About DoorDash

DoorDash is an online service that can deliver food from your favorite restaurants right to your door, including options like California Pizza Kitchen, The Cheesecake Factory, Lyfe, LuLu’s, and more. And thanks to DoorDash’s “revolutionary logistics technology,” they’ll have your food to you in less than 45 minutes.

All you have to do is log on to the DoorDash website (or use their iOS or Android app), place your order (there’s no minimum size), and sit back and wait. Compared to traditional delivery services though, you can schedule your DoorDash order up to four days in advance.

There’s no doubt that DoorDash could change the way we order takeout. But are there other similar options? Is there anything that separates DoorDash from the competition? And finally, will they provide a solid value?

You’ve got a lot of important questions about DoorDash, and we’re here to provide the information you need to make a wise decision. So to begin, let’s take a closer look at the process.

The DoorDash Ordering Process

Starting Out

Probably the easiest way to begin using DoorDash is to enter your address on their home page, or by clicking on your neighborhood in the list under each city’s name. From there, DoorDash will let you know which restaurants in your area they work with.

At this point, you’ll also be able to view an estimated delivery time, which will be updated again when you check out, depending on the size of your order. Based on when you place your order, a restaurant might be listed as “Busy,” which means “their current delivery time exceeds [DoorDash’s] standards for a fast delivery, and [they’re] temporarily not accepting orders for that restaurant.”

At the time of our research, DoorDash operated in the following cities (we’ll come back around to this in the final section):

  • Atlanta
  • Bellevue, WA
  • Boston
  • Chicago
  • Dallas
  • Denver
  • Houston
  • Indianapolis
  • Los Angeles & LA Valley
  • Manhattan & Brooklyn
  • Minneapolis
  • Orange County, CA
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • San Francisco & East Bay
  • Silicon Valley
  • Toronto
  • Vancouver, BC
  • Washington DC

Beginning Your Order

By clicking on the restaurant you’re interested in, you’ll be able to view their menu. If they offer different menus at different times of the day, you’ll be presented with all options.

After choosing your menu, you’ll be able to view all available selections. See something you like? Just click on the dish, choose the quantity, indicate what you’d like to do if an item isn’t available (e.g. refund item, cancel entire order, contact you, etc.), and add to cart. This is also where you’ll enter any special instructions.

After Your Order Has Been Placed

Once your order has been placed, DoorDash will either immediately send it over to the restaurant of your choice. Or, if you’ve selected a specific time (up to four days in advance), DoorDash will send it over at an optimal time in order to ensure it’s “hot and fresh from the kitchen.”

Just how much will all this convenience cost you?

How Much Will DoorDash Delivery Cost?

The short answer: Exactly how much extra you’ll pay for DoorDash’s delivery can vary depending on the company’s agreement with each restaurant, although you’ll be able to review prior to finalizing your order.

The detailed answer: DoorDash is paid a commission by each restaurant they work with. As such, some restaurants may pass the cost of this commission along to their customers (making their base prices slightly higher), while others will keep their prices the same as an in-restaurant visit.

The delivery fee for your first DoorDash order will be $1. After that, your delivery fee can vary, but it will always be listed on the checkout page prior to finalizing your order (along with an itemized list of your order, food cost, and tax). You’ll also be able to enter a tip in this section, and invite friends to earn credits applicable toward future orders.

Note: DoorDash charges a double delivery fee for all orders over $100.

Given all of this, how does DoorDash compare to the competition?

Are There Other Food Delivery Services Like DoorDash?

Although restaurant delivery services are a fairly recent phenomenon, there are already several companies that compete directly with DoorDash, the most popular of which is undoubtedly GrubHub. But you also have other options, including DoorstepDelivery.com, Eat24Hours.com, DiningIn.com, Delivery.com, Foodler.com, and more.

In fact, Amazon is even getting into restaurant delivery and is currently testing their new service in Baltimore, MD!

In other words, DoorDash seems to have some stiff competition, and is even competing against one of the largest companies in the world. Compared to these other options, how does DoorDash fare?

How Does DoorDash Stack Up Against the Competition?

On PissedConsumer.com, there were 23 complaints against DoorDash at the time of our research. While some customers appreciated the company’s easy online ordering process and restaurant selection, many more weren’t pleased.

