About Dr. Sock Soothers

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 7, 2017

Designed by a leading podiatrist with extensive foot pain management experience, Dr. Sock Soothers anti-fatigue compression foot sleeves promise to help provide immediate relief from swelling, heel pain, achy feet, and poor blood circulation caused by the aging process.

Each sleeve is said to feature seven zones and three levels of targeted compression, which can provide breathable support whether you’re on your feet working, hiking, running, enjoying sports activities, at the gym, or just out and about walking. Simply slip it on as you would a normal sock, whether under or over your socks.

In addition, the company tells us that Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves “create support for the plantar fascia connective tissues” and reduce associated healing time. Also, that they naturally elevate dropped arch support caused by obesity, weight gain, and other frequent weight-bearing activities.

If you’re dealing with foot pain or other types of discomfort, the bottom line is that you want it gone yesterday, and want to know whether or this Dr. Sock Soothers’ sleeves represent a realistic solution—as well as a wise use of your money. In this article, we’ll help you find some answers, starting with the basic process that allows these types of products to do their job.

How Compression Garments Like Dr. Sock Soothers Work

In The Science of Compression Wear, we explain that garments like these are typically constructed of a “flexible yet firm, spandex-type material” that fits closely to your body, gently squeezes the area to which it’s applied, and thereby potentially boosts circulation and blood flow. As a result, users often report reducing swelling, pain, and general discomfort.

However, not all compression garments are created equal. For example, prescription options available only through a physician typically measure their level of compression in millimeters of mercury (mmHg), providing users with very specific details about what they’re buying. On the other hand, consumer-grade products like Dr. Sock Soothers only deliver generalized compression, which could vary—and deliver different benefits—depending on how snugly the sock fits.

Based on this information, is there other compression footwear potentially competing for many of the same customers as the company in question? We'll dive into this topic in a second, but let's first discuss price.

How Much Do Dr. Sock Soothers Cost?

Dr. Sock Soothers are priced as follows (no sizing information was listed on the product’s website at the time of our research):

  • 1 Pair: $20
  • 3 Pairs: $39 ($13 each)
  • 5 Pairs: $57.50 ($11.50 each)
  • 7 Pairs: $75 ($10.71 each)
  • 9 Pairs: $92 ($10.22 each)
  • 11 Pairs: $108 ($9.81 each)
  • 14 Pairs: $123 ($8.79 each)

All orders come with free insured shipping (3-5 days), along with a money back guarantee. Keep in mind that per the site’s Returns page, product “must be in the same condition that you received it. It must also be in the original packaging.”

We reached out to customer support about the length of this refund policy, in addition to whether or not different sizes were available, but hadn’t yet heard back at the time of publishing.

In order to request one, the company can be reached at (415) 422-9383 or support@drsocksoothers.com.

Are There Other Compression Socks Like Dr. Soothers’?

A quick online search for ‘compression socks’ and ‘compression foot sleeves’ across marketplaces like Google Shopping and Amazon returned hundreds of results from dozens of different manufacturers at the time of our research, most of which ranged in price between $10 and $40, putting Dr. Sock Soothers’ version somewhere near the middle.

Some of these competitors even appeared very much alike design-wise (even down to the coloring and stitching patterns) to Dr. Sock Soothers. Given these pricing and functionality similarities, how can you decide which foot compression sleeve will work best for you?

According to WebMD, compression socks (regardless of the brand) can be useful for addressing a wide variety of conditions and situations, including:

  • People with or at risk for circulation problems, like DVT, varicose veins, or diabetes
  • People who've just gotten surgery
  • Those who can't leave their bed or have a hard time moving their legs
  • People who stand all day at work
  • Athletes
  • Pregnant women
  • People who spend long stretches of time on airplanes, like pilots

However, if you’re experiencing a condition (chronic or otherwise) that’s causing frequent foot pain or discomfort, the first person you should speak with is your doctor. Based on their questioning and testing during your appointment, they should be able to recommend options that will deliver the most bang-for-your-buck.

If they suggest that you proceed, WebMD advises that you’ll want to stick with options that go on smoothly, without bunching; aren’t too long so that you’ll have to fold or roll the tops down, or are so tight that they cause circulation problems or otherwise cut off your blood flow.

Finally, in order for compression socks or another type of garment to be effective, they need to be worn often. While you can take them off to shower or bathe, be sure to ask your doctor during your appointment about how long yours should be worn in order to achieve maximum benefits.

Of course, most of these recommendations involve having the compression sock in your hands. But in the instance of Dr. Sock Soothers or any other online purchase, you obviously won’t have this opportunity before handing over your money. Does this mean you should proceed?

Our Final Thoughts About Dr. Sock Soothers Compression Wear

On the upside, Dr. Sock Soothers seems to have priced their compression foot sleeves competitively, as well as to stand behind them with a satisfaction guarantee (although we’re waiting to hear back about how long this is good for).

