About DoorDash

DoorDash is an online service that can deliver food from your favorite restaurants right to your door, including options like California Pizza Kitchen, The Cheesecake Factory, Lyfe, LuLu’s, and more. And thanks to DoorDash’s “revolutionary logistics technology,” they’ll have your food to you in less than 45 minutes.

All you have to do is log on to the DoorDash website (or use their iOS or Android app), place your order (there’s no minimum size), and sit back and wait. Compared to traditional delivery services though, you can schedule your DoorDash order up to four days in advance.

There’s no doubt that DoorDash could change the way we order takeout. But are there other similar options? Is there anything that separates DoorDash from the competition? And finally, will they provide a solid value?

You’ve got a lot of important questions about DoorDash, and we’re here to provide the information you need to make a wise decision. So to begin, let’s take a closer look at the process.

The DoorDash Ordering Process

Starting Out

Probably the easiest way to begin using DoorDash is to enter your address on their home page, or by clicking on your neighborhood in the list under each city’s name. From there, DoorDash will let you know which restaurants in your area they work with.

At this point, you’ll also be able to view an estimated delivery time, which will be updated again when you check out, depending on the size of your order. Based on when you place your order, a restaurant might be listed as “Busy,” which means “their current delivery time exceeds [DoorDash’s] standards for a fast delivery, and [they’re] temporarily not accepting orders for that restaurant.”

At the time of our research, DoorDash operated in the following cities (we’ll come back around to this in the final section):

  • Atlanta
  • Bellevue, WA
  • Boston
  • Chicago
  • Dallas
  • Denver
  • Houston
  • Indianapolis
  • Los Angeles & LA Valley
  • Manhattan & Brooklyn
  • Minneapolis
  • Orange County, CA
  • Phoenix
  • San Diego
  • San Francisco & East Bay
  • Silicon Valley
  • Toronto
  • Vancouver, BC
  • Washington DC

Beginning Your Order

By clicking on the restaurant you’re interested in, you’ll be able to view their menu. If they offer different menus at different times of the day, you’ll be presented with all options.

After choosing your menu, you’ll be able to view all available selections. See something you like? Just click on the dish, choose the quantity, indicate what you’d like to do if an item isn’t available (e.g. refund item, cancel entire order, contact you, etc.), and add to cart. This is also where you’ll enter any special instructions.

After Your Order Has Been Placed

Once your order has been placed, DoorDash will either immediately send it over to the restaurant of your choice. Or, if you’ve selected a specific time (up to four days in advance), DoorDash will send it over at an optimal time in order to ensure it’s “hot and fresh from the kitchen.”

Just how much will all this convenience cost you?

How Much Will DoorDash Delivery Cost?

The short answer: Exactly how much extra you’ll pay for DoorDash’s delivery can vary depending on the company’s agreement with each restaurant, although you’ll be able to review prior to finalizing your order.

The detailed answer: DoorDash is paid a commission by each restaurant they work with. As such, some restaurants may pass the cost of this commission along to their customers (making their base prices slightly higher), while others will keep their prices the same as an in-restaurant visit.

The delivery fee for your first DoorDash order will be $1. After that, your delivery fee can vary, but it will always be listed on the checkout page prior to finalizing your order (along with an itemized list of your order, food cost, and tax). You’ll also be able to enter a tip in this section, and invite friends to earn credits applicable toward future orders.

Note: DoorDash charges a double delivery fee for all orders over $100.

Given all of this, how does DoorDash compare to the competition?

Are There Other Food Delivery Services Like DoorDash?

Although restaurant delivery services are a fairly recent phenomenon, there are already several companies that compete directly with DoorDash, the most popular of which is undoubtedly GrubHub. But you also have other options, including DoorstepDelivery.com, Eat24Hours.com, DiningIn.com, Delivery.com, Foodler.com, and more.

In fact, Amazon is even getting into restaurant delivery and is currently testing their new service in Baltimore, MD!

In other words, DoorDash seems to have some stiff competition, and is even competing against one of the largest companies in the world. Compared to these other options, how does DoorDash fare?

How Does DoorDash Stack Up Against the Competition?

On PissedConsumer.com, there were 23 complaints against DoorDash at the time of our research. While some customers appreciated the company’s easy online ordering process and restaurant selection, many more weren’t pleased.

This included common complaints about high prices (one reviewer mentioned that they spent 78% more than going to the same restaurant in person), late delivery/cold food, and poor customer service (whether from the driver or the company itself).

Based on 91 reader reviews, DoorDash seemed to fare better on Reviews.io, where the company had an average rating of 4.29 stars. Many customers seemed pleased with DoorDash’s fast service, friendly drivers, and solid customer support. Again though, many also complained about high prices and hit-or-miss quality.

Regarding their apps, DoorDash had a 4.5-star rating on iTunes, and a 3-star rating on Google Play. Overall, it seems like both of these apps work reasonably well, and most complaints referenced the same concerns we’ve already discussed.

