DraftKings Reviews

DraftKings

Overall Rating

1.7

106 Customer Reviews

Summary

DraftKings is an online fantasy sports league that provides short-duration contests for all major sports, including football, basketball, hockey, and more. Read what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 106 Reviews
5 Star:8% 4 Star:10% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:74%
22% Recommend This Service
Start your review of DraftKings:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 3, 2021

Zero stars

By Mike P., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Worst experience so far. I am still a member and am waiting for the offseason or summer to cash out my $270. They are too strict, liars, crooks and thieves. Don't even bother playing on DraftKings. They are really "Draft Thieves."

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Nice website

A lot of various bets

Reasonable spreads

Sccount is locked

They want my ID picture over 30 times

Bad policies

Posted on Dec 29, 2020

Fraudulent company - Ponzi scheme business model

By Victor L., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

Thanks for reading my review, I’m writing to help other customers avoid what I went through with DraftKings; I am just going to focus on a few of the many experienced in this review (more to follow!).

I finally stopped doing business with them after their latest con. First off, don’t trust the so-called VIP hosts, player development staff. I don’t consider myself a big-time bettor or anything. But was basically coerced by Shea Barr into a promotion where I’d have to deposit an amount much larger than I had ever done. On its face what seemed like a good deal I didn’t want to pass it up. So the deposit is made and literally less than a day later, DK froze my account and had my balance (which was over 14k reduced to zero). I received no notice, no reason, no explanation for this. When I contacted "VIP" support no one responds. And my so-called VIP player rep flat out tells me nothing can be done. I ask to speak with upper management or escalate the issue through the chain of command.

So I get strung along by their other support staff saying I may have "violated a term of their customer agreement." I researched and turns out they have no legal right to do this. And obviously they knew I never violated any policy. Started looking at online forum reviews and places like Better Business Bureau and Ripoff Report. Well, there is sooo much on DraftKings, many similar stories, going back many years. Continuing, it then became a total nightmare of issues they kept coming up with to keep my money. Even some bizarre stuff like staff asking me to send them pictures of myself, some real weirdos for sure. Anyway, the real issue was they now were holding my money for an indefinite time frame. It was only after them realizing I happen to be an attorney with many attorney friends and that I was involving the Gaming Board and banking regulators that they begrudgingly agreed to give the money back that they simply erased from my account. So they agree with the amount that was in my account claim, it is being returned to me. I later receive less than a third of what they owed me.

Looking deeper into the issue, turns out DraftKings hasn’t turned a profit in years. In fact, DK has lost an increasing amount of money each of the last three years. All at a time which I’ve heard described as the golden age of sports betting. But don’t take my word, this is all public data, just check out DKNG on Bloomberg or Yahoo Finance. Like I said before, William Hill, Pinnacale, DK is certainly no peer of theirs. Having been through this and learning of so many other customers dealing with similar problems I have to consider that maybe that’s how DK stays financed or artificially prop sup their share price. Basically stealing money from customer accounts to pay current winners. The best bet is to short this company’s stock in my opinion.

Which brings me to my next point. When it comes to DraftKings promotions, don’t even bother, often they aren’t honored or require several support requests. I can’t tell your how many dozens of times this happened to me.

If you are a DraftKings customer, always verify your account transactions are accurate and verify everything. I was repeatedly charged for bets I never even made. My transaction history would show Sportsbook Wager, but there wasn’t even a corresponding bet slip in my bets. There were also a number of times a wager I won would be settled as a loss and not paid. I guess they're counting on some customers not watching their balance enough to notice them skimming money or falsely settling wagers. And I would strongly recommend keeping your balance with them low and withdrawing your money each day.

What customers really need to understand is this DraftKings isn’t a real Sportsbook to begin with. This is a Daily Fantasy Sports company that decided they wanted to try to run a sports book. But these are two very different business models.

There’s no need to gamble, just dealing with DK is a risk. They blatantly and openly will change your balance to zero. So just think what that says about the integrity of their games. They’d have no issue using rigged games from what I’ve seen.

