About Effy Jewelry

Boasting hundreds of jewelry pieces that are inspired by trends around the globe, Effy Jewelry claims to offer fine and fashion jewelry designs that promise to satisfy your wanderlust with a little sparkle.

Effy Jewelry began as a small jewelry operation in Aruba. Founded by Fatollah “Effy” Hermatian, an electrical engineer who emigrated from Iran in 1978 to become a jewelry designer, the Effy brand has grown is now operates under the name BH Multi.

Effy Jewelry can be found online at www.effyjewelry.com, at Macy’s, as well as 4000 other retail locations worldwide.

From classic three-stone rings, to Effy Jewelry’s signature leopard design featured on brooches, rings, necklaces and bracelets, the brand has garnered a lot of attention for offering a wide variety of styles that are frequently sold at slashed prices.

Effy Promises To Be a Girl’s Best Friend

When asked to pitch his company in a brief statement, Effy Hematian stated that Effy Jewelry was built on a foundation of superior design, craftsmanship, and quality.

Claiming to be trendsetters in the fashion jewelry market due to their hundreds of exclusive new designs every year, Effy Hemetian claims that customers love Effy Jewelry because the brand is trusted to deliver better value and quality.

In an interview, Effy Hemetial also stated that he will never compromise the quality of his products to bring down prices.

How To Shop at Effy Jewelry

Like any other online retailer, shoppers can go to their website and browse current inventory based on the type of jewelry you are interested in. Effy Jewelry offers men’s and women’s lines, a small collection of unisex religious and spiritual jewelry, as well as a bridal collection.

The pricing at Effy Jewelry is as diverse as their inventory. In their earring category alone green amethyst or citrine cushion cut studs are available for $95, while a pair of three-tiered emerald drops sell for $15,250.

When ordering from Effy Jewelry online, all purchases over $200 receive free, insured and trackable shipping.

Effy Jewelry says that any customers who are dissatisfied with their purchase are welcome to return or exchange their item as long as it is returned within 30 days from the date of shipment, and the jewelry is free from scratches, blemishes, sizing, or alterations. Any items that are considered Special Orders, such as those with engraving or specialty sizing, can still be returned, but unfortunately a 20% restocking fee will be applied.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service for a Return Authorization Number at 877-ASK-EFFY (275-3339).

Allegations Against Effy Jewelry

Effy Jewelry came under attack when a gemologist contracted by Macy’s (one of Effy Jewelry’s partner retailers) noticed that the stones being sold under the Effy Jewelry brand were sub-par (the article is available here).

The initial focus was on Effy Jewelry’s rubies. Rubies are the second hardest stone, only slightly less so than diamonds, and have become increasingly rare since Burmese mines were shut down in the early 2000s. Gem dealers found an alternative source of rubies in Africa, but the stones were of lesser quality than Burmese rubies, filled with fissures.

Effy Jewelry is accused of adding leaded glass to the poor quality stones, then treating them with heat to enhance their color and presentation. The Jeweler’s Association states that these rubies are not “real” as they fall short of the durability offered by a genuine stone.

Even more disturbing, when these artificially enhanced stones, called “treated rubies” “enhanced rubies,” “composite rubies,” or “hybrid gemstones,” are heated, the filling may leak out, causing the composited shards of inferior ruby to shatter.

To the naked eye of an ordinary consumer, there is no visible difference. However, fine jewelry is often considered an investment that will last many generations while holding its value — a promise these composited and treated stones can’t uphold.

Furthermore, in a piece exploring the topic of composite rubies, Good Morning America interviewed experts who say these composite rubies are too fragile to even clean using normal methods, and may also experience color fading over time. As such, they are worth only a fraction of the stones they represent.

In the class action lawsuit against Macy’s, many consumers stated feeling duped that they were presented with items of a supposed high-value, which upon inspection by gemologists, turned out to be nearly worthless. An article explaining the case can be found here.

Additional allegations were that Macy’s (supplied by Effy Jewelry) knowingly sold the following without disclosing the additional, potentially devaluing, information to their customers:

  • Rubies that were composites or filled with glass or lead filled glass;
  • Stones were being passed as untreated “green amethyst,” when in fact this stone was actually Praseolite (a heated form of quartz). Only purple amethyst is natural, real amethyst, and therefore of a much higher value;
  • Sapphires were fracture filled with glass;
  • Black sapphires were being passed off as “black diamonds”;
  • Many diamonds were enhanced by laser drilling or filing of surface cavities and fractures with a hardened substance;
  • Diamonds were irradiated or heated to induce color and then represented to be natural black diamonds.

A broadcast report of the investigation of composite rubies by Good Morning America can be found here.

While some of the articles do not directly name Effy Jewelry as the supplier to Macy’s, Lord and Taylor, and the other stores in question, details from a dissatisfied customer who purchased directly through Effy Jewelry can be found here.

The Bottom Line

Despite rampant reports of fraudulent gems, many consumers state that they are happy with their Effy Jewelry purchases in forum chatter.

