About Flex Seal

Designed by Phil Swift and a product of Swift Response, LLC, Flex Seal is an aerosol spray containing a liquid rubber sealant that promises to seep into cracks, and to prevent leakage.

The makers of Flex Seal claim that it will last for years without cracking, peeling, or losing any of its sealing properties, whether from summer heat or winter cold.

The company claims that Flex Seal can be used on gutters, roofs, pipes, window trim, cement driveways, AC drip pans, ductwork, and more, though it is not intended to protect against extreme wind or water pressure.

As with most “As Seen on TV” products, Flex Seal comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee.

How Flex Seal Works

Before using Flex Seal, you should shake the can well, clean and dry your surface, and spray in smooth, sweeping motions approximately 12-14 inches from the contact point.

The company recommends that several thin coats be applied to an area larger than where the leak occurred, and that temperatures should be higher than 60°F.

When you’re ready to apply Flex Seal, simply press gently on the nozzle, at which point a thick, rubberized liquid will shoot out, which will seep into cracks and holes.

Over the course of 24 hours, depending on temperature, humidity, and thickness, this liquid will dry and become a watertight, flexible coating on just about any surface, which will continue to strengthen over time.

After using Flex Seal, the can should be inverted and sprayed in order to clear the nozzle.

Flex Seal comes in three color versions: Original black formula, the light “Brite” color, and the new clear version.

While all three versions can be painted over after drying, the clear version has a slightly modified formula, which may require additional applications in order to get the job done.

Flex Seal Pricing, Shipping, and Return Policy

One large can of Flex Seal currently costs $19.99, plus $9.95 shipping and handling.

Along with your order, you’ll also receive a second large can as an added bonus, though you’ll need to pay an addition $9.95 for “shipping and handling,” which is where many of these “As Seen on TV” products really make their money. After ordering, your shipment should arrive within 2-4 weeks.

If you’re unhappy with Flex Seal for any reason, you’ll have up to 30 days to return the unused portion, minus shipping and handling costs.

To initiate a refund, simply call 800-307-6201 to obtain an RMA. Once the product is received and inspected, your credit card will be quickly refunded.

Pros:

  • Rubberized coating claims to seal any leak, crack, or hole.
  • Fairly inexpensive when compared to other major solutions.
  • Portable, easy to use, and not messy.
  • Dries in 24 hours.

Cons:

  • Flex Seal is an “As Seen on TV” product, which often do not live up to your initial expectations.
  • Numerous complaints that the coating breaks off and peels after a very short period of time, or that it doesn’t work as promised. Some have even claimed to have used two cans and still experienced leakage.
  • Similar solutions can be purchased at your local hardware store for as little as $5, without hassles or shipping and handling charges.

Read 72 Flex Seal Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 72
Sort reviews by:

  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Worthless outdoors

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Sep 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was a professional roofer and came across a customer who used it to seal his skylights. It worked at first, then the leaks came back. When we arrived, the material had dried out and cracked after being exposed to the sun for a very short period. It was dry and dusty like chalk. I have no respect for the people who promote this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Wayne,

      We are terribly sorry to hear Flex Seal did not meet your expectations. We would like to improve your experience!

      Helpful suggestions for the application of Flex Seal aerosol is that it to needs to be applied on a clean and dry surface, free of grease and oil, then allow to dry for up to 24 to 48 hours. Apply additional coats as needed but once it is dry. For better adhesion, etch the surface with sand paper or steel wool first.

      Please be advised that application may only be a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      If you have any questions, please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com.

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    My husband put it on the boat

    • Florida,
    • Nov 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    So my husband bought a gallon of Flex Seal because it's supposed to be the best. Well, I think not. He put it on the boat yesterday and today we are out on the water and he docks the boat, gets out and sees it peeling off the bottom already. What a waste of almost 90 bucks. I have a picture of it too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 20, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Leah,

      We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. We would like to improve your customer experience!

      As helpful suggestions, we always recommend to applying Flex Seal Liquid on a clean, dry surface, free of grease and oil and at least 24 hours prior to a heavy rain, hail or snowfall. Allow Flex Seal Liquid to dry 24 to 48 hours and apply additional coats as needed, once the first coat is dry. For better adhesion, etch the surface with sand paper or steel wool.

      Flex Seal Liquid can be used on most surfaces such as concrete, glass, brick, stucco, masonry, wood, copper, plastic, tile, fabrics, wires, vinyl, fiberglass, ceramic, porcelain, metal, aluminum, and natural stones, foam, asphalt, EIFS, TPO, PVC, EPDM, CSPE, Hypalon polyurethanes and so much more!

