About Exede Internet

Based out of Englewood, CO, Exede Internet claims to use some of the most advanced satellite internet technology to make high speed internet available to customers virtually anywhere in the United States. Whether you’re at the end of a DSL pipeline or are located in a rural or remote area, Exede Internet claims they can get you connected to “high speed satellite internet from space.”

But when it’s all said and done, does Exede Internet really provide a usable satellite-based internet service, and if so, do they offer a good value? We uplinked to some facts and here’s what we learned.

How Exede Internet Works

Using ViaSat-1, which is claimed to be “the most powerful communications satellite ever launched,” Exede Internet claims to be able to provide you with high-speed internet almost anywhere in the U.S., even in extremely remote locations.

With this in mind, Exede Internet offers 4 different plans depending on your usage needs:

  • Classic 10 – Up to 10 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Classic 15 – Up to 15 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Classic 25 – Up to 25 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Evolution – Unlimited email and web access, in addition to a 5 GB limit for everything else. Unmetered access between 3am and 8am.

However, keep in mid that regardless of which plan you choose, download speed maxes out at 12 Mbps and upload speed at 3 Mbps (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Exede Internet Pricing & Refund Policy

Exede Internet plans are priced as follows, all of which require a 24-month commitment:

  • Classic 10: $49.99/mo
  • Classic 15: $79.99/mo
  • Classic 25: $129.99/mo
  • Evolution: $64.99/mo

Along with your Exede Internet plan, you’ll gain access to 12 months of free antivirus software, and a 3-year price lock guarantee. You can also save $10 per month when your plan is bundled with Exede Voice, and an additional $10 per month if you sign up for DirectTV at the same time.

Standard installation for Exede Internet hardware is included in the price, although this only involves hookup to one computer and 2.5 hours of labor. This means that, if you need to hook up to more computers, or the installer takes more than 2.5 hours, you may be billed accordingly.

Speaking of additional charges: You’ll also be required to pay a one-time $49.99 setup fee, along with a leased equipment fee, which is priced at $9.99 per month, or at $199.99 if paid in full. Also, once your free anti-virus software trial ends you’ll be charged $2.99 per month.

On top of this, if you exceed your allotted data usage during the month, you can purchase additional data at $9.99 per MB. Finally, if you decide to cancel your Exede Internet service prior to the 24-month contract expiring, you’ll be subject to a $300+ early termination fee.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Exede Internet?

Overall, Exede Internet appears to have a primarily negative online customer reputation. While a few customers seem to have had a pleasant experience, the vast majority appear to have had an almost wholly unfavorable one. Many of the most common complaints reference much slower data speeds than advertised, frequently dropped signals, and poor customer service (unknowledgeable technicians, inability to speak with managers, etc.).

What’s the Bottom Line About Exede Internet?

Even though you live in a rural or remote location, you still need reliable internet access, right? If so, does Exede Internet represent the best use of your hard-earned money? Maybe, but keep the following in mind before making your decision:

Southern View

First, in order for the satellite dish attached to your house to receive an Exede Internet signal, it needs to have a clear view of the southern sky, with no trees or other tall structures in the way. As such, if you live in a rural area with a lot of trees, this could present a problem.

Download Speeds & Data Usage

Second, even if you do have a clear southern view, remember that download speeds are “up to” 12 Mbps and are not guaranteed. In addition, keep in mind that once you exceed your monthly data, downloading video/audio will be significantly slowed. However, Exede Internet claims that email and web pages will continue to download at the same speed with some plans.

With this in mind, compared to popular “land-based” internet service provider (e.g. DSL, internet, fiber-optic, etc.), Exede Internet offers very low data limits. Because of this, this satellite-based service may not be ideal for:

  1. Online gamers.
  2. Individuals who have “cut the cord” and use their internet connection to watch TV and download movies/music.
  3. Households with more than a couple users (e.g. large families with multiple devices).

In fact, many people who regularly used Netflix, Hulu, and other streaming sites claimed to have reached their data cap in as little as 2-3 days. However, it’s important to note that some customers who drastically monitored their usage and stuck to email and website browsing only (no downloads) claimed to have reached their data usage within a couple weeks, so your mileage may vary.

The Price

Remember that there are numerous additional fees you’ll be required to pay on top of the monthly cost of your plan. This includes $9.99 per month in order to lease the equipment, additional charges for non-standard installations, $9.99 per GB of data above and beyond your chosen plan, and the need to purchase a wireless router if you don’t want to be chained to Exede’s modem.

