About Egglettes

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 23, 2018

Using a two-piece design, Egglettes promises to help you make perfect hard-boiled, soft-boiled, and mini-omelet eggs in minutes, without worrying about messy shells and broken egg whites. Just crack the egg into the nonstick silicone pod, twist on the lid, boil on the stovetop, and pop them out when done.

Then, when you’re finished cooking, their dishwasher safe design promises to make cleanup super easy.

The basic idea behind Egglettes seems fairly straightforward. But does that necessarily mean that they’ll deliver on the manufacturer’s claims? Even then, are they the only option available? Let’s start answering your questions by going through a quick cooking lesson.

How Do Eggs Boil?

According to Nature.com’s Scitable, eggs are made up of a lot of protein. And when exposed to heat from boiling water, the molecular bonds of the amino acids inside these proteins change shape. Then, they “clump together and solidify, causing the egg white and yolk to harden.”

In a nutshell (or eggshell, as the case may be), this is the ‘thermodynamic’ process referenced on the Egglettes website and in their commercial.

As anyone who’s ever boiled an egg understands, though, this chemical change can cause the egg white to stick to the inside of the shell, making it tough to remove without spending precious time and creating a mess in the process.

And while there’s no foolproof method, the article goes on to explain that adding table salt or vinegar could help make peeling a bit easier. Epicurious adds a few more methods:

  1. Cracking the top and bottom, and then blowing
  2. Putting a plate over the pot (or even a plastic container) and shaking
  3. Placing a spoon underneath the egg’s shell, and then rotating
  4. Rolling the egg on the counter, submerging in cold water, and peeling the shell

Compared to these—often free—methods, let’s find out what you’ll pay for Egglettes.

How Much Do Egglettes Cost?

One set of six Egglettes is priced at $14.99, plus $3.99 S&H. Each order comes with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker and a free recipe booklet, which will provide a variety of “delicious egg dishes and omelet recipes.”

Idea Village backs Egglettes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by reaching out to customer support at 855-355-0416. Let’s learn more about the company you’ll be calling.

What Do We Know About Egglettes’ Manufacturer?

Egglettes seemed to be a brand new product at the time of our research, although we encountered two customer reviews on Amazon, one of which gave them a five-star rating (ease of use, great results with practice), while the other rated their experience one star (priced too high).

From a company perspective, Idea Village is based out of Wayne, NJ and has been manufacturing As Seen on TV products since 2009. Some of their top-reviewed products here at HighYa include Copper Fit, Yes! by Finishing Touch, Micro Touch One Razor, and Snackeez.

Idea Village held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on four consumer reviews and nearly 100 closed complaints, as of 1/22/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around products that didn’t meet expectations, along with difficulty obtaining refunds. A representative responded in each instance.

Are There Other Devices Like Egglettes?

While we encountered several related products during our research, such as electric steamers and poached egg holders, the only similar option to Egglettes we came across was Eggies.

This four-pack of holders featured a meaningfully different design than Egglettes, although they offered the same core functionality—just crack the egg into the container (and pre-season it, if desired), boil, and then untwist the cap to remove the contents.

Eggies didn’t come with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker or free recipe booklet like Egglettes, but it did include a free egg white separator. Price-wise, online retailers offered it for between $9 and $25, putting the product in question meaningfully lower, depending on retailer.

Related: How to Eat Healthy on a Tight Budget: Simple Money-Saving Tips

We don’t typically include feedback for third-party products in our articles, but given the essentially identical function in this instance, we think it’s worth pointing out that many Eggies customers complained that the devices tended to leak their contents into the surrounding water.

Also, due to the elbow grease necessary to clean them after each use, many customers stated they didn’t seem to save much time compared to traditional boiling and peeling.

Pro tip: To potentially help alleviate the latter problem, one Amazon reviewer recommended that you oil the inside with some cooking spray prior to use, although your mileage might vary.

We called and spoke with several customer support representatives who confirmed that the plastic used in Egglettes is BPA-free. On the other hand, there was no confirmation of this on the Eggies website at the time of our research,

Outside of price and real-world functionality, is there anything else you should keep in mind when choosing between Egglettes and the competition?

Our Bottom Line About Egglettes

In the end, we didn’t test the device ourselves. But based on what we learned during our research and from online customer feedback for functionally identical competitors, it seems that Egglettes could live up to its claim of helping you never have to peel a hard-boiled egg again.

However, you'll still have to crack the egg, which could introduce eggshells into the cup if you're not careful, so it certainly won't eliminate them altogether. Also, based on the limited online consumer reviews for Egglettes, it might take some practice before perfecting the necessary technique. Together, we think you might want to maintain realistic expectations about what you’ll experience as soon as you try them.

Whether or not you’re a professional right out of the gate or otherwise, just keep in mind that it’s not a completely risk-free transaction if you’re not satisfied, since `you’ll lose your initial $3.99 S&H. You’ll also have to pay to ship your Egglettes back to the manufacturer, which could vary greatly depending on where you live.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

65 Consumer Reviews for Egglettes

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 8 3 star: 3 2 star: 6 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 31% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 65
Sort reviews by:

  • Not worth it!

    • O'Fallon, IL,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two packages of four from a local Walmart. When I got them home, it was more work getting things together than boiling the old way. Eggs still stuck even spraying oil. This company wasn't foretelling of the extra time of spooning it out, etc., the way the commercial shows the eggs just fall out. Baloney! If there was a lower score, I would've given it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes are cool

    • Fredericksburg, VA,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These things are pretty neat, and I don't understand all the Egglette-shaming that I read.

