About Dr. Sock Soothers

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 7, 2017

Designed by a leading podiatrist with extensive foot pain management experience, Dr. Sock Soothers anti-fatigue compression foot sleeves promise to help provide immediate relief from swelling, heel pain, achy feet, and poor blood circulation caused by the aging process.

Each sleeve is said to feature seven zones and three levels of targeted compression, which can provide breathable support whether you’re on your feet working, hiking, running, enjoying sports activities, at the gym, or just out and about walking. Simply slip it on as you would a normal sock, whether under or over your socks.

In addition, the company tells us that Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves “create support for the plantar fascia connective tissues” and reduce associated healing time. Also, that they naturally elevate dropped arch support caused by obesity, weight gain, and other frequent weight-bearing activities.

If you’re dealing with foot pain or other types of discomfort, the bottom line is that you want it gone yesterday, and want to know whether or this Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves represent a realistic solution—as well as a wise use of your money. In this article, we’ll help you find some answers, starting with the basic process that allows these types of products to do their job.

How Compression Garments Like Dr. Sock Soothers Work

In The Science of Compression Wear, we explain that garments like these are typically constructed of a “flexible yet firm, spandex-type material” that fits closely to your body, gently squeezes the area to which it’s applied, and thereby potentially boosts circulation and blood flow. As a result, users often report reducing swelling, pain, and general discomfort.

However, not all compression garments are created equal. For example, prescription options available only through a physician typically measure their level of compression in millimeters of mercury (mmHg), providing users with very specific details about what they’re buying. On the other hand, consumer-grade products like Dr. Sock Soothers only deliver generalized compression, which could vary—and deliver different benefits—depending on how snugly the sock fits.

Based on this information, is there other compression footwear potentially competing for many of the same customers as the company in question? We'll dive into this topic in a second, but let's first discuss price.

How Much Do Dr. Sock Soothers Cost?

Dr. Sock Soothers are priced as follows (no sizing information was listed on the product’s website at the time of our research):

  • 1 Pair: $20
  • 3 Pairs: $39 ($13 each)
  • 5 Pairs: $57.50 ($11.50 each)
  • 7 Pairs: $75 ($10.71 each)
  • 9 Pairs: $92 ($10.22 each)
  • 11 Pairs: $108 ($9.81 each)
  • 14 Pairs: $123 ($8.79 each)

All orders come with free insured shipping (3-5 days), along with a money back guarantee. Keep in mind that per the site’s Returns page, product “must be in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging.”

We reached out to customer support about the length of this refund policy, in addition to whether or not different sizes were available, but hadn’t yet heard back at the time of publishing.

In order to request one, the company can be reached at (415) 422-9383 or support@drsocksoothers.com.

Are There Other Compression Socks Like Dr. Soothers’?

A quick online search for ‘compression socks’ and ‘compression foot sleeves’ across marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon returned hundreds of results from dozens of different manufacturers at the time of our research, most of which ranged in price between $10 and $40, putting Dr. Sock Soothers’ version somewhere near the middle.

Some of these competitors even appeared very much alike design-wise (even down to the coloring and stitching patterns) to Dr. Sock Soothers. Given these pricing and functionality similarities, how can you decide which foot compression sleeve will work best for you?

According to WebMD, compression socks (regardless of the brand) can be useful for addressing a wide variety of conditions and situations, including:

  • People with or at risk for circulation problems, like DVT, varicose veins, or diabetes
  • People who've just gotten surgery
  • Those who can't leave their bed or have a hard time moving their legs
  • People who stand all day at work
  • Athletes
  • Pregnant women
  • People who spend long stretches of time on airplanes, like pilots

However, if you’re experiencing a condition (chronic or otherwise) that’s causing frequent foot pain or discomfort, the first person you should speak with is your doctor. Based on their questioning and testing during your appointment, they should be able to recommend options that will deliver the most bang-for-your-buck.

