About FlightHub

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff

Are you looking for cheap travel prices with a side of authentically Canadian customer service? FlightHub is an Ontario-based online travel agency that promises the lowest possible prices and multiple conveniences, including:

  • Instant E-ticket delivery that arrives immediately after your booking.
  • Transparent all-in pricing that never surprises you with hidden fees or extra charges.
  • Zero hold time when calling their customer service.
  • Beginning-to-end customer support that extends beyond the ticket buying process to during and after your trip.

Additionally, FlightHub customers can conveniently monitor their reservations online or through a mobile app, receiving travel alerts, schedule changes, or other important information about an upcoming trip.

How Does FlightHub Do It?

The skilled travel specialists at Flighthub boast over two decades of serving Canada’s travel needs offline. Now, Flighthub has caught up with the world of internet commerce by expanding to online bookings with a software database that they claim can’t be beaten.

Flighthub claims direct access to wholesalers, airlines, and hotel suppliers in Canada, allowing their customers to enjoy insider savings without needing to visit multiple websites or locations to compare the best prices.

Why Else Does FlightHub Claim to Be a Better Choice?

Flighthub appears geared towards those who don’t travel frequently, with a support section that answers questions like “How do I use an E-ticket?” and “How do I get a passport?” alongside standard queries such as “When do I need to check in for my flight?”

Aside from their promises of superior customers service, Flighthub offers travelers daily deals that range from $20 off flights to Europe to 55% off hotel bookings.

Flighthub offers travel guides to a variety of their destinations, including information on top tourist attractions and weather.

Screenshot of Flighthub Travel Guides Screenshot of www.flighthub.com

These guides also conveniently display prices converted into Canadian dollars. However, the items that are listed, such as how much it costs to rent a tennis court for one hour or the price to purchase one kilogram of tomatoes, don’t appear particularly useful to the average traveler.

What’s Bad About Booking With FlightHub?

First off, Flighthub is aimed at serving Canadian customers. As they are a third-party vendor, not an airline, there isn’t a route map available on their website. However, all of their potentially handy travel information is only relevant to those based in, or traveling to, Canada.

As far as actually using FlightHub’s search engine, I found it to be clunkier than my personal favorite, Google Flights. Flighthub isn’t the worst airfare search I’ve seen, in that it doesn’t force you to enter airport codes. Additionally, it does offer a convenient drop-down calendar for picking your dates.

However, this is a very no-frills search that fails to offer any flexibility in your searching that might help you discover a lower price, such as the date-by-date low prices displayed in Google Flight’s drop-down calendar, or the totally convenient flexible date option available at SkyScanner.

Like other third-party online travel agents, Flighthub also lacks information on low-cost options Southwest Airlines and Spirit Airlines, which don’t allow their prices to be displayed anywhere other than their official websites.

More on Booking Flights:

Next up on the negatives? While Flighthub doesn’t come right out and admit it, customer reviews of their service state that there are hidden fees—Flighthub membership fees, to be exact.

According to customers, making a booking through Flighthub automatically signs you up for a Flighthub Elite Membership, where you’re given the exclusive opportunity to enjoy monthly charges of $5.95 in exchange for:

  • Access to exclusive travel agent prices
  • Member-only priority customer service line
  • Seat sale alerts as they happen
  • Free Best Purchase Guarantee on all bookings
  • Elite offers and discounts from their travel partners

Those promises are confusing, as Flighthub already claims that customers get the best possible price and never have to wait for customer service assistance. Are these benefits promised to every Flighthub customer or are there additional elite offers and sale alerts for members?

We called Flighthub to clarify whether or not their membership was mandatory—or, at least, automatic when booking through the website. The company’s phone tree doesn’t provide a direct line to speak with customer service. Instead, we were forced to choose bookings and then requested to be transferred to the appropriate party. After a 12 wait, we decided to terminate the call.

So much for that “zero hold time when calling customer service” that Flighthub promised.

With our question about whether or not membership is automatic left unanswered, our best guess is that it’s the former, as your Flighthub Elite Membership login appears to be the same information used to book through Flighthub, leaving us to understand that there’s no distinction between being a customer and an Elite Member.

An additional warning: Because Flighthub is based in Canada, U.S. customers might be charged an international transaction fee due to the currency conversion banks must perform when you book with this company.

