FlightHub Review: Will You Really Get the Best Price?

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: May 5, 2016

Are you looking for cheap travel prices with a side of authentically Canadian customer service? FlightHub is an Ontario-based online travel agency that promises the lowest possible prices and multiple conveniences, including:

  • Instant E-ticket delivery that arrives immediately after your booking.
  • Transparent all-in pricing that never surprises you with hidden fees or extra charges.
  • Zero hold time when calling their customer service.
  • Beginning-to-end customer support that extends beyond the ticket buying process to support during and after your trip.

Additionally, FlightHub customers can conveniently monitor their reservations online or through a mobile app, receiving travel alerts, schedule changes, or other important information about an upcoming trip.

How Does FlightHub Do It?

The skilled travel specialists at Flighthub boast over two decades of serving Canada’s travel needs offline. Now, Flighthub has caught up with the world of internet commerce by expanding to online bookings with a software database that they claim can’t be beaten.

Flighthub claims direct access to wholesalers, airlines, and hotel suppliers in Canada, allowing their customers to enjoy insider savings without needing to visit multiple websites or locations to compare the best prices.

Why Else Does FlightHub Claim to Be a Better Choice?

Flighthub appears geared towards those who don’t travel frequently, with a support section that answers questions like “How do I use an E-ticket?” and “How do I get a passport?” alongside standard queries such as “When do I need to check in for my flight?”

Aside from their promises of superior customers service, Flighthub offers travelers daily deals that range from $20 off flights to Europe to 55% off hotel bookings.

Flighthub offers travel guides to a variety of their destinations, including information on top tourist attractions and weather.

Screenshot of Flighthub Travel Guides Screenshot of www.flighthub.com

These guides also conveniently display prices converted into Canadian dollars. However, the items that are listed, such as how much it costs to rent a tennis court for one hour or the price to purchase one kilogram of tomatoes, don’t appear particularly useful to the average traveler.

What’s Bad About Booking With FlightHub?

First off, Flighthub is aimed at serving Canadian customers. As they are a third-party vendor, not an airline, there isn’t a route map available on their website. However, all of their potentially handy travel information is only relevant to those based in, or traveling to, Canada.

As far as actually using FlightHub’s search engine, I found it to be clunkier than my personal favorite, Google Flights. Flighthub isn’t the worst airfare search I’ve seen, in that it doesn’t force you to enter airport codes. Additionally, it does offer a convenient drop-down calendar for picking your dates.

However, this is a very no-frills search that fails to offer any flexibility in your searching that might help you discover a lower price, such as the date-by-date low prices displayed in Google Flight’s drop-down calendar, or the totally convenient flexible date option available at SkyScanner.

Like other third-party online travel agents, Flighthub also lacks information on low-cost options Southwest Airlines and Spirit Airlines, which don’t allow their prices to be displayed anywhere other than their official websites.

Next up on the negatives? While Flighthub doesn’t come right out and admit it, customer reviews of their service state that there are hidden fees—Flighthub membership fees, to be exact.

According to customers, making a booking through Flighthub automatically signs you up for a Flighthub Elite Membership, where you’re given the exclusive opportunity to enjoy monthly charges of $5.95 in exchange for:

  • Access to exclusive travel agent prices
  • Member-only priority customer service line
  • Seat sale alerts as they happen
  • Free Best Purchase Guarantee on all bookings
  • Elite offers and discounts from their travel partners

Those promises are confusing, as Flighthub already claims that customers get the best possible price and never have to wait for customer service assistance. Are these benefits promised to every Flighthub customer or are there additional elite offers and sale alerts for members?

We called Flighthub to clarify whether or not their membership was mandatory—or, at least, automatic when booking through the website. The company’s phone tree doesn’t provide a direct line to speak with customer service. Instead, we were forced to choose bookings and then requested to be transferred to the appropriate party. After a 12-minute wait, we decided to terminate the call.

So much for that “zero hold time when calling customer service” that Flighthub promised.

