Read 57 Exede Internet Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Seniors Beware

    • Alabama,
    • Dec 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you rent, lease or may move in the future, PLEASE be aware that you have to return your equipment including parts UP ON THE ROOF on the satellite dish. I prepared to move and called Exede to find out how the process worked and what I needed to return. I was told I would need to return the modem, and two cords. There was no mention of the receiver/horn up on the satellite dish. I moved 2 1/2 hours away. I had my return box shipped to my new home and when I received it I noticed it mentioned this other part. I called Exede thinking it an error but it wasn't. They wanted it. The choices they offered were $300 charged to my credit card for not returning the equipment, pay them $150 to send a technician to retrieve it or for me to make the 2 1/2 hour south and to climb onto a deep pitched roof of a house now owned by people I didn't know to try and retrieve it myself. I explained to Exede that I was a senior and a widow, that I lived on a very limited income and that I was 2 1/2 hours away and that what they were asking was a huge hardship but they simply didn't care. I couldn't believe they were so heartless and felt no responsibility for the situation for not telling me that I had to have this part returned. I even wrote a letter to the president of Exede and got a letter back saying "too bad". Their service is what it is when you live in the country but their customer service is obviously un-trained and their company could obviously care less about their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Soldiers, AK,
    • Mar 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a fraud; you don't get what's advertised or what you sign up for. Congress should really look into their false advertisements and the guarantees you don't get when signing up. They have very slow service, although they advertise it to be very fast. You get a couple of hours of fast internet a month, and the rest of the month it is dial up speed. Fraud. Don't waste your money, no matter how hard up for the internet you are.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know you are desperate for Internet but you won't know "desperate" until you sign up with Exede. Every day you are going to wish you hadn't. They don't really care about you. They only want your money. Worst company in terms of Customer Service and thats saying a lot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worst internet service ever

    The installer was over two hours late to start with. The service only worked for one day. After that, we could never get on the internet.

    We called several times to try to get a tech to come out and look at our satellite to make sure that things were hooked up properly and were told no. They compared their service to a traffic jam on the highway, and we would just need to deal with it. We were also told that their peak hours of use were from 5 AM to 11 PM, so I guess you are supposed to get up to use the internet in the middle of the night. No matter what you say to their customer service rep, they have an excuse. They also have the worst customer service department that I have ever talked to in my life.

    I finally gave up and canceled after two weeks. I was then charged $363.45 upon the return of the equipment because I was not done with my 3-year contract. Why would you pay for something that you cannot use?

    Do NOT sign up for this service! Worst company I have ever worked with!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't Do It - You Will Regret It

    • VA,
    • Aug 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    So we were sold Exede Internet through our local Radio Shack. I went in asking about Dish and HughesNet and the Radio Shack guy says he didn't sell that anymore and had something better. HAH!

    What we got was Exede Internet and DirecTV.

    We paid outlandish set up and installation fees and over priced modem cost and whatever else they could tack on and so on. I can't really complain about the initial costs because I was made somewhat aware of them.

    What I will complain about is how absolutely awful the Exede Internet service is. It is a scam, a rip-off, a total lie. We went over our data (25GB) on the very first month, and reviewing all our usage I'm sure this was an error. Good luck actually reaching anyone, and if you do, they can't tell you anything. You can't even get a detail or timeline of when the data was supposedly used.

    DirecTV I have had in the past, so I knew what to expect. I have no real problem with their service except for the highway robbery cost of it. At least DirecTV actually provides the service they sold you. Exede absolutely does not. I so wish I would have seen some of these reviews beforehand, but I trusted my local expert at Radio Shack who was apparently just lying. I don't mind paying for a service, but don't sell me something that absolutely does not work.

    We have gone over our data limit many times (we've had it about a year) and twice, when we have been out of town for half the month. Nobody can explain how that is possible.

    We don't do video streaming, we're not big internet users, but my wife does work from home. She is remoting in (good thing, because it would not work), but simply accessing her online email. She is not Facebooking or transferring data or sending pics or anything like that. The Exede Internet simply just does not work very well and absolutely is stealing from us and overcharging us on a regular basis. It is out about 20% of the time (not working at all) and slow about 40% of the time. It works (albeit slowly) about 40% of the time, but there is no way we use the 25GB/month we contracted for.

    I have no other options in my remote area - no cable, no DSL, no fiber, but I am canceling my Exede anyway. I will purchase a mobile hotspot and operate it with two bars in my driveway and be less frustrated than I currently am with our awful, awful, awful Exede internet.

    I am not one to write reviews or even complain about a company, but stay away from Exede no matter what. Oh, and thanks lying Radio Shack sales guy.

    Like everyone else, wish I could rate less than one star. Holy cow is Exede a bad experience in every single aspect of their business. It doesn't work, they can't fix it, they don't want to fix it or even sell you an honest product. They are unhelpful, discourteous, incompetent, overpriced and dishonest.

    By the way, Dish was much better than DirecTV, for less money.

