About Egglettes

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 23, 2018

Using a two-piece design, Egglettes promises to help you make perfect hard-boiled, soft-boiled, and mini-omelet eggs in minutes, without worrying about messy shells and broken egg whites. Just crack the egg into the nonstick silicone pod, twist on the lid, boil on the stovetop, and pop them out when done.

Then, when you’re finished cooking, their dishwasher safe design promises to make cleanup super easy.

The basic idea behind Egglettes seems fairly straightforward. But does that necessarily mean that they’ll deliver on the manufacturer’s claims? Even then, are they the only option available? Let’s start answering your questions by going through a quick cooking lesson.

How Do Eggs Boil?

According to Nature.com’s Scitable, eggs are made up of a lot of protein. And when exposed to heat from boiling water, the molecular bonds of the amino acids inside these proteins change shape. Then, they “clump together and solidify, causing the egg white and yolk to harden.”

In a nutshell (or eggshell, as the case may be), this is the ‘thermodynamic’ process referenced on the Egglettes website and in their commercial.

As anyone who’s ever boiled an egg understands, though, this chemical change can cause the egg white to stick to the inside of the shell, making it tough to remove without spending precious time and creating a mess in the process.

And while there’s no foolproof method, the article goes on to explain that adding table salt or vinegar could help make peeling a bit easier. Epicurious adds a few more methods:

  1. Cracking the top and bottom, and then blowing
  2. Putting a plate over the pot (or even a plastic container) and shaking
  3. Placing a spoon underneath the egg’s shell, and then rotating
  4. Rolling the egg on the counter, submerging in cold water, and peeling the shell

Compared to these—often free—methods, let’s find out what you’ll pay for Egglettes.

How Much Do Egglettes Cost?

One set of six Egglettes is priced at $14.99, plus $3.99 S&H. Each order comes with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker and a free recipe booklet, which will provide a variety of “delicious egg dishes and omelet recipes.”

Idea Village backs Egglettes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by reaching out to customer support at 855-355-0416. Let’s learn more about the company you’ll be calling.

What Do We Know About Egglettes’ Manufacturer?

Egglettes seemed to be a brand new product at the time of our research, although we encountered two customer reviews on Amazon, one of which gave them a five-star rating (ease of use, great results with practice), while the other rated their experience one star (priced too high).

From a company perspective, Idea Village is based out of Wayne, NJ and has been manufacturing As Seen on TV products since 2009. Some of their top-reviewed products here at HighYa include Copper Fit, Yes! by Finishing Touch, Micro Touch One Razor, and Snackeez.

Idea Village held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on four consumer reviews and nearly 100 closed complaints, as of 1/22/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around products that didn’t meet expectations, along with difficulty obtaining refunds. A representative responded in each instance.

Are There Other Devices Like Egglettes?

While we encountered several related products during our research, such as electric steamers and poached egg holders, the only similar option to Egglettes we came across was Eggies.

This four-pack of holders featured a meaningfully different design than Egglettes, although they offered the same core functionality—just crack the egg into the container (and pre-season it, if desired), boil, and then untwist the cap to remove the contents.

Eggies didn’t come with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker or free recipe booklet like Egglettes, but it did include a free egg white separator. Price-wise, online retailers offered it for between $9 and $25, putting the product in question meaningfully lower, depending on retailer.

Related: How to Eat Healthy on a Tight Budget: Simple Money-Saving Tips

We don’t typically include feedback for third-party products in our articles, but given the essentially identical function in this instance, we think it’s worth pointing out that many Eggies customers complained that the devices tended to leak their contents into the surrounding water.

Also, due to the elbow grease necessary to clean them after each use, many customers stated they didn’t seem to save much time compared to traditional boiling and peeling.

Pro tip: To potentially help alleviate the latter problem, one Amazon reviewer recommended that you oil the inside with some cooking spray prior to use, although your mileage might vary.

We called and spoke with several customer support representatives who confirmed that the plastic used in Egglettes is BPA-free. On the other hand, there was no confirmation of this on the Eggies website at the time of our research,

Outside of price and real-world functionality, is there anything else you should keep in mind when choosing between Egglettes and the competition?

Our Bottom Line About Egglettes

In the end, we didn’t test the device ourselves. But based on what we learned during our research and from online customer feedback for functionally identical competitors, it seems that Egglettes could live up to its claim of helping you never have to peel a hard-boiled egg again.

However, you'll still have to crack the egg, which could introduce eggshells into the cup if you're not careful, so it certainly won't eliminate them altogether. Also, based on the limited online consumer reviews for Egglettes, it might take some practice before perfecting the necessary technique. Together, we think you might want to maintain realistic expectations about what you’ll experience as soon as you try them.

