• 8 Customer Reviews
  • 38% Recommend This Product
2.5 out of 5
5 star: 12% 4 star: 25% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 25% 1 star: 37%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Updated review

    Update a week after

    • By James M.,
    • Winchester, VA,
    • Jul 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I finally received replacement devices today after threatening to return. A pre-paid return label was not sent as promised and the app used to program the devices will not connect to the new charger. The nightmare continues.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Replacement not working

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Jul 5, 2020

    Horrible service after sale

    I have had my devices for a week and on the second day, one of the Eargos broke. I was promised a replacement but simply cannot get a response from their customer service department to check on the status. I have sent 3 emails as instructed when calling their 800 number for the fastest response but do not receive any email response other than the canned auto followup. They are wonderful when trying to sell you something but are awful.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Friendly before, ignored after

    • By Marvin D.,
    • Winchester, MA,
    • Jun 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Bought the first pair about 2 years ago, held up well until left ear stopped working. Bought second pair about a week ago. Out of the package, the left unit would not retain its charge via lights on the charger, not even one red light, just blackness. After charging overnight, the left unit registered 4 reds while the right had 4 whites.

    Is it the charger or the ear aid?

    Or both?

    These happenings were duly noted in emails to the person I ordered from. I also requested to swap these for a new set with an enclosed return authorization shipping label to send these back, as I had/have no confidence in them.

    Silence, deafening silence for the past 4 or 5 days.

    On the positive side, these work much better than the ones I had, after another full day on the charger. I would recommend them, but only if you are prepared to be ignored once they have your money. For this dismal and abysmal customer service, I rate them 2 stars. I would rate them much higher if they stood behind their product.

    While the customer is not always right, most of the time he/she has a legitimate complaint. Word of mouth advertising is the best, repeat business is invaluable, and a company won't last long if they treat customers like dirt.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Much better performance
    • Small, inconspicuous, current tech
    • Customer service after the sale
    • Being ignored with a legitimate complaint

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pretty good

    • By Mike H.,
    • Olympic Peninsula, WA,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've had these since April and now it's September. It was not that easy getting used to them, mainly due to irritation in the ear canals. You do get used to it though. The boost for me was the ability to keep track of conversations in crowded, echoey meeting rooms. One on one, my hearing isn't that bad yet. Interesting finds: the ear pieces do not always take a charge in the same amount. Many times I've had one dead one and one nearly so. A cleaning (important) and a recharge solve that. The ear pieces and the charger are a work of art. I've also discovered that a retracted mechanical drafting pencil (I use 0.9 mm) tip is exactly the right size to lightly scrape out earwax from the mesh input.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 30, 2019

      Company Response from Eargo

      We're happy you're hearing life to the fullest with Eargo, Mike! Please get in touch with your hearing professional at 1-800-375-8058 if there's anything we can do to provide support.


  • Still waiting on a call back. No money back for trial.

    • By Karen C.,
    • Columbus, OH,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Eargo didn't perform for my spouse as well as expected. Made several calls to return the item. Finally got the return package sent the Eargo back on 1/25/2018. Had not received any monies or contact from CSR. The product may work for some but just not for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 18, 2019

      Company Response from Eargo

      Karen, thank you for your comment. We'd like to look into your husband's Eargo experience to see whether there's anything we can do to help. Could you please respond with a message here or by sending an email to social@eargo.com with the contact information used at his time of purchase? Thank you for your help, and we hope your husband finds a hearing solution that meets his needs.


  • They really do work

    • By Darrell Y.,
    • Amarillo, TX,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First off, if you have significant hearing loss, consider speaking to an audiologist and getting a set of programmed hearing aids like Beltone or other variety.

    If you have mild hearing loss or are just beginning to not hear things in your surroundings or need the television turned up, these might be for you.

    The first thing to do is determine if you can handle the in-ear canal hearing aids. Ask for a demo and wear them. If the demo (non-functioning) don't irritate your ear canal too badly, then you are a candidate. It does take a little wear time to get used to them, and the Flexi Fibers (bristles that hold the hearing aids in place) are adjustable (large or small).

    Changing volume is strange, but works, simply gently tap your ear while wearing one and the volume changes (a woman's voice says "program 1." Each swat of your ear changes the program from 1 to 4 and then back to 1). I have had people ask me if I'm okay!

    These really do work and again, if your hearing is not practically gone, these volume adjusters will work for you. If you have specialty hearing (high end or low-end loss), these might not work, but if you generally need to hear better, these are a good answer.

    The charger is great and really holds a charge for quite a while. When the aids battery runs low, you simply pop them into the charger that is conveniently oval and round and fits nicely in a pocket.

    Your Eargos are not waterproof so you will need to develop habits that include never washing a pair of pants until you check for your Eargo charger or before you get in the shower, removing the aids first!

    They are worth the $2000 price tag. I love mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 26, 2019

      Company Response from Eargo

      Thank you for sharing your excellent Eargo experience, Darrell. Happy hearing!


  • Great start, now not so great!

    • By Charles B.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had my hearing devices for a little more than a year. They have needed to be replaced three times after they just stopped working. I paid $2000.00 up front. Now they are telling me they want $400.00 to replace the one that has stopped working once again. I spoke with Chris in customer service and he seemed irritated and condescending to me. He said I was not cleaning them properly. I have been cleaning them per instructions for the time I have had them. I think perhaps they are designed to make it difficult to maintain in proper working order and they want to blame me and charge me more money. When I bought them I did not know they should have been labeled disposable. So, I am out my money and have one working unit. I am not paying another $400.00 for a disposable hearing device. Think down the road before you buy these units. They are NOT what they are promised to be.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 15, 2019

      Company Response from Eargo

      Hi Charles, thank you for your comment. We appreciate you sharing your experience and would like to see if there's anything we can do to help you and improve ourselves. Could you please confirm the email address used at the time of your request so we can look into your Eargo experience?


  • Great technology

    Overall Experience:

    I have tried other hearing aids and hearing devices. The Eargo units are the best so far. I experimented with sizing the flexible tips and found that, just like the directions indicate, the non-large size tips fit just fine.

    I am now wearing the Eargo units all day and have to say that I don't even notice them in my ears. Additionally, I want to compliment the Eargo marketing department on the narrative in the owners manual. I have never read an owners manual that is so humorous. It's actually fun to read!

    Finally, while congratulating Eargo on its technology, e.g., rechargeable batteries, charging case, flexible tips, miniature size, etc., I want to encourage Eargo to program the Eargo units to reduce more background noise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 15, 2019

      Company Response from Eargo

      We're happy to hear Eargo is helping you hear life to the fullest, David!


  • Save your money

    • By Paul D. Bray,
    • West Memphis, AR,
    • Feb 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this product and had them replaced twice because they quit working. BIG problem. When you hit something with a hammer it will adjust. Not good. I tried to get some help with it and they wanted me to pay $500.00 to replace them for the third time. They just stopped working.

    Save your money, buy something else! This is not good, short of a scam! I am NOT a happy customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 19, 2019

      Company Response from Eargo

      Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to comment. We honored our one-year warranty and replaced your devices when needed during the time of your 2015 purchase. We have since worked hard to improve on our devices in the past three years. We no longer service our original devices, but can offer a very discounted price for an upgrade to devices we do continue to service. If you’re interested, your Personal Hearing Professional can help at 1-800-375-8058.


Showing 1-8 of 8

Write a Review for Eargo!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Eargo