What Is Flex Glue?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 29, 2018

Flex Glue claims to be a phenomenally strong, rubberized, thick adhesive capable of bonding, sealing, or repairing “virtually everything” in a variety of situations, both wet and dry.

In the commercial, spokesman Phil Swift demonstrates Flex Glue’s instant grab capability, bonding together multiple objects ranging from smaller bricks to large cinderblocks and then picking them up seconds later. We’re even shown the product holding together two pieces of wood that in turn are supporting a thousand-pound set of weights.

The manufacturer states that the adhesive is ideal for a wide variety of practical uses, from home and garden to automotive, marine, construction, plumbing, electrical, DIY projects, and general maintenance. It’s also mildew and UV resistant, paintable, solvent-free, VOC compliant, low-odor, and shrink and crack-resistant.

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, it certainly appears that Flex Glue could be useful in a wide variety of situations.

But, how well can you expect it to work in reality? Are there any surfaces or situations that it isn’t a good fit for? Does it have any competition? These are just some of the key questions we’ll help you answer—starting with price.

How Much Does Flex Glue Cost & Where Can You Buy It?

Flex Glue is available directly from the manufacturer (although other options in the “Flex” family—more soon—are sold at a variety of retail locations, so this may change), at the following prices:

  • 6 oz. supply - $19.99 + $9.95 S&H + $9.99 processing fee
  • 10 oz. supply - $24.99 + $9.95 S&H c

With either size, you’ll also be charged a $9.95 S&H and receive a “handy size” variant of one of the other Flex products for an additional $9.99 processing fee:

  • Flex Tape
  • Flex Seal
  • Flex Seal Liquid
  • Flex Shot

All orders are eligible for a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping, handling and processing fees. This is important to note, because it means that regardless of which option you choose, you’ll be losing out on $19.94 if you decide to return the product. Customer support can be reached at 844-551-9312.

Who will you be calling, exactly?

What Do We Know About Flex Glue’s Manufacturer?

Flex Glue is brought to us by Swift Response, LLC, who’s been in business since 2011, is based out of Weston. FL, and also manufactures other products in the lineup, including Flex Seal, Flex Tape, and Flex Shot.

The company held an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on five closed customer complaints, as of 1/29/18. No additional details were provided.

How Does Flex Glue Work Compare to Other Rubberized Adhesives?

We spoke with several customer service representatives looking for specifics about Flex Glue’s formula during our research, including active ingredients, although none were able to provide additional insight.

What about third-party sites? Searching online for terms frequently used on the Flex Glue website like “rubberized adhesive,” “thick paste adhesive,” and “waterproof glue” returned a handful of results that matched some of Flex Glue’s single claims (e.g., waterproof, thick, quick-bonding, multi-surface, etc.), although none that combined all aspects into a single product. And certainly, none that delivered the same instant results—especially the underwater component.

With this said, some of the closest options we encountered included:

Product Price/Quantity Active Ingredient(s)
Flex Glue $19.99 (6 oz), $24.99 (10 oz) Unknown
Loctite Super Glue Ultra Gel Concentration $6-$13 (4-6 oz) Ethyl Cyanoacrylate Unknown: (rubber-toughened formula, can’t be used on many plastics, sets in seconds, ideal for vertical applications)
Gorilla Glue Construction Adhesive (30 sec. drying time) $13 (9 oz) Polyurethane
Instabond Adhesive (30 sec. drying time) $17 (3.5 oz) Cyanoacrylate (requires separate activator spray)
Mr. Sticky’s Underwater Glue $15 (1.6 oz) Cyanoacrylate (2-part system w/dual syringe)

Cumulatively, it seemed like Flex Glue offered the greatest amount of adhesive in each tube, although it also came with the highest overall price compared to the close competitors above. As mentioned earlier, it also comes nearly $20 in combined processing and S&H charges, none of which are refundable; whereas many of the competing adhesives could be found locally, also potentially putting them in your hand faster.

When the adhesive meets the surface, though, what does all of this mean for your future when it comes to Flex Glue?

Our Final Thoughts About Flex Glue

When comes to choosing the right adhesive for the job, it’s all about the application. Specifically, the material, surface type, and surface area.

Cyanoacrylate (the most common active ingredient among Flex Glue’s close competition, although we couldn’t confirm this is what’s contained in the product at hand), is classified as a ‘speciality’ cement most often recommended when working with plastics, since it “basically bonds plastic at a molecular level, and the bond becomes seamless.”

On the other hand, polyurethane adhesives (another common ingredient in all-purpose options) sticks to most things, is waterproof, requires no mixing or measuring, and can typically set within 20 minutes—again, all of which match many of Flex Glue’s claims.

As consumer ourselves, we think the biggest difference between it and third-party options doesn’t necessarily come down to effectiveness, though. Instead, it’s perhaps more closely related to value. How so?

