Read 57 Exede Internet Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Be careful

    We used Exede for 5+ years. When everything works, it is an acceptable service, especially if you have no alternative. However, when problems arise (this includes canceling service, see below), you are on your own and more than likely will be screwed to one degree or another.

    The short: use Exede Internet at your own risk and BE CAREFUL. Do not expect anything from customer service reps (even the nice ones). Do not expect advertised speeds. Expect phantom data usage and expect to be given the run-around at every corner when problems arise. Customer service can be decent, but problems they try to solve are often "rejected" by corporate--seriously.

    The long: we used Exede for 5+ years and got along okay. It was nice to have high-speed Internet, but we often used up our Priority Data by the second or third week of each month, especially as more and more services migrated to Internet-only. We even somehow used data when our modem was off during a two-week vacation. We were on the lowest (20G/mo) plan, and I'm certainly not entirely blaming Exede for us burning through data, but the phantom data usage raised a red flag. Liberty Pass worked fine for a year or so, but by the end of our subscription this past June, usually rendered even casual browsing almost impossible, another red flag.

    Thankfully an alternative came along this year. We went through the process of disconnecting our Exede service, then were still charged our monthly fee a few days later. When we called again, the customer service rep said our previous request had "failed." We went through the entire disconnect process again, plus went through another process to get our monthly fee refunded. Our service is now disconnected, but our request for a refund, while accepted by customer service, was rejected by corporate because our customer agreement states there are no refunds for unused data. It does not matter that our first request came before our renewal date and that it was the fault of Exede that the request failed.

    Part of the disconnect process also required us to send back part of the satellite dish, the power cords/supply, and modem. It must be received by Exede within one month from the day you request to be disconnected. It has been 20 days since we sent the equipment back and Exede has no record of receiving the equipment. Thankfully, we have our UPS tracking number, so we may have a leg to stand on, but I would not be surprised if Exede finds a way to charge us $300 for not returning their equipment in a timely fashion.

    Again, BE CAREFUL. Read your customer agreement carefully and believe Exede will do everything they can to manipulate you into violation. Exede is as dishonest, ruthless and worthless as companies come.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    GB usage

    • Yaak Montana,
    • Oct 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We pay $129.99 per month for Exede. We got billed for 25 GB. Why? It takes a lot to use that much. We do not watch movies, Youtube, play games, nothing. Our computer is used for business and shopping on Amazon. They said someone must use our Wi-Fi around us. No one can. We live in a VERY RURAL place and have a password.

    My husband seen that we were over the limit, he paid $10.00 more until the 20th when it starts over. This is the worst Internet experience I have ever had. I think they take advantage of people like us and tell us a line of crap to get a lot of money. I know we do not do anything to go over our limit

    Not even close to 3 GB per month and they say over 25 GB per month? They are greedy and money hungry and rob from anyone they can. They are liars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Super slow

    • South Shore, KY,
    • Oct 7, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Would not recommend this service to anyone. That is all I can say about Exede. It makes dial up look good. Sorry customer service. Not at all what they promise, tell you what you want to hear to sell it. And what you get is crap. Then to drop this sorry internet they will charge you 15 dollars a month, even though it's not what they promise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unfair Charges

    I’ve been a long time customer of Wild Blue and then Exede. When we moved, we weren’t told we had to get on the roof of our tall house and remove the satellite receiver arm. We had to borrow the neighbor’s extension ladder and still couldn’t safely receive the part to return. We were charged $165. My husband and I are 66 and we tried to get the receiver arm. I took pictures and sent to Exede. I called them and discussed paying a service man to remove the arm but that was as expensive. They should not be able to charge this fee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Exede is garbage

    • Aug 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never ever use this company. They are a complete scam operation, deception and overcharging for non existent service. This company should be prosecuted.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't Do It - You Will Regret It

    • VA,
    • Aug 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    So we were sold Exede Internet through our local Radio Shack. I went in asking about Dish and HughesNet and the Radio Shack guy says he didn't sell that anymore and had something better. HAH!

    What we got was Exede Internet and DirecTV.

    We paid outlandish set up and installation fees and over priced modem cost and whatever else they could tack on and so on. I can't really complain about the initial costs because I was made somewhat aware of them.

    What I will complain about is how absolutely awful the Exede Internet service is. It is a scam, a rip-off, a total lie. We went over our data (25GB) on the very first month, and reviewing all our usage I'm sure this was an error. Good luck actually reaching anyone, and if you do, they can't tell you anything. You can't even get a detail or timeline of when the data was supposedly used.

