About Flex Tape

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 19, 2017

Flex Tape rubberized, waterproof tape features a triple thick adhesive that the company claims grips on tight and instantly creates a watertight seal to patch, bond, seal, and repair almost anything.

The waterproof tape can be used on just about any material, including PVC, acrylic, metal, wood, ceramic, glass, rubber, fiberglass, stucco, plaster, stone, and drywall. It also works under water and can be applied hot or cold.

Whether you need to repair an inflatable pool, a leaky pipe, a roof in the middle of a storm, or a pool or spa without draining it, this means product's company claims to provide a solution.

But does it really? Or, is ths tape another product that looks great on TV but will disappoint you after arriving on your doorstep? We've compiled what we learned during our research, so you don't have to waste your time and money on anything but the best.

How to Use Flex Tape: Are There Any Surfaces It’s Not Suitable For?

The process works over four steps:

  • Step 1: Using a pair of sharp scissors or a razor blade, cut to the desired size.
  • Step 2: Remove the backing, which will expose the tape's adhesive.
  • Step 3: On a clean surface, apply while pressing down firmly and removing any air pockets or bubbles. Once applied, it cannot be repositioned.
  • Step 4: After application, the bond will only get stronger over time.

While this product is useful for a variety of different surfaces, the manufacturer notes that it might not adhere to highly plasticized materials, siliconized or water repellent surfaces; surfaces that are greasy, oily or dirty; porous surfaces, and some fabrics.

Additionally, the adhesive can become gooey and lose its grip at temperatures exceeding 200° F, so it’s not for use around engines. Also, due to the high pressure involved, you can’t use Flex Tape on car or bike tires.

Finally, it’s important to point out that adhesive bond is only intended as an emergency, temporary repair, and should not be considered a long-term solution.

Is Waterproof, Rubberized Tape Common?

We're not told a whole lot about Flex Tape, including the material it’s made from or its thickness, so we can’t know exactly what you’ll get for your money.

However, if you type the phrase “rubber tape” or “vinyl tape” into any search engine, you’ll quickly learn that this tape has a seemingly decent level of competition.

What’s more, you can find this competing rubber/vinyl tape in just about every imaginable color, width, and length, so your third-party options might represent greater flexibility.

Pro tip: Keep in mind that what we’re talking about here is thick (usually a minimum of 4-6 mil) rubber tape with industrial strength adhesive. This is in contrast to much thinner, less sticky options like electrical tape.

From a price perspective, competing rubberized tape is generally priced between $10 and $20.

How Much Does Flex Tape Cost?

Available in black or white, Flex Tape can be purchased in three different size rolls:

  • 4” x 5’: $19.99
  • 8” x 5’: $29.99
  • 12” x 10’: $49.99

Whichever option you choose, you’ll be charged $9.99 S&H. You can also purchase a bonus can of Flex Seal, Flex Shot, or Flex Seal Liquid at checkout for an additional $9.99 fee.

All purchases come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H. Keep in mind this means the fee you pay for the additional product will also be lost if you request a refund.

To do so, customer service can be reached at 844-531-8900.

Is Flex Tape Your Fix-It Solution?

There clearly seem to be a lot of instances where Flex Tape could come in handy. This might be especially true for water-related repairs like quickly fixing an inflatable, patching a pool, or repairing a leaky pipe.

In short, we can think of hundreds of different scenarios where having a roll of Flex Tape handy could be beneficial.

In the end, though, we’re not so much concerned with Flex Tape’s functionality or usability, as we are about the level of value it’ll provide because you may want to take a peek to find various sized rolls of vinyl tape at your local hardware store, often for meaningfully less than Flex Tape.

To add to this, due to Shipping & Handling charges, it is our opinion you may want to explore purchasing this product or similar ones at a local store to have a more-straight-forward return process if you're unsatisfied.

Finally, other products in the Flex lineup, including Seal, Shot, and Liquid come with 2-star average ratings or lower from HighYa readers, who frequently complained that they didn’t deliver on their promises (or if they did, that they soon stopped working). Many also complained that they were charged more than expected.

