About Dutch Glow

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Aug 12, 2019

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in New Berlin, WI. At the time of our research, the company has a D+ with the Better Business Bureau and 48 closed complaints (as of 7/6/15), most of which appeared to reference unwanted products/charges added to orders, both online and off.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers and has a white color. They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim (more about this shortly).

To use Dutch Glow, the company claims you’ll need to apply it to any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear, and also claim that you can restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. In fact, viewing the before-and-afters in their commercial, you’ll see a variety of wood products that appear to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow’s suggested use is on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak wood furniture, and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys).

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • One 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P, although they manufacturer automatically doubles your order at checkout (and throws in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free,” but charge you an additional $7.95 processing.

In addition, there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, bringing the total to $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Dutch Glow comes with a 30-day refund policy, so if you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason), they claim you can return it for a refund. However, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work, which was something another reviewer also experienced. To address this, we took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

While thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well, we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick. In other words, it’s our opinion that almost any other cleaning solution—including water—would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated, but is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you want to read about some negative experiences Dutch Glow customers claim to have experienced, keep scrolling.

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture). In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget that you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse such as a trial by jury or joining a class action lawsuit.

What Highya’s Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 290+ Dutch Glow reviews here on HighYa complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the purchasing process, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged much more than expected tell us that it's probably better to not buy online from their website or over the phone.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning—about the same as any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth—but it’s certainly not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, despite what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow an average rating of 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars, if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

READ NEXT: Super Simple, Natural, & Cheap Cleaning Solutions Already In Your Kitchen


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Dutch Glow:
  • 322 Customer Reviews
  • 13% Recommend This Company
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 9% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 83%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This product is AMAZING!

    • By Ed J.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • May 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A friend sent me several boxes of this product as a gift. My stove is almost brand new. I used it on some specks of burned-on oil (carbon) and it did a really good job. I then took it to another friend's house. She had just moved into an apartment with a stove that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Completely greasy, burned-on grease and oil everywhere. I mixed a stronger concentration of cleaner (2 oz). I let it sit for about 1/2 an hour. No fumes, no smell, nothing. Then I went to work with the included scouring pad. The carbon came off with minimal effort. When I was done. The stovetop looked brand new. I did the inside of the oven next...Same results. I can't tell you how impressed I am. You have a customer for as long as you make this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amish wood milk

    • By Denise D.,
    • Port St. Lucie, FL,
    • Nov 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Way overpriced and very disappointed, no difference, and my cabinets looked no different. I clean my kitchen cabinets all the time and I felt as though I wasted my time. I will never buy this again, a lot of work for nothing. I will keep the product I have been using.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk

    • By Martha H.,
    • Dover, NH,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased my first bottle of Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk from my local Bed Bath & Beyond. I never really had a chance to use it, because the sprayer was defective. When I had the chance, I returned to the place of purchase (in another town) and the cashier gladly exchanged it. However, the second bottle had the same defective sprayer. Perhaps, it would have worked if I had the opportunity to use it. I'll return it when I can, but I won't be purchasing this item again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Product is very good, but don't order form dutchglow.com

    • By Susan H.,
    • Cary, NC,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I like Dutch Glow cleaner very much. Unfortunately, I ordered two bottles from Dutchglow.com. They charged me $53.80 for two bottles (included two nozzles and two caps, which come in the boxes I ordered from Amazon.com). When I returned the products to Dutchglow.com, they would only refund me $20.00 per order. They said the shipping and handling charges were not refundable. It cost me $13.95 to return the products. I will never order from this online concern ever again. When I emailed the corporate site of which this site is part of after a very unsatisfactory telephone call to the website, I emailed The SAS Group in Tarrytown, New York. I received an email from their customer rep saying they do not charge $30.80 for shipping and handling.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Like cleaning with water

    • By Tracy Spicer,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not buy this product. It cleans nothing no matter the strength. It's just like trying to clean cooked-on oil with water. Doesn't work! I've tried it all kinds of ways, just hoping it would work. You won't get your money back either.

    Do not waste your money. I held on to it for past the return days, just to see if it would work on something, anything that I needed cleaning. So when I requested my money back, they refused.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bought Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk

    • By Deb Harris,
    • Montcalm County, MI,
    • Feb 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My elderly mother bought Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk over a year ago. If you bought one, you got two free. Being elderly, she got confused about how to order and she got nine. I called the company to try and straighten it out. Bottom line, they had the money and you're stuck with a product that does not live up to what they claimed. Mom is gone but is still stuck with nine bottles of the useless stuff. I am disgusted not only with the product but with the company. Still upset. After a year.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dutch Glow cleaning tonic

    • By Kimberly Lacy,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this product at TJ Maxx only because it was on clearance and I wanted to just try something that would be better than or equal to Easy-Off to clean my stove top. Their fumes are caustic! So I got it, and I was skeptical at first because the liquid was colorless and then you add water to it.

    Well, to my surprise I sparked it first on the bottom of my pot that had years of built of crap on the bottom and sides, and like a miracle, it worked! I immediately sprayed my stove top, waited 20 minutes and it cleaned it like new! Better than Easy-Off, but now I can't find it in any store here. Help!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work

    Overall Experience:

    It doesn't work at all. Tried it on superficial scratches on my dining room table and living room side table, and it did absolutely nothing. Don't waste your money, and don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dutch Glow cleaning tonic

    • By Art M,
    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Apr 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not purchase!

    I purchased the cleaning tonic, and it did not work as instructed, neither half strength nor full strength. When I called corporate (1-914-333-7414), I spoke to Glenda, who was not only rude, but hung up on me. This is POOR customer service. Her comment was, "what do you expect me to do about it?"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    Overall Experience:

    Both myself and a friend tried it on our furniture. We followed the directions. What a scam. It didn't work for either of us. Do not buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It worked for me

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased both the Milk and the Polish in an "As Seen on TV" mall store, so I didn't have to experience all the sales hype from the Dutch Glow site (I noticed that the "bonus" bottle required it's OWN $7.95 shipping and handling, and that was a huge red flag for me).

    I have to say, the product worked VERY well on the wood furniture I tried it on in my home. I have a breakfront that has suffered from polish build-up to the point of darkening the mahogany to almost black. Nothing I've used has been able to strip that off until I used the Amish Wood Milk. Yes, it took a little "elbow grease," but there was a lot of build-up to remove. The directions said it might take a few applications to get through heavy build-up, so I wasn't surprised. I also wasn't expecting it to get rid of scratches or scuffs, which the directions also said it wasn't formulated for.

    What I DID get was a glass-smooth finish and the wood grain shining through like it hasn't in decades! I will continue to use both products, but will look for them in brick-and-mortar stores, not on-line.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 322

Write a Review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Dutch Glow