About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

389 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 303 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 14 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 389
Sort reviews by:

  • Disappointed

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Going on week 4, no shipment of an Irish whiskey I've ordered. Responses have taken several days each time and the reasoning was that vendors were moving buildings. The customer service representative in each email was polite, which is appreciated, but Flaviar overall should be disgusted with a 72-hour or longer response time and for what is going on 4 weeks with no delivery date set yet, all on a bottle of Irish whiskey that I should've just driven two hours south to purchase in person. I thought I'd give the service a shot, but warning to all, until they get their ducks in a row and logistics figured out, it ain't worth the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Feeling duped

    • Iowa,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife gave me this membership and I like the theme of building a bar. There was a lot of interesting information and bells and whistles when I set up my profile, and the variety seems to be pretty good. The problem is that I haven't actually received the welcome box yet a month and a half after signing up. I continue to get routine marketing emails but there is no reason to order more when they can't seem to deliver a standard introductory sample. I am very disappointed in the service and feel like we are being told anything to buy time. I hope it works; almost nowhere to go but up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible customer service

    • Austin, TX,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two bottles of Bourbon to be shipped to a friend in another state.

    They were lost in transit and after a couple of responses from Flavair's customer service, they just stopped responding.

    All I wanted to know was where my shipment was or if they were going to give me a refund (since they were NEVER delivered).

    I have finally found out from FedEx that the two bottles had been returned to Falvair's facility over a month and a half ago. Still emailing them for a refund and still not getting any responses back.

    Pitiful. I will never use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hi Bob!

      We sincerely apologize for the level of service you received. The feedback you have provided is one of the only ways we can improve.

      We’re well equipped to handle occurring issues tied to the industry we are in, without our members ever noticing a disruption in the quality of service. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several issues at the same time, which has made resolving them in a timely manner much more difficult. We're terribly sorry you were among the affected!

      We have sent a message to your inbox addressing your concerns and offering redress.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Disappointing

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flaviar sells their membership (at a high price) as high end for those with discriminating taste and then cut all kinds of corners to get the cheapest possible shipping with long ship times, poor tracking, the inability to redirect to a hold location (I can't take off work to wait for liquor). This is bad customer service and does not invoke customer loyalty. This approach causes me to question what benefit am actually receiving from the high cost. Note, it did not start out this way but now feels like they are harshly cutting corners to save money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Carolyn,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      Let me provide additional insight into the problems you've faced with our service.

      We’re well equipped to handle concerns tied to the spirits industry, without our members ever noticing a disruption in the quality of service. This is what members expect of us by now, and it’s the standard we aim for. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several concurrent issues, which has made resolving them in a timely manner much more difficult. This led to some shipping delays, longer transit times or tracking issues. We're terribly sorry you were among the affected!

      Moreover, there seems to be some confusion regarding our service. The perks and benefits available to club members are thoroughly described in our FAQ if there is still any confusion by now.

      Please write to us at hello@flaviar.com if there is still any confusion or you need our assistance, we promise to get back to you as soon as possible!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    One star because zero wasn't a choice.

    • Iowa,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Flaviar a month ago and can't review the actual product because I haven't actually received it yet.

    My account still has yet to display a tracking number for my first membership box shipment. I ordered an actual full bottle of liquor with my welcome discount and received that in a modestly timely 10 days. Still waiting on that $60 membership shipment though.

    Their customer service averages a 4-5 day response time on emails. When I asked them to cancel my membership, instead of simply honoring my request and returning my money, they insisted on waiting until I received my first member box and then "discussing how they can make it up to me."

    I just want to make that crystal clear: I asked to cancel and have my money refunded, and they declined to immediately do so.

    Let's face it, you're paying $60 for 150 ml of whiskey. When you honestly think about it, that is a rotten deal.

    The only thing worse than the value of their product is their customer service. The best thing I can say about Flaviar is it doesn't currently seem that they have given me cancer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 18, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Dear Troy,

      Thank you for sharing. We apologize for your experience. The feedback you have provided is one of the only ways we can improve.

