About Egglettes

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 23, 2018

Using a two-piece design, Egglettes promises to help you make perfect hard-boiled, soft-boiled, and mini-omelet eggs in minutes, without worrying about messy shells and broken egg whites. Just crack the egg into the nonstick silicone pod, twist on the lid, boil on the stovetop, and pop them out when done.

Then, when you’re finished cooking, their dishwasher safe design promises to make cleanup super easy.

The basic idea behind Egglettes seems fairly straightforward. But does that necessarily mean that they’ll deliver on the manufacturer’s claims? Even then, are they the only option available? Let’s start answering your questions by going through a quick cooking lesson.

How Do Eggs Boil?

According to Nature.com’s Scitable, eggs are made up of a lot of protein. And when exposed to heat from boiling water, the molecular bonds of the amino acids inside these proteins change shape. Then, they “clump together and solidify, causing the egg white and yolk to harden.”

In a nutshell (or eggshell, as the case may be), this is the ‘thermodynamic’ process referenced on the Egglettes website and in their commercial.

As anyone who’s ever boiled an egg understands, though, this chemical change can cause the egg white to stick to the inside of the shell, making it tough to remove without spending precious time and creating a mess in the process.

And while there’s no foolproof method, the article goes on to explain that adding table salt or vinegar could help make peeling a bit easier. Epicurious adds a few more methods:

  1. Cracking the top and bottom, and then blowing
  2. Putting a plate over the pot (or even a plastic container) and shaking
  3. Placing a spoon underneath the egg’s shell, and then rotating
  4. Rolling the egg on the counter, submerging in cold water, and peeling the shell

Compared to these—often free—methods, let’s find out what you’ll pay for Egglettes.

How Much Do Egglettes Cost?

One set of six Egglettes is priced at $14.99, plus $3.99 S&H. Each order comes with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker and a free recipe booklet, which will provide a variety of “delicious egg dishes and omelet recipes.”

Idea Village backs Egglettes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by reaching out to customer support at 855-355-0416. Let’s learn more about the company you’ll be calling.

What Do We Know About Egglettes’ Manufacturer?

Egglettes seemed to be a brand new product at the time of our research, although we encountered two customer reviews on Amazon, one of which gave them a five-star rating (ease of use, great results with practice), while the other rated their experience one star (priced too high).

From a company perspective, Idea Village is based out of Wayne, NJ and has been manufacturing As Seen on TV products since 2009. Some of their top-reviewed products here at HighYa include Copper Fit, Yes! by Finishing Touch, Micro Touch One Razor, and Snackeez.

Idea Village held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on four consumer reviews and nearly 100 closed complaints, as of 1/22/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around products that didn’t meet expectations, along with difficulty obtaining refunds. A representative responded in each instance.

Are There Other Devices Like Egglettes?

While we encountered several related products during our research, such as electric steamers and poached egg holders, the only similar option to Egglettes we came across was Eggies.

This four-pack of holders featured a meaningfully different design than Egglettes, although they offered the same core functionality—just crack the egg into the container (and pre-season it, if desired), boil, and then untwist the cap to remove the contents.

Eggies didn’t come with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker or free recipe booklet like Egglettes, but it did include a free egg white separator. Price-wise, online retailers offered it for between $9 and $25, putting the product in question meaningfully lower, depending on retailer.

Related: How to Eat Healthy on a Tight Budget: Simple Money-Saving Tips

We don’t typically include feedback for third-party products in our articles, but given the essentially identical function in this instance, we think it’s worth pointing out that many Eggies customers complained that the devices tended to leak their contents into the surrounding water.

Also, due to the elbow grease necessary to clean them after each use, many customers stated they didn’t seem to save much time compared to traditional boiling and peeling.

Pro tip: To potentially help alleviate the latter problem, one Amazon reviewer recommended that you oil the inside with some cooking spray prior to use, although your mileage might vary.

We called and spoke with several customer support representatives who confirmed that the plastic used in Egglettes is BPA-free. On the other hand, there was no confirmation of this on the Eggies website at the time of our research,

Outside of price and real-world functionality, is there anything else you should keep in mind when choosing between Egglettes and the competition?

Our Bottom Line About Egglettes

In the end, we didn’t test the device ourselves. But based on what we learned during our research and from online customer feedback for functionally identical competitors, it seems that Egglettes could live up to its claim of helping you never have to peel a hard-boiled egg again.

However, you'll still have to crack the egg, which could introduce eggshells into the cup if you're not careful, so it certainly won't eliminate them altogether. Also, based on the limited online consumer reviews for Egglettes, it might take some practice before perfecting the necessary technique. Together, we think you might want to maintain realistic expectations about what you’ll experience as soon as you try them.

Whether or not you’re a professional right out of the gate or otherwise, just keep in mind that it’s not a completely risk-free transaction if you’re not satisfied, since `you’ll lose your initial $3.99 S&H. You’ll also have to pay to ship your Egglettes back to the manufacturer, which could vary greatly depending on where you live.


