About Dutch Glow

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Aug 12, 2019

Dutch Glow claims to be a wood restorer derived from a 100-year-old Amish formula that cleans, polishes, and nourishes for a long-lasting shine. They boast it reveals the wood’s natural beauty, works on painted surfaces, and removes waxy buildup.

Dutch Glow is brought to you by SAS Group, a direct marketing company based in New Berlin, WI. At the time of our research, the company has a D+ with the Better Business Bureau and 48 closed complaints (as of 7/6/15), most of which appeared to reference unwanted products/charges added to orders, both online and off.

How Dutch Glow Works

Dutch Glow also goes under the moniker Amish Wood Milk, ostensibly because it was invented by Amish woodworkers and has a white color. They state its “simple” ingredients break down years of wax buildup from using other polishes, revealing the furniture’s natural glow. However, we've accumulated numerous Dutch Glow Reviews that contradict that claim (more about this shortly).

To use Dutch Glow, the company claims you’ll need to apply it to any wood surface and wipe with a cloth. They brag it’s like a magician on cabinets, making grease, smoke stains, and fingerprints disappear, and also claim that you can restore wood antiques and get rid of crayon marks left by the kids in a similar fashion. In fact, viewing the before-and-afters in their commercial, you’ll see a variety of wood products that appear to be dramatically brought back to life with a stroke of Dutch Glow. Again, numerous complaints state otherwise.

Dutch Wood Glow’s suggested use is on oak, cherry, pine, maple, or teak wood furniture, and implore you to join the generations of sportsmen who trust Dutch Glow on their wood (which appears to adorn shotgun handles and duck decoys).

Each Dutch Glow Order includes:

  • One 12 oz bottle Dutch Glow Amish Wood Milk
  • 1 bottle with floor nozzle “free” (extra S & P)
  • Jumbo Microfiber Polishing Cloth

Dutch Glow Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Dutch Glow retails for $10 plus $7.95 S & P, although they manufacturer automatically doubles your order at checkout (and throws in a floor nozzle and microfiber cloth) “free,” but charge you an additional $7.95 processing.

In addition, there is a $2 “web surcharge fee” on all orders, bringing the total to $27.90 for 2 bottles of Dutch Glow. (By clicking “process order” you are also signing an arbitration agreement.)

Dutch Glow comes with a 30-day refund policy, so if you find that dust (or down pillows) is still building up on your furniture (or any other reason), they claim you can return it for a refund. However, you have to pay to ship it back, and the $17.90 in processing fees will not be returned.

Our Dutch Glow Review: We've tried it!

After all the brouhaha from our readers, we at HighYa decided to try out Dutch Glow ourselves. It was purchased from Bed, Bath & Beyond for $9.99 plus tax, so luckily we didn't have to deal with the excessive shipping fees and up-selling tactics mentioned in the next section.

Dutch Glow Packaging

The first issue we noticed was the fact that the sprayer didn’t work, which was something another reviewer also experienced. To address this, we took the nozzle off, cut the tube shorter and screwed it back into the Dutch Glow bottle, which seemed to solve the problem.

Next, as the instructions indicated, we sprayed Dutch Glow onto a wooden table surface and kitchen cabinets, wiping with a clean dry cloth.

While thick liquid that came out of the bottle did indeed clean the table and cabinets reasonably well, we think it’s more of the elbow grease and dry cloth that did the trick. In other words, it’s our opinion that almost any other cleaning solution—including water—would do the same thing.

To prove this point, we asked an unbiased observer (OK, it was my wife) to take a look at a kitchen cabinet sprayed and cleaned with Dutch Glow and one simply wiped down with a cloth. The result? She couldn’t tell the difference.

Dutch Glow is not gooey, messy, nor oily. In fact, it did not leave any streaks, which are all pluses. Dutch Glow doesn’t seem to be as horrible a product as some of the reviewers have indicated, but is it GREAT and lives up to the HYPE? Well, not really.

And, if you want to read about some negative experiences Dutch Glow customers claim to have experienced, keep scrolling.

Bottom Line: Is Dutch Glow a Scam?

First of all, there are some unsupported claims by this product. There is no evidence that it is a century-old formula invented by the Amish (an old-fashioned Christian sect known for their rejection of technology and, apparently, their glowing furniture). In fact, they don’t even list its ingredients at all.

Secondly, if you were planning on going the route of ordering Dutch Glow through the website or telephone, think again. The shipping and processing fees are more expensive than the product itself, a “red flag” for us at Highya. That means, even if you do not like the product you will be in the hole for your initial fees, plus what it costs to ship back. And let’s not forget that you are also signing an arbitration agreement when you buy, preventing you from traditional legal recourse such as a trial by jury or joining a class action lawsuit.

What Highya’s Customer Reviews Say about Dutch Glow

Many of the 290+ Dutch Glow reviews here on HighYa complain of long delivery times, horrible customer service, a TON of additional up-selling during the purchasing process, telemarketers bombarding you, and stories of getting charged much more than expected tell us that it's probably better to not buy online from their website or over the phone.

If you still want to try Dutch Glow, we recommend going the route of purchasing directly from a local retailer (like we did at Bed, Bath & Beyond).

