About FlightHub

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff

Are you looking for cheap travel prices with a side of authentically Canadian customer service? FlightHub is an Ontario-based online travel agency that promises the lowest possible prices and multiple conveniences, including:

  • Instant E-ticket delivery that arrives immediately after your booking.
  • Transparent all-in pricing that never surprises you with hidden fees or extra charges.
  • Zero hold time when calling their customer service.
  • Beginning-to-end customer support that extends beyond the ticket buying process to during and after your trip.

Additionally, FlightHub customers can conveniently monitor their reservations online or through a mobile app, receiving travel alerts, schedule changes, or other important information about an upcoming trip.

How Does FlightHub Do It?

The skilled travel specialists at Flighthub boast over two decades of serving Canada’s travel needs offline. Now, Flighthub has caught up with the world of internet commerce by expanding to online bookings with a software database that they claim can’t be beaten.

Flighthub claims direct access to wholesalers, airlines, and hotel suppliers in Canada, allowing their customers to enjoy insider savings without needing to visit multiple websites or locations to compare the best prices.

Why Else Does FlightHub Claim to Be a Better Choice?

Flighthub appears geared towards those who don’t travel frequently, with a support section that answers questions like “How do I use an E-ticket?” and “How do I get a passport?” alongside standard queries such as “When do I need to check in for my flight?”

Aside from their promises of superior customers service, Flighthub offers travelers daily deals that range from $20 off flights to Europe to 55% off hotel bookings.

Flighthub offers travel guides to a variety of their destinations, including information on top tourist attractions and weather.

Screenshot of Flighthub Travel Guides Screenshot of www.flighthub.com

These guides also conveniently display prices converted into Canadian dollars. However, the items that are listed, such as how much it costs to rent a tennis court for one hour or the price to purchase one kilogram of tomatoes, don’t appear particularly useful to the average traveler.

What’s Bad About Booking With FlightHub?

First off, Flighthub is aimed at serving Canadian customers. As they are a third-party vendor, not an airline, there isn’t a route map available on their website. However, all of their potentially handy travel information is only relevant to those based in, or traveling to, Canada.

As far as actually using FlightHub’s search engine, I found it to be clunkier than my personal favorite, Google Flights. Flighthub isn’t the worst airfare search I’ve seen, in that it doesn’t force you to enter airport codes. Additionally, it does offer a convenient drop-down calendar for picking your dates.

However, this is a very no-frills search that fails to offer any flexibility in your searching that might help you discover a lower price, such as the date-by-date low prices displayed in Google Flight’s drop-down calendar, or the totally convenient flexible date option available at SkyScanner.

Like other third-party online travel agents, Flighthub also lacks information on low-cost options Southwest Airlines and Spirit Airlines, which don’t allow their prices to be displayed anywhere other than their official websites.

More on Booking Flights:

Next up on the negatives? While Flighthub doesn’t come right out and admit it, customer reviews of their service state that there are hidden fees—Flighthub membership fees, to be exact.

According to customers, making a booking through Flighthub automatically signs you up for a Flighthub Elite Membership, where you’re given the exclusive opportunity to enjoy monthly charges of $5.95 in exchange for:

  • Access to exclusive travel agent prices
  • Member-only priority customer service line
  • Seat sale alerts as they happen
  • Free Best Purchase Guarantee on all bookings
  • Elite offers and discounts from their travel partners

Those promises are confusing, as Flighthub already claims that customers get the best possible price and never have to wait for customer service assistance. Are these benefits promised to every Flighthub customer or are there additional elite offers and sale alerts for members?

We called Flighthub to clarify whether or not their membership was mandatory—or, at least, automatic when booking through the website. The company’s phone tree doesn’t provide a direct line to speak with customer service. Instead, we were forced to choose bookings and then requested to be transferred to the appropriate party. After a 12 wait, we decided to terminate the call.

So much for that “zero hold time when calling customer service” that Flighthub promised.

