About Focallure

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Apr 7, 2017

Focallure is a a one-stop online shop for all of your beauty needs, offering premium products, including makeup, skin care, teeth whitening, and even a strapless push-up bra, all at not-so-premium prices.

Beyond quality and affordability, Focallure states that they stand out from other online cosmetics retailers by offering the following:

  • Cosmetics inspired by French trends. Focallure states that their makeup and skin care lines closely follow those you can find in France.
  • Selling only cruelty-free products. Focallure promises that their cosmetics haven’t been tested on animals.
  • Exceptional customer service. Focallure states that customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance and that their representatives are available 24/7 to answer questions or offer assistance.
  • Made and sold in the USA. Focallure states that their products are manufactured and shipped from the U.S., listing a company address in Las Vegas, Nevada.
  • Free shipping on all orders over $25. Focallure ships worldwide, and offers free shipping on any order over $25 both in the U.S. and internationally.

So, what kind of products does Focallure sell? The website lists four major categories of products: makeup, cleansing, teeth, and Lifting Bra-Lifty. Here’s an overview of each.

Focallure Cosmetics for Face, Lips, and Eyes

Makeup appears to be the website’s largest category consisting of exclusively Focallure-brand products. Within Focallure’s cosmetics menu, you can find subcategories listing makeup for the face, lips, eyes, and accessories.

1. Focallure Face Collection

Focallure sells three products in their face collection, each of which is available in three shades. They are a foundation stick, concealer, and face setting powder.

  • Focallure Foundation Setting Powder ($15): Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in three shades.
  • Focallure Face Contour Highlighter ($18): Claims to be non-greasy and non-creasing, as well as paraben and fragrance-free.
  • Focallure Complete Coverage Concealer ($13): Full-coverage formula that claims to be enriched with Matrixyl 3000, a compound that includes peptides to support the skin’s youthful appearance and elasticity.

2. Focallure Lipstick Collections

Focallure states that their lip colors are naturally waterproof and easy to use. There are two available formulas:

  • Focallure Matte Lipstick ($13): Chubby-pencil style lipstick that claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.
  • Focallure Matte Liquid Lipstick ($14): A liquid-to-matte formula that promises intense color and all-day wear. Also free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.

3. Focallure Eyes Collection

Focallure offers a wider range of eye makeup, including several shades of shadow palettes, eyeliners, brow filler, and false lashes:

  • Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palette ($18): Available in four tones, each palette contains 10 eyeshadows that range from matte, to shimmer, and sparkle.
  • Focallure Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil ($17): Promises to be 100% waterproof and smudge-proof, while sweat and tear-resistant.
  • Focallure Double-Take Brow Pencil ($16): Retractable brow pencil is available in three shades. Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates.
  • Focallure Long-Wear Gel Liner ($9): Long-wearing, gel-based liner is available in five unnamed shades. Some guesswork required to figure out which color you’re ordering.

4. Focallure Accessories

Focallure’s website lists a variety of cleansing and anti-aging products that appear to not be associated with the brand. These include a 5-in-1 Facial Cleansing Brush ($20.95), a Chinese-brand charcoal whitening toothpaste ($14.95), a blackhead and pimple remover ($5.99), along with many other products that all fall under the category of “beauty.”

What We Spotted When Shopping Focallure

At HighYa, we’ve reviewed the websites of hundreds of cosmetics products and brands, as well as an extensive collection articles that inform on related topics, like evaluating the difference between designer and knock-off cosmetics.

We also write about how to help you recognize potential sources for trouble when ordering online. In fact, it was just recently that we published How to Tell If an Online Store Is Legit: 11 Steps to Check Any Website—which is why several aspects of shopping Focallure stood out as possible yellow flags.

As we started our standard process of reviewing each cosmetics category, we couldn’t help but notice a that the written content describing categories had a higher than average frequency of grammatical errors.

