About Flip with Nick

If you’re interested in earning money through real estate investing, Nick Vertucci’s Flip with Nick seminar claims to help you learn how to become the next real estate millionaire and to create financial security for you and your family. In fact, his Fortunes in Flipping quick start events are claimed to help “show you the ropes and get you on the path to success.”

But what can you really expect from a Flip with Nick event, and is it ultimately worth your time? Nick Vertucci reached out to us directly regarding his training programs, and here’s what we learned.

How Flip with Nick Works

Flip with Nick was created by Nick Vertucci, who claims that because of his failure to “invest in his future,” he lost nearly everything he had during the dot-com crash of 2000. However, Nick claims that after a friend invited him to a 3-day real estate training seminar, his life—and his financial situation—began turning around

Today, Nick Vertucci is a retired police officer turned real estate entrepreneur, mentor, and coach, host of “The Real Estate Flipping Hour” radio program, and creator of the Flip with Nick live introductory seminar, which claims to show you exactly what he’s done to make millions flipping real estate. In fact, regardless of your background, experience, or financial situation, Flip with Nick claims to give you a blueprint for success and to act as your mentor so you don’t have to go it alone.

In addition, the Flip with Nick system claims to help you “get in, get out, and get paid” in as little time as possible by discussing important factors such as locating the best properties and how to obtain no-money-down funding.

Flip with Nick Pricing & Refund Policy

Signing up for one of Flip with Nick’s live Quick Start events is completely free, although you’ll need to provide your name, address, and email, and choose an upcoming event date and location (see more about this in the Bottom Line section).

On the day of the event, the Flip with Nick website claims you’ll also receive Nick’s Fortunes in Flipping kit, which is claimed to be valued at $400.

Is Flip with Nick for You?

So, if you’re looking to get your feet wet in the world of house flipping but don’t know where to begin, does Flip with Nick represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind before signing up:

Testimonials, Case Studies, & Examples

First and foremost, the likelihood that you will achieve the same financial success as Nick Vertucci or any of the individual testimonials solely depends on how dedicated you will be in applying and utilizing the information you receive. Don't expect over-night success (just like anything in life). In fact, the Disclaimer on the Flip with Nick website specifically states, “Testimonials, case studies, and examples found at this website are exceptional results, do not reflect the typical purchaser's experience, don’t apply to the average person and are not intended to represent or guarantee that anyone will achieve the same or similar results…The described experiences are atypical. Your financial results are likely to differ from those described in the testimonials.”

In other words, will you become successful using the information learned in Flip with Nick? According to Nick Vertucci, this largely depends on how much effort you’re willing to put forth, and for how long, although he claims that if you’re willing to apply the training, you will see results. However, exactly what these results will look like will vary from individual to individual.

Does the Location Work for You?

Although the majority of Flip with Nick main events occur in Orange County, CA, there are free preview and workshop events held regularly throughout all 50 states.

This means that, when attending main events, you may need to factor travel expenses into your budget, especially if you’re located outside of the Southern California region.

Flip with Nick’s Reputation

Overall, there is very little online feedback from former or current Flip with Nick customers, although the Nick Vertucci companies have been in business since 2005, and Nick Vertucci Real Estate Academy (e.g. Flip with Nick) Nick incorporated since January 2014.

The company holds an A- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on just 1 closed complaint (as of 3/30/15), which referenced difficulty obtaining a refund after missing classes. The organization is also Ripoff Report Verified, but does not have any complaints filed.

With this said, since writing our original review, more than 50 HighYa readers have provided feedback about Flip with Nick, and have given the program an average rating of 4.5 stars. Common compliments appear to reference the high-quality information learned, that this information can be immediately put to use, and the fact that Nick himself actually conducts the classes.

Is the Value Good?

As Nick passed along to us (and as we mentioned above), he believes that the information contained in any Flip with Nick program will provide you with the information you need to succeed—at least to some degree—as long as you’re willing to put in the time and effort to make it happen. And based on the numerous positive reviews posted here on HighYa, it appears that Flip with Nick has helped many others find success.

With this said, keep in mind that if you’re thinking about attending a free Flip with Nick seminar, you will be presented with the opportunity to purchase additional training. Nick informed us that attendees are under no obligation to purchase anything, and should the individuals be interested, they can proceed forward. Nick did stress to us that he is specifically against high-pressure sales tactics, which is good.

According to Nick, “you will either pay your tuition in class or in the field,” and it’s ultimately up to you decide which route you’ll take.

Bottom line: Can you Expect Flip With Nick to Work?

With most of the reviews here at HighYa praising Flip with Nick, it appears that if you do work the program and put in the effort, you can reap great benefits and satisfying results. It's important to note that this seminar is not intended to teach you how to become wealthy and successful over-night. As such, if certain people expect an easy-route in Nick Vertucci's workshop, they will soon learn that quick money is not always the case. However, because other real estate “gurus” often use their free events to pump up your emotions and to hard sell you on higher-priced programs, Nick claims this is a “black eye” on the industry, and is something he’s out to try and change.

