About DoorDash

DoorDash is an online service that can deliver food from your favorite restaurants right to your door, including options like California Pizza Kitchen, The Cheesecake Factory, Lyfe, LuLu’s, and more. And thanks to DoorDash’s “revolutionary logistics technology,” they’ll have your food to you in less than 45 minutes.

All you have to do is log on to the DoorDash website (or use their iOS or Android app), place your order (there’s no minimum size), and sit back and wait. Compared to traditional delivery services though, you can schedule your DoorDash order up to four days in advance.

There’s no doubt that DoorDash could change the way we order takeout. But are there other similar options? Is there anything that separates DoorDash from the competition? And finally, will they provide a solid value?

You’ve got a lot of important questions about DoorDash, and we’re here to provide the information you need to make a wise decision. So to begin, let’s take a closer look at the process.

The DoorDash Ordering Process

Starting Out

Probably the easiest way to begin using DoorDash is to enter your address on their home page, or by clicking on your neighborhood in the list under each city’s name. From there, DoorDash will let you know which restaurants in your area they work with.

At this point, you’ll also be able to view an estimated delivery time, which will be updated again when you check out, depending on the size of your order. Based on when you place your order, a restaurant might be listed as “Busy,” which means “their current delivery time exceeds [DoorDash’s] standards for a fast delivery, and [they’re] temporarily not accepting orders for that restaurant.”

At the time of our research, DoorDash operated in the following cities (we’ll come back around to this in the final section):

  • Atlanta
  • Bellevue, WA
  • Boston
  • Chicago
  • Dallas
  • Denver
  • Houston
  • Indianapolis
  • Los Angeles & LA Valley
  • Manhattan & Brooklyn
  • Minneapolis
  • Orange County, CA
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • San Francisco & East Bay
  • Silicon Valley
  • Toronto
  • Vancouver, BC
  • Washington DC

Beginning Your Order

By clicking on the restaurant you’re interested in, you’ll be able to view their menu. If they offer different menus at different times of the day, you’ll be presented with all options.

After choosing your menu, you’ll be able to view all available selections. See something you like? Just click on the dish, choose the quantity, indicate what you’d like to do if an item isn’t available (e.g. refund item, cancel entire order, contact you, etc.), and add to cart. This is also where you’ll enter any special instructions.

After Your Order Has Been Placed

Once your order has been placed, DoorDash will either immediately send it over to the restaurant of your choice. Or, if you’ve selected a specific time (up to four days in advance), DoorDash will send it over at an optimal time in order to ensure it’s “hot and fresh from the kitchen.”

Just how much will all this convenience cost you?

How Much Will DoorDash Delivery Cost?

The short answer: Exactly how much extra you’ll pay for DoorDash’s delivery can vary depending on the company’s agreement with each restaurant, although you’ll be able to review prior to finalizing your order.

The detailed answer: DoorDash is paid a commission by each restaurant they work with. As such, some restaurants may pass the cost of this commission along to their customers (making their base prices slightly higher), while others will keep their prices the same as an in-restaurant visit.

The delivery fee for your first DoorDash order will be $1. After that, your delivery fee can vary, but it will always be listed on the checkout page prior to finalizing your order (along with an itemized list of your order, food cost, and tax). You’ll also be able to enter a tip in this section, and invite friends to earn credits applicable toward future orders.

Note: DoorDash charges a double delivery fee for all orders over $100.

Given all of this, how does DoorDash compare to the competition?

Are There Other Food Delivery Services Like DoorDash?

Although restaurant delivery services are a fairly recent phenomenon, there are already several companies that compete directly with DoorDash, the most popular of which is undoubtedly GrubHub. But you also have other options, including DoorstepDelivery.com, Eat24Hours.com, DiningIn.com, Delivery.com, Foodler.com, and more.

In fact, Amazon is even getting into restaurant delivery and is currently testing their new service in Baltimore, MD!

In other words, DoorDash seems to have some stiff competition, and is even competing against one of the largest companies in the world. Compared to these other options, how does DoorDash fare?

How Does DoorDash Stack Up Against the Competition?