While the jewelry sold by Effy may be beautiful in the short term, the issue argued by experts is that consumers are being sold inferior products at an inflated price, without receiving all the important information.

If you’re interested in purchasing jewelry from the Effy Jewelry line, it’s important to arm yourself with information. Be sure to ask the salesperson:

  1. Is this ruby treated?
  2. If so, how was it treated?
  3. Is there lead glass in the ruby? Federal laws require that retailers provide consumers with a full refund if the product sold was misrepresented or determined to fraudulent.

If purchasing from Effy Jewelry online, it’s recommended that buyers take their newly purchased gemstones to a professional for an evaluation before the 30-day return period is up.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 45 Effy Jewelry Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  30
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Extremely unhappy with purchase

    • Grovetown, GA,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought an Effy diamond ring on a cruise (cost as much as the cruise). I have worn it less than one month and two of the side diamonds fell out. I am extremely disappointed, I honestly will never by another piece of Effy Jewelry!

    I tried to contact customer service by phone and the website and neither are working.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • Illinois,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got an Effy ring for Christmas that was purchased at Macy’s. Less than two months later, one of the diamonds fell out. I brought it back to Macy’s. They sent it to the manufacturing who had it for over two months! I just got it back two weeks ago and now, one of the big stones has fallen out. Macy’s will not refund. So boo to Effy and double boo for Macy’s who obviously doesn’t stand by their products. Piece of garbage, do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 5, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Michele,

      While we make every effort to ensure the integrity of our repairs, sometimes we may have an issue. Would you kindly contact me via email andream@effyjewelry so that we can get this fixed for you? I look forward to assisting you. Best, Andrea.


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Paid a fortune and my bracelet keeps coming undone

    • Heathsville, VA,
    • Apr 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We went into the Effy store in the Bahamas and bought $9,000 worth of three pieces of jewelry. My bracelet keeps coming unlatched and falling off of my arm so I’m afraid to even wear it.

    I also have a ring that is missing stones. I honestly thought Effy was a great name in jewelry but I will never buy it again.

    They also didn’t tell us the credit card is only good at the store in the Bahamas if we did want to buy more.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 29, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Denise,

      Would you kindly reach out to me at Andream@effyjewelry.com so that I may assist you? I am sorry that you are having difficulty with your purchases but rest assured that Effy Jewelry comes with a lifetime warranty and we will repair/adjust your jewelry for you. Please forward your receipt information and I will get back to you promptly!

      Best,

      Andrea


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Cherry Hill, NJ,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a beautiful pair of gold and diamond earrings while on a cruise a couple of weeks ago. On the back of the receipt, it specifically states that should I find an identical product either in another Effy store or on their website for a lesser price, the difference would be refunded. Well, then I was told that they could issue a store credit, no refund. When I insisted, I was then told to send them details of the cruise, folio number, booking number, etc. and they would forward it to the cruise line, and then I would have to deal with their customer relations. The cruise line doesn’t agree since I paid Effy with my credit card and I totally agree with that. Apparently, Effy doesn’t care to stand behind their policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Maria,

      Would you kindly forward the receipt information as well as the listed price for the identical item to my email address andream@effyjewelry.com so that I can help you? We do offer a price match policy for items purchased within 30 days and we will most certainly honor that.

      I look forward to hearing from you.

      Best,

      Andrea


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Updating the rating

    • Texas,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I posted a hostile review before I made contact with Effy. Andrea from Effy customer relations is working with me directly to resolve my concern. It is only fair and reasonable that I remove the disparaging comments and give Effy a fair shake.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Apr 9, 2019

    Update

    I posted a hostile review before I made contact with Effy. Andrea from Effy customer relations is working with me directly to resolve my concern. It is only fair and reasonable that I remove the disparaging comments and give Effy a fair shake.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Mar 24, 2019

    Lied to

    I just found out that I have been had by effing Effy.

    I purchased a pair of "diamond" earrings for my wife on a Princess cruise. I was told they were diamonds.

    The description on the receipt says:

    14Karat White Gold Diamond Huggle Earrings with 0.70Tw Round Diamond H/I COlor SI1/I1 Clarity

    Purchased on the Regal Princess for $1,000.

    I just went to a local jewelry store to have a piece repaired and several cleaned. Out of curiosity, I asked for a retail appraisal - $600-700 tops. The stones turn out to be white sapphires and not diamonds. They checked them with a Gempro diamond tester.

    They checked every diamond in each piece I brought in. The Effy earrings failed 100%. Other pieces I purchased were fine. Surprisingly my wedding band which has 6 "diamonds" in it, well, 5 failed. The 6th, and only good one, was from a repair this jeweler did last year.

    As far as I am concerned, Effy is an "effyn" thief.

    • Apr 1, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Tom,

      As per our phone conversation before you posted this review and the evaluation authorization I provided you, we guarantee the diamonds we sell at Effy are 100% genuine. As promised, we have sent your wife's earrings to an independent and unbiased gem lab to authenticate the diamonds and will have that evaluation sent to you promptly. The results from the Gem Lab will be more accurate than those yielded from the Gempro Diamond tester. I will contact you directly soon.