Whether or not you’re a professional right out of the gate or otherwise, just keep in mind that it’s not a completely risk-free transaction if you’re not satisfied, since `you’ll lose your initial $3.99 S&H. You’ll also have to pay to ship your Egglettes back to the manufacturer, which could vary greatly depending on where you live.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

32 Consumer Reviews for Egglettes

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 34% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • Had trouble with the Egglettes

    I had trouble with my Egglettes and didn't keep them. Out of four one wouldn't float lid-up but kept rolling on its side. The eggs did not pop out like in the commercial; they had to be dug out. The yolk came out kind of crusty (this was with a 10-minute boil).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They work!

    • Kettle Falls, WA,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading all of the negative/bad reviews for the Egglettes, I was definitely prepared for the worst and to be let down. I only did two my first time trying them just in case. Well, they came out PERFECT. Nothing stuck to the inside, the eggs were done to perfection, and I couldn't be more thrilled and no more having to peel.

    I brought the water to a very rapid bowl, sprayed the inside of the Egglettes with Pam cooking spray (I cracked the eggs into a measuring cup before putting them into the containers to be sure there were no broken eggshell pieces in them), put the lids on tight, and placed in the water for about 13-14 minutes. I removed them and placed them in a bowl of cold water for about ten minutes. I used a spoon to slip them out as the directions stated.

    I am so glad that I had already purchased them before I read all of the terrible reviews because I probably wouldn't have bought them!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Try this

    • New Port Richey, FL,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading all the reviews, here's what I did for a hard-boiled egg that came out perfectly: I took a folded paper towel with a drop of vegetable oil on it and wiped it inside the rubber piece. Then I cooked the egg exactly as I would in the shell. I took it out of the water and let it cool, just as I normally would. That's when I remembered how much easier it is to take the shell off a hard-boiled egg once it's been in the refrigerator, so I put the whole piece in the refrigerator for about an hour. I opened it, used a teaspoon to nudge the egg out of the container, and voila, a perfect hard-boiled egg. There was a tiny bit of egg white stuck to the inside of the rubber, but it came right off when I washed it along with the dishes with a sponge and soapy water.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Poorly made

    After waiting about a month after ordering, I finally received it. Using it today for the first time, I used four of them. I following directions to the letter...into the boiling water they went. After fifteen minutes, I checked them. The tops came off three. All the tops were on tight. The cheap material must warp in the boiling water. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Follow directions

    • Topeka, KS,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Follow the directions people. I didn’t use any oil. I cooked them for 14 minutes, pulled them out and stuck them in cold water for about 30 seconds and used a butter knife around the edges. They popped right out. It’s not the prettiest, but if you cut the top off, I think it could present a decent deviled egg. The flavor was typical. By the time you assemble it, disassemble it, etc., I’m not sure it saves you any time. But it does what they said it would, and I am satisfied with mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Okay

    I bought my Egglettes at Bed, Bath & Beyond after seeing them advertised on TV. I bought two packages of four to a package. I followed the instructions and the eggs popped out as described. The only problem I had was that (like Penny said) the eggs were flat on top. I made deviled eggs for Easter, and they seemed half the size a shelled deviled egg would be. The manufacturer needs to redesign the container so the eggs are more oval when cooked.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Order was canceled

    I ordered Eggletts once and it was canceled, twice and canceled again, third time from another company, and they were out of stock. I don't think I will try again after reading these reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I like em'

    • Dunlap, TN,
    • Apr 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I boiled mine for 18 minutes and sprayed them good with Pam. They came out easy and hard-boiled but with potholes, no sticking. I opened them over a paper towel, to soak up any oil. I paid $12.99 for six from eBay, with three-day delivery (free) and no tax. Overall I like them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not what it's claimed

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Apr 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Arrived. No recipe book enclosed. No sandwich maker enclosed.

    The containers do not stay upright; they tip slightly sideways.

    A little water can get in if boiled too hard, but not much.

    The lids are hard to screw on as the screw part is not attached to the silicon base so each Egglette has three parts. This means you can be trying to screw the lid on, but both parts move around unless you can grip the bottom part of the lid.

    You must use an oil or spray, if not, believe me, then they do stick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Total crap!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No matter what they say, the egg sticks inside the cup. You end up with scrambled eggs due to needing to scrape the egg out of the cup.

    We followed the instruction EXACTLY! Washed them in warm soapy water. Dried them, coated the insides with cooking oil, and they still stuck to the interior of the cup.

    In the end, it's easier dealing with pealing the shell off the egg than than the excessive time it takes to screw with this failure.

    Nothing more than a successful advertising campaign. TOTAL CRAP!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes don't work

    • Louisville, TN,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two sets thinking it was factual according to the ad. What a joke! It just doesn't work as advertised. The eggs stick, and you can't get them out. They are not boiled as good as in the shell. All I did was make them money and help the Chinese.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for Egglettes!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review