• 137 Customer Reviews
  • 15% Recommend This Product
1.6 out of 5
5 star: 10% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 78%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Waste of money

    • By Jason C.,
    • Madison, OH,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't waste your money. I tried it on a cutter seam that leaked, and it did nothing...waste now just leaks from the edges of the tape. Then I tried it on a small crack in a pool skimmer. I stuck a piece in the outside AND one on the inside where the water is but big surprise, it didn't even try to stick underwater. False advertising that it works underwater or with water. It might patch an air hole, but if water is involved, it won't stop it at all. What a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doesn't work

    • By Thomas F.,
    • Florida,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have seen the commercials over and over again. With great confidence, I purchased this product, Flex Tape, from our local Lowe's to my total disappointment. The tape adhesive was not what the commercials showed, it doesn't stick very well and finally has peeled off. If this company has any backbone to it, they would refund my money! So disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Tape and Glue

    • By Victoria P.,
    • West Orange, NJ,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The glue is extremely difficult to use. No handle (as used on TV) is included when two tubes of glue are ordered.

    Clear tape and glue were ordered, but the glue is white and very noticeable, making the joint glued look bad and sanding and painting will be required.

    The product seems to be holding well as advertised, but all of the one glue opened could not be used, it was much too difficult to get out.

    It would be difficult to recommend this product since I am not sure if I will be able to use the white glue when I expected clear glue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not what it claimed to be

    • By Kris Y.,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried using it to seal a crack in a copper pipe that distributes water to a spout on the outside of my house, and it didn't help at all. Although the plumber's tape I'd tried prior did not work either, which lead me to try the Flex Tape, it still seemed to work better and was half the price of Flex Tape. Not pleased at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False claims

    • By Laura J.,
    • Florida,
    • May 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have tried the Flex Tape and the Flex Seal spray. Neither of these items have worked. I had a spot on the roof and used two cans of spray, but the leak was not affected. Since that experience, I decided to purchase a roll of Flex Tape to mend some hoses. I tried it on four different hoses with leaks in different places. The leak was not stopped on any of them. The best sticking that it stuck my fingers together but not anything that needed repairing. I think their advertisements are lies and I am concerned that because of the boat advertisement, someone will try to mend a boat with it and wind up getting drown. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pure crap

    • By Tony B.,
    • Granada Hills, CA,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried to stop a minor, low-pressure leak on a copper pipe feeding into my pool filter. I did wire brush the area to remove verdigris and dirt, applied the patch, and it came off immediately. I tried different sizes of Flex Tape patch with the same results. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crap, crap

    Overall Experience:

    I would not recommend this product or any other product by Flex. I can't even cut the stuff. It does not close off leak on the hose. The leak just came out of each end. I had to cut the hose and reattach with a splicer. This product is not worth the price. Save money and go to the movies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Works great

    Overall Experience:

    You know, I can't but wonder if all the bad reviews are spam from some other company because this stuff works great. I repaired my turtle tank last year and it is still like new. I have also repaired my torn RV awning and it is still working great. It takes a beating in the weather and the rolling back and forth and holds like I sewed it together. I highly recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Crap

    • By Bill Cosby,
    • Compton, CA,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried putting it on a leaking PVC pipe and it stuck for about 5 seconds then leaked even more. This product is so bad that I would never, ever recommend it to Bill Cosby or my worst enemy. I can't even return it because it's so bad they don't even want it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Sabrina,
    • Iowa,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This tape is junk! It wouldn't even stick to a dry bathtub. I will never buy this again and won't recommend it to any of my friends or family. Thanks for wasting our money on your junk product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By DH,
    • Virginia,
    • Apr 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used it on a copper pipe, and it leaked more after the "repair." Water just seeped right through it. Waste of money and time. This junk tape cost me almost as much as the repair pipe I bought after this junk tape failed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Flex Tape is crap.

    • By William Green,
    • Youngsville NC,
    • Apr 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used it to patch a hole in a fiberglass bath tub. The tape did not even attempt to stick. Scotch tape would have worked better. Makes me wonder about the other Flex products. I purchased the tape to keep on hand ahead of time because I knew I would need it sooner or later. What a disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rubbish and a waste of money. Do not buy.

    Overall Experience:

    I had a PVC water pipe with a small crack causing a very slow leak. Water just seeped around two layers of overlapping tape.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It works!

    • By L Williams,
    • Ohio,
    • Mar 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We used the white Flex Tape to hold our granddaughter's car bumper up. She bottomed out backing out of a steep driveway, and the passenger side bumper came loose. We cleaned the area with rubbing alcohol and when dry, applied the tape. It was 3 degrees out, and it still stuck and held through rain, snow, etc. Didn't look pretty but it worked.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Crap!

    Overall Experience:

    I bought this to fix a slow leak in the PVC pipe to metal shut off valve in the line to my water heater. No heat involved, applied to clean, dry surfaces like it says. It now leaks out the sides of the tape, worse than it did before. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete crap

    Overall Experience:

    It sticks, but the water just leaks out the sides. There's a reason they don't show anything past a split second after slapping it on something on the videos! The water is just displaced, it still leaks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam tape

    Overall Experience:

    This tape is not worth your time or money. It doesn't work at all. I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. I tried it on a crack in a hard plastic skylight cover on my travel trailer and it wouldn't even stick. I'll stick it with duck tape and IT works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't work

    • By Madeline Fey,
    • Punta Gorda, FL,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I applied this tape to a pinhole leak in an outside water pipe. It DID NOT work. I tried the spray, and that didn't work either. I spent a lot of money for nothing but a bigger water bill.