With our question about whether or not membership is automatic left unanswered, our best guess is that it’s the former, as your Flighthub Elite Membership login appears to be the same information used to book through Flighthub, leaving us to understand that there’s no distinction between being a customer and an Elite Member.

An additional warning: Because Flighthub is based in Canada, U.S. customers might be charged an international transaction fee due to the currency conversion banks must perform when you book with this company.

We’ll take an in-depth look at customer reviews in a moment. But first, let’s examine Flighthub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Is FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee That Great?

If you’re booking a flight in the United States, the U.S. Department of Transportation regulates that any non-refundable ticket purchased at least seven days before the flight is subject to a 24-hour grace period during which you can hold, change, or cancel your reservation.

While Transport Canada doesn’t appear to enforce the same rule, most major airlines, including Air Canada, still offer their customers that grace period.

Which is why we were surprised to learn that Flighthub’s much-touted Best Price Guarantee isn’t anything more than a similar grace period. Actually, it’s a little less. According to their website:

The Best Purchase Guarantee plan allows you to cancel your booking within the same day (11:59 PM EST) you made the purchase. No questions asked! Simply select the Best Purchase Guarantee plan during the checkout process. The cost is $19.99 per passenger. If you would like to apply your Purchase Guarantee, please call us toll free at 1-800-900-1431, or email us at guarantee@flighthub.com.

So, instead of allowing you 24-hours, Flighthub only gives their customers until midnight on the day of purchase. Additionally, they’ll charge you almost $20 for the convenience, which doesn’t seem like such a great deal.

What Customers are Saying About Flighthub

Flighthub isn’t positively reviewed around the web, with complaints ranging from high ticket prices to hidden fees.

One customer left the following complaint on TripAdvisor:

“I tried to book a flight from Toronto to Barcelona today. The price on the confirmation was different than the one quoted before pressing the Book now button. When I called the 800 number to immediately complain the best they claimed they could do was to charged me $150.00 to cancel the order! Contacted the credit card company to report the fraud all they can do is initiate a dispute resolution.”

While this customer doesn’t explicitly state how long it took him to notice the price difference, if it occurred on the same day as his booking, the $150 fee would contradict FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Previous Flighthub customers replying to the above complaint also called the service a ripoff. One person stated that they were not allowed to use their Flighthub credit to purchase any other flights, being told that none were available. Another claimed that his refund was never actually sent.

Aside from switching prices after purchase and failing to refund money, Flighthub is also accused of sneakily charging customers a monthly membership fee of $5.95 without their approval.

The general consensus over 34 comments? That those who used Flighthub won’t be doing so again.

Bottom Line On Flighthub

How does Flighthub get away with switching ticket prices? A quick peek at their Terms & Conditions states the following:

All prices displayed on the web site are subject to change without notice until ticketed. In some instances, a fare may change after a reservation has been made. In this case we will contact you to advise you of the fare increase before we proceed any further.

The prices set out on the web site may not include taxes or airport charges or other fees. In this case taxes, airport charges and any additional fees will be displayed during the booking process but prior to payment submission. Special conditions may apply to the prices set out on the web site. In the event that your booking is being processed via third party discounters, a service fee may apply.

What the above fine print allows Flighthub to do is bump up the purchase price of your ticket after confirmation, then potentially take weeks or months issuing a refund, as one previous Flighthub customer states was their experience in this thread.

Bottom line on Flighthub’s travel services? Lacking any superb search features or customer protection policies that allow you to cancel your purchase after their short grace period, I don’t personally see any reason to book through Flighthub once you look past their marketing hype.

A better alternative is to use a third-party online travel agent, such as Google Flights or Skyscanner, to search for ticket prices. Then, book directly with the airline of your choice. That way, you get the convenience of viewing all possible ticket prices without becoming obligated to a middle man, should your plans change.

