About Flex Tape

Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peek to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

72 Consumer Reviews for Flex Tape

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 7 1 star:  56
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 72
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Useless

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a roll of Flex Tape to try to seal a couple of holes in a vinyl pool. I made sure the pool was dry and clean (even though "you can even use underwater").

    I carefully patched BOTH sides of the pool so that the larger hole would have glue exposed and connected.

    I filled the pool and seemed to be doing well. I checked on it three hours later, and BOTH patches had come loose and water was pouring out of the pool.

    DO NOT BUY this useless tape.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    What a joke!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Flex Tape to repair some seats in my pontoon where the seams were torn. I followed the instructions carefully and I used the majority of the tape roll to repair 6 seams, all of which were on the upper backrests (none were on the seats, so they were not being stretched or sat on or abused in any way). Within two weeks, 5 of the six taped seams were ripped again. The tape was torn, not the vinyl upholstery. I would have had better results with Scotch tape, packaging tape, duct tape, electrical tape, Band-aids, or even chewing gum.

    I contacted the customer service department, and there was zero customer service provided. I would definitely not recommend this product to anyone for any reason. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I should have listened

    • Reno, NV,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read the reviews, and really should have heeded the warnings. But, I thought, it is literally a pinhole, surely it will stop a pinhole. I couldn't have been more wrong. I am serious when I say pinhole. A 2' deep pool, pinhole at the top of the water line, very little pressure, and couldn't even stop that! I even used a 4" x 4" section of tape over, Yes, a pinhole. When drained the water to below, yes you guessed it, the pinhole, let dry, thoroughly cleaned the area, applied tape, when refilled, the tape bubbled, and would not even seal a pinhole. I had such high hopes fur this stuff, even went as far as to cut my sailboat in half, because I believed in it so much, but now I have a junk sailboat and a leaking pinhole. Anybody want to buy a cheapo sailboat, I'll throw in the tape, maybe you can get it to work! I sure can't, not even on a pinhole!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape and glue

    • New York,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    For the most part, I find the Flex Tape to be a decent product. I have used it on three different projects and was pleased with the results. That said, I purchased the Flex glue and it does not work at all and was very disappointing as it did not perform as seen on TV, not even close.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Parma, OH,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Finally, success in fixing the leaks on the bottom of our above-ground pool! We were in a hurry to get it done, and we couldn't find the clear tape in our area so we got the white tape at Acme and gave it a quick light spray with a waterproof blue paint we had on hand. Works great and was easy to apply!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 27 people found this review helpful

    My Flex Tape horror story

    • California,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sawed my boat in half with the belief that I could easily repair it with Flex Tape and enjoy a day on the water with my dog. Well, my boat sank in 8 minutes and my dog drowned because he had arthritis in his hip and was unable to swim to shore. I tried to save him, but I was in shock and disbelief that my boat actually sank. I don't understand it. The fat guy on TV was able to do it why couldn't I?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work!

    • Hawaii,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a floating bed for aquaponics which had a small leak in it on the side. Once the tape went in the water it completely lost its adhesive. It did not even remotely stick to the side, the water level was only about 4 inches deep but still a total waste of money. Total rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape didn't work

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Flex Tape for a 4-inch cut in an above-ground pool. It didn't work at all, and the corners and edges curled up. The pool leaked the whole time. The only thing it stuck to was scissors and my fingers. Junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape

    • Iowa,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It sucks! Don't waste your money. I paid $13 for this and it didn't stop water anywhere I tried to use it! I tried it on a hose that had a small slit, did not work, tried on a pool, did not work. Worst money spent ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Pool repair

    • Waxhaw, NC,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't tell you how disappointed I am with Flex Tape. I tried using it to repair an above-ground pool. The tape did not come close to sticking. I tried testing another area that was cleaned extensively. The tape would not stick there either. The stickiness washed off in water before it could be used. I hate using the word "ripoff," but that's what this product is. You need only look at other video reviews that show similar problems I had.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape

    • Pocatello, ID,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is not like advertised. I bought it to stop a leak in my rain gutter and it would not stick to it or the wood. This a crap and I sure wouldn’t want to use it for any serious water leak. The price is terrible for the junk that it is! I would NOT recommend this at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 72

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review