About Dutch Glow

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in Neenah, WI who has been actively pushing the product during the past few months. At the time of our research, the company wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they did have 127 closed complaints (as of 7/6/15), most of which appeared to reference unwanted products/charges added to orders, both online and off. It’s also interesting to note that of these complaints, 105 indicated that the customer was dissatisfied with the company’s response.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers and has a white color. They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim (more about this shortly).

To use Dutch Glow, the company claims you’ll need to apply it to any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear, and also claim that you can restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. In fact, viewing the before-and-afters in their commercial, you’ll see a variety of wood products that appear to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow’s suggested use is on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak wood furniture, and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys).

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • One 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P, although they manufacturer automatically doubles your order at checkout (and throws in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free,” but charge you an additional $7.95 processing.

In addition, there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, bringing the total to $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Dutch Glow comes with a 30-day refund policy, so if you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason), they claim you can return it for a refund. However, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work, which was something another reviewer also experienced. To address this, we took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

While thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well, we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick. In other words, it’s our opinion that almost any other cleaning solution—including water—would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated, but is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you want to read about some negative experiences Dutch Glow customers claim to have experienced, keep scrolling.

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture). In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget that you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse such as a trial by jury or joining a class action lawsuit.

What Highya’s Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 290+ Dutch Glow reviews here on HighYa complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the purchasing process, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged much more than expected tell us that it's probably better to not buy online from their website or over the phone.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning—about the same as any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth—but it’s certainly not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, despite what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow an average rating of 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars, if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

READ NEXT: Super Simple, Natural, & Cheap Cleaning Solutions Already In Your Kitchen

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

356 Consumer Reviews for Dutch Glow

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 29 4 star: 10 3 star: 7 2 star: 16 1 star:  294
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 356
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow cleaning tonic

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this product at TJ Maxx only because it was on clearance and I wanted to just try something that would be better than or equal to Easy-Off to clean my stove top. Their fumes are caustic! So I got it, and I was skeptical at first because the liquid was colorless and then you add water to it.

    Well, to my surprise I sparked it first on the bottom of my pot that had years of built of crap on the bottom and sides, and like a miracle, it worked! I immediately sprayed my stove top, waited 20 minutes and it cleaned it like new! Better than Easy-Off, but now I can't find it in any store here. Help!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    It doesn't work at all. Tried it on superficial scratches on my dining room table and living room side table, and it did absolutely nothing. Don't waste your money, and don't waste your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 27, 2017

      Larry Wilkinson

      My wife has an antique china hutch. The surface of the wood was very dull, due to the excessive amount of wood polish that had been used over the past 40 to 50 years. We saw the advertisement on TV and ordered a bottle. This was the first mistake we made. We applied it to the wood surface and it did take some of the waxy build up, but it also left a white film over all of the wood surfaces.

      We tried several other wood cleaners but so far, the white film is still there. The only way that I would recommend this product is (A) telling an enemy how well it worked and (B) out of vengeance.

      I give this product one-half of a 5-star review and that is being generous. I have to send the China Hutch to a company that can restore the beauty of the wood without lowering the value of the Hutch.

      A very dissatisfied customer.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow cleaning tonic

    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Apr 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not purchase!

    I purchased the cleaning tonic, and it did not work as instructed, neither half strength nor full strength. When I called corporate (1-914-333-7414), I spoke to Glenda, who was not only rude, but hung up on me. This is POOR customer service. Her comment was, "what do you expect me to do about it?"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    Both myself and a friend tried it on our furniture. We followed the directions. What a scam. It didn't work for either of us. Do not buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It worked for me

    I purchased both the Milk and the Polish in an "As Seen on TV" mall store, so I didn't have to experience all the sales hype from the Dutch Glow site (I noticed that the "bonus" bottle required it's OWN $7.95 shipping and handling, and that was a huge red flag for me).

    I have to say, the product worked VERY well on the wood furniture I tried it on in my home. I have a breakfront that has suffered from polish build-up to the point of darkening the mahogany to almost black. Nothing I've used has been able to strip that off until I used the Amish Wood Milk. Yes, it took a little "elbow grease," but there was a lot of build-up to remove. The directions said it might take a few applications to get through heavy build-up, so I wasn't surprised. I also wasn't expecting it to get rid of scratches or scuffs, which the directions also said it wasn't formulated for.

