EverQuote Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
EverQuote

Overall Rating

1.2

156 Customer Reviews

Summary

EverQuote is a service that aggregates insurance quotes from a variety of well-known carriers based on your personal criteria. Learn if customers are generally pleased with this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.2 Stars out of 156 Reviews
5 Star:3% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:92%
7% Recommend This Service
Start your review of EverQuote:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 26, 2017

Only if you enjoy spam

By Chris, Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

How could I fall for this? I feel so stupid. After years of avoiding this kind of spam generator, I gave them my email address for a quote. Now I'm getting emails about male enhancements, Burger King coupons, things I qualify for or already won, and more garbage in my inbox than ever. I feel so stupid for falling for this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 27, 2017

Waste of time

By Morgan, Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I usually don't jump on something that seems too good to be true. This is my fault for being such a sucker.

Do NOT use the site. It's a waste of time, and moments after you submit your information, you get a phone call or two from an automated number. Complete crap. I should have read the reviews first. Stick with Esurance if you want to compare auto quotes. It's not a scam like this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2017

This is absolute crap

By Jacob, Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

If I could give it zero stars, I would. You enter in all your info to get car quotes, and all it does is give you links to popular insurance sites where you have to enter your information all over again. On top of that, I have been getting calls all day from random insurance companies. This site does absolutely nothing. You would be better off calling insurance companies directly.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 36 People Have Voted

Posted on May 11, 2017

EverQuote rip off - don't use them

By John Gray, North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Their claim is that you will fill out one set of data only (that took me 15 minutes) and you will get up to 9 quotes without doing the data 9 times.

They also say that they will respect your privacy on your phone number and email, yet ten seconds after me pushing the button for "get quotes," I get a call from a screening agent in Kansas for Liberty Mutual and then have to give the same and more info to another person who is the licensed agent.

The EverQuote site also automatically defaulted to another company called The Zebra, who are also insurance brokers.

So, I have probably given out my telephone number and email to hundreds of insurance companies who paid these guys for the lead, and in spite of them promising to respect my privacy, I will get robocalls and junk mail forever on this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 34 People Have Voted

Posted on May 24, 2017

Putting in info

By C. Allen, California, Verified Reviewer

I thought it said that I would have to put in my info one time but after I was taken to the next site, I had to enter my info again and again which was no different from any other site. I got frustrated and just stayed with my present auto insurer that was one call, and that's all. No revolutionary special service here. Such liars!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on May 25, 2017

What a spam of a business

By Tim Now, Greenville, NC, Verified Reviewer

They say they will find you insurance with you putting in your info once, but that's bull. Insurance companies keep calling you, or robocalling from a phone number that doesn't work, pissing you off to new highs. You answer, it hangs up. You call it back, someone answers, then it hangs up. Spam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on May 26, 2017

Waste of time

By Tony Cane, Orlando, Florida, Verified Reviewer

They make you think that they are the ones getting the quote for you, but all they do is pass your name and number on to a bunch of insurance agents, and then you get all these companies calling looking for your business.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 2, 2017

Frustrating for the agents too

By Nicholle Danger, Marietta, GA, Verified Reviewer

Unfortunately, everyone seems frustrated by the process. Each agent is charged a decent fee for each of what are supposed to quality leads, and then when we call or send them quotes, they never respond, and we are continued to be charged per agent. It sounds like the potential client in inundated by agents and companies, when the lead is supposedly only sold to four agents at a time, so they end up upset, and everyone loses.

We don't ever do robo-dialing and are a small family based agency with personalized service, but the upset customer ends up so fatigued that they often never look at the quotes and get fed up with what it sounds like are far more than four agents calling. Then EverQuote does not want to refund us for a lead that really is not a lead anymore when the person then starts telling everyone that they do not want quotes.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 4, 2017

Just another circular ad broker

By Mona Meier, Oklahoma City, OK, Verified Reviewer

I saw the ad on Cox and decided to try it, particularly since they were based in Oklahoma and I was considering changing insurance.

