About DraftKings

Based out of Boston, MA and operated by Rotowire, Inc., DraftKings is a website that allows users from all over the world to enter into daily and weekly fantasy sports contests. The company claims that everything they offer is 100% legal, and their primary marketing angle is that they provide “rapid-fire,” short-term contests when compared to other seasonal leagues. In fact, even though they’ve only been in business since 2012, they’re widely considered one of the most reputable online fantasy sports destinations.

DraftKings has been featured in a wide variety of media, including the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, Forbes, and TechCrunch, and has a solid social media presence with over 6,000 Facebook likes, and 4,100 Twitter followers. DraftKings has an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, and based on our research, has very positive customer and industry reviews.

How DraftKings Works

DraftKings offers fantasy leagues for football, baseball, basketball, hockey, college football, and college basketball, and according to their website, the process can be completed in five easy steps:

  1. Sign Up: To begin, you’ll only need to choose a username and enter your email address. Signing up is completely free, and you’ll be credited with $50,000 to apply toward your team’s salary. However, remember that fantasy sports leagues are technically gambling, so you’ll need to be at least 18 years old.

  2. Pick Your Contest: You can play free or paid contests, including guaranteed, qualifiers, head-to-head, 50/50, multipliers, and more (see below for specifics).

  3. Create Your Lineup: Choose your sport, and then draft a complete team in just a few minutes. Each player’s salary is based on their overall skill level, and will be deducted from you overall credits. DraftKings is unique in that each user only has $50,000 to spend on player salaries, which levels the playing field.

  4. Watch: DraftKings offers you the ability to monitor your teams live on your computer, tablet, or smartphone.

  5. Win: Once your chosen contest ends, your accounted will be credited. Once you decide to withdraw your winnings, your request will be processed within two business days.

DraftKings Contests

DraftKings offers several different kinds of contests, including:

  • Freeroll: Completely free to enter, and winnings are paid using Entry Tickets or DraftKings dollars, which can then be redeemed for other contests.

  • Guaranteed Prize Pool (GPP): Highlighted in orange in the DraftKings lobby, GPP contests payout the entire prize pool, regardless of whether or not a contest was filled to capacity.

  • Sit N’ Go: Unlike GPP, Sit N’ Go contests are closed if they don’t completely fill. If this occurs, your account will automatically be refunded.

  • Double Up: Places are double your original entry fee, and all players are paid the same amount.

  • Qualifiers: Instead of paying cash, Qualifier contests pay out in tickets that can be redeemed for use in paid contests.

  • Winner Takes All: Only the first place player wins, who will take the entire prize pool.

  • Multi-Entry: You’ll be allowed to enter multiple teams into a single contest. Payouts vary by game.

Once you’ve begun, you’ll be able to monitor your lineup’s status as well as your contests in real time. Your My Contests page will also include any upcoming contests, as well as those you’ve already completed.

DraftKings Pricing & Refund Policy

Signing up for DraftKings is completely free. However, if you choose to participate in some of the paid contests, you’ll need to add credits to your account using a credit card, PayPal, or Dwolla. As a first time user, you’ll receive a free $2 credit to apply to the paid game of your choice, in addition to a bonus equal to the amount of your deposit. In other words, if you deposit $250 into your DraftKings account, you’ll receive an additional $250 in bonus credits. DraftKings does not offer refunds of any kind once your funds have been applied to a contest, so keep this in mind before entering.

From an earnings perspective, DraftKings also gives you the opportunity to earn up to 40% commission for referring up to five friends.

Pros:

  • A reputation as one of the best online fantasy sports sites.
  • Free to sign up, and easy to use.
  • “Rapid-fire” contests on a daily and weekly basis (depending on the sport).
  • 100% bonus on your first deposit.
  • Numerous types of contests, and immediate winnings payout.
  • Great user experience, whether on your PC or mobile device.

Cons:

  • None noted.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

86 Consumer Reviews for DraftKings

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  61
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 86
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • California,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DraftKings uses avatars to fill contests. Have you ever been in a contest that had 100000 people? And it only had 50000 in it the day before the contest? Well, they use avatars to fill these contests. Faceless, no-name players that fill the contest with admins and roto grinders stat people. No one I know has ever won even a top 5 on a big contest ever. I have over 500 friends that play and none of them have ever won number one on ANY contest in over a year of playing daily.

    And when you're playing these contest, you cannot see the other 90000 players, at least not all of them. That's because they use those slots and autofill guys that are making points in Progress. So if you see yourself in a number one and there's nobody around you and all of a sudden there somebody tied with you with the next best guy you know where it came from. Some kind of algorithm that fills these contest when they don't sell enough slots. So my advice is not to play against computers because it is a computer after all. Stick to small contest with your own people, and then you might have a chance of winning something.