When it comes down to it, unlike some of the other real estate programs we’ve reviewed, such as Scott Yancey and FortuneBuilders, Nick Vertucci appears to firmly stand behind his products and seminars, and states that—as long as you’re willing to put in the time and effort—he can help you become a successful real estate investor.

Ultimately, you’ll have to decide whether or not you’ll gain knowledge in the field through trial and error, or through paying (what some might consider) steep prices to learn what you need in one of Flip with Nick’s programs.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 428 Flip with Nick Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 403 4 star: 10 3 star: 5 2 star: 5 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 97% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 428
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 23 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Way to much money for this tour and at home experience

    • Oct 21, 2014

    I paid over $65,000 to attend to this academy. I am way disappointed that I could have got this education for under $2,000. I guess we are paying for his great way of life he is living. They say they will be there for you but that is not true, takes days for a response when you need it sooner. The at home experience is $25,0000 for three days home training which is way over priced. I still can believe I did it. Boy I was stupid. I am just so angry for getting in debt for this training. They make it sound that they will help you get your first deal and its all smoke and mirrors. I would not recommend anyone to spend there life savings on this academy. When you can do it under $2,000 as I found out after getting in debt with Nicks Academy, sure wish I knew what I know now...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Can not say it is bad

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    I am an immigrant who worked really hard to have a Master Degree, a 790 credit score and a decent retirement. I've learned a lot about financial tricks and cool financial websites during those 3 days seminar. However at the end my confidence was shattered when I found out I had to put $39,000 out of pocket to attend the "bus tour" or I would be out of luck with ANY help.

    I felt discriminated after I declined to pay the $39,000, I would not be "part" of the "NETWORK." I felt offended, after spending $1,600 for the 3 day seminar my options were all or nothing.

    May be I am the naive one. The person who does not take money from people who can not afford the $39,000 but have hopes that a miracle is going to happen and change their financial situation.

    I was told you are in the "people's business". How about if your "NETWORK" would share a couple of small investments with the beginners to add up enough money to pay for the their "bus tour"? Then set the new "investors" free on their own.

    Best wishes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Completely Worth It

    • Denver, CO,
    • Feb 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Several weeks ago, my partner and I attended the Free Event that Nick marketed on the radio. We figured that it was a sales pitch and they were going to try to sell us something, which they did, but the guy running the free event tried to hype us up far less than I had expected. He made only a minor attempt at trying to engage emotions, and twisted no arms.

    We made a choice to purchase the Three Day Class, but it was not the sales pitch that sold us. When we purchased the class, we were given a signed certificate with a guarantee that made sense to me. To me, it said that Nick and his team have finely tuned a system to the point that they can basically ensure success.

    Last weekend, we attended the Three Day Class. They try to sell you something again, but they actually do teach you how to make money. We were equipped with several methods to make money, and met with coaches to develop a game plan to do so. I never expected to come away from this class with so much knowledge and confidence. Based on what was presented to us, we decided to buy more training. Had we not, we still would have left the class with the tools and a plan to make money. If you buy the class and go into it thinking that is probably a scam, you are walling out all possibility of success. If you are sick of being a corporate slave barely getting by, take a chance and attend the class. But, do it with an open mind and a positive attitude. Their system really does work, and the Three Day Class is just the tip of the iceberg.

    We want more out of life than working for someone else, for less money than we are worth. After discovering this wonderful community of people, we truly believe that NVREA will teach us what we need to know, to be as successful as we want to be. And, I am certain that we will make money before beginning the next phase of training.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 27 people found this review helpful

    I want to believe

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Recently I signed up for a Nick Vertucci Academy in Pasadena, CA. I must say that I can believe that these workshops can lead into something that would make a hard worker come out ahead. But I am not sure that this was the right start. I started by going to nickflipsla.com site and signed up. I instantly got a text back from someone telling me I had a confirmed seat and that I would get a call soon. I got a call the next day, a week later and the day before the event making sure I was coming and giving me the whole speech about what I was receiving if I came. That started to creep me out and make me feel like I was being sucked into a scam. I had committed to going and saw it was at the Sheraton, so I figured I wasn't going to get mugged, so I picked up my brother and took my guest to see if we could work together.

    Once I arrived, I was greeted in a small hallway with a line of people from all walks of life and offered a coffee or hot chocolate until we could go in and get a seat. In about 5 minutes we were escorted into room with a screen projector and three kits in the front and a table with forms in the back and about 20 seats in the middle. We started our session with a 15 minute video from Nick Virtucci repeating the same things we had seen on the TV infomercial. At the end of the video he apologizes for not being able to be present, but leaves us in the good hands of his friend. Instantly we get a guy jump up and introduce himself and tell us he is not the person, but proceeds to hype up the person who should have gone up to begin with.

