About Egglettes

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 23, 2018

Using a two-piece design, Egglettes promises to help you make perfect hard-boiled, soft-boiled, and mini-omelet eggs in minutes, without worrying about messy shells and broken egg whites. Just crack the egg into the nonstick silicone pod, twist on the lid, boil on the stovetop, and pop them out when done.

Then, when you’re finished cooking, their dishwasher safe design promises to make cleanup super easy.

The basic idea behind Egglettes seems fairly straightforward. But does that necessarily mean that they’ll deliver on the manufacturer’s claims? Even then, are they the only option available? Let’s start answering your questions by going through a quick cooking lesson.

How Do Eggs Boil?

According to Nature.com’s Scitable, eggs are made up of a lot of protein. And when exposed to heat from boiling water, the molecular bonds of the amino acids inside these proteins change shape. Then, they “clump together and solidify, causing the egg white and yolk to harden.”

In a nutshell (or eggshell, as the case may be), this is the ‘thermodynamic’ process referenced on the Egglettes website and in their commercial.

As anyone who’s ever boiled an egg understands, though, this chemical change can cause the egg white to stick to the inside of the shell, making it tough to remove without spending precious time and creating a mess in the process.

And while there’s no foolproof method, the article goes on to explain that adding table salt or vinegar could help make peeling a bit easier. Epicurious adds a few more methods:

  1. Cracking the top and bottom, and then blowing
  2. Putting a plate over the pot (or even a plastic container) and shaking
  3. Placing a spoon underneath the egg’s shell, and then rotating
  4. Rolling the egg on the counter, submerging in cold water, and peeling the shell

Compared to these—often free—methods, let’s find out what you’ll pay for Egglettes.

How Much Do Egglettes Cost?

One set of six Egglettes is priced at $14.99, plus $3.99 S&H. Each order comes with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker and a free recipe booklet, which will provide a variety of “delicious egg dishes and omelet recipes.”

Idea Village backs Egglettes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by reaching out to customer support at 855-355-0416. Let’s learn more about the company you’ll be calling.

What Do We Know About Egglettes’ Manufacturer?

Egglettes seemed to be a brand new product at the time of our research, although we encountered two customer reviews on Amazon, one of which gave them a five-star rating (ease of use, great results with practice), while the other rated their experience one star (priced too high).

From a company perspective, Idea Village is based out of Wayne, NJ and has been manufacturing As Seen on TV products since 2009. Some of their top-reviewed products here at HighYa include Copper Fit, Yes! by Finishing Touch, Micro Touch One Razor, and Snackeez.

Idea Village held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on four consumer reviews and nearly 100 closed complaints, as of 1/22/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around products that didn’t meet expectations, along with difficulty obtaining refunds. A representative responded in each instance.

Are There Other Devices Like Egglettes?

While we encountered several related products during our research, such as electric steamers and poached egg holders, the only similar option to Egglettes we came across was Eggies.

This four-pack of holders featured a meaningfully different design than Egglettes, although they offered the same core functionality—just crack the egg into the container (and pre-season it, if desired), boil, and then untwist the cap to remove the contents.

Eggies didn’t come with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker or free recipe booklet like Egglettes, but it did include a free egg white separator. Price-wise, online retailers offered it for between $9 and $25, putting the product in question meaningfully lower, depending on retailer.

Related: How to Eat Healthy on a Tight Budget: Simple Money-Saving Tips

We don’t typically include feedback for third-party products in our articles, but given the essentially identical function in this instance, we think it’s worth pointing out that many Eggies customers complained that the devices tended to leak their contents into the surrounding water.

Also, due to the elbow grease necessary to clean them after each use, many customers stated they didn’t seem to save much time compared to traditional boiling and peeling.

Pro tip: To potentially help alleviate the latter problem, one Amazon reviewer recommended that you oil the inside with some cooking spray prior to use, although your mileage might vary.

We called and spoke with several customer support representatives who confirmed that the plastic used in Egglettes is BPA-free. On the other hand, there was no confirmation of this on the Eggies website at the time of our research,

Outside of price and real-world functionality, is there anything else you should keep in mind when choosing between Egglettes and the competition?

Our Bottom Line About Egglettes

In the end, we didn’t test the device ourselves. But based on what we learned during our research and from online customer feedback for functionally identical competitors, it seems that Egglettes could live up to its claim of helping you never have to peel a hard-boiled egg again.

However, you'll still have to crack the egg, which could introduce eggshells into the cup if you're not careful, so it certainly won't eliminate them altogether. Also, based on the limited online consumer reviews for Egglettes, it might take some practice before perfecting the necessary technique. Together, we think you might want to maintain realistic expectations about what you’ll experience as soon as you try them.

