About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage. The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point. The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes. Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time. After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version. While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications is order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, & Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs. To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expecations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Consumer Reviews for Flex Seal

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It doesn't work on anything

    I tried this product on three different occasions; one on plastic, two on rubber, and three on porcelain. It was bull on all three. Somebody needs to stop Phil Swift from selling a swift one. Very unsatisfied.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Very bad

    I NEVER write a review, however, I must say, what a total RIPOFF! This is a TOTAL waste of money.

    I purchased and tried it and it WOULD NOT even hold up a little 1-ounce piece for a model I was working on, so I finally went to a hot glue gun.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal is a joke

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just bought the Flex Tape to see if it would stop a couple of pinhole leaks. Yeah right, what a joke and waste of my time and money. It does not work. The water pushes out of the sides as it builds up. I'm very disappointed. And they use this in the commercial where they cut a boat in half then put it back with Flex Tape. Yeah right, how misleading to the consumer. I would love for Mr. Flex Seal to get hold of me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal Tape and Flex Seal Silicone.

    I had an emergency with a broken pipe so I ran to Walmart and got both. I ran back home and both products failed. I have never been so disappointed in a product. Between the both, I spent $28.00. The tape did not stick. Very sad to say I hate this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't stick to or over DRYLOK waterproofing

    It doesn't stick to or over DRYLOK waterproofing on a basement wall. Five feet for $13.00 plus tax and not sticking very well was disappointing. It may work for another application, but I wouldn't recommend using it over DRYLOK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Nevada,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought both the Flex Seal tape and the Flex Seal liquid to repair a rubber hose. Neither product worked at all. Water came right through both repairs. I would never recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great product, can it be painted?

    I have used the liquid to seal all the seams in my vintage aluminum boat, and it has worked wonderfully. However, I need to paint over it, and I can't seem to get a paint to stick. I have used a spray paint primer and latex based no slip paint. Neither has worked, it just peels off.

    Any ideas on what type of paint I can use?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed

    • Clinton, IA,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, a can of Flex Seal doesn't go very far at all. You really have to saturate the repaired area, and it will take 2-3 coats, allowing a 24-hour drying time between coats.

    It has a very, very heavy chemical fume smell and should NEVER be used indoors for any reason. The commercials are EXTREMELY exaggerated. I would never purchase another can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Not worth your time

    I followed the directions exactly, and it did not work. I tried several different times and on different materials, and it would not make a water tight seal. Each and every time it would bubble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (9)
    View all 9 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 4, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Sean,

      We're terribly sorry to hear that Flex Tape did not meet your intended expectations! Please get in touch with us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com We would like to know more about what happened in your situation? We are always trying to better our customer's experience.

      A friendly suggestion, Flex Tape's bond increases with time and pressure. In some cases may need 24 hours to reach maximum adhesion. All air bubbles must be smoothed out as well.

      We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal fan! Please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Samantha

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)

    • Sep 2, 2017

      Lili Martineau

      This is my fourth time addressing this problem with you people. We used four cans of flex seal to fill the expansion cracks in our patio. The product seems to be holding up but we want to paint over it to match the patio color. I have asked what to use to prime the areas first, as the concrete deck over paint separates from the Flex Seal.

      You always answer the same thing "use a good quality oil based primer." We have tried FOUR of these good quality primers from Sherwin-Williams, Ace Hardware, True Value and Home Depot! We are beside ourselves.

      We need a solution now. I have called your customer service department only to be answered by someone I could hardly understand. What gives? Our next move is to call a Fox 9 investigating reporter. We want to paint over Flex Seal! Not a tough question! We need a solution now!

    • Nov 13, 2017

      Brandon Murphy

      I enjoy the product. I've only used it for a short time but I am extremely satisfied with it.

    • Nov 16, 2017

      Travis Capps

      Not worth a penny! It would not repair the crack in the bathtub. Scam!

    • Jan 10, 2018

      Steve

      I had a PVC pipe that connects to my sprinkler system, it cracked. It was a 2-inch crack in the middle of the pipe. This is a problem almost yearly. I decided I would use Flex Seal tape and Flex Seal spray. I followed the instructions to the letter. After waiting 24 hours, I attempted to blow out my pipes. In order to ensure that the repair I did was intact, I only loaded the pipe with 20 pounds of air pressure. That's less than a garden hose. The repair did not hold 20 lb of pressure. I decided I would add more tape and more spray. I did the spray not once but twice and 48 hours later I tested the pipe again, only to find that it still could not hold 20 pounds of pressure.

