• 12 Customer Reviews
  • 33% Recommend This Company
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 33% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 66%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Awful "service"

    • By Ela S.,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Really disappointed with the platform.

    For the course I took, the course content was poorly delivered, but that's not on them.

    The third-party platform they use for grading didn't accept correct responses but that's also not on them.

    What is on them is having arbitrary deadlines to complete paid for, self-paced online work, giving no warning when the time is about to expire, and then forcing students to pay for the course again to complete them. Not cheap either when compared to the same types of courses offered on other platforms ($99 for a SQL course, when a higher caliber one is available through Udemy for $10).

    No phone number to contact so you have to go back and forth via email to discuss issues, and each response takes at least a day if not more.

    Overall, I'll complete the current courses I'm enrolled in, never spend money on them again, and will tell anyone who asks to avoid. To say the behavior is unacceptable is a gross understatement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Everything is not clear

    • By Khaled A.,
    • LA,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    No online chat available on the page. The program has unordered dates and is not based on the syllabus. Confusing. Every time I send a message to the support they reply with the auto-reply message. no customer support is available.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great site to learn online

    • By Jason G.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    edX offers lots of online courses from universities like Harvard and MIT. There are over 2000 courses so it's easy to find something you like. The courses are free to try and you pay if you want a certificate showing you completed the course. It's an easy site to use.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent

    • By B A.,
    • Trophy Club, TX,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Just started, very well taught. Impressive. Need to further your education - jump on board.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • So abstract

    • By Jium J.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This website is horrible. No detail explanation, so abstract. When you watch the video, you will be discouraged a lot...that is not only you. Even I go to Harvard, I really don't understand and have a difficult time to understand the lectures. Even 1 star is a greatest compliment. I want to give -100 (minus 100).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's brilliant!

    • By Jose S.,
    • Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I really don't understand these negative comments, but maybe that's confined to the courses these people have taken. I'm currently undergoing a course on Future Cities Laboratory by ETH Zurich (one of the top architectural institutions in the world) which would I believe, on top of educating me of course, will enhance my CV when I apply for my Master's program in any Architectural program.

    I'm pretty sure you can put it under additional educational certifications obtained in your CV.

    Plus, it's free and just $50 for a verified certificate.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They charge money after showing that the course is free

    • By Paulami S.,
    • Karnataka, India,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted to take up a MOOC course as my elective module. It showed that it's self-paced and free unless you want a verified certificate from the University. When I was in the middle of the course, it showed the contents are blocked and I have to verify (pay for the verified certificate) to continue the course. I just wasted my time in this. Why do you even claim "free" when in actuality, it's not free? Bad business!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money and time

    • By Zahir K.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid for their Micromaster program. After receiving money, they basically dumped on me. The self-paced program had strange timelines reverting them to archived courses. I had to take so much stress to fight these timelines. There is nobody you could contact for help. The emails get returned with copy/paste material.

    Do a favor to your family and don't waste money on getting a worthless certificate and customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of money

    • By Andris V.,
    • Riga, Latvia,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hello!

    I tried the course "Microsoft Professional Program for Front-End Web Development track." I was having an impression that Microsoft allowed to complete courses without a paywall but, my god, I was not expecting this.

    The first course was a complete joke, there was barely any effort needed to finish it (the introduction) and guess what, to mark it as complete, they want me to pay $99 for "official proof" that I have finished it, really? $99 for a course this bad? And guess what? EACH course in this whole track has a paywall to continue.

    I have completed Mobile Web Specialist Nanodegree in Udacity, and it was 10 times more engaging, and the quality of materials felt great.

    Even Udemy courses have more merit than this scam.

    I do not recommend any of the courses this EDX site provides!

    Best regards.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I'm taking a JavaScript course

    • By Leo R.,
    • Florida,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I must say that I'm very happy and the best part is that it's free. I think that better is impossible, but I'm sure there may be better ways, where you'll surely have to pay. For now, I will stay here, and I will take other topics.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Angular Fundamentals first lab failed miserably

    • By Daniel C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I took the Angular Fundamentals course on an audit basis, thank goodness. I followed all the steps (install node.js/npm), got your first lab and something was fundamentally missing. I posted to the discussion board, and staff (not instructors) replied. Their guess did nothing. Even worse, they were not even legitimate commands to run. I posted to the help desk but their response was to continue contacting the instructors (who didn't respond). I waited and after repeated posts finally got staff to respond with another half-brained attempt. All requests to show code/setup were ignored.

    I do not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • edX courses are sloppy and difficult to follow

    • By Tom,
    • Michigan,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have taken two edX courses. They are sloppy, contain plenty of textual errors, are difficult to follow, are difficult to follow your progress, and seemed to be slapped together quickly. My opinion is that these courses should be used for interest sake. The instructors are too busy to respond and it seems like a scam to make money. Those are my feelings. It's really too bad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-12 of 12

Write a Review for edX!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
edX