We’ll take an in-depth look at customer reviews in a moment. But first, let’s examine Flighthub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Is FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee That Great?

If you’re booking a flight in the United States, the U.S. Department of Transportation regulates that any non-refundable ticket purchased at least seven days before the flight is subject to a 24-hour grace period during which you can hold, change, or cancel your reservation.

While Transport Canada doesn’t appear to enforce the same rule, most major airlines, including Air Canada, still offer their customers that grace period.

Which is why we were surprised to learn that Flighthub’s much-touted Best Price Guarantee isn’t anything more than a similar grace period. Actually, it’s a little less. According to their website:

The Best Purchase Guarantee plan allows you to cancel your booking within the same day (11:59 PM EST) you made the purchase. No questions asked! Simply select the Best Purchase Guarantee plan during the checkout process. The cost is $19.99 per passenger. If you would like to apply your Purchase Guarantee, please call us toll free at 1-800-900-1431, or email us at guarantee@flighthub.com.

So, instead of allowing you 24-hours, Flighthub only gives their customers until midnight on the day of purchase. Additionally, they’ll charge you almost $20 for the convenience, which doesn’t seem like such a great deal.

What Customers are Saying About Flighthub

Flighthub isn’t positively reviewed around the web, with complaints ranging from high ticket prices to hidden fees.

One customer left the following complaint on TripAdvisor:

“I tried to book a flight from Toronto to Barcelona today. The price on the confirmation was different than the one quoted before pressing the Book now button. When I called the 800 number to immediately complain the best they claimed they could do was to charged me $150.00 to cancel the order! Contacted the credit card company to report the fraud all they can do is initiate a dispute resolution.”

While this customer doesn’t explicitly state how long it took him to notice the price difference, if it occurred on the same day as his booking, the $150 fee would contradict FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Previous Flighthub customers replying to the above complaint also called the service a ripoff. One person stated that they were not allowed to use their Flighthub credit to purchase any other flights, being told that none were available. Another claimed that his refund was never actually sent.

Aside from switching prices after purchase and failing to refund money, Flighthub is also accused of sneakily charging customers a monthly membership fee of $5.95 without their approval.

The general consensus over 34 comments? That those who used Flighthub won’t be doing so again.

Bottom Line On Flighthub

How does Flighthub get away with switching ticket prices? A quick peek at their Terms & Conditions states the following:

All prices displayed on the web site are subject to change without notice until ticketed. In some instances, a fare may change after a reservation has been made. In this case we will contact you to advise you of the fare increase before we proceed any further.

The prices set out on the web site may not include taxes or airport charges or other fees. In this case taxes, airport charges and any additional fees will be displayed during the booking process but prior to payment submission. Special conditions may apply to the prices set out on the web site. In the event that your booking is being processed via third party discounters, a service fee may apply.

What the above fine print allows Flighthub to do is bump up the purchase price of your ticket after confirmation, then potentially take weeks or months issuing a refund, as one previous Flighthub customer states was their experience in this thread.

Bottom line on Flighthub’s travel services? Lacking any superb search features or customer protection policies that allow you to cancel your purchase after their short grace period, I don’t personally see any reason to book through Flighthub once you look past their marketing hype.

A better alternative is to use a third-party online travel agent, such as Google Flights or Skyscanner, to search for ticket prices. Then, book directly with the airline of your choice. That way, you get the convenience of viewing all possible ticket prices without becoming obligated to a middle man, should your plans change.

Want to learn more about how to find great travel deals? Check out our tips in:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

2246 Consumer Reviews for FlightHub

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1597 4 star: 359 3 star: 46 2 star: 38 1 star:  206
Bottom Line: 88% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 2246
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    FlightHub does not ask you if you want the insurance, they just charged it on the credit card so I had to call back to cancel it. And they said the money will be returned later, but they did not return it. Besides that, on the credit card appears a bunch of charges because each airline charged me separately, plus the FlightHub service fee. At the end, my ticket cost me much more that it was supposed to be. I had to send them my statement to prove them the charges, and I'm waiting for an answer. I will never use FlightHub.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    I am a cancer patient and booked two flights for me and my caregiver to travel to Puerta Vallarta for a week following the end of my chemotherapy in December of 2016.

    Due to complications and infection, I was too ill to travel, and after numerous calls and submission of a doctor's note I was given a credit for the flights for the amount of $977.17 and had until Sept 21, 2017 to use the voucher. I was also informed that all re-booking charges would be dismissed.