    What I DID get was a glass-smooth finish and the wood grain shining through like it hasn't in decades! I will continue to use both products, but will look for them in brick-and-mortar stores, not on-line.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't even waste your time, trust me please

    • Freehold, NJ,
    • Feb 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited after saw the commercial and I went to different stores to find this product. Finally, my local CVS had it, and I couldn't wait to come home and try it! I literally felt like a little kid with a new toy (how funny is that?), and then to come home and find out that it doesn't do anything better than the other products (I was looking for the Candid Cameras to show up).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected

    Over a year ago I was shopping at Home Depot. While I was in the furniture cleaning and polish section of Home Depot, I was looking for a product to clean and polish my ANTIQUE furniture items.

    For example, I have an old 100+ year old wooden box with a beveled mirror and is rather cute that hangs on the wall. It has its dark stain and has a very dull shine to the finish.

    When it hung in my mother's bathroom the shine had more luster. Since I've owned it and appreciate its simplicity and age, it became dull over the years.

    When I saw the Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk, I remembered the commercials for the product and decided to give it a go. So I bought 2 bottles of the item. I left and headed home.

    A week later I decided to use the Amish Wood Milk and followed the simple directions on how to apply, polish and use the product.

    I had an old clean t-shirt and applied a small amount in an area on the back. I applied the cream to the t-shirt and rubbed it on. Then after about a minute later, I used another clean cloth to buff and polish the item.

    Yes, the first t-shirt I used got dirty because of the dust and dirt that had built up over the years. While I was buffing the backing of my antique, it seemed ok at first, only because I figured, “Who's going to look at the back of this item? No one really except for myself.”

    There was a slight shine, but it didn't have that luster end shine. I turned the item to face me and decided to apply the wood milk to the top lid of the box.

    As I was buffing the top lid, I noticed that the shine was dull and it didn't seem to feel clean to the touch as I slid my fingers along the top of the lid. The only positive thing I noticed was that it did take off the dirt that accumulated over a period of time. As for the shine of bringing it back to its luster, it didn't do the job. So I was a bit disappointed, and figured, “You get what you pay”. Thank goodness I didn't pay a lot.

    When I applied Pledge Old English Wood Polish with a lemon scent, it brought back the shine I was looking for. Thanks for reading my review on Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Quadrupled the charges

    • Jeffersonville, IN,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order with Amish Dutch Glow for 2 bottles of Cleaning Tonic Concentrate at $14.99 and another bonus bottle for free. I was charged an extra charge of $23.98 + 11.90 shipping for two other bottles that I did not order.

    I was charged an extra $7.95 for a spray bottle that I did not order.

    They did not give me an opportunity to review the charges before placing the order. When the invoice finally appeared the final cost was $88.62.

    The invoice has charges for items that I did not order with a Sub Total of $46.92 leaving shipping charges of $41.70 for three bottles of cleaner and an extra empty bottle.

    I will be calling Customer Service first thing in the morning to cancel the order. I also will be calling my Credit Card Company to dispute the transaction.

    This is totally obscene and I will fight it to the end.

    They are a total RIP-OFF. BUYER BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It works

    It works like magic. I had a very badly burned cooking sheet that I just loved. But it had baked on stains, and I did not like my family and friends seeing it, so I gave Dutch Glow a try, and just like it said it came clean like new. I have pictures to prove it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Criminal

    • New York, NY,
    • Oct 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think they 'advantage' of the double your order offer. Just two weeks later, I received a box with 4 bottles of this stuff, and here's price breakdown: $33.80 in shipping and handling fees.

    This box was set USPS Parcel Select, the absolute cheapest and slowest form of delivery. This is such a disgusting attempt at bilking the public. You can return the item, but LESS shipping and handling fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow Cleaning Tonic

    • Missouri,
    • Oct 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a bad product. It does not work as advertised. Also, I placed the order online and it does not make you aware of all the extra charges involved until the order is already placed. And then I was not allowed to cancel the order. The product is a total fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 356

Write a Review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review