What Is Flex Glue?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 29, 2018

Flex Glue claims to be a phenomenally strong, rubberized, thick adhesive capable of bonding, sealing, or repairing “virtually everything” in a variety of situations, both wet and dry.

In the commercial, spokesman Phil Swift demonstrates Flex Glue’s instant grab capability, bonding together multiple objects ranging from smaller bricks to large cinderblocks and then picking them up seconds later. We’re even shown the product holding together two pieces of wood that in turn are supporting a thousand-pound set of weights.

The manufacturer states that the adhesive is ideal for a wide variety of practical uses, from home and garden to automotive, marine, construction, plumbing, electrical, DIY projects, and general maintenance. It’s also mildew and UV resistant, paintable, solvent-free, VOC compliant, low-odor, and shrink and crack-resistant.

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, it certainly appears that Flex Glue could be useful in a wide variety of situations.

But, how well can you expect it to work in reality? Are there any surfaces or situations that it isn’t a good fit for? Does it have any competition? These are just some of the key questions we’ll help you answer—starting with price.

How Much Does Flex Glue Cost & Where Can You Buy It?

Flex Glue is available directly from the manufacturer (although other options in the “Flex” family—more soon—are sold at a variety of retail locations, so this may change), at the following prices:

  • 6 oz. supply - $19.99 + $9.95 S&H + $9.99 processing fee
  • 10 oz. supply - $24.99 + $9.95 S&H c

With either size, you’ll also be charged a $9.95 S&H and receive a “handy size” variant of one of the other Flex products for an additional $9.99 processing fee:

  • Flex Tape
  • Flex Seal
  • Flex Seal Liquid
  • Flex Shot

All orders are eligible for a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping, handling and processing fees. This is important to note, because it means that regardless of which option you choose, you’ll be losing out on $19.94 if you decide to return the product. Customer support can be reached at 844-551-9312.

Who will you be calling, exactly?

What Do We Know About Flex Glue’s Manufacturer?

Flex Glue is brought to us by Swift Response, LLC, who’s been in business since 2011, is based out of Weston. FL, and also manufactures other products in the lineup, including Flex Seal, Flex Tape, and Flex Shot.

The company held an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on five closed customer complaints, as of 1/29/18. No additional details were provided.

How Does Flex Glue Work Compare to Other Rubberized Adhesives?

We spoke with several customer service representatives looking for specifics about Flex Glue’s formula during our research, including active ingredients, although none were able to provide additional insight.

What about third-party sites? Searching online for terms frequently used on the Flex Glue website like “rubberized adhesive,” “thick paste adhesive,” and “waterproof glue” returned a handful of results that matched some of Flex Glue’s single claims (e.g., waterproof, thick, quick-bonding, multi-surface, etc.), although none that combined all aspects into a single product. And certainly, none that delivered the same instant results—especially the underwater component.

With this said, some of the closest options we encountered included:

Product Price/Quantity Active Ingredient(s)
Flex Glue $19.99 (6 oz), $24.99 (10 oz) Unknown
Loctite Super Glue Ultra Gel Concentration $6-$13 (4-6 oz) Ethyl Cyanoacrylate Unknown: (rubber-toughened formula, can’t be used on many plastics, sets in seconds, ideal for vertical applications)
Gorilla Glue Construction Adhesive (30 sec. drying time) $13 (9 oz) Polyurethane
Instabond Adhesive (30 sec. drying time) $17 (3.5 oz) Cyanoacrylate (requires separate activator spray)
Mr. Sticky’s Underwater Glue $15 (1.6 oz) Cyanoacrylate (2-part system w/dual syringe)

Cumulatively, it seemed like Flex Glue offered the greatest amount of adhesive in each tube, although it also came with the highest overall price compared to the close competitors above. As mentioned earlier, it also comes nearly $20 in combined processing and S&H charges, none of which are refundable; whereas many of the competing adhesives could be found locally, also potentially putting them in your hand faster.

When the adhesive meets the surface, though, what does all of this mean for your future when it comes to Flex Glue?

Our Final Thoughts About Flex Glue

When comes to choosing the right adhesive for the job, it’s all about the application. Specifically, the material, surface type, and surface area.

Cyanoacrylate (the most common active ingredient among Flex Glue’s close competition, although we couldn’t confirm this is what’s contained in the product at hand), is classified as a ‘speciality’ cement most often recommended when working with plastics, since it “basically bonds plastic at a molecular level, and the bond becomes seamless.”

On the other hand, polyurethane adhesives (another common ingredient in all-purpose options) sticks to most things, is waterproof, requires no mixing or measuring, and can typically set within 20 minutes—again, all of which match many of Flex Glue’s claims.

As consumer ourselves, we think the biggest difference between it and third-party options doesn’t necessarily come down to effectiveness, though. Instead, it’s perhaps more closely related to value. How so?

Whether you choose cyanoacrylate, polyurethane, or another active ingredient based on the surface type, area, and material you’re working with, purchasing locally could potentially:

  • Provide the assistance of a retail professional to help you choose the best adhesive for your needs
  • Put the product in your hands in a matter of minutes
  • Save on processing charges and S&H fees
  • Make the return process as easy as hopping in your car, and also save on returning S&H

Given these important factors, while we didn’t test any of these products ourselves, it might make the most financial sense to explore your local rubberized adhesive options before placing an online order, whether for Flex Glue or a third-party product.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Flex Glue

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Tried several times...failed every time.

