About Dr. Sock Soothers

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 7, 2017

Designed by a leading podiatrist with extensive foot pain management experience, Dr. Sock Soothers anti-fatigue compression foot sleeves promise to help provide immediate relief from swelling, heel pain, achy feet, and poor blood circulation caused by the aging process.

Each sleeve is said to feature seven zones and three levels of targeted compression, which can provide breathable support whether you’re on your feet working, hiking, running, enjoying sports activities, at the gym, or just out and about walking. Simply slip it on as you would a normal sock, whether under or over your socks.

In addition, the company tells us that Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves “create support for the plantar fascia connective tissues” and reduce associated healing time. Also, that they naturally elevate dropped arch support caused by obesity, weight gain, and other frequent weight-bearing activities.

If you’re dealing with foot pain or other types of discomfort, the bottom line is that you want it gone yesterday, and want to know whether or this Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves represent a realistic solution—as well as a wise use of your money. In this article, we’ll help you find some answers, starting with the basic process that allows these types of products to do their job.

How Compression Garments Like Dr. Sock Soothers Work

In The Science of Compression Wear, we explain that garments like these are typically constructed of a “flexible yet firm, spandex-type material” that fits closely to your body, gently squeezes the area to which it’s applied, and thereby potentially boosts circulation and blood flow. As a result, users often report reducing swelling, pain, and general discomfort.

However, not all compression garments are created equal. For example, prescription options available only through a physician typically measure their level of compression in millimeters of mercury (mmHg), providing users with very specific details about what they’re buying. On the other hand, consumer-grade products like Dr. Sock Soothers only deliver generalized compression, which could vary—and deliver different benefits—depending on how snugly the sock fits.

Based on this information, is there other compression footwear potentially competing for many of the same customers as the company in question? We'll dive into this topic in a second, but let's first discuss price.

How Much Do Dr. Sock Soothers Cost?

Dr. Sock Soothers are priced as follows (no sizing information was listed on the product’s website at the time of our research):

  • 1 Pair: $20
  • 3 Pairs: $39 ($13 each)
  • 5 Pairs: $57.50 ($11.50 each)
  • 7 Pairs: $75 ($10.71 each)
  • 9 Pairs: $92 ($10.22 each)
  • 11 Pairs: $108 ($9.81 each)
  • 14 Pairs: $123 ($8.79 each)

All orders come with free insured shipping (3-5 days), along with a money back guarantee. Keep in mind that per the site’s Returns page, product “must be in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging.”

We reached out to customer support about the length of this refund policy, in addition to whether or not different sizes were available, but hadn’t yet heard back at the time of publishing.

In order to request one, the company can be reached at (415) 422-9383 or support@drsocksoothers.com.

Are There Other Compression Socks Like Dr. Soothers’?

A quick online search for ‘compression socks’ and ‘compression foot sleeves’ across marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon returned hundreds of results from dozens of different manufacturers at the time of our research, most of which ranged in price between $10 and $40, putting Dr. Sock Soothers’ version somewhere near the middle.

Some of these competitors even appeared very much alike design-wise (even down to the coloring and stitching patterns) to Dr. Sock Soothers. Given these pricing and functionality similarities, how can you decide which foot compression sleeve will work best for you?

According to WebMD, compression socks (regardless of the brand) can be useful for addressing a wide variety of conditions and situations, including:

  • People with or at risk for circulation problems, like DVT, varicose veins, or diabetes
  • People who've just gotten surgery
  • Those who can't leave their bed or have a hard time moving their legs
  • People who stand all day at work
  • Athletes
  • Pregnant women
  • People who spend long stretches of time on airplanes, like pilots

However, if you’re experiencing a condition (chronic or otherwise) that’s causing frequent foot pain or discomfort, the first person you should speak with is your doctor. Based on their questioning and testing during your appointment, they should be able to recommend options that will deliver the most bang-for-your-buck.

If they suggest that you proceed, WebMD advises that you’ll want to stick with options that go on smoothly, without bunching; aren’t too long so that you’ll have to fold or roll the tops down, or are so tight that they cause circulation problems or otherwise cut off your blood flow.

Finally, in order for compression socks or another type of garment to be effective, they need to be worn often. While you can take them off to shower or bathe, be sure to ask your doctor during your appointment about how long yours should be worn in order to achieve maximum benefits.

Of course, most of these recommendations involve having the compression sock in your hands. But in the instance of Dr. Sock Soothers or any other online purchase, you obviously won’t have this opportunity before handing over your money. Does this mean you should proceed?

Our Final Thoughts About Dr. Sock Soothers Compression Wear

On the upside, Dr. Sock Soothers seems to have priced their compression foot sleeves competitively, as well as to stand behind them with a satisfaction guarantee (although we’re waiting to hear back about how long this is good for).

However, other than the fact that they’re based out of Hayden, ID, we’re told nothing about the manufacturer themselves—even on the socks’ website, there’s no mention of the company. We also couldn’t find anything about them on third-party sites during our research.

On top of this, it appears that these socks are only one size fits all (again, we’re awaiting a response from the company to learn more). And as if you didn’t already have enough to consider, these products are popular enough that you’ll almost certainly be able to find a handful of local options, which could save initial (and return) S&H charges and make the refund process as easy as driving back to the retailer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Consumer Reviews for Dr. Sock Soothers

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfactory service

    • Iowa,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered several pairs of socks to get a better price and was planning on giving a pair to my sisters and a couple of friends. I received part of my order after waiting over 2 months only to be shorted 3 pairs of socks and the "free gift" that I had to pay $9.95 postage for.

