About DraftKings

Based out of Boston, MA and operated by Rotowire, Inc., DraftKings is a website that allows users from all over the world to enter into daily and weekly fantasy sports contests. The company claims that everything they offer is 100% legal, and their primary marketing angle is that they provide “rapid-fire,” short-term contests when compared to other seasonal leagues. In fact, even though they’ve only been in business since 2012, they’re widely considered one of the most reputable online fantasy sports destinations.

DraftKings has been featured in a wide variety of media, including the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, Forbes, and TechCrunch, and has a solid social media presence with over 6,000 Facebook likes, and 4,100 Twitter followers. DraftKings has an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, and based on our research, has very positive customer and industry reviews.

How DraftKings Works

DraftKings offers fantasy leagues for football, baseball, basketball, hockey, college football, and college basketball, and according to their website, the process can be completed in five easy steps:

  1. Sign Up: To begin, you’ll only need to choose a username and enter your email address. Signing up is completely free, and you’ll be credited with $50,000 to apply toward your team’s salary. However, remember that fantasy sports leagues are technically gambling, so you’ll need to be at least 18 years old.

  2. Pick Your Contest: You can play free or paid contests, including guaranteed, qualifiers, head-to-head, 50/50, multipliers, and more (see below for specifics).

  3. Create Your Lineup: Choose your sport, and then draft a complete team in just a few minutes. Each player’s salary is based on their overall skill level, and will be deducted from you overall credits. DraftKings is unique in that each user only has $50,000 to spend on player salaries, which levels the playing field.

  4. Watch: DraftKings offers you the ability to monitor your teams live on your computer, tablet, or smartphone.

  5. Win: Once your chosen contest ends, your accounted will be credited. Once you decide to withdraw your winnings, your request will be processed within two business days.

DraftKings Contests

DraftKings offers several different kinds of contests, including:

  • Freeroll: Completely free to enter, and winnings are paid using Entry Tickets or DraftKings dollars, which can then be redeemed for other contests.

  • Guaranteed Prize Pool (GPP): Highlighted in orange in the DraftKings lobby, GPP contests payout the entire prize pool, regardless of whether or not a contest was filled to capacity.

  • Sit N’ Go: Unlike GPP, Sit N’ Go contests are closed if they don’t completely fill. If this occurs, your account will automatically be refunded.

  • Double Up: Places are double your original entry fee, and all players are paid the same amount.

  • Qualifiers: Instead of paying cash, Qualifier contests pay out in tickets that can be redeemed for use in paid contests.

  • Winner Takes All: Only the first place player wins, who will take the entire prize pool.

  • Multi-Entry: You’ll be allowed to enter multiple teams into a single contest. Payouts vary by game.

Once you’ve begun, you’ll be able to monitor your lineup’s status as well as your contests in real time. Your My Contests page will also include any upcoming contests, as well as those you’ve already completed.

DraftKings Pricing & Refund Policy

Signing up for DraftKings is completely free. However, if you choose to participate in some of the paid contests, you’ll need to add credits to your account using a credit card, PayPal, or Dwolla. As a first time user, you’ll receive a free $2 credit to apply to the paid game of your choice, in addition to a bonus equal to the amount of your deposit. In other words, if you deposit $250 into your DraftKings account, you’ll receive an additional $250 in bonus credits. DraftKings does not offer refunds of any kind once your funds have been applied to a contest, so keep this in mind before entering.

From an earnings perspective, DraftKings also gives you the opportunity to earn up to 40% commission for referring up to five friends.

Pros:

  • A reputation as one of the best online fantasy sports sites.
  • Free to sign up, and easy to use.
  • “Rapid-fire” contests on a daily and weekly basis (depending on the sport).
  • 100% bonus on your first deposit.
  • Numerous types of contests, and immediate winnings payout.
  • Great user experience, whether on your PC or mobile device.