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wood to wood. Glass to wood. Small crack on cement patio floor.

    Flex Seal and Flex Tape were bought. The wood to wood project was on the tabletop to center leg. NOT the size as in the commercial but an end table I decided to make for a den. 36 inches in height with 14-inch circle top. I thought using the Flex Glue would be better so as to have a smooth top to stain and varnish. No wood putty to hide screws.

    Long story short, it did not work. Two hours later when I assumed I could stand, the top slid off. I got the wood screws out.

    The cement crack is 44 inches long and a hairline. I bought the Flex Seal because of a $180.00 quote to fix. Still tacky to touch after three days!

    After first the fail, I still tried the second product because I ASSUMED I did it wrong the first time. Nope.

    I would not buy again even with a 50% off sale. Let alone go into a boat made out of this stuff!

    In the long run, it's another "got your money," and you figure it out, a scam.

    Do not waste your time AND money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Texas,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Flex Glue and tried three times to glue a plastic device that my dresser drawer slides onto and my dresser drawer is still setting on the side of my dresser. To be honest, this is the second Flex product that I used and it didn't work. The Flex Seal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Terrible stuff.

    • Lexington, IL,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This stuff doesn't work. It ruined a jacket and a pair of jeans when it wouldn't hold and fell on me. Worthless! I tried several times to get it to hold with no luck. It is almost impossible to get out of the tube.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 26, 2018

      Ferd J.

      I am always leery of the stuff that can only be purchased online from TV ads. Seems that 99.99% is junk. Thank you for your review, I will be avoiding Flex Glue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    This is the WORST product I've ever used! They use false advertising as shown on TV.

    • Colorado,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the WORST product. They use FALSE ADVERTISING. I tried to glue a piece of wood on a dresser. The result was appalling. Totally false advertising! They ought to be charged with false statements/advertising. I WOULD NOT buy another product from them EVER.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Flex Glue is junk, false advertising

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw them advertising it on TV, and it's just junk. I didn't even dry for me like they show, where it stuck fast as soon as it is put on, but it never even got dry for me. I would like to see the buggy they glued together. This glue is just junk and a waste of my money. They should get be taken to court for this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • California,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The handle for my security door broke off, and after I watched a commercial for this product, I thought it would work. The handle is metal so it seemed it would be a simple repair. Not so. I applied the glue on both sides of the break, held it in place, and it fell off. I then waited a few minutes, the same process same result. After twenty minutes, the same results. If I can't repair a metal door handle, I can believe they put together a car. False ads.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 27 people found this review helpful

    The commercial is extremely misleading.

    • Washington,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    1. It is very hard to squeeze from the tube.

    2. It does not in any way adhere immediately.

    3. It needs to be clamped.

    I first used it to make a table organizer, which required gluing wood to wood. It did not adhere enough to even let them set to dry, I had to press them with weight, and it took hours before it held enough to touch. The project took 24 hours to put together due to glues inadequacy.

    Then I used it on glass/metal to reattach a rear view mirror to a window. I needed something that adhered immediately. Not even after ten minutes to allow it to tack up. No way was it instant, nor in the five minutes was I able to hold it in place.

    I guarantee there is no way if you try it like in the commercial where they show with two cinder blocks that you can pick it up any time soon. HAHA.

    I have used tape and spray with much better results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Flex Glue does not work as advertised

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a tube of Flex Glue for $12.99 to repair vinyl that was separating from an outside patio door. I cleaned both surfaces and applied Flex Glue. The seal was between wood and vinyl. Directions state that bonding will begin between 20 and 30 seconds. I applied pressure for 10 minutes. Bonding never happened. This is a very poor product. Elmer's Glue would have given the same, and maybe even better results. Don't waste your money with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Repairing mower body.

    • Cottonport, LA,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a Craftsman ZTS zero turn mower. The entire body of this mower, and several other makes, has a one piece, plastic body. My mower is several years old, and eventually, the various points where the body is attached to the frame started cracking until there was nothing left to hold the body to the frame. I was shocked when I shopped around for a new replacement body. They ranged from $450.00-$600.00. My mower is still good, but I did not want to pay that price for a new body. After seeing the add for Flex Glue, when they show gluing all-terrain vehicle body attached together with Flex Glue, that I decided to try this on gluing the body of my mower. I had nothing to lose, so I took my time and glued one side at a time, leaving each side to dry for 24 hours. When I finished I was surprised and proud of the job I did. I have been cutting with my mower for three months and the Flex Glue is holding firm. I would recommend this product to my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Flex Glue does not stick

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to use Flex Glue to put a suitcase handle together it never dried, not even over a day's time. The glue had a soft consistency. I won’t ever purchase this crap again. I’m going to glue my money to my wallet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Flex Glue to repair an outdoor umbrella. One of the arms came detached. I put glue on both sides and let it sit there untouched for two days. I went to use it...it DIDN'T WORK. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Flex Glue!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review