On PissedConsumer.com, there were 23 complaints against DoorDash at the time of our research. While some customers appreciated the company’s easy online ordering process and restaurant selection, many more weren’t pleased.

This included common complaints about high prices (one reviewer mentioned that they spent 78% more than going to the same restaurant in person), late delivery/cold food, and poor customer service (whether from the driver or the company itself).

Based on 91 reader reviews, DoorDash seemed to fare better on Reviews.io, where the company had an average rating of 4.29 stars. Many customers seemed pleased with DoorDash’s fast service, friendly drivers, and solid customer support. Again though, many also complained about high prices and hit-or-miss quality.

Regarding their apps, DoorDash had a 4.5-star rating on iTunes, and a 3-star rating on Google Play. Overall, it seems like both of these apps work reasonably well, and most complaints referenced the same concerns we’ve already discussed.

From a company perspective, DoorDash, based out of Palo Alto, CA, had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having only 4 closed complaints (as of 12/4/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available, although DoorDash didn’t bother responding to any of them.

Is DoorDash a Convenient Way To Order Food?

Like any delivery service, yes, DoorDash can make it more convenient to get food from some of your favorite restaurants delivered right to your door. However, when it comes to DoorDash, we think it’s less a question of convenience and more a question of value.

From this perspective, while placing a delivery order will almost always come with some kind of added cost (such as a tip for the driver), you might be paying more on all sides when it comes to DoorDash. In other words, your food might be more expensive due to the restaurant’s commission with the company, on top of DoorDash’s delivery fee and any tip (although this last part is certainly optional).

Add to this that, even if you live in a city where DoorDash operates, you’ll still need to be in a very specific neighborhood (often urban and centralized) in order to take advantage of their service.

For example: I live in a city where DoorDash does business. However, despite the fact that I’m less than 2 road miles from nearly all of the neighborhoods where DoorDash delivers, their website tells me, “There are no restaurants near your location.” As such, the only option is to sign up for the waitlist.

So, it seems like DoorDash is very specific about where they deliver, and won’t venture outside these areas—even just a little bit.

Given all of this, along with DoorDash’s mixed online customer reputation, means that we’d strongly recommend exploring all your options before placing your order. Because if you’re not satisfied (even if it’s clearly the company’s fault), it doesn’t appear you’ll be able to get a refund.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

42 Consumer Reviews for DoorDash

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • Negative stars if I could, someone shut these people down!

    • New York,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Turo, I am going to start a class action lawsuit against this company for non-payment issues if I do not get some substantial help and explanation that does not run in circles.

    #1. You still owe me $20 from my first set of deliveries. Do not ask me for screenshots. I have already sent them. Your app is a piece of crap and sent me outside the Albany area apparently. There was no way for me to know this because I clicked dash now in the area you labeled ALBANY. I did the seven deliveries, in the Albany area, and demand payment of my $20.

    #2 You did not pay me +$4 per delivery (two deliveries) I completed on Thursday, August 30th. That is $8 peak pay that I earned and you left out of my direct deposit. Both deliveries were completed between 5 pm and 9 pm, so there is no argument you could make regarding this...

    Total owed as of 9/4/18 = $28.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The worst!

    • Surrey, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My orders kept getting canceled. It was easier for me to order direct and pick it up myself.

    This last time the delivery fee was almost 7 bucks, then they add this $1.50 device fee on top of that...no way. I'm better off just going back to ordering pizza. It's free, on time, and never gets canceled. DoorDash, you are bad for small businesses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scam artists

    • Santa Monica, CA,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    There are no order numbers. They do not deliver, and it is impossible to get credit once they claim they did deliver. Avoid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Virginia,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to use this service tonight but was highly disappointed. After charging my card, I get a text saying my order was canceled. I called and spoke with someone who told me the restaurant was closed or not accepting orders, but prior to calling I contacted the restaurant to see if they had an order for me. They had to check through a list of other orders, so they were accepting orders. I will never use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Hazel Park, MI,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They have the worst customer service ever. I placed an order and they canceled it, then they blamed the restaurant. I talked to four different people from this company and never really resolved my issue as to why I never got my food. Do not use this company, they suck. I will NEVER ever use this company again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service, please use alternatives

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This service is just unacceptable compared to the others available. I waited over an hour for them to call me back and tell me that they were canceling my order because they weren't able to place it with the restaurant I ordered from. Pathetic! There is no option to contact a live person in case there is an issue anyway. Please stay away from this service and use the others available!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Charged $780 on my account for my order

    • Texas,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order and had seven charges in excess of $100 come off my bank account. Apparently an adjustment as I asked for my pizza well done. Customer support has been awful; I emailed and spoken to at least seven different people. Their initial response was that they would give me $10!

