About Exede Internet

Based out of Englewood, CO, Exede Internet claims to use some of the most advanced satellite internet technology to make high speed internet available to customers virtually anywhere in the United States. Whether you’re at the end of a DSL pipeline or are located in a rural or remote area, Exede Internet claims they can get you connected to “high speed satellite internet from space.”

But when it’s all said and done, does Exede Internet really provide a usable satellite-based internet service, and if so, do they offer a good value? We uplinked to some facts and here’s what we learned.

How Exede Internet Works

Using ViaSat-1, which is claimed to be “the most powerful communications satellite ever launched,” Exede Internet claims to be able to provide you with high-speed internet almost anywhere in the U.S., even in extremely remote locations.

With this in mind, Exede Internet offers 4 different plans depending on your usage needs:

  • Classic 10 – Up to 10 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Classic 15 – Up to 15 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Classic 25 – Up to 25 GB of data usage allowable per month. Unmetered access between 12am and 5am.
  • Evolution – Unlimited email and web access, in addition to a 5 GB limit for everything else. Unmetered access between 3am and 8am.

However, keep in mid that regardless of which plan you choose, download speed maxes out at 12 Mbps and upload speed at 3 Mbps (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

Exede Internet Pricing & Refund Policy

Exede Internet plans are priced as follows, all of which require a 24-month commitment:

  • Classic 10: $49.99/mo
  • Classic 15: $79.99/mo
  • Classic 25: $129.99/mo
  • Evolution: $64.99/mo

Along with your Exede Internet plan, you’ll gain access to 12 months of free antivirus software, and a 3-year price lock guarantee. You can also save $10 per month when your plan is bundled with Exede Voice, and an additional $10 per month if you sign up for DirectTV at the same time.

Standard installation for Exede Internet hardware is included in the price, although this only involves hookup to one computer and 2.5 hours of labor. This means that, if you need to hook up to more computers, or the installer takes more than 2.5 hours, you may be billed accordingly.

Speaking of additional charges: You’ll also be required to pay a one-time $49.99 setup fee, along with a leased equipment fee, which is priced at $9.99 per month, or at $199.99 if paid in full. Also, once your free anti-virus software trial ends you’ll be charged $2.99 per month.

On top of this, if you exceed your allotted data usage during the month, you can purchase additional data at $9.99 per MB. Finally, if you decide to cancel your Exede Internet service prior to the 24-month contract expiring, you’ll be subject to a $300+ early termination fee.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About Exede Internet?

Overall, Exede Internet appears to have a primarily negative online customer reputation. While a few customers seem to have had a pleasant experience, the vast majority appear to have had an almost wholly unfavorable one. Many of the most common complaints reference much slower data speeds than advertised, frequently dropped signals, and poor customer service (unknowledgeable technicians, inability to speak with managers, etc.).

What’s the Bottom Line About Exede Internet?

Even though you live in a rural or remote location, you still need reliable internet access, right? If so, does Exede Internet represent the best use of your hard-earned money? Maybe, but keep the following in mind before making your decision:

Southern View

First, in order for the satellite dish attached to your house to receive an Exede Internet signal, it needs to have a clear view of the southern sky, with no trees or other tall structures in the way. As such, if you live in a rural area with a lot of trees, this could present a problem.

Download Speeds & Data Usage

Second, even if you do have a clear southern view, remember that download speeds are “up to” 12 Mbps and are not guaranteed. In addition, keep in mind that once you exceed your monthly data, downloading video/audio will be significantly slowed. However, Exede Internet claims that email and web pages will continue to download at the same speed with some plans.

With this in mind, compared to popular “land-based” internet service provider (e.g. DSL, internet, fiber-optic, etc.), Exede Internet offers very low data limits. Because of this, this satellite-based service may not be ideal for:

  1. Online gamers.
  2. Individuals who have “cut the cord” and use their internet connection to watch TV and download movies/music.
  3. Households with more than a couple users (e.g. large families with multiple devices).

In fact, many people who regularly used Netflix, Hulu, and other streaming sites claimed to have reached their data cap in as little as 2-3 days. However, it’s important to note that some customers who drastically monitored their usage and stuck to email and website browsing only (no downloads) claimed to have reached their data usage within a couple weeks, so your mileage may vary.

