About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage. The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point. The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes. Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time. After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version. While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications is order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, & Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs. To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expecations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

57 Consumer Reviews for Flex Seal

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 57
Sort reviews by:

  • Does not work

    • Bowling Green, KY,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Flex Seal to seal a leak in a horizontal aluminum rain gutter seam. I made sure the surface was clean and dry. Initially, I sprayed it three separate times. The seam continued to leak, even after spraying it on four more times. It never did seal the leak, I finally used just black tar roof patch, and that was over two years ago, it still has not leaked. I think Flex Seal products are overpriced worthless products, don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I have tried all for building my tiny home

    • Northfield, MN,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So what I have learned is this stuff should come with directions.

    For the spray to work, you have to keep going over it until you get layers! It’s not the best stuff now, the caulking works pretty good for making a rubber seem, but does not like to adhere to some stuff. But it is perfect to make custom seals if they will be screwed down, etc. Now what I did was cut the back of an RV off and extended it and the add-on is wood to aluminum. What I used was the caulking first then I used the tape, the wide stuff, and I went from the sides to the top, and that tape is some strong stuff. Now the liquid stuff does not pour this stuff on, paint it on with a roller, etc. I used it over wood, like some indoor paneling temporarily outside, and painted this paneling with the liquid Flex Seal.. I did two coats of it and man, it gave it a nice rubber texture. When it rained it looked like Rain-X on a window, water was repelling.

    The next set of uses are for motor mounts I get. I’m going to use Flex Seal to test them out compared to using 3m window weld.

    But yes, I would not use this product to bond anything, and I think it’s good 50% of the time, but it’s expensive for really big jobs. This is for small random stuff, but not like they advertise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal

    • Kentucky,
    • Nov 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Flex Seal on boots. I applied it to the bottom and at least two inches around the sole. I allowed it to dry over a day. It left the boots feeling sticky and still leaked. I tried it on other shoes with the same result.

    My daughter used it to repair chairs, let it dry for a couple of days, but it left them sticky and the black came off on the clothes.

    Totally disappointed in this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried Flex Seal clear spray twice without ANY sealing.

    1. I used it on a little concrete birdbath. I used 3 coats, and it never worked. So I thought that it had to do with concrete.

    2. The rain came through little cracks through the brick in my loft. I saw it used on TV for that exact thing...so I thought great, let me try it. NOTHING. Not even on a sliver in the brick. It just came right through.

    It absolutely DOES NOT work and is a waste of money. I can't believe their commercials!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Leaky product

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only thing this flexes is your wallet. I first used the Flex Seal spray on a water pan. It lasted a few weeks and water went right through it. I then tried the liquid version, which gave the same results. By its sheer nature, nearly everything advertised on TV is pure junk and way overpriced. This product was no exception. You pay a premium for this stuff to cover the TV ads, but as a waterproof product, it doesn't hold water or just about anything else. First, google any TV product for complaints before buying it. The rule is anything over $20 can be investigated for fraud, so be wary of all those just under $20 items and especially two-for-one offers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Venice, FL,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Previous owners had used this product to "seal" a leaking roof air vent, but the problem is, it is all cracking with the heat generated around the aluminum vent and of course the asphalt tiles. I looked along a seam between the Florida room and pool cage, and again this product was cracking and peeling. Sorry, I would not use this product in this environment as it appears it is not suitable in strong, direct, constant sunlight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to work with

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this because my pool safety cover was wearing thin on one side and it was letting light through, which allows algae to grow. I figured if it could seal a screen floor of a boat, it will coat the mesh easily. Well, first of all, it is impossible to spread. It's so thick. A paintbrush isn't stiff enough to apply this - it's like tar! I had to brush over the same area multiple times with immense pressure to coat the vinyl mesh, so much so that the paintbrush snapped in half. The blue tape I tried to use to do a neat job was useless and I ended up getting this black tar/paint all over everything, especially me. It didn't coat the fabric either. You can still see through it. In addition, it left a huge black rubber mark on my lawn underneath.

    The 32 oz can barely cover the area which was less than the coverage advertised. For $30 it was a waste of money, and I would have been better off buying a gallon of epoxy paint. It would have been cheaper, worked better and much easier to work with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    What liars

    • Florida,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used two cans to paint over a 4ft.x 8 inch piece of my rubber dingy to stop a slow leak. No good, I wound up getting some rubber glue and a patch. It worked better and it was much cheaper. Their commercials should be illegal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Much better than the ads

    • Blakeslee, PA,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a quart of the Flex Seal last summer to fix a leak on the garage lower wall. The prior owner apparently had two idiots build the garage, and they did not grade the concrete away from the wall, so every time it rained hard, the water came in several places. We had the wood repaired along with the siding and lower flashing Several contractors looked at it, and everyone said there was no solution except silicone. Well, I tried silicone, and it never held to the concrete well. I used the quart last summer and it seemed good. After a full summer and a bad winter it was great. The Flex Seal was bonded to the concrete. I bought a gallon this summer and put a three-inch wide layer around and it was great. I give it a 9 out of 10. TV ad items are crap but this item I would give ten stars if I could. Amazed with the result.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Liquid crap in a can

    • Loveland, CO,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Simple repair on a drain pipe (not pressurized) still leaks after two spray cans of this crap. It is not as advertised. There are no negative rating for this rip-off product. It is liquid crap in a spray can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    It doesn't work on boat fenders

    • Gales Ferry, CT,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't bother purchasing this product if you are trying to seal a boat fender puncture. On the surface, you would think this product would be ideal for that purpose, but that was not my experience. After locating the pencil-head size puncture to my boat fender, I applied a 2" x 2" piece of Flex Seal (more than adequate for the puncture size) and proceeded to inflate the fender. It inflated beautifully, but (almost immediately) air began to escape from the repaired area. The advertising hype would lead you to believe that this product seals anything and everything. False.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 57

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review