If they suggest that you proceed, WebMD advises that you’ll want to stick with options that go on smoothly, without bunching; aren’t too long so that you’ll have to fold or roll the tops down, or are so tight that they cause circulation problems or otherwise cut off your blood flow.

Finally, in order for compression socks or another type of garment to be effective, they need to be worn often. While you can take them off to shower or bathe, be sure to ask your doctor during your appointment about how long yours should be worn in order to achieve maximum benefits.

Of course, most of these recommendations involve having the compression sock in your hands. But in the instance of Dr. Sock Soothers or any other online purchase, you obviously won’t have this opportunity before handing over your money. Does this mean you should proceed?

Our Final Thoughts About Dr. Sock Soothers Compression Wear

On the upside, Dr. Sock Soothers seems to have priced their compression foot sleeves competitively, as well as to stand behind them with a satisfaction guarantee (although we’re waiting to hear back about how long this is good for).

However, other than the fact that they’re based out of Hayden, ID, we’re told nothing about the manufacturer themselves—even on the socks’ website, there’s no mention of the company. We also couldn’t find anything about them on third-party sites during our research.

On top of this, it appears that these socks are only one size fits all (again, we’re awaiting a response from the company to learn more). And as if you didn’t already have enough to consider, these products are popular enough that you’ll almost certainly be able to find a handful of local options, which could save initial (and return) S&H charges and make the refund process as easy as driving back to the retailer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

42 Consumer Reviews for Dr. Sock Soothers

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  29
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • This is a SCAM

    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and received two pairs of socks for $31.92. They are so small they wouldn't fit my three-year-old grandson. I tried forever to get one sock on and couldn't get it over the very front part of my foot, the material does not stretch at all. I tried to send and email, and they are NOT DELIVERABLE to any site or email address. This is the biggest scam of the century for older people with foot problems. I'm out the money but learned a lesson...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Suffocated my feet

    • Ventura, CA,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two pairs - one for me, one for hubby. They cut our circulation off so bad we almost had to take the scissors to them to get them off. I returned them immediately. The company went through the whole, "well you have to go to the post office to return, and you have to pay money for postage, etc.," trying to discourage the return, but I returned anyway. Then I waited the 6 weeks for a refund. I finally contacted them and inquired where my refund was as I had traced the return and knew when they were received, and the next day I got confirmation that the refund would be seen on my credit card within two days, and it was.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Love these socks.

    • Laguna Woods, CA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It appears from other reviews that these are great socks from a not so great company. Mine arrived in three weeks from a Facebook ad. I've been wearing compression socks for several months and generally hate them. Even got fitted for them as I wear size 15 shoes. The one size fits all really worried me. But I get them on easier than the full calf socks. One reason I love these is I can wear them under my normal socks. But do they work? For me, a big yes. From day one (had them two weeks now), I felt an immediate relief from my minor neuropathy. Other similar brands in this style might do as well. I am sorry that so many have had problems with the company. But if you do get them, you may have the same good results that I have.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Day two

    • Florida,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Day two...wow, I cannot believe that I'm actually walking around barefooted. I spent so much money on orthopedic shoes, and this does not compare to what it's done for my heal. You have to wear the socks, they do stretch. My fiance is a size 11 and he had no problem putting them on. Yes, they're tight at first, but they do feel comfortable. I can't understand some of the comments I'm reading. You have to give it a try and not be negative...wear it every single day and night, you will feel the difference. You can actually feel the circulation in your feet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 30, 2018

    Relief instant within one day

    I received my socks today. I immediately put them on. I noticed a difference after a few hours, I felt circulation and my heel pain went away. I had an injury of my Large Plantar that caused 6 months of severe pain. I can't believe I'm walking without pain. I did read some of the comments and was unsure, but I was willing to give it a try....I am glad I did.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Love, love, love these socks!

