About Flex Tape

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls (plus applicable tax + shipping):

  • Large 4” x 5’: $12.99
  • Jumbo 8” x 5’: $19.99
  • Giant 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, each tape comes in the following color choices: Clear, Grey, Black, and White

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at (833) 411-3539

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

Due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!


Read 127 Flex Tape Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 7 3 star: 0 2 star: 9 1 star:  99
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 127
Sort reviews by:

  • Flex Tape

    • By Joan B.,
    • buckj1013@comcast.net,
    • Mar 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a leak in our pipe under the laundry tub. Tried Flex tape, tried double taping it. DOES NOT WORK. Plumbing Putty did work.

    Contacted Flex Tape for a refund per their guarantee instant sealing of water on their cover of Flex Tape.

    THEY HAVE IGNORED TWICE NOW. Sent invoice from Walmart and copy of Flex Tape cover (we used the tape up on pipes so could not send back).

    Time for Attorney General and false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Tape does not work

    • By Darryl Z.,
    • Gainesville, FL,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    No good. Will not stick underwater as claimed. Will not stick to porcelain or any surface that has moisture. Tested this on several different areas and surfaces. Would not even stick to elbow pipe under a sink that had a crack in it. All surfaces I tested it on were cleaned well, and it still did not work as they claim. Avoid the Flex Tape.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This stuff is falsely advertised and complete crap!

    • By Bertha T.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased a roll of Flex Tape locally. Various uses on TV are completely hype. Does not seal a water hose, does not seal pipe leaks in the basement, and is falsely advertised. I connected two dry water hoses together following directions and water came spurting out in multiple directions. Tried another larger strip of tape and same results - garbage. Had a pinhole leak on a water tank and again - would not seal, would not even adhere to area and water spurting out everywhere. Also tried a larger piece over this tiny hole with absolutely terrible results. I called customer service and they have been trained to say it's not recommended for those applications, when they show those applications on TV. Don't support this item/company - a total scam. Hope the guy eventually drowns in his Flex Seal boat!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worked well on pool guard

    • By Paul V.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Nov 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm glad I didn't read any reviews before I purchased Flex Tape or I may not have bought it. After trying several products to repair a rip in a pool guard/cover which didn't work, I tried Flex Tape and it repaired the problem perfectly. It took some trial and error to work out how to use it best but once applied correctly it saved me having to buy a whole new cover. Heat and cold haven't affected the seal. Just placed an order to buy some more for any other issues which it can be applied to. It did take a while to be delivered but Australia is a fair distance away!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worked great on a split soaker hose

    • By Maureen K.,
    • Idaho,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This past spring we noticed we had gusher when we were running the soaker hose zone on our sprinkler system. Seeing many dollar signs before my eyes at the prospect of calling out a professional to replace the entire length of hose (which I don't even know where it starts and ends), I decided to try the "repair" route. Flex Tape to the rescue! It was a bit challenging to use as it is VERY sticky, and I had to be sure to keep it debris-free as I was lifting up the portion of split hose and carefully wrapped it around a few times. But it fixed the problem. Not even a drop leaked out as I tested the zone. We'll see how it survives over time, but even if I have to do another repair come next spring, it will be more than worth it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Tape

    • By Clifford T.,
    • Nebraska,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The commercial shows them slapping it on a big leaking hole in the side of a pool and it appears to stop the leak instantly.

    I followed the directions to the letter and it was worthless in fixing a small leak in a pipe. I even put multiple layers on.

    The second it got wet the adhesive stopped being sticky. I am very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Tape doesn't work

    • By Anthony V.,
    • New York,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this tape to repair my solar pool cover with holes and rips and after 2 weeks the tape peeled off and since I bought it over 30 days ago they won't refund my money, very upset and misleading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • THIS TAPE IS GREAT

    • By Pat A.,
    • Greenville, SC,
    • Aug 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a leak under my kitchen faucet. I'm retired on a very strict budget. I wrapped the leak in Flex Seal Tape. IT WORKED! Its been 2 months and still good. I am more than excited that I didn't have to pay a plumber, $125.00 base fee, more for parts.

    It has worked wonderfully for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t waste your money!

    • By Mary D.,
    • St. Marys, GA,
    • Aug 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a roll for a leaking fiberglass bath that is leaking read instructions followed to the letter! First shower it’s leaking and no help! It’s $13 down the drain along with the water! Don’t waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Tape

    • By Ronnie C.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tape does not work. Sealed pipe under the sink. Not worth the $12.00 we lost buying it. Opened box, instructions say peel off backing. CAN NOT peel. Watched several videos and it did not explain anything to help. This stuff is a sham. Money lost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My boat broke

    • By Gessi K.,
    • Michigan,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So before I bought the tape, I saw a video of Phil Swift saying it would fix a boat if there was a hole in the bottom. I decided to cut a hole in the bottom of my boat and try it. Turns out it didn’t work and changed the dimensions of my boat. Complete rip-off and false advertising. Would not recommend if you cut holes in boats. Safe shopping!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 127

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Flex Tape