All they do is the same thing other companies do, collect your information and route you to other companies where you then have to input your information again as though you never gave it to EverQuote. After putting in my information, four companies were listed and each was a company I had seen before, and each wanted to have everything input again. All this does is put you on mailing lists and call lists. I have enough of those, thank you very much.

It is no different than the other companies who have the same service. It just adds another step in the process so they can make money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 13, 2017

Auto insurance quotes

By Jim S., Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

I thought there was something or different special about this service, but I was wrong. I gave all the information and still had to repeat it all to all of the numerous calls I got. Plus, it appears they're really pushing for Progressive.

Don't bother using EverQuote, it just leads to more phone calls and spam.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 24, 2017

Stay away from this company

By Brent Byrd, Saint Augustine, FL, Verified Reviewer

Do not do this. I have been getting 30+ phone calls a day from companies/telemarketers non-stop. All they are doing is selling your info. That is their business. Such a shame that these people exist and they should be stopped.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 27, 2017

Warning

By John J Bale, Michigan, Verified Reviewer

Complete lead generation machine. No actual insurer. They harvest your data and then dump you off to a broken link. Please be sure not to do business with any of the local agents that are buying the leads from EverQuote.

Don't feel bad if they got you. They got me, and I work in internet marketing. It's a shame to see these shady marketers who are destroying trust between electronic information and the final user's ability to rely on that information.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 4, 2017

Complete waste of time

By Eric Olsen, Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

I entered all my information into the service. All I get are three emails a day routing me to the State Farm's website, where I have to re-enter all my information to get a quote. Don't waste your time for something you can do on your own.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 18, 2017

Total waste of time for false info

By Julie McClelland, Billings, MT, Verified Reviewer

I was getting reports that in Montana, insurance companies were overcharging and insurance should not cost more than $19.00 a month for drivers with good records, no tickets, accidents, good credit, etc. I never got a good or better quote, and renter's insurance quotes were much higher than I have ever had. I had to enter info multiple times, and phone calls started immediately and nonstop.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 27, 2017

Total waste of time!

By Dan, Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

After entering all the exact information needed I got one quote from the same company I have for MUCH MORE! I then kept receiving emails of new quotes, and there wasn't any difference; same crap over and over.

DON'T waste your time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 4, 2017

Disappointed in website and privacy

By Randy Saks, Illinois, Verified Reviewer

Little did I expect to be inundated with phone cold calls and spam emails from a plethora of insurance company representatives wanting to sell me insurance.

You do not just get quotes sent to you. They want you to fill out oodles of forms for each potential quote, talk to a sales person, give personal information, etc., etc., etc.

Awful, wasteful experience.

Go with a reputable insurance "broker" that represents several insurance companies. Let them search the best deal for you.

EverQuote, in my opinion, sucks.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2017

They sell your information - middle man making a cut

By Thomas, Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

You type in all your information, and this takes you to a screen with possible quotes from companies. When you click on the link, you have to re-enter all your information again with the insurance company.

Literally, five minutes goes by, and I have 15 emails from insurance companies, and they keep coming. What the heck! I had to go unsubscribe from all and block.

Do not use; they will sell your information as soon as you type it. I'm glad I used a fake number!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2017

EverQuote is no good

By Wayne, Livonia, MI, Verified Reviewer

EverQuote claims to shop all of the companies for the best price for auto insurance. So you don't have to go to each company and re-enter all of your information. This is not true! You still have to enter your information over and over again. I had several co-workers try it, and every single time the lowest quote came from Geico. This leads me to believe this is just a Geico sight.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 22, 2017

Only promises, no delivery

By Alice S DeWitt, Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I was thrilled to see young people being innovative, so I asked for car insurance quotes. They said my information would be secure with them. I told them all about my car and my address and with which company I am presently insured.

Before I finished the entries, I started getting emails and phone calls from a plethora of insurance companies, all asking for all the same information I was typing for EverQuote.