Cons:

  • None noted.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

84 Consumer Reviews for DraftKings

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 84
Sort reviews by:

  • Ripped me off for $100

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very inexperienced with DraftKings-like websites, and fantasy football. But I was lured into signing up for DraftKings with a promotional deal that they would match dollar-for-dollar up to $100 of my opening amount. I invested my hundred dollars played my hundred dollars never got the hundred dollars they promised to match. I sent numerous emails to support where they directed me in circles but never giving me what was promised. Please be advised their advertising is full of glitches and loopholes; they are not a stand-up company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Questionable

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been playing DraftKings for about five to six years now and I love it. It's something exciting, and it makes me look forward to sporting events more than I ever used to. I have won a few contests over that time and have put a lot of money into this company. I only have one real question, and it's how some of the same screen names end up on top every night no matter if it's MLB, NBA, NFL, Golf whatever. I have just seen over the years how do the same names keep popping up on top?

    I have tried to email DraftKings and ask for explanations, and I usually get a copy and paste message back telling me that these people are skilled and competitive. I only question this because I have seen some of the same numerous 5 to 10 names on top for the last five to six years, there is no way that they are this good to be on top and every single category in every sport with multiple entries. Like I said from the beginning, I enjoy playing DraftKings, it's fun and exciting, but it's not fun when you see the same names on top every night winning thousands of dollars when you don't think it's possible.

    All I want is DraftKings to be loyal and fair. It just doesn't seem right by all these names remain the same over the years on top it just seems really fishy. No one is that skilled in life to guess every line up right, and with multiple Sports and categories, it's just impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Drafting scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bet on a World Cup game in a head to head contest bet. I had to pick 8 players from the teams for my lineup. After the game, I checked my result, and I was surprised one of my top player in the game was not in the lineup. My opponent won the game. However, I didn't know which players he picked until after the game. My bet was manipulated, and the service representative refused to refund or give credit. I would never bet on Starlings again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great site

    DraftKings offers the most sports and contests for beginners only when you are just starting out. I am a daily user and have never had issues getting paid. The fastest method is PayPal, or get it put on your credit card. Checks take the longest, but DraftKings tells all players that a check could take three weeks.

    My only issue is customer service is not great, and the badge system for player levels should be improved so someone who is an expert isn't playing IU contests with casual players. Otherwise, I think DraftKings is the best DFS (Daily Fantasy Sports) site and have recommended several friends who weren't disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Perfect lineups by unknown players all the time

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I have won a couple of times $250, there is always the perfect lineup getting the top prize every contest. It's the same ones over and over. It's impossible. I've been playing for three years and never once finished high unless I play single entry. One time I was third with only one game going. I had two players in that game, checked other entries about 50 places down, no other entry like mine, and by the time it ended, I finished way down and more perfect lineups soared by me that were not even in top 50. Wow.

    I believe bot scams are happening. Just now in NFL, some lineup takes the lead with a receiver who never played all year but someone picked him today, and he's got 18 points. No freaking way. H. Sharp for the Giants; who picks this player? The cheating is pretty plain to see, and I won't play anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    It is a total rip off

    • South Carolina,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been playing fantasy contest since June, and I tried hard to make myself believe the contests were being run fairly.

    For two night straight, I sat glued to my computer watching every minute of each of the contest I had enter, and it was very hard to watch because the opponent time kept increasing based on how many points I had.

    I did want to believe it, and I wrote to support about what I had observed, and they claim it was a problem with the software, so they told me to take a screenshot of the contest as they are happening "live."

    So I sat down and saved 496 screenshots of the contest I had entered, and it was a very painful task, but I had to do because I want to be certain it was not my imagination of what I was seeing happen right before my eyes.

    The first night that I glued myself to the computer screen, my opponent time went to zero when they had a score of 365, and by the time the contest ended, I had a score of 375 and my opponent's score had gone up to 391.

    I have watched this happen many times, but I finally got the will to copy 496 screenshots as proof that the contests are not being run fair and honest.

    So I do not know where they are getting their positive feedback from except for those who are run the person keep the contest time and the person keeping the score.