Read 79 Egglettes Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 9 3 star: 4 2 star: 6 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 79
Sort reviews by:

  • Egglettes spaghetti

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hesitated a long time to buy the Egglettes and I never should have bought them. My daughter loves hard-boiled egg whites so I figured this would be a quick way to make them without having to dig out the yolk. Big mistake! The Egglettes flipped over and began leaking into the boiling water making it look like egg white spaghetti.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • The Egglettes

    • Florida,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Got these as a gift. They are about the sorriest things I have seen in a while. Not only do they not do what they say; they are hard to clean. I put them exactly where they belong and that's in the trash! I will continue to boil my eggs in a pot. Never had no problem with that. Sure is a lot cleaner!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Horrible product

    • West Linn, OR,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Had Egglettes containers for 2 months now. First time used, Egglettes worked pretty well (sprayed inside of each one with non-stick cooking spray). Now it seems that no matter how tight I screw on the orange lid, the lid comes off in the boiling water, and runny egg goes everywhere in the pan. Also, Egglettes act top-heavy (even though an entire egg is cracked into the single Egglette) and flips upside down, then the lid will pop off, with egg white and yoke floating all over the pan. I tried the complimentary microwave egg sandwich cooker, but the lid almost always blows off while in the microwave (even though using Egglette's instructions for the cooker), ending in blown up egg all over the microwave.

    Bad product, and they won't take it back once it's been used. How do you know how the product actually works unless you use it? Very unhappy with this purchase. Called their customer service, and rep said they would send us a replacement, but then call got dropped and Egglette rep never called me back. Why would I want a "replacement" anyway as how much could their product have changed in two months? Not just one Egglette container misbehaves, but every one of them turns upside down, lid comes off, etc., now. I tried to look up my order number online so I could include it with this review, but the Egglette company is careful to not have an order history tab you can click on. Horrible product! Poor customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Egglettes

    • Mount Morris, MI,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Keep your money in your pocket where it belongs. These things are a waste of time. I sprayed them with Pam, just like the instructions indicated. I popped them in the hot water, timed them for about 8 minutes, they didn't pop out of the container like it shows on TV, but they were about the consistency of a very soft poached egg. Put them back in the water and on the stove, boiled them for another five or six minutes, took them out, and they looked like something the cat had been chewing on. I guess it really didn't matter because I was boiling eggs for potato salad, but it would have been nice had there been an entire egg there. They leave half of the egg inside the Egglette. They are not very easy to wash, either. I had to take a scrubby sponge to them to get the rest of the egg out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Regretted, are junk

    • Ebensburg, PA,
    • Apr 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is terrible. It sticks inside even after spraying. They taste terrible, like rubber. How are you supposed to create edible foods with a product like this? It is time-consuming.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Does not do what is says on TV

    • Laidley, Queensland, Australia,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not able to get the egg out of the container as on TV. I cook in boiling water and they are not firm in the container. They are now in the back of my cupboard. Very disappointed in this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Egglettes mess

    • Melbourne, FL,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Egg white sticks to the silicone. What a mess trying to get it out of the egglette. The old fashioned way is better. Waste of money! I tried these several times and got the same result. If you use a dinner knife to scrape the egg out and partially clean the silicone, it takes a while. I had to turn the Egglettes inside out to clean them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sticks to silicone, you get mess of eggs.

    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Eggs stick to the silicone shell and it is difficult to clean it. Because eggs stick to it, you get a total mess of egg. It takes much longer to cook the egg then normally. Also, they should specify a cooking time. Stick to the old fashioned way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Like the Walmart Egglettes

    • Westminster, MD,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I asked Santa for two packs, thinking one would go back. I don't eat eggs, but my husband loves deviled eggs, but hates getting the shells off. So I tried a 4-pack tonight and they were perfect.

    I Pamed the top and inside and you are to roll it around to spread. Forget that! Just spread the Pam with my finger and the top also. I was surprised 4 remained upright in the pot.

    Anyway, I cooked them in boiling water for 16 minutes like the book says - yes there should be a booklet!

    Next I drained them, kept them in the pot with cold water and ice.

    They popped out fine You may have to squish the sides a tad, but they do fall out.

    No shells - the hub ate them up! I won't put them in the dishwasher or use the other recipes. For a party, the shape isn't that great, but they show how to stuff them. I am not sure anyone would want to eat a full stuffed egg at a party.

    Anyway, a keeper for me to make the hub his favorites!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love my Egglettes

    I got these as a gift. Pretty simple design and work as they are supposed to if you follow the directions. Mine tastes great, and it really is much easier than peeling hard boiled eggs!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Monroe, NC,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three of them repeatedly turn upside down. I really don't know why. All I know is that they don't perform the way they are advertised.

    Don't wast your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 79

Write a Review for Egglettes!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review