About Focallure

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Apr 7, 2017

Focallure is a a one-stop online shop for all of your beauty needs, offering premium products, including makeup, skin care, teeth whitening, and even a strapless push-up bra, all at not-so-premium prices.

Beyond quality and affordability, Focallure states that they stand out from other online cosmetics retailers by offering the following:

  • Cosmetics inspired by French trends. Focallure states that their makeup and skin care lines closely follow those you can find in France.
  • Selling only cruelty-free products. Focallure promises that their cosmetics haven’t been tested on animals.
  • Exceptional customer service. Focallure states that customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance and that their representatives are available 24/7 to answer questions or offer assistance.
  • Made and sold in the USA. Focallure states that their products are manufactured and shipped from the U.S., listing a company address in Las Vegas, Nevada.
  • Free shipping on all orders over $25. Focallure ships worldwide, and offers free shipping on any order over $25 both in the U.S. and internationally.

So, what kind of products does Focallure sell? The website lists four major categories of products: makeup, cleansing, teeth, and Lifting Bra-Lifty. Here’s an overview of each.

Focallure Cosmetics for Face, Lips, and Eyes

Makeup appears to be the website’s largest category consisting of exclusively Focallure-brand products. Within Focallure’s cosmetics menu, you can find subcategories listing makeup for the face, lips, eyes, and accessories.

1. Focallure Face Collection

Focallure sells three products in their face collection, each of which is available in three shades. They are a foundation stick, concealer, and face setting powder.

  • Focallure Foundation Setting Powder ($15): Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in three shades.
  • Focallure Face Contour Highlighter ($18): Claims to be non-greasy and non-creasing, as well as paraben and fragrance-free.
  • Focallure Complete Coverage Concealer ($13): Full-coverage formula that claims to be enriched with Matrixyl 3000, a compound that includes peptides to support the skin’s youthful appearance and elasticity.

2. Focallure Lipstick Collections

Focallure states that their lip colors are naturally waterproof and easy to use. There are two available formulas:

  • Focallure Matte Lipstick ($13): Chubby-pencil style lipstick that claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.
  • Focallure Matte Liquid Lipstick ($14): A liquid-to-matte formula that promises intense color and all-day wear. Also free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.

3. Focallure Eyes Collection

Focallure offers a wider range of eye makeup, including several shades of shadow palettes, eyeliners, brow filler, and false lashes:

  • Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palette ($18): Available in four tones, each palette contains 10 eyeshadows that range from matte, to shimmer, and sparkle.
  • Focallure Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil ($17): Promises to be 100% waterproof and smudge-proof, while sweat and tear-resistant.
  • Focallure Double-Take Brow Pencil ($16): Retractable brow pencil is available in three shades. Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates.
  • Focallure Long-Wear Gel Liner ($9): Long-wearing, gel-based liner is available in five unnamed shades. Some guesswork required to figure out which color you’re ordering.

4. Focallure Accessories

Focallure’s website lists a variety of cleansing and anti-aging products that appear to not be associated with the brand. These include a 5-in-1 Facial Cleansing Brush ($20.95), a Chinese-brand charcoal whitening toothpaste ($14.95), a blackhead and pimple remover ($5.99), along with many other products that all fall under the category of “beauty.”

What We Spotted When Shopping Focallure

At HighYa, we’ve reviewed the websites of hundreds of cosmetics products and brands, as well as an extensive collection articles that inform on related topics, like evaluating the difference between designer and knock-off cosmetics.

We also write about how to help you recognize potential sources for trouble when ordering online. In fact, it was just recently that we published How to Tell If an Online Store Is Legit: 11 Steps to Check Any Website—which is why several aspects of shopping Focallure stood out as possible yellow flags.

As we started our standard process of reviewing each cosmetics category, we couldn’t help but notice a that the written content describing categories had a higher than average frequency of grammatical errors.

For example, the description on the Focallure Face Collection page states:

Our mineral face collection contains natural ingredient makeup easy-to-use and defines, illuminate or enhance your requested features. Our collection has Foundation in 3 colors vary by your skin color, Highlighter and the famous Complete-Coverage® Concealer that also available in the variety of colors.“

Poor grammar alone isn’t a major red flag indicating a poor quality product. Though it’s worth noting as possibly raising questions as to whether or not Focallure was truly made and sold in the U.S. as they claim.

Moving on, as we read through Focallure’s individual product descriptions, we noticed that they sounded surprisingly similar to some of our favorite brands.

For example, here’s the description of Focallure Foundation Setting Powder from their website:

“With just five pure ingredients, Focallure Face Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

From Ulta, here’s the description of bareMinerals Matte Mineral Foundation:

“With just five pure ingredients, bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

Because the bareMinerals brand has been around for over 35 years, we’re pretty confident that they came up with this description first.