The Price

Remember that there are numerous additional fees you’ll be required to pay on top of the monthly cost of your plan. This includes $9.99 per month in order to lease the equipment, additional charges for non-standard installations, $9.99 per GB of data above and beyond your chosen plan, and the need to purchase a wireless router if you don’t want to be chained to Exede’s modem.

On top of all this, if you’re dissatisfied with the internet service you’re receiving—even if it’s 1 day after you signed up—you’ll be required to pay a $300+ early termination fee.

Bottom line

Based on the sheer number of negative online reviews regarding Exede Internet, you may want to fully research all of your options prior to signing one of their 2-year contracts.


Read 57 Exede Internet Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Direct TV promoting a crap internet service through Exede, Wildblue

    • Indio, Ca,
    • Mar 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Around 12/20/2015 we called Direct TV to make changes to our TV viewing service, since couple of months prior we were notified by Verizon that Verizon and Direct TV were no longer bundled together in our service agreement with Verizon, and we needed to deal directly with Direct TV about our TV subscription service, independently from Verizon, whom we had internet service with. At the time we were paying around $150.00 when both services were bundled together, Direct TV and Internet from Verizon, on the same bill.

    We then proceeded with contacting Direct TV about making changes to our service and possibly canceling to save money. The representative told us that if we kept the service with Direct TV, they would lower our bill and give us a really discounted bundle offer if we cancelled the internet with Verizon. They offered Direct TV and internet for around $80.00 dollars combined, but with no mention of service/contract being independent from Direct TV. They did not mention a third party nor the name of the company which the internet service would be through, nor that it would be a separate contract through this third party company (ViaSat Inc. Exede).

    In conversation with Direct TV representative we agreed to a new agreement. They only mentioned we would have a bundle cost of around $80.00 for new agreement with Direct TV programming service and Internet. On that same conversation with Direct TV representative, we scheduled to have two separate installations done for our new service agreement, one for the Direct TV and separate for the internet. At this point there was no mention it would be through a third party, nor any mention of separate contract agreements.

    Around 12/24/2015 the separate installer came to install the Internet. Prior to finalizing the install the technician requested a credit card, he indicated it was required only to activate to service with credit card on file. So I proceeded to call my husband, who was at work at the time, to speak with the technician about his request to use a credit card, to confirm with him and to see if it was OK. My husband spoke with the technician over the phone, again the technician mentioned he needed a credit card on file to finalize the install with no charge. My husband gave his credit card over the phone to proceed. In that install visit from the internet service, technician made no mention of billing or service contract agreements. He did not mention the separate contract, nor any contract to explain that we were tied to any term. And because it was done through Direct TV, a company that has been around and is reputable, we assumed it was all taken care off through Direct TV, just the same way we had the bundle agreement through Verizon for Direct TV before.

    The problems started a few days after the internet was installed. We had connection problems with the internet, the modem kept interrupting service. So when we called Direct TV about the connection issue, we were told we had to call a separate number and company to fix the issues, and that they had no say in that process. We then found out we were with a separate company, Via Sat Inc., but still no mention of separate billing and contract agreement either.

    In the first month of January the service was plagued with connection issues with the modem, customer service was terrible every time we called, we were even threatened to pay $180.00 to replace the modem if it was faulty. We told them it was unfair, especially when the service had not worked for the entire month since it first got installed. Finally around the end of January they sent a technician for the third time to confirm it was a faulty modem, he indicated he would mention to his supervisors that it was a manufacture defect so we wouldn't be the ones responsible in paying for the faulty box.

    After the modem got replaced we found out in the month of February that the service did not perform as was stated by the Direct TV representative. Again it was Direct TV who sold us on the service, we were told that the service would be up to 25 Mbps for internet speed but with a 5 gigs of data limit, and that it would drop to only 15 Mbps after the 5 gigs of data was used. The problem is this internet is worthless when it comes to speed, I just tested the speed and here are the results as follows. 8 Mbps for download, and 3.78 Mbps for upload. We called a few weeks ago and they told us there might be a service call charge for checking what is wrong. We have gotten so tired of dealing with ViaSat Inc. or as its being called Exede/ WildBlue.