TL;DR pro tip: If employees are constantly reminding you how their business is trustworthy, secure, and honest, the reality is the business is probably none of these things.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Stole from my account

No management oversight or accountability

There is no service - they don't even have a working phone number

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 24, 2020

Horrible customer service!

By Steven M., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

I've been using the DK app since it became legal in Illinois in February. I live 30 minutes away in St. Louis. I've been driving across the bridge and successfully betting even though their geolocator struggles to confirm your location along state borders. The locator regularly claims you're not in IL but eventually, you can get your bet thru. A couple of days ago, for some reason the locator determined I was not in IL and my account was locked. DK has no phone number or live chat available, which is unacceptable. I emailed CS and a rep named Andrea admitted it might be a glitch but refused to unlock my account. DK wants me to admit to trying to scam the locator before I can access my account. My balance is being held hostage as they have failed to answer several recent emails. At this point, I simply want to cash out and close my account. Frankly, they can't be trusted. I'm going to file a complaint with the IL Gaming Board, BBC, and get the word out anywhere I can. If you want a good online IL book with great CS, try BetRivers.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

No ability to talk to a live person

Poor odds

Limited sports to wager on overall

We have no sports betting in MO so I basically joined because it was one of two options at the time

Posted on Dec 23, 2020

Something fishy

By Joey L., New York, Verified Reviewer

So I played in last night's showdown between LA Chargers and Las Vegas Raiders.

So early in the game, Derek Carr gets hurt and was pulled out of the game, his backup Mariota comes in.

Well, in the tournament I’ve noticed that somebody put a backup quarterback in the captain spot and all of a sudden he was the only one that won the top prize.

I find it very odd that somebody would put a backup quarterback in their lineup and also at the captain spot.

Any comments?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Nov 12, 2020

Total ripoff

By Ken B., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

DraftKings is a total ripoff because these so-called players always have the perfect lineup every week. I have followed DraftKings for a bit now and watched every play and every quarter, then the winners suddenly change, but when they change, the person who was in first place disappears as if they were never playing to begin with, so where did they go when they were in first place at some other point? So I call BS on DraftKings and would not waste a dime with them. And in reality, if a person could pick the perfect lineups weekly on DraftKings, why not pick the lottery numbers since they are and can be so perfect?

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Only the excitement

Ripoff

Impossible to beat a computer

Posted on Nov 10, 2020

Worst customer service I have ever experienced

By William E., Franklin, TN, Verified Reviewer

Where to start...

I have been a DK member for over 6 years. Overall experience has been very good. But when you need help with something as simple as resetting a password their total inability to function in customer support is exposed.

For the life of me I don't know why they (DK) have this type of amateur, bush-league customer service attached to their name. Yes, I am angry! I have had 6 different support reps send me redundant emails without even reading my email explaining the issue. I have said the same thing to each one of them for the last six days...they are a mess! They have incorrect verifying information on me and it's causing them to run in circles chasing their tails. Truly amazing (and frustrating) to observe. They have no clue. No one follows up, I keep getting a brand new support rep every day.

They are a five-star operation with 1-star support.

It's remarkable!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I like DK

Support or customer service is amateur hour

I dislike all of their so-called support agents

Posted on Nov 2, 2020

Customer service is incompetent, obviously very low intelligence

By Walt S., Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

After numerous attempts to have a problem with my account rectified I just gave up and closed my account. Not only was their response not related to my problem they aren’t able to comprehend their own rules. After I pointed out that the problem with my account has nothing to do with their response I’m assuming they panicked (lol) and said they couldn’t change the rules or regulations for anyone! Where did that come from?

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

And, oh yes, the casino games (blackjack) are so rigged

Posted on Jan 17, 2020

They're a bunch of liars!