    When I went to rebook, I was told that I needed to pay an "additional" $433 per flight, which amounts to basically paying twice for the flights. I tried to escalate to a supervisor but just got put on hold and it never happened.

    This company is highly unethical and does not honor its commitments.

    Buyer beware! Never, ever book with FlightHub!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not use this company!

    • California,
    • Mar 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charge booking fees, which I could deal with, but the 24-hour change/cancellation policy they do not honor.

    They wanted the full price of the ticket that includes three flights, and they would not change one leg of the flight per my request without charging me the entire ticket price( $943 plus an additional $75.00). I was within the 24-hour policy, BUT they have a policy that it has to been within the same calendar day.

    I called the airlines that the flights are booked with, BUT don't bother because FLIGHTHUB is in charge of making the decision (yes, decision), because it is well within their "rules" to have made the change without charging me full price.

    DO NOT book through this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    FlightHub is no good!

    Please do not hand these thieves your money! With this website, the "e-tickets" are not real, and you should report the charges to your bank immediately for dispute. They will continue to steal from you long after your travel plans have been ruined!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Flighthub is a SCAM

    • Edmonton,
    • Dec 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked 4 tickets to Disneyland for spring break at a good price. Almost immediately I received confirmation that the flight was booked and quote "Your reservation is confirmed. No need to call us to reconfirm this reservation." However 22 hours later I received an email stating:

    "Dear customer,

    There was a problem processing your booking. Your reservation is currently on hold. Please call our support department at 1-800-900-1431 to resolve this issue.

    According to airline rules, airfares and taxes can change without notice. This is a time sensitive matter and your quick response will assist in issuing your tickets on time."

    I logged into my account and received this message

    "YOUR RESERVATION REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION!

    Unfortunately, the fare you have recently booked has changed and you are required to give us a call.

    You can reach one of our travel specialist by calling us toll-free at 1-800-900-1431.

    In the event we do not hear from you within the next few hours, your reservation will be cancelled.

    We are sorry for the inconveniences it may have caused."

    Now since I had reservation codes for the airlines I logged in on WestJet and saw our reservations. Having booked literally hundreds of flights I know that you cannot receive confirmation from airlines without payment.

    So what I strongly suspect Flighthub is doing is booking tickets at the low price you book at. They then have their computers watch the system and if flights go up quickly after those tickets were booked, which they often do as there are 4 less seats on that plane. They then send you a threatening email that if you don't pay the extra price they will cancel your reservation, I suspect this scam works on 99% of people.

    Flight consolidators only make a few dollars on flights and Flighthub is unhappy with that so they cheat and quite literally steal from people. The reason I am 100% sure this is the way they scam is that when I went to check if prices went up on our flights, they did not but there was only 3 tickets left at the price I had "paid" but if I wanted 4 the price went up to the extra Flighthub wanted. So why were the tickets I "purchased" and were booked a higher cost when there were still 3 more at the price I paid?

    I tried calling and spent 3 hours mostly on hold and the phone with Leymar and "supervisor" Rox. Their command of the English language was extremely poor. They just continued to quote terms and conditions which would never hold up in court. Rox finally said that someone will call me, I am not holding my breath.

    I should have looked at reviews and the many media stories that are so blatantly negative including the Better Business bBureaus experience.

    Apparently, Flighthubs "office" in Cornwall Ontario is some other business and they just use the address to pretend to be Canadian.

    There are so many heartbreaking stories about people who have been stranded, lost their dream cruise due to nonexistent "booked flights".

    The fact that this company has not been shutdown is unbelievable. Flighthub has given me a new mission. I will be doing everything in my power to have them shut down. This review is just the beginning, I will be speaking with TICO and demanding they be removed. I will also be contacting the BBB and other consumer advocacy groups. As well I will be speaking with MLA'S and MP'S about this blatant scam.

    Might be time to consider a class action lawsuit.

    P.S. Flighthub, do not bother posting a response here telling me to email you with my reservation code and you will notify your "escalation team" trying to show others with your pathetic cut and paste response that you are a legitimate business. Fact is, if I call you I will spend 3 hours on the phone being put on hold and lied to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off! Be warned.