    The Egglette is vented via a small hole in the plastic top to allow air, repeat, air, to escape during the heating process. If the Egglette tips over during the boiling, then egg material will squirt out the vent into the boiling water. So, don't let the Egglette tip over! Simply put enough water in a small pot to allow the things to sit on the bottom of the pot and up to a level below when they float. Works every time.

    My favorite recipe is to put some bacon bits and a small amount of sharp cheddar and the egg into the pre-pammed cup, close it up and then shake vigorously. Boil the cups in a rolling boil for a little under 12 minutes, squeeze the omelets out and enjoy.

    These things are the only food I know how to cook.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a four-pack at Walmart for $9.99. My first try I only used two eggs to try it, one for hard-boiled and one for soft. I sprayed the inside with Pam cooking spray.

    For the soft-boiled egg, I put the egg in, and it almost went to the fill line. I wanted cheese, so I put that in. It went over the fill line. I think you need to scramble the egg first and then mix in the cheese because when it was done you still had visual yolk and the cheese laid on the top just as it was put in. I cooked both eggs about 20 minutes. When they were done and extremely hot, I had to use a towel to hold the bottom while I twisted off the lid. You need to take a knife around the inside of the Egglette and then it came out extremely fast.

    The hard-boiled egg yolk was still not cooked after 20 minutes. The eggs may not be pretty when they come out, but it all goes in your stomach, so who cares. The whole idea is to not peel the egg and it did its job.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Would I use Egglettes again?

    • New Zealand,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was pretty excited to get some after seeing the ad, and after some consideration, I ordered some. By the time I had paid postage, they cost me about $53. There was no indication that they were coming from overseas and ended up taking about 6 weeks to arrive.

    So for a start, there were no instructions at all on how to use, so I just went ahead and put the eggs in and placed in the boiling water. They rolled over, so I tipped some of the water out. So after about 10 minutes in the water, they were still uncooked in the middle, so I took them out anyway. Getting them out was another matter. I had to scrape them out with a spoon as they were stuck fast to the sides. Getting them clean required hard scraping.

    So no, I would never recommend to anyone, and I will never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It's basically a Coddler

    • Australia,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Royal Worcester has been making Egg Coddlers for over 120 years. This is just a plastic/silicone variety of the very same concept and design, except that porcelain is truly non-stick and easier to clean than the plastic/silly-cone variety.

    I'll be throwing these Chinese time-wasters away and sticking to the classier tried and true Coddler from the UK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes gone smooshed

    • Coarsegold, CA,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got my Egglettes and I was so excited. I drove straight home and read directions in the entirety.

    Just eggs. Nothing else added. After cleaned, sprayed, in went the eggs in the water. I was horrified 15 minutes later when two of the eggs fell over, so the hard-boiled egg looked horrible after prying it out. On top of that, the plastic collapsed, like not re-useable. They will not pop back out.

    Another two blew its lid, so those did not look good. The remaining two were helped out with a knife.

    If only it was as easy as advertised. I was so excited. The good news is I ordered 12 and still have all the packing to send back for a refund.

    You can’t blame me for swallowing the snake oil.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes are a waste of money

    • Mineral, VA,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don't work, they are not worth a dime. They stick to the sides, even with the oil coating they fail to mention in their ads. They come out looking nothing like the advertisement. Stick to the old method, and save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, I really liked this product due to hating to peel hard-boiled eggs, which we eat every morning for breakfast. Other than the texture being a little rubbery, they were ok. This morning I put them in a pot of boiling water, as I usually do, and they tipped over and all the eggs spilled out into the water, even though I made sure the tops were on tight. After reading the negative reviews on the product on this site, I threw them in the trash can. It's a nice idea but doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Just follow the directions

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These do work, but just like anything else, you have to follow the directions. Oil the cups, use the recommended amount of water and let the eggs cool. Too little water and the cups will touch the bottom of the pot, but if you put too much water and they will float, turn over, and water will seep inside.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    No more peeling!

    • Alpena, MI,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These things are awesome! We have about 20 chickens. We always have fresh eggs, and I'm terrible at peeling them after being hard-boiled, so I decided to try Egglettes.

    For those people whining about having to spray the containers with cooking spray and then clean them out after...what the heck is your problem? What did you expect? It's not a miracle product. It's advertised to help avoid peeling eggs, and that's exactly what it does. I ruined too many eggs by peeling them terrible. Now with my Egglettes, I have saved time and eggs. When the directions are followed, I believe the Egglettes work as advertised. When the silicone is sprayed appropriately, the eggs DO NOT stick, and the container is super easy to clean. I would buy another pack, and I do recommend to other people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Totally not worth the money.

    • St. Paul, MN,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have known better. Like most "As Seen on TV" products, they are not as advertised. The eggs stick even if cups are oiled. The cups turn over in the boiling water, the eggs leak out and water enters the cups. Eggs are tough and do not look anything like hard-boiled eggs by the time I got them out of the cups. I couldn't even eat them. And cleaning cups is not worth the effort. Unfortunately, the packaging got thrown out, so I was not able to return them to Bed Bath & Beyond where I bought them. I threw them away, they are not even good enough to give to Goodwill. Would never recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 65

Write a Review for Egglettes!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review