    They keep asking for screenshots of my bank account, which I keep sending, and no progress.

    Still no refund.

    If there were a zero star option I would choose that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 19, 2018

      Yalanda S.

      Dispute it with your bank!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    HORRIBLE Customer Service - Company stayed lying to restaurant and me

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I seriously wish I could give them negative points on their review. I used them on Saturday June 2nd and regretted it less than an hour later when the restaurant I ordered from called me to let me know Doordash was having issues and that they were waiting on the delivery driver.

    My food was ready and they were told that Doordash would be there within the next 5 minutes, this was at approx. 8 pm. Doordash sent me a text saying my food would come between 8:18pm-8:23 pm. So at 8:36 pm I call the driver to see what his ETA was, he tells me he is 3 minutes from picking up my food, the food that had been ready and waiting on him since before 8 pm. I remained on the phone with the driver for 4 minutes plus and in that time he never got to the restaurant to pick up my food.

    At the same time, my son was on the phone with the restaurant we ordered from confirming that they have still not picked up our order. The driver hangs up on me. Meanwhile, Doordash calls me. The man was rude when I told him Doordash has now lied to me 3x about my order and they are taking zero responsibility for their mistake. Then he hangs up on me!

    So I call the customer service line to place an official complaint and get a credit because it's now 9 pm and I still have not gotten the food I ordered before 7 pm. The person on the phone apologizes and says he will refund me my money.

    I get an email saying a refund has been issued. Today 5 business days later I still have not gotten my money back and when the driver finally arrived after 9 pm he told us Doordash told them not to give us our food to keep it because they refunded us.

    First of all, the refund should have been given automatically when they realized the many times they dropped the ball with this order, but then to tell the drive to not give us our food. TERRIBLE.

    Stay local and order or drive and pick up your own food. I will NEVER use Doordash again! TERRIBLE. The restaurant was 2 days into using them AGAIN after this type of stuff happened in the past with them. They assured me they will no longer be using them and an alternative way to order from them. Horrible company & and even worse customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    DoorDash sucks

    • Tampa, FL,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I logged into my account which stores my address and credit card info. For whatever reason, DoorDash decided it was cool to change my address to my city and zip code only. I didn't notice it until well after the order was placed. It took well over an hour to deliver my food. Minutes before my soggy food was delivered, the company contacted me and offered me a refund, which I accepted. Food was delivered without ANY contact so I'm thinking she's not getting her tip and I give her $15 in cash. DoorDash DID NOT refund me! So I just gave a $20 tip on food that took 1.2 hours to get here and was inedible! $60 for three subs! I wouldn't use them again if they offered free delivery AND free food. If I could give them a negative review, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Just don’t do it!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My first experience was great. My second, not so much. I had "free delivery" for a month. We ordered a pizza and salad and were charged $36.60. The order actually arrived quickly, but the receipt attached showed a charge of $17.77. DoorDash charged MORE THAN DOUBLE! They then sent me a condescending message with a "resume of my order." Stay away, far away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I placed an order at 7:45 to arrive at 8:45. At 9:30 I called my dasher as I couldn't get through to anyone who said the order never got to the restaurant. I sent an email, made a quick dinner and then went to bed at about 10:15.

    So once you make an order, there is no way to get in touch with the company if things go wrong. From the website, you can only email. From the app, it goes to a chat where no one picks up.

    Then at 10:40 pm I started getting texts and PHONE CALLS from DoorDash regarding this order. So not only did they screw up our dinner, they literally woke us up to be annoying about it.

    Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for DoorDash!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review