About Firmacare Face Therapy

As a active anti-aging treatment, Firmacare Face Therapy provides your skin with several benefits, including reducing the appearance of wrinkles and redness, protecting skin cells from environmental stress, improving texture and radiance, and reducing pore visibility.

Firmacare Face Therapy also claims to boost epidermal regeneration, increase stem cell vitality, and even to “decelerate your skin’s natural aging process.” And Firmacare accomplishes all of this using ingredients like Bio-Plasma, Intelimer 8600, Sepitonic M3, Synovea DOI, DMAE, Essenskin, Retinyl Palmitate.

Sounds like there’s a whole lot of science going on! But is this actually the case, or is Firmacare Face Therapy’s manufacturer trying to make their anti-aging cream sound more effective than it really is?

To answer this, let’s first take a look at its ingredients.

Firmacare Face Therapy: A Lot of Proprietary Ingredients in One Place

Taking a look at the Firmacare website, this anti-aging cream seems to consist almost entirely of proprietary ingredients.

This includes Intelimer 8600, Sepitonic M3, Synovea DOI, and Essenskin. These different formulations are claimed to attack the aging process from multiple angles, including increased hydration, boosting skin health through amino acids, protecting against stress and environmental damage, and more.

The catch? None of these manufacturers provide any clinical evidence to back up their claims. And outside of biochemic tissue salts, we weren’t able to find any anti-aging ingredients that go by the name Bio-Plasma.

According to Firmacare’s full list of ingredients, the cream also contains DMAE, retinyl palmitate, palmitoyl oligopeptide, witch hazel extract, citrus aurantium (also known as bitter orange), and other minor ingredients for moisturization and/or fragrance.

While many of these ingredients might help moisturize your skin or give you a slightly brighter appearance (witch hazel is listed as possibly effective for reducing minor skin irritation), there largely isn’t enough clinical evidence showing them to work as advertised.

But will they cause any unwanted side effects?

Firmacare Face Therapy Possible Side Effects

According to Truth in Aging:

Retinyl palmitate is a controversial ingredient because of its potentially hazardous side effects. Although it has many proven benefits, the Cosmetics Database rates it as a moderate hazard ingredient. It warns of potential side effects including cancer, developmental and reproductive toxicity, violations, restrictions and warnings, cellular level changes, and organ system toxicity. Retinyl palmitate has been shown to produces excess reactive oxygen species that can interfere with cellular signaling, cause mutations, lead to cell death, and it may be implicated in cardiovascular disease. It has caused reproductive effects at low doses in one or more animal studies, and there is limited evidence of cancer and skin toxicity, although it has been shown to be easily absorbed into the skin.

WebMD lists bitter orange as possibly safe when applied to the skin, although it can cause sun sensitivity. If ingested orally though, bitter orange can lead to high blood pressure, elevated heart rate, and more.

Now that we know more about Firmacare’s ingredients and their efficacy, let’s talk about what it’ll cost to get your hands on the anti-aging cream.

Firmacare’s Free Trial Could Spell Trouble

Like so many of the anti-aging products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, Firmacare Face Therapy is only sold through a 15-day “free” trial.

First, you’ll pay $4.95 for a full 30-day supply of the cream. Then, after your trial has expired, you’ll be charged the full price of $86.95.

From there, you’ll keep receiving new bottles of Firmacare once every month (known as an autoship program), and your card will be charged $86.95 each time.

Outside of the trial, no refunds are available, although the company claims you’ll be able to cancel your trial or stop your automatic shipments by calling 800-953-9923.

Think it’ll be easy? Based on our experience reviewing dozens of these trial-based anti-aging products (including popular ones like DermAktive, Cellumis, AbsoluteDerma, and more), you’re likely to experience poor customer service and difficulty cancelling. In fact, we’ve read dozens of reviews where customers were forced to cancel their cards just to end the recurring charges.

Pro tip: In many instances, we find that these manufacturers use the same website template to sell their products. And when customers catch up with what’s going on, they simply shut down one website and create another using a different name. Perhaps this is why a product named Firmacell is referenced on the Firmacare website.