For example, the description on the Focallure Face Collection page states:

Our mineral face collection contains natural ingredient makeup easy-to-use and defines, illuminate or enhance your requested features. Our collection has Foundation in 3 colors vary by your skin color, Highlighter and the famous Complete-Coverage® Concealer that also available in the variety of colors.“

Poor grammar alone isn’t a major red flag indicating a poor quality product. Though it’s worth noting as possibly raising questions as to whether or not Focallure was truly made and sold in the U.S. as they claim.

Moving on, as we read through Focallure’s individual product descriptions, we noticed that they sounded surprisingly similar to some of our favorite brands.

For example, here’s the description of Focallure Foundation Setting Powder from their website:

“With just five pure ingredients, Focallure Face Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

From Ulta, here’s the description of bareMinerals Matte Mineral Foundation:

“With just five pure ingredients, bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

Because the bareMinerals brand has been around for over 35 years, we’re pretty confident that they came up with this description first.

Evidence of Focallure appearing to copy cosmetics descriptions from better-known brands can be seen again and again through their website.

For example, Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palettes 1-4 all use the following description:

Loaded with 10 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Focallure could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.

This is a near verbatim use of the description for Urban Decay’s popular Naked Palette, as seen at Sephora:

Loaded with 12 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Urban Decay could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.”

To be clear, modeling your makeup after a better-known brand is the cornerstone of knockoff cosmetics. The appearance of lifting another company’s descriptions doesn’t necessarily mean that Focallure is selling poor quality products.

But it does bring their ethics into question—if Focallure did, indeed, copy the description of more popular makeup brands, can consumers trust their other promises that might be more important, such as a commitment to cruelty-free cosmetics, including sun protection, or being free of talc?

Again, just because a company appears to have copied descriptions doesn’t mean that you’ll receive a poor-quality product. But, it does bring into question the ingredients and methods used to create the product you’ll receive.

We Tried to Contact Focallure Customer Service

To give Focallure a fair chance at responding, we attempted to reach out to their customer service representatives.

Our first attempt was through their Contact page, where we found that there was only a form to request contact—and no phone number listed.

This is another potential yellow flag that we mention in our list of tips when trying to determine if a company is legit. In our experience, legitimate online retailers should list where their business is located, as well as a phone number an email to reach them.

In a final attempt to contact Focallure, we reached out to customer service through their Facebook page.

Per our interaction with the company, the representative who responded stated that no phone number was available. When pressed for any information that could confirm that they were based in the United States, the representative stopped responding. Follow-up questions regarding the product descriptions that appear to be copied were left unanswered.

Focallure Return and Refund Policy—Final or Not?

Prices for Focallure products vary with your purchase. But what if you’re unsatisfied?

To wrap up our research on Focallure, we headed to their Refund Policy page where things take a final confusing turn. At the top of the page, shoppers are told:

“All products are sold ‘as is.’ You assume the responsibility for your purchase, and no refunds will be issued. All sales are final.”

Next, customers are instructed to contact customer service if your product arrives damaged. Following is a list of products for which partial refunds are applicable, including books and CDs—of which we didn’t see any for sale on the website.

This is followed by additional info on potential refunds, and the statement that they only replace items if they are defective or damaged. If shoppers need to exchange it for the same item, to send an email at support@bestmakeupsponge.com.

Should You Order From Focallure?

Focallure certainly lists some attractive cosmetics products on their website. However, even if you look beyond the considerable number of yellow flags we noticed while exploring their products—particularly duplicate descriptions—you’re still faced with one important question:

Why order from a company that refuses to allow exchanges if you’re not satisfied?

The answer to that question is up to every consumer. However, considering that the prices listed on Focallure are within $1-$5 of the listed prices for brand name products available at your local Sephora, Ulta, or Target, we know where we’d feel more comfortable shopping.

