About Dr. Sock Soothers

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Dec 7, 2017

Designed by a leading podiatrist with extensive foot pain management experience, Dr. Sock Soothers anti-fatigue compression foot sleeves promise to help provide immediate relief from swelling, heel pain, achy feet, and poor blood circulation caused by the aging process.

Each sleeve is said to feature seven zones and three levels of targeted compression, which can provide breathable support whether you’re on your feet working, hiking, running, enjoying sports activities, at the gym, or just out and about walking. Simply slip it on as you would a normal sock, whether under or over your socks.

In addition, the company tells us that Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves “create support for the plantar fascia connective tissues” and reduce associated healing time. Also, that they naturally elevate dropped arch support caused by obesity, weight gain, and other frequent weight-bearing activities.

If you’re dealing with foot pain or other types of discomfort, the bottom line is that you want it gone yesterday, and want to know whether or not Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves represent a realistic solution—as well as a wise use of your money. In this article, we’ll help you find some answers, starting with the basic process that allows these types of products to do their job.

How Compression Garments Like Dr. Sock Soothers Work

In The Science of Compression Wear, we explain that garments like these are typically constructed of a “flexible yet firm, spandex-type material” that fits closely to your body, gently squeezes the area to which it’s applied, and thereby potentially boosts circulation and blood flow. As a result, users often report reducing swelling, pain, and general discomfort.

However, not all compression garments are created equal. For example, prescription options available only through a physician typically measure their level of compression in millimeters of mercury (mmHg), providing users with very specific details about what they’re buying.

On the other hand, consumer-grade products like Dr. Sock Soothers only deliver generalized compression, which could vary—and deliver different benefits—depending on how snugly the sock fits.

How Much Do Dr. Sock Soothers Cost?

Dr. Sock Soothers are priced as follows (no sizing information was listed on the product’s website at the time of our research):

  • 1 Pair: $20
  • 3 Pairs: $39 ($13 each)
  • 5 Pairs: $57.50 ($11.50 each)
  • 7 Pairs: $75 ($10.71 each)
  • 9 Pairs: $92 ($10.22 each)
  • 11 Pairs: $108 ($9.81 each)
  • 14 Pairs: $123 ($8.79 each)

All orders come with free insured shipping (3-5 days), along with a money-back guarantee. Keep in mind that per the site’s Returns page, product “must be in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging.”

We reached out to customer support about the length of this refund policy, in addition to whether or not different sizes were available, but hadn’t yet heard back at the time of publishing.

In order to request one, the company can be reached at (415) 422-9383 or support@drsocksoothers.com.

Are There Other Compression Socks Like Dr. Soothers’?

A quick online search for ‘compression socks’ and ‘compression foot sleeves’ across marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon returned hundreds of results from dozens of different manufacturers at the time of our research, most of which ranged in price between $10 and $40, putting Dr. Sock Soothers’ version somewhere near the middle.

Some of these competitors even appeared very much alike design-wise (even down to the coloring and stitching patterns) to Dr. Sock Soothers. Given these pricing and functionality similarities, how can you decide which foot compression sleeve will work best for you?

According to WebMD, compression socks (regardless of the brand) can be useful for addressing a wide variety of conditions and situations, including:

  • People with or at risk for circulation problems, like DVT, varicose veins, or diabetes
  • People who've just gotten surgery
  • Those who can't leave their bed or have a hard time moving their legs
  • People who stand all day at work
  • Athletes
  • Pregnant women
  • People who spend long stretches of time on airplanes, like pilots

However, if you’re experiencing a condition (chronic or otherwise) that’s causing frequent foot pain or discomfort, the first person you should speak with is your doctor. Based on their questioning and testing during your appointment, they should be able to recommend options that will deliver the most bang-for-your-buck.

If they suggest that you proceed, WebMD advises that you’ll want to stick with options that go on smoothly, without bunching; aren’t too long so that you’ll have to fold or roll the tops down, or are so tight that they cause circulation problems or otherwise cut off your blood flow.

Finally, in order for compression socks or another type of garment to be effective, they need to be worn often. While you can take them off to shower or bathe, be sure to ask your doctor during your appointment about how long yours should be worn in order to achieve maximum benefits.

Of course, most of these recommendations involve having the compression sock in your hands. But in the instance of Dr. Sock Soothers or any other online purchase, you obviously won’t have this opportunity before handing over your money. Does this mean you should proceed?

Our Final Thoughts About Dr. Sock Soothers Compression Wear

On the upside, Dr. Sock Soothers seems to have priced their compression foot sleeves competitively, as well as to stand behind them with a satisfaction guarantee (although we’re waiting to hear back about how long this is good for).

However, other than the fact that they’re based out of Hayden, ID, we’re told nothing about the manufacturer themselves—even on the socks’ website, there’s no mention of the company. We also couldn’t find anything about them on third-party sites during our research.

On top of this, it appears that these socks are only one size fits all (again, we’re awaiting a response from the company to learn more). And as if you didn’t already have enough to consider, these products are popular enough that you’ll almost certainly be able to find a handful of local options, which could save initial (and return) S&H charges and make the refund process as easy as driving back to the retailer.