Evidence of Focallure appearing to copy cosmetics descriptions from better-known brands can be seen again and again through their website.

For example, Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palettes 1-4 all use the following description:

Loaded with 10 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Focallure could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.

This is a near verbatim use of the description for Urban Decay’s popular Naked Palette, as seen at Sephora:

Loaded with 12 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Urban Decay could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.”

To be clear, modeling your makeup after a better-known brand is the cornerstone of knockoff cosmetics. The appearance of lifting another company’s descriptions doesn’t necessarily mean that Focallure is selling poor quality products.

But it does bring their ethics into question—if Focallure did, indeed, copy the description of more popular makeup brands, can consumers trust their other promises that might be more important, such as a commitment to cruelty-free cosmetics, including sun protection, or being free of talc?

Again, just because a company appears to have copied descriptions doesn’t mean that you’ll receive a poor-quality product. But, it does bring into question the ingredients and methods used to create the product you’ll receive.

We Tried to Contact Focallure Customer Service

To give Focallure a fair chance at responding, we attempted to reach out to their customer service representatives.

Our first attempt was through their Contact page, where we found that there was only a form to request contact—and no phone number listed.

This is another potential yellow flag that we mention in our list of tips when trying to determine if a company is legit. In our experience, legitimate online retailers should list where their business is located, as well as a phone number an email to reach them.

In a final attempt to contact Focallure, we reached out to customer service through their Facebook page.

Per our interaction with the company, the representative who responded stated that no phone number was available. When pressed for any information that could confirm that they were based in the United States, the representative stopped responding. Follow-up questions regarding the product descriptions that appear to be copied were left unanswered.

Focallure Return and Refund Policy—Final or Not?

Prices for Focallure products vary with your purchase. But what if you’re unsatisfied?

To wrap up our research on Focallure, we headed to their Refund Policy page where things take a final confusing turn. At the top of the page, shoppers are told:

“All products are sold ‘as is.’ You assume the responsibility for your purchase, and no refunds will be issued. All sales are final.”

Next, customers are instructed to contact customer service if your product arrives damaged. Following is a list of products for which partial refunds are applicable, including books and CDs—of which we didn’t see any for sale on the website.

This is followed by additional info on potential refunds, and the statement that they only replace items if they are defective or damaged. If shoppers need to exchange it for the same item, to send an email at support@bestmakeupsponge.com.

Should You Order From Focallure?

Focallure certainly lists some attractive cosmetics products on their website. However, even if you look beyond the considerable number of yellow flags we noticed while exploring their products—particularly duplicate descriptions—you’re still faced with one important question:

Why order from a company that refuses to allow exchanges if you’re not satisfied?

The answer to that question is up to every consumer. However, considering that the prices listed on Focallure are within $1-$5 of the listed prices for brand name products available at your local Sephora, Ulta, or Target, we know where we’d feel more comfortable shopping.

Editor's Note: This Editorial Review was published on April 7, 2017 using publicly available information at the time of research located at www.shopfocallure.com. Information is subject to change on www.shopfocallure.com. Please visit main company website for latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

465 Consumer Reviews for Focallure

Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 140 4 star: 73 3 star: 21 2 star: 25 1 star:  206
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 465
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Best products out there

    • Massachusetts,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I couldn't say it anymore to my friends and family so I thought I would share here. I loved everything about the box. So happy will get it again. Every item was something new that I would have never thought of buying on my own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Still haven't received it

    • Michigan,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's been forever and I still haven't gotten my boxes yet. I'm excited to see what I get when it comes. I'm not sure what else I can say as I have not received anything yet. I hope it's amazing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terrible service

    • Dundalk, Ireland,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read about the offer of first BabeBox free pay shipping only. So I paid shipping 18th February, received a confirmation email, heard nothing else. Payment was taken on the 1st of March for the March box, even though I hadn't received my first box. Eventually, I got a reply to all my messages and they admitted on the 6th of March that they hadn't even sent my February box. That and my March box would be sent within four days, it's now the 12th of March. I've received no dispatch emails. Now ignoring my messages asking for a complete refund total scam. Avoid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • While the idea is great...

    • California,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    While the idea of the company is great, execution isn't. I have subscribed to the box and have yet to receive it, but their customer service is very lacking, especially for a company that claims to have exceptional customer service. I sent many emails and dealt with more than one representative, all contradicting each other. I ended up giving up altogether. I look forward to my box coming in the mail in hopes that it will redeem, but until then, I'm most definitely not in love with Focallure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • BabeBox review scam

