About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage.

The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure.

As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point.

The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes.

Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time.

After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version.

While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications in order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, and Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling.

Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs.

To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expectations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Read 72 Flex Seal Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 72
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Works Great

    • Lancaster, CA,
    • Dec 14, 2014

    Used it for a leak on a RV roof, sealed it better then anything I used in the past. No more leak. Just one minor thing it does not cover much, I did 2 coats on a seam the width of 8 ft and around a 18 in square vent then ran out. But it did the job.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Gary,

      We are beyond ecstatic to hear that Flex Seal worked out great for you! We completely stand behind our products 100% and are happy you are taking time out of your schedule to write us this great review!

      Depending on the number of coats and thickness, one Jumbo 14 oz. can cover up to 12 ft. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    It worked great sealing a leaking crack in a toilet tank.

    • Fairbanks, Alaska,
    • Oct 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    A little more than two years ago, a three inch hairline crack developed around one of the mounting bolt holes in my ceramic toilet tank. A replacement tank would have cost over $100 (US). After removing, thoroughly cleaning the inside, and drying the tank, I applied three light coats of Flex Seal to the interior, allowing for the recommended amount of time between coats. I let the tank dry for a full day before reattaching it to the toilet base and filling it with water. Not a single drop of water has leaked since, and the Flex Seal inside the tank is still completely intact. Since then, I have used this product on a number of waterproofing projects (indoor and out) up here in interior Alaska and I believe it has performed better than advertised, given the temperature extremes experienced where I live.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Michael,

      We are beyond ecstatic to hear that Flex Seal worked out great for you! We completely stand behind our products 100% and are happy you are taking time out of your schedule to write us this great review!

      If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 6 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Good stuff for the right job.

    • Dallas, Texas,
    • Jul 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased the spray can and the pint paint can. Both worked just fine for the jobs I had.

    Shingles on the roof torn off by tree limbs. After removing the tree limbs, I sprayed the canned Flex Seal on the shingle below the broken one and pressed the broken shingle onto the sealant. Then I sprayed the entire area. Worked great.

    My dogs located some tools with plastic and wooden handles chewing them into splinters. After smoothing out the harsh places, I dipped the handles into the can of Flex Seal. Awesome finish and a non-slip grip.

    We had a shower caddie that was rusting and the plastic coating coming off. I cleaned the caddie making sure all the old soap was washed off. After letting it dry completely, I brushed on the Flex Seal from the can. The spray would have been better but I had loaned it to a friend to fix his motorcycle saddle bags. After 3 coats, the caddie is going into my shop to hold tools and other small items.

    My buddy with the motorcycle saddle bag problem used the spray can to touch up an area on the bottom outside where the bag had some "skidding" damage. The textured area where it was repaired accents the glossy paint of the bag. He was so happy he is going to do the entire bottom of both bags.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Gunnar,

      We are super excited to hear that Flex Seal products worked out great for you! We completely stand behind our products 100% and are happy you are taking time out of your schedule to write us an awesome review!

      If you have any questions, please fell free to contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 2 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Super stuff

    • Fort Mohave, AZ,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use this all the time. I sent them the idea I had used it for - I used this on my front door, boy did it work. Only it worked too good. I tried to put back up our welcome sign and could not, it was that strong of stuff. Super great stuff, I use it 20 out of 24 times on many things and reasons.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Much better than the ads

    • Blakeslee, PA,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a quart of the Flex Seal last summer to fix a leak on the garage lower wall. The prior owner apparently had two idiots build the garage, and they did not grade the concrete away from the wall, so every time it rained hard, the water came in several places. We had the wood repaired along with the siding and lower flashing Several contractors looked at it, and everyone said there was no solution except silicone. Well, I tried silicone, and it never held to the concrete well. I used the quart last summer and it seemed good. After a full summer and a bad winter it was great. The Flex Seal was bonded to the concrete. I bought a gallon this summer and put a three-inch wide layer around and it was great. I give it a 9 out of 10. TV ad items are crap but this item I would give ten stars if I could. Amazed with the result.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 20 people found this review helpful

    I have tried all for building my tiny home

    • Northfield, MN,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So what I have learned is this stuff should come with directions.