    Trying too hard! They keep creeping me out asking questions like are you here because you want to succeed? Of course.

    After our presenter comes up and gives his presentation that made a lot of sense. He ends by saying, you are probably wondering why a successful person like me would come down to Pasadena and do a session like this. "I do these as a favor to Nick and his wife, plus I never say no to a free trip and some cash." I would have been happy assuming that he did it because he believed in Nick and his plan.

    Bottom line, we were offered a chance to sign up for full seminar in January and told we could get it for $1695 now in any form of payment, including various forms of payment mixed as long as we paid and didn't lose out on the opportunity for a three day seminar with promising topics I might have paid for even if it wasn't tied to Nick. If I didn't sign up I would have to call the corporate office and pay the full price of $5,400.

    I admit the whole thing was tempting. I was getting a class I would have paid for anyhow for $1,695 and I was being allowed to bring a second person for free (2 for 1). But I kept getting a creepy vibe. My brother felt the same way, but was willing to pay if I paid. Unfortunately between his unemployed self and my broke self, we did not have the $1,695 and he had already borrowed money from people that might have helped us out. We decided to walk out on our opportunity. We were not stopped or looked at twice. Three people ran to the back table to sign up, a few stood around talking, about 15 of us walked out.

    After I walked out, I realized that we had not been given our kit or meal. All I had to show was a hot chocolate in my stomach and a Sheraton pen and pad and a whole lot of temptation.

    If I had the money, I probably would have paid. I researched more for the corporate office page and haven't found how to call them. They could have handed me a second chance brochure on my way out with corporate number or something. Yesterday I got a CD in the mail with a photocopied sheet. Still not inspiring! I am all for signing up, but I have to admit that they creeped me out. I expected a larger seminar with more information and a better way to sign up. But I am still contemplating whether to sign up from a more official looking venue. I don't want to pay full price of course, but even that sounded fishy.

    What's going on Nick? Is it really you?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 2, 2016

      Company Response from NV Real Estate Academcy

      Stephen

      Yes it's really me Nick ! I'm not sure why every thing and everyone kept creeping you out. But I know my call center staff and event staff are all cordial friendly individuals. But my apologies regardless.

      You mentioned wanting a contact number in case you decide to sign up at a later date. I will honor the event price for you. Our 3 day class is amazing and you would love it. But regardless I want you to of had a great experience with us. You did need to stick around for your free gifts. You mentioned you left.

      If you call the 800 number which is 800-328- 6418 we will ship you out what you missed.

      Also you can Email us at info@nvrea.com

      Let us know what we can do for you. We are the best in this business and would like to show you we care.

      Nick Vertucci

      Nick@nvrea.com


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Very Disappointed

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Feb 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name is Philip. I am a disabled person that supports an ex marine with Alzheimer and dementia and an autistic brother. I went to the free day and was okay with the presentation. I felt like I had to do whatever it takes to get to this 3 day seminar. As I sit here and reflect you will see that I did whatever it took. I took out one of those rip off loans where you borrow 1600 and over the next two to three years pay back 6800. I also took out a future check payback advance for gas and food money. What a waste. I should have never attempted to better my family's life by taking this chance. I felt I was sacrificing to get where I needed to be. It turns out that I am ashamed that I fell for this garbage seminar. I know more about foreclosure and flipping and rehabbing than this presentation. The whole seminar was a bait and switch, with motivation and speaker's personal story fill-ins. There was NOTHING about how to make an offer, no analysis of property's worth, no specific search, no comps techniques different from what the average realtor would tell you to do.

    I am like I said disabled and it was hard for me to be there, out of town, not a lot of money to eat (thank god lunch was free). My shoes would not even fit on my feet. A few of us felt the same way about no content, no value, and we basically paid 1695 to sit and listen to a three day sales pitch for a 49,000.00 bus trip, which is the company's ultimate goal. So I wish I could return these CDs and books after reading through them and finding no value at all. So I sit here frustrated, penniless, feeling taken advantage of and really foolish for being tricked into being a seminar junky I guess. I am very sad and don't know what I can do to recover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 15, 2016

      Company Response from NV Real Estate Academcy

      Philip,

      This review is very disappointing! Here is why. Our Sacramento trainers are very savvy and give tons of content for only $1695.00. And two, lunch is provided all the days. You received my detailed CD and book set as well. I personally wrote and recorded that set and there is also plenty of information on how to flip a property.

      With that said, you could of contacted us and told us about your situation versus posting here. That class was ecstatic with the three days of training for the value.

      I believe your financial situation has made your state of mind uneasy. Let me help by returning your $1695.00 plus $100.00 in expense money to make up for gas. You can keep the home course and kit as my personal gift. Lunch is on the house too.

      Please contact our office at 800-328-6418 and ask for Jamie Tomlinson and he will accommodate the above relief for you.

      Lastly we do not have a 49K sales package so not sure what you mean.