Whether or not you’re a professional right out of the gate or otherwise, just keep in mind that it’s not a completely risk-free transaction if you’re not satisfied, since `you’ll lose your initial $3.99 S&H. You’ll also have to pay to ship your Egglettes back to the manufacturer, which could vary greatly depending on where you live.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

48 Consumer Reviews for Egglettes

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 6 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  28
Bottom Line: 29% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes

    • Falmouth, MA,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awful product. Took over 40 minutes and still not hard-boiled. Awful to clean, even in the dishwasher, with residue stuck to the insides. I tossed them into the garbage. A waste of money and time. Do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I love my Egglettes

    • Dublin, Ireland,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dad bought these for me as a gift, and I love them. They really are great for making my slimming world breakfasts. I have never had to oil the insides or had them leak or not stand upright. I just use a spoon to scoop them right out, and they come out perfect no oil necessary. If you give them a quick scrub with a baby bottle brush, they are cleaned up super quick. And I never submerge them in water, just have them stand upright in a saucepan of boiling water. Anyway, like a said, I really love mine, and I haven't had any of the issues claimed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Very time consuming and hard to clean

    • Belleville, IL,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to purchase these because I hate to peel eggs and I make a lot of chicken salad. After you wash and dry the Egglettes, you have to oil them. I was very careful to roll the oil all around the insides. I cooked them, cooled in cold water, and tried to take them out of the container. I had to run a knife around the egg to get them out. Then the cleanup - awful. I had to take a spoon and scrape the insides. I don't know if they come clean in the dishwasher as I am doing it now. But I don't have the time to spend using this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Dearborn, MI,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Why do I have to oil and scrap the egg out of a plastic shell? They do not tell you that they must be oiled thoroughly or the egg will stick on TV. This is more work then just pealing the egg itself.

    Plus, you have to clean the eggshell container because the egg is stuck in there even after you oil it. What a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes...I love them!

    • Maine,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Egglettes early this morning and read the booklet that came with them. I washed and dried them and then I cooked and crumbled sausage and peeled and diced green pepper and onion. I mixed five eggs and added what I wanted then I put them in boiling water, and after just 10 minutes I checked one, and it looked done. I allowed them to cool a bit then opened plopped them right out! They were delicious. Solid full of flavor! The cleanup was easy as pie. I did use Pam. Three short bursts as recommended. I love them, am making some for breakfast right now!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not as described

    • Washington, PA,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased not one, but two orders of these from the Egglettes website. When I placed the order, they were on back-order. I waited over six weeks, must be a great product right, WRONG! I followed the directions to the letter and had to loosen the egg from the inside of the egglette. There were small amounts of egg still stuck to the inside that needed to be washed out (not a simple rinse). I'll do it the old fashion way where I don't have to oil the egg first and then scrub the shell when finished. I will tell my daughter not to waste her time with the set I purchased for her.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great idea, bad execution

    • Texas,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Egglettes are horrible. The containers do not stand upright in the pan. The majority of the eggs inside the containers, leak out into the water. While the idea for this product is good, the company needs to make changes. The container bottoms should be weighted so they don't flip to the side. The containers should be leak proof. If they make these changes, I would be happy. I am very disappointed with this product. It's going in the trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy these, they work like crap!

    • Annandale, MN,
    • May 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is your only warning. If you get these, you just WASTED YOUR MONEY. The lids fight you when you try to put it on. There's a small lid, and if it's under the water, the entire thing will tip to the side and will continue, if you don't take it out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes don’t work

    • Cleveland, TN,
    • May 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got the Egglettes. The eggs do not come out like they say in the commercials. They’re not even worth calling to get my money back. Just another scam product. Don’t waste your time don't waste your money. You will not be able to use them like they say.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    I tried Egglettes for the first (and maybe last) time.

    I thoroughly oiled the cups with Canola oil. I brought the water to a rolling boil before dropping the containers into the pot.

    The containers did not settle to the bottom or float upright; they floated sideways. I had screwed on the caps tightly, but they leaked egg whites onto the sides and into the pot...not a tight seal.

    The caps were a mess to clean, even after soaking in water for three days. It required a knife to scrape out the egg whites stuck to the cap.

    I may try them again, oiling the caps and collars generously. If that doesn't work, they go into the garbage. I would try Crisco as suggested by another reviewer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • North Carolina,
    • May 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, I couldn't use a regular 6-quart saucepan to cook the eggs as they touched the bottom. I had to get out my huge pot and filled it with a lot of water. I sprayed oil into the Egglettes, but after removing the eggs, I now have six of them with a mess of stuck-on egg inside that even after soaking is going to take a lot of work to get out. I almost want to just throw them away; it is that much of an ordeal to clean out each one.

    The other complaint I have is that the egg salad I made from the eggs for sandwiches doesn't taste like it usually does. The texture is also different, perhaps from the white parts of the eggs having oil on them? I don't know, but the flavor is definitely compromised.

    If I can ever get them cleaned out, I will try some of the things I have read in this article to see if that makes them worth using.

    Right now it seems to me that the very large pan of water that needs to be heated ($) and the work it takes to clean them after use is just not worth it. It is much easier to just boil the eggs and peel the shells off under cold water, a process that isn't really hard at all!

    Right now I am feeling ripped off, and I'm debating on sending them back with all of the egg so badly stuck on inside the Egglettes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 48

Write a Review for Egglettes!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review