About DoorDash

DoorDash is an online service that can deliver food from your favorite restaurants right to your door, including options like California Pizza Kitchen, The Cheesecake Factory, Lyfe, LuLu’s, and more. And thanks to DoorDash’s “revolutionary logistics technology,” they’ll have your food to you in less than 45 minutes.

All you have to do is log on to the DoorDash website (or use their iOS or Android app), place your order (there’s no minimum size), and sit back and wait. Compared to traditional delivery services though, you can schedule your DoorDash order up to four days in advance.

There’s no doubt that DoorDash could change the way we order takeout. But are there other similar options? Is there anything that separates DoorDash from the competition? And finally, will they provide a solid value?

You’ve got a lot of important questions about DoorDash, and we’re here to provide the information you need to make a wise decision. So to begin, let’s take a closer look at the process.

The DoorDash Ordering Process

Starting Out

Probably the easiest way to begin using DoorDash is to enter your address on their home page, or by clicking on your neighborhood in the list under each city’s name. From there, DoorDash will let you know which restaurants in your area they work with.

At this point, you’ll also be able to view an estimated delivery time, which will be updated again when you check out, depending on the size of your order. Based on when you place your order, a restaurant might be listed as “Busy,” which means “their current delivery time exceeds [DoorDash’s] standards for a fast delivery, and [they’re] temporarily not accepting orders for that restaurant.”

At the time of our research, DoorDash operated in the following cities (we’ll come back around to this in the final section):

  • Atlanta
  • Bellevue, WA
  • Boston
  • Chicago
  • Dallas
  • Denver
  • Houston
  • Indianapolis
  • Los Angeles & LA Valley
  • Manhattan & Brooklyn
  • Minneapolis
  • Orange County, CA
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • San Francisco & East Bay
  • Silicon Valley
  • Toronto
  • Vancouver, BC
  • Washington DC

Beginning Your Order

By clicking on the restaurant you’re interested in, you’ll be able to view their menu. If they offer different menus at different times of the day, you’ll be presented with all options.

After choosing your menu, you’ll be able to view all available selections. See something you like? Just click on the dish, choose the quantity, indicate what you’d like to do if an item isn’t available (e.g. refund item, cancel entire order, contact you, etc.), and add to cart. This is also where you’ll enter any special instructions.

After Your Order Has Been Placed

Once your order has been placed, DoorDash will either immediately send it over to the restaurant of your choice. Or, if you’ve selected a specific time (up to four days in advance), DoorDash will send it over at an optimal time in order to ensure it’s “hot and fresh from the kitchen.”

Just how much will all this convenience cost you?

How Much Will DoorDash Delivery Cost?

The short answer: Exactly how much extra you’ll pay for DoorDash’s delivery can vary depending on the company’s agreement with each restaurant, although you’ll be able to review prior to finalizing your order.

The detailed answer: DoorDash is paid a commission by each restaurant they work with. As such, some restaurants may pass the cost of this commission along to their customers (making their base prices slightly higher), while others will keep their prices the same as an in-restaurant visit.

The delivery fee for your first DoorDash order will be $1. After that, your delivery fee can vary, but it will always be listed on the checkout page prior to finalizing your order (along with an itemized list of your order, food cost, and tax). You’ll also be able to enter a tip in this section, and invite friends to earn credits applicable toward future orders.

Note: DoorDash charges a double delivery fee for all orders over $100.

Given all of this, how does DoorDash compare to the competition?

Are There Other Food Delivery Services Like DoorDash?

Although restaurant delivery services are a fairly recent phenomenon, there are already several companies that compete directly with DoorDash, the most popular of which is undoubtedly GrubHub. But you also have other options, including DoorstepDelivery.com, Eat24Hours.com, DiningIn.com, Delivery.com, Foodler.com, and more.

In fact, Amazon is even getting into restaurant delivery and is currently testing their new service in Baltimore, MD!

In other words, DoorDash seems to have some stiff competition, and is even competing against one of the largest companies in the world. Compared to these other options, how does DoorDash fare?

How Does DoorDash Stack Up Against the Competition?

On PissedConsumer.com, there were 23 complaints against DoorDash at the time of our research. While some customers appreciated the company’s easy online ordering process and restaurant selection, many more weren’t pleased.

This included common complaints about high prices (one reviewer mentioned that they spent 78% more than going to the same restaurant in person), late delivery/cold food, and poor customer service (whether from the driver or the company itself).

Based on 91 reader reviews, DoorDash seemed to fare better on Reviews.io, where the company had an average rating of 4.29 stars. Many customers seemed pleased with DoorDash’s fast service, friendly drivers, and solid customer support. Again though, many also complained about high prices and hit-or-miss quality.

Regarding their apps, DoorDash had a 4.5-star rating on iTunes, and a 3-star rating on Google Play. Overall, it seems like both of these apps work reasonably well, and most complaints referenced the same concerns we’ve already discussed.