      In the future I would suggest you communicate as a first option versus posting about a reputable company with good intentions and great fulfillment.

      Respectfully,

      Nick Vertucci

      NVREA


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Good info

    • Sacramento, Ca,
    • Jun 19, 2015

    I signed up for the free seminar some time in April or May of 2015. The three day seminar was packed with useful information and the guest speakers were inspirational and informative. They brought in a guy who told you a lot of info you would need to know about having a business, and they brought in a couple of people who started flipping houses 6 months prior to the class. The folks that the academy hooked us up with for funding and LLC's were awesome and it went along swimmingly. I have a property under contract right now and I am looking to wholesale it for $12,000 profit by June 19th 2015. I am still in detective mode so, if the system that I learned gives me the green light, I will be taking this review again to update you all on my success.

    I like the confidence the class gives me to take the risk of contacting people in order to make money. I would give the Academy 5 stars if I had the free tablet I was promised and if my business partner was added to their Facebook page. As a package deal, I am happy with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Nick may be good, but...

    • Phoenix,
    • Feb 5, 2016

    A friend invited me to listen to Nick in Phoenix/Glendale, AZ. We are (and have been) pretty successful in fix and flip and actually don't need to earn the money to get involved, we already have it. Our challenge is being able to consistently find properties that are priced correctly to be successful. (FYI, I'm a contractor so I understand, far better than most, what profit really is).

    I went to the presentation, and to be honest with you, was completely turned off by it. Based on what I've read on this site, it seems that Nick is a stand-up guy. Unfortunately, the presentation I went to did not inspire me to invest, instead it threw up red flags. I consider myself experienced, and perhaps a bit jaded, because as the presentation progressed, it became predictable. If you've had any sort of professional sales training (specifically in the 90's), you know about tactics like "talk like a lamb, sell like a lion," etc., and would be able to predict what came next. I have a notebook where I wrote down what came next during the presentation, and it was right out of the snake-oil sales training. On top of that, if the presenter was as successful as he claimed, he would have looked the part. Successful people always present themselves in a certain "successful way", which means if you're giving a presentation, you wear a suit. And the suit would be freshly laundered and pressed, including the shirt and tie. What we saw was an old, grizzled, "say what ever it takes to make the sale" huckster. Who, by his own admission, was at the end of his very long (one week) sales trip, and that's exactly how he looked. Add to this, his inconsistent story and crocodile tears. Jeez, really, can he be anymore cliche? 

    Bottom line is this, getting access to the bundled properties the banks are selling to investment companies got our attention, and I really want to believe that Nick's program is legit, but the presentation I went to lead me to believe that it is not. And after reading the reviews on this site, I'm not sure what to believe. Too much inconsistency.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 5, 2016

      Company Response from NV Real Estate Academcy

      Hi ERIC

      I wanted to personally respond. Rhis is Nick Vertucci. I'm very sorry that this was your impression. I know Mike our speaker personally and he is definitely not the norm. Very eccentric and yes, he does not wear suits. He is very successful and he really has a heart for the students. Same as myself, I never ever wear a suit. It's just not me. I'm at our four day main event this weekend and tomorrow will be wearing an Angels baseball jersey. It's just who I am. Some of the biggest slick Willys wear suits and come across very polished but everyone is different.

      Mike and the team had a great trip to Phoenix and we have a very large group moving on to the 3 day event.

      I care deeply about my company, my people, my students, and also my reputation. I'd Love to send you my home course so you can hear me and hear what I teach.

      I respect your opinion and hope you accept my offer.

      NV


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Best training ever!

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Feb 25, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been in real estate for over 20 years and been to all kinds of trainings (free and paid), seminars, classes, etc. This was by far the best invested money I have had in years. Nick is a generous man, he really cares about us, he wants us to be successful, his staff is wonderful and very helpful. As soon I as came back from the bus tour I started looking for properties and sent several offers. I have already two contracts in less than two weeks. This system really works and I am so glad that I am part of this group. I would recommend it over and over. Thank you Nick for your unselfishness and willingness to help us to reach our goals!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended one of Nick's events in Atlanta, Georgia in the Buckhead area, a very prestigious area. When I arrived for check-in, I was less than impressed by the process. All the material was gone, so I did not receive anything that was promised (not important, just noteworthy). I was handed a sheet of paper about mailing off for the smartwatch. I was happy about the seating; I was able to get a seat right up front. I stayed through the entire presentation, giving them the benefit of the doubt. I attend these types of events on a regular basis to ensure I am current on what my clients are being told or trained about. I even purchase packages sometimes to see what the extended training offers. I work with investors so these types of events can be helpful when trying to understand an investors mentality. I was curious about the 100% offer for deal funding, however, was not willing to pay to find out that it was not as it was presented. This one just did not do it for me. I have gone to some that were downright impressive. I would not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 25, 2019

      Company Response from NV Real Estate Academcy

      Berrendia,

      We at NVREA are committed to ensuring all students satisfaction.