With our question about whether or not membership is automatic left unanswered, our best guess is that it’s the former, as your Flighthub Elite Membership login appears to be the same information used to book through Flighthub, leaving us to understand that there’s no distinction between being a customer and an Elite Member.

An additional warning: Because Flighthub is based in Canada, U.S. customers might be charged an international transaction fee due to the currency conversion banks must perform when you book with this company.

We’ll take an in-depth look at customer reviews in a moment. But first, let’s examine Flighthub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Is FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee That Great?

If you’re booking a flight in the United States, the U.S. Department of Transportation regulates that any non-refundable ticket purchased at least seven days before the flight is subject to a 24-hour grace period during which you can hold, change, or cancel your reservation.

While Transport Canada doesn’t appear to enforce the same rule, most major airlines, including Air Canada, still offer their customers that grace period.

Which is why we were surprised to learn that Flighthub’s much-touted Best Price Guarantee isn’t anything more than a similar grace period. Actually, it’s a little less. According to their website:

“The Best Purchase Guarantee plan allows you to cancel your booking within the same day (11:59 PM EST) you made the purchase. No questions asked! Simply select the Best Purchase Guarantee plan during the checkout process. The cost is $19.99 per passenger. If you would like to apply your Purchase Guarantee, please call us toll free at 1-800-900-1431, or email us at guarantee@flighthub.com.”

So, instead of allowing you 24-hours, Flighthub only gives their customers until midnight on the day of purchase. Additionally, they’ll charge you almost $20 for the convenience, which doesn’t seem like such a great deal.

What Customers Are Saying About Flighthub

Flighthub isn’t positively reviewed around the web, with complaints ranging from high ticket prices to hidden fees.

One customer left the following complaint on TripAdvisor:

“I tried to book a flight from Toronto to Barcelona today. The price on the confirmation was different than the one quoted before pressing the Book now button. When I called the 800 number to immediately complain the best they claimed they could do was to charged me $150.00 to cancel the order! Contacted the credit card company to report the fraud all they can do is initiate a dispute resolution.”

While this customer doesn’t explicitly state how long it took him to notice the price difference, if it occurred on the same day as his booking, the $150 fee would contradict FlightHub’s Best Purchase Guarantee.

Previous Flighthub customers replying to the above complaint also called the service a ripoff. One person stated that they were not allowed to use their Flighthub credit to purchase any other flights, being told that none were available. Another claimed that his refund was never actually sent.

Aside from switching prices after purchase and failing to refund money, Flighthub is also accused of sneakily charging customers a monthly membership fee of $5.95 without their approval.

The general consensus over 34 comments? That those who used Flighthub won’t be doing so again.

Our Bottom Line on Flighthub

How does Flighthub get away with switching ticket prices? A quick peek at their Terms & Conditions states the following:

“All prices displayed on the web site are subject to change without notice until ticketed. In some instances, a fare may change after a reservation has been made. In this case we will contact you to advise you of the fare increase before we proceed any further.

“The prices set out on the web site may not include taxes or airport charges or other fees. In this case taxes, airport charges and any additional fees will be displayed during the booking process but prior to payment submission. Special conditions may apply to the prices set out on the web site. In the event that your booking is being processed via third party discounters, a service fee may apply.”

What the above fine print allows Flighthub to do is bump up the purchase price of your ticket after confirmation, then potentially take weeks or months issuing a refund, as one previous Flighthub customer states were their experience in this thread.

What’s the bottom line on Flighthub’s travel services? Lacking any superb search features or customer protection policies that allow you to cancel your purchase after their short grace period, I don’t personally see any reason to book through Flighthub once you look past their marketing hype.

A better alternative is to use a third-party online travel agent, such as Google Flights or Skyscanner, to search for ticket prices. Then, book directly with the airline of your choice. That way, you get the convenience of viewing all possible ticket prices without becoming obligated to a middle man, should your plans change.