On top of all this, if you’re dissatisfied with the internet service you’re receiving—even if it’s 1 day after you signed up—you’ll be required to pay a $300+ early termination fee.

Bottom line

Based on the sheer number of negative online reviews regarding Exede Internet, you may want to fully research all of your options prior to signing one of their 2-year contracts.


Read 57 Exede Internet Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Beware of Negative Reviews

    • Alton, IN,
    • Nov 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    As with any company, negative reviews will make up the vast majority of reviews you will find online and the upset customers generally only make up a very small percentage of a company's customer base. This is basic human psychology. If you are content, you most likely will not voice your opinion, but if you are not content you need the whole world to know your issues. I have had Hughes Net and Exede, and Exede is by far superior to Hughes Net; not to say Exede is without problems, but I am grateful to receive internet living in the middle of the woods even if the speeds are slower than advertised (Hughes Net is so much worse). I guess being someone who has seen much of the world has made me grateful for what is available to me. Also, do your research, it is common knowledge that satellite internet does not work well with live gaming and does cost more than cable internet. We complain so much when we have so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Exede is a Scam

    • Iowa,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I've been stuck with this internet service for a year now and I can tell you it is the worst ISP ever in all history of everything. No other ISP caps their bandwidth limit at 10gbs. Are you serious? I guess we must live in 1999 and we all still use AOL.

    The price per month is ridiculous at any package. The internet speeds very but are not fast in any fashion. As a gamer, ping is essential but you won't find it here. We're talking 800ms of ping at best. I've even had a full second of ping with this internet.

    And they don't tell you this part: when your broken bandwidth data has been reached, they block you from going to certain websites and servers all together. Including but not limited to: Steam, Pandora, Playstation Network, Twitch.

    Bottom line: Any ISP is better than Exede.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Terrible ISP

    • Indiana,
    • Jul 31, 2015

    $90 a month for 15 GB of data on your home internet. Find another ISP, anyone else. 24 month minimum contract with no trial period whatsoever. How is that not illegal? Electronically signed contract signed for you by a sales rep over the phone. The speeds are great. Until you run out of data after two weeks or so. Buy more data. It's only money after all.

    They cannot force a consumer to buy data from them per the agreement. And you have 30 days to terminate your agreement after it starts, to avoid paying early termination fees of $15 per month for each month remaining on your contract.

    This is a company as shady as they come. Find another ISP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Even dial-up has to be superior

    • Mariposa, CA,
    • Feb 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have the 10 GB plan. It's expensive. The data allowance gets used up in about 8-10 days and then the speed goes to glacial. If the internet service was good, I might be tempted to buy more data, but it's just not worth it. Even when the service is fast it sucks. When fast, websites don't load because the connection gets reset and sites are still slow to load. Overall, all of us are very unhappy with this service. My wife can't access her office, I can't access web-mail and my daughter has to go to my office to use DSL for her college homework. I am exploring any and all alternatives to this horrible service including the possibility of building my own tower.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely worst Customer service and signal

    • Mt. Pleasant, TX,
    • Jun 1, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    If for any reason your considering this for your home please review. This was sold to my wife as great rural internet, after the first day I knew it was a scam. At last, we were unable to get out of contract. While in process of moving we found the receiver was installed on our neighbor's land and they wanted us to go and fix their mistake. When my wife called to discuss with them, they became rude and when she asked to speak to a manager she got a guy named "Ben." I say this because he refused to give his last name. Great customer service. Called the BBB and they really couldn't do anything since Exede is not part of their network. Imagine that, called corporate office and got the same run around. Save your money and just get a Hotspot. Absolutely the worst company I have ever had the displeasure to deal with about issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Exede is a horrible internet service provider.

    • Tennessee ,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I was with this company for two years because I bundled with DirecTV. It was the worse mistake ever. The internet speed is slow yet they claim you have used up 10 GB of data in a matter of days and then you have to purchase more data when they completely cut you off. You can unplug the modem and the router and turn everything off but you are still burning up data. It’s a rip off.

    They are screwing people out of money and data! With that being said, they also take money off your card without authorization at random times. When you disconnect service they hit you with a bunch of fees and if you are still under contract, they snatch $330 for early termination. Then you have to return their equipment so you do have to get a box off the satellite dish on your roof because if they send someone to do it, it’s an additional $125 fee. If you don’t return the equipment it’s another $300.