    But what prompted to finally submit a complaint is when my husband noticed a $83.80 charge on 12/28/15, $80.78 charge on 01/28/2016 and a $80.78 charge on 02/28/2016 on the very same bank card we were asked to use by the technician on the day of the install. We called Exede customer service and that's when we found out they are charging us $80.78 a month separately from Direct TV. We asked them on what bases, and their only response is, that was in a verbal binding agreement when we spoke to Direct TV about the service. We said there was never any mention of $79.00 a month being the amount for service either. Their reply was that it is automatically a binding agreement when the service got installed, even without a contract letter or verbal disclosure from the installer. They say it only has to be accepted to be installed to be a binding agreement. I then replied, how can that be, if there was no mention of terms when speaking with Direct TV over the phone, nor from ViaSat or Exede representative. Their response is it doesn't matter, and if we want to disconnect they would be happy to do so, but we have to pay $15 dollars per month of agreed remaining two year contract, which again was never mentioned prior to accepting. We were told it was automatically agreed when the technician installed the service, which amounts to $330.00 disconnection fee if we decided to cancel.

    We called Direct TV about this mess. All they can say, is they are sorry for the misunderstanding, even after we told them we were misled by their customer service representative, who misled us to believe it would be bundled through them with a only $20 dollar a month charge for internet on top of renewing service with Direct TV. It turns out we are now paying more than what we were paying with Verizon prior to canceling the internet service. It now amounts to $81.00 a month from Direct TV, and $80.00 from Exede/Wildblue ViaSat Inc. Again Direct TV's response was by saying we are sorry for the misunderstanding, and they understood how upset we were, but it was no longer in their hands, and we have to resolve it with Exede directly.

    We need help, this is a nightmare, we are very disappointed with Direct TV for the misleading sale of a third party internet service without disclosing the true charge and mentioning of third party provider and contract as being different than theirs. We entrusted Direct TV of being a reputable and professional company. It's very upsetting that the only reason we are dealing with this problem with ViaSat Inc. in the first place is because it was referred to us by Direct TV. We did not shop and seek Exede/ WildBlue, ViaSat Inc. independently. We feel this is the worst bait and switch that was given to us by Direct TV. We are so upset with Direct TV. And if we tried to cancel them there would be a big cancelation fee from them too.

    At this point we would like to seek help from the Attorney General's office to resolve the issue with Exede/ Wildblue ViaSat Inc. and cancel this service if possible. And get our money back for a service that doesn't work, and hopefully seek internet service with Verizon or other reputable company. We really need Internet service for my husband's work and at current time cannot afford to change over until we are able to avoid the penalty charges we are threatened with for canceling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Worst Possible Customer Service

    • Mineral, VA,
    • Dec 31, 2015

    I was a Wildblue and Exede customer since 2006. I can say without reservation that their customer service it the worst I have ever dealt with, and their "Technical" people are either incompetent or nonexistent. Over the years I had issues with data disappearing in huge quantities (5.2G in one day) and with a 10G cap in a month it doesn't go far.

    I repeatedly called their customer service to get them to tell me where all the data was going and each time they read from their script saying it was probably due to software updates and watching too many videos or streaming. We don't watch videos or stream, due to the limited data, and I do all software updates manually to avoid data consumption. I told them I wanted specific information and was told they could not provide that, but a "Technical person" would call me the next day with all the details. I NEVER received a return call from any of my calls.

    Bottom line: As Exede and Wildblue was either unable or unwilling to tell me where my data was going, I feel that this was a scam to make me purchase more data at $10 per gig. My advice: Use a piece of string and 2 tin cans before signing up with this totally inept provider. I had no choice (for High speed) until recently and gladly dropped them for a local broadband provider. I would give them negative stars if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible Company!

    • Minnesota,
    • Aug 3, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Was told buy the salesman that I would have PLENTY of data for what we use internet for. Well 4 days later, I am out of data. I called and explained that I was lied to and tricked into this contract and wanted to cancel. They said I would have to pay a $360 fee and that I have to climb onto my roof and take that satellite down myself. What if it were my 75 year old grandmother?

    This should be illegal for them to have a non-professional to do something as dangerous as that. In fact, this company should be shut down for the lies and tricks they pull to steal hard earned money from people. I wish I would have read all these pages of bad reviews before I signed up. I will make sure that I let EVERYONE know to stay FAR away from this horrible company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Exede is a horrible internet service provider.