» See Also: Top Travel Tips: Research, Purchase, and Fly with Confidence

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 2254 FlightHub Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1596 4 star: 359 3 star: 46 2 star: 38 1 star:  215
Bottom Line: 88% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 2254
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Is FlightHub a big SCAMMER?

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Dad passed away 12 days ago. It was unexpected, so I had to book a last-minute ticket to be able to travel to my country of origin on time for the funerals.

    I spent two hours trying to find a ticket while crying for my loss. Finally, I found a ticket with FlightHub - even if the price was 1.5 times more than what I usually pay - which considering my situation, I purchased. But after checking I discovered the arrival time didn’t meet my needs, which was my mistake since I was booking my tickets through tears since I was emotionally distraught.

    A larger problem was being charged approximately $600 more than advertised on the website, which wasn't my mistake.

    I called to ask for a refund and a correction to the booking.

    The agent on the phone helped me to change my arrival time, but I had to pay even more money and when I told him that I have already paid more than announced he said that was the insurance. I was told the price increased while I was calling him because "it's dynamic." And it happened twice within a few minutes, while booking with him, even if I told him that the price was still showing the same on their website; I can imagine it was not him who was doing it but instead, perhaps a combination of numbers in the system in front of him to trap people while calling. I hope It wasn’t a SCAM.

    I also gave him the reason for my trip, but it didn't change anything. I ended up paying almost triple what I usually pay for the same destination. Fortunately, I had a credit card to use. Unfortunately, I am now in debt. I can also imagine an airline that endeavors to support its customers in their time of need, not one that takes advantage of them during times when they are most vulnerable.

    When I arrived at the airport the day after, a very caring hostess was surprised that I had to pay that amount, especially in this situation and told me that Air Canada and Air Lufthansa, both have what they call "bereavement fair," which I learned was a significant discount when somebody has to travel for the funeral of a direct member of the family.

    I called back FlightHub, but they refused to do anything about it. I was asking for a partial refund - telling me that I already used the ticket, and that they don't have any special program like the "bereavement fair."

    I called Air Canada and Air Lufthansa, and they tried to help as much as possible, asking me to send an email because they’re not my direct seller so they didn't receive the money since they sell bundled tickets to other agencies and then the agencies deal with it.

    So, so far, I'm waiting for the answer from Air Canada and Lufthansa, and I'm paying my debt...

    I wish I had known all of this previously. I would have called Air Canada’s reservation service directly. So far, I have always had a pretty good experience with them.

    I will NEVER book with FlightHub again!

    P.S. If I could put negative stars, I would have done it...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I should be in Portugal now - but I'm not because of FlightHub

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a ticket booked on FlightHub, supposed to be leaving yesterday on WestJet and Azores Airlines to Lisbon Portugal. FlightHub says that WestJet canceled the first leg of my flight due to the Boeing 737 MAX being grounded. I insisted that my booking still be kept, as I was fairly certain a replacement plane would be brought in for the flight. WestJet informed me that FlightHub had canceled my entire booking on March 16th without my permission! How can FlightHub cancel my flights when I've paid and I have tickets?

    After many hours on hold and a day at the airport talking to WestJet guest services, I realized I had no booking any longer and so asked for my refund. It was so infuriating. FlightHub agreed I had no way of traveling to my destination as planned, yet said my refund was not approved and they would have to put in a request to Azores airlines and then possibly get the money back in 6-8 weeks. My travel insurance will not cover the shenanigans of FlightHub, but I have had my credit card put a hold on the funds and list the amount under dispute. I am so furious! Avoid FlightHub at all costs! Any advice for what further action I can take is appreciated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Unauthorized charge

    • Minnesota,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was considering purchasing a flight through this site, I had everything ready to purchase but didn’t actually purchase the flight. I get an email stating they are holding my seat for two hours if I want to proceed with the purchase. I do nothing, next email I get is saying my reservation has been canceled because I didn’t confirm my flight and I would be refunded. Now first off, how was I charged for a flight I didn’t confirm? Why did I never receive anything showing I purchased a flight, but oh yeah...because I didn’t! Well, three days later and still no refund or response from FlightHub! Beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Got trapped by FlightHub

