence. Followed all instructions of the welcome guide, opened port 443, but no video and no audio on either iPhone or iPad. No reply from support yet. On support forum a lot of people seem to have problems. Was this product ever tested? Requested for refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Tread carefully Great concept that did not work for me

    • Cape Town, South Africa,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I have just received an email from the Doorbot people announcing the introduction of RING (www.ring.com) at a discounted price which appears to be a replacement for Doorbot. I originally ordered two Doorbots and as far as I can see it is unlikely that RING will work either. The basic problem is the amount of video and audio data that needs to be processed.

    I have an iPhone 5 and I find it hard to believe that the Doorbot ever worked satisfactorily on this device. The time needed to process video data means your visitor will need lots of patience before getting an answer.

    I do not read anything on their site that says how they resolved that problem. So please "tread carefully".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Doorbot - it is a con! Does not work at all!

    • London, England,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    Does not bode well. I have had almost the identical experience.

    Doorbot is utterly useless as a device and company. My device does not function at all on 80% of presses. The rare occasion it notifies my iPad or iPhone the video quality is shocking and the sound does not work at all. I have written to them 5 times, guess what? No response at all.

    Doorbot is a absolute rip off. If this is representative then they have fleeced a large number of people with a poor quality, unserviceable product. Yep, I have been had!

    Please be careful as being an early adopter leaves you with no protection, I paid for mine back in September and as a result have zero credit card protection.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Tried DoorBot and "Extended Range DoorBot" without success

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I was one of the early supporters of the project via Christie Street. Our DoorBot delivered in early December 2013. From the start it was problematic. It would not stay on your network. I took steps to improve our Wifi, to no avail.

    The company admitted an RF design issue and swapped out the original device for an Extended Range model that had a small external antenna. This improved the situation somewhat, at least enough to allow me to evaluate the behavior of the client apps.

    In the end I took the device out of service, replacing it with a SIP door phone that integrates without home & office phones.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Doorbot? No, DoorRock

    • Singapore,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I bought the DoorBot from them as one of the early backers, although it got delayed over 2 months from the original shipping of Start Nov to End December 2013, i received the item ultimately.

    But here is where the horror starts. On Following the instructions in order to program the Doorbot, it did as told but no, It functioned no more than a Rock. On 23th December 2013, I lodged an email for help request. Until today, Not a single reply.

    I went to their Facebook page and lodged a complain that the item doesn't work. Amazingly, within five minutes of the complaint, All my post where Removed and i was blocked from accessing the page.

    I noticed a few other complains from other users as well, using my partners account, i logged in to see, they where all subsequently blocked and removed as well. DO NOT TRUST this "company"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Good marketing, terrible product

    • Belgium,
    • Sep 1, 2014

    I have no other word for it, it's a piece of junk. I can't use this, it's not working most of the time, not to mention how bad the video quality is, when it's working. Good marketing, terrible product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy. Waste of money!

    • Texas,
    • Jun 21, 2014

    I made a huge mistake buying this product. I just gave up on their poor customer service and slow response back. The unit connects works for a couple of days and then dies, poor battery, the app video is choppy and slow. The visitors also give up on it fairly quick since no one ever responds to the door bell.

    Nice idea, but it came to be just a waste of money, by the time the unit stop working and I was able to get someone to troubleshoot the unit, the 1 month money back warranty expired. How convenient.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Texas,
    • Jun 21, 2014

    Bought mine when it first came out. Worked at first but after buying a better router it stopped working. Have to constantly reset it up and an hour later it goes offline again. Audio and video are horrible and app needs work. Customer service wasn't helpful and friends have to call me from their cell phone to let me know they are at my front door. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 51

Write a Review for DoorBot!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review