Want to learn more about how to find great travel deals? Check out our tips in:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Consumer Reviews for FlightHub

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • It's a scam

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not book with this company. They will lie to you just to sell you the ticket, but they do not provide what they promise. I cannot believe they are still allowed to function, considering the poor quality of services that they provide. They are just liars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Really bad experience

    I made the unfortunate experience of allowing my sister-in-law, Ophelia Sobah of Bear, Delaware to purchase a one-way ticket for me to travel from New York, New York (JFK), to travel on 12/29/2017 to Monrovia, Liberia on ticket # 147-707298085 departing JFK on 12/29/17 (booking #083-453-302/JCTZQC), departing at 6:45 AM. I also purchased travel insurance policy #17343W2177.

    My travel documents inadvertently got misplaced, requiring a new set of travel documents struggle, and with the concomitant anxiety, I was able to go to the Liberian Consulate and obtain a new Liberian travel certificate dated 12/29/2017. Thereafter, I contacted FlightHub, but unfortunately, there were unable to provide me with any assistance. They kept me juggling between one person to the other without any resolution of my basic interest; travel to Monrovia on the next available flight with additional charge, since I have an insurance on the original flight ticket.

    I may have to avail of the option of legal action against FlightHub with all costs thereto appertaining. I am prepared to drop the whole matter if FlightHub could facilitate my travel from JFK to Monrovia by the next available flight within five days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disgusting company; no empathy or sincerity toward customer, only money matters for them, no quality of service

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Booking reference# 081-891-322.

    This company is completely disgusting and a money taker. Last week one of their agents booked my flight at 11:17 PM with the wrong departure date even though I, the customer, mentioned clearly several times that the date should be January 1, 2018 to January 18, 2018. The agent made the booking in his way and instead of January 18, 2018, put February 18, 2018. The agent was Philipino and it was hard to understand their English.

    When I asked to cancel the booking, it was 3:00 am, not even 6 hours after the booking, and they denied to cancel the booking. After several conversations with several support supervisors, they denied refunding my money saying their agent was right as he confirmed the date while releasing the call and ignored the conversation or speech from the customer. They deducted $150 and $340 for the cancellation. The agent also did not provide itinerary by the time, and I waited for 4 hours to receive itinerary. After 4 hours they denied to refund the booking money.

    This is a horrible experience with dealing with them at the end. No refund and they punished the customer for the agent's mistake with the wrong statement.

    I will prefer no more dealings with these guys and will strongly recommend not to go there. FYI, after searching reviews, I found already 500 complaints filed against this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Pathetic

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Dec 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had to find and pay for our own return to Canada from Bali, where the airport was shut down due to volcanic activity. Assistance from FlightHub was pathetic as they only correspond by phoning there 800-number and that is only available in North America. What the heck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 8, 2017

      Sarah C, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Brian,

      Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our services. Can you please send us an email at social@flighthub.com with your review and your 9-digit reference number. We would like to have someone review this for you.

      Kind wishes,

      FlightHub Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never book with FlightHub!

    I have never in all of my life been treated so unfairly by a company. We STILL do not have any flights going to our destination or coming home. I called them again yesterday, and they sent me to the support department. After the lady came back on the line, she claimed she could not hear me, so I had to hang up. I am tired of the runaround and demand a refund! Their service is awful, and I am warning whoever will read this NOT to use your services!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst agency

    Don’t believe what they tell you when you book or especially when you cancel a flight. Surprise, I saw a $150 charge on my credit card statement today, so I called FlightHub right away and was told there's an admin fee for canceling a $400 flight that I already only got $193 back for. So I got $43 dollars back in the end.

    The person I spoke to at FlightHub last week, the day I canceled my flights, told me something completely different. They told me I would only receive $193 back and that the balance of the other $200 would be taken in fees related to canceling. Made sense to me. Being told two different things is what makes me crazy. Not fair or respectful to the customer.

    I will NEVER, no matter how good a deal it looks like, I will never again make the mistake of using FlightHub. Never, ever. I will tell my friends and post negative reviews to try and help others avoid the frustration of being dealt with so poorly. Zero out of five stars. Lousy customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2017

      Sarah C, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Caroline,

      Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We have successfully located your booking and a member of our Escalations Team will be contacting you regarding this issue.