      I will make sure that we get all promised, FREE gifts out to you ASAP. We value your input, so I have tried to reach you by phone and will try again today.

      Jamie Tomlinson

      Vice President

      NVREA


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Flip with Nick

    Very interesting seminar. My nephew and I both attended but I just didn't have money to do the deal. The free items, we each only got a book and a voucher to send off for a smartwatch. That was the first Saturday in January 2019 and neither one of us has received the watch as of yet. If they don't keep promises with free items, I am glad I didn't sign up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update as of 8/14/2019

    • Florida,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not been contacted in regards to my review or for more information on allegations I made against NVREA staff. Nothing. This lack of customer service or "trying to make things right" makes me feel insignificant as an individual that did give this a full shot and was very in-depth with their review. Some actual honest feedback from a like-minded person, one who aims to have goals that big one day. I do not want to report this on the BBB, as I feel this could be handled outside any more negative reviews. I simply want a partial amount of money back, as I do take into consideration the content that was provided. Any information gathered when starting out on a real estate journey is crucial to determining the "system" that works for you. As I mentioned before, this is not my system, but I did pick up some pointers along the journey, more-so, before the BT. If someone could please get into contact with me, that would be greatly appreciated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Jun 17, 2019

    Check all options before committing to this!

    Ahhhh, where do I start with NVREA. In the beginning, I had such high hopes but as we progressed more with the journey I found myself gradually disappointed. This is a full review, in-depth experience, complete honesty.

    It all started with a free seminar at a hotel. We were offered a smartwatch and received it. Does it work? I honestly played around with it for a few but couldn’t change screens. Anyways, my point is that I’m a realistic person and didn't expect much from a "freebie" gift. I was at a beginner to intermediate level of real estate knowledge. My family had invested in real estate in the past and had reaped some rewards, that contributed to their wealth, so when my friend asked me to go, I agreed. The speaker was on fire, literally, I hadn’t felt that liberated in a long time. I felt pumped, eager, and wanted to know more. At the end, there just happened to be an upcoming 3-day seminar that they were offering at a discounted rate of $1000. I didn’t even hesitate to be one of the first ones to sign up in the back, I was all in. The weeks leading up to this 3-day seminar, I did my research, I was trying to get a feel of what to expect, read some negative reviews that these seminars always turn into them asking for more money for something else. I went in expecting that but had no intention or any idea that a few weeks later my good friend and I would be becoming business partners.

    First day, I’m an avid note taker, I mean I’ll even quote what the speaker actually says word for word. The speakers were all good, too good. One seemed to reference everything back to his ex-wife, especially when it came to "protecting your assets". She must have taken him to the cleaners because he was bitter. Very bitter. Towards the end of the first day, they mention that there is an "elite" seminar that takes place in California that prepares you for everything that is "house flipping" involved. Two packages: 1 at $30,000 and one at $40,000 I believe. That didn't scare me away because I didn't think I’d actually be able to do it, considering the normal working person doesn’t have that in their bank account, much less to spend on a "class". But, that's where I was wrong. They will introduce you to the concept best known as "seed capital". They play it off as a means to an end. They convince you that you need to go to the Bus Tour to be the best, and they give you a way to pay for it by seed capital.

    So, they gave us a homework assignment at the end of the first day, we were to go home and use this promo code they gave us for some credit check report website and print our scores and bring them in the next day. Over the course of the weekend, they will pull you out, whether you came by yourself, or with a partner and talk about your options. They will tell you their success stories to further make you feel comforted and powerful. However, when we questioned a part of the NV System and asked for clarification, the sales guy told us he doesn’t use the NV system, I REPEAT "HE DOESN'T USE THAT SYSTEM," I should have left then. If you tell them no, they convince you why you need to say yes, they don’t let up. Coming from sales, I get it. I’m sure they get paid a percentage of every person they sign up. I ran off to Vegas a few years ago, and in the process of neglecting all my adult responsibilities, I neglected my credit as well. I knew I would never be approved. Ha. My partner, on the other hand, had stellar credit, she prided herself on that stellar credit report. While he first looked at mine and I recognized the look of distaste, when he looked at my partner's "homework," he lit up.

    They are vague when explaining the aspect of seed capital. It’ll only drop your credit a few points, but not significantly, etc...they tell you the company basically applies you for a series of credit cards with 0% interest for a year, etc. SOOOO that you can use these cards to fund your bus tour admission. I was so on board, my only problem was convincing my friend that we could do this and that we needed to go. The last day I finally get her to agree to do this with me, I mean what can it hurt, we were under the impression her credit would not drop that much and we have a year before interest kicks in, and hopefully by then we would have at least a few houses under our belt. Boy, that was the biggest joke of the century. While it felt as if we were signing our life away, they told us that they would be with us every step of the way leading up to the bus tour, to call/text anytime, literally. They make you feel assured, just so you actually don’t feel like you are signing your life away. We left that third day, proud, excited, and confident that this was going to be an epic journey. This is where it all started to fall apart...