Taking all of this into consideration, where does this leave you with Firmacare Face Therapy?

Our Advice? Approach Firmacare Face Therapy with Caution

So far, we’ve talked about Firmacare’s ingredients, the efficacy of its formulation, as well as the company’s less-than-stellar business model. But, also consider that many of the product’s claims don’t necessarily match with reality.

For example, Firmacare claims to reduce pore visibility. But the reality is that pore size is determined by your genetics, so regardless of what you put on your face, your pores will not shrink. There is also no evidence provided that Firmacare’s ingredients can specifically target stem cells, or that they can “increase vitality.”

Does Firmacare’s manufacturer not realize this, or are they simply trying to make as many claims as possible to convince you to buy? In our opinion, the latter is more likely to be true than the former.

Instead of purchasing Firmacare Face Therapy and possibly getting caught up in a web of recurring charges and poor customer service, we’d recommend talking with your dermatologist about more effective methods for reducing the signs of aging.

You can even begin now by avoiding excessive sun exposure, wearing an appropriate sunscreen, avoiding smoking, and eating healthy and getting plenty of exercise!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

17 Consumer Reviews for Firmacare Face Therapy

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Sykesville MD,
    • Nov 12, 2015

    I purchased the preview and then 2 weeks later I was charged over $200 for more product. I am trying to cancel, we will see. I have filed formal complaints with the feds, etc. Please do not buy anything from this company. They are predatory and cause many problems that cannot be resolved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Complaint for hidden monthly charges.

    The trial period cream worked as well as any face cream that can be purchased over the counter. My problem is with the staff on the answering service. I talked with Kurtis and then with an especially rude phone worker named Natasha. I got my trial size jar of cream and then was automatically sent a monthly jar for a charge of $89.73 to my credit card. When I called the company's help line to complain that I had not ordered a monthly service, I of course was told that I hadn't read the small print about only having 14 days in which to return the product before it became non-refundable. I asked to talk with a supervisor many times, which was repeatedly refused, stating that I was talking with a supervisor and that my money could not be refunded even with the return of the product unopened. I explained that I had already shipped the entire package back to them, so finally I got a token refund of half my money returned to my credit card. I would think that a single bad review could have been replaced by simply returning an additional $40.00.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total rip-off. Charged my account $89 after I spoke with rep on the same day products were delivered

    • Hackensack NJ,
    • Nov 21, 2015

    I read inserts that come with product. I noted that if you did not call within 14 days your account would be charged $89 per product. I spoke with rep who advised me to call back after use. I was not happy. I wanted to return the products. I was told I would be responsible for shipping charges to return. I explained what bad ethics this is. I was then told to keep the products. They would be cancelled and any future orders would cost $18 for the set. Ok I agreed. I also said I would not be able to pay until 11/26/15. They agreed. The same day this company charged my account $89. I was livid. After speaking with rep they agreed to reimburse my cash. After a bounced check and less $18. Will report to BBB. Very unsavory business ethics.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam, buyer beware

    • Palo Alto, CA,
    • Jan 4, 2016

    Now I see that those trial orders are just a hook. Do not be fooled. Not sure this cream even works either. They charged me $96 twice!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Firmacare and Luminous Anti Aging Skin Products

    • FL,
    • Jan 10, 2016

    Both products are from the same company. Neither of them work - they are fake products. Read the fine print. Ten-day Trial Period begins the day you contacted them. Deduct shipping time (say up to 7 days) and you end up with probably less than a week to try the product. You sure will see no positive result. Within that time, if you don't like the product you have to pay shipping to return it to them so you are out of your money to pay for two way shipping. They say the trial period is free but the product is not free - go figure. I told them that they should put that information in their advertisements. However you take it, you will be out of money.

    Customer service is less than bad. I tried to reason with them and they hang up the phone on me. I tried calling back and got a recording that my account is closed. I kept calling because I did not want them to charge my credit card $89.73 for a tiny jar of something that does not work. I persisted and eventually someone answered my call and gave me a RMA# to return the product to them. I keep checking my credit card account to make sure they do not charge my card for the tiny amount of the product I used during the so-called trial period.