    DirecTV I have had in the past, so I knew what to expect. I have no real problem with their service except for the highway robbery cost of it. At least DirecTV actually provides the service they sold you. Exede absolutely does not. I so wish I would have seen some of these reviews beforehand, but I trusted my local expert at Radio Shack who was apparently just lying. I don't mind paying for a service, but don't sell me something that absolutely does not work.

    We have gone over our data limit many times (we've had it about a year) and twice, when we have been out of town for half the month. Nobody can explain how that is possible.

    We don't do video streaming, we're not big internet users, but my wife does work from home. She is remoting in (good thing, because it would not work), but simply accessing her online email. She is not Facebooking or transferring data or sending pics or anything like that. The Exede Internet simply just does not work very well and absolutely is stealing from us and overcharging us on a regular basis. It is out about 20% of the time (not working at all) and slow about 40% of the time. It works (albeit slowly) about 40% of the time, but there is no way we use the 25GB/month we contracted for.

    I have no other options in my remote area - no cable, no DSL, no fiber, but I am canceling my Exede anyway. I will purchase a mobile hotspot and operate it with two bars in my driveway and be less frustrated than I currently am with our awful, awful, awful Exede internet.

    I am not one to write reviews or even complain about a company, but stay away from Exede no matter what. Oh, and thanks lying Radio Shack sales guy.

    Like everyone else, wish I could rate less than one star. Holy cow is Exede a bad experience in every single aspect of their business. It doesn't work, they can't fix it, they don't want to fix it or even sell you an honest product. They are unhelpful, discourteous, incompetent, overpriced and dishonest.

    By the way, Dish was much better than DirecTV, for less money.

    I have been a DirecTV customer for many, many years, and tried Dish at my last residence before we moved. Dish offered similar programming for less cost and the customer service was by far better at Dish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely horrible!

    This is the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. Internet connection is so slow and unreliable that I may as well not have it at all. Constantly disconnecting throughout the day. Customer service is a joke! Expect to wait over an hour when you call them, and then they tell you nothing is wrong with your connection!

    Can't even tell you how much I utterly detest this crappy company and product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Nothing high speed about this service...

    • Ridge Spring, SC,
    • Jul 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm renting a house with Exede internet provided. This is the only internet service available for the area. We have a 10G plan. I got ot say the service SUCKS! It is super slow all the time, even when we are within our 10G limit and have access to their best speeds. Whether it's lighting in a distant storm, raining, just cloudy, or windy, more often than not I have to reboot the modem/router, which can take up to an hour to regain connection. But even with only 1 user under best conditions, the service is VERY slow. I recently bought a new computer thinking that half the problem was with my old machine. It took over 24 hours to download MS Office onto my new machine. I can never fully access my email because the slow connection creates errors. It's definitely a handicap. My field of work often allows for remote online work but it is impossible to do with Exede.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible! No Service Would Be Better

    • Vicksburg, MS,
    • Jul 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish there was an option for zero stars. I got this service before doing my homework and I am paying for it dearly. Paying $70 a month and using all the data within four days. Then slowed down to a rate that is intolerable for even the most basic task online. I found out I can get U-verse for $40 a month with NO limit on data use as long as I keep my DirecTV account. But even if I drop that account they limit me to 600 GB, which is virtually impossible to use. I'm cancelling tomorrow and hoping they aren't going stick it to me, but we'll see. Not having internet service beats this service. And I mean that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bad Business

    We have not been able to get into anything but the first page of their web site for several months. We bought a new iPad and were loading it. We went over our limit and the service was so slow we needed to buy more GB's. The only way we could do this was to call. The customer service person said if we go up to 15 GB it would save us money. We said that was OK as long as our charges were not over $100.00. 7/1/2016 bill was 216.72 for 25 GB.

    We tried to talk to customer service tonight because we finally got into our bill and it is still charging us for 2 Months of 25 GB. I wanted an itemized billing for last month and she could not provide such an item. Bad, bad business people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst Internet company ever. It's too bad I didn't read the reviews before, slowest internet ever, never works. I had them less than a month and still they charge me $450.00 for early termination because they don't give the 30 days like any other company. It makes sense that they don't provide a money back guarantee because their service is horrible and they know it. I hope this review helps others not to start services with them.

    Too bad there's nothing lower than 1 star rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 57

Write a Review for Exede Internet!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review