About Egglettes

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 23, 2018

Using a two-piece design, Egglettes promises to help you make perfect hard-boiled, soft-boiled, and mini-omelet eggs in minutes, without worrying about messy shells and broken egg whites. Just crack the egg into the nonstick silicone pod, twist on the lid, boil on the stovetop, and pop them out when done.

Then, when you’re finished cooking, their dishwasher safe design promises to make cleanup super easy.

The basic idea behind Egglettes seems fairly straightforward. But does that necessarily mean that they’ll deliver on the manufacturer’s claims? Even then, are they the only option available? Let’s start answering your questions by going through a quick cooking lesson.

How Do Eggs Boil?

According to Nature.com’s Scitable, eggs are made up of a lot of protein. And when exposed to heat from boiling water, the molecular bonds of the amino acids inside these proteins change shape. Then, they “clump together and solidify, causing the egg white and yolk to harden.”

In a nutshell (or eggshell, as the case may be), this is the ‘thermodynamic’ process referenced on the Egglettes website and in their commercial.

As anyone who’s ever boiled an egg understands, though, this chemical change can cause the egg white to stick to the inside of the shell, making it tough to remove without spending precious time and creating a mess in the process.

And while there’s no foolproof method, the article goes on to explain that adding table salt or vinegar could help make peeling a bit easier. Epicurious adds a few more methods:

  1. Cracking the top and bottom, and then blowing
  2. Putting a plate over the pot (or even a plastic container) and shaking
  3. Placing a spoon underneath the egg’s shell, and then rotating
  4. Rolling the egg on the counter, submerging in cold water, and peeling the shell

Compared to these—often free—methods, let’s find out what you’ll pay for Egglettes.

How Much Do Egglettes Cost?

One set of six Egglettes is priced at $14.99, plus $3.99 S&H. Each order comes with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker and a free recipe booklet, which will provide a variety of “delicious egg dishes and omelet recipes.”

Idea Village backs Egglettes with a 60-day refund policy, less S&H, which you can request by reaching out to customer support at 855-355-0416. Let’s learn more about the company you’ll be calling.

What Do We Know About Egglettes’ Manufacturer?

Egglettes seemed to be a brand new product at the time of our research, although we encountered two customer reviews on Amazon, one of which gave them a five-star rating (ease of use, great results with practice), while the other rated their experience one star (priced too high).

From a company perspective, Idea Village is based out of Wayne, NJ and has been manufacturing As Seen on TV products since 2009. Some of their top-reviewed products here at HighYa include Copper Fit, Yes! by Finishing Touch, Micro Touch One Razor, and Snackeez.

Idea Village held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on four consumer reviews and nearly 100 closed complaints, as of 1/22/18. Most of these appeared to revolve around products that didn’t meet expectations, along with difficulty obtaining refunds. A representative responded in each instance.

Are There Other Devices Like Egglettes?

While we encountered several related products during our research, such as electric steamers and poached egg holders, the only similar option to Egglettes we came across was Eggies.

This four-pack of holders featured a meaningfully different design than Egglettes, although they offered the same core functionality—just crack the egg into the container (and pre-season it, if desired), boil, and then untwist the cap to remove the contents.

Eggies didn’t come with a bonus microwave egg sandwich cooker or free recipe booklet like Egglettes, but it did include a free egg white separator. Price-wise, online retailers offered it for between $9 and $25, putting the product in question meaningfully lower, depending on retailer.

Related: How to Eat Healthy on a Tight Budget: Simple Money-Saving Tips

We don’t typically include feedback for third-party products in our articles, but given the essentially identical function in this instance, we think it’s worth pointing out that many Eggies customers complained that the devices tended to leak their contents into the surrounding water.

Also, due to the elbow grease necessary to clean them after each use, many customers stated they didn’t seem to save much time compared to traditional boiling and peeling.

Pro tip: To potentially help alleviate the latter problem, one Amazon reviewer recommended that you oil the inside with some cooking spray prior to use, although your mileage might vary.

We called and spoke with several customer support representatives who confirmed that the plastic used in Egglettes is BPA-free. On the other hand, there was no confirmation of this on the Eggies website at the time of our research,

Outside of price and real-world functionality, is there anything else you should keep in mind when choosing between Egglettes and the competition?

Our Bottom Line About Egglettes

In the end, we didn’t test the device ourselves. But based on what we learned during our research and from online customer feedback for functionally identical competitors, it seems that Egglettes could live up to its claim of helping you never have to peel a hard-boiled egg again.

However, you'll still have to crack the egg, which could introduce eggshells into the cup if you're not careful, so it certainly won't eliminate them altogether. Also, based on the limited online consumer reviews for Egglettes, it might take some practice before perfecting the necessary technique. Together, we think you might want to maintain realistic expectations about what you’ll experience as soon as you try them.

Whether or not you’re a professional right out of the gate or otherwise, just keep in mind that it’s not a completely risk-free transaction if you’re not satisfied, since `you’ll lose your initial $3.99 S&H. You’ll also have to pay to ship your Egglettes back to the manufacturer, which could vary greatly depending on where you live.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

56 Consumer Reviews for Egglettes

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 56
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No more peeling!