From a company perspective, DoorDash, based out of Palo Alto, CA, had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having only 4 closed complaints (as of 12/4/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available, although DoorDash didn’t bother responding to any of them.

Is DoorDash a Convenient Way To Order Food?

Like any delivery service, yes, DoorDash can make it more convenient to get food from some of your favorite restaurants delivered right to your door. However, when it comes to DoorDash, we think it’s less a question of convenience and more a question of value.

From this perspective, while placing a delivery order will almost always come with some kind of added cost (such as a tip for the driver), you might be paying more on all sides when it comes to DoorDash. In other words, your food might be more expensive due to the restaurant’s commission with the company, on top of DoorDash’s delivery fee and any tip (although this last part is certainly optional).

Add to this that, even if you live in a city where DoorDash operates, you’ll still need to be in a very specific neighborhood (often urban and centralized) in order to take advantage of their service.

For example: I live in a city where DoorDash does business. However, despite the fact that I’m less than 2 road miles from nearly all of the neighborhoods where DoorDash delivers, their website tells me, “There are no restaurants near your location.” As such, the only option is to sign up for the waitlist.

So, it seems like DoorDash is very specific about where they deliver, and won’t venture outside these areas—even just a little bit.

Given all of this, along with DoorDash’s mixed online customer reputation, means that we’d strongly recommend exploring all your options before placing your order. Because if you’re not satisfied (even if it’s clearly the company’s fault), it doesn’t appear you’ll be able to get a refund.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for DoorDash

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • Just don’t do it!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My first experience was great. My second, not so much. I had "free delivery" for a month. We ordered a pizza and salad and were charged $36.60. The order actually arrived quickly, but the receipt attached showed a charge of $17.77. DoorDash charged MORE THAN DOUBLE! They then sent me a condescending message with a "resume of my order." Stay away, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst experience

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I placed an order at 7:45 to arrive at 8:45. At 9:30 I called my dasher as I couldn't get through to anyone who said the order never got to the restaurant. I sent an email, made a quick dinner and then went to bed at about 10:15.

    So once you make an order, there is no way to get in touch with the company if things go wrong. From the website, you can only email. From the app, it goes to a chat where no one picks up.

    Then at 10:40 pm I started getting texts and PHONE CALLS from DoorDash regarding this order. So not only did they screw up our dinner, they literally woke us up to be annoying about it.

    Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible beyond relief

    • Michigan,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So the first few times that I've used DoorDash were fine, except deliveries often took HOURS to arrive and the drivers were always too lazy or reluctant to actually deliver the food to the door instead of sitting in their cars.

    But those were minor issues that could be resolved with not tipping on the app but in person when the food arrived (often they were so late and unaccommodating that I only gave them 1 or 2 dollars, a restaurant 3 miles away should not take 2 hours).

    The incident that really turned me off DoorDash was when they refused to refund me money for an order that they changed. I ordered 3 al carte meals from a Chinese restaurant and the order had some special requests. A DoorDash agent called me and asked if I wanted to switch to getting the lunch special, which was about $8 (the ones I got were $15 a piece) to accommodate my requests. I said it was fine and asked if I would be getting a refund, the rep assured me I would receive an email with the changes. A few minutes later, another agent calls to confirm my order and once again assured me I would be refunded. As I am waiting for my food, the DoorDash driver calls to confirm my order of 3 lunch specials. Once again I was assured that I would get a refund. I receive my order, and indeed it was the 3 lunch specials that I ordered. However, it had been about 3 hours since my first initial call with the DoorDash agent. Normally if you make a change that involves money, they resend you a receipt and charge your card. I reached out to customer service to see if they could send me an email of the changes that the agent made to my order. I was told that they could do nothing because I didn't have an email stating that they changed my order.

    Now how come DoorDash is so quick to charge you for extra items but basically steals your money when it comes to refunding? I wouldn't have minded if it was like a dollar or two, but DoorDash has stolen $25-30 from me on this order alone. DoorDash already upcharges their food, charges the customer a fee for ordering and a delivery fee. I don't understand why it's necessary to steal more money from customers.

    I would recommend if you absolutely want to use their services and you have any changes to make to an order at all, you CANCEL the existing order no matter what the agents tell you and reorder. The extra wait time will save you money and prevent these crooks from stealing it! Otherwise, don't support this company and their corrupt business structure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible app, broken software, no trust

    • Saint Louis, MO,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried to use DoorDash a few times, but their crappy software won't let me. The website regularly fails and then when you try to tell them about it, that fails too.

    Given the stellar performance, I decided I should remove that credit card they forced me to SAVE and find out there is no way to do that, no way to contact them since everything fails. I had to install their mobile app to remove my card and leave them feedback. Then I get an email from their app telling me the email address it decided to send my feedback to is no longer in use.