From a company perspective, DoorDash, based out of Palo Alto, CA, had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having only 4 closed complaints (as of 12/4/15). Unfortunately, no complaint details were available, although DoorDash didn’t bother responding to any of them.

Is DoorDash a Convenient Way To Order Food?

Like any delivery service, yes, DoorDash can make it more convenient to get food from some of your favorite restaurants delivered right to your door. However, when it comes to DoorDash, we think it’s less a question of convenience and more a question of value.

From this perspective, while placing a delivery order will almost always come with some kind of added cost (such as a tip for the driver), you might be paying more on all sides when it comes to DoorDash. In other words, your food might be more expensive due to the restaurant’s commission with the company, on top of DoorDash’s delivery fee and any tip (although this last part is certainly optional).

Add to this that, even if you live in a city where DoorDash operates, you’ll still need to be in a very specific neighborhood (often urban and centralized) in order to take advantage of their service.

For example: I live in a city where DoorDash does business. However, despite the fact that I’m less than 2 road miles from nearly all of the neighborhoods where DoorDash delivers, their website tells me, “There are no restaurants near your location.” As such, the only option is to sign up for the waitlist.

So, it seems like DoorDash is very specific about where they deliver, and won’t venture outside these areas—even just a little bit.

Given all of this, along with DoorDash’s mixed online customer reputation, means that we’d strongly recommend exploring all your options before placing your order. Because if you’re not satisfied (even if it’s clearly the company’s fault), it doesn’t appear you’ll be able to get a refund.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

17 Customer Reviews for DoorDash

Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • Food never delivered. Dasher didn't pick up. Customer service is terrible.

    • Chicago,
    • Oct 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered food for my bf's birthday. The dasher called once, and when my boyfriend tried to call back many times, no one picked up. My bf never got his food on his birthday, and so I chatted with the customer service. She kept saying the dasher did his part and didn't even bother fixing the problem. That's all she had to say, "dasher called your bf, he did his part."

    OK, so why did he not pick up?! Why did he not ask the front desk? Where the heck was he if the front desk never saw him in the first place? He obviously didn't even try to do his job. She never answered any of these questions and repeated about the dasher doing his job. Furthermore, he marked it "delivered."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • DoorDash is terrible and especially Daniel O.

    • Mountain View, CA,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sadly, there's no 0-star rating. I've had three orders with DoorDash just never show up, one of which was due to a jerk driver named Daniel O who threw my food away because I asked if he was at the restaurant.

    During my latest transaction with DoorDash, I had a driver named Daniel O throw my meal away because he got mad when I asked him if he was still at the restaurant I'd ordered from after I'd been waiting for over an hour and a half. For reference, the restaurant I ordered from is about a 7-minute drive from where I live, so curiosity as to the timing was reasonable.

    Here is a transcript of our interaction:

    Me: "Are you still at the restaurant?"

    Daniel O.: "Whose this"

    Now I'm thinking, "Oh maybe I somehow got the wrong number, as I don't think a DoorDash driver would respond this way," so rather than giving out personal information, I simply said that I was a DoorDash customer.

    Me: "A doordash customer"

    Daniel O.: "Uhh ok? U got a name?"

    Now I'm thinking, "Wow, what an asshole. All I wanted to know is if the driver was at the restaurant or not."

    Me: "Uhh it's Chris. You got a name, wise ass?"

    Daniel O.: "Ur the one being a smart ass and can't say ur name"

    Daniel O.: "Say good by to ur jack in the crack"

    Sounds like Danny-boy was having a rough day. And it was my fault, apparently. Or maybe the fact that I asked if he was at the restaurant was insane. That's for sure the last time I order with DoorDash.

    When I emailed them and explained what happened during this order, here's what their reply said:

    "Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the terrible experience you got from the dasher. We truly believe on customer love and we know this didn't happend on this delivery."

    Which translates to: "We know you got crappy service and we don't give a crap." No apology, no incentive to return as a customer via coupon or comped meal, just a blaring disregard for customer satisfaction and common decency.

    Thanks for nothing, DoorDash.

    You should definitely order with DoorDash if you hate yourself and like paying for things that don't show up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I would give them zero stars if it were possible.

    I placed my order for Starbucks around 8:15 in the morning. I didn't receive my order until around 10:45 am. So, it was almost lunch time by the time I got my breakfast. It took almost three hours to get my food, and this wasn't the first time this happened to me.

    Both times the driver that received my order passed me off to someone else well after I had placed my order. The first time, they had to cancel the order because they claimed that Starbucks was closed. Starbucks was closed? Right. It's open on Christmas. They were probably short on drivers and decided to make an excuse to cancel my order.

    I didn't learn my lesson from that fiasco. I placed the same order with Starbucks again. This time, it took almost three hours to get my order. Customers service was very friendly but not very helpful. The man promised that my food will be at my door in another 10 to 20 minutes, tops (his words exactly). It arrived 45 minutes later. Hmmm.

    You get what you pay for unless you pay for a very expensive delivery fee, a tip, and overpriced food that you expect to be delivered by DoorDash. Then you don't get what you pay for, with an extra side of grief.