    • Alpena, MI,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These things are awesome! We have about 20 chickens. We always have fresh eggs, and I'm terrible at peeling them after being hard-boiled, so I decided to try Egglettes.

    For those people whining about having to spray the containers with cooking spray and then clean them out after...what the heck is your problem? What did you expect? It's not a miracle product. It's advertised to help avoid peeling eggs, and that's exactly what it does. I ruined too many eggs by peeling them terrible. Now with my Egglettes, I have saved time and eggs. When the directions are followed, I believe the Egglettes work as advertised. When the silicone is sprayed appropriately, the eggs DO NOT stick, and the container is super easy to clean. I would buy another pack, and I do recommend to other people.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Totally not worth the money.

    • St. Paul, MN,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have known better. Like most "As Seen on TV" products, they are not as advertised. The eggs stick even if cups are oiled. The cups turn over in the boiling water, the eggs leak out and water enters the cups. Eggs are tough and do not look anything like hard-boiled eggs by the time I got them out of the cups. I couldn't even eat them. And cleaning cups is not worth the effort. Unfortunately, the packaging got thrown out, so I was not able to return them to Bed Bath & Beyond where I bought them. I threw them away, they are not even good enough to give to Goodwill. Would never recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    What is wrong with everyone?

    • Manchester, NH,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I believe that whoever bought these with the expectation that it would save time or mess, is not thinking clearly. The point was to avoid peeling the eggs. That is all. No one promised magic.

    Most people (being too lazy), would forego the step whereby you clean the Egglettes before use. That would make a world of difference. A fresh egg will not behave the same as a not-so-fresh egg. The shape of the egg will not be the same as if it were still in the shell.

    If the directions said to put the Egglettes in enough water so that the Egglette did not stay upright, they were clearly written by an imbecile. I don't believe that to be the case. The silicon is perfectly fine on the bottom of the pan surrounded by enough water to cover the EGG, not the whole Egglette.

    The water should be at a simmer, just as if you were cooking with the shell. Simmer for 20 minutes, more or less depending on egg size, place in cold water to stop the egg from cooking any further. Spoon out and if there is an egg stuck, doesn't a scrubber sponge remove it? I would consider that easier than using the dishwasher.

    Common sense, not so common. I would recommend these to someone looking for a product that allows them to boil an egg and not have to peel it afterward.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Works, but...

    • Nevada,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They do work but all of mine when in boiling water turned over and the egg whites came out into the water. My next batch I took a couple of long knives and put through the top of the Egglettes and laid on the top of the pot and now the Egglette device won't turn over.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    I am not happy!

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy this product. I purchased the product at Rite Aid. The instructions state that you should use cooking spray or oil to coat the surface before using. I used oil. The appearance of the hard-boiled eggs was messy. The worst part was the clean-up. It took me a while to remove the stuck-on egg from the surface. This is a ridiculous product. It would have been far easier to boil an egg in the normal way, and the clean-up would not have taken me long. Today was the first and probably the last time will use Egglettes, at least for cooking. It was a waste of my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the four-pack Egglette set with the free microwave bowl off the TV ad on June 1st. On June 29, 2018, I received one Egglette, not the four in a package I ordered, just one Egglette in a manilla envelope. No packaging, no paperwork. This is a total ripoff!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and eggs

    • Summerville, SC,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed the enclosed instructions. I put the Egglettes into enough boiling water so the bottoms did not touch the pan. The first one turned sideways, soon to be followed by the other three. The water entered into the vent hole on top, and the egg white leaked out. Complete garbage is my opinion, and I wasted four eggs to boot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money!

    You know how you hate it when the egg won't let loose of the shell? You know those Egglettes commercials you see? Where you dump the egg into an egg shaped container, boil them, and the eggs pop right out. WRONG! What they don't tell you is you have to oil the containers first or spray them with PAM. Then smear your fingers in there to evenly coat the inside with oil (more calories) then dump the eggs in. Then afterwards you have to wash them out. Screw that, just boil the darn eggs in their shell! Don't waste your money on these!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Egglettes

    • Falmouth, MA,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Awful product. Took over 40 minutes and still not hard-boiled. Awful to clean, even in the dishwasher, with residue stuck to the insides. I tossed them into the garbage. A waste of money and time. Do not buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I love my Egglettes

    • Dublin, Ireland,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dad bought these for me as a gift, and I love them. They really are great for making my slimming world breakfasts. I have never had to oil the insides or had them leak or not stand upright. I just use a spoon to scoop them right out, and they come out perfect no oil necessary. If you give them a quick scrub with a baby bottle brush, they are cleaned up super quick. And I never submerge them in water, just have them stand upright in a saucepan of boiling water. Anyway, like a said, I really love mine, and I haven't had any of the issues claimed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very time consuming and hard to clean

    • Belleville, IL,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to purchase these because I hate to peel eggs and I make a lot of chicken salad. After you wash and dry the Egglettes, you have to oil them. I was very careful to roll the oil all around the insides. I cooked them, cooled in cold water, and tried to take them out of the container. I had to run a knife around the egg to get them out. Then the cleanup - awful. I had to take a spoon and scrape the insides. I don't know if they come clean in the dishwasher as I am doing it now. But I don't have the time to spend using this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 56

Write a Review for Egglettes!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review