Whether you choose cyanoacrylate, polyurethane, or another active ingredient based on the surface type, area, and material you’re working with, purchasing locally could potentially:

  • Provide the assistance of a retail professional to help you choose the best adhesive for your needs
  • Put the product in your hands in a matter of minutes
  • Save on processing charges and S&H fees
  • Make the return process as easy as hopping in your car, and also save on returning S&H

Given these important factors, while we didn’t test any of these products ourselves, it might make the most financial sense to explore your local rubberized adhesive options before placing an online order, whether for Flex Glue or a third-party product.


Read 32 Flex Glue Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  28
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • Multimillion dollar project saved

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    400' of seawall sealed for a 75' deep tunnel project 15' off the wall. Amazing divers pressure washed the joints and used Flex Glue on steel wall.

    You guys need to see the videos and photos.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • DISSATISFIED

    • Smithfield, PA,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flex Glue is difficult to get out of the tube. It takes a strong hand. Does not come out like in the commercial. When I finally got the tube opened and some out, a pinhead drop it did not stay where I wanted it to be. Totally dissatisfied. Had trouble in past with Flex Tape. Will not use these products again. Wasted money, which in my opinion is a sin. Why is this Flex allowed to advertise such lies?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Flex Glue

    • Missouri,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flex Glue is a total scam. I put some on my daughter's boot sole, it lasted about half a day. I tried it one more time on my own and this time applied more thinking I didn't put enough on my daughter's boot and almost broke my ankle when it fell apart as soon as I started to walk. No way does Flex Glue work like in the commercial. No even close. Myself, I a very hands-on mechanically inclined person. I work with glues and welding and other bonding materials for a living. I don't recommend this product. Total scam. Yes, I did buy this product. It was purchased in Mountian Grove Missouri at the Walmart there. I believe the purchase price was $12.95. This was a month or so ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Review on Flex Glue

    • Marietta, GA,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read a whole bunch of negative reviews on Flex Glue. That's funny because it always worked for me IF I COULD GET IT OUT OF THE TUBE! The first squeeze was okay, but after that, it wasn't. In desperation, I finally cut off the end of the tube and scooped it into a little glass jar thinking that next time, I could use the glue. No such luck. I had to throw the glue and the jar away. That is the only problem I have had with the stuff - just squeezing it out of the tube. I probably won't be buying any more. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend if we could figure out how to squeeze the stuff and USE THE WHOLE FRIGGIN' TUBE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Wow

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This glue works properly, just as advertised when used correctly to glue two bricks together. It works just as shown on television. Wow, I love this stuff. I am buying a case. I will use this product for all my everyday brick gluing needs...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Flex Glue is junk, clear is milk-white

    • Woodbridge, VA,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flex Glue is junk, false advertising.

    I saw the advertising on TV, and it's just not close. Clear was milk-white, clamped 36 hours and fell apart when the clamps were removed. I bought "clear" when I read the label "white" small print under the tube size. The first few drops were clear but the rest white. This glue is just junk and a waste of my money. They should be taken to court for this product.

    Bottom line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Instant grab - no it doesn't!

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Because of this lousy product, now I have to buy a new headphone. I filled this little space/hole that was my only hope to glue the broken piece and now it's not possible to remove or clean it to put something else. I blew the chance to repair my headphone with this piece of crap Flex Glue. It's supposed to glue, solid glue anything and instantly but doesn't. I hold the two sides of headphone with Flex Glue where it's broken for two hours with a hairdryer blowing on it, and I got tired, but it didn't glue. I should have read this review before buying. I blew the only chance to repair a $250 headphone. What a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A disappointed buyer

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Flex Glue white. And it would not stick. So I dried off where I placed it and it looked as though it was going to work. But I put the water in, and it linked still. After waiting for it to dry for 2 days. It still didn't work. I wish I could get my money back, but it's OK because now I know that the product just doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Tried several times...failed every time.

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Nov 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wood to wood. Glass to wood. Small crack on cement patio floor.

    Flex Seal and Flex Tape were bought. The wood to wood project was on the tabletop to center leg. NOT the size as in the commercial but an end table I decided to make for a den. 36 inches in height with 14-inch circle top. I thought using the Flex Glue would be better so as to have a smooth top to stain and varnish. No wood putty to hide screws.

    Long story short, it did not work. Two hours later when I assumed I could stand, the top slid off. I got the wood screws out.

    The cement crack is 44 inches long and a hairline. I bought the Flex Seal because of a $180.00 quote to fix. Still tacky to touch after three days!

    After first the fail, I still tried the second product because I ASSUMED I did it wrong the first time. Nope.

    I would not buy again even with a 50% off sale. Let alone go into a boat made out of this stuff!

    In the long run, it's another "got your money," and you figure it out, a scam.

    Do not waste your time AND money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Texas,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Flex Glue and tried three times to glue a plastic device that my dresser drawer slides onto and my dresser drawer is still setting on the side of my dresser. To be honest, this is the second Flex product that I used and it didn't work. The Flex Seal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Terrible stuff.

    • Lexington, IL,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This stuff doesn't work. It ruined a jacket and a pair of jeans when it wouldn't hold and fell on me. Worthless! I tried several times to get it to hold with no luck. It is almost impossible to get out of the tube.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for Flex Glue!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review