The good news is that if you’re dead-set on placing an order for the adhesive bond, the manufacturer seems to stand behind it with a 30-day refund policy. As mentioned before, though, just watch out for those non-refundable S&H fees!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 106 Flex Tape Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 7 3 star: 0 2 star: 8 1 star:  82
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 106
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Would not stick

    • Lynchburg, MO,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a hole in the water tank. I tried to use it to cover the whole entire day of the big sick and as soon as any water gets on that tape it would not stick to anything. It guarantees it will stick to wet or dry, it did an awful job. I would never buy that tape again and they need to learn to advertise more truly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    We shall see

    • Florida,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, do not use this tape in a visible location. It is a sticky mess and gets everywhere and is almost impossible to remove the mess. I have a convertible, and where the top of the windshield meets the frame, it was rusted and lifting up the windshield rubber. I had a decent leak when it rained. I ran this tape across the top frame and the top lip of the gasket. I knew it would look crappy, but so does the truck. Let's see what happens when it rains.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Fixing a tarp.

    • Burgettstown, PA,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband drives a tractor-trailer with a side that has a 45x96 tarp on it. We recently had a tear on the tarp. We have already used Flex Glue and decided to try Flex Tape at Walmart to fix it. It was amazing . I would probably say it has been a month since we repaired it and it is still good. Thank you for Flex Tape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Flex Seal Tape

    • United States,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This tape is not at all what is advertised. It does not hold or stick. I attempted to use it to hold a window up on a vehicle until I could have the motor and track replaced and after applying to the window and car door frame for only two days the tape no longer stuck. The window came down. I found that regular duct tape holds and is still holding over a month and for far less money. Flex Tape is nothing more than a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Quick fix

    Flex Seal tape worked best in making quick repairs on our tarps in trucking.

    Flex Seal spray worked on whiplashed tarps even on big areas. Open trailer truck drivers will understand.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 17 people found this review helpful

    If I could give zero stars...

    • Sycamore, IL,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This tape is absolute GARBAGE! We had a small bust in the cold water line that runs to the washing machine. I did NOT want this tape. I wanted to get Pow'r Wrap (highly recommend btw). The tape does not adhere to wet surfaces as it advertises (USE UNDERWATER, my butt). I cleaned the copper pipe, removed backing, blah blah blah. Let the tape sit overnight as well (gets harder over time), when I turned the water back on, the tape didn't stop anything! I thought I had applied it incorrectly, so I removed it and decided to try again. Same result! I beg you, do not buy this tape! It is a complete scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Flex Tape

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Feb 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I would like to say I would recommend all their products. Flex Tape got me out of a big jam when I caught a flat tire. The weather temp, it was below zero, my tire was leaking out the side wall. I tried a regular tire plug, did not hold. I rolled Flex Tape into the shape of a tire plug and it worked like a charm. It has been two months and the Flex plug is still holding like a champ. I have not put a pound of air. Thank you Flex Tape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Pin hole in copper pipe

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 4-inch by 5-foot roll of Flex Tape, cleaned the pipe and put a piece of the tape over the hole. It didn't stop the leak. Then I put a hose clamp over the tape and the hole is still leaking. This tape is JUNK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 19 people found this review helpful

    False advertising.

    • Tennessee,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I pulled a waterbed mattress out of storage and went to set it up to find it had a small (pin sized) hole, so I ran to Lowe’s to get a roll of this. It would not stick or keep the bed from leaking. A waste of my time. Seems like others have complained about it not working as advertised too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Missouri,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I put a piece of Flex Tape on a vinyl tear...the tape did not stick, but was so gummy that it made a big mess. The makers keep falsely advertising the stuff to the point that they should be giving full refunds. The Flex Spray is a darn joke as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 22 people found this review helpful

    You guys need to know!

    • Pittston, PA,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm really loving this product, I have them all! My beef is cutting it. Geeze...perforate it like plastic wrap or like paper towels. The backing is hell to take off!

    Thanks for listening...sharing is caring!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 106

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review