    I would not recommend it to anyone. I can't get my money back because I bought them a while ago thinking they would come in handy if needed. Big mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not for hoses

    Overall Experience:

    We had a freeze, and two garden hoses developed leaks where there had been kinks in the hose. I decided to try Flex Tape on those hoses. I wrapped them at least twice to ensure a good bond. I turned on the water and they failed instantly. In one case, the water pushed a hole through the tape.

    I appears that the tape may be wonderful for flat surface repairs, but is not suited for things like garden hoses.

    The tape is also an absolute bear to cut with scissors. I ended up using a ceramic knife that cuts virtually anything, and still had a hard time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Crap

    • By Ed Blanco,
    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I applied a piece to a small torn piece of the grill cover. Scotch tape would have done a better job. It came off after a few minutes. I'll stick to good old duck tape. Total waste of money. It was purchased at Walmart, so it's going back pronto.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Patch does NOT work

    • By Debbie Ryan,
    • Talking Rock, GA,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Flex Tape worked at first, but within a week my waterbed was leaking again, so we replaced it with a new piece of tape thinking we did it wrong. About two weeks later the waterbed started leaking again, this time I got a real patch that works. Each time I have to replace this patch, I have had to empty my bed to get to the hole, and then refill it costing my water bill to go up and not having a bed for a few days because it needed time to warm the water up again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better products available for far less money

    • By Bob Frost,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As the main review says, you can walk into any good hardware store and buy a huge roll of waterproof tape for far less money than you'll spend for a tiny roll of Flex Tape. I am quite amazed that people buy this product, but obviously, a lot of people do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • In air conditioning application

    • By Kenneth Long,
    • Claysburg, PA,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been in commercial HVAC field for 40 years, and this is an amazing product. I have my guys carry it on their trucks as part of their stock now. It's common to have a condensate pan or pipe crack or rust thru on air conditioning and refrigeration systems, this can cause extensive water damage and equipment downtime.

    Flex Tape will fix any pan or pipe leak. You must clean the pan out. We have applied Flex Tape to both sides and sprayed Flex Seal on the inside over the tape in severe situations. The finale call must be made on site, but so far I have not had to return to replace the pan. We have not had any leaks or callbacks, but this is also dependant on the diligence of the technician too. If it is done properly, you will not have any problems. The cost to repair is about the same as to replace, plus you have far less downtime, which the customer likes as well. It sticks to plastic and metal pans quite well.

    In a nutshell, it all depends on the service tech, but if it is applied properly, it will work!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Used it to help in weatherizing my canopy

    Overall Experience:

    I recently purchased a canopy, to put out back of my house for shelter from the rain, wind, and snow so that I could smoke. I purchased it for the first shipping trip, 7 rolls of the white Flex Tape, to seal the outside of the canopy on top and all four corners, and I'm extremely impressed, and even went back to get 5 more rolls after seeing these incredible results for the first time using. I came up with ideas with turning it now into my very own little outdoor space to relax or whatever.

    I highly recommend the Flex Tape because it turned my canopy from an outdoor wedding canopy that wasn't intended for everyday use and not recommended for windy rainy and snowy weather, to my very own little outdoor woman cave that I can now go use anytime to escape my children, and even husband LOL.

    Thanks Flex Tape. I'm currently thinking of new crafts just to go get more tape.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fixing my pool

    • By Glenna Brown,
    • Mississippi,
    • Oct 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had two large gashes on the side of my above ground pool. I drained it and applied two strips to cover them. They stuck great but not much of it for $15 a roll. I found it at local hardware store. I filled pool back up, and there is still a slight trickle of water coming from the pool. I will be putting more tape over it to fix that, or is my 3-month-old pool a total loss?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • From thrilled to ripped off!

    Overall Experience:

    I had just recently seen the ad for Flex Tape and was going to buy some for the workbench. So, yesterday, when I discovered water in my cellar, I searched all over to finally find the source to be a tiny pin-hole in a small section of copper pipe leading to an outdoor spigot, which I'd long abandoned. The copper was not very old and was still clean.

    When I found this, my first reaction was to regret that I hadn't ordered that Flex Tape! From what I saw advertised, this was the perfect situation. It was late, and I needed something to hold this tiny leak until I could cut and cap off the pipe in the morning.

    We went to our local Walmart to get a few things, and I picked up some piping tape. Then, on the way out, we saw an "As Seen on TV" section, and there was "Flex Tape!" We laughed, not believing our good fortune.

    Back home, I followed the easy directions, cut a section to fit the pipe, cleaned off the tube, and, with visions in my head of that guy on TV slapping the tape over a leak, carefully wrapped the pipe with the sticky tape.

    Did it work? NO! The instant it encountered any moisture, it lost all adhesion. It stuck to itself pretty well, and did stick to the copper, but all this exercise did was to create a sleeve that would direct the drip into a bucket I placed underneath.

    In all fairness, I believe this product can work, but only under dry, optimum conditions, but so will many other tapes. Were there no leak, and I wrapped this tape around the dry copper pipe, I'm sure it would hold, for a while. But why would I do that? I needed this product to work as advertised, and it did not. And I made no demands of it beyond how it was described by the advertisers.

    On a side note, we left the package of plumbing tape I'd picked up in hardware on the Flex Tape display near the check-out. I wonder if someone will take the hint...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By Craig Mills,
    • Georgia,
    • Sep 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a rip-off. $50 for 5' of tape and a 2oz can that wasn't even half full. I will never use their product again. If I wasn't required to give it a star I wouldn't have. It took forever to be delivered, it must have come on the Pony Express. I don't even know if this product works because I'm so shocked by the quantity of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 82-108 of 137

Write a Review for Flex Tape!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Flex Tape