    I also observe I would start losing points as I got closer to the high score. I don't know how they are doing it, but I have watched enough contest live to have no doubts.

    If you would like a copy of my 496 screenshots as proof of what I am saying, feel free to contact me by email, if you don't get a reply within 48-hours, please contact again.

    I started using Draft Kings in July 2017.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    • Sunrise Beach, MO,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made a deposit, which gave me free $3 NFL picks every week, but I can't use them as they are not available on the Android app. I can play all other games but these. Really?! So you got me once but not again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Are employees and friends cheating?

    • Hartford, CT,
    • Sep 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    - 1 RecTD, 149 RecYds, 13 REC, 1 100+Rec 36.9

    - 1 RecTD, 150 RecYds, 6 REC, 1 100+Rec, 38 RuYds 33.8

    Hmmm, something in DraftKings STINKS. How do certain rosters just appear? How does a scoring system take less progress and score it higher?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Having trouble getting paid

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a nice payday on DraftKings, requested a withdrawal two weeks ago, and nothing has happened. They haven't processed it, and they haven't responded to my last two messages. Anyone else have problems?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    NBA DFS rules are absurd

    • San Antonio, Texas,
    • Dec 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have played numerous times on this site for NFL DFS and the platform is great. This review is solely for the DraftKings NBA product.

    Everyone that plays DraftKing's NBA platform should know that their rules state that ALL of your players will be LOCKED 30 minutes BEFORE the start of your FIRST player's game. In other words, if you have 8 players (7 of which start late due to being west coast games and 1 early start because of that player having an east coast game) ALL of your players will be locked in 30 minutes prior to the tipoff of that early game.

    Why is this a big deal? In the NBA there are late scratches ALL THE TIME. Sometimes these scratches are for injury and sometimes they are simply for rest. Due to the grueling NBA season, coaches rest players, happens often. So, if your players have locked at, say 6:00pm CST and you have a player from the 9:00pm CST game get scratched late, you CANNOT replace him with another player. Nope. He is staying in your lineup even though he doesn't play for another 3 1/2 hours. I have had 2 separate incidents occur to me in the span of 3 days regarding this rule and I am leaving feedback about their product on as many review websites as possible as they are absolutely no help and couldn't care less about the experiences of the players playing their DFS games. I was ACTUALLY TOLD, after complaining about the DraftKing's NBA rules the following:

    "Removing late swap will allow all players to enjoy the games that are being played in real time, as opposed to being glued to social media ensuring that there is no news that may impact their lineups" and "the decision to eliminate late swap was made to enhance the overall enjoyment of out NBA product, which was feedback that we heard from our players".

    Now, I don't know about you but that explanation doesn't quite sound logical? How, if you are unable to replace a late scratch in your lineup, does that make your experience MORE enjoyable? Are there really demands from NBA DFS players demanding that DraftKings make their experience more enjoyable by locking their lineups up to 4 hours before some of their players have even tipped off?

    If you have ever played DFS NBA you know how difficult it is to win with your lineup at full strength, much less playing with 7 instead of 8 players. You need to score no less than 280 points to ensure that you place in the money. This all but assured not to happen if you are only playing 7 players as each needs to score approximately 40 points as opposed to a full roster of 8 needing to average 35 points.

    Bottom line is I would think twice about playing NBA DFS on DraftKings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Not a scam (Legit)

    • Oct 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's funny how these people are mad at the website when it's actually them. It's either they failed out of statistics or they have no idea what the money side of sports is and should stay in the stands drinking beer and yelling. I have made over 50k in 2 years on this site. I use one lineup in 27 dollars or even 3 dollars sometimes. I WIN. Not once but I have won over 15 major tourneys on here. Not place. I have won. Just these people that complain are probably mad at the world because they aren't capable of actually thinking like a fantasy sports player. It amuses me and I hope they are addicted to gambling because it's free money to guys like me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 84

Write a Review for DraftKings!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review