Editor's Note: This Editorial Review was published on April 7, 2017 using publicly available information at the time of research located at www.shopfocallure.com. Information is subject to change on www.shopfocallure.com. Please visit main company website for latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

435 Consumer Reviews for Focallure

Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 133 4 star: 70 3 star: 19 2 star: 23 1 star:  190
Bottom Line: 49% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 435
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Castle Rock, CO,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    January 11, 2019 - I told them I was going to do a chargeback because they sent me the wrong or counterfeit item and finally that got their attention. They began with "Dear NOT EVEN CLOSE TO MY NAME" and offered me a discount on my next order. Not to apologize for their error and then offer me a refund with instructions on how to mail back their wrong/counterfeit item. Not to apologize and then offer to send the correct/authentic item. If you order from this subjectively scam company, contact your bank in advance that you are going to need to do a chargeback. Or just NEVER ORDER from shopfocallure.com. Like ever. If it came between ordering from them and a long, agonizing death in front of my loved ones, I would say "What kind of cancer?" Because that's what they are; a cancer on the internet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Dec 31, 2018

    Fraud and counterfeit items

    From my perspective, this company is awful because of this interaction. Without my approval on order #1001288219 they signed me up for some subscription box. The item I actually ordered was supposed to ship in 3-5 days. Two weeks later and it still didn't ship. Customer service is available by a form on their website only (should have been my 10th red flag on this awful company). They said they would respond within 8 hours. When contacted to cancel the item, they took 2 days in responding and just said it was about to ship.

    Two more weeks later, they said the order was in the process of shipping and couldn't be canceled. A week later and I demanded they cancel their order, but they gave me a tracking number and said it had already shipped! The shipping company said they didn't receive it until 2 days after Focallure said it had already shipped.

    Well, a week after that, it turns out all that shipped was that subscription box I didn't order in the first place. So I told them again to cancel the item and they said it was about to ship and refused to cancel it. Here's the kicker - what they sent was obviously counterfeit and not even close to what I ordered. I have sent multiple requests to cancel the order and all they have done is demand I send pictures. I sent the pictures and asked them where to return the fraudulent item and received no response. I'm going to do a chargeback with my credit card and toss the knock-off item in the trash. I believe they are trying to run out the clock until the chargeback deadline has passed.

    In my opinion, they lie about shipping times, lie about customer service response, lie about items ordered, send counterfeit items, and have no sense of customer service. Their address is a very methy looking run-down strip mall in Vegas. I wish I had read these reviews and avoided them like the plague. If you do business with them after reading this, you deserve what you get. Bring lots of lube.

    (read moreread less...)

  • If I could give zero stars, I would.

    • Texas,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On October 26th, 2018, I decided to try out the "Free First BabeBox" (just pay S&H). I said, "Okay, this is cool. I'll just buy it, try it out, and see if I like it." Now, perhaps I just didn't notice, and I read right over it, but this is a subscription service. I should've known!

    Anyways, it says the order will be shipped in 2-7 business days. Okay, I can deal with that. I go on with my life. About two weeks later, I realize that I still haven't received anything from them. Huh. Weird. I go into my email, and I realize not only have I never received a shipment confirmation email, but I never received an order confirmation email either, so I can't even look up my order number since I have no clue what it is. So I contact them. "Here's my information. I never received an email. What's going on?" It took quite a while to receive a response (definitely longer than most other places I've contacted). After approximately three days, I receive the response that most others have received: "We have a lot of orders, so it's taking a while. We'll get it shipped soon." Okay...? I'm alright with that, but maybe you guys should hire more people.

    Well, I finally get the shipment confirmation the day after that. Cool! It should show up by the end of November. And it does! It shows up around the end of the month, around November 28th or 29th (I should've kept the emails telling me about this order...). I never even got to use anything in this box, however, as I'm hardly home and have time for beauty care stuff while I'm in school.

    And then, on December 3rd, I get an email: "Your order from Focallure Beauty is confirmed!" I've been charged $31.95. Wait, what? I literally just got my box a week ago. I email customer service. "Hey, I really don't want this new order. I'd like to cancel my subscription and cancel this recent order and receive a refund." This email works with all other places. It should work for this store, too, right?