    Weeks leading up to the bus tour, there was a change. Those "contact me any time" texts, turned into days for responses, etc. They would even say just call the hotline. To get the hotline on the phone was a whole other story, I will give credit that they actually were good at getting back to you within the same business day. However, there was one man I always ended up getting, and I found him to be rude and belittling. I am an educated woman, and to speak to me as if I am an idiot, when I’m asking for help bothers me really bad. We were under the impression that the guy that lead us through the journey was a "designated" mentor. When we texted him, he was really quick to tell us he was a "weekend consultant". That’s a new concept to me, didn't hear that when we were signing up for BT, what does that even mean? This is the same one that told us to call/text any time. One of the other speakers/sales personnel, who said he actually didn't flip the houses but was a PML (private money lender), even insinuated that he would be able to fund some deals for us after we went to BT. Well, we find out that you are forever considered students with NVREA, unless you do the field training after BT (which btw, most of the instructors have never done)...So, we didn't know this, but he did, and he got our hopes up.

    We went on a spree looking for houses, we had about 3-4 houses in contract leading up to the BT. This PML one, wasn’t interested in helping us in a "business sense", instead he would say "call the hotline" then would send shirtless photos, etc. because apparently, he was a model, too. We entertained the flirty escapade because we thought he would be of great use after BT. Then the seed capital kicked in, they also don’t tell you that seed capital charges you fees for their services too. And they will apply it directly to one of those new credit cards they signed you up for. I should have seen that coming, but at that point, I was so immersed in learning the whole process that I didn't pay too much attention to all these accumulating fees. Here’s the kicker: they were able to get my partner a credit line of up to or around $70,000. Once these were approved and activated, my partner's credit score dropped over 100 points! THAT IS NOT A LITTLE BIT! She calls to question this as neither one of us were expecting it, and "Oh, it's ok, it’ll go back up once you start paying it down." No crap?! I mean, really? I started getting a tad worried at this point.

    Bus Tour comes and we are a little skeptic, we both looked at each other and agreed that we would not be spending any more money. PERIOD. POINT BLANK. My partner even left most of the seed capital cards at home, because from first-hand experience, we knew how convincing they could be. The first morning, the hotel lobby is packed full of chatter and anticipation. We were divided amongst colors: which helped put everyone on a bus for the days in the field in an organized manner. You were also sat with your color in the auditorium. A few introductions to speakers, a few life stories, which I anticipated but not what came next. The man himself comes walking up to the stage, and you get his WHOLE story. Not like anyone that had invested this much time and money didn't already know his whole story. We get the details, all of them, and for hours, it felt like. I sat there with my binder and pens, waiting, waiting for when we were actually going to start learning something relevant to why we were here. Just when you think it is done, he brings up another person to come talk about his "awesomeness". Apparently, not only is he a real estate guru, and retired cop, but HE'S ALSO AN ACTUAL LIFE-SAVING GOD. Apparently, this woman was a long time friend, and I don’t remember if she did or not, but was contemplating about slitting her throat at one down period of her life, but this man saved her. I think she actually did slit her throat. She also had a book on sale in the back, you know because everyone that has some sort of troubled past can write a biography and sell it because there is always going to be some sort of crowd that relates.

    THEN, remember we haven’t actually opened the binders yet, his wife and daughters come up. I mean, I honestly wanted to see what his wife looked like, because he’s not a bad looking guy. He has a beautiful family yes, I like that he brought them up but it could have just been shortened by a LOT more. THEN, he asks for all the vets, first responders, family of first responders to stand up in the room. At first, not many stood up. Then he mentioned he had something special for them, and wanted them to come to the stage. At that point, after he mentioned a special gift, I feel like a good majority of the room got up to go, to the point where I thought the stage was going to collapse. It turns out to be like a 10-minute video, a tribute to the fallen. When they turn the lights back on, some people look disappointed, some look in admiration, some are crying, including his wife. It was a tad bit dramatic, she’s up there hugging and crying with some, I don’t know, maybe I’m just an emotionless jerk.

    THEN, we are introduced to the next best thing after BT, which is FIELD TRAINING. For three days, one of the speakers of your choice will fly out to you wherever you are and basically hold your hand. I see this as being a stepping stone for the confused, the shy, and the non-aggressive types. Plus, you get an over the phone mentor membership for a year. Towards the end of the first day, I’m highly annoyed at this point, we run into the OG that signed us up for this. He asked if we were going to do the FT, and we both said NO, and he said, "Yea, I don't think you guys need it." I repeat, "I DON'T THINK YOU GUYS NEED IT." I valued this guy's input since we had started this journey with him, even though once they had our money all their communications ceased to exist. However, we felt confident with our decision.