    While booking a family vacation and looking for the best price on tickets traveling first class, I saw that FlightHub had the best price for a multi-city destination for three people. It would be $771.00 per person, leaving Tampa, arriving in Houston, then departing Rapid City, SD, and coming back to Tampa.

    After purchasing the tickets, I noticed that the price had fallen to $708.36 per person. When calling the airline (United) they confirmed that we did not have First Class, but Economy. I called and received the run around by FlightHub. After finally getting to talk to someone live (with not very good English), they proceeded to tell me it would cost an additional $404 per person.

    I will never use this company again. I would have canceled my trip if there wasn't a $250 cancellation fee per person.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    horrible customer service hidden fee

    • Houston, TX,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should've read the review before I booked with FlightHub. My flight confirmation # is KAPP4Q. I called customer service, it takes 30 min to get to someone and they told me it cost $663 to cancel my ticket. To modify the date it will cost an additional $860. My ticket cost $850. They said it was the airline (Korean airline) fee. FlightHub's fee is only $250.

    I called Korean Airlines they said they only charge $300 dollars to cancel the ticket and even less to modify the date.

    These guys are crooks, and they try to blame the airline for the blind charges they make. I will never book with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Crooks

    • 60 highcastle rd,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We're trying to get a name corrected that an agent has misspelled and they keep telling us to call back in 24 hours, and when we do, they tell us to call back again, for at least four times. And when they finally sent out a notification to their airline partners, they come back saying it is not possible, when I specifically called Air Canada myself, and they told me the third party agencies should be able to do that even within 24 hours or our flight. But when we ask FlightHub to correct the name, they lie and say Air Canada did not approve it.

    Now, as we try to cancel our flight a couple of hours before our supposed take off, they charge us $300 per ticket for penality when they confirmed that the agent made a mistake. There was too much lying in the phone call, and all their agents never provided an ID badge number or full name. Finally, when you want to get a refund, they prolong the refund to 6-8 weeks. At the same time, Air Canada is telling us that there should never be a charge for an agent's mistake. We have been on the phone for 10 hours. That's no joke!

    All in all, DON'T book with FlightHub!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    FlightHub never again

    • Whistler, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jul 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very bad experience with FlightHub.

    I booked my flight ticket to Paris the 3rd of July, and on the 4th I call them to change for another date. I spend one hour on the phone with a girl, she changed my flight and said she canceled the previous flight.

    The day after I receive only a confirmation email to say they canceled my insurance but not my flight. So I called them (45 minutes this time) again, and they told me they don't need to cancel the flight because my ticket is not refundable. But by the law, they should refund the taxes and the fees, and when I cancel, they should cancel straight away.

    With FlightHub, to book a flight is super easy, but be careful to not have any problem and have to cancel, because they won't help you at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy from FlightHub

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Oct 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer beware. FlightHub is a scam. Whenever there is a cancellation in the flight, they want you to pay $300 to change the flight time. They are not helpful. Take my advice and buy your ticket directly from the airline's website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 13, 2017

      Sarah C, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Samy,

      Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our services. We would like to look this over for you however we require your 9 digit reference number. Can you please provide this to us by emailing us at social@flighthub.com?

      Kind wishes,

      FlightHub Team

    • Oct 16, 2017

      Samy

      This is the nine-digit number 060-227-813. I want to fly from Edmonton to Toronto November 3, 2017, at 7:30 a.m so I can arrive in Toronto at 1:30 p.m and fly to Bogota at 5:00 p.m, this way my wait will be 3.5 hours which is fine with me. But why, why do you want me to stay in Toronto more than 11 hours? No one told me that I have to wait in Toronto more than 11 hours when FlightHub cancels and changes my flight time.

    • Oct 19, 2017

      Sarah C, Customer Experience Specialist

      Thank you. We do see another review from you about the same reference number. We have updated the team to let them know to contact you as soon as possible.

      Kind wishes,

      FlightHub Team

    • Oct 21, 2017

      Samy

      Their customer service always says the same thing to the client. We will look, blah, blah, blah but they didn't do anything. Just talk but no action.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from this company

    • New York,
    • Feb 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked my flight and realized I made an error the moment I hit "purchase." I called customer service immediately and was told that they'd be happy to cancel my flight for $75. I find it absolutely ludicrous that they would charge anything for this kind of error, especially when contacting them instantly after booking.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 2246

Write a Review for FlightHub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review