About Exede Internet

Based out of Englewood, CO, Exede Internet claims to use some of the most advanced satellite internet technology to make high speed internet available to customers virtually anywhere in the United States. Whether you’re at the end of a DSL pipeline or are located in a rural or remote area, Exede Internet claims they can get you connected to “high speed satellite internet from space.”

But when it’s all said and done, does Exede Internet really provide a usable satellite-based internet service, and if so, do they offer a good value? We uplinked to some facts and here’s what we learned.

How Exede Internet Works

Using ViaSat-1, which is claimed to be “the most powerful communications satellite ever launched,” Exede Internet claims to be able to provide you with high-speed internet almost anywhere in the U.S., even in extremely remote locations.

With this in mind, Exede Internet offers 4 different plans depending on your usage needs:

  • Classic 10 – Up to 10 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Classic 15 – Up to 15 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Classic 25 – Up to 25 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Evolution – Unlimited email and web access, in addition to a 5 GB limit for everything else. Unmetered access between 3am and 8am.

However, keep in mid that regardless of which plan you choose, download speed maxes out at 12 Mbps and upload speed at 3 Mbps (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Exede Internet Pricing & Refund Policy

Exede Internet plans are priced as follows, all of which require a 24-month commitment:

  • Classic 10: $49.99/mo
  • Classic 15: $79.99/mo
  • Classic 25: $129.99/mo
  • Evolution: $64.99/mo

Along with your Exede Internet plan, you’ll gain access to 12 months of free antivirus software, and a 3-year price lock guarantee. You can also save $10 per month when your plan is bundled with Exede Voice, and an additional $10 per month if you sign up for DirectTV at the same time.

Standard installation for Exede Internet hardware is included in the price, although this only involves hookup to one computer and 2.5 hours of labor. This means that, if you need to hook up to more computers, or the installer takes more than 2.5 hours, you may be billed accordingly.

Speaking of additional charges: You’ll also be required to pay a one-time $49.99 setup fee, along with a leased equipment fee, which is priced at $9.99 per month, or at $199.99 if paid in full. Also, once your free anti-virus software trial ends you’ll be charged $2.99 per month.

On top of this, if you exceed your allotted data usage during the month, you can purchase additional data at $9.99 per MB. Finally, if you decide to cancel your Exede Internet service prior to the 24-month contract expiring, you’ll be subject to a $300+ early termination fee.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Exede Internet?

Overall, Exede Internet appears to have a primarily negative online customer reputation. While a few customers seem to have had a pleasant experience, the vast majority appear to have had an almost wholly unfavorable one. Many of the most common complaints reference much slower data speeds than advertised, frequently dropped signals, and poor customer service (unknowledgeable technicians, inability to speak with managers, etc.).

What’s the Bottom Line About Exede Internet?

Even though you live in a rural or remote location, you still need reliable internet access, right? If so, does Exede Internet represent the best use of your hard-earned money? Maybe, but keep the following in mind before making your decision:

Southern View

First, in order for the satellite dish attached to your house to receive an Exede Internet signal, it needs to have a clear view of the southern sky, with no trees or other tall structures in the way. As such, if you live in a rural area with a lot of trees, this could present a problem.

Download Speeds & Data Usage

Second, even if you do have a clear southern view, remember that download speeds are “up to” 12 Mbps and are not guaranteed. In addition, keep in mind that once you exceed your monthly data, downloading video/audio will be significantly slowed. However, Exede Internet claims that email and web pages will continue to download at the same speed with some plans.

With this in mind, compared to popular “land-based” internet service provider (e.g. DSL, internet, fiber-optic, etc.), Exede Internet offers very low data limits. Because of this, this satellite-based service may not be ideal for:

  1. Online gamers.
  2. Individuals who have “cut the cord” and use their internet connection to watch TV and download movies/music.
  3. Households with more than a couple users (e.g. large families with multiple devices).

In fact, many people who regularly used Netflix, Hulu, and other streaming sites claimed to have reached their data cap in as little as 2-3 days. However, it’s important to note that some customers who drastically monitored their usage and stuck to email and website browsing only (no downloads) claimed to have reached their data usage within a couple weeks, so your mileage may vary.

The Price

Remember that there are numerous additional fees you’ll be required to pay on top of the monthly cost of your plan. This includes $9.99 per month in order to lease the equipment, additional charges for non-standard installations, $9.99 per GB of data above and beyond your chosen plan, and the need to purchase a wireless router if you don’t want to be chained to Exede’s modem.

