About Flex Tape

Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peek to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

100 Consumer Reviews for Flex Tape

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 6 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  80
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 100
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Pin hole in copper pipe

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 4-inch by 5-foot roll of Flex Tape, cleaned the pipe and put a piece of the tape over the hole. It didn't stop the leak. Then I put a hose clamp over the tape and the hole is still leaking. This tape is JUNK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    False advertising.

    • Tennessee,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I pulled a waterbed mattress out of storage and went to set it up to find it had a small (pin sized) hole, so I ran to Lowe’s to get a roll of this. It would not stick or keep the bed from leaking. A waste of my time. Seems like others have complained about it not working as advertised too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Missouri,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I put a piece of Flex Tape on a vinyl tear...the tape did not stick, but was so gummy that it made a big mess. The makers keep falsely advertising the stuff to the point that they should be giving full refunds. The Flex Spray is a darn joke as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    You guys need to know!

    • Pittston, PA,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm really loving this product, I have them all! My beef is cutting it. Geeze...perforate it like plastic wrap or like paper towels. The backing is hell to take off!

    Thanks for listening...sharing is caring!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    False advertising at its finest

    • Waterloo, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our main water valve was leaking. After watching the commercial for this product, we decided to give it a try while a plumber became available.

    It doesn’t work well while wet (which was advertised).

    It was not easy to wrap around the pipe (which was advertised).

    It did not stop the leak at all.

    Terrible product. Waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 15 people found this review helpful

    False advertisement

    • Springfield, TN,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a tree limb go through the roof of my camper and need something to just stop it from leaking. So I went to Lowe’s and purchased this tape, cleaned the roof around the area to be repaired with denatured alcohol, and applied the tape, and it would not even stick. Don’t waste your time and money on this tape or Flex Seal products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Boston, MA,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had two skylights leaking. After having flashing fixed and it still leaked, I had Fex Seals around every edge and then some. It still leaked even worse.

    I got new leakproof skylights installed. That solved my problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap

    • Texas,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My pool had a leak, so I went out and bought some of this tape to stop my leak. Well, guess what? I am laughing my buns off because it doesn't work at all. Will I ever buy it again? No, I won't, it's a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It would not stop a small simple water leak, which had no pressure behind it. Don't waste your money on this scam. BBB should shut them down, or if they continue to sell a scam, start making this company pay back the consumers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Does not work on pin hole leak in copper pipe!

    • Connecticut,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son, who occupies my carpeted finished basement, awoke one morning to find water seeping through! We had recently had a heavy rainstorm, and I assumed that the sump pump had overflowed or failed. After having a similar, costly, catastrophe a couple of years prior, my home owner's insurance was eventually canceled. So as not to infuriate my present insurance company, off I go to home Home Depot to purchase a wet vac and a portable pump. My sump pump was covered under my home appliance insurance. The wet vac and the portable pump did not do the job! Water continued to seep from somewhere. So, off I go to Home Depot, again, to rent two blower fans and a dehumidifier. This still did not do the job!

    I, finally, gave in and called the insurance company. I hired a water removal contractor and with all of his tools (pumps, etc.), the water kept coming! To make a long story short, we finally found a pinhole leak in a 3/4" water pipe, in the ceiling, behind the outside wall in the boiler room.

    After calling the plumber, I turn off the water and went to Walmart to purchase Flex Tape, for a temporary fix so that we could have running water, until his arrival the next morning. What a waste of time! I worked for over an hour trying to get that tape to work on a pinhole in the pipe! The Flex Tape manufacturer embarrassed me in front of my son, who laughed his head off and continuously told me it wasn't going to work. I finally conceded that he was right! Flex Tape is a "total hoax!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal in a can

    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the spray as instruction on my gutters, and it was a total waste of time and money. I tried everything to try to stop a leaking gutter, nothing worked, so I decided to give the Flex Seal a try, and boy was that a sure waste of time. I do not know how they can keep advertising this useless product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 100

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review