      We’re well equipped to handle concerns tied to the spirits industry, without our members ever noticing a disruption in the quality of service. This is what members expect of us by now, and it’s the standard we aim for. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several concurrent issues, which has made resolving them in a timely manner much more difficult. This led to some shipping delays, longer transit times or tracking issues. We're terribly sorry you were among the affected!

      Moreover, we experienced service issues in the past month which delayed our response time. This will be taken care of in the following days and the service will be back to the high standard we aim for and you deserve.

      I'm afraid I'm not able to find your account with the information available here so please write to us at hello@flaviar.com and we'll make sure this gets resolved to your full satisfaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On December 11th I placed an order with Flaviar including an Aberlour 12 years old, and a Ginaissance tasting kit. The email said I would get both items between 3-7 working days to get to my apartment. Eight days after not having received anything I emailed Flaviar to inquire about my packages, and they replied 4 days after saying "The label was created but it seems not to have moved from our vendor's warehouse. I'll investigate and get back to you as soon as I know. I'll do my best to get these shipped out immediately!"

    After 15 days of waiting, my bottle finally arrived, only to find out that I was missing my Ginaissance from the order. I again email Flaviar to try and figure out why I had not gotten my Ginaissance and they replied "The Ginaissance was supposed to ship from another vendor but seems it didn't ship at all. And that probably the vendor has issues shipping to my state." "Uros," my concierge, said that if I was willing to wait because of the lack of ETA, and I replied just please send the package. Once "Uros," my concierge, read the email he apologized for the second time about waiting and said "The Ginaissance shipped today. Tracking will be provided within a few days."

    Since I got that email I have not received the package, or the tracking number...It has been 18 days since I got that last email. What kind of inconsiderate lack of customer service is this? If I am going to give my money to a company I expect to have some sort of professional and attentive customer service. I would definitely not recommend this to anyone trying to have a good experience and good customer service. Definitely the worst I have ever been treated in any e-commerce subscription. This company has made me feel like I have been forgotten.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 12, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hi Alejandro!

      We sincerely apologize for the level of service you received. The feedback you have provided is one of the only ways we can improve.

      We’re well equipped to handle occurring issues tied to the industry we are in, without our members ever noticing a disruption in the quality of service. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several issues at the same time, which has made resolving them in a timely manner much more difficult. This led to some shipping delays, longer transit times or tracking issues. We're terribly sorry you were among the affected!

      We have sent a message to your inbox addressing your concerns and offering redress.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar is currently shipping things months late

    • Ohio,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been toying with the idea of ordering from Flaviar for a while now. About three weeks ago I went ahead and pulled the trigger. I received a tracking number that took me to a website that did not recognize that tracking number. Three weeks later still no whiskey, and I have emailed Flaviar several times. I looked on Facebook and it looks like many people are going through the same thing, but some of the orders go back for months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Dear William,

      This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

      Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking. The rise in outreach that followed slowed down our response time.

      While significant progress has already been made, it will take a little longer until we can catch up to the high standard of service you deserve and we aim to provide. Rest assured that we are working around the clock to get this solved as soon as possible. We ask and thank you for your trust and patience during this tumultuous period!

      If your order isn’t with you by now, know that we are doing our best to have it delivered as soon as possible. We hope you’ll give us another chance once the dust settles.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The worst.

    • Michigan,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sounded like fun - gifted a six-month membership to my husband. $20/month for monthly samples - cool! Nope. You get a sample every three months, meaning that I spent $120.00 for six shots of whiskey total. My husband logged on with the gift certificate code and became confused about what this even is.

    I contacted them and asked for a refund. Nope. But they "graciously" set my account to not auto-renew on my credit card. Which I didn’t want to do anyway!

    I asked for a refund minus the cost of the samples already sent and they said no. Rip off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Dear Anne,

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry for your disappointment and any confusion regarding the club and its benefits.

