About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

351 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 282 4 star: 12 3 star: 3 2 star: 13 1 star:  41
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 351
Sort reviews by:

  • Flaviar: Johnnie Walker GOT White Walker Scotch!

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy the product selection and variety available through Flaviar and was very happy to find White Walker Scotch available. I had been searching for this for a few weeks and ordering through Flaviar was convenient and cost-effective. My bottle arrived in a little over a week.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Cognac

    • California,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is great to start your collection, get culture from the different Spirits and most of all the taste testing from the different Spirts. I would recommend this site to all lovers of Spirits. I currently have a bar with my prize Cognac...Louis XIII! An awesome drink and by far the best tasting Yak I have ever had. I am looking to get more Cognac from this company in the upcoming future.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Learning and enjoying!

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am learning a lot about different liquors...how they taste, why they taste, and the history of the taste.

    The bourbons and brandies interest me the most...I found out my great-grandfather was making cognac/brandy using raisins and even Żubrówka in Russia and later (post-Stalin) in Persia. I hope someday to revive his legacy.

    And I have been posting for my friends to see and join on Facebook.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Perfect

    • Latvia,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything in our life is connected with the acceptance of our taste, and we all have a chance to taste, which remain in memory as it is in believing...

    Many thanks to Flaviar Club and especially Ms. Petra, who helped me to start believing in my dream world of Dalmore, where I found dark chocolate, my grandfather's cigar smoke, and coffee as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love the taste

    • Janesville, WI,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the selection and taste of these products. I also like the fact that I can sample the product or product of other brands. I would recommend them to anyone that asks me about the products that they have.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Avoid this vendor

    • Gillette, WY,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a whiskey enthusiast, I am often ordering spirits online, to obtain harder-to-find-selections. I signed up with Flaviar to have access to their selection as well. Initially, I overlooked the $60.00 per quarter fee, thinking that this might be offset by the once-per-quarter free shipping.

    Several weeks ago, I ordered two spirits, a mezcal and a rum from Flaviar. What I received were two bottles of bourbon that I did not order and had no use for. I immediately informed Flaviar of the error. They initially responded by establishing hoops, requiring that I take photos of the bottles that I did receive before they would take further action. Flaviar and I were engaged in a drawn-out email discussion (it generally takes them several days to respond to an email), when they made an unauthorized charge against my card for the two bottles that were sent in error. I also never received the two bottles on my order, for which I had already been charged.

    I have done business with many online vendors in Europe and the US. This is the first time that I have experienced this level of incompetence and poor customer service. I have found that the prices for items at Flaviar are generally more expensive than you would find at other online vendors; this more than offsets any benefit from paying Flaviar $60.00 per quarter to obtain free shipping on a single order. My advice is to limit your purchasing to vendors that are more reliable, offer better customer service and which don't charge you a membership fee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 11, 2018

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Mark,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      We do our best to make the choice over membership length easy to find prior joining, but from the way you describe things it seems you've missed the quarterly option and opted for the annual membership!

      At the time you wrote this review we were still in contact and offering full assistance to resolve the matter to the benefit of all parties involved. We try to resolve each and every ticket in a timely manner and to our members' full satisfaction, and as it now seems we haven't received a reply from you in quite a while, leaving our company at a severe monetary disadvantage in your benefit.

      Wrong orders aren't uncommon in the e-commerce business, but what sets us apart is the way we handle such hiccups. It doesn’t happen often, but we’re very adept at handling wrong orders and always offer appropriate compensation for any inconvenience caused to a reasonable extent. In your case, we requested a photo of goods received and have been denied at first. Please bear in mind that this is standard business practice. Additionally, you have informed us that one of the bottles have been opened.

      In the event that a customer receives a wrong product, it is customary that the goods are returned in the condition they were delivered. We offered a generous discount based on the bottle’s retail price. We never received a reply to our offer.

      Regarding the two bottle order which you are claiming here as not received, we are happy to announce your later notice that they are in your possession but have been stashed away by a family member until now.

      Moreover, we understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer and I’m terribly sorry that the membership didn’t work out for you. However, there are numerous benefits that haven't been listed in your recount.

      We are still waiting on your reply to resolve the matter to our mutual satisfaction. We have full faith that we'll manage to achieve agreement promptly and cordially. Our concierge service is also available if you need help with anything else.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It's a multi-level party!

    • Junction City, OR,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a B-day party for the hubby. We're pretty new and he has loved the tasting boxes and we purchased our first bottle. To sit and taste the samples is great, it's exciting, and we're experiencing drinks we might now and they're all great. The cards are a great guide. They've created an experience!

    It's also an evening with a friend all planned out! A great dinner and a tasting box with a friend is a GREAT evening, we've done it a couple of times and friends rave. We've ordered our first bottle, the Rum these guys curated, CAN'T WAIT! Thanks for such a fun and unique gift and ongoing journey.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • All you need is a glass and an ice cube

    • Thessaloniki, Greece,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Once a membership is made, there is a guarantee for something new, by tasting or by reading. This is what makes Flaviar so great. With every tasting box, comes great responsibility, because you will like it. And this comes from a non-whisk(e)y drinker. With every email, there is something new to be learned. And they deliver it splendidly! Everything is thoughtfully created and organized, and if I would summarize everything in one sentence, I would say:

    "They brought the classics to the new century."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Cheated

    • Des Moines, IA,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very disappointed with Flaviar! I purchased a 6-month membership for my husband's birthday and was under the impression that you get something monthly. I feel like for $120 I'm cheated out of my money and asked for a refund. Apparently, I'm not "eligible" for one, which is ridiculous. I will not recommend this to anyone, and don't make the same mistake by wasting your time and money. There are other subscriptions out there that are less money and you get more. Also, the fact that there's no customer service phone number is frustrating, and I am disappointed with their service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 20, 2018

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Julie,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      Speakeasy Club is a membership experience, not a monthly subscription service, and we do our best to advertise accordingly. We understand if your needs and wishes differ from what we offer, and I’m terribly sorry that the gift didn’t work out. However, there are numerous other benefits save for the tasting boxes.

      We have a cancellation policy that is readily available and as with all online businesses, we expect customers to familiarize with the way the club conducts its business before signing up for our service. Gift members are eligible for a refund after up to a month spent in the club, which we believe is very generous considering similar enterprises and gives members ample time to become fully familiarized with the club and all its various facets. Your request missed that period by a fair margin while also several club benefits have been taken advantage of.

      If you’d like us to help you use the membership to the fullest or if you believe your issue wasn’t resolved to your full satisfaction let us know, we’re easy to reach if you write to us at hello@flaviar.com.

      We know the decision to omit phone support is unusual, but we focus on providing fast and high-quality responses by email, so you’re always talking to a human that can help first-hand.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My overall experience

    • Ames, IA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience has been excellent. The deliveries are always prompt, and I have had nothing arrived damaged. It has been a fun experience for me since I am new to drinking spirits. I used to think they all tasted alike, all bourbon, whiskey, and scotch were the same. All vodka the same, etc. but I have found that is definitely not true. I look forward to experiencing more. I don't, however, like being told how long my review must be.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar

    • Mississippi,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Flaviar is a fantastic place for all your sipping. There is no way for me to name all the different types of whiskey, much less the vodkas. Oh man, I ordered one that is called The Spud. I have never had a vodka that tasted as well as this one. Yes, it's made with sweet potatoes. It's clear and the taste is like a pie. If you get the chance to join, you will definitely not be disappointed. I've gotten my first order and can't wait to get the next one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 351

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review