About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

359 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 289 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 13 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 359
Sort reviews by:

  • Amazing experience to broaden horizons

    • Washington,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a membership as a gift from my wife. I often drank locally available whiskey. The variety of spirits to choose from is AMAZING. I am willing to spend more on a bottle due to all of the tasting notes, flavor spiral, and other user feedback. The odds of getting something you don't like is significantly reduced. I have had (and loved) many bottles that never in 100 years I would not have come across otherwise. The one time I had a shipping problem (NOT Flaviar's fault), they stepped up ASAP and made it right. They clearly care about their customers. You can't ask for more than that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar is good...BUT

    • Iowa,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love almost everything about being a member of Flaviar. The one thing that is frustrating is inconsistent delivery times. They tell you in the order confirmation email that it will take a couple of days to ship and then 3-7 in transit. Which is acceptable; however, I had an order that hadn't shipped for two weeks, with no status update from Flaviar. Customer service explained that there are sometimes logistical issues that delay shipments. I am fine with that, but if there are delays, it would be nice if the customer was contacted.

    On the other hand, my last order was delivered four days after I placed the order.

    My suggestion would be if you can handle possibly waiting a couple of weeks for delivery, this is a very good service. If you expect a consistent delivery schedule, you should look elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worth the money

    • Spokane, WA,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a member for about 6 months. I find Flaviar to be very helpful in expanding my whiskey selection. The member reviews and their flavor spiral really help me identify new drinks to try. On top of that, I find their pricing to be very competitive if not better than what I can buy locally many times. Finally, the free quarterly tasting boxes are also a real plus as it’s a great way to try things without having to buy a full bottle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don Papa Rum

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don Papa Rum from the Phillipines - highly recommend. Super easy to drink straight on the rocks, no Coke required here! It’s a very smooth drinking rum with undertones of honey and vanilla are very enjoyable and smells so good.

    Well packaged and fast delivery makes ordering through Flaviar simple and worth your time. Order two bottles of this Rum because you won’t want to share and 700mls is easy to pour and simply isn’t enough to share!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Why I am pleased with Flaviar

    • Westerly, RI,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A little over a month ago I responded to an online ad to join Flaviar, which I did.

    Since then I have made several purchases of different types of spirits. I am, mostly, a Bourbon enthusiast. However, I am trying to build up my home bar as the holidays rapidly approach.

    The prices and selections from Flaviar are well beyond what I had expected in their excellence, so affordable and much to choose from.

    I am also impressed with the speed in which the products arrived at my doorstep.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    A proper whiskey

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking all over the world for Conor Mcgregor's Proper twelve whiskey. It was sold out because he only recently started promoting it heavily, but I stumbled upon Flaviar, and my life will never be improper.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best spirit community

    • Virginia,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love hearing other people’s thoughts and opinions regarding spirits. Flaviar also has an amazing selection that you simply can’t get elsewhere. The free shipping for members is a fantastic feature as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing rum!

    • Bowie, MD,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was lucky enough to get a couple of bottles of the Larga Vida XO Rum 2018 Edition. I am not normally a rum drinker but the description was tempting, and my sister is serious rum drinker, so I figured a bottle for each of us. Since it was delivered on a Saturday, I quickly opened a bottle and sampled. I briefly considered keeping both bottles for myself - it's that good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar: Johnnie Walker GOT White Walker Scotch!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy the product selection and variety available through Flaviar and was very happy to find White Walker Scotch available. I had been searching for this for a few weeks and ordering through Flaviar was convenient and cost-effective. My bottle arrived in a little over a week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Cognac

    • California,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is great to start your collection, get culture from the different Spirits and most of all the taste testing from the different Spirts. I would recommend this site to all lovers of Spirits. I currently have a bar with my prize Cognac...Louis XIII! An awesome drink and by far the best tasting Yak I have ever had. I am looking to get more Cognac from this company in the upcoming future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Learning and enjoying!

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am learning a lot about different liquors...how they taste, why they taste, and the history of the taste.

    The bourbons and brandies interest me the most...I found out my great-grandfather was making cognac/brandy using raisins and even Żubrówka in Russia and later (post-Stalin) in Persia. I hope someday to revive his legacy.

    And I have been posting for my friends to see and join on Facebook.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 359

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review