Read 57 Exede Internet Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy Wild Blue/Exede/Viasat

    • Westfield, WI,
    • Feb 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Today is day 2 of my new cycle. I have been cursed with Wildblue/Exede/Viasat since 2012. There is no other internet in my area.

    I have learned how to not use data. I don't stream ANYTHING. I live in the woods. No neighbors, router password protected.

    Since yesterday, day 1 of my new billing cycle, I have used 9.2 GB of my 10 GB allotment of data for $69.59. And I wasn't home, and all my devices were with me. Two calls to Viasat are met with help-desk (sales) people trying to get me to sign up for their new phone service. Then pushy commentary on how my plan is old and I should upgrade to a 40 GB plan. They will even give me a $10 a month credit for my current issues. AND I GET TO SIGN A NEW MINIMUM CONTRACT LENGTH. At this rate, my new 40 GB plan will last four days. They won't even consider that there could be a problem with their modem. They did a grand job of telling me how stupid I am for not knowing how data is consumed. Now I am to call back tomorrow to speak to their "expert department."

    While my plan is from 2012, all of my equipment is new as of October 2017. My house burned to the ground, and I had to PURCHASE new equipment to rent from them.

    Oh, and this month's bill is bigger because they are charging me to pay their property taxes.

    I would not recommend this service to someone I don't like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Cancelled mine today

    Do not do it. Worst internet company ever. They do not care about you. I got tired of paying $91 a month for bad service. I live in the middle of nowhere and had no other choice. Now I am regretting it because I have to pay a termination fee of $360. Worst service ever, do NOT get it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wish someone would start a Class Action Lawsuit!

    • Murrells Inlet, SC,
    • Jan 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really tried to make this Exede work. I had for 4 months and was on the phone many times trying to make it work, but their advice was to go buy a new router. No one to help me. It took about a minute to open each email and took over 8-10 hours to download a show on TV. They will not waive their termination fee even though they cannot provide the service I signed up for. Basically, it's good riddance to Exede. I got our local cable company to hook up the internet and WOW, what a difference. Just really sad that I have to pay them all this money when they cannot provide me with decent service.

    DO NOT EVER, EVER get Exede Internet. What a scam company they are. BEWARE, do not go near this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Complete GARBAGE

    • Cedar Grove, NJ,
    • Dec 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had it installed yesterday and speeds never went above 1.21 MB. I called 3 hours after the install and installer said to call them, he was done. Excede said I was in heavy traffic time. At 1:00 pm? I took speed tests almost every hour until 4 am, and they remained from 621 KB - 1.21 MB.

    I am going to pay the $360 to get rid of them and warn as many people I can of these shysters. Excede will get a ton of free advertising from me, and it will all be NEGATIVE. There is nothing good about this company. They are liars and thieves and should be held accountable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Service terrible, dispute credit card charge

    My story is similar to others. In May 2015 Exede got installed. It worked great 25 Mbps down with 3 up. It experienced system drops 2-6 hours every 4 to 6 weeks. I would call customer service and get $20 credit. Cool!

    Service and problems over time increased to the point that this year I hardly had any better than 3 down with .3 up and often 1 down, .2 up. I always got excuses of "network maintenance," "weather," and "network congestion." I canceled the service mid billing cycle, and customer service absolutely positively refused to refund the balance of the month I had paid for.

    I disputed the charge with the credit card company for half a month of charge. The credit card company gave me a FULL credit. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it, Exede! I went with Hughes Gen5. I blow through 10 GB and go into data restriction but still have better service for what I do than Exede did at best of times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Indiana,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give this zero stars, I would. If you’re looking for internet, do not choose this one! I’ve had it for four days and it stopped working. I called to ask why and they hung up on me. I’m assuming I’m not getting my first payment back, which was supposed to be free for a month and they charged anyway. Worst customer service and internet I’ve ever had the misfortune of working with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worst internet service ever

    The installer was over two hours late to start with. The service only worked for one day. After that, we could never get on the internet.