    But, all in all, the million dollar contests are all BS! I know nobody who's ever won.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    DraftKings scammed me for $200

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    DraftKings advertised an up to $200 match for a first bet. I put $200 in the account and made a $200 bet and won and they refused to match it. I tried to contact customer service, and it took them two months to answer one of my 10 emails. When they answered, they basically told me too late and they are not matching anything.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Ripped me off for $100

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very inexperienced with DraftKings-like websites, and fantasy football. But I was lured into signing up for DraftKings with a promotional deal that they would match dollar-for-dollar up to $100 of my opening amount. I invested my hundred dollars played my hundred dollars never got the hundred dollars they promised to match. I sent numerous emails to support where they directed me in circles but never giving me what was promised. Please be advised their advertising is full of glitches and loopholes; they are not a stand-up company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Questionable

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been playing DraftKings for about five to six years now and I love it. It's something exciting, and it makes me look forward to sporting events more than I ever used to. I have won a few contests over that time and have put a lot of money into this company. I only have one real question, and it's how some of the same screen names end up on top every night no matter if it's MLB, NBA, NFL, Golf whatever. I have just seen over the years how do the same names keep popping up on top?

    I have tried to email DraftKings and ask for explanations, and I usually get a copy and paste message back telling me that these people are skilled and competitive. I only question this because I have seen some of the same numerous 5 to 10 names on top for the last five to six years, there is no way that they are this good to be on top and every single category in every sport with multiple entries. Like I said from the beginning, I enjoy playing DraftKings, it's fun and exciting, but it's not fun when you see the same names on top every night winning thousands of dollars when you don't think it's possible.

    All I want is DraftKings to be loyal and fair. It just doesn't seem right by all these names remain the same over the years on top it just seems really fishy. No one is that skilled in life to guess every line up right, and with multiple Sports and categories, it's just impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Drafting scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bet on a World Cup game in a head to head contest bet. I had to pick 8 players from the teams for my lineup. After the game, I checked my result, and I was surprised one of my top player in the game was not in the lineup. My opponent won the game. However, I didn't know which players he picked until after the game. My bet was manipulated, and the service representative refused to refund or give credit. I would never bet on Starlings again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great site

    DraftKings offers the most sports and contests for beginners only when you are just starting out. I am a daily user and have never had issues getting paid. The fastest method is PayPal, or get it put on your credit card. Checks take the longest, but DraftKings tells all players that a check could take three weeks.

    My only issue is customer service is not great, and the badge system for player levels should be improved so someone who is an expert isn't playing IU contests with casual players. Otherwise, I think DraftKings is the best DFS (Daily Fantasy Sports) site and have recommended several friends who weren't disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Perfect lineups by unknown players all the time

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I have won a couple of times $250, there is always the perfect lineup getting the top prize every contest. It's the same ones over and over. It's impossible. I've been playing for three years and never once finished high unless I play single entry. One time I was third with only one game going. I had two players in that game, checked other entries about 50 places down, no other entry like mine, and by the time it ended, I finished way down and more perfect lineups soared by me that were not even in top 50. Wow.

    I believe bot scams are happening. Just now in NFL, some lineup takes the lead with a receiver who never played all year but someone picked him today, and he's got 18 points. No freaking way. H. Sharp for the Giants; who picks this player? The cheating is pretty plain to see, and I won't play anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It is a total rip off

    • South Carolina,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been playing fantasy contest since June, and I tried hard to make myself believe the contests were being run fairly.

    For two night straight, I sat glued to my computer watching every minute of each of the contest I had enter, and it was very hard to watch because the opponent time kept increasing based on how many points I had.

    I did want to believe it, and I wrote to support about what I had observed, and they claim it was a problem with the software, so they told me to take a screenshot of the contest as they are happening "live."

    So I sat down and saved 496 screenshots of the contest I had entered, and it was a very painful task, but I had to do because I want to be certain it was not my imagination of what I was seeing happen right before my eyes.

    The first night that I glued myself to the computer screen, my opponent time went to zero when they had a score of 365, and by the time the contest ended, I had a score of 375 and my opponent's score had gone up to 391.

    I have watched this happen many times, but I finally got the will to copy 496 screenshots as proof that the contests are not being run fair and honest.

    So I do not know where they are getting their positive feedback from except for those who are run the person keep the contest time and the person keeping the score.

    I also observe I would start losing points as I got closer to the high score. I don't know how they are doing it, but I have watched enough contest live to have no doubts.

    If you would like a copy of my 496 screenshots as proof of what I am saying, feel free to contact me by email, if you don't get a reply within 48-hours, please contact again.

    I started using Draft Kings in July 2017.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    • Sunrise Beach, MO,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a deposit, which gave me free $3 NFL picks every week, but I can't use them as they are not available on the Android app. I can play all other games but these. Really?! So you got me once but not again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Are employees and friends cheating?

    • Hartford, CT,
    • Sep 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    - 1 RecTD, 149 RecYds, 13 REC, 1 100+Rec 36.9

    - 1 RecTD, 150 RecYds, 6 REC, 1 100+Rec, 38 RuYds 33.8

    Hmmm, something in DraftKings STINKS. How do certain rosters just appear? How does a scoring system take less progress and score it higher?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Having trouble getting paid

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a nice payday on DraftKings, requested a withdrawal two weeks ago, and nothing has happened. They haven't processed it, and they haven't responded to my last two messages. Anyone else have problems?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 86

Write a Review for DraftKings!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review