By Christopher R., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Their customer support is terrible. I showed them proof that they were offering me a cash-out and I hit the button over and over again, showed them snapshots and all they can tell me is if I had proof of it saying successful cash out they would help me out, therefore, calling me a liar. Their bet bought back 152 and they offered me 135 off a 60-dollar bet, who wouldn't take that deal! These guys are terrible with no generosity at all. I highly recommend not placing a wager with these people!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 30, 2019

WARNING

By Robert C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Do NOT play any casino games online. Rigged. You will LOSE money. No matter any system attempted your cash will lose, lose, and lose again. Please, any winning reviews are from DK. Just try if you want, come, make a $20 deposit, play roulette, blackjack, your choice of any boardgames casino game and your $20 will fly out the window just like your poop did away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2019

I believe they aren't paying massive amounts of winners.

By Shawn H., California, Verified Reviewer

DraftKings has me generally just outside the win zone. Over and over this happens. Even when my scores are terrific (1/1000 my guess), they will have me just make the bottom tier of winners who win just a little more than they wagered. Most of the bets will be lost and it won't even be close. I don't believe DraftKings is properly monitored or they own the monitoring firm, because...and it's almost systematic, you will spend a hundred and you will get back $30. On a good day you will get half, on a bad day you will lose it all. But, you will almost never win more than you spent. Super rare. I believe it's rigged. I'm pretty sure of it! I have been playing for years and it has always been the same routine. Many other things that prove customer theft beyond a reasonable doubt, but not enough room to give examples. Save your money. You will be glad you didn't play in the end.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 12, 2019

Watch out

By Michael S., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I had played in 3 golf contests this past week and there were 2 players that weren't even playing but DraftKings had them in the lineup and you guessed it, I had the 2 players that didn't even play. I wrote them about it but to no prevail. So that's lost money.

So beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 11, 2019

Scam, rigged, no fair chance of winning

By Canes N., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

No matter how good of a lineup you have, by the end of the contest, like 50-100 lineups pop up out of no where with the perfect lineup with a player who hasn’t done anything all season, all of a sudden, the blow-up with 20+ fantasy point, owed by 0.1% and just magically happen to be in that perfect lineup, I scream BS. For instance, last week I had like 197 points with two players left in the 4 pm NFL games. I believe I was like in 97th place. After the contest end, I finished with 227 points, and out of nowhere, there were like over 100 lineups with over 230 points and 1st place winner had like 260 points. Again BS, the winnings stay insides, and have a computer generation perfect lineups as the game progresses. I’m not buying that one bit. I read and watch so-called experts who were sure of players to have monster games and end up laying an egg, but yet somehow still end up with the perfect lineup. Unless you’re Jesus or a psychic, no way in hell you got the perfect lineup with players how have done nothing all season but sudden blew up in 1 game. I really hope the FBI starts investigating DraftKings, FanDuel and go undercover.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2019

Will lock your account and steal your money

By Nathan W., Akron, OH, Verified Reviewer

Played this loyally for over two years. Then I moved states. They asked to reverify my identity because I was showing up in a different location. Ok, fine. Spent two hours trying to get my phone to take a clear enough picture for their scanner app to be satisfied. It said ok, you are verified, go ahead and play. Deposited money. Went to enter some contests two days later...my account had suddenly been locked from playing any contests, or withdrawing money. Called customer service 18 times over a week period, never got anything but an answering machine telling me to leave my number. This company is HORRIBLE, and I am SO GLAD I never won anything major, because I am certain from reading some of these other reviews that my account would have been locked for one reason or another, and I would have never seen my winnings. As it stands they stole $20 from me, and kept me frustrated long enough that I finally decided it was not worth it, and switched to FanDuel. $20 is not a large amount I know but if this guy that apparently runs the DraftKings App from his grandma's basement (IT HAS TO BE SOMETHING LIKE THIS, OR ELSE, WHERE ARE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS ANSWERING THE PHONES?) manages to steal $20 from 1000 people every week, he has a pretty decent income coming in. Probably has to steal from customers to cover all the money he spends on pizza, lube, and other inappropriate things. Ok I'm done. Don't use DraftKings, it's a scam. Period.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 21, 2019

