What Is Flex Glue?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 29, 2018

Flex Glue claims to be a phenomenally strong, rubberized, thick adhesive capable of bonding, sealing, or repairing “virtually everything” in a variety of situations, both wet and dry.

In the commercial, spokesman Phil Swift demonstrates Flex Glue’s instant grab capability, bonding together multiple objects ranging from smaller bricks to large cinderblocks and then picking them up seconds later. We’re even shown the product holding together two pieces of wood that in turn are supporting a thousand-pound set of weights.

The manufacturer states that the adhesive is ideal for a wide variety of practical uses, from home and garden to automotive, marine, construction, plumbing, electrical, DIY projects, and general maintenance. It’s also mildew and UV resistant, paintable, solvent-free, VOC compliant, low-odor, and shrink and crack-resistant.

Based on what we learned from the website and commercial, it certainly appears that Flex Glue could be useful in a wide variety of situations.

But, how well can you expect it to work in reality? Are there any surfaces or situations that it isn’t a good fit for? Does it have any competition? These are just some of the key questions we’ll help you answer.

How Much Does Flex Glue Cost & Where Can You Buy It?

Flex Glue is available directly from the manufacturer (although other options in the “Flex” family—more soon—are sold at a variety of retail locations, so this may change), at the following prices:

  • 4 oz. Squeeze Tube (Clear) - $12.99
  • 6 oz. Squeeze Tube - $12.99
  • 9 oz. Cartridge Pro Formula (Clear) - $14.99
  • 10 oz. Cartridge Pro Formula (White) - $14.99

You will be assessed a shipping charge depending on the size of your order, but it's very minimal.

All orders are eligible for a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping, handling and processing fees. You will most likely not get any of your shipping charges refunded and will have to ship it back at your own expense. Customer support can be reached at 833-411-3539

Other buying options include Amazon, Walmart, Home Depot, Lowes, Walgreen, and more.

What Do We Know About Flex Glue’s Manufacturer?

Flex Glue is brought to us by Swift Response, LLC, who’s been in business since 2011, is based out of Weston. FL, and also manufactures other products in the lineup, including Flex Seal, Flex Tape, and Flex Shot.

The company held an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on five closed customer complaints, as of 1/29/18. No additional details were provided.

How Does Flex Glue Work Compare to Other Rubberized Adhesives?

We spoke with several customer service representatives looking for specifics about Flex Glue’s formula during our research, including active ingredients, although none were able to provide additional insight.

What about third-party sites? Searching online for terms frequently used on the Flex Glue website like “rubberized adhesive,” “thick paste adhesive,” and “waterproof glue” returned a handful of results that matched some of Flex Glue’s single claims (e.g., waterproof, thick, quick-bonding, multi-surface, etc.), although none that combined all aspects into a single product. And certainly, none that delivered the same instant results—especially the underwater component.

With this said, some of the closest options we encountered included:

Product Price/Quantity Active Ingredient(s)
Flex Glue $19.99 (6 oz), $24.99 (10 oz) Unknown
Loctite Super Glue Ultra Gel Concentration $6-$13 (4-6 oz) Ethyl Cyanoacrylate Unknown: (rubber-toughened formula, can’t be used on many plastics, sets in seconds, ideal for vertical applications)
Gorilla Glue Construction Adhesive (30 sec. drying time) $13 (9 oz) Polyurethane
Instabond Adhesive (30 sec. drying time) $17 (3.5 oz) Cyanoacrylate (requires separate activator spray)
Mr. Sticky’s Underwater Glue $15 (1.6 oz) Cyanoacrylate (2-part system w/dual syringe)

Cumulatively, it seemed like Flex Glue offered the greatest amount of adhesive in each tube, although it also came with the highest overall price compared to the close competitors above. As mentioned earlier, it also comes nearly $20 in combined processing and S&H charges, none of which are refundable; whereas many of the competing adhesives could be found locally, also potentially putting them in your hand faster.

Our Final Thoughts About Flex Glue

When comes to choosing the right adhesive for the job, it’s all about the application. Specifically, the material, surface type, and surface area.

Cyanoacrylate (the most common active ingredient among Flex Glue’s close competition, although we couldn’t confirm this is what’s contained in the product at hand), is classified as a ‘speciality’ cement most often recommended when working with plastics, since it “basically bonds plastic at a molecular level, and the bond becomes seamless.”

On the other hand, polyurethane adhesives (another common ingredient in all-purpose options) sticks to most things, is waterproof, requires no mixing or measuring, and can typically set within 20 minutes—again, all of which match many of Flex Glue’s claims.

The biggest difference between it and third-party options doesn’t necessarily come down to effectiveness, though. Instead, it’s perhaps more closely related to value. How so?