      Kind wishes,

      FlightHub Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Hidden monthly fee

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The trip booked with FlightHub in 2016 was not a problem at all.

    It's the monthly deduction from my bank that is. I cannot find a way to stop them. Since October 2016, they have deducted $5.95 from my bank every month and there is nothing I can do to stop them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 28, 2017

      Sarah C, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi David,

      Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our services. Can you please send us an email at social@flighthub.com with the last booking number made through FlightHub?

      Kind wishes,

      FlightHub team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Dishonest company - terrible experience

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two tickets via flighthub.com on August 10, 2017, for my family.

    Unfortunately, on August 15, 2017, my wife and my minor son could not carry out or use these tickets because the representatives of Ukrainian International Airlines (UIA) at the airport Borispol (Kiev, Ukraine) didn't let them go on the board. The argument was the following: my wife and son have no a valid transit Schengen visa (with a valid Canadian visa).

    When I was buying tickets via FlightHub, I didn't find any information that I need a transit visa in this case. In addition, during the 10-14 of August, I several times called to the representatives of FlightHub and asked them should my family to have the Schengen visa for the traveling on the route Kiev-Toronto with a transfer in Berlin (if they have a valid Canadian visa) or I should cancel my booking. All representatives of the FlightHub customer support were assuring me that my family doesn't need a transit visa in this case.

    Nevertheless, my family was refused on that flight.

    On the same day (August 15, 2017), at once as my family was denied to let them go on the board, I called to the FlightHub customer support. We spoke with both FlightHub and UIA representatives (by call conference). The representative of UIA confirmed that UIA didn't let my family go on the board, and they canceled our flight in the system (so that it did not look like we just did not come on the flight) and we have the right to the compensation and advised us to apply for the compensation to the FlightHub. After that, I canceled my booking as well (it was two hours before the plane took off) and FlightHub rep assured me that I would get a refund in 6-8 weeks.

    Unfortunately, I still did not get my money back. I called to the FlightHub customer support several times and each time they assured me that I would have my money back very soon. One time they even were surprised that I still did not get money back and assured me that I would get money within 5 business days.

    Furthermore, at the moment FlightHub refuses to refund any sum to me and states that I have no right to the compensation anymore.

    I used to FlightHub to buy tickets plenty of times and always advised to my friends to buy tickets via this company as well. Now, I should warn other people about the dishonesty of this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 17, 2017

      Sarah C, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Viktor,

      Thank you for taking the time to reviewing our services. As per checking, we do see your review has already been sent to our Escalations Team. Someone will be reaching out to you to assist.

      Kind wishes,

      FlightHub Team

    • Dec 1, 2017

      Viktor Sabadash

      I would like to confirm that after my publication, Flighthub returned a portion of the sum to me. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not cancelation insurance

    • Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a flight from Winnipeg to Edmonton through FlightHub with cancellation insurance. Within 24 hours, I had to cancel the flight. I requested a refund to my credit card. The customer representative and her supervisor could not refund the fare to my credit card. It is policy only to issue credits. I was only permitted a credit to my account for future travel. I'm telling all my family, friends acquaintances, "beware of the scam called FlightHub."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not trust them

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked two tickets on September 11, 2017. I had to cancel or hold my tickets because my husband has a stroke in October. I called, and the travel agent told me that you will be charged $300 for either canceling or holding the ticket. I told him to cancel them since it is the same charges. After couple days, I noticed that they charged me another $300 on my credit card and deducted another $300 from the tickets amout. So a total of $600. They used my credit card without my permission! I was never told that I will be paying this much to cancel! Biggest liers ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terrible experience

    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    In February this year, my husband and I found a great deal on a flight from Edmonton to Nepal for $903.61 CAD. The flight was with China Eastern Air, booked through FlightHub. We thought it was too good to be true, and we were right. An ABSOLUTE nightmare.