    Dear DoorDash,

    You get what you pay for too. Pay your drivers a decent living wage so that your customers (if you have any left) don't have to make up for your greed. You don't make money by saving money. You make money by spending money on better wages so you have better drivers with more motivation to keep their jobs by making customers happy. You make money by making things right when you have inconvenienced your customers by refunding the delivery fee when they have to wait hours for their food. You call them when there is a problem and let them know. They shouldn't have to call you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Use someone else

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to say that of all the food delivery services that are out there, DoorDash has the worst customer service. The driver picked my food up almost an hour and a half before delivering it. I reached out to their customer support 30 minutes after expected delivery (40 minutes after the driver picked up my food) to ask about my order, and they told me that it's because he had other deliveries to make (P.S. their app showed him less than four minutes away from my address and 20 minutes after picking up my food), and confirmed my food could be delivered cold.

    I can honestly say I've never had this issue with Postmates or any other service. They don't pick my food up until they're ready to deliver, and they deliver on time. When I did get my food, it was missing an item, and it was cold, not even lukewarm, but completely cold.

    If you are considering delivery, go with someone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Rude and disrespectful!

    When I placed my order, I put specific instructions in so the driver could easily find my apartment. When the driver arrived at my building, she called and said she could not find my apartment. I started to tell her that I had put instructions in the order and then tried to tell her how to get to my apartment. She responded with "I don't have time to do that, I have other deliveries to make. You will have to come down and get your food." I went down. She was just standing outside my apartment, took a few steps and threw the pizza box at me. I was appalled.

    I contacted DoorDash, and they could have cared less. I received a cookie cutter response and a $2 coupon. I told them to keep their coupon, I would not be ordering from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible customer service

    I used them a few times, but the last two times broke me. They have bad customer service that doesn't understand how to keep a customer happy. I had a $15 credit from a mistake their dasher made, but this time the dasher decided to circle around my place (I saw their black car passing me), and all they would do is offer a $14.54 credit. Yep, not even the original $15 credit. So I'm done with this cheap company and hope they burn out quickly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • DoorDash

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • May 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My review is for the Las Vegas DoorDash.

    First off, I use DoorDash at least four times a week and recently I ordered from them, and they said it would take three hours for my food, so I canceled and ordered another restaurant from them. I called and asked if my money will be refunded on my card or credit (either one is fine $20). They said they would refund my card in 5-7 days. Forward that, I looked and there was no refund on my card.

    I called the customer service out of South San Francisco, and they claimed that my refund was refunded to me. I never received it. She then asked me to take a picture of my bank statement and email them. I said, "no, I'm not giving you my bank statements for $20; I spend that every time I order." Then she passed me to a rude manger who continuously cut me off and was rude and loud.

    So I'm canceling and going elsewhere. The delivery people are the best, but customer service was rude and not helpful at all, and offered no resolution other then "call your bank." That is not a problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Got scammed!

    • Texas,
    • May 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They sent me a $7 off coupon to try their service, so I applied it to my order. The amount I agreed to pay when I clicked the submit button was $14, then I look at my bank statement, and they charged the full $21! When I contacted their support, they said that yeah, that happens sometimes, and they can apply it towards my next purchase and refused to give me my money back.

    Then the order never came. When I called the delivery driver, she said she dropped it off at the apartment office across the street as she couldn't find my apartment. I had already given her a 20% tip, which obviously she didn't deserve. I have food delivered at least three times a week from different places and have never had that problem since I live right off the road. I called the apartment office, and they said they never got a delivery. So I contacted DoorDash, and they said that yeah, it wasn't delivered and that they would get a new driver to redeliver it and refused to give me a refund. It took 4.5 hours from originally ordering to finally get my food.

    So not only did I receive a fraudulent charge, I never got my original order and was lied to by the delivery driver, and they refused to give me a refund. I am never using this service again. I really wanted to like them because of their large selection of places, but they just scam people and don't even care. What a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible service

    • Houston, TX,
    • Apr 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible service; food never delivered and driver canceled it without telling anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    Hi.

    I tried to place an order from Nico's on 3/10 and everything went smoothly until the credit card info. Three of my trusted cards, in turn, were rejected (not approved). Total BS!

    To me it looks almost like a scam to get credit card info, so beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product has absolutely terrible service and customer support!

    Part of the app is that there is an expected delivery time (which is nice) so that you can determine where to order from and if you want to use the app. I placed an order at 6:00 PM with an expected delivery time of 7:21 PM. By the time 7:30 PM rolled around, I tried to get an update using their chat service but got no response.

    Finally, I got confirmation at 7:55 PM that a driver picked up my food. By the time it was delivered, it was 8:15 PM. The food was cold and soggy, but I was starving and ate it. Well, that was a bad idea! I got diarrhea at 2:00 AM.

    I sent DoorDash three emails, and all I got was a generic reply and them giving me a $4.99 credit. Are you serious? Never again! Thank god there is now competition like UberEats, PostMates, Amazon Restaurants, Eat24, etc.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for DoorDash!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review