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yesterday I called FlightHub to change the flight that I got from FlightHub. The representative from FlightHub told me that he was trying to contact the airline to see whether he could save some money. The person on the line (according to him the person was from airline) told me they have a promotion with Google that if I pay using Google Play I would save $250. And the person told me to buy $1000 of Google Play card. I did, and once I gave those Google Play number and a copy of the receipt, they asked me to buy more. All this time I thought I was talking to a genuine person as a FlightHub representative forwarded me. It was fraud. They took $1000 and disappeared. The representative of FlightHub was working with a fraud company. I had canceled all my four bookings from FlightHub even though the cancelation fee and airline fees were $3000. Today I lost altogether $4000 because I used FlightHub. Please use Skyscanner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    FlightHub scam

    • Canada,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DON'T BOOK THROUGH FLIGHTHUB.

    I wish I could give zero stars. Like so many other travelers have experienced, the promises made about flights on FlightHub's website did not match the receipt they sent after booking. Basically they sold us Business Class seats and when the receipt came to our email, the seats were economy class. We even decided to book over the phone to make sure we were getting what we thought and we were and we were flat out lied to by the FlightHub rep. Then they tried to take a deposit for our cancelation. They said $75 a ticket and whittled it down to $25 a ticket. No matter how hard we tried, we could not speak to a supervisor. FLIGHTHUB is a TOTAL SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Be careful booking with FlightHub

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    FlightHub.com has a problem with their system. Somehow they put my name on two tickets. I have seen similar reviews now that I have searched. When I called to get it resolved, they said there was nothing they can do. So, now I have two tickets for myself on a flight and need to find a new ticket for my wife. I called the airline and they said they have been seeing a lot of these same problems from FlightHub. I bought it because it was a great price but now is going to cost me much more than booking directly with the airline.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This business should not be allowed to operate

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a very bad experience dealing with FlightHub last December 2018. All is well until I had to call them to change my return flight date. They charged me $400 plus and I said ok. They called again to inform me that it is now $500 plus. I said ok, and they will email me my new itinerary within 24 hours. After 3 days, no itinerary yet. I called them again and now they want an additional $150 for a no show fee! Opportunistic, ripoff, scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are a scam. They are so frustrating to deal with. They took our money from the credit card without making any changes to the flights. They put me on hold for hours on the phone. Do not use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Best price guarantee is scam

    • Manitoba, Canada,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pricing is a scam. They say only a certain number of flights left at a certain price...then the price goes up. Then all of a sudden after you book the price goes down. They do not honor new lower price then want to charge a big cancellation fee so it's not worth changing. Flight is three months away, it's not like I am trying to change last minute. Worst ticket agency I have ever dealt with. First and last time with FlightHub.

    The $19.99 cancellation insurance is a scam. They don't tell you it's only good for 24 hours. A waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    FlightHub - worst customer service.

    • Montreal, Canada,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been talking to a customer service agent for about 30 minutes and after she said she'd be back to me with a confirmation of change she just left me hanging on the phone for more than an hour! I thought she was coming back but nothing. It's so frustrating when you can't even follow up with a supervisor because they won't give you their name of employee number. When you call back, they say they can't do anything about it?! I guess you just have to deal with the bad service and lose your time and money. I can't believe a company like that can get away with such bad customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not use FlightHub

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a flight from FlightHub. I change my flight with the airline company directly. FlightHub cancels my flight without any notification. The worst thing is they asked to delete my entire file, so I cannot even receive a message from the airline company. I knew it when I was check-in at the airport.

    WARNING! Do not use FlighHub! Changing flight directly with the airline company is cheaper than them. Therefore, even they lose, they won't let you win.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 2254

Write a Review for FlightHub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review