Read 59 Effy Jewelry Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  40
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Great service, great product

    We recently completed two cruises with Princess Cruiseline. I can say that my wife has purchased jewelry, mostly from Diamonds International. On our first cruise, we met one of the representatives of Effy boutique onboard and again saw him at the Diamond International on shore. He was extremely helpful, however, we did not buy jewelry at that time.

    The next cruise, my wife was wearing her Tanzanite and decided her pendant was not large enough. We went to Effy onboard our next ship and purchased a pendant and earrings. The representatives were again very helpful. This was our first jewelry purchase onboard the ship and must say we are completely satisfied.

    A couple years ago, we purchased our Tanzanite off the ship at one of their recommended jewelers, along with my brother and his wife. My sister-in-law's ring was resized as we waited, but when she returned home, she noticed the stone was not set right. She contacted Princess and sent it in to be repaired. Within 3 weeks, she had it back and wears it to this day.

    It appears from the reviews that ring sizing is an issue onboard at Effy, but with all the jewelry sold, there can be an occasional mix-up. We found that Princess works very hard to stand behind their product and services. We would not hesitate to purchase jewelry onboard at Effy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Merchandise not received

    Please do not purchase Effy Jewelry on a cruise, either on board or in port. I would suggest going to Macy's or one of their stateside stores.

    I purchased a ruby ring on Carnival's Paradise. The ring was sized, and I thought all was well and good. I picked up the ring the last day of the cruise. As I walked out of the store, I looked more closely at the ring and saw a stone was missing. I went back in and asked the manager for a refund. He assured me that he was going to New York the next day (we were returning to Tampa then) and would get it repaired and have it shipped overnight and that I would have it within a week. Two weeks and still no ring! Five phone calls and not one return call.

    I finally reached a lady at Effy that is supposed to be a manager in customer service. After explaining the situation, she placed me on hold. She checked their files and have NO record of the ring being in New York. She stated they had to contact the cruise ship to see if the ring can be mailed to me. When I ask why it was repaired and returned to the ship, her story changed. Now she doesn't know where the ring is or if it was ever mailed to New York.

    I just want a refund. NEVER EVER purchase from Effy and expect any kind of good quality service. Very disappointed in the company. I have 11 pieces of Effy Jewelry. If I ever purchase from them, it will probably be through Macy's.

    Right now I just want my $1800 refund, not stories about how they don't know where it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Engagement ring

    • Perth, Western Australia,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were engaged in the Effy store on the 19th of December 2016. We purchase two rings one for me and one for my fiance. His had to be made as it needed to be a size z. Assurances of two weeks maximum were made.

    After eight and a half months of trying to get Effy to answer any emails messages or phone calls without any reply, both emails from myself and my fiance, and calls from both, we resorted to contacting Princess Cruises. They advised that they would reply to us in five days again nothing! My ring is dull and lackluster now, and we had proposed our engagement party until we got home and his ring would have arrived.

    We are not a young couple, in fact, we had been friends for over 30 years before getting together. Eight months later we don't think it appropriate to hold a party!

    Finally, the ring arrived without any apology or any advice. Then Princess Cruises replied TWO WEEKS AFTER the arrival of the ring, apologizing for Effy and giving us a $100 credit on our next cruise. No, I would not recommend Effy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Conned!

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner and I were on a Sun Princess cruise in June this year. While on that cruise we went into the Effy Jewelry store and found a gorgeous Tanzanite ring which I chose as my engagement ring. It was several sizes too big, but the ladies assured us that someone on shore would be able to resize it.

    The ring was purchased based on the expert opinion of Effy staff, and that it could be resized.

    In August I finally had time to go to the jeweler to find out as bout resizing. Three different jewelers have told me the exact opposite of Effy staff. They CANNOT resize the ring. It is way too large and resizing would damage the ring setting, etc.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. We purchased the ring only because Effy staff (it was more than one person!) promised us it could be resized. I feel so angry and upset that we have been conned into purchasing a ring which I cannot use for its intended purpose.

    To top it all off, I have not received a response to any of the emails I have sent to Princess Cruises or Effy Jewelry in the last 2-3 weeks. Absolutely appalling customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Conned!

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner and I were on a Sun Princess cruise in July this year (2017). While on that cruise my partner and I went into the Effy Jewelry store and found a gorgeous Tanzanite ring, which I chose as my engagement ring. It was several sizes too big, but the ladies assured us that someone on shore would be able to resize it.

    The ring was purchased based on the expert opinion of the staff, that it could be resized.

    I have just come home today, after going to several jewelry stores, gutted because I was told the exact opposite! They CANNOT resize the ring. It is way too large and resizing would damage the ring setting, etc.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. We purchased the ring only because Effy staff (it was more than one person!) promised us it could be resized. I feel so angry and upset that we have been conned into purchasing a ring which I cannot use for its intended purpose.