      Andrea

    (read moreread less...)

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    In love...

    • Michigan,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    About two weeks before going on a cruise this January my wedding set of 32 years had cracked. There was just nothing out there that I liked to replace it. We were on a cruise and Effy had an event, so I figured what the heck, might as well see what they got.

    First of all, my salesman was amazing, his wife also works there and she was as amazing as well. They both spent over an hour with me going through different rings with their honest opinions, they weren't pushy or purposely tried to sell me the highest they could. I'm completely happy with our purchase, it's absolutely beautiful and they have an amazing warranty!

    I would recommend 100%. I wish I could post a picture of it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 9, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your kind words! Please let us know if we may assist you further and we look forward to helping you again on your next cruise!


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I was happy with my ring, now I know to get it checked.

    • Peoria, IL,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been watching a piece of jewelry go on sale and go on sale and go on sale until it went to close out. My mother bought it for me for my 45th birthday, it is very special to me, it has an amethyst that is pink and diamonds running all over the amethyst like loops. It reminds me of my sister every time I look at my hand. Her birthstone is Amethyst, I am an April baby so mine is diamonds. I am very happy with the ring, but We still paid a lot. $1200.00. Now I know to take a to a friend who owns her own jewelry shop to have it checked before the warranty runs out. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 1, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your post. Please rest assured your Effy Ring purchased from our Website or other authorized retailer is 100% genuine! If you have any concerns, please feel free to reach out to me directly at andream@effyjewelry.com I'll be more than happy to answer any questions.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Returning Effy Customer

    • Rocky Mount, NC,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I began buying Effy Jewelry while cruising approximately 6 years ago! My first piece was bought on a cruise ship. I fell in love with it then and continue to be very proud to wear that ring. On my next cruise, I found the matching bracelet at port and purchased it as well. Now every time we cruise I search the ship for Effy Jewelry or the ports for an Effy store. I would not consider buying Jewelry from a retailer that I am not familiar with, and am very comfortable with dealing with Effy. I just returned from a cruise on the Oasis yesterday with my 3 new pieces of jewelry from Effy. Admittedly, I am not sure about the quality of the diamonds in my new diamond ring, and I could worry about it, and question its quality, but it is gorgeous, and I love it, so I have chosen not to worry about its quality. I have also chosen to trust that I paid a fair price for it. If I didn’t, then it is my fault for not doing my research first.

    I like the look of the pieces that resemble John Hardy, but at much more affordable prices.

    I was disappointed that there was no Effy on Royal Caribbean’s Oasis. I was told they lost the contact.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Carnival cruise

    • Michigan,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never heard of Effy before I took a Carnival cruise. I bought a tanzanite diamond ring. I like it and will only wear it on special occasions. I don't know that much about the Effy company but will do further research on its reputation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 5, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your comment! Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions regarding your purchase at andream@effyjewelry.com, I am here to help!


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rose gold mixed stone flower ring turns your finger black

    • Redlands, CA,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I were repeatedly told by Royal Caribbean that the Effy Jewelry was high quality and guaranteed jewelry, so we trusted them when we purchased my mixed stone (Ruby, pink sapphire, and diamonds) "14-karat rose gold" flower ring. We bought it on the last day of our trip so I didn’t wear it until the right occasion when we got home. I just took it out to wear it a week ago and as the night went on my friends noticed I had black all over my fingers where my ring had rubbed. I was HUMILIATED! I was just showing off my ring earlier in the evening and now it was turning my fingers black!

    Of course, as luck would have it, I was just outside the return window and now I’m stuck with a $3,000 purchase that is nothing more than costume jewelry. Please don’t buy from this company or any other jewelry company recommended by Royal Caribbean. I don’t even have the heart to tell my husband because he’d be so upset that he spent $3,000 on a piece of junk I’d never wear again. I wish this forum allowed pictures so I could post.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 5, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Lori, I am sorry to hear that you are having issues with a ring you recently purchased. I can guarantee that your purchase from Effy is, in fact, rose gold, but I want to make sure you happy with your purchase. Would you contact me at andream@effyjewelry.com so that I may assist you? I am looking forward to helping you.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Buyers remorse

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a beautiful Effy ring on my Royal Caribbean cruise last year.

    I paid more than the cruise for the ring. Now it seems I see a replica of the ring everywhere in CZ.

    I contacted Effy to see what my options are. I was told I had to buy up DOUBLE by cost. $7400.00 is OUT OF THE QUESTION.

    I even went to local jewelry stores and they weren't even interested in it.

    I own 3 other Effy pieces and have never seen them elsewhere.

    Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      It's been said that imitation is the highest form of flattery! Please know that you will wear your genuine Effy ring for many years to come! We do have an equal exchange policy within 30 days of purchase but your purchase was well beyond the 30 days. After 30 days we do have a trade up policy of double the value of your purchase.


Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review