About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage. The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point. The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes. Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time. After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version. While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications is order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, & Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs. To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expectations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 63 Flex Seal Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  50
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 63
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • Bay Saint Louis, MS,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used both the Flex Seal tape and liquid spray on my RV and it leaked and caused $20,000 worth of damage and I put a complaint against the company and they denied it after I sent both pictures and estimate for the damage. I have informed all family friends and co workers to spread the word and not buy as they don't stand behind their product. They were willing to pay me for the product but give no money towards the damage. DO NOT BUY as it doesn't work and we followed the directions to the letter. Poor customer service and false advertisement! BEWARE of this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Absolute JUNK

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a small wall fountain made of some sort of resin material. It developed a small hairline crack, so I bought a can of Flex Seal. I followed directions very carefully and applied two coats of Flex Seal to the entire inside of the reservoir. After waiting the recommended 48 hours, I was excited to fill the reservoir with water to see if the Flex Seal was going to hold. The reservoir only holds about a quart of water, so not a lot of water pressure. The Flex Seal seemed to have no effect whatsoever. It still leaked at about the same rate as it was leaking to begin with. This product is nothing but junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Omg, this product is the best

    • Connecticut,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Omg, this product is the best for making a fool of customers! I work for a maintenance company. We bought boxes upon boxes of this stuff to have as back up, but mainly for little tiny drips we would get in a small area. Didn't work. Then we said ok, maybe not meant for what it said so we tried to use for a small hole we drilled. Man, it never even dried over it, it just leaked through the tiny hole before it dried. My company threw all 200 cans away. I took them and tried to give another chance and again didn't work. So I sold 195 of them for $1.06 each can to a little corner store in my area. Every can he sold was an angry customer, lol. I hate these products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Too broke for Customer Service

    • Fraser, MI,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So the second I made an error and hit submit I tried to call, email, no response. After receiving the two products (tape and caulking), I called customer service and the person "Katey" was VERY rude. I could tell right away she did not care about my issue of ordering the tape instead of the caulking. I wanted to return, or maybe exchange for a second caulking since the amount is such a STINGY, small amount I may not be able to caulk much with 1 tube, but miss "Katey" was SO rude, I said forget the error. Forget there was NO RESPONSE to try to let the so-called "business" know and just go on and make a review to let anyone know this place only caters to collecting money, so make sure you don’t make a mistake of needing any customer service. ONE very rude customer service rep. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal is a JOKE!

    • Rockwood, IL,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flex Seal is a JOKE...they shouldn't even be allowed to use the word "seal" in the name! Had two cans of the clear and one black none of which did ANYTHING to seal a few small leaks that didn't amount to much to fix. Should have known it was a SCAM when I saw the fake commercial with cutting the boat in half! DO NOT BUY FLEX SEAL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Failed

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Used three cans of product on the roof leak and still it dries up, cracks, and leaks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    -10 stars

    • Payson, AZ,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've purchased all of the Flex Seal products. Silicone tape pint can of sealant. It's all garbage. The Silicone in the bathroom doesnt last long. The tape weather's like all duct tape products. The pint can doesn't seep into cracks...my roof and walls are ruined because I trusted the product and used as directed.

    This company should be fined and ashamed for false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Bowling Green, KY,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Flex Seal to seal a leak in a horizontal aluminum rain gutter seam. I made sure the surface was clean and dry. Initially, I sprayed it three separate times. The seam continued to leak, even after spraying it on four more times. It never did seal the leak, I finally used just black tar roof patch, and that was over two years ago, it still has not leaked. I think Flex Seal products are overpriced worthless products, don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I have tried all for building my tiny home

    • Northfield, MN,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So what I have learned is this stuff should come with directions.

    For the spray to work, you have to keep going over it until you get layers! It’s not the best stuff now, the caulking works pretty good for making a rubber seem, but does not like to adhere to some stuff. But it is perfect to make custom seals if they will be screwed down, etc. Now what I did was cut the back of an RV off and extended it and the add-on is wood to aluminum. What I used was the caulking first then I used the tape, the wide stuff, and I went from the sides to the top, and that tape is some strong stuff. Now the liquid stuff does not pour this stuff on, paint it on with a roller, etc. I used it over wood, like some indoor paneling temporarily outside, and painted this paneling with the liquid Flex Seal.. I did two coats of it and man, it gave it a nice rubber texture. When it rained it looked like Rain-X on a window, water was repelling.

    The next set of uses are for motor mounts I get. I’m going to use Flex Seal to test them out compared to using 3m window weld.

    But yes, I would not use this product to bond anything, and I think it’s good 50% of the time, but it’s expensive for really big jobs. This is for small random stuff, but not like they advertise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal

    • Kentucky,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Flex Seal on boots. I applied it to the bottom and at least two inches around the sole. I allowed it to dry over a day. It left the boots feeling sticky and still leaked. I tried it on other shoes with the same result.

    My daughter used it to repair chairs, let it dry for a couple of days, but it left them sticky and the black came off on the clothes.

    Totally disappointed in this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried Flex Seal clear spray twice without ANY sealing.

    1. I used it on a little concrete birdbath. I used 3 coats, and it never worked. So I thought that it had to do with concrete.

    2. The rain came through little cracks through the brick in my loft. I saw it used on TV for that exact thing...so I thought great, let me try it. NOTHING. Not even on a sliver in the brick. It just came right through.

    It absolutely DOES NOT work and is a waste of money. I can't believe their commercials!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 63

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review