About DraftKings

Based out of Boston, MA and operated by Rotowire, Inc., DraftKings is a website that allows users from all over the world to enter into daily and weekly fantasy sports contests. The company claims that everything they offer is 100% legal, and their primary marketing angle is that they provide “rapid-fire,” short-term contests when compared to other seasonal leagues. In fact, even though they’ve only been in business since 2012, they’re widely considered one of the most reputable online fantasy sports destinations.

DraftKings has been featured in a wide variety of media, including the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, Forbes, and TechCrunch, and has a solid social media presence with over 6,000 Facebook likes, and 4,100 Twitter followers. DraftKings has an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, and based on our research, has very positive customer and industry reviews.

How DraftKings Works

DraftKings offers fantasy leagues for football, baseball, basketball, hockey, college football, and college basketball, and according to their website, the process can be completed in five easy steps:

  1. Sign Up: To begin, you’ll only need to choose a username and enter your email address. Signing up is completely free, and you’ll be credited with $50,000 to apply toward your team’s salary. However, remember that fantasy sports leagues are technically gambling, so you’ll need to be at least 18 years old.

  2. Pick Your Contest: You can play free or paid contests, including guaranteed, qualifiers, head-to-head, 50/50, multipliers, and more (see below for specifics).

  3. Create Your Lineup: Choose your sport, and then draft a complete team in just a few minutes. Each player’s salary is based on their overall skill level, and will be deducted from you overall credits. DraftKings is unique in that each user only has $50,000 to spend on player salaries, which levels the playing field.

  4. Watch: DraftKings offers you the ability to monitor your teams live on your computer, tablet, or smartphone.

  5. Win: Once your chosen contest ends, your accounted will be credited. Once you decide to withdraw your winnings, your request will be processed within two business days.

DraftKings Contests

DraftKings offers several different kinds of contests, including:

  • Freeroll: Completely free to enter, and winnings are paid using Entry Tickets or DraftKings dollars, which can then be redeemed for other contests.

  • Guaranteed Prize Pool (GPP): Highlighted in orange in the DraftKings lobby, GPP contests payout the entire prize pool, regardless of whether or not a contest was filled to capacity.

  • Sit N’ Go: Unlike GPP, Sit N’ Go contests are closed if they don’t completely fill. If this occurs, your account will automatically be refunded.

  • Double Up: Places are double your original entry fee, and all players are paid the same amount.

  • Qualifiers: Instead of paying cash, Qualifier contests pay out in tickets that can be redeemed for use in paid contests.

  • Winner Takes All: Only the first place player wins, who will take the entire prize pool.

  • Multi-Entry: You’ll be allowed to enter multiple teams into a single contest. Payouts vary by game.

Once you’ve begun, you’ll be able to monitor your lineup’s status as well as your contests in real time. Your My Contests page will also include any upcoming contests, as well as those you’ve already completed.

DraftKings Pricing & Refund Policy

Signing up for DraftKings is completely free. However, if you choose to participate in some of the paid contests, you’ll need to add credits to your account using a credit card, PayPal, or Dwolla. As a first time user, you’ll receive a free $2 credit to apply to the paid game of your choice, in addition to a bonus equal to the amount of your deposit. In other words, if you deposit $250 into your DraftKings account, you’ll receive an additional $250 in bonus credits. DraftKings does not offer refunds of any kind once your funds have been applied to a contest, so keep this in mind before entering.

From an earnings perspective, DraftKings also gives you the opportunity to earn up to 40% commission for referring up to five friends.

Pros:

  • A reputation as one of the best online fantasy sports sites.
  • Free to sign up, and easy to use.
  • “Rapid-fire” contests on a daily and weekly basis (depending on the sport).
  • 100% bonus on your first deposit.
  • Numerous types of contests, and immediate winnings payout.
  • Great user experience, whether on your PC or mobile device.

Cons:

  • None noted.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

91 Consumer Reviews for DraftKings

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 11 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  65
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 91
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    100% Deposit Bonus Scam FanDuel is better.

    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    Very misleading. I will tirelessly spread the word about these jokers tricking people into believing that their deposits are doubled. When in fact, they don't disclose the real details until you've already made your deposit (liars).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off Site, Be smarter

    • NC,
    • Aug 6, 2015

    Don't do it! They do not let you see the other lineups until the contests are over. This gives them a chance to insert the best players from that day. You'll notice the same users win almost every single contest.