Read 170 Dr. Sock Soothers Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 5 3 star: 7 2 star: 13 1 star:  131
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 170
Sort reviews by:

  • 27 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Great results right away

    • North Carolina,
    • Apr 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have diabetes-related foot pain at night which can literally keep me up until dawn. The first time I used these, no pain...but that can happen sometimes, so I thought maybe it's just this once. Nope, they work great every night. I even went to sleep the other night having forgotten to put them on only to wake up two hours later from the pain. I put them on and boom, pain is gone. It might be a size related thing - I'm a men's 10.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Sock Soothers

    • Wiltshire,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From the moment I put the socks on my aching feet, I felt a lot better. They were tricky to get on at first, but I found that using the "wetsuit" approach (turning them almost inside out and then rolling them over my feet) made them easier to put on. I guess if they weren't so snug you wouldn't get the same pressure. I am wearing them now and consider them a treat for the feet!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    My experience with the product

    • Riverwoods, IL,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently received these socks. I noticed within a few days that my feet didn’t have much pain! I also noticed that my feet were not as swollen! I would highly recommend this product if you have foot pain!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Seems to be getting better

    • Katy, TX,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried these socks for several nights and I can tell the difference the next day when I have forgotten to put them on at night. I only wear them at night because that is what I want to do. The days after I wear them at night to sleep, I feel less pain in my feet. I have Plantar fasciitis. I do not have other problems with my feet, and maybe that is why they are helping me when other people in their reviews are not thinking that they are helpful. I am not sure. We will see how long they last in the long run. I do not have gobs of money, so I hope I do not have to buy these things all the time. I hope they do not wear out too quickly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful product

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had ten surgeries on my feet, and my daughter also has flat feet. We are very different in weight and shoe size. I bought two pairs for each of us. They came within a week of my ordering them. They are compression socks, so they are supposed to be tight. We have both felt a difference in our feet and ankles since wearing them. I wear them almost every day with all my different shoes. Some days I think my feet are saying, "Why don't you have the Dr. Sock Soothers on?" I would recommend them to people who have foot issues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Purchased for husband

    • California,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband has a lot of problems with his feet. They cramp up and he has arthritis as well. I purchased these to see if they would help. He loves them. They also don't confine his toes, which he had problems getting sores on them. I am to purchase more.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Love, love, love these socks!

    • Daytona Beach, FL,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having neuropathy in my feet for years and having it cause problems with my hips and my knee, I decided to give these socks a try. My son has also started to have the same problem and works all day on his feet. I got a great deal on 7 pairs and split them with my son. He actually called me the first day after work to tell me how awesome they worked and how thankful he was. After a couple of weeks, I began to notice not only my feet feeling better, but my chronic knee pain was fading to almost nothing. I never had a problem with ordering or receiving products, so I will order again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 25 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Day two

    • Florida,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Day two...wow, I cannot believe that I'm actually walking around barefooted. I spent so much money on orthopedic shoes, and this does not compare to what it's done for my heal. You have to wear the socks, they do stretch. My fiance is a size 11 and he had no problem putting them on. Yes, they're tight at first, but they do feel comfortable. I can't understand some of the comments I'm reading. You have to give it a try and not be negative...wear it every single day and night, you will feel the difference. You can actually feel the circulation in your feet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Oct 30, 2018

    Relief instant within one day

    I received my socks today. I immediately put them on. I noticed a difference after a few hours, I felt circulation and my heel pain went away. I had an injury of my Large Plantar that caused 6 months of severe pain. I can't believe I'm walking without pain. I did read some of the comments and was unsure, but I was willing to give it a try....I am glad I did.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 18 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Love these socks.

    • Laguna Woods, CA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It appears from other reviews that these are great socks from a not so great company. Mine arrived in three weeks from a Facebook ad. I've been wearing compression socks for several months and generally hate them. Even got fitted for them as I wear size 15 shoes. The one size fits all really worried me. But I get them on easier than the full calf socks. One reason I love these is I can wear them under my normal socks. But do they work? For me, a big yes. From day one (had them two weeks now), I felt an immediate relief from my minor neuropathy. Other similar brands in this style might do as well. I am sorry that so many have had problems with the company. But if you do get them, you may have the same good results that I have.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Good fit, relieves my pain

    • Iowa,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubby and I have been wearing these socks for a week now, and we have both been pleasantly surprised. His heel pain, which he's been living with for months, is almost non-existent, and my foot and back pain are greatly improved. We had no issue getting the socks on, as others say, and they are well-made (no raveling).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Socks unwind

    • Temple, PA,
    • Apr 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are awesome but they are fraying. I haven't had them that long, and 4 of the 8 pair are fraying. I love that I do not have any more back or neck pain. I have three friends that have dock socks. Once they saw me wearing mine they asked if I felt better. I told them yes and then asked if they had any problems with them fraying, they said a little. I hand wash them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 170

Write a Review for Dr. Sock Soothers!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review