On top of all this, if you’re dissatisfied with the internet service you’re receiving—even if it’s 1 day after you signed up—you’ll be required to pay a $300+ early termination fee.

Bottom line

Based on the sheer number of negative online reviews regarding Exede Internet, you may want to fully research all of your options prior to signing one of their 2-year contracts.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

42 Consumer Reviews for Exede Internet

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • Service terrible, dispute credit card charge

    My story is similar to others. In May 2015 Exede got installed. It worked great 25 Mbps down with 3 up. It experienced system drops 2-6 hours every 4 to 6 weeks. I would call customer service and get $20 credit. Cool!

    Service and problems over time increased to the point that this year I hardly had any better than 3 down with .3 up and often 1 down, .2 up. I always got excuses of "network maintenance," "weather," and "network congestion." I canceled the service mid billing cycle, and customer service absolutely positively refused to refund the balance of the month I had paid for.

    I disputed the charge with the credit card company for half a month of charge. The credit card company gave me a FULL credit. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it, Exede! I went with Hughes Gen5. I blow through 10 GB and go into data restriction but still have better service for what I do than Exede did at best of times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible

    • Indiana,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give this zero stars, I would. If you’re looking for internet, do not choose this one! I’ve had it for four days and it stopped working. I called to ask why and they hung up on me. I’m assuming I’m not getting my first payment back, which was supposed to be free for a month and they charged anyway. Worst customer service and internet I’ve ever had the misfortune of working with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst internet service ever

    The installer was over two hours late to start with. The service only worked for one day. After that, we could never get on the internet.

    We called several times to try to get a tech to come out and look at our satellite to make sure that things were hooked up properly and were told no. They compared their service to a traffic jam on the highway, and we would just need to deal with it. We were also told that their peak hours of use were from 5 AM to 11 PM, so I guess you are supposed to get up to use the internet in the middle of the night. No matter what you say to their customer service rep, they have an excuse. They also have the worst customer service department that I have ever talked to in my life.

    I finally gave up and canceled after two weeks. I was then charged $363.45 upon the return of the equipment because I was not done with my 3-year contract. Why would you pay for something that you cannot use?

    Do NOT sign up for this service! Worst company I have ever worked with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Throw $100 in the trash each month and you will have better internet

    • Texas,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waste of money, terrible service, terrible customer service. We had Exede for a few months, and within the first month, we had to use our cellphones to get internet. I called customer service, and they said we would have slow speeds between 3 pm and 11 pm, and when they mean slow they mean not work. So basically when people are actually home, the internet won't work. We didn't heed the warnings and got screwed hard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Broken promise, faulty service

    • Milton, FL,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm having the same problem as all of you. I filed a complaint with BBB and filed a class action lawsuit on the website ClassAction.com. I urge others to do the same. The more complaints, the sooner they take action. I refuse to be bound by contract for faulty service. I'm paying high dollars for low-quality bad service from a jacked up company promising me something good, and I get very bad worse than DSL service. File complaints y'all and make a difference!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    The worst $1,170 I have ever spent. The best answer they give you is, "Well sir, it's up to 25 speed." Me: "I know, but I am only getting 2.37." Them: "yes, like I said, it's up 25 speed."

    First off, don't waste your time, and if you have no other choice, don't buy into their B.S. extras like a booster or easy care. I have never been so happy to give someone $300 to get this junk out of my house early. Should be a big red flag when they want you to sign a two-year contract with early term fees. Basically, one of the outside reps told me they have over sold the service, and the beam can't support all the users. DONT DO IT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I am an installer for Exede and...

    • Washington, NC,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an installer for Exede, and it definitely is not for everybody. This is great service for your grandparents that live in an area where there is no other provider available. If there is ever access to cable or DSL, this is ALWAYS the better option. Exede has yet to be able to compete with cable and DSL providers on speed, and more importantly, PRICE.

    Problems that I see with bundling this service with DirecTv is that DirecTv will flat out lie and tell you anything to get you to sign up for the service. Once the system is installed and activated, DirecTv gets paid a sales commission, and they are DONE with you. You can literally call DirecTv minutes after a technician leaves with a problem, and at this point, they have been paid their commission and don't care and will redirect you to Exede.

    Exede is fully aware of this problem with dishonesty at the point of sale, but they don't care either, to be honest. They rake in a lot of money having DirecTv do the majority of their selling for them.