    I have messaged them today asking someone to contact me so an acceptable resolution can be achieved asap. After reading these reviews, I doubt they will call or email back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Effy does not return calls for returns

    • Cleveland, Ohio,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a pendant. Spoke to the e-commerce manager at Effy. He said that the item was returnable within 30 days for a refund. I received the pendant. Upon seeing it in the box, I decided that it was too small and not to my liking. I tried calling the toll free number, the local number and the e-commerce manager. No one answered the phone numbers. I left emails at the company site and to the e-commerce manager. No one returned a call or emailed me. It has been several days so far.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 44 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality bracelet and customer service

    I purchased a Tanzanite Bracelet in November of 2016. I have worn it out on about ten occasions, and at beginning of April, the bracelet broke.

    I attempted to contact Effy on numerous occasions but was unable to get a response. Now I am wondering if they are still in business given the poor quality of their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Very poor organization and customer service.

    On 02.27.17, while cruising on the Carnival Vista, I purchased an Effy white gold blue sapphire bracelet. The paperwork (a receipt and certificate of appraisal), provided on the night before debarking, turned out to be for another item purchased by another customer.

    Upon returning home, I immediately called the Effy's customer service number and ended up speaking to a man who identified himself as "Rafi" and as a manager. When I explained the situation, he seemed not the least concerned about my situation and was more worried that I had another customer's information. In any event, he indicated that he would send the correct documents.

    This was nine days ago, and I have as yet to receive the promised materials. I called again today at 3:00 PM, only to be told by "Jessie" that all managerial and supervisory personnel had gone home. When I asked her what I could do to resolve the matter, she indicated that I should write an email to the address on their website site. How about that for sparkling customer service?

    Don't deal with Effy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 47 out 47 people found this review helpful

    Quality and customer service are a big letdown!

    • Lawrenceburg, KY,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    On a cruise three weeks ago, my husband decided to spoil me and buy me a new diamond ring since I lost my engagement ring over ten years ago. We have been married 25 years this year, and he wanted to finally get me another ring. After hearing the jewelry shop workers boast about the amazing quality of Effy Jewelry, the lifetime warranty, and made in the USA brand, we purchased a ring valued at $2,995.

    Just two weeks after getting home, I noticed a rough feel to the band of my 24 karats white gold band on my ring. Upon further inspection, I was shocked to see that it was broken completely into. I was shocked but remembered what the workers said about the amazing customer service. So, I called.

    The lady did apologize as she told me it would take up to six weeks to fix. Okay, that stinks, but it is what it is. She then told me that I would get an email instructing me further. I was expecting a pre-paid shipping code, but instead, they tell ME that I need to pay for a certain shipping and insure the full value of the ring! Seriously?

    I have owned this ring for three weeks, and it broke in half. They should have offered to take complete and total responsibility for anything involved in getting it repaired and back on my finger ASAP! I guess we disagree on what customer service should be.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 46 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Buyer Beware of Effy

    I purchased an Effy ring while on a Celebrity cruise. The convincing sales representative stated that the ring can be traded in or upgraded by Effy at any time. We then asked if the ring can be made in white gold and they said that it can be done. So we purchased the ring and after several weeks it was delivered to our home and it was in white gold as promised.

    However, the emerald stone was not the same one that I purchased. During a phone call to Effy, I was told that the stone was indeed the same stone. Later, I contacted Effy to ask if I could visit their store in New York with intent to either trade the ring or have the emerald replaced. I was told that I must contact the cruise line, and they told me that I had to contact their customer service department, I think it is a contract service called Seaboard.

    After a month of phone calls and emails in which I asked to upgrade the emerald or to trade in the ring toward a different one, and their assurances that they will help, I am now told to send the ring to their company and they will see what they can do. This after they were sent copies of the receipts and Effy photos of the ring.

    I want to point out that we recently went on a cruise in the Caribbean and the Effy stores on some of the islands all repeated an Effy policy that we can upgrade a ring at any time. So I am lied to and given the runaround and neither Effy or the Celebrity cruise line cares. Oh, just to mention that the ring cost $1,500.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 50 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Not as it seems

    • Texas,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased me a Tanzanian bracelet in distance from Effy. It was not fitting right and I was told to take it to their jeweler in Cozumel where he ruined it! I have never seen such poor workmanship.

    When we got back from our cruise I was told to send it to Effy in New York, I did that. That was back in March of 2016 and it is now September of 2016. I have not gotten it back nor have I ever worn it once!

    I have made a complaint with the Better Business Bureau New York. And 11 days later, Effy still hasn't responded!

    By the way Effy is not registered with the Better Business Bureau in any state. This is the worst company to do business with from which I've ever bought from!

    Buyer beware: Sugar drips off their lips until you buy and have a problem with customer service! Then you are sent to rafi a man who is not a problem solver at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 59

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review