About Dr. Sock Soothers

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 7, 2017

Designed by a leading podiatrist with extensive foot pain management experience, Dr. Sock Soothers anti-fatigue compression foot sleeves promise to help provide immediate relief from swelling, heel pain, achy feet, and poor blood circulation caused by the aging process.

Each sleeve is said to feature seven zones and three levels of targeted compression, which can provide breathable support whether you’re on your feet working, hiking, running, enjoying sports activities, at the gym, or just out and about walking. Simply slip it on as you would a normal sock, whether under or over your socks.

In addition, the company tells us that Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves “create support for the plantar fascia connective tissues” and reduce associated healing time. Also, that they naturally elevate dropped arch support caused by obesity, weight gain, and other frequent weight-bearing activities.

If you’re dealing with foot pain or other types of discomfort, the bottom line is that you want it gone yesterday, and want to know whether or not Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves represent a realistic solution—as well as a wise use of your money. In this article, we’ll help you find some answers, starting with the basic process that allows these types of products to do their job.

How Compression Garments Like Dr. Sock Soothers Work

In The Science of Compression Wear, we explain that garments like these are typically constructed of a “flexible yet firm, spandex-type material” that fits closely to your body, gently squeezes the area to which it’s applied, and thereby potentially boosts circulation and blood flow. As a result, users often report reducing swelling, pain, and general discomfort.

However, not all compression garments are created equal. For example, prescription options available only through a physician typically measure their level of compression in millimeters of mercury (mmHg), providing users with very specific details about what they’re buying. On the other hand, consumer-grade products like Dr. Sock Soothers only deliver generalized compression, which could vary—and deliver different benefits—depending on how snugly the sock fits.

Based on this information, is there other compression footwear potentially competing for many of the same customers as the company in question? We'll dive into this topic in a second, but let's first discuss price.

How Much Do Dr. Sock Soothers Cost?

Dr. Sock Soothers are priced as follows (no sizing information was listed on the product’s website at the time of our research):

  • 1 Pair: $20
  • 3 Pairs: $39 ($13 each)
  • 5 Pairs: $57.50 ($11.50 each)
  • 7 Pairs: $75 ($10.71 each)
  • 9 Pairs: $92 ($10.22 each)
  • 11 Pairs: $108 ($9.81 each)
  • 14 Pairs: $123 ($8.79 each)

All orders come with free insured shipping (3-5 days), along with a money back guarantee. Keep in mind that per the site’s Returns page, product “must be in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging.”

We reached out to customer support about the length of this refund policy, in addition to whether or not different sizes were available, but hadn’t yet heard back at the time of publishing.

In order to request one, the company can be reached at (415) 422-9383 or support@drsocksoothers.com.

Are There Other Compression Socks Like Dr. Soothers’?

A quick online search for ‘compression socks’ and ‘compression foot sleeves’ across marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon returned hundreds of results from dozens of different manufacturers at the time of our research, most of which ranged in price between $10 and $40, putting Dr. Sock Soothers’ version somewhere near the middle.

Some of these competitors even appeared very much alike design-wise (even down to the coloring and stitching patterns) to Dr. Sock Soothers. Given these pricing and functionality similarities, how can you decide which foot compression sleeve will work best for you?

According to WebMD, compression socks (regardless of the brand) can be useful for addressing a wide variety of conditions and situations, including:

  • People with or at risk for circulation problems, like DVT, varicose veins, or diabetes
  • People who've just gotten surgery
  • Those who can't leave their bed or have a hard time moving their legs
  • People who stand all day at work
  • Athletes
  • Pregnant women
  • People who spend long stretches of time on airplanes, like pilots

However, if you’re experiencing a condition (chronic or otherwise) that’s causing frequent foot pain or discomfort, the first person you should speak with is your doctor. Based on their questioning and testing during your appointment, they should be able to recommend options that will deliver the most bang-for-your-buck.

If they suggest that you proceed, WebMD advises that you’ll want to stick with options that go on smoothly, without bunching; aren’t too long so that you’ll have to fold or roll the tops down, or are so tight that they cause circulation problems or otherwise cut off your blood flow.

Finally, in order for compression socks or another type of garment to be effective, they need to be worn often. While you can take them off to shower or bathe, be sure to ask your doctor during your appointment about how long yours should be worn in order to achieve maximum benefits.

Of course, most of these recommendations involve having the compression sock in your hands. But in the instance of Dr. Sock Soothers or any other online purchase, you obviously won’t have this opportunity before handing over your money. Does this mean you should proceed?

Our Final Thoughts About Dr. Sock Soothers Compression Wear

On the upside, Dr. Sock Soothers seems to have priced their compression foot sleeves competitively, as well as to stand behind them with a satisfaction guarantee (although we’re waiting to hear back about how long this is good for).

However, other than the fact that they’re based out of Hayden, ID, we’re told nothing about the manufacturer themselves—even on the socks’ website, there’s no mention of the company. We also couldn’t find anything about them on third-party sites during our research.