    We called several times to try to get a tech to come out and look at our satellite to make sure that things were hooked up properly and were told no. They compared their service to a traffic jam on the highway, and we would just need to deal with it. We were also told that their peak hours of use were from 5 AM to 11 PM, so I guess you are supposed to get up to use the internet in the middle of the night. No matter what you say to their customer service rep, they have an excuse. They also have the worst customer service department that I have ever talked to in my life.

    I finally gave up and canceled after two weeks. I was then charged $363.45 upon the return of the equipment because I was not done with my 3-year contract. Why would you pay for something that you cannot use?

    Do NOT sign up for this service! Worst company I have ever worked with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Throw $100 in the trash each month and you will have better internet

    • Texas,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Waste of money, terrible service, terrible customer service. We had Exede for a few months, and within the first month, we had to use our cellphones to get internet. I called customer service, and they said we would have slow speeds between 3 pm and 11 pm, and when they mean slow they mean not work. So basically when people are actually home, the internet won't work. We didn't heed the warnings and got screwed hard.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Broken promise, faulty service

    • Milton, FL,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm having the same problem as all of you. I filed a complaint with BBB and filed a class action lawsuit on the website ClassAction.com. I urge others to do the same. The more complaints, the sooner they take action. I refuse to be bound by contract for faulty service. I'm paying high dollars for low-quality bad service from a jacked up company promising me something good, and I get very bad worse than DSL service. File complaints y'all and make a difference!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    The worst $1,170 I have ever spent. The best answer they give you is, "Well sir, it's up to 25 speed." Me: "I know, but I am only getting 2.37." Them: "yes, like I said, it's up 25 speed."

    First off, don't waste your time, and if you have no other choice, don't buy into their B.S. extras like a booster or easy care. I have never been so happy to give someone $300 to get this junk out of my house early. Should be a big red flag when they want you to sign a two-year contract with early term fees. Basically, one of the outside reps told me they have over sold the service, and the beam can't support all the users. DONT DO IT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    I am an installer for Exede and...

    • Washington, NC,
    • May 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an installer for Exede, and it definitely is not for everybody. This is great service for your grandparents that live in an area where there is no other provider available. If there is ever access to cable or DSL, this is ALWAYS the better option. Exede has yet to be able to compete with cable and DSL providers on speed, and more importantly, PRICE.

    Problems that I see with bundling this service with DirecTv is that DirecTv will flat out lie and tell you anything to get you to sign up for the service. Once the system is installed and activated, DirecTv gets paid a sales commission, and they are DONE with you. You can literally call DirecTv minutes after a technician leaves with a problem, and at this point, they have been paid their commission and don't care and will redirect you to Exede.

    Exede is fully aware of this problem with dishonesty at the point of sale, but they don't care either, to be honest. They rake in a lot of money having DirecTv do the majority of their selling for them.

    Here are some common things that DirecTv is dishonest about at the point of sale. WiFi service to be installed but work order built with a standard modem (no WiFi) to keep the price down and get the sale. The promise of unlimited data but actually signed up for a ten-gig plan and will be infuriated within a few days when their data limit is reached. Customers promised free installation under any circumstances, and this is just not the case. I could go on, but these are the major complaints.

    Also, when you see a yard sign for this service stuck on a street corner, beware. These are Exede's sales partners and often operate with the same business ethics and mindset of the DirecTv sales partners. It's all about the bait and switch. You are ALWAYS far better off dealing directly with Exede. Ask the right questions, take notes, and don't hesitate to ask your technician the same questions before signing off on a 2-year contract.

    In a nutshell, bang for the buck, I think the service is awful for what you spend. Outages are MUCH too often, constant spot beam outages that affect service, inaccurate data usage on accounts and speeds not even close to what customers are promised for the vast majority of the time. And with all of that, prepare to pay about twice what you would with a cable or DSL provider.

    It has gotten bad enough that I can't in good conscience continue to install for Exede. I have to be able to stand behind a product and the people that are selling it, and I can no longer do either. Just please keep in mind that I am not a disgruntled employee. I have been in this industry as an installer for around a decade and have enjoyed it. I just can no longer be a part of the Exede team due to the dishonesty and the less than desirable service that they offer. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 57

Write a Review for Exede Internet!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review