About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 405 Flaviar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 315 4 star: 13 3 star: 5 2 star: 14 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 405
Sort reviews by:

  • Travel the Liquor World

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this club. They make it easy to explore different styles of whisky, rum, gin, tequila, really whatever spirits you are into, and they have great limited release stuff as well. Well worth the price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Excellent service

    • Indiana,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The service is excellent for ordering online along with the selection. My husband enjoys specific brands and this site has several of the brands he enjoys. We are kept up to date on every aspect of the order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great value and rare spirits delivered right to my house!

    • Waterville, ME,
    • May 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience has been outstanding. I would highly recommend (and have) this service to anyone that appreciates good spirits and trying new spirits.

    Flaviar is a great way to try new spirits without spending money on a bottle, just to find out you don't like it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Special edition bottle

    • Hagerstown, MD,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the Kentucky Derby and try to get a bottle of Woodford Reserve Kentucky Derby Edition every year. Little did I know that this year 145th running would be so epic. Still looking for the 140th bottle...the search continues.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Home comforts

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A great variety of products, if you are a lover of the occasional tincture you will adore the amazing amount of phenomenal options available here, you will love browsing and the ability to build an amazing bar of your own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Perfect for something new to focus on

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do you need a great distraction from the daily grind - even if you love your day! By engaging with Flaviar you can enjoy a different experience and learn something new. We have found the sample tasting a great way to explore the world of spirits find out about different drinks available and definitely try before you buy. Cheers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Flaviar the looter!

    • Oregon,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's been 6 months since I joined Flaviar and till date, I haven't bought a bottle yet. Main reason:

    1. I'm a big fan of bourbon, rye, and Japanese whiskeys. I had much better chances of finding pappy, Weller, Willett, Yamazaki and Hibiki whiskeys on sites like CPD Wine & Liquor and Whiskey Exchange than on Flaviar.

    2. Prices are outrageous. Today I finally saw Willett 4-year-old rye was on sale on Flaviar, I thought finally I'll buy at least one bottle on this site. When I saw the price it was $144 - OUTRAGEOUS for a member who already paid a premium to get access. I didn't buy. I was able to find and purchase a Willett 4-year-old rye on another site for under $60. FLAVIAR IS A LOOTER!

    This is not a club with exclusive access to some amazing spirits and rare bottles. This is just another site selling liquor online. I paid the annual membership and I regret it now. I'm not sure if I can get my money back either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 27, 2019

      Company Response from Flavair Ltd.

      Hey Sans,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      We understand your disappointment in the prices, but you have to understand that we don't have access to the original retail prices either for highly allocated items such as Willets. The Vault prices reflect aftermarket prices because the bottles found in the Vault (Pappies Wellers, Willets, Japanese, etc.) aren’t easily accessible, yet we strive to provide a large number of exquisite products month in and month out, with an enormous member base waiting like a hungry pack of wolves.

      We can’t afford to sit back and snatch fancy bottles when the time and price is right. We do everything we can and pay almost any price to make premium, collectible spirits available to our members without them having to spend time looking for and engaging in prolonged or even hidden auctions. Your benefit here is actually having access to such products on a regular basis. Believe us that the Vault isn’t something we do to make wild profits, as such an exclusive endeavor isn’t scalable.

      Please write to us at hello@flaviar.com if there is still any confusion or if you would prefer to cancel the membership, we promise to get back to you as soon as possible!


  • Rare bottles available

    • Maysville, NC,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's nice to be able to get specific and or limited distribution bottles through Flaviar. I'm in an ABC (alcoholic beverage control) state and my membership with Flaviar allows me to get bottles that may be available but are never in stock. For a special order, I have to order a full case and that just isn't practical. Now with the selection I have available through Flaviar, I am able to find bottles of spirits I wouldn't be able to just go to my local ABC store and pick up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Teeling whiskey

    • Warwickshire, England,
    • May 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a regular drinker of Teeling and it is a great drink. I have drunk many whiskeys in my long life but Teeling is by far the best the dearest. Teeling whiskey costs around £25000 pounds, which I cannot afford.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Taster bottles

    • Silver Creek, NY,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not sure how I found the Flaviar site but am glad I did, and glad I became a member. They offer a taster's choice consisting of three small bottles of a spirit that you select, this way you can taste before you spend money on a bottle you may not like. The free shipping is also a nice little money saver. Great folks at Flaviar.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Don't hesitate - just do it, you'll be glad you did!

    • Parker, CO,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wow, what a great experience! I'm somewhat of a newbie to whiskey (and whisky). I'm already finding that I gravitate towards the bourbons and ryes.

    First off, the tasting box is just an overall great experience. After trying each sample I decided this was too good to keep to myself. I immediately called my wife in to taste along with me and she loved it! Then I shared with my father-in-law. Yes, you can actually have three people sample each of the bottles included in the tasting box!

    I had to immediately share the experience with a friend of mine that introduced me to whisky. He's a scotch kinda guy but he also pointed out a few really good bourbons on Flaviar. He's a seasoned wine and whiskey/whisky expert and he was impressed with the selection, and as important, the prices!

    I'm now on my fourth order with Flaviar - I'm a huge fan!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 405

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review