    • Tennessee ,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    I was with this company for two years because I bundled with DirecTV. It was the worse mistake ever. The internet speed is slow yet they claim you have used up 10 GB of data in a matter of days and then you have to purchase more data when they completely cut you off. You can unplug the modem and the router and turn everything off but you are still burning up data. It’s a rip off.

    They are screwing people out of money and data! With that being said, they also take money off your card without authorization at random times. When you disconnect service they hit you with a bunch of fees and if you are still under contract, they snatch $330 for early termination. Then you have to return their equipment so you do have to get a box off the satellite dish on your roof because if they send someone to do it, it’s an additional $125 fee. If you don’t return the equipment it’s another $300.

    I was told by the rude customer service representative that they would be charging me for a full month of service because I disconnected the day after the billing cycle started. I refused to pay it so they informed me that they would take it off one of the two cards on file anyway. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she was also very rude and unprofessional. She started yelling at me and eventually hung up on me. The issue was not resolved and they did not disconnect my service like I asked them to do. The supervisor said they were billing me for the month either way and I could call back in a month and disconnect before the current billing cycle ended. They wanted $160 to disconnect my service. I was not on contract anymore so I called back and told them to cut my service off! I will pay for the previous months but I will NOT pay $80 for 1-day of service. They claim it's their policy.

    Yeah, apparently their policy is to scam people, lie to people and steal their hard earned money for your horrible internet service! This is the worst customer service I've ever dealt with and I wouldn't recommend their company to my worst enemy! I would rather have dial up than have to deal with these people! I hope their business is shut down! Excede, Wild Blue and ViaSat is a joke! They have to use three different names because so many people are complaining about their company.

    Also, if you decided to disconnect service with them be sure you close all your accounts on file with them because they have no problem snatching hundreds of dollars off your card for whatever they claim you owe. You can even send their equipment back and they still hit your card with a $300 fee and claim they never received the equipment.

    Beware Folks! The stuff they are doing to people is just bad business. I don’t normally leave reviews but I want people to know what this company is doing to people because I learned it first hand. What company makes the customer climb up on a roof that they installed to get a box? Their is people that aren't capable of doing that so either you pay $150 for the equipment or $125 for them to remove it.

    So the bottom line is most people would have to pay their stupid fees and they know it! Horrible business.

     

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    I am an installer for Exede and...

    • Washington, NC,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an installer for Exede, and it definitely is not for everybody. This is great service for your grandparents that live in an area where there is no other provider available. If there is ever access to cable or DSL, this is ALWAYS the better option. Exede has yet to be able to compete with cable and DSL providers on speed, and more importantly, PRICE.

    Problems that I see with bundling this service with DirecTv is that DirecTv will flat out lie and tell you anything to get you to sign up for the service. Once the system is installed and activated, DirecTv gets paid a sales commission, and they are DONE with you. You can literally call DirecTv minutes after a technician leaves with a problem, and at this point, they have been paid their commission and don't care and will redirect you to Exede.

    Exede is fully aware of this problem with dishonesty at the point of sale, but they don't care either, to be honest. They rake in a lot of money having DirecTv do the majority of their selling for them.

    Here are some common things that DirecTv is dishonest about at the point of sale. WiFi service to be installed but work order built with a standard modem (no WiFi) to keep the price down and get the sale. The promise of unlimited data but actually signed up for a ten-gig plan and will be infuriated within a few days when their data limit is reached. Customers promised free installation under any circumstances, and this is just not the case. I could go on, but these are the major complaints.

    Also, when you see a yard sign for this service stuck on a street corner, beware. These are Exede's sales partners and often operate with the same business ethics and mindset of the DirecTv sales partners. It's all about the bait and switch. You are ALWAYS far better off dealing directly with Exede. Ask the right questions, take notes, and don't hesitate to ask your technician the same questions before signing off on a 2-year contract.

    In a nutshell, bang for the buck, I think the service is awful for what you spend. Outages are MUCH too often, constant spot beam outages that affect service, inaccurate data usage on accounts and speeds not even close to what customers are promised for the vast majority of the time. And with all of that, prepare to pay about twice what you would with a cable or DSL provider.