    The next two days they take you out to actual houses on the market, actively for sale and give you exercises to put a "rehab budget" together on the spot, in case of dire emergencies where you needed to act quickly to get the deal. The checklist was probably the only thing I found useful during this whole 4-day event. On the bus, they served us the same lunch for two days in a row, the lunch wasn’t bad, I didn't mind it. However, the ignorance of some people just always amazes me as they were complaining about the same lunch for 2 days, like are you serious? What about the knowledge you are supposed to be gaining? I don’t know about them, but I didn't come here to eat. Back to the classroom, they would turn the lights out and play testimonials of people who had taken the extra leap and purchased field training for the great deal of only $25,000, and that was rather annoying as well. These people, some of them are just absolutely ridiculous. They would give standing ovations to Nick Vertucci every time he would walk up, honestly reminded me of a cult-like mentality. I have a Bachelors in neuroscience and we studied gang and cult mentality actually, so I sat back and took all of this in. Some screaming out "you're the man!" I guess I could partially agree, I mean I can't hate on the man, this whole setup was genius, and to think each person in that room paid $30-$40K, I MEAN BRAVO NVREA! The fact that I left feeling like an idiot for spending this time and money and not eager and ecstatic like the last two events, is my problem altogether.

    So, last day, I was outside the room on the phone with the realtor who was currently the agent for one of our houses in contract. I needed an answer on something from my partner, so went to look for her during one of the breaks. Couldn’t find her, so I assumed she was in the bathroom. Texted her, no response. Assumed she was back in the room again. The whole time I was sitting out there, one of the original speakers that we had listened to at the seminar in FL, kept casually walking by, I asked him if he knew where she was? He said no! Within twenty minutes, he walked by at least 2 more times, always with the crap eating grin on his face. I’m wrapping things up and I swear I hear her laugh. I ask one of the new guys that was sitting about 10 feet from me at another table, and "new", as in we just met him here in Cali, if he saw my partner. He points behind this makeshift wall that they had separating the lobby from the rest of it for consults. I walk around, and this is the ultimate BETRAYAL. The guy that we had originally worked with, the one who doesn't use the NV system, the weekend consultant, the guy who agreed on the first day that we didn't need it, plus the OTHER one that kept walking by with the crap eating grin and didn't know where she was, are both sitting over my business partner as she signs us up for this BS Field Training. He sees me instantly and says, "Don’t be mad, butttt..." I interrupted quickly and said, "Who did she pick?" Obviously pissed. That ruined the rest of my last day there, and created a wedge between my best friend who now is a business partner and I. The saddest part is that I trusted them, they knew us and our story, our past, from the very beginning. They used our weaknesses, as a point of sale. They knew my partner was the more vulnerable one...and waited til I wasn’t around to attack her!

    So side point here: At the beginning, they have this little "personality quiz" based on sea animals, and we all had to tie our traits with the animal we represented the most. I was the SHARK, and she was the SEA URCHIN. I actually just pulled the NV binder out from the dust to define this for you. Uhmmuhm, and I state: A sea urchin loves to analyze everything to the Nth degree. Always aiming, but never pulling the trigger. For better words - she was the cautious one, the one that follows the book to the word. I am the impulsive and dare taker. We thought that these opposite personalities would be great for the business, as we had someone who jumped off the cliff, and the one who levies themselves down safely off the cliff. If you are familiar with the term "BRF" (b*tch resting face), that's what I rocked the rest of the day. And, all the way in to our Uber to the airport, while I totally brf’ed at his wife who was walking around the lobby in designer teeny-bopper clothes, cleavage out, twirling her hair while on the phone. Much different attire than the plain black shirt, tucked into some plain blue jeans...you know the all American family type.

    After some weeks of logical persuasion, my partner finally agreed and asked for a refund. They did as expected, beat around the bush, and kept asking why did you change your mind?! Finally, weeks later she was aggressive to the point that he finally realized she was fed up, and a few weeks after that the refund check came, the whole process for refund took about 2 months.

    A few things to note:

    1. There is way more than 1 way to invest in real estate. They make you think that the NVREA is the only way. It was only til I reached out and went to a FREE 3-day tour for Lee Arnold, where I probably learned more than BT combined, and even took us to before rehabbed houses, and after rehabbed houses, with all the numbers in front. You have to find the system that works for you, and NV's is not my system. While I am MOST DEFINITELY NOT SAYING HIS SYSTEM IS FAULTY, as you will see on the exclusive "pride" members Facebook page where comments are monitored, that it has worked for some, but I see way less gap funders and success stories, other than people trying to wholesale deals. After BT, I also realized that this page is filled with amateurs mostly, and then the vets. I think the vets know that an amateur will fail to get it closed following every step of NVREAs system, and wait for the fail so they can grab it themselves. We had multiple deals fall through due to funding. Now, you may ask, well, was it a good deal? But the real question is, who is one to judge on the deal and the ROI, when we are in fact all considered amateurs, or "students". SO CLEARLY ONE's PERSPECTIVE OF SUCCESS/LEGITIMACY IS DIFFERENT FROM SOMEONE ELSE. You have to do all your due diligence and compile it into an IP (investor packet). Weeks later the same custom table I had created and used as a smart antic to keep all the statistics organized and not marbled together was being used on almost every IP I looked at. I’m glad I can help but it seems people were never really interested in the deal, probably just wanted to compare their IP to someone else’s, because again WE ARE ALL AMATEURS MOSTLY.