Bots and points rigged

By Bryan H., Destin, FL, Verified Reviewer

Caught them today, yes, today, 10/20/2019. I chose Jacksonville as a defense. I have a very good lineup as well. By the time all games are over, I was free-fall drop all way down 20,795th place, won $2 from 73rd $15 prize...I decided to look at the winner lineup and caught them, he has Jacksonville as a defense, the point is 17.0 and I have my Jacksonville defense too and my point is 0.90 with a hot fire icon on this 0.90 the DraftKing was hope I don’t notice it because of fire icon next to 0.90. But I’m not stupid. I did a screenshot and sent them. Haven’t heard from them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 11, 2019

Lockout from winning

By Anna R., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

I have been playing DraftKings for several years and I started winning. I went into my account and all my money was gone and they locked me out. I thought at first I was hacked until I chat with DraftKings and said they took it because I showed two people on my account, which wasn’t true, and different devices, which isn’t true. They said they needed my driver's license, passport, or government papers. I went to the blogs and found out the excuse they gave me is the same excuse they are giving to everyone. They cannot retrieve their winnings. DraftKings is keeping the winning money. I cannot get mine nether. This has been an ongoing issues for several years I guess to people. I am the only one on my account, no one else. The credit card I used to deposit my account is strictly mine, not even my husband. I heard people are sending the identification and still haven’t gotten anywhere so I decided I will no longer support DraftKings for their actions and not taking care of people but ripping them off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 26, 2019

Abysmal customer service

By Martin W., Ewing, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I’ve been a member of DraftKings for over a month. Recently I made some wagers and deposits with no difficulty. Today I had an opinion on several College Football games. I attempted to get into my account with bad results. I was able to send in a PayPal transfer of funds which they did not acknowledge. Every time I tried to log in to make wagers, I was told that my location was not recognized. I sent several emails to Customer Service. I found their phone number in Massachusetts and attempted to talk to someone and only got a recording telling me to leave my number. I did leave my number and 6 hours later no one has called me back. I now will attempt to withdraw my transfer of funds from the account and will never do business with them again. Recently when I was watching several sporting events, I noticed that they had a lot of TV advertisements promoting their site. If they got the money for those advertisements, they should spend some on their customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2019

DraftKings keeps your personal info forever

By Ed M., Millburn, NJ, Verified Reviewer

WARNING - Even if you close your DraftKings account they permanently retain ALL personal info you gave them.

BE SAFE: Do NOT open a DraftKings account.

I repeatedly asked them to delete the information and they repeatedly refused.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 27, 2019

Love it

By Zack P., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I have been playing on DraftKings for about three years and I love it. I have one a couple of hundred dollars here and there, but nothing crazy. Reading some of the other reviews, I feel like they are inaccurate. In a 100,000 person tournament, the difference of 10 points can be hundreds of thousands of dollars. The negative is that the same players do consistently place high, but that is mainly because they devote all of their time to playing. I follow many of these players websites and strategies. Also, they have computer systems that help them generate line-ups. Bottom line is, you most likely won't get rich playing, but it makes watching sports more enjoyable and entertaining.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 16, 2019

BS

By Kris W., Louisville, MS, Verified Reviewer

I came in 5th place. An hour later I was in 8th place and my money dropped. And they taxed me 24%, that’s not right at all. Draft Kings is a rip off. I have been playing so long, finally hit big, and can’t even enjoy it because they taxed the heck out of it. I will never play again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2019

Rigged

By Latanya T., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I have played DraftKings football for a few months and as soon as kickoff starts, I'm instantly dropped to the thousands or tens of thousands spots and no matter how good my lineup is it's impossible to get to the top position. However, when I compare my lineup to the top player's lineup, it is sometimes the same or our points are really close, but they manage to stay in the top position while mines keep dropping. Also, if I play multiple teams that play at different times, I do not reach the top even when or if all my players are on fire, but conveniently the top players (which are the same players by the way) never drop from the top position whether their lineup is on fire or not.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2019