    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I originally signed up for the "free" starter box ($6.95 shipping), and I wasn't too disappointed with it. It DID take a REALLY long time for it to be sent out and the products really weren't all that great. But what really ticked me off is, after I received my box, I received an email from Focallure offering me a $5 refund and $5 (each) in account credit if I wrote a review on the 4 sites that I received links to in the email and uploaded proof (which I did). This was over a month ago (closer to 6 weeks now). I had to have a new credit card issued, so I haven't provided my new card number to Focallure yet. I've received multiple emails regarding the fact that they can't bill me for this month's box, but I have yet to receive a single response when I ask them if they intend to provide me the credits/refund I was promised. I'm going to be editing my previous reviews, and if anyone else has had this same experience, please reply to this post. I'd love to know if this is an isolated incident or if they've done this to other customers as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst customer service ever!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT buy from them. I literally wanted to buy and try ONE item. Upon check out there was a FREE TRIAL BOX in my cart with no way to remove it. I didn't think too much about it at the time, but upon submitting my order I received email confirmation AND another email telling me that I'd subscribed to their "BabeBox," which is not at all what I had wanted.

    I immediately tried to contact them about the shenanigans, asking if they could cancel said box and just send me the product I wanted.

    LITERALLY, I could not talk to a real person. THREE TIMES I received the same scripted email telling me that I had agreed to a trial, to which the first box is free and the second I must pay for...and can cancel after that.

    But I NEVER AGREED to this! These terms were not displayed, and even if they were, they FORCED the box into my cart with no way to remove it!

    Even though I immediately contacted them, it took days for them to respond with complete crap AND they'd already charged my card.

    Unless you're down to have a company force themselves on you and your bank account, STAY FAR AWAY.

    I can't say what their products are like, but with this kind of service, it's a surprise they have any customers at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love it!

    • Jakarta, Indonesia,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this BabeBox after waiting for two weeks (because I'm from Indonesia, so this is common for international shipping). I never subscribed for cosmetics things like this before, but I thought this is very great! Fortunately, I ran out of mascara, and they gave me mascara, lol. Then I've got an eyeshadow palette, whitening gel (I found it interesting), eye mask, and eyeliner. In total, I've got 5 things. And I hope for the next box, I'll receive other things that I needed. For the shipping cost, I thought it'll change depending on what inside the box. Because for the first box I've been charged $5 something, and for the second box, they charged me $7 something. So I guess because of the weight of the items inside. I hope Focallure will always be delivering good items.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A bit of a rocky start

    • Maryland,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received an email offering a free BabeBox from Focallure, so I thought I’d check it out. The cart wouldn’t let me advance so I thought maybe I needed to BUY something to get the free box (there’s always a catch). After checking out, I realized the BabeBox was not on my order, only the duo eyeshadow I selected was. I contacted customer support via email, but by the time they responded the order was already shipped and nothing could be done. I couldn’t return it so I was kinda ticked...I decided I would still give the BabeBox subscription a try so I placed my order (no problems this time), and was given an offer for a nice discount on my subsequent BabeBoxes. They make sure you know up front that in order for the first box to be free you have to get at least a second box. I am hoping the contents of the boxes are good because I subscribed to Sephora’s PLAY! box in the past and wasn’t too happy with the contents. Aside from the eyeshadow issue, customer service has been helpful and sounds like they value their customers, so I hope this all works out!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wow

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Definitely amazing. A top tier service. Couldn't replace it with anything like it. I feel very proud to have this. I show all my friends when they come over to visit. I've gotten all of them hooked on it too! I personally believe that anybody who tries this will love it as much as I do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Such a SCAM! Bad customer service.

    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw an advertisement on my Instagram from Focallure beauty box. They were offering a free beauty box for first time members and all you had to do was pay for the shipping which was $6.95. I signed up to receive my first free box and was really looking forward to it because I was on the hunt for a new beauty box subscription. I was going to see how it was, and then if I liked it, I'd continue receiving it.

    My box said that it was delivered via the tracking number and I never received the box even though it said it was delivered. I contacted customer support to see if they would send me another one and I'd pay for the shipping. I got a response back from customer support that said "We are unable to do anything from our end. Open a file with the police against the post office and send it to us."

    I then emailed back and said I would like to cancel the subscription because you are AUTOMATICALLY signed up to receive the box every month unless you cancel after getting your free box. I got this response back..."Unfortunately, according to our Babebox policy, to receive a free box, you need to be subscribed for at least 1 month. We are able to cancel your subscription only after the first charge then you will receive one more Babebox and will not be charged anymore."

    So I'm being charged $29.00 for another month before I can cancel the subscription. This is a complete rip-off and not fair to customers at all. This is all such a scam! It never said anywhere that I couldn't cancel this membership until I paid for 1 month.

    It's all ridiculous and I highly recommend not signing up for this box. The customer service is terrible and who knows if I'll even receive this box in the mail this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Portage, MI,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed an ad to sign up for the subscription. It was a free box to try, except I paid for shipping. I didn't really love the box. I also didn't like the fact that I couldn't log into my account easily. When I emailed to cancel, they said I had to pay for another month first, which was not said when I signed up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 465

Write a Review for Focallure!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review