I could have searched out all of these comparisons for myself. I thought this new company was volunteering to compare prices for me. All they did was give my email and phone number to many insurance companies. I am mad and stressed that I fell for their marketing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 28 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 1, 2017

Worst company EVER

By Brian, California, Verified Reviewer

Bombarded by phone calls, emails, and texts. Their marketing is built on mentioning that this company was started by two college guys that started this company and wanted to make something different. Nothing different about this company. They sell your information to anyone and everyone. Avoid like the plague.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 1, 2017

Its a con

By Joe Smaltz, Fort Lauderdale, FL, Verified Reviewer

They lure you in with Clickbait, implying it's a "disruptive" technology. The truth is they just push your info to a spam machine. Each email arrives suggesting you have a quote, only it's not a quote, it's a cheezy URL to a website that starts you entering in the same info you entered into the original website. After endless spam emails and entering the same info over and over I still never got a real usable quote.

This is a waste of time, the type of fake business they use to sell to some dumb investors. No value whatsoever.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 27 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2017

Scam

By Don Kaminski, Schererville, IN, Verified Reviewer

This is the second time that I have been lured into using EverQuote for leads. Both times now I have run into not just terrible leads, but when I try and return them, they are rejected. Rejected for disconnected phone numbers? Not having prior insurance (does not meet the filter)? Not living at the address?

In my first run-around with them I received 106 leads of which 54 were returned and of the 52 remaining not one sale has been made. I spent more time running down the returns than any clerk in an office should ever spend time doing!

These people are thieves and they don't care about anything other than getting your money and then giving you hope and reasons as to why you should stay with them. The whole time they're doing their dance to keep you while the same things are happening over and over again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 22, 2017

Scummy business.

By Michael G, Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I tried their service, mainly for a laugh, and laugh I did once I started to see how shady their services are. Any person who uses Taboola or Outbrain should be given a D on Better Business Bureau, but we will never see that happen. Shame on them. Them and their clickbait advertising.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 25, 2017

Click-bait ads with no actual quotes

By Keri Sprinkle, St Pete Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

Click-bait ads lure you in with what looks like an article on a new disruptive technology. Shame on me for not noticing that the "article" was actually on EverQuote's website. I'm usually more perceptive than that, but I guess I'm not fully awake this Monday morning.

So I put in my info and submitted. After a few seconds, I got a button to click to get my comparison quotes. I clicked it and got a list of 4 other comparison sites where I could go enter my information again. Within 30 minutes, I started getting calls and text messages from agents in my area, all of whom needed more information and none of whom were lower than my current insurance provider.

Nothing disruptive about this technology, just typical lead generating software using click-bait ads. No more ad clicking for me until I've had my morning coffee.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2017

Waste of time

By Gunther Williams, Grangeville, ID, Verified Reviewer

I thought why not. I love giving local businesses a chance. I took the time to fill out all my info and three other drivers only to be sent to progressive to start the process all over again. Wow! I'll never get that time back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2017

I'm an idiot

By Dan Mikolajczyk, Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

I'm an idiot because I handed over my info. Periodically I get the idea to "try" on these online comparison sites. EVERY time it's the same thing; a garbage site that gets my info and then the calls and emails start. They don't do what they say they will do. Here's an idea; create a site that ACTUALLY gives you quotes to compare.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2017

What happened to the promise of privacy?

By Peter M Feldman, San Antonio, TX, Verified Reviewer

I filled out most of the forms, including my home phone, and then I decided to back out of the inquiry. Backed out, I did, by closing the browser.

But within seconds, my home phone was ringing with an AARP related phone number (I had to look it up on 800notes.com) and no sooner had I blocked it, and then the phone rang again. But the call did not come through (no ID either) since it was from a blocked number.

I have had USAA coverage for decades, but I do every year or so get competitive quotes to see if USAA is still the bargain I think it is.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted
Showing 28-54 of 156

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.