Next, as a friendly suggestion, don’t set high expectations for this product. As we mentioned, it will do some cleaning—about the same as any ordinary cleaning solution applied with a dry cloth—but it’s certainly not “magic!” If your furniture has scratches and other stains, it will be quite difficult to remove them with Dutch Glow alone, despite what the commercial promises.

Readers have given Dutch Glow an average rating of 1.5 stars, but the vast majority of them are frustrated with the customer service, extremely high shipping charges, and absurd refund policies. If Dutch Glow was being evaluated on the product alone, we would say it deserves at least 2.5 stars, if not 3.

What do you think? Agree or disagree? Let us know below!

READ NEXT: Super Simple, Natural, & Cheap Cleaning Solutions Already In Your Kitchen

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 320 Dutch Glow Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 8 3 star: 6 2 star: 11 1 star:  267
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 320
Sort reviews by:

  • 18 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Excellent and Superior!

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Mar 2, 2014

    I inherited a beautiful old house full of wood and antiques. I used the products on every surfaces and had to order more. Now the historic house really shine and the unique spiral staircase so sparkling. Its truly amazing like-new experience. Its worth the money!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Best yet!

    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Apr 28, 2014

    I bought this through TV, and I love the product. I've used different brands over the years, and I think this is the best! I don't like the greasy feel and look on the furniture when I dust using most other products. Makes my furniture look great and does a great job cleaning!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Dutch Glow

    • Buffalo, NY,
    • May 23, 2014

    I tried this product (Dutch Glow) and was extremely satisfied with the product. We have two dogs living with us. I don't have to dust everyday! I can very easily just blow the fur off our wooden pieces which some are antique and some are newer. I have read several reviews and found many people have just used it as a garage sale find cleaner or a spot remover. It is a wonderful method of keeping your wood looking great and removing old build-up. I would recommend this product if this is something your looking for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Product works great

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jun 15, 2014

    I can't speak to the poor customer service issues as I purchased the product at Bed, Bath and Beyond. I have a 150 year old cabinet and over the years have tried many products to remove the buildup because I don't want to remove the original finish. I tried the Amish Wood Milk on the top to test and it absolutely removed all the buildup without hurting the finish. Before I couldn't even see the grain of the wood (Mahogany). \

    Rather than spray it on since the sprayer didn't work well, I am now brushing it on and letting it sit for 15 minutes or so and then wiping it off with a rag. The rags are just loaded with the residue that is coming off.

    The cabinet has never looked this good.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Great Product

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jul 4, 2014

    First off I bought this at my local Staples store. It works decent, removed sticky soda and other junk.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Works great!

    • SF CA,
    • Aug 13, 2014

    I used Amish Wood Milk on my 70 year old hardwood floor. I didn't exactly follow the directions. The sprayer didn't work, so I just poured it on the floor and gently rubbed it in. I left it for less than a minute and wiped it up. In places where there was no wax buildup, this worked fine. In places where there WAS wax buildup, I used a nylon scrubber, and sometimes more than one application. Then, it worked great. It even bleached out some stains pretty well. That said, my goal was to strip the floor which I am now re- staining. For light cleaning, I would do just as the directions say.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 19 people found this review helpful

    This REALLY is good!

    • Ventura, Ca,
    • Oct 12, 2014

    This wood milk is great! I have several antique pieces of furniture that have been in our family for a long time. A friend makes custom furniture and has recommended pastes, sprays, creams... I've tried them all! This Amish Wood Milk has cleaned old build up and the appearance and feel of the pieces is totally improved. That's been MY true experience. In fact, I've ordered more for myself and a friend that has some antiques as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Would recommend this product

    • Kansas,
    • Nov 13, 2014

    I think the people who have been negative about this product haven't given it a good chance to work. I like it on my antique furniture and it does clean well without leaving a residue. I have recommended this to many of my friends and they have gotten it and like it too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Pretty happy with the result

    • Texas,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I bought this product at Ace Hardware for $14.99. The sprayer did not work, just cut a little off, works like a charm. I purchased new wood furniture two years ago. The manufacturer suggested cleaning with Guardsman. The Guardsman product left a thick, heavy, layer of wax on all the furniture. They would not stand behind their product. So, over the past two years, I have tried just about everything from Formby's Refinisher to Murphy's Oil Soap. Nothing worked, just made it worse. I finally bought the Amish Wood Milk. I followed the instructions. Cleaned everything, I mean everything off. I just ordered six more bottles from Bed, Bath, and Beyond. After all I have an entire home full of furniture that needs to be cleaned. I have read the various reviews. I am glad I tried the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I thought it worked quite well.

    • MA,
    • Jan 8, 2015

    I purchased Dutch Glow in a retail store and was pleased with results after using it. You do have to wipe it well with a cloth that will absorb the excess, papers towels don't. My kitchen cabinets and cherry desk look better than with anything thing else I have used.

    I plan on purchasing it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Worked great for me!

    • Jacksonville, Florida,
    • Mar 7, 2015

    My home burned and the pieces I pulled out of the rubble were covered in soot. I was able to clean off the soot and several pieces that were not burned or scorched were totally restored. I didn't have to rub a lot either. The other pieces I cleaned in order to get ready to paint with chalk paint. I was very happy with the results and the wood pieces look great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 320

Write a Review for Dutch Glow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review