    Here are some common things that DirecTv is dishonest about at the point of sale. WiFi service to be installed but work order built with a standard modem (no WiFi) to keep the price down and get the sale. The promise of unlimited data but actually signed up for a ten-gig plan and will be infuriated within a few days when their data limit is reached. Customers promised free installation under any circumstances, and this is just not the case. I could go on, but these are the major complaints.

    Also, when you see a yard sign for this service stuck on a street corner, beware. These are Exede's sales partners and often operate with the same business ethics and mindset of the DirecTv sales partners. It's all about the bait and switch. You are ALWAYS far better off dealing directly with Exede. Ask the right questions, take notes, and don't hesitate to ask your technician the same questions before signing off on a 2-year contract.

    In a nutshell, bang for the buck, I think the service is awful for what you spend. Outages are MUCH too often, constant spot beam outages that affect service, inaccurate data usage on accounts and speeds not even close to what customers are promised for the vast majority of the time. And with all of that, prepare to pay about twice what you would with a cable or DSL provider.

    It has gotten bad enough that I can't in good conscience continue to install for Exede. I have to be able to stand behind a product and the people that are selling it, and I can no longer do either. Just please keep in mind that I am not a disgruntled employee. I have been in this industry as an installer for around a decade and have enjoyed it. I just can no longer be a part of the Exede team due to the dishonesty and the less than desirable service that they offer. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 15, 2017

      Debra Shuler

      Hey, Mr. installer up there. If the guy that came to my house would have told me what you said on here, I would've never signed up. I was told that I would have no problem live streaming videos, I was guaranteed quality service. Instead, the service sucks and I'm stuck in a 2-year contract.

      I have taken a few steps in the right direction. I filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau and there's a new website called classaction.com, I filed a class-action lawsuit. I urge others to do the same. The more complaints the better. Let's kick these scammers to the curb. The defaulted on a promise they made me and to put the icing on the cake. I never signed the contract. The serviceman did.

      Please contact the Better Business Bureau and classaction.com and get real results.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Exede sucks!

    • West Virginia,
    • Apr 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, within 30 minutes of receiving the service, the signal was gone for over an hour and kept going in and out. We waited for the next day to see if it would clear up and it didn't.

    We contacted Exede telling them that we were dissatisfied with the service and that our previous server was better, and it was (and is) cheaper since we had not yet canceled that service. And the other service had no limits on the service received. I am wanting to get as many people in on a class action lawsuit against Exede services for shoddy service, hidden fees, and hidden details. They will not send a tech person to help with fixing the problem and the customer service people love to interrupt you.

    I will not be referring Exede to anyone, in fact, I made a post on my Facebook page that I am looking for people that would be interested in participating in the lawsuit. If anyone would like to be included in the lawsuit, please email me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 10, 2017

      Sandra stewart

      To the person that wants to start a lawsuit, I am in. They said to email them but I don't see their email!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know you are desperate for Internet but you won't know "desperate" until you sign up with Exede. Every day you are going to wish you hadn't. They don't really care about you. They only want your money. Worst company in terms of Customer Service and thats saying a lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Data usage fraud

    We live in a very rural setting, and we have had Exede Internet for about a year now, and everything was fine until about six months ago.

    We have the 10 G plan, and that lasted us until about two or three days before the end of the billing cycle. We would stream from mostly YouTube for three to four hours a month and just pay bills, do email and do some browsing. Very suddenly a few months ago we were shocked to get a notice (just three days into our billing cycle!) that we had used up all of our data and were now on the "liberty pass" (an extremely slow internet connection).

    I called them, and they had no explanation and were not very helpful. Thinking that perhaps one of our neighbors had accessed our signal for our wireless router, I disconnected it entirely (this was for our laptop so that we could do our streaming). So for several months, we have only had our internet hardwired to our desktop, which has no Wi-Fi capability.

    Now, today (March 12, 2017) I checked our usage and Exede Internet says it is all used up, with 22 days left in the cycle! The only party that could possibly be stealing our data is Exede Internet. This is ridiculous!

    I am going now to see what communications agency where I can file a formal complaint. I cannot, at this moment, locate my order number, but I assure you that I am a very real customer and I invite anyone to contact me at the above email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 20, 2017

      Lynne Schmidt

      Who do we complain to about data usage fraud?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Soldiers, AK,
    • Mar 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a fraud; you don't get what's advertised or what you sign up for. Congress should really look into their false advertisements and the guarantees you don't get when signing up. They have very slow service, although they advertise it to be very fast. You get a couple of hours of fast internet a month, and the rest of the month it is dial up speed. Fraud. Don't waste your money, no matter how hard up for the internet you are.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Exede Internet!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review