However, other than the fact that they’re based out of Hayden, ID, we’re told nothing about the manufacturer themselves—even on the socks’ website, there’s no mention of the company. We also couldn’t find anything about them on third-party sites during our research.

On top of this, it appears that these socks are only one size fits all (again, we’re awaiting a response from the company to learn more). And as if you didn’t already have enough to consider, these products are popular enough that you’ll almost certainly be able to find a handful of local options, which could save initial (and return) S&H charges and make the refund process as easy as driving back to the retailer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

29 Consumer Reviews for Dr. Sock Soothers

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 29
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No refunds

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Too small for me and too tight for diabetics. I returned them about a month ago, but no contact back to me and no refund to me. They make it impossible to return, and when you finally do get an address to return (at your own expense), they never respond back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    From personal experience

    • New Mexico,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has no legitimate web address. If you try to return the socks, you are notified that their email address is not allowed to be open because it is dangerous to your computer. The socks are not good, and all I wanted to do is return them. They replied by email that the only way to reach them is vial phone number but the given phone number they will never answer. It will cost $18 to return three pairs of socks, and they offered a 65% refund. Amazon will be informed of this experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Big time scam

    • New York,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, the socks only come in one size, and they are way too small for the average male foot. Second, I wanted to send them back for a refund but where? Where? I couldn't find out where. I couldn't get through to customer service. Just another scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worthless. No compression. Too big. Company does not wish to return money.

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did get the three socks for $39.95 and opened one pair. They slipped easily over my SWOLLEN foot indicating that there would be no compression. Therefore the socks are too big.

    Customer service does not answer the phone. Their email response is a willingness to let me keep the worthless socks and refund 65% of my purchase price to help me save time and expense of going to the post office. Then they offered an instant 75% refund to still keep the worthless socks. That is wasteful just to throw them away.

    I still do not find that an acceptable solution to the promise of a 100% refund if not satisfied. So after the warehouse receives the return, it will take two weeks for a refund. It does seem to be either a company undercapitalized and inefficient or just plain fraudulent in its approach to business. It does not keep its promise. I rather doubt I shall ever see the refund.

    No. I would not recommend doing business with this group until they improve the product into different sizes AND follow through on the promise of a 100% refund if not satisfied.

    Other companies from who I have received defective items have provided prepaid postage return mailing labels. This one does not even address that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    • Ashford, Surrey, England,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was in desperate need for these socks so ordered and paid for three on the 5th of July. I have tracked this order many times and it is still in the US as of the 12th of July. Consequently, I have had to go out and buy some.

    How long must I wait?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Over three weeks since I ordered and still no socks!

    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the socks on July 5th and am still waiting for my order on July 26th. I have requested my order be canceled and money refunded, but I continually receive an email showing delivery times and asking me to rate their customer service. Their customer service is terrible, and I shouldn't continually be ignored. It's time for someone there to contact me and resolve this situation. I want my money refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unable to reach customer service

    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wore a pair but was not satisfied. This felt like regular socks. I am still trying to make contact to return items. I checked my bank statement. The charges were entirely different than what was told to me. I have a deduction from my bank account $39.95, $45.00, plus $9.95; I guess shipping and handling, which was I was informed would be free shipping. This is a disgusting, unethical, lying business, and as others stated a SCAM! I will keep making contact with them, if no response will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in my state.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Payment non delivery

    • Chesterfield, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Payment was taken as soon as I ordered in the beginning of July. P.O. delivery is shown, yet it is non-delivery. What more can one say? Very disappointing, and no customer service what so ever. I wish I had read the reviews first.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not recommend

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Socks have not enough compression for my ailments. I wanted to return but there was no bill enclosed. I emailed them and they tried to talk me out of returning but supplied a link. My security system suggested NOT opening on it. How do I return these useless items?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Seems to be getting better

    • Katy, TX,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried these socks for several nights and I can tell the difference the next day when I have forgotten to put them on at night. I only wear them at night because that is what I want to do. The days after I wear them at night to sleep, I feel less pain in my feet. I have Plantar fasciitis. I do not have other problems with my feet, and maybe that is why they are helping me when other people in their reviews are not thinking that they are helpful. I am not sure. We will see how long they last in the long run. I do not have gobs of money, so I hope I do not have to buy these things all the time. I hope they do not wear out too quickly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Sock Soothers is a scam

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a pair of socks for my dear aunt in Scotland over a month and a half ago. They still have not arrived.

    Reading the reviews here, my worry that this is a SCAM is confirmed.

    I am reporting Sock Soothers to Consumer Protection Agencies in Canada, Britain and the US. I suggest others do the same.

    I am also going to go to a major TV network who does a consumer protection TV show. Lets spread the word.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 29

Write a Review for Dr. Sock Soothers!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review