On top of this, it appears that these socks are only one size fits all (again, we’re awaiting a response from the company to learn more). And as if you didn’t already have enough to consider, these products are popular enough that you’ll almost certainly be able to find a handful of local options, which could save initial (and return) S&H charges and make the refund process as easy as driving back to the retailer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 78 Dr. Sock Soothers Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 78
Sort reviews by:

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of money

    • Nottingham, Great Britain,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Being pre-diabetic, I had such pain in the soles of my feet, I’m awaiting further blood tests! Seeing a Dr. Sock ad I decided to order three pairs of "one-size" at a reduced rate. I had to collect them from the Post Office sorting office having to pay extra postal charge of almost £12.00 Sterling! They don’t fit me, and to add to this, there was a slip of paper with their address torn off! So like other contributors, I have wasted £53.00 pounds Sterling! The company is a SCAM, don’t bother with them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy Dr. Sock Soothers

    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dr. Sock Soothers might do what they are advertised to do. IF only you could put them on. I ordered a pair of them and I could not put them on as they do not stretch at all. And it is impossible to put on the socks without help, which makes them totally useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Neuropathy help

    • Colorado,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Both my husband and I have been having nerve issues with our feet, mine happens when I go to bed and try to sleep. My feet feel like the nerves in my toes are going crazy (somewhat like an electrical cord that has been cut and the electricity is continuing to come through the cord, shock or zap to you if you touch it). It is unbearable; I rarely get more than two hours of sleep because of the pain associated with it.

    I purchased these socks for my husband because he has been having problems for over two years with his feet, mine started about 6 - 7 months ago.

    On 3/29/19, I woke up thinking about these socks and wanted to know if they would calm the nerves enough for me to sleep. I grabbed them out of my drawer, put them on, and the pain subsided to about 1/3 of what it was. The next night I put them on and was able to get about 4 and 1/2 hours of sleep. My husband hasn't tried them yet, so I have encouraged him to try them.

    I can't speak to everyone else that have issues with their feet, but if they continue to allow me to get some sleep, they will be one of the best investments I have made.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Socks returned and refund not received. Don't deserve a star.

    • Texas,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't like the socks. Most uncomfortable sock ever tried. I called the company and got instructions on how to return. I returned in January and have never received my refund. I have emailed with no response. I have called multiple times with long hold time and then disconnect with words no rep available to take your call.

    I want my refund!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Bad fit

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought three pairs on January 3, 2019, but once received could not put them on my 10 and 1/2 D foot. I returned all three pairs that USPS delivered on January 18, 2019 but have not received credit for the purchase of $46.40. A letter was enclosed in the original packaging asking for my credit card credit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    GARBAGE

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did not realize "one size fits all" meant all small children only, NOT ADULTS. Poorly made and do not stretch. My money would have been better used giving it to a street corner beggar!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    You must be kidding me

    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These so-called compression socks are so small that my girlfriend can’t even get her tiny foot into their waste of money and worthless they’re just going right in the trash...as $46 of wasted money. I work 10-hour days, seven days a week, I don’t even have time to send these back. I don’t even know how I have received no information like that is this even a real company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE of this product. Not reliable business dealers.

    • Washington,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After ordering the full "9" offered at the reduced price, and thinking they would benefit my entire family, I found that - for us - they simply do not work. I have attempted MULTI times to reach them by phone, but have been forced to listen to a short music theme OVER AND OVER AND OVER again - for up to 30 minutes (designed, I'm sure, to discourage your phone call), with absolutely NO response from them, after being initially told that the wait time would be 5 minutes.

    I have only to conclude that this is another SCAM! I have now e-mailed them. If that doesn't get a positive response honoring their warranty, I will be reporting them to the BBB, Attorney General's office, and fraud departments, and stop my payment - hopefully - at my bank. Very disheartening, and gives one no confidence in business via the internet. I cannot with good conscious give them even a 1-star rating, although we are required to select something up there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    DITTO

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    No need to say anything further after reading all the reviews. I'm not wasting my time, effort and money to try to return them and get my $26.92 back.

    Please, people, read all the reviews BEFORE ordering anything on the internet or from an advertisement. They are scammers waiting for you to become their next sucker!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Don't fit!

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a joke. Couldn't even get them on. Have sent them back for a refund but nothing yet. I am on hold right now to speak to someone. Hold time approximately 4 minutes! As I write this, I have been on hold for 13 minutes! What a way to do business. I will take this further in hopes of preventing people from buying this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    One size fits all! Terrible product.

    • Niederwald, TX,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I too feel I have been scammed with cheaply made products as others have mentioned. I recently purchased a three pair of Sock Soothers and anxiously anticipated their arrival to help relieve pain in my feet. On the package, it states Made in China. I tried to put the first sock on and got my foot ¼ way into the sock and it started to come apart, the sowing unraveled and it just came apart. Extremely hard to get on, after struggling I did manage to get it on my foot, but it hurt my foot so much I had to remove it. They look like they are made for a small child. The overall quality and workmanship of these socks are extremely poor. I would have possibly expected this out of cheaper socks. Not ones that I paid over $50 for. Waste of my $51.92. Buy two get one free, just pay an extra $9.97 shipping.

    Here is what I was told by Support:

    Normally, when a customer returns their items, they have to make a trip to the post office and then pay for shipping. Shipping the items back can cost anywhere from $8-$18 depending on your location and how many items you are trying to return. In addition, it takes time for us to receive your items and to process your refund. Between the shipping times and the time it takes to process your refund, it can take up to 2-3 weeks for you to get your money back.

    To save you time and money, we would like to offer you a quicker solution:

    We can refund 65% of your order right now - and you can keep the items. In the end, you don't have to make a special trip to the post office or pay for shipping (which could end up costing you more). You also get to keep the items and we can process your refund right away!

    Seriously! I want a REFUND.

    DON’T WASTE your money on these socks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 78

Write a Review for Dr. Sock Soothers!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review