About DraftKings

By HighYa Staff

Based out of Boston, MA and operated by Rotowire, Inc., DraftKings is a website that allows users from all over the world to enter into daily and weekly fantasy sports contests. The company claims that everything they offer is 100% legal, and their primary marketing angle is that they provide “rapid-fire,” short-term contests when compared to other seasonal leagues. In fact, even though they’ve only been in business since 2012, they’re widely considered one of the most reputable online fantasy sports destinations.

DraftKings has been featured in a wide variety of media, including the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, Forbes, and TechCrunch, and has a solid social media presence with over 6,000 Facebook likes, and 4,100 Twitter followers. DraftKings has an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, and based on our research, has very positive customer and industry reviews.

How DraftKings Works

DraftKings offers fantasy leagues for football, baseball, basketball, hockey, college football, and college basketball, and according to their website, the process can be completed in five easy steps:

  1. Sign Up: To begin, you’ll only need to choose a username and enter your email address. Signing up is completely free, and you’ll be credited with $50,000 to apply toward your team’s salary. However, remember that fantasy sports leagues are technically gambling, so you’ll need to be at least 18 years old.

  2. Pick Your Contest: You can play free or paid contests, including guaranteed, qualifiers, head-to-head, 50/50, multipliers, and more (see below for specifics).

  3. Create Your Lineup: Choose your sport, and then draft a complete team in just a few minutes. Each player’s salary is based on their overall skill level, and will be deducted from you overall credits. DraftKings is unique in that each user only has $50,000 to spend on player salaries, which levels the playing field.

  4. Watch: DraftKings offers you the ability to monitor your teams live on your computer, tablet, or smartphone.

  5. Win: Once your chosen contest ends, your accounted will be credited. Once you decide to withdraw your winnings, your request will be processed within two business days.

DraftKings Contests

DraftKings offers several different kinds of contests, including:

  • Freeroll: Completely free to enter, and winnings are paid using Entry Tickets or DraftKings dollars, which can then be redeemed for other contests.

  • Guaranteed Prize Pool (GPP): Highlighted in orange in the DraftKings lobby, GPP contests payout the entire prize pool, regardless of whether or not a contest was filled to capacity.

  • Sit N’ Go: Unlike GPP, Sit N’ Go contests are closed if they don’t completely fill. If this occurs, your account will automatically be refunded.

  • Double Up: Places are double your original entry fee, and all players are paid the same amount.

  • Qualifiers: Instead of paying cash, Qualifier contests pay out in tickets that can be redeemed for use in paid contests.

  • Winner Takes All: Only the first place player wins, who will take the entire prize pool.

  • Multi-Entry: You’ll be allowed to enter multiple teams into a single contest. Payouts vary by game.

Once you’ve begun, you’ll be able to monitor your lineup’s status as well as your contests in real time. Your My Contests page will also include any upcoming contests, as well as those you’ve already completed.

DraftKings Pricing & Refund Policy

Signing up for DraftKings is completely free. However, if you choose to participate in some of the paid contests, you’ll need to add credits to your account using a credit card, PayPal, or Dwolla. As a first time user, you’ll receive a free $2 credit to apply to the paid game of your choice, in addition to a bonus equal to the amount of your deposit. In other words, if you deposit $250 into your DraftKings account, you’ll receive an additional $250 in bonus credits. DraftKings does not offer refunds of any kind once your funds have been applied to a contest, so keep this in mind before entering.

From an earnings perspective, DraftKings also gives you the opportunity to earn up to 40% commission for referring up to five friends.

Pros:

  • A reputation as one of the best online fantasy sports sites.
  • Free to sign up, and easy to use.
  • “Rapid-fire” contests on a daily and weekly basis (depending on the sport).
  • 100% bonus on your first deposit.
  • Numerous types of contests, and immediate winnings payout.
  • Great user experience, whether on your PC or mobile device.

Cons:

  • None noted.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 93 DraftKings Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  66
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 93
Sort reviews by:

  • DraftKings keeps your personal info forever

    • Millburn, NJ,
    • Apr 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WARNING - Even if you close your DraftKings account they permanently retain ALL personal info you gave them.

    BE SAFE: Do NOT open a DraftKings account.