    I was told by the rude customer service representative that they would be charging me for a full month of service because I disconnected the day after the billing cycle started. I refused to pay it so they informed me that they would take it off one of the two cards on file anyway. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she was also very rude and unprofessional. She started yelling at me and eventually hung up on me. The issue was not resolved and they did not disconnect my service like I asked them to do. The supervisor said they were billing me for the month either way and I could call back in a month and disconnect before the current billing cycle ended. They wanted $160 to disconnect my service. I was not on contract anymore so I called back and told them to cut my service off! I will pay for the previous months but I will NOT pay $80 for 1-day of service. They claim it's their policy.

    Yeah, apparently their policy is to scam people, lie to people and steal their hard earned money for your horrible internet service! This is the worst customer service I've ever dealt with and I wouldn't recommend their company to my worst enemy! I would rather have dial up than have to deal with these people! I hope their business is shut down! Excede, Wild Blue and ViaSat is a joke! They have to use three different names because so many people are complaining about their company.

    Also, if you decided to disconnect service with them be sure you close all your accounts on file with them because they have no problem snatching hundreds of dollars off your card for whatever they claim you owe. You can even send their equipment back and they still hit your card with a $300 fee and claim they never received the equipment.

    Beware Folks! The stuff they are doing to people is just bad business. I don’t normally leave reviews but I want people to know what this company is doing to people because I learned it first hand. What company makes the customer climb up on a roof that they installed to get a box? Their is people that aren't capable of doing that so either you pay $150 for the equipment or $125 for them to remove it.

    So the bottom line is most people would have to pay their stupid fees and they know it! Horrible business.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Company!

    • Minnesota,
    • Aug 3, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was told buy the salesman that I would have PLENTY of data for what we use internet for. Well 4 days later, I am out of data. I called and explained that I was lied to and tricked into this contract and wanted to cancel. They said I would have to pay a $360 fee and that I have to climb onto my roof and take that satellite down myself. What if it were my 75 year old grandmother?

    This should be illegal for them to have a non-professional to do something as dangerous as that. In fact, this company should be shut down for the lies and tricks they pull to steal hard earned money from people. I wish I would have read all these pages of bad reviews before I signed up. I will make sure that I let EVERYONE know to stay FAR away from this horrible company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    The worst company I've ever dealtj with!

    • Texas,
    • Aug 26, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Excede is the worst company I've ever dealt with. Do not ever ever get internet with these crooks! We never got what we were promised. We always paid more than what we were told. We always had slower speeds than we were supposed to. We were never told all the details when signing up. Then we were charged several hundred dollars to disconnect and had to uninstall the darn satellite ourselves! They had poor customer service all the way around. Did not try to help at all or make things better at all. If I could leave less than one star here in this review, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    The nightmare internet service

    • Mojave, CA,
    • Nov 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can not believe a company like this exists. I think their customer service reps are located on some distant planet in some other galaxy. Watch out for these guys! They will use your credit or debit card info and post unauthorized payments. They are incredibly rude and condescending on the phone. Their service is somewhat overpriced, and if you use Netflix you are pretty much out of luck here unless you get one of their packages that offers free streaming between 3 am and 8 am. Their bills and invoices make no sense. I can go on and on but honestly I wish I had never acquired them, I only did because of where I live, and my hotspot did not work here.

    Last month they double charged me, and used a card that I had not authorized them to use, except for a one time payment. Run from Exede if you can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Worst Possible Customer Service

    • Mineral, VA,
    • Dec 31, 2015

    I was a Wildblue and Exede customer since 2006. I can say without reservation that their customer service it the worst I have ever dealt with, and their "Technical" people are either incompetent or nonexistent. Over the years I had issues with data disappearing in huge quantities (5.2G in one day) and with a 10G cap in a month it doesn't go far.

    I repeatedly called their customer service to get them to tell me where all the data was going and each time they read from their script saying it was probably due to software updates and watching too many videos or streaming. We don't watch videos or stream, due to the limited data, and I do all software updates manually to avoid data consumption. I told them I wanted specific information and was told they could not provide that, but a "Technical person" would call me the next day with all the details. I NEVER received a return call from any of my calls.

    Bottom line: As Exede and Wildblue was either unable or unwilling to tell me where my data was going, I feel that this was a scam to make me purchase more data at $10 per gig. My advice: Use a piece of string and 2 tin cans before signing up with this totally inept provider. I had no choice (for High speed) until recently and gladly dropped them for a local broadband provider. I would give them negative stars if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Theives

    • Dunnellon, FL,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    You guys are robbers and scammers. You charge 95 dollars for someone to fix your product and then before the technician comes out of his vehicle you charge another 50 dollars. And then they didn't bury the line and I fell over it. They said I should bury it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 57

Write a Review for Exede Internet!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review