      The club that the tasting boxes, which you seem to value above all else. For example, the free shipping credits alone can be worth hundreds of dollars each quarter, so it depends on what you want to use the membership for. We want to keep the membership fee as low as possible and include something tangible in it, and then you can tailor the rest of the experience yourself.

      Our refund policy is loose because we understand the club is complex and want to give members enough time to decide the club isn't up their alley. Upon review, I've noticed your request was submitted months after joining, this must be the reason why a refund was declined at the time.

      I'm sure we can reach an agreement, though, as we hate to see disappointed members. Please check your inbox, one of our concierges will reach out to you with a proposed solution.

      Thank you for understanding.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not purchase

    • Rockwell, NC,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this for my husband for what I thought would be a great gift. WRONG! He only received the first tasting box and never has received another! When he emails the company, he only gets the runaround! Never any answers! They keep telling him they are working on fixing the problem on their end. I would never recommend this club.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Dear Cheryl,

      Thank you for sharing. We apologize for your experience. The feedback you have provided is one of the only ways we can improve.

      We experienced service issues in the past month which delayed our response time. This will be taken care of in the following days and the service will be back to the high standard we aim for and you deserve.

      I'm afraid I'm not able to find your husband's account or your gift purchase with the information available here.

      From described, there seems to be some confusion regarding our service. The perks and benefits available to club members are thoroughly described in our FAQ if there is still any confusion by now.

      Please write to us at hello@flaviar.com if there is still any confusion or you need our assistance, we promise to get back to you as soon as possible!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company. Terrible service.

    • Georgia,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a yearly subscription on December 22nd as a Christmas gift. A welcome box was supposed to come with my order. It has been nearly 40 days, about a dozen emails to customer service (even messaged them on Facebook a few times) and nothing. No shipping info. Nothing. This is apparently a massive problem with Flaviar. Just scroll through the comments on their Facebook account. It's a giant complaint forum with many, many other people like me who purchased orders, then never received a shipment. They will gladly take your money for a subscription, then once they have it, will not send you what you paid for.

    It's like their business model is to spend all of their resources on advertising to get you to pay a non-refundable enrollment fee, then spend no time or energy on actually trying to follow through on what they promised. I would never recommend this to anyone. Not only is the company model bad, but the customer service may be even worse.

    I wish I could give a more thorough review on the products or services they actually provide, but when a company takes your money and never provides any products or services, that's difficult to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey William,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further. This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

      Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking. The rise in outreach that followed slowed down our response time.

      While significant progress has already been made, it will take a little longer until we can catch up to the high standard of service you deserve and we aim to provide. Rest assured that we are working around the clock to get this solved as soon as possible. We ask and thank you for your trust and patience during this tumultuous period!

      If your order isn’t with you by now, know that we are doing our best to have it delivered as soon as possible. We hope you’ll give us another chance once the dust settles.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Sign up and first order

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, so I just placed an order for a bottle of Aviation Gin. The order arrived promptly and undamaged, so 5 out of 5 stars for that. Now my initial signup I am a bit more disappointed in. I have been waiting three weeks now and still haven't seen my first box, and getting them to respond back to emails is like pulling teeth. For this, they get a 1-star review and I will not be recommending them to others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 8, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Corey,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further. This certainly isn’t the experience we want you to have and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

      Allow us to provide some insight. Shipping alcohol is an extremely complex process. By now, we are well versed at handling unexpected delivery issues and fluctuations in state laws so there is no disruption in the quality of our service. Recently, though, we’ve experienced several such issues at the same time, which has made resolving them efficiently a lot trickier. This, in turn, caused shipping delays, longer transit times, and issues with order tracking. The rise in outreach that followed slowed down our response time.

      While significant progress has already been made, it will take a little longer until we can catch up to the high standard of service you deserve and we aim to provide. Rest assured that we are working around the clock to get this solved as soon as possible. We ask and thank you for your trust and patience during this tumultuous period!

      If your order isn’t with you by now, know that we are doing our best to have it delivered as soon as possible. We hope you’ll give us another chance once the dust settles.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 389

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review