About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage. The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

See Also: Beware: Not Following These 6 Tips Could Cost You Money on Your Next “As Seen on TV” Purchase

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure. As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point. The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes. Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time. After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version. While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications is order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, & Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling. Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs. To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expecations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Consumer Reviews for Flex Seal

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Impossible to work with

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this because my pool safety cover was wearing thin on one side and it was letting light through, which allows algae to grow. I figured if it could seal a screen floor of a boat, it will coat the mesh easily. Well, first of all, it is impossible to spread. It's so thick. A paintbrush isn't stiff enough to apply this - it's like tar! I had to brush over the same area multiple times with immense pressure to coat the vinyl mesh, so much so that the paintbrush snapped in half. The blue tape I tried to use to do a neat job was useless and I ended up getting this black tar/paint all over everything, especially me. It didn't coat the fabric either. You can still see through it. In addition, it left a huge black rubber mark on my lawn underneath.

    The 32 oz can barely cover the area which was less than the coverage advertised. For $30 it was a waste of money, and I would have been better off buying a gallon of epoxy paint. It would have been cheaper, worked better and much easier to work with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    What liars

    • Florida,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used two cans to paint over a 4ft.x 8 inch piece of my rubber dingy to stop a slow leak. No good, I wound up getting some rubber glue and a patch. It worked better and it was much cheaper. Their commercials should be illegal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Much better than the ads

    • Blakeslee, PA,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a quart of the Flex Seal last summer to fix a leak on the garage lower wall. The prior owner apparently had two idiots build the garage, and they did not grade the concrete away from the wall, so every time it rained hard, the water came in several places. We had the wood repaired along with the siding and lower flashing Several contractors looked at it, and everyone said there was no solution except silicone. Well, I tried silicone, and it never held to the concrete well. I used the quart last summer and it seemed good. After a full summer and a bad winter it was great. The Flex Seal was bonded to the concrete. I bought a gallon this summer and put a three-inch wide layer around and it was great. I give it a 9 out of 10. TV ad items are crap but this item I would give ten stars if I could. Amazed with the result.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Liquid crap in a can

    • Loveland, CO,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Simple repair on a drain pipe (not pressurized) still leaks after two spray cans of this crap. It is not as advertised. There are no negative rating for this rip-off product. It is liquid crap in a spray can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    It doesn't work on boat fenders

    • Gales Ferry, CT,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't bother purchasing this product if you are trying to seal a boat fender puncture. On the surface, you would think this product would be ideal for that purpose, but that was not my experience. After locating the pencil-head size puncture to my boat fender, I applied a 2" x 2" piece of Flex Seal (more than adequate for the puncture size) and proceeded to inflate the fender. It inflated beautifully, but (almost immediately) air began to escape from the repaired area. The advertising hype would lead you to believe that this product seals anything and everything. False.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal garage

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First of all, I wish I would’ve looked at other reviews before I purchase this product. I had a job where I had to seal 28 seems inside the gutters, I allied two generous coats of this product and thought it was completely sealed but to my surprise, they all leaked and it never sealed anything. This product is total garbage, don’t waste your money, go elsewhere!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Super stuff

    • Fort Mohave, AZ,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use this all the time. I sent them the idea I had used it for - I used this on my front door, boy did it work. Only it worked too good. I tried to put back up our welcome sign and could not, it was that strong of stuff. Super great stuff, I use it 20 out of 24 times on many things and reasons.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Flex tape and spray

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My cousin's swimming pool had leaks, so they first tried the spray where it was leaking it didn't stick and/or stay, it made it worse. Then we wasted more money buying the waterproof Flex Tape and put some on from the inside of the pool and outside of it and it just came apart from the inside, and on the outside, it just ripped. So it's not waterproof and doesn't work well like it should be!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A fix for my buddy boat

    • Arkansas,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My buddy boat had a couple cracked places where the top is molded to the bottom. I resealed the top to the bottom with 90 3m glue. It worked very well then after that repair, I get two cans of Black Flexsteel in the spray can, which repaired the cracked places but then I came back 24 hours later and the Flexsteel rubber had holes everywhere. I used the second can to repair the first can holes and waited 12 hours. I went back and the rubber sealant had holes again everywhere that I had repaired.

    This is a real smooth hard plastic boat, should have been easy to seal the two to four-inch crack. Now I think they got me again; I'm looking at the holes to repair still, 30 dollars in the hole, and they're running to the bank filling up their accounts with our hard earned dollars. I hope that Mr. Phill sinks his boat that has the Flex Seal bottom, then tries to swim out with his Flexsteel life jacket. The only thing this product is good for. They can sit back and get a good laugh out of all the suckers that got and a taste of bitterness from a false and deceiving product. I would never buy any of their products again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Junk, junk, junk

    • Angier, NC,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wasted lots of money believing this liar Phil Swift. Within no time at all, this so-called miracle product simply dried and flaked off. This stuff is junk and a rip-off. Go get you some silicone caulking and spread it thin, that will last forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst ever!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Flex Seal Tape to try and seal the leak on the vinyl slide; it's not worth the effort of even trying to put it on. I still didn't learn my lesson and tried Flex Seal Spray on something, and all I got was a sticky mess! I would never recommend this product to anyone and agree with another TV review ad. It's BS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review