About Flex Tape

Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peek to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

94 Consumer Reviews for Flex Tape

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 5 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  75
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 94
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Boston, MA,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had two skylights leaking. After having flashing fixed and it still leaked, I had Fex Seals around every edge and then some. It still leaked even worse.

    I got new leakproof skylights installed. That solved my problem.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap

    • Texas,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My pool had a leak, so I went out and bought some of this tape to stop my leak. Well, guess what? I am laughing my buns off because it doesn't work at all. Will I ever buy it again? No, I won't, it's a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It would not stop a small simple water leak, which had no pressure behind it. Don't waste your money on this scam. BBB should shut them down, or if they continue to sell a scam, start making this company pay back the consumers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Does not work on pin hole leak in copper pipe!

    • Connecticut,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My son, who occupies my carpeted finished basement, awoke one morning to find water seeping through! We had recently had a heavy rainstorm, and I assumed that the sump pump had overflowed or failed. After having a similar, costly, catastrophe a couple of years prior, my home owner's insurance was eventually canceled. So as not to infuriate my present insurance company, off I go to home Home Depot to purchase a wet vac and a portable pump. My sump pump was covered under my home appliance insurance. The wet vac and the portable pump did not do the job! Water continued to seep from somewhere. So, off I go to Home Depot, again, to rent two blower fans and a dehumidifier. This still did not do the job!

    I, finally, gave in and called the insurance company. I hired a water removal contractor and with all of his tools (pumps, etc.), the water kept coming! To make a long story short, we finally found a pinhole leak in a 3/4" water pipe, in the ceiling, behind the outside wall in the boiler room.

    After calling the plumber, I turn off the water and went to Walmart to purchase Flex Tape, for a temporary fix so that we could have running water, until his arrival the next morning. What a waste of time! I worked for over an hour trying to get that tape to work on a pinhole in the pipe! The Flex Tape manufacturer embarrassed me in front of my son, who laughed his head off and continuously told me it wasn't going to work. I finally conceded that he was right! Flex Tape is a "total hoax!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal in a can

    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the spray as instruction on my gutters, and it was a total waste of time and money. I tried everything to try to stop a leaking gutter, nothing worked, so I decided to give the Flex Seal a try, and boy was that a sure waste of time. I do not know how they can keep advertising this useless product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape quality

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this for the first time on my above ground pool. I was pretty skeptical, and it definitely didn't stick as cleanly as they show on TV, but after a little work to make sure it would stay in place, it actually held the tear and did not leak. It was in place for about a year and I finally had to replace my liner, but it was applied underwater, stuck and held. I wouldn't say it functioned exactly and as easily as they would lead you to believe, but since it actually worked in my application, I give it a pretty good. The recommendation is only if you assume, like any other product that there is some risk that it really won't function well for the application. Would I use it to plug a leak on a water pipe? Probably not. Would I use it on something like a gutter? Yes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Worthless

    • Indiana,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Doesn't stick underwater, doesn't seal pipes. I bought two different roles. Post-it stickers hold better than this crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape repair

    • Tehachapi, CA,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On my way to work, my tire pressure light came on. I stopped at a gas station to check the pressure of my tires. When I got to the rear tire, I found a screw embedded in the tire. I didn’t have time to go to the tire store, so I put a piece of the Flex Tape over the screw head and aired up the tire. The pressure stayed good for a week! I would definitely recommend this tape to everyone! Thank you for a great product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Very poor product

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The TV ads looked authentic. I thought the product should be reasonable for my needs. I tried three different applications. For each, the tape rolled up from the sides almost immediately, leaving a residue which is almost impossible to remove and it stays sticky. Beware, save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Faulty commercial

    • Watervliet, MI,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In the commercial they show cutting an aluminum boat in half with a grinder throwing sparks, aluminum does not spark, so that should be your first clue. Then they glue a dune buggy together and it's supposed to hold. I have a tubular frame dune buggy with wire welds and they still break occasionally. I would hate to go to Silver Lake with a glued up frame and try to compete. It's just another scam that's out there trying to get your hard-earned money, thinking they got the best product in the world. If you want to seal leaks, use tar!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Portland, OR,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Flex Tape at Home Depot yesterday. I read all the instructions and followed them closely. I bought it to fix a small hole in my garden hose. Now water spurts out both sides of the tape. Plus, the scissors I used to cut the tape with are now useless! So, if you still want to try this tape, don't use a good knife or scissors. I wish I had read the reviews before I bought this product. Flex Tape is nothing but a waste of your time and money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 94

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review