    For the spray to work, you have to keep going over it until you get layers! It’s not the best stuff now, the caulking works pretty good for making a rubber seem, but does not like to adhere to some stuff. But it is perfect to make custom seals if they will be screwed down, etc. Now what I did was cut the back of an RV off and extended it and the add-on is wood to aluminum. What I used was the caulking first then I used the tape, the wide stuff, and I went from the sides to the top, and that tape is some strong stuff. Now the liquid stuff does not pour this stuff on, paint it on with a roller, etc. I used it over wood, like some indoor paneling temporarily outside, and painted this paneling with the liquid Flex Seal.. I did two coats of it and man, it gave it a nice rubber texture. When it rained it looked like Rain-X on a window, water was repelling.

    The next set of uses are for motor mounts I get. I’m going to use Flex Seal to test them out compared to using 3m window weld.

    But yes, I would not use this product to bond anything, and I think it’s good 50% of the time, but it’s expensive for really big jobs. This is for small random stuff, but not like they advertise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Best stuff on the market

    • Bloomington, IL,
    • Oct 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one amazing product. I have used it to seal my basement wall, and used it everywhere on my travel trailer as I was restoring it.

    I purchased a used 2000 model Coachman 25-foot travel trailer. The wheel well wasn't sealed which allowed water to enter the interior and rot out the floor, which was the reason it was sold as a "fixer-upper". I sealed the wheel well with Flex Seal tape and coated the remaining well with the spray-on Flex Seal. The floors were replaced and the subflooring coated with Flex Seal. Then the floor was covered with laminate flooring. The roof needed repair and I used Flex Seal tape to seal the edges and all the flanges of any vents. Then coated the roof liberally with Flex Seal liquid white. Lastly, the trailer's awning appeared to need replacing. I found only the first 8 inches of the awning had sun rot. So I coated the entire length with 8-inch Flex Seal tape. Then sealed all edges with white liquid Flex Seal.

    My wife and I used the travel trailer all summer. Not one issue with any leaks. I strongly recommend Flex Seal to anyone who has a need to eliminate water from entering their home, or camper. Excellent product. You must follow the manufacturer's recommendations and to be sure to clean surfaces before applying.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    OK for right job

    • Jul 4, 2015

    Reading the other reviews I would imagine the product wouldn't do much in those situations. It is not as claimed; it won't replace a stronger more professional fix. But for a small job it's convenient, dries clean and solid and does the trick.

    We had loose tiles in the "guest" shower but did not care about cosmetics since the shower was going to be replaced within the year. We pushed the tiles flat against the wall and then sprayed several thin coats of Flex Seal, letting each coat dry for 24 hours before applying the next. We've had a solid area, no loose tiles, no leaks, for almost a year. Did just what we needed.

    I wouldn't use it to stop a leak in a pipe or fix a skylight though. Better stuff in a hardware store and the staff there can likely find the best solution. But for a small job, that's not intended to "plug the leak in the dike," it works very well and is the easiest, quickest way to produce a decent repair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Lisa,

      We are very pleased to hear that Flex Seal worked out fantastically for you! We completely stand behind our products 100% and appreciate you writing us an awesome review!

      If you have any questions about the product or any projects you would like to try in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 8 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Great product, can it be painted?

    I have used the liquid to seal all the seams in my vintage aluminum boat, and it has worked wonderfully. However, I need to paint over it, and I can't seem to get a paint to stick. I have used a spray paint primer and latex based no slip paint. Neither has worked, it just peels off.

    Any ideas on what type of paint I can use?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Fixed my leak

    • South Louisiana,
    • Aug 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Flex Seal tape is hard to work with, and the liquid does not spread evenly without a little extra work. All in all, these products did their job and held up. I had a leak in my roof, that came in the attic than dropped down onto my white ceiling tile. The liquid was used both on the roof and in the attic, the tape on the ceiling tile. Worked great, held up until it was repaired. Yes, I would purchase again and do recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Flex seal?

    • Soda Springs ID,
    • Jun 9, 2015

    I have to admit that t's a little handier than a caulking gun. However, in my opinion it's garbage. I've tried it in the temperature range and it works great, for about a week. Then cracks and peels and falls off. If you don't want to re-repair every week, get something else. On a scale of one through five with one being complete trash, I would give it a two.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Duane,

      We are incredibly sorry to hear your expectations were not met and we would like to better your customer experience! We would like to look further into this for you. Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, so we can make it right?

      We promise to take excellent care of you! Thank you for sharing your feedback!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


Showing 1-11 of 72

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review