    I have been a DirecTV customer for many, many years, and tried Dish at my last residence before we moved. Dish offered similar programming for less cost and the customer service was by far better at Dish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    We used Exede for 5+ years. When everything works, it is an acceptable service, especially if you have no alternative. However, when problems arise (this includes canceling service, see below), you are on your own and more than likely will be screwed to one degree or another.

    The short: use Exede Internet at your own risk and BE CAREFUL. Do not expect anything from customer service reps (even the nice ones). Do not expect advertised speeds. Expect phantom data usage and expect to be given the run-around at every corner when problems arise. Customer service can be decent, but problems they try to solve are often "rejected" by corporate--seriously.

    The long: we used Exede for 5+ years and got along okay. It was nice to have high-speed Internet, but we often used up our Priority Data by the second or third week of each month, especially as more and more services migrated to Internet-only. We even somehow used data when our modem was off during a two-week vacation. We were on the lowest (20G/mo) plan, and I'm certainly not entirely blaming Exede for us burning through data, but the phantom data usage raised a red flag. Liberty Pass worked fine for a year or so, but by the end of our subscription this past June, usually rendered even casual browsing almost impossible, another red flag.

    Thankfully an alternative came along this year. We went through the process of disconnecting our Exede service, then were still charged our monthly fee a few days later. When we called again, the customer service rep said our previous request had "failed." We went through the entire disconnect process again, plus went through another process to get our monthly fee refunded. Our service is now disconnected, but our request for a refund, while accepted by customer service, was rejected by corporate because our customer agreement states there are no refunds for unused data. It does not matter that our first request came before our renewal date and that it was the fault of Exede that the request failed.

    Part of the disconnect process also required us to send back part of the satellite dish, the power cords/supply, and modem. It must be received by Exede within one month from the day you request to be disconnected. It has been 20 days since we sent the equipment back and Exede has no record of receiving the equipment. Thankfully, we have our UPS tracking number, so we may have a leg to stand on, but I would not be surprised if Exede finds a way to charge us $300 for not returning their equipment in a timely fashion.

    Again, BE CAREFUL. Read your customer agreement carefully and believe Exede will do everything they can to manipulate you into violation. Exede is as dishonest, ruthless and worthless as companies come.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Service terrible, dispute credit card charge

    My story is similar to others. In May 2015 Exede got installed. It worked great 25 Mbps down with 3 up. It experienced system drops 2-6 hours every 4 to 6 weeks. I would call customer service and get $20 credit. Cool!

    Service and problems over time increased to the point that this year I hardly had any better than 3 down with .3 up and often 1 down, .2 up. I always got excuses of "network maintenance," "weather," and "network congestion." I canceled the service mid billing cycle, and customer service absolutely positively refused to refund the balance of the month I had paid for.

    I disputed the charge with the credit card company for half a month of charge. The credit card company gave me a FULL credit. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it, Exede! I went with Hughes Gen5. I blow through 10 GB and go into data restriction but still have better service for what I do than Exede did at best of times.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Crooks

    • Willits, CA,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled my service with Exede three months ago. Exede sent me a box to mail my equipment back. I filled the three spots and mailed the package off in a timely manner. Three months go by, and I never received an email or letter or phone call, I get an attempt to bill my credit card $180. I call Exede to see what this is all about. They tried telling me I didn’t return something on my roof. What? My roof, I’m supposed to climb my roof? It never said in the letter that was in the box that I had to climb my roof.

    This company needs to be turned in. I called the call center three times and they were so rude. Hung up on me twice saying if they search their warehouse and don’t see that the parts were returned they would charge me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible! No Service Would Be Better

    • Vicksburg, MS,
    • Jul 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish there was an option for zero stars. I got this service before doing my homework and I am paying for it dearly. Paying $70 a month and using all the data within four days. Then slowed down to a rate that is intolerable for even the most basic task online. I found out I can get U-verse for $40 a month with NO limit on data use as long as I keep my DirecTV account. But even if I drop that account they limit me to 600 GB, which is virtually impossible to use. I'm cancelling tomorrow and hoping they aren't going stick it to me, but we'll see. Not having internet service beats this service. And I mean that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Nothing high speed about this service...

    • Ridge Spring, SC,
    • Jul 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm renting a house with Exede internet provided. This is the only internet service available for the area. We have a 10G plan. I got ot say the service SUCKS! It is super slow all the time, even when we are within our 10G limit and have access to their best speeds. Whether it's lighting in a distant storm, raining, just cloudy, or windy, more often than not I have to reboot the modem/router, which can take up to an hour to regain connection. But even with only 1 user under best conditions, the service is VERY slow. I recently bought a new computer thinking that half the problem was with my old machine. It took over 24 hours to download MS Office onto my new machine. I can never fully access my email because the slow connection creates errors. It's definitely a handicap. My field of work often allows for remote online work but it is impossible to do with Exede.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst internet scam EVER

    I can't even begin to explain how bad this company is and should most definitely be shut down like others have said. I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau in hopes of shutting them down. Please, please, please do not do business with these CROOKS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 57

Write a Review for Exede Internet!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review