    Scouring over the itinerary, I couldn't find any reasons as to why the tickets were so cheap, so we purchased them and began to plan our trek through Nepal. The itinerary clearly stated TWO layovers, one in Vancouver, and one in Kunming, China.

    The itinerary was as follows:

    We would fly from Edmonton to Vancouver, then Vancouver to Kunming, China (arriving at 19:25), where we would have an overnight layover. Our flights to Kathmandu left the next day at 16:05.

    I made sure to thouroughly research the Visa requirements for China, and we did not require a Visa for this layover. I booked our hotel in Kunming for our overnight stay.

    Fast forward to our departure date. We flew from Edmonton to Vancouver without any problems. As we were waiting at our gate to board our flight, I was paged to come to the boarding podium (10 minutes prior to boarding). I was informed by the China Eastern air attendant that my husband and I would not be allowed to board the flight as we did not have Visas for China.

    I explained to her that we did not need them as we were flying into and departing from the same city, and we were in China for less than 24 hours. She then informed me that there was an additional layover in Guangzhou, China, which put us in the country for 26 hours (two hours over our time allowed without a Visa).

    I was furious and demanded an explanation as to how an additional layover (that makes the difference between being able to enter a country or not) was not listed on our itinerary. The attendant just shrugged and told us to downstairs to the China Eastern Air ticket desk. We watched our flight to China depart as we scrambled through the airport to find the desk.

    Upon arrival, we were greeted by someone who I can only assume was a robot. We explained our situation numerous times and requested to be reassigned to a flight that could get us to Nepal. The attendant found numerous flights that would get us there, but refused to book us as she said we had to CALL China Eastern Air even though we were standing right in front of her. The only thing she could say was "sorry" with a shoulder shrug, over and over, and over.

    We called, and low and behold, we were transferred to another robot with three phrases: "Im sorry," "I don't know," and "I can't."

    So as my husband attempted to sort things on the phone with the China Eastern rep, I called a FlightHub rep. The FlightHub rep informed me that this was China Eastern's fault and that they needed to fix the situation, while the lady at the desk is telling me that it is FlightHub's problem.

    The FlightHub rep asked me if he could speak directly to the China Eastern desk rep, so I handed her my phone and informed her that he wanted to speak with her. She threw up her hands and kept saying "NO," refusing to take my phone. This went back and forth, each attendant blaming the other, acting like a bunch of children.

    Meanwhile, the only solution that the China Eastern rep (on phone) had was that we could get on the EXACT same flight in two days from that time, which would leave us with the same Visa problem. Not a solution at all.

    Hours later, every international flight that could have taken us to Asia had left, and we were still stuck in the airport, on our phones, trying to get any solutions. So at this point, we are stranded in Vancouver airport (we live in Edmonton) with no flights anywhere.

    Out of the FlightHub rep (phone), the China Eastern rep (phone) or the China Eastern rep (at the desk), nobody helped us. We were finally told that we would receive a full refund on our original ticketed price in 6-8 weeks (from May 30th).

    That still left us stranded in the Vancouver airport with no flights anywhere, and no accommodations. We ended up having to book last minute flights to Nepal (leaving the next day) through another company, which was an additional $3,374 for the both of us. We also lost out on the money we paid for our hotel in Kunming, had to pay for an airport hotel in Vancouver, and we lost out on three travel days.

    Our original flights cost us just over $1,806. We ended up having to pay an additional $3,374 for flights and $200+ for hotels.

    I have made numerous phone calls to FlightHub regarding my refund, with no results. Every phone call is the same. I explain the situation, inquire about my refund and am told, "Please hold for 3-5minutes." 45 minutes later, a rep returns with nothing new to report. I am told that an urgent email has been sent to China Eastern, and I will receive an email from them within 48 hours. I have yet to receive one.

    I have been told numerous times that my refund will be another 6-8 weeks. As of today, it's been 21 weeks, and I have not seen a dime.

    To say we are disappointed is an understatement. The treatment (or lack thereof) we received from FlightHub and China Eastern was absolutely appalling.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for FlightHub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review