I got scammed

By Anthony V., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I have been trying to get my $600 since November. They have told me numerous times the deposit is coming. I wait, then they just put the money back in my account. They just keep me hanging, don't be a fool, if you win, you will never get your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 6, 2018

Horrible customer service

By Brittney K., Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

My account was locked and they took my money right before the start of my competition because someone else in the house blocked themselves from DraftKings! I contacted customer support and they basically said they'll let me know if I can play in TWO DAYS. Like, who are they to block my account! They also would not give me money back until they FELT LIKE IT. This isn't the first time they stole money from me and said they'll give it back AS THEY PLEASE! They also change point totals after the match is over and told me the live scoring is for fun and isn't ACCURATE. I NEVER had issues like this with FanDuel!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 20, 2018

Scam

By Michael R., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I pick the same players on the Chicago Bears and Minnesota Vikings game last night as the winner did, so how did I come in 85th thousand place? Hhhmmmm. All the winners are company affiliated, and the money stays in-house. This is a total SCAM! Straight BS! I have screenshots to prove my cast. Give me my money or see me in court. This scam should be shut down!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2018

Total scam

By Eric W., California, Verified Reviewer

DraftKings uses avatars to fill contests. Have you ever been in a contest that had 100000 people? And it only had 50000 in it the day before the contest? Well, they use avatars to fill these contests. Faceless, no-name players that fill the contest with admins and roto grinders stat people. No one I know has ever won even a top 5 on a big contest ever. I have over 500 friends that play and none of them have ever won number one on ANY contest in over a year of playing daily.

And when you're playing these contest, you cannot see the other 90000 players, at least not all of them. That's because they use those slots and autofill guys that are making points in Progress. So if you see yourself in a number one and there's nobody around you and all of a sudden there somebody tied with you with the next best guy you know where it came from. Some kind of algorithm that fills these contest when they don't sell enough slots. So my advice is not to play against computers because it is a computer after all. Stick to small contest with your own people, and then you might have a chance of winning something.

But, all in all, the million dollar contests are all BS! I know nobody who's ever won.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 17, 2018

DraftKings scammed me for $200

By Stratis M., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

DraftKings advertised an up to $200 match for a first bet. I put $200 in the account and made a $200 bet and won and they refused to match it. I tried to contact customer service, and it took them two months to answer one of my 10 emails. When they answered, they basically told me too late and they are not matching anything.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2018

Ripped me off for $100

By Anthony C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I'm very inexperienced with DraftKings-like websites, and fantasy football. But I was lured into signing up for DraftKings with a promotional deal that they would match dollar-for-dollar up to $100 of my opening amount. I invested my hundred dollars played my hundred dollars never got the hundred dollars they promised to match. I sent numerous emails to support where they directed me in circles but never giving me what was promised. Please be advised their advertising is full of glitches and loopholes; they are not a stand-up company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2018

Questionable

By Joe K., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

I have been playing DraftKings for about five to six years now and I love it. It's something exciting, and it makes me look forward to sporting events more than I ever used to. I have won a few contests over that time and have put a lot of money into this company. I only have one real question, and it's how some of the same screen names end up on top every night no matter if it's MLB, NBA, NFL, Golf whatever. I have just seen over the years how do the same names keep popping up on top?

I have tried to email DraftKings and ask for explanations, and I usually get a copy and paste message back telling me that these people are skilled and competitive. I only question this because I have seen some of the same numerous 5 to 10 names on top for the last five to six years, there is no way that they are this good to be on top and every single category in every sport with multiple entries. Like I said from the beginning, I enjoy playing DraftKings, it's fun and exciting, but it's not fun when you see the same names on top every night winning thousands of dollars when you don't think it's possible.

All I want is DraftKings to be loyal and fair. It just doesn't seem right by all these names remain the same over the years on top it just seems really fishy. No one is that skilled in life to guess every line up right, and with multiple Sports and categories, it's just impossible.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 106

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.