    I have tried to contact the company by phone and only received a recording saying to go to a website (helpwithmyorder.com) and leave a message. I was unable to leave a message on the website so am still in limbo without a way to get a refund. The socks were too tight on my feet making my calves, so I want to return them. The company says there is a 100% satisfaction guaranteed refund, but unfortunately, I have no way of returning them because there was no packing slips or paperwork of any kind with information to return nor a return address.

    I am very upset that I spent this kind of money in good faith and they have not held up their end of the bargain. NO, at this time I would not recommend this company nor their merchandise to my friends.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    No customer service found

    • Maui, HI,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have spent well over an hour trying to track down how to get a refund for the one size fits all. Those did not meet the needs of my dad, who I bought the product for. Not only that, I spent 10 minutes waiting on their one 800-number for anybody to take the initial call. I want to be fair and honest about their follow up. I left my number and can only hope that they will get back in touch and that I will write a second review, but at this point, I have found it to be completely dissatisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely a devious and obstructive company with a slick promotion.

    • Brentwood Bay, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered online. Got a "Congrats-Order complete! If you have any questions, please send us an email and we will get back to you within 24 hours." However there was no email address given anywhere on the receipt, but there was one on the parcel.

    Today, 4 days later, I phoned the non-toll-free number and got "We are unable to answer your call right now, please send us an email at support@helpwithmyorder.com."

    My shoe size is 12-13, the socks could not come anywhere close to that. I have now checked them out online and there are only four comments; two liked the product and two said they weren't useful. I was also charged $15 duty with no mention of that. The address for returns is Hayden ID 83835, the postage was paid for from Los Angeles, CA. I have now sent an email asking whether I should pay for shipping it back. If I send it back return to sender, they will say what was your tracking number? I can't get one without paying shipping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Sock support socks

    • United Kingdom,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    An absolutely dreadful company, do not order the socks from them, they are only one size, and I can only just get them on. I am a size 6 (39), and ordered them for my husband who is a size 11. They will not go on his feet. I have asked for information to return the socks as they are not as advertised and like with every dodgy company, they give the information that they don’t give you before you buy, you only get money back when they receive them and then without the postage, they offer you a 65% refund instead, and if you accept this, you get a lot less than 65% back. Do not buy these socks; they are not as described and you will not be refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Purchased for husband

    • California,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband has a lot of problems with his feet. They cramp up and he has arthritis as well. I purchased these to see if they would help. He loves them. They also don't confine his toes, which he had problems getting sores on them. I am to purchase more.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Socks never arrived

    • Northern Ireland,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order and paid on the 9th of July. After a couple of weeks, I emailed Dr. Sock Soothers about my situation. I was told they had been delivered! I replied saying that they had not been delivered to me. I got no response, so I emailed them again and asked for a refund - once again I got no reply.

    Luckily I had paid by credit card, so I contacted them and after giving further details and a copy of the email correspondence, they refunded the money I had paid.

    I only wish I had read some of the reviews before ordering.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful product

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had ten surgeries on my feet, and my daughter also has flat feet. We are very different in weight and shoe size. I bought two pairs for each of us. They came within a week of my ordering them. They are compression socks, so they are supposed to be tight. We have both felt a difference in our feet and ankles since wearing them. I wear them almost every day with all my different shoes. Some days I think my feet are saying, "Why don't you have the Dr. Sock Soothers on?" I would recommend them to people who have foot issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 17, 2018

      Miro K.

      I bought three pairs online without checking this scam out. There was no problem with the time of delivery. The price was $42.95 CAD including shipping $8.95, plus $7.00 off, according to the confirmation "Congrats, Order Complete" email. If you have any questions, please send us an email, but no accurate email was given, only a copyright statement. The parcel had the same phone number on it in two places. I tried one pair on, I am a size 12-13 and wondered about the open toes. I couldn't possibly get one onto my feet. I doubt whether any of my older grandchildren (ages 6-12) could get them on. Four days later I phoned the phone number, which was not toll-free. I got only a message saying "Our lines are busy, please call again."

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    No refunds

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Too small for me and too tight for diabetics. I returned them about a month ago, but no contact back to me and no refund to me. They make it impossible to return, and when you finally do get an address to return (at your own expense), they never respond back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    From personal experience

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has no legitimate web address. If you try to return the socks, you are notified that their email address is not allowed to be open because it is dangerous to your computer. The socks are not good, and all I wanted to do is return them. They replied by email that the only way to reach them is vial phone number but the given phone number they will never answer. It will cost $18 to return three pairs of socks, and they offered a 65% refund. Amazon will be informed of this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Big time scam

    • New York,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, the socks only come in one size, and they are way too small for the average male foot. Second, I wanted to send them back for a refund but where? Where? I couldn't find out where. I couldn't get through to customer service. Just another scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Worthless. No compression. Too big. Company does not wish to return money.

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did get the three socks for $39.95 and opened one pair. They slipped easily over my SWOLLEN foot indicating that there would be no compression. Therefore the socks are too big.

    Customer service does not answer the phone. Their email response is a willingness to let me keep the worthless socks and refund 65% of my purchase price to help me save time and expense of going to the post office. Then they offered an instant 75% refund to still keep the worthless socks. That is wasteful just to throw them away.

    I still do not find that an acceptable solution to the promise of a 100% refund if not satisfied. So after the warehouse receives the return, it will take two weeks for a refund. It does seem to be either a company undercapitalized and inefficient or just plain fraudulent in its approach to business. It does not keep its promise. I rather doubt I shall ever see the refund.

    No. I would not recommend doing business with this group until they improve the product into different sizes AND follow through on the promise of a 100% refund if not satisfied.

    Other companies from who I have received defective items have provided prepaid postage return mailing labels. This one does not even address that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for Dr. Sock Soothers!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review