      After spending close to $30 on this product I decided to remove the pipe and just replace it with PVC. It's much cheaper and it works. I have no idea how that guy doesn't sink in the boat. I contacted the manufacturer but nothing ever happened. The last email I received from them said they were going to send this to management for further review. At this point, I assume management is a trash can. I would not recommend anybody use this product for any reason in any type of emergency situation. Simply do it the correct way, and you won't be frustrated and it will be done correctly.

    • Mar 19, 2018

      Bill

      I used the Flex Seal spray and it is junk. The sun deteriorates it rapidly, whereupon it cracks and flakes off. The worst thing is that it gave me a false sense of security, thinking my roof was repaired and sealed. This allowed the moisture to continue to wreak havoc on my sheathing. I would NEVER recommend this product!

    • Apr 11, 2018

      Billy hallman

      I have a large can of Flex Seal and does not work at all. I don't know if it is just this bottle but I don't have another bottle to compare it to. Please replace it.

    • May 24, 2018

      janet t.

      This is definitely not a product that works, oh and now try to get your money back. I have been in constant back and forth with the company, take pictures of a can, get the can number etc. I also photographed price sticker on the can. Now I am told that they will replace it so I can finish my project. Are you kidding me? Why would I want more of that junk that does not work? That's not worth my time. I sure would not want to go on that boat they advertise what they have repaired. I have tried on three different occasions to repair a leak, and it never works. I followed directions to the letter and it still does not work.

      Save your money. Not a reputable company.

    • May 25, 2018

      Steve

      I really can't believe that this company keeps stating that they want to make you a foot ceiling fan. At this point, I'm not sure if they're trying to say that they can make an actual fan out of this junk, or if they want to win you over. The stuff doesn't work, no matter what direction's you follow. In my earlier review, I said that I tried to use it on PVC piping. It couldn't even withstand 20 pounds of pressure. I wrote to the company and they never did anything about it.

      The only reason they never did anything about it is that they knew I was right, and it did not want to refund my money. When someone has such a poor experience with such a company that spews information that can't possibly be true, there's no way on this planet they can make me a Flex Seal fan.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Absolute junk

    • New Mexico,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sprayed on product bubbled upon application after carefully following directions. I cleaned the piece of plastic I was trying to get Flex Seal to adhere to with soap and water, then with isopropyl alcohol. The product bubbled up and just by looking I can tell this will not stop penetration of water. I would not recommend this product. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hi TS,

      We're terribly sorry to hear that Flex Seal did not meet your intended recommendations! Please get in touch with us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com

      I would like to offer a few friendly suggestions so that the next time you use Flex Seal, you have the best possible outcome:

      - Shake well: Spray 8” to 12” from the surface using an even sweeping motion.

      - Apply several even coats until ALL cracks and holes have been filled.

      - Allow 24 to 48 hours to dry before applying another coat. Fully cures in 48 hours.

      Please remember, dry time depends on the temperature, humidity, and thickness of the coating. Flex Seal will usually dry to the touch within 2 to 3 hours and in 24 hours fully cure. Flex Seal® gets stronger over time.

      We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal Fan! Please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Eric

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Does not seal

    • Ray City, Georgia,
    • Jun 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have a metal roof, and where the roof meets the porch roof there was a crack in the seam, so we used three gallons to seal the crack. We put the sealant six inches above and six inches below the crack, and three coats approximately 1/4 of an inch thick. After three weeks, the leak was worse than it was originally. We hired a roofer to look at our house and the ad. He pulled the Flex Seal away there was water under it where it had absorbed through it. So how can it be a SEAL when water soaks through and when the water doesn't actually stand in puddles in the spots? Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Eric Olsen, E-Commerce Manager

      Hello Terry,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      As a helpful suggestion, we always recommend Flex Seal Liquid to be applied on a clean, dry surface, free of grease and oil at least 24 hours prior to a heavy rain, hail or snowfall. Allow Flex Seal Liquid to dry 24 to 48 hours and then apply additional coats as needed. For better adhesion, etch the surface with sand paper or steel wool.

      Making our customers happy is our top priority! Please contact us directly at [email protected] We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal Liquid fan!

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal Liquid)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review