    Also, if you have a problem such as substituting a player last minute, you will be met with a rude email and be called a liar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Money won credited to account

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    DraftKings sucks, they owe me $4 from three days ago, and I still haven't heard from them about this matter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • Virginia,
    • Oct 1, 2014

    I played a opponent head to head (I believe it was their robotic account) I outscored the opponent for the win. They said I lost and wouldn't pay me my money. The company uses fictitious accounts to bet people. Worst ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bonus is very misleading

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 6, 2014

    I won't be playing anymore because of the misleading 100% match deposit offer that only pays out in increments of $1 for every $25 spent. Your bonus expires in 4 months, you have to be a big time spender to even get your bonus. Ridiculous and deceiving. Misleading at the very least.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Stole my money

    • Texas,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I am disabled and this was the only fun I had. DraftKings crashed and refused to pay me my money. Rip off kings. Maybe it was only a few dollars but I trusted them and they blatantly stole my money without an apology or any kind of resolution. No more DraftKings.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Something off about this site

    • Florida,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    Incredible that even in smaller leagues (~100 people) there are always a few people with fake names (i.e. jdsiofsd3254) who have selected an entire roster of no-names who just happened to perform exceptionally that night. This allows DraftKings to never have to pay out the big purses.

    I'd bet dollars to donuts they do this in almost all of the guaranteed pot tournaments. Also, you have to bet hundreds just to get a $10 deposit match.

    Shady site with shady practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2015

      Joe s

      Yea it is a scam. This company does plug there own teams info the contest. You can't see the results of a contest unless your in it. They're trying to hide their scam but it's obvious. There's a reason sports betting is illegal you can win. There is a reason this is legal you can't win. Don't waste your money on false hope.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    DraftKings is a scam

    • Floyds Knobs, Indiana,
    • Jul 14, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally funded my account with my girlfriend's PayPal. I used my own credit card for several months after that with no problem and out of nowhere, DraftKings froze my account. I wouldn't play here again if you paid me to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    DraftKings sucks

    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Jul 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried it and I hated the setup of the site in the first place. The only good is they have cheap tournaments at like 25 cents but I deposited money using my wife's card once and I automatically assumed that I was entered into the tournaments that one night. However, they say my account is restricted and locked and that I have to send pictures of people whose names are on card and all. I just told them to keep the cash and just close the account.

    Fan Duel is way better from top to bottom, I promise you. I play it each and everyday. I have won over 250 dollars since I've started. If anyone need tips on winning hit me up because I don't hate. I want everyone to win. I still haven't won first place in a big tournament but usually end up winning five plus dollars in a 1 dollar tourney.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Computer fraud

    • California,
    • Mar 7, 2015

    Every time I get over 300 points on a roster, the winners get higher and higher. I have been monitoring the winners and how in the heck are the same profiles winning all the big money. First place is always about ten points ahead. This is a bull crap site that's taking all your money and the winnings. Don't waste your time and money trying to beat cheaters. All this fantasy junk should be shut down as it's currently just legalized robbery in my opinion. I've lost 75 dollars and am walking away now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2015

      Jeff,

      Yes I noticed something similar, seems weird.

    • Jul 15, 2015

      Lee

      Yes, lost 100 dollars and always one step below a wining bet. Run as fast as you can.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    DraftKings is the WORST. Must read.

    • Albany NY,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I've been an everyday DFS (Daily Fantasy Sports) player for about a year now. After using both FanDuel and DraftKings for numerous games, I can tell you that without any doubt that FanDuel is the way to go. DraftKings was sending me emails everyday to join Kmratlif30 games in which I have never done. After I emailed the support team to kindly ask them to stop I was completely ignored, my account was locked, and I still receive the same emails everyday.

    I also had an issue with their contests that appeared to be "rigged". I would be shocked to see this extremely unprofessional site be operating a year from now and it would not surprise me if they are brought up on charges once someone proves that their contest are fixed. On the other side of the board, I have had nothing but positive experiences with FanDuel. The couple times that I had to contact customer service, not only were they extremely polite and helpful, their responses were almost immediate. I haven't been lucky enough to win a large amount of cash yet but I do personally know a friend who won $2,000.

    That is much more than I can say for the DraftKings. I am not one to often write reviews on the internet but I feel very strongly to educate everyone I can about the unprofessional manor in which DraftKings operates

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 2, 2015

      Jason,

      lol... looks like you work for Fan Duel. Draft Kings is bad ass man.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 91

Write a Review for DraftKings!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review