    2. You will meet a guy named Lou at BT, everyone says this guy is a genius. They offer a package, full of "exclusive discounts" to various websites essential to the success of a rehabber. Mr. Lous Butler service, that is an additional purchase, FYI. I think we paid $1500? Anyways, I went on to look for a fridge, and had to use the code specifically for people with this membership service. Not only did it take the vendor days to respond, he also didn't spell words or use correct punctuation, which is an OCD-NO for me. A $1600 fridge, our discount you may ask? 100 bucks off. It cost almost $100 to ship it, so what? Basically free shipping? Again, do your research before buying. I think we can all agree that $100 doesn’t get you as far as it used too. When I was 14, it was the holy grail. But now, I couldn’t even buy a nice work outfit for less than $100.

    3. I am naturally a curious person, so upon meeting the speakers I did some research, I wanted to personally be able to legitimize their "success stories". Upon research, I found one of the speakers was convicted of trafficking cocaine, and wasn’t penalized as harshly because he was an informant, AKA a rat/mole/snitch. It’s so funny because while he spoke, I literally told my partner he has to have done some illegal antics in his past, he knows way too many "loopholes" that the general public would never know, ever. However, it was very informative.

    4. Again, there ARE MULTIPLE WAYS to invest in real estate. When we came to BT, we had a house in contract that from me living in the area and knowing the market from being a Realtor, which they don’t suggest you do at NVREA, but Lee Arnold thinks it's genius, as you are saving money on commission when relisting. Anyways, the house was listed at $475,000, it was a probate case, out of state owner that just wanted to get rid of it (those are the best deals BTW), so we had it in contract at $305,000. The market, the listing agent, and our agent we were using (I wasn’t actively using my real estate license because the NVREA said it's a waste of time?) all pointed to the fact that this house could be relisted at $750,000 easily. Oh, and it was on the water. Comps, they are IMPORTANT, YES, I KNOW. But also KNOWING THE MARKET like the back of your hand is CRITICAL, HOWEVER, UNDERESTIMATED WITH NVREA SYSTEMS. I knew that the market was consistently increasing in median sales price, and particularly for that zip code. It was a unique house, there were actually no comparable homes to it. I believe the appraiser used the cost to rebuild strategy, and he left out multiple factors that contributed to the value of the home. We disputed, and our appraisal came back just under $600,000. A lot less than we intended, but however, the HML doesn’t know the market, they only look at the facts, they also get to pick their own appraisal company which is BS too I think. Anyways, the house needed extensive rehab, in tip top shape, probably around $120-$150K, depending materials used, etc. But, with the steep discount we were getting it at, would cover it. Also, the AS-IS value of the house was right at $475,000 the listing price, so we already had positive equity. Anywho, we get to BT with all our info and sit down to explain the situation, however, the guy would not even listen because it didn't follow NVREAs system to a T. Long story put short, is the market as I knew was going up and active listings in that same zip code, a few months later (about the same time we would have been done with the rehab) with less square footage, no mother-in-law suite, no pool, were going at around $750,000. We could have started high at $875,000 and wouldn’t have taken any less than $750,000. I blame this failed deal on NV's system, they convinced my partner that since everything wasn’t put the way they liked it or mentioned, that it was not a deal. And, of course, she listened, being a sea urchin and all.

    I will end on this note, I still wonder what I paid for by going to the bus tour. In my opinion, it was not worth $30,000. Not at all. You may wonder why I am just now writing this review? Well, I finally decided to go back to school and finish my masters. Nick Vertuccis system says you can do real estate investing literally part-time and still be successful. I was full time and found that not accurate at all, at least for me. The amount of work you put in, just to get an IP out, only for it to fall through is time-consuming enough. That’s assuming, of course, that you find the perfect realtor, perfect contractor, perfect appraisal, all on the first go. Not very realistic!

    If I could go back I would have definitely explored other options, before jumping at this. They make you feel like anyone can do this, when that is just not the case. Majority of people at the bus tour were retirees, who probably spent their retirement to be there to find "passive income". Just not cool. I would love to get my money back, however, the hassle my partner received just for the refund on the Field Training, makes me believe I will be hassled the same way. I will probably get deleted from the Facebook page because of this review, however, it hasn’t done me any good this far, so I really could care less.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 428

Write a Review for Flip with Nick!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review