    I repeatedly asked them to delete the information and they repeatedly refused.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Love it

    • Texas,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been playing on DraftKings for about three years and I love it. I have one a couple of hundred dollars here and there, but nothing crazy. Reading some of the other reviews, I feel like they are inaccurate. In a 100,000 person tournament, the difference of 10 points can be hundreds of thousands of dollars. The negative is that the same players do consistently place high, but that is mainly because they devote all of their time to playing. I follow many of these players websites and strategies. Also, they have computer systems that help them generate line-ups. Bottom line is, you most likely won't get rich playing, but it makes watching sports more enjoyable and entertaining.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    BS

    • Louisville, MS,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I came in 5th place. An hour later I was in 8th place and my money dropped. And they taxed me 24%, that’s not right at all. Draft Kings is a rip off. I have been playing so long, finally hit big, and can’t even enjoy it because they taxed the heck out of it. I will never play again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Rigged

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have played DraftKings football for a few months and as soon as kickoff starts, I'm instantly dropped to the thousands or tens of thousands spots and no matter how good my lineup is it's impossible to get to the top position. However, when I compare my lineup to the top player's lineup, it is sometimes the same or our points are really close, but they manage to stay in the top position while mines keep dropping. Also, if I play multiple teams that play at different times, I do not reach the top even when or if all my players are on fire, but conveniently the top players (which are the same players by the way) never drop from the top position whether their lineup is on fire or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I got scammed

    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been trying to get my $600 since November. They have told me numerous times the deposit is coming. I wait, then they just put the money back in my account. They just keep me hanging, don't be a fool, if you win, you will never get your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Wisconsin,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My account was locked and they took my money right before the start of my competition because someone else in the house blocked themselves from DraftKings! I contacted customer support and they basically said they'll let me know if I can play in TWO DAYS. Like, who are they to block my account! They also would not give me money back until they FELT LIKE IT. This isn't the first time they stole money from me and said they'll give it back AS THEY PLEASE! They also change point totals after the match is over and told me the live scoring is for fun and isn't ACCURATE. I NEVER had issues like this with FanDuel!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I pick the same players on the Chicago Bears and Minnesota Vikings game last night as the winner did, so how did I come in 85th thousand place? Hhhmmmm. All the winners are company affiliated, and the money stays in-house. This is a total SCAM! Straight BS! I have screenshots to prove my cast. Give me my money or see me in court. This scam should be shut down!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • California,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DraftKings uses avatars to fill contests. Have you ever been in a contest that had 100000 people? And it only had 50000 in it the day before the contest? Well, they use avatars to fill these contests. Faceless, no-name players that fill the contest with admins and roto grinders stat people. No one I know has ever won even a top 5 on a big contest ever. I have over 500 friends that play and none of them have ever won number one on ANY contest in over a year of playing daily.

    And when you're playing these contest, you cannot see the other 90000 players, at least not all of them. That's because they use those slots and autofill guys that are making points in Progress. So if you see yourself in a number one and there's nobody around you and all of a sudden there somebody tied with you with the next best guy you know where it came from. Some kind of algorithm that fills these contest when they don't sell enough slots. So my advice is not to play against computers because it is a computer after all. Stick to small contest with your own people, and then you might have a chance of winning something.

    But, all in all, the million dollar contests are all BS! I know nobody who's ever won.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    DraftKings scammed me for $200

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DraftKings advertised an up to $200 match for a first bet. I put $200 in the account and made a $200 bet and won and they refused to match it. I tried to contact customer service, and it took them two months to answer one of my 10 emails. When they answered, they basically told me too late and they are not matching anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Ripped me off for $100

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very inexperienced with DraftKings-like websites, and fantasy football. But I was lured into signing up for DraftKings with a promotional deal that they would match dollar-for-dollar up to $100 of my opening amount. I invested my hundred dollars played my hundred dollars never got the hundred dollars they promised to match. I sent numerous emails to support where they directed me in circles but never giving me what was promised. Please be advised their advertising is full of glitches and loopholes; they are not a stand-up company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Questionable

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been playing DraftKings for about five to six years now and I love it. It's something exciting, and it makes me look forward to sporting events more than I ever used to. I have won a few contests over that time and have put a lot of money into this company. I only have one real question, and it's how some of the same screen names end up on top every night no matter if it's MLB, NBA, NFL, Golf whatever. I have just seen over the years how do the same names keep popping up on top?

    I have tried to email DraftKings and ask for explanations, and I usually get a copy and paste message back telling me that these people are skilled and competitive. I only question this because I have seen some of the same numerous 5 to 10 names on top for the last five to six years, there is no way that they are this good to be on top and every single category in every sport with multiple entries. Like I said from the beginning, I enjoy playing DraftKings, it's fun and exciting, but it's not fun when you see the same names on top every night winning thousands of dollars when you don't think it's possible.

    All I want is DraftKings to be loyal and fair. It just doesn't seem right by all these names remain the same over the years on top it just seems really fishy. No one is that skilled in life to guess every line up right, and with multiple Sports and categories, it's just impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 93

Write a Review for DraftKings!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review