This included common complaints about high prices (one reviewer mentioned that they spent 78% more than going to the same restaurant in person), late delivery/cold food, and poor customer service (whether from the driver or the company itself).

Based on 91 reader reviews, DoorDash seemed to fare better on Reviews.io, where the company had an average rating of 4.29 stars. Many customers seemed pleased with DoorDash’s fast service, friendly drivers, and solid customer support. Again though, many also complained about high prices and hit-or-miss quality.

Regarding their apps, DoorDash had a 4.5-star rating on iTunes, and a 3-star rating on Google Play. Overall, it seems like both of these apps work reasonably well, and most complaints referenced the same concerns we’ve already discussed.

From a company perspective, DoorDash, based out of Palo Alto, CA, had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having only 4 closed complaints (as of 12/4/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available, although DoorDash didn’t bother responding to any of them.

Is DoorDash a Convenient Way to Order Food?

Like any delivery service, yes, DoorDash can make it more convenient to get food from some of your favorite restaurants delivered right to your door. However, when it comes to DoorDash, we think it’s less a question of convenience and more a question of value.

From this perspective, while placing a delivery order will almost always come with some kind of added cost (such as a tip for the driver), you might be paying more on all sides when it comes to DoorDash. In other words, your food might be more expensive due to the restaurant’s commission with the company, on top of DoorDash’s delivery fee and any tip (although this last part is certainly optional).

Add to this that, even if you live in a city where DoorDash operates, you’ll still need to be in a very specific neighborhood (often urban and centralized) in order to take advantage of their service.

For example: I live in a city where DoorDash does business. However, despite the fact that I’m less than 2 road miles from nearly all of the neighborhoods where DoorDash delivers, their website tells me, “There are no restaurants near your location.” As such, the only option is to sign up for the waitlist.

So, it seems like DoorDash is very specific about where they deliver, and won’t venture outside these areas—even just a little bit.

Given all of this, along with DoorDash’s mixed online customer reputation, means that we’d strongly recommend exploring all your options before placing your order. Because if you’re not satisfied (even if it’s clearly the company’s fault), it doesn’t appear you’ll be able to get a refund.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

54 Consumer Reviews for DoorDash

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  51
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • My account was hacked and they won't even give me a credit

    • CA,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a great supporter of DoorDash until this week. My account got hacked - someone tried to get a delivery of $2500! This caused me huge inconveniences, needless to say. They seemed to be on it, but I said if you want me to use you again then you need to do something for me as your customer and give me a good credit. They said twice they would but now are acting stupid. I'm infuriated at the lack of care for their customers. Why would I ever even try them again, if so, easy to hack into someone's account and then they don't do anything for the customer to make it right and renew trust? Shame - probably the same with Uber Eats or GrubHub, but I may try them next.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No refunds!

    • Arizona,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DoorDash is the worst! I waited on an order twice that never came. When I asked for a refund, they refused to refund my card, they gave me a credit for service I was never going to use again, just to ensure I spend money with them again. I'm disgusted and annoyed. And will be filing a dispute with my bank.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nasty company

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No good, customer service sucks, I will never use them again. They don't care the customers; they take the money and whatever happened they don't care. No good never, never again. I ordered from them, but thanks for nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Suspicious dasher

    • Kissimmee, FL,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a pizza. The Dasher picked up my order then brought it to a location that was 10 minutes in the wrong direction. I know this because I pulled it up on Google Maps. When he got there, he stayed there with my food for more than five minutes. I sent him a text saying he was at the wrong address. He replied back about 4 minutes after my message saying he is only 4 minutes away. Which was wrong. When I got the pizza, it looked like someone had moved the cheese off of the pizza. I decided not to eat it since it was tampered with. DoorDash’s solution was to give me a credit of $6.40, which isn’t what I paid for the pizza. The pizza was over $13. So the dasher gets to keep the $5 tip and I get stuck with the bill. I won’t be using their service again. They should have at the very least refunded the price of the pizza. It’s a shame that customer service is dead in most industries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Company doesn't monitor drivers