    Do yourself a favor and use one of the other services or call someplace that delivers themselves. I never have this problem with 'Skip the Dishes,' and they even let you order for pickup!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Will NEVER use them again!

    • Washington,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DoorDash is ridiculous. I ordered from them for the first and last time today. The first driver actually called me because he went to a different place than where I ordered because the other place was too far away for him to go to. So I called customer service, and they said: "oh, we will get a new driver and I will report this one, and your order will be there in less than 30 minutes."

    Well, 30 minutes came and went so I called them back after seeing the Dasher name for pickup change four different times. The guy I spoke to this time said: "Oh they will be there in about 30 minutes and here is a $10.00 credit for your problems." REALLY?! A $10.00 credit after all the money I spent for this crap and for trusting in a service that is "supposedly" really good. HA! I'll still with Uber Eats thank you very much.

    If I could give this crappy business -5 stars I would in a heartbeat.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sucks!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Mar 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worse of the WORSE.

    After getting charged three times for the same order even after I cancelled the order because I never received it, after waiting over two hours and then waiting two weeks to received $375.00 back to my card with NO apology from this scam of a company.

    I tried them again several months later thinking they got their act together, once again, BOY was I wrong. I ordered from Baskin-Robbins. I got somebody else's order and then blamed by DoorDash that I entered the order wrong online. How can you enter an order WRONG ONLINE? I read it back to him. AND he still blamed me. Oh yeah, his name is Mario. Stay far away from Mario. He blames everybody else for mistakes instead of owning it.

    Buyer beware of DoorDash! Run and run fast, and far away! You have been warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fraud

    Don't do any business with this company if you don't want to be ripped off. I placed an order for $43.68 worth of food at the Wilshire & Wiltern El Pollo Loco. It never arrived. The only contact they provided was the restaurant who said: "We gave it to the Uber." So no food and no money for me. I was able to give them bad feedback on their delivery, but I'm still hungry.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst experience ever

    I placed an order via DoorDash, thinking that this would be a convenient way to get a delivery from a restaurant that was local to my home. I happened to be about an hour away from home, so I placed the order, thinking that I would be able to get the delivery right around the time that I got home.

    However, an hour after my original delivery time, there still was no delivery. When I contacted DoorDash, which has to be via their chat system, they told me that the driver's phone had some issues, and the app on his phone had crashed. However, the DoorDash customer service rep was able to call him on his phone and find out this information. So this comes down to a driver that was not responsible enough to call and tell the company that he was having issues with his phone.

    The customer service people were not very helpful; they offered me a $5 credit and offered to re-order the food, which would have made the delivery about 2.5 hours late! That was ridiculous, so I decided to just end my first and only order with DoorDash.

    That will be the first and last time that I ever use this company.

    Reason of review: Poor customer service.

    Monetary Loss: $45.

    Preferred solution: Let the company propose a solution.

    I didn't like: Not taking responsibility for this situation, failed delivery, failed estimated arrival time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't waste your time

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It would be ZERO stars if I could!

    I tried to order from a local Italian restaurant last Friday only to get a message on their site that it was closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday - which it definitely WAS NOT! I tried to order from the same place again today and got a message that I was out of the delivery area less than 1/2 a mile away. I tried to complain on their site, and of course, I got a 'Submit Error' when I tried to send it. And there isn't any way to cancel my account to get my info off of their site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    DoorDash failed to deliver

    I ordered a day ahead for Patxi's pizza for a family that had just lost their 27-year-old son. As it was Chinese New Years, my family was going out, but I checked DoorDash who said they were on their way at 5:15 (delivery was supposed to be 5:30-6). My friend called to say no order had come by 6:30. I had to leave my family dinner and stand outside in the cold to try calling customer service and was on hold for a long time. My friend finally said their kids were hungry and so they would have to go out on their own to get food.

    I was horrified and later explained to DoorDash this was for a grieving family. I asked them why it said they were on their way and the same status was showing the NEXT day, but obviously, it was NEVER delivered. I asked that they should compensate the family besides refunding me (the order was for 2/16 and still not refunded yet). No one has responded to my second email of compensating the family, and not me (besides the obvious refund) for having me go out the next night to pick up dinner and standing in the cold waiting on hold, and interrupting my family dinner.

    HORRIBLE service and ATROCIOUS customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Very unhappy!

    Delivery was very late, food was very cold, and the driver didn't care and blamed it on the restaurant. Their tracking thing is terrible; it is completely inaccurate. The bag was banged up, and I'm not even sure where he got the food from since the sandwich I ordered tasted like Mcdonald's crispy chicken sandwich.

    Their website states they deliver under 45 minutes. I don't think so. More like 1.5-2 hours. I was starving but, for the record, I am writing this after I finished that cold soup and a suspicious sandwich.

    Thanks, I will not be using this service ever again. Definitely would not recommend to my friends and family (maybe I would recommend it to someone I don't like!).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for DoorDash!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review