    It has gotten bad enough that I can't in good conscience continue to install for Exede. I have to be able to stand behind a product and the people that are selling it, and I can no longer do either. Just please keep in mind that I am not a disgruntled employee. I have been in this industry as an installer for around a decade and have enjoyed it. I just can no longer be a part of the Exede team due to the dishonesty and the less than desirable service that they offer. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Exede sucks!

    • West Virginia,
    • Apr 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, within 30 minutes of receiving the service, the signal was gone for over an hour and kept going in and out. We waited for the next day to see if it would clear up and it didn't.

    We contacted Exede telling them that we were dissatisfied with the service and that our previous server was better, and it was (and is) cheaper since we had not yet canceled that service. And the other service had no limits on the service received. I am wanting to get as many people in on a class action lawsuit against Exede services for shoddy service, hidden fees, and hidden details. They will not send a tech person to help with fixing the problem and the customer service people love to interrupt you.

    I will not be referring Exede to anyone, in fact, I made a post on my Facebook page that I am looking for people that would be interested in participating in the lawsuit. If anyone would like to be included in the lawsuit, please email me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Theives

    • Dunnellon, FL,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    You guys are robbers and scammers. You charge 95 dollars for someone to fix your product and then before the technician comes out of his vehicle you charge another 50 dollars. And then they didn't bury the line and I fell over it. They said I should bury it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely worst Customer service and signal

    • Mt. Pleasant, TX,
    • Jun 1, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    If for any reason your considering this for your home please review. This was sold to my wife as great rural internet, after the first day I knew it was a scam. At last, we were unable to get out of contract. While in process of moving we found the receiver was installed on our neighbor's land and they wanted us to go and fix their mistake. When my wife called to discuss with them, they became rude and when she asked to speak to a manager she got a guy named "Ben." I say this because he refused to give his last name. Great customer service. Called the BBB and they really couldn't do anything since Exede is not part of their network. Imagine that, called corporate office and got the same run around. Save your money and just get a Hotspot. Absolutely the worst company I have ever had the displeasure to deal with about issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    The worst company I've ever dealtj with!

    • Texas,
    • Aug 26, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Excede is the worst company I've ever dealt with. Do not ever ever get internet with these crooks! We never got what we were promised. We always paid more than what we were told. We always had slower speeds than we were supposed to. We were never told all the details when signing up. Then we were charged several hundred dollars to disconnect and had to uninstall the darn satellite ourselves! They had poor customer service all the way around. Did not try to help at all or make things better at all. If I could leave less than one star here in this review, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    The nightmare internet service

    • Mojave, CA,
    • Nov 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can not believe a company like this exists. I think their customer service reps are located on some distant planet in some other galaxy. Watch out for these guys! They will use your credit or debit card info and post unauthorized payments. They are incredibly rude and condescending on the phone. Their service is somewhat overpriced, and if you use Netflix you are pretty much out of luck here unless you get one of their packages that offers free streaming between 3 am and 8 am. Their bills and invoices make no sense. I can go on and on but honestly I wish I had never acquired them, I only did because of where I live, and my hotspot did not work here.

    Last month they double charged me, and used a card that I had not authorized them to use, except for a one time payment. Run from Exede if you can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Criminal scam

    • Dec 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you feel like wasting thousands of dollars, go right ahead. $99 installation, $199 equipment lease, $69 for the first month just to get installed. 6 months of unusable service later, after $99 to have the dish moved, 3 plan upgrades that have me at $90 a month now, and these crooks want another $300 to cancel. I reported my credit card stolen because as far as I'm concerned, Exede is nothing more than a phishing scam. I literally disconnected everything from the modem for a month and they STILL say I used 19.2 gigs. Their usage meter is a scam. Their service is a scam. Anyone who says differently on the internet or anywhere else is getting paid to say it. There are thousands of complaints over this very issue. Their meter overcharges data on the order of at least 600% of what you actually use. They know it and have the audacity to tell you it is accurate and you are wrong. If you don't like it, we will just steal another $300 more from you to let you out of a contract you never signed! They say you have 30 days from the day you disconnect to send their equipment back. Then they wait 3 weeks to send you the box. I am contacting the attorney general in my state. I have already contacted the BBB. This company needs a class action lawsuit to shut them down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 57

Write a Review for Exede Internet!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review