    • Daytona Beach, FL,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having neuropathy in my feet for years and having it cause problems with my hips and my knee, I decided to give these socks a try. My son has also started to have the same problem and works all day on his feet. I got a great deal on 7 pairs and split them with my son. He actually called me the first day after work to tell me how awesome they worked and how thankful he was. After a couple of weeks, I began to notice not only my feet feeling better, but my chronic knee pain was fading to almost nothing. I never had a problem with ordering or receiving products, so I will order again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Crapola

    • Whitewright, TX,
    • Oct 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my socks and I could tell as soon as I opened them I knew it was a ripoff. There is nothing compression about them. Save your money. And tell everyone you know there is nothing medical about them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 52 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfactory service

    • Iowa,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered several pairs of socks to get a better price and was planning on giving a pair to my sisters and a couple of friends. I received part of my order after waiting over 2 months only to be shorted 3 pairs of socks and the "free gift" that I had to pay $9.95 postage for.

    I have tried to contact the company by phone and only received a recording saying to go to a website (helpwithmyorder.com) and leave a message. I was unable to leave a message on the website so am still in limbo without a way to get a refund. The socks were too tight on my feet making my calves, so I want to return them. The company says there is a 100% satisfaction guaranteed refund, but unfortunately, I have no way of returning them because there was no packing slips or paperwork of any kind with information to return nor a return address.

    I am very upset that I spent this kind of money in good faith and they have not held up their end of the bargain. NO, at this time I would not recommend this company nor their merchandise to my friends.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 2, 2018

      Yvonne A.

      I just got mine today, and already feel like I was duped. Mine did have a packing slip, so I'm sharing information with you, their email is support@getsocks.com, and phone number is 1 (855) 861-5238.

      As for the money back guarantee, how can they be returned as they arrive (unworn) but you have to wear them to see if they work? I remember something on the original sales site where I ordered mine, about them helping with knee, hips, and back pain. Don't see that now. They hyped about the pressure points, so I was expecting parts of the sock to have some sort of pressure DEVICE in them. Nope. Good luck. I hope you can get satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 48 people found this review helpful

    No customer service found

    • Maui, HI,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have spent well over an hour trying to track down how to get a refund for the one size fits all. Those did not meet the needs of my dad, who I bought the product for. Not only that, I spent 10 minutes waiting on their one 800-number for anybody to take the initial call. I want to be fair and honest about their follow up. I left my number and can only hope that they will get back in touch and that I will write a second review, but at this point, I have found it to be completely dissatisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2018

      Rose S.

      Why can I not find how to return the three pair of socks that a guaranteed return. Please respond.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely a devious and obstructive company with a slick promotion.

    • Brentwood Bay, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered online. Got a "Congrats-Order complete! If you have any questions, please send us an email and we will get back to you within 24 hours." However there was no email address given anywhere on the receipt, but there was one on the parcel.

    Today, 4 days later, I phoned the non-toll-free number and got "We are unable to answer your call right now, please send us an email at support@helpwithmyorder.com."

    My shoe size is 12-13, the socks could not come anywhere close to that. I have now checked them out online and there are only four comments; two liked the product and two said they weren't useful. I was also charged $15 duty with no mention of that. The address for returns is Hayden ID 83835, the postage was paid for from Los Angeles, CA. I have now sent an email asking whether I should pay for shipping it back. If I send it back return to sender, they will say what was your tracking number? I can't get one without paying shipping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Sock support socks

    • United Kingdom,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    An absolutely dreadful company, do not order the socks from them, they are only one size, and I can only just get them on. I am a size 6 (39), and ordered them for my husband who is a size 11. They will not go on his feet. I have asked for information to return the socks as they are not as advertised and like with every dodgy company, they give the information that they don’t give you before you buy, you only get money back when they receive them and then without the postage, they offer you a 65% refund instead, and if you accept this, you get a lot less than 65% back. Do not buy these socks; they are not as described and you will not be refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Purchased for husband

    • California,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband has a lot of problems with his feet. They cramp up and he has arthritis as well. I purchased these to see if they would help. He loves them. They also don't confine his toes, which he had problems getting sores on them. I am to purchase more.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Dr. Sock Soothers!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review