Whether you choose cyanoacrylate, polyurethane, or another active ingredient based on the surface type, area, and material you’re working with, purchasing locally could potentially:

  • Provide the assistance of a retail professional to help you choose the best adhesive for your needs
  • Put the product in your hands in a matter of minutes
  • Save on processing charges and S&H fees
  • Make the return process as easy as hopping in your car, and also save on returning S&H

Customer Reviews

Start your review of Flex Glue:
  • 39 Customer Reviews
  • 10% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 10% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 87%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Cannot get it out of the tube after one use

    • By Richard F.,
    • Flanders, NJ,
    • Jun 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Bought 2 tubes - 1 clear, 1 dark. Used each once. On my second try for each, the glue would not come out of the tube. Called the company. Advised to buy another tube. Does the same. Called again and advised person on prior call was not trained. Advised to leave some glue at the top when done, remove that next time and the glue will come out. The glue is locked up and will not come out after the first use. Kept in a safe area when not in use. Trying to reach the company.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Glue worked the first time when I could get it out of the tube
    • Asked me to buy another tube different style
    • After one use with clear and dark tubes you cannot get the material out of the tube

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Overrated paste

    • By Doug S.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • May 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The strength of Flex Glue and its ability to perform as the commercial ad states is 100% inaccurate and misleading. In fact, Elmers Glue or epoxy will give greater results. The glue requires hours to harden and resembles rejected white paste. Waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Can't seal a joint between 2 pipes

    • By Doug G.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Apr 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a tube of white Flex Glue to seal the threads at a joint connecting my water softener. After numerous attempts. First putting more layers on, then scraping it clean and starting over the glue could not seal a small drip. Your ad shows sealing underwater or stopping a leak, but could not seal a small drip where 2 pipes came together.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Seal is useless. Flex Seal White and Flex Seal Glue have no ingredients on their containers.

    Overall Experience:

    Who is allowed to get away with NOT putting the chemicals on any of their containers today? How come the government allows this to go on sale IN THE USA? I bought mine at Fred Meyer. Is Fred Meyer stupid to sell a chemical compound, both the glue and the seal without telling the public what is in it? I sprayed inside a double garage with Flex Seal White and felt sick for a few hours. What is the propellant? This useless product should be banned. Flex Seal White is still tacky after 48 hours. It does not stick to PVC. IT IS USELESS!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy

    • By Norman H.,
    • Phil Campbell, AL,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought Flex Glue and didn't work at all. It never cured and wouldn't hold 10 lbs. No better than culk. Used liquid nails. Wish I had my $20 back. This is the biggest rip off I have seen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Glue stinks

    • By Edward V.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried to glue a plastic switch twice and even clamped for three hours and it still fell apart. Will try something else. Don't think I will be buying any other Flex Glue products in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good stuff

    • By Milton L.,
    • Indiana,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have skylights on my home, I bought it this way, and for 19 years I fought them leaking until I sealed with Flex Glue. That solved a 19-year problem. GREAT STULL, saved me thousands of dollars. I would recommend this product to anyone. THANK YOU.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Multimillion dollar project saved

    • By Frank F.,
    • Illinois,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    400' of seawall sealed for a 75' deep tunnel project 15' off the wall. Amazing divers pressure washed the joints and used Flex Glue on steel wall.

    You guys need to see the videos and photos.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • DISSATISFIED

    • By Lois T.,
    • Smithfield, PA,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Flex Glue is difficult to get out of the tube. It takes a strong hand. Does not come out like in the commercial. When I finally got the tube opened and some out, a pinhead drop it did not stay where I wanted it to be. Totally dissatisfied. Had trouble in past with Flex Tape. Will not use these products again. Wasted money, which in my opinion is a sin. Why is this Flex allowed to advertise such lies?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Glue

    • By Daniel K.,
    • Missouri,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Flex Glue is a total scam. I put some on my daughter's boot sole, it lasted about half a day. I tried it one more time on my own and this time applied more thinking I didn't put enough on my daughter's boot and almost broke my ankle when it fell apart as soon as I started to walk. No way does Flex Glue work like in the commercial. No even close. Myself, I a very hands-on mechanically inclined person. I work with glues and welding and other bonding materials for a living. I don't recommend this product. Total scam. Yes, I did buy this product. It was purchased in Mountian Grove Missouri at the Walmart there. I believe the purchase price was $12.95. This was a month or so ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Review on Flex Glue

    • By Kae K.,
    • Marietta, GA,
    • Sep 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I read a whole bunch of negative reviews on Flex Glue. That's funny because it always worked for me IF I COULD GET IT OUT OF THE TUBE! The first squeeze was okay, but after that, it wasn't. In desperation, I finally cut off the end of the tube and scooped it into a little glass jar thinking that next time, I could use the glue. No such luck. I had to throw the glue and the jar away. That is the only problem I have had with the stuff - just squeezing it out of the tube. I probably won't be buying any more. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend if we could figure out how to squeeze the stuff and USE THE WHOLE FRIGGIN' TUBE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 39

Write a Review for Flex Glue!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Flex Glue