      Making our customers happy is our top priority! Please contact us directly at eolsen@swiftdrtv.com. We would like the opportunity to make you a Flex Seal Liquid fan!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal Liquid)


  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Flaky Deal with Flex Seal

    • Georgetown, KY,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    We used Flex Seal exactly as the directions read. There was a small leak near a skylight in our ceiling. We waited until the weather was supposed to be dry for several days. The day after applying Flex Seal, we noticed small black specks on the floor. The next day, there were larger specks. Eventually, we had to scrape all the flaky plastic particles off the ceiling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Mrs. Lee Hansen,

      We are terribly sorry to hear Flex Seal did not meet your expectations. We would like to improve your experience!

      Helpful suggestions for the application of Flex Seal aerosol is that it needs to be applied on a clean and dry surface, free of grease and oil, then allow to dry for up to 24 to 48 hours. Apply additional coats as needed but once it is dry. Please be advised that application may only be a temporary, emergency repair and is not meant to be a permanent fix.

      We would like to look further into this for you. Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, so we can make it right? We promise to take excellent care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 29 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    • La Crosse, WI,
    • Dec 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We got ripped off just trying to order. We put credit card information in. One can and shipping was $29.99, then it automatically added 2 cans of sealer, that we COULDN'T remove from our order. That jumped the total to $89.99. We CANCELED THE ORDER. Never completed it. Then, get notification of a "Thank you for our order." We never placed it!

    We called immediately and they said we have no record of your order, even when we gave the order number. Shortly after we were off the phone the money was charged to the card. This was completely illegal. We couldn't delete card info, we NEVER processed the order, but was charged $90.00. Then lied to from customer service saying no order was received.

    Beware! They rip you off if you change your mind, they add items to your order that can't be removed. Stay away. We are still calling trying to get a hold of someone to get a full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello Lisa,

      We apologize for this experience. Flex Seal has a plethora of retailers, so we would like to look further into this for you to confirm that the purchase was made through an authorized vendor.

      Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, with your order details so that we can make this right? We promise to take excellent care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Scam product

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried it on roof of motor home, simply would not work. Full of cracks within one week. I would not recommend. It's really is not even a one star.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello S.D.,

      We are incredibly sorry to hear your expectations were not met and we would like to better your customer experience! I hope you'll give us the chance to make this experience a better one! We stand behind our products and our ultimate goal is to ensure our valued customers are happy.

      We would like to look further into this for you. Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, so we can make it right? We promise to take excellent care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Seal)


  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed

    • Clinton, IA,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, a can of Flex Seal doesn't go very far at all. You really have to saturate the repaired area, and it will take 2-3 coats, allowing a 24-hour drying time between coats.

    It has a very, very heavy chemical fume smell and should NEVER be used indoors for any reason. The commercials are EXTREMELY exaggerated. I would never purchase another can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 26 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Nevada,
    • Nov 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought both the Flex Seal tape and the Flex Seal liquid to repair a rubber hose. Neither product worked at all. Water came right through both repairs. I would never recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't stick to or over DRYLOK waterproofing

    It doesn't stick to or over DRYLOK waterproofing on a basement wall. Five feet for $13.00 plus tax and not sticking very well was disappointing. It may work for another application, but I wouldn't recommend using it over DRYLOK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Not Good

    • Bristol, VA,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This stuff is not worth a penny, much less what they want for it. They won't give your money back either. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Dear John,

      I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I would like the opportunity to fix this situation for you. Please contact me directly at [email protected]

      We promise to take great care of you and make this right.

      All the best,

      Eric

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape).


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal

    • Mar 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Would give a minus 10 if possible. Don't order from the website. Processing fees are a scam. Buy at Lowes or amazon.

    Customer service doesn't respond until your order has shipped. Then if you return order, you are responsible for processing fees and original shipping, plus your return shipping cost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Company Response from Swift Response, LLC

      Hello,

      We apologize for this experience. Flex Seal has a number of retailers, so we would like to look further into this for you to confirm that the purchase was made through an authorized vendor.

      Can you please contact us directly at customerservice@swiftdrtv.com, with your order details so that we can make this right? We promise to take excellent care of you!

      Sincerely,

      Sheryl

      Customer Care at Swift Response (The makers of Flex Tape)


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Leaky product

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only thing this flexes is your wallet. I first used the Flex Seal spray on a water pan. It lasted a few weeks and water went right through it. I then tried the liquid version, which gave the same results. By its sheer nature, nearly everything advertised on TV is pure junk and way overpriced. This product was no exception. You pay a premium for this stuff to cover the TV ads, but as a waterproof product, it doesn't hold water or just about anything else. First, google any TV product for complaints before buying it. The rule is anything over $20 can be investigated for fraud, so be wary of all those just under $20 items and especially two-for-one offers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 72

Write a Review for Flex Seal!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review