    • Long Beach, NY,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    50% of the time my food is late. The agents that you speak to online are always very helpful and offer credits for the next delivery, but it's just too unreliable. I asked if I could just go and pick my food up, but they wouldn't allow it. One time the door dasher never moved from their location, for like 30 minutes. They had to assign my order to another dasher, who didn't realize that they accepted the order until I texted them. The next time, DoorDash didn't assign anyone to my order until the time that it was supposed to be delivered? So I needed to contact them and wait another 30 minutes for my food. It doesn't seem like the company monitors the drivers at all! It's better to just call the restaurant and order it the old-fashioned way. This service does not compare at all to Seamless and GrubHub.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awful experience!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are scammers! I have been trying to contact them for two weeks now in regards to an order that I had placed (but did not receive my food). There was a glitch with the app and the restaurant did not receive my order. I have emailed, and called, and yet to hear back from someone. This was TWO weeks ago! The one (first and only) time I did get a hold of them, they said they did not see any orders on my account, but that is odd because my card has already been charged the $30.00. This was only my second time using DoorDash, and my last...Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • DoorDash is the worst

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order with DoorDash from Wendy's. Two combo meals, a baked potato, and some nuggets. I got chili, nuggets, and two sodas. No one seems to be responding from DoorDash. Don't use this service. They don't give a cream about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Poor customer service

    • Lakeland, FL,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order on DoorDash through the phone app. The app is not very user-friendly and I often had to restart my order to get it correct.

    The driver arrived with my food in a reasonable time frame, however, there were three food items missing. The driver left too quickly for me to notify him of my missing food items. There is NO CONTACT PHONE NUMBER for the DoorDash driver OR customer support at DoorDash! The website refers you to a webpage to "File A Complaint" form. It states that you can click on your order and get help via a chat window. There was NO chat window available on the app! My order just came up blank on the orders page. I filled out the complaint form and was told through the app that they would get back to me later.

    I called the restaurant that I had ordered from via DoorDash. The restaurant owner stated the DoorDash driver did not introduce himself, took only half of my order and ran out the door. The restaurant owner was so compassionate about my loss and lack of customer service with DoorDash, that he personally delivered my missing food items. He assured me that he has no connection or obligation to DoorDash and does not support the company at all. I will never patronize DoorDash again! The company is incompetent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Did not disappoint

    • Lorain, OH,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are sick of just pizza delivery, this is an amazing app. I understand that yes, it may be more expensive than going to the restaurant to eat, but you are paying for convenience. I am sick of pizza so was able to get what I wanted while my husband and daughter got what they wanted.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Save yourself the grief

    • California,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dasher picked up my order, and as I watched her coming to my house on the website tracker page, she suddenly goes in the opposite direction and just keeps on going. She enters the next city and finally stops in a residential neighborhood and then nothing. I assume she quit and stole my food. So I place a second order and wait another 75 minutes. 85 minutes later... nothing. Two orders, 2.5 hours of waiting in vain and nothing. Also, the first driver who took off with my food is knocking at my door at 1:30 am with the cold food and stoned off her mind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Unprofessional driver and hidden fees

    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My order was wrong. I ordered a Loaded Dubbie (it's a sandwich) and an order of fries. What I received was an order of loaded fries, which is not what I ordered. I ran outside to catch the driver when I saw I was missing the sandwich and she said that was all that was in the order. When I called the restaurant, they said that the driver comes into the restaurant and places the order, so it was her fault that it was wrong. So it turned out it was her fault, but she acted like it wasn't and gave me an attitude about it.

    I submitted a complaint online, but they only credited the cost of the food back to my account (not the other fees). I googled their contact info because it is not readily found on their website. I called customer service and said that I don't want a credit I want the amount refunded to me. The woman I spoke to was very polite and helpful and she said the refund should show up on my card in 5-7 business days, so we'll see if that really happens.

    The other thing I did not like was their hidden fees. It was my first time ordering, so delivery was free. However, there was no mention of the $1.00 service fee and the $1.00 "small order" fee (it said that there was no order minimum but then they hit me with a small order fee? Not cool). When I clicked the button to submit the order the total amount shown did NOT include these fees. Yes, it's only $2.00, but that's not the point. That kind of thing is a shady business practice and is the reason I will not use DoorDash again. The delivery mixup was one person's fault, but those hidden fees make DoorDash a company I don't want to give my business to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for DoorDash!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review