About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

334 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 267 4 star: 12 3 star: 3 2 star: 13 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 334
Sort reviews by:

  • Dishonest thieves

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for Flaviar about a week ago because the price $60 for three months seemed reasonable for what they offered. However, when you sign up, they make it very difficult on their site to find how to only pay the $60 for three months. Really leave only one option, which is to pay for the entire year with a $30 discount. It comes to $210. As soon as you pay is when you will never see that money again. I went through this process and canceled in under a day with the confidence that I would actually get my full refund.

    After contacting support, they said they would barely give me half of what I paid. I received $108.01 and forced me to keep the membership that I did not want at all. They charged me $60 plus a "non-refundable incentive fee" of $41.99, which is essentially a welcome box they advertise as "free." They are no longer responding to emails and their phone support goes straight to voicemail. Save your money and go to the liquor store to try different spirits. This is either a scam or their customer service is actually just poor and amateur.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good prices, great products

    • Michigan,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for a specific product and could not find it at a reasonable price from a site that could ship to the US. Flaviar to the rescue. We got the gin we wanted at a good price, the gin AND shipping was less than other sites cost for the product alone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fun and tasty!

    • Virignia,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife purchased a year of Flaviar for my birthday. I received a welcome sampler in the mail just days later. It came with a cool little coaster, and information cards about each of the three spirits, all boxed up in an elegant little package. I like how the info cards describe the spirit, and also explain the flavor spiral for each spirit.

    I was kind of bummed about the small size of the samplers, but they're just intended to be samplers, so they're fine, and give plenty of taste for you to decide whether or not you like the given spirit.

    The best part for me, aside from getting to drink my birthday gift, is that I REALLY liked one of the spirits (FEW Rye), but no one around this area carries it...then I discovered I can just order a full-size bottle directly from Flaviar, and it only took about three days to get it delivered!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • About Flaviar

    • Rockford, MI,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This has been quite a ride. I like the "training course" (learned a lot). Also, I have opportunities to try things I would never think of. It might be a little pricey, but there are difficult-to-quantify benefits. I really like the historical information.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar

    • Ohio,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    An excellent website to purchase fine spirits. I had searched for a place where I could have Kilchoman shipped to Ohio, and Flaviar is the only place that can do so. Good prices and a wide selection, as well as great customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Flaviar was a good experience

    • Corvallis, OR,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After some initial hiccups with membership, I’ve found the experience great. I was new to whiskey and having access to the Flaviar distributor with free shipping has made it easier to get great bottles at a competitive price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I love it

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love my orders. The orders come on time, and the taste boxes is a way to see how other liquors taste. It's very easy to order other liquors as well. It comes with information about the liquors, what's in them, where they were made and the alcohol content. If you know your liquor, then this club is for you. Enjoy the different flavors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love it!

    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been wanting to try new whiskeys and didn’t want to commit to an entire bottle each time. Flaviar offers a really fun experience. We made it a whole evening of trying the different whiskeys, matching each bottle with the description. Just so much fun!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Best gift for Dad

    • Kings Mountain, NC,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this for my dad! Seeing how excited each time he gets his tastings, well worth the price! We also love the school and the free shipping doesn’t hurt! The descriptions allow him to know what flavors he wants to buy for the bottles, but the tastings allow him to try new flavor profiles and not invest in a large bottle he may not like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Totally disappointed

    • Riverton, WY,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If anyone is considering signing up for a subscription with Flaviar, be warned. I purchased a 6-month subscription for $120 on 6/13, for Loren for Father’s Day, and his “welcome box” didn’t arrive for 21 days on 7/3. And one of the bottles had leaked in transport.

    I asked for a refund, and their policy is you can only cancel your membership within the first 3 days!? How would I even have known by that point we would have a reason to want to cancel? We have been terribly disappointed since the beginning. I would advise against doing business with them. And all he was going to get as best we can tell is two of these “tasting boxes” in his 6-month membership to the tune of $120. Do you know how much liquor I can buy with $120?! They’re all “fluff” and very little substance. How about pay less for marketing materials and more money towards actually delivering a product and some customer service?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money, bad customer service

    • Florida,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was not pleased with this company. The items I received were not based on the profile I submitted. Taste sample items were not clearly labeled, making it hard to tell what you were about to drink. First two tastings of three in my sample were of liquors I absolutely detest drinking. Prices are higher than my local store. Plus when I contacted them to request a refund after receiving the above tasting box was told no refund would be granted. No prorated refunds are allowed as they only have a 3-day grace period. Really hard to determine if you like a service when you get nothing in the first three days. I would not recommend this to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 334

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review