    Hope this review helps someone. I wish I got this information before I got tricked.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2016

      Ashley

      They are a scam and I'm not sure who to call to cancel them from charging my card, do you know a number?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Firmacare and Luminous Beauty

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered a free 15-day trial and agreed to pay the shipping charges. No other charges were mentioned in the ad or order form. I received the products. Shipping form was enclosed without any mention of additional charges. After reading the full page of fine print that was on the reverse of shipping form I called the phone number provided to inform companies that I would return the products unused and would not pay any charges except for the shipping charge that I had agreed to pay. I was advised by Luminous Beauty that I would not be billed for the $98.71 but would be charged $36.71 after returning the product. 

    Phone conversations with both Luminous Beauty and Firmacare representatives were problematic and unclear, advising me that charges could not be canceled. I ordered Firmacare and Luminous on same website. Products were shipped separately from the very same address. I was advised to return separately which I did. I advised both product reps that I would not pay any charges other than the shipping charge that I had agreed to. I also canceled the credit card used for "shipping charges."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad Customer Services That Got Worse

    • Billings, MT,
    • Feb 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Other reviewers have stated that they were spoken to very rudely by customer service representatives or hung up on. Well they were lucky because now they aren't even picking up the phone. The automated recording says that you will not be charged anymore but then they say if you want to speak to a representative to press 1. They put you on hold for 4-6 minutes and then disconnect the line. They said it was shipped on the 28th but the packing slip says 29th and then it didn't arrive until the 9th. I know it was sent via snail mail but did they use an actual snail?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Total Scam & Unpleasant Experience

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made the mistake of ordering the "free trial" and before I even had the time to test it (which means fewer than the 15 days of "trial" time promised), my bank account was debited the $89.73 monthly charge. I had also ordered the Luminous product, and experienced the same thing -- $36.71 was debited from my bank account as well. I immediately called both my bank (to stop payment) and the company to cancel and to express my anger over the charge. The gentleman who answered the phone was difficult to understand (not English-speaking) but he made clear that this was an obligation that could not be stopped. Ultimately, I told him that I would report this as "fraudulent" and that I had already alerted my bank. Eventually, he agreed to cancel any further charges. I called Luminous immediately, and believe it could have been the same gentleman who answered - when I asked if he was, he denied it. This time, the gentleman was hostile and refused to cancel my order and told me that I would be charged every month. I spoke with my bank and issued stop payment on both of these accounts. If it is not corrected, I will claim fraudulent behavior, cancel my card, and the bank will prosecute these vendors. I believe that this is what we must all do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    They scammed me out of $89.00.

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Feb 9, 2016

    I never gave this company permission to charge my credit card $89.00. This was supposed to be a free trial of this face cream. I want my account credited back, every dime, right now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 12, 2016

      Cathy,

      I never even ordered anything from them and found a charge for $89.73 on my checking account. I called the number associated with the authorization and was told they needed my shipping address to pull up my account. Since I had never ordered anything, there was no shipping address. There was also a charge from Luminous Beauty on the same date. I called my bank and disputed both charges.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    I fell for the scam of "just pay shipping and handling". The first shipment is a sample size, then before I knew it, I had been charged $89. The original sample was billed at full price twice, and a few weeks later another charge of $89. Needless to say, I was mad. I called and was told it's a binding contract. I said I will return the item and want the full amount reimbursed on my credit card, but no, they can't do that. But they can "offer a 25% discount", I said no, and then suddenly they would do a 50% discount! I agreed, and the same exact conversation took place with the luminous charges too. Don't fall for their free sample scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Alabama,
    • Feb 29, 2016

    Let me start by saying I tried The trial and nothing was ever sent to me via email or with my trial about having 14 days in order to return it. A month later, they charged me an additional $89 in the product that did not work nor would they refund me my money. Their product is a rip-off so save your time and your money and don't buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for Firmacare Face Therapy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review