About Flex Tape

Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peek to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

54 Consumer Reviews for Flex Tape

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  42
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • Not what it claimed to be

    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried using it to seal a crack in a copper pipe that distributes water to a spout on the outside of my house, and it didn't help at all. Although the plumber's tape I'd tried prior did not work either, which lead me to try the Flex Tape, it still seemed to work better and was half the price of Flex Tape. Not pleased at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • False claims

    • Florida,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried the Flex Tape and the Flex Seal spray. Neither of these items have worked. I had a spot on the roof and used two cans of spray, but the leak was not affected. Since that experience, I decided to purchase a roll of Flex Tape to mend some hoses. I tried it on four different hoses with leaks in different places. The leak was not stopped on any of them. The best sticking that it stuck my fingers together but not anything that needed repairing. I think their advertisements are lies and I am concerned that because of the boat advertisement, someone will try to mend a boat with it and wind up getting drown. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Pure crap

    • Granada Hills, CA,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to stop a minor, low-pressure leak on a copper pipe feeding into my pool filter. I did wire brush the area to remove verdigris and dirt, applied the patch, and it came off immediately. I tried different sizes of Flex Tape patch with the same results. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Crap, crap

    I would not recommend this product or any other product by Flex. I can't even cut the stuff. It does not close off leak on the hose. The leak just came out of each end. I had to cut the hose and reattach with a splicer. This product is not worth the price. Save money and go to the movies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Works great

    You know, I can't but wonder if all the bad reviews are spam from some other company because this stuff works great. I repaired my turtle tank last year and it is still like new. I have also repaired my torn RV awning and it is still working great. It takes a beating in the weather and the rolling back and forth and holds like I sewed it together. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • Compton, CA,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried putting it on a leaking PVC pipe and it stuck for about 5 seconds then leaked even more. This product is so bad that I would never, ever recommend it to Bill Cosby or my worst enemy. I can't even return it because it's so bad they don't even want it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Iowa,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This tape is junk! It wouldn't even stick to a dry bathtub. I will never buy this again and won't recommend it to any of my friends or family. Thanks for wasting our money on your junk product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Virginia,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used it on a copper pipe, and it leaked more after the "repair." Water just seeped right through it. Waste of money and time. This junk tape cost me almost as much as the repair pipe I bought after this junk tape failed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape is crap.

    • Youngsville NC,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used it to patch a hole in a fiberglass bath tub. The tape did not even attempt to stick. Scotch tape would have worked better. Makes me wonder about the other Flex products. I purchased the tape to keep on hand ahead of time because I knew I would need it sooner or later. What a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish and a waste of money. Do not buy.

    I had a PVC water pipe with a small crack causing a very slow leak. Water just seeped around two layers of overlapping tape.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 18 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used the white Flex Tape to hold our granddaughter's car bumper up. She bottomed out backing out of a steep driveway, and the passenger side bumper came loose. We cleaned the area with rubbing alcohol and when dry, applied the tape. It was 3 degrees out, and it still stuck and held through rain, snow, etc. Didn't look pretty but it worked.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review