About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage.

The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure.

As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point.

The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes.

Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time.

After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version.

While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications in order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, and Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling.

Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs.

To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expectations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 67 Flex Seal Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  53
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 67
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SHAM

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    People who buy this stuff are nuts. I did and I'm sorry I wasted good money on a very substandard product. Phil Swift sure likes to sell junk. I wonder what Jesus thinks about the lies He hears coming from us. I like to keep my friends, therefore, I would never recommend these products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Fixed my leak

    • South Louisiana,
    • Aug 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Flex Seal tape is hard to work with, and the liquid does not spread evenly without a little extra work. All in all, these products did their job and held up. I had a leak in my roof, that came in the attic than dropped down onto my white ceiling tile. The liquid was used both on the roof and in the attic, the tape on the ceiling tile. Worked great, held up until it was repaired. Yes, I would purchase again and do recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Seriously?

    • Kentucky,
    • Aug 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After following the instructions on both the tape and spray and waiting the time allotted for it to cure...WOW. What a huge disappointment. I spent good money on the purchase only to be hoodwinked. Buyer beware. If it looks good on a commercial, well, you can bet it's not good for the consumer...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No good, do not buy

    • Conway, SC,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My septic system pipe running out my metal roof started leaking. I guess the rub bearish boot around pipe gave up on keeping water out. I used 3 cans of Flex Seal spray on it. Letting it dry each little bit I sprayed before another coat. Still leaked. Never will I buy another can of Flex Seal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • Bay Saint Louis, MS,
    • Jun 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used both the Flex Seal tape and liquid spray on my RV and it leaked and caused $20,000 worth of damage and I put a complaint against the company and they denied it after I sent both pictures and estimate for the damage. I have informed all family friends and co workers to spread the word and not buy as they don't stand behind their product. They were willing to pay me for the product but give no money towards the damage. DO NOT BUY as it doesn't work and we followed the directions to the letter. Poor customer service and false advertisement! BEWARE of this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Absolute JUNK

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a small wall fountain made of some sort of resin material. It developed a small hairline crack, so I bought a can of Flex Seal. I followed directions very carefully and applied two coats of Flex Seal to the entire inside of the reservoir. After waiting the recommended 48 hours, I was excited to fill the reservoir with water to see if the Flex Seal was going to hold. The reservoir only holds about a quart of water, so not a lot of water pressure. The Flex Seal seemed to have no effect whatsoever. It still leaked at about the same rate as it was leaking to begin with. This product is nothing but junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Omg, this product is the best

    • Connecticut,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Omg, this product is the best for making a fool of customers! I work for a maintenance company. We bought boxes upon boxes of this stuff to have as back up, but mainly for little tiny drips we would get in a small area. Didn't work. Then we said ok, maybe not meant for what it said so we tried to use for a small hole we drilled. Man, it never even dried over it, it just leaked through the tiny hole before it dried. My company threw all 200 cans away. I took them and tried to give another chance and again didn't work. So I sold 195 of them for $1.06 each can to a little corner store in my area. Every can he sold was an angry customer, lol. I hate these products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Too broke for Customer Service

    • Fraser, MI,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So the second I made an error and hit submit I tried to call, email, no response. After receiving the two products (tape and caulking), I called customer service and the person "Katey" was VERY rude. I could tell right away she did not care about my issue of ordering the tape instead of the caulking. I wanted to return, or maybe exchange for a second caulking since the amount is such a STINGY, small amount I may not be able to caulk much with 1 tube, but miss "Katey" was SO rude, I said forget the error. Forget there was NO RESPONSE to try to let the so-called "business" know and just go on and make a review to let anyone know this place only caters to collecting money, so make sure you don’t make a mistake of needing any customer service. ONE very rude customer service rep. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal is a JOKE!

    • Rockwood, IL,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Flex Seal is a JOKE...they shouldn't even be allowed to use the word "seal" in the name! Had two cans of the clear and one black none of which did ANYTHING to seal a few small leaks that didn't amount to much to fix. Should have known it was a SCAM when I saw the fake commercial with cutting the boat in half! DO NOT BUY FLEX SEAL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Failed

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Used three cans of product on the roof leak and still it dries up, cracks, and leaks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    -10 stars

    • Payson, AZ,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've purchased all of the Flex Seal products. Silicone tape pint can of sealant. It's all garbage. The Silicone in the bathroom doesnt last long. The tape weather's like all duct tape products. The pint can doesn't seep into cracks...my roof and walls are ruined because I trusted the product and used as directed.

    This company should be fined and ashamed for false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 67

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review