    I wait. And wait. And wait. About three days go by, and no email. Maybe they missed my email and it got lost? I send them another, letting them know I emailed them earlier. I wait some more. And finally, a few days over a week later, I receive an email back on December 11th. The customer service representative addresses me with "Let me explain a few things first." Okay, whoa. No need to be so blunt and rude. I know the mistake was on my end. I just want you to complete my request. I let them know this, and they email back the next day with "Your request has been received. Please wait for our notification." Okay... I'll do some more waiting then.

    Four days pass before I look at my account again. My most recent order says "Unfulfilled." Cool! Does that mean I'll be getting my refund? I email them. I don't get a response until December 20th. Basically, they say: "We will do our best for you to receive your package as fast as possible." Um...That's not what I asked for at all. I let them know this, and they tell me that they've escalated my request for manager approval. Uh...Okay...

    December 21st, I receive an email: "A shipment from your order is on the way!" Great. Nothing got done. But I'm still waiting for my confirmation. I get an email from them the next day. "We can't refund you because the box has been shipped." Really?!

    Okay, now I'm really upset.

    I send them a lengthy email that tells them the timeframe I gave them to fix the issues, and how nothing got done. I'm angry, but I try to be civilized. I ask if, when I receive my package, I can mark it "Return To Sender" and send it back to them, and then when they confirm they receive it, I can get my refund.

    A week goes by before I receive another email. It's an exact copy/paste from the previous email they sent me. Excuse me?! Please stop being robots and fix my problem that I made you guys aware of a month ago! I ignore what they say and ask for a manager or superior to contact me immediately. Five days go by before they email me a copy/paste of their "Let me explain a few things first" email. Great. Now they won't even talk to me. I email them again, once again asking them to fulfill one last request to either connect me with a superior or give me a phone number to contact them on my own time. The last email I received was at 8:30 AM CST, from Kate, a "Happiness Engineer," telling me that my subscription has been canceled and to have a nice day.

    I am beyond anger and displeased. I am not even close to happy with the service I've received from this company. I received the box about a week ago, and I still have it sitting on my desk, untouched and unopened, as I am hoping to have this issue resolved for me to send it back. I highly doubt it'll happen, though. In the end, I'll probably throw away the products because I want nothing to do with them, and I don't want to burden my friends with products from such a terrible, inconsistent company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    BabeBox is great

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to give Follacure BabeBox a try and I am glad I did. I was actually impressed with the box, it came with a beautiful palette and mascara, and a teeth whitening pen which I gave to my fiance, which was awesome that he can have something out of this box as well. I am very happy I tried this box, and I hope there are more surprises to come every month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Do not believe them!

    • Denmark,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order over a month ago, and I STILL have not received my product. I contacted the company and was told that the warehouse was behind, because of their "busy" schedule. I waited another ten days and found out I had been subscribed to BabeBox by Focallure, which I didn't want to. I asked for a refund, for the product I had ordered and never received, and asked to cancel "my" subscription to the BabeBox by Focallure. They just ignored my request and said they will soon send me my product. AND they didn't cancel my subscription and once again took my money! And for something I DON'T want! I do NOT recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fraud! Scam!

    • Florida,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fraud alert!

    They don't reply to any emails. There's no phone number to call, and they bill you for a box you didn't want or authorized after you send them 20 messages not to!

    I called my credit card and will dispute all charges. Do not buy from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They scam!

    • Pensacola, FL,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a curling iron directly from Focallure and it was to be a Christmas present for my daughter. This company immediately took the money from my account and said to expect my package 2-7 days (yeah!). Then I came across this page on complaints against the company, and I instantly knew I wasn’t getting that in time for Christmas. I went into action and started emailing the company to let them know I no longer wanted any subscription to their "Babebox," and I will not be charged for anything in the future. This company, scam artist they are, had the nerve to tell me that I was under contractual obligation to pay for one more "Babebox" and THEN I could cancel. You get that?! I’m under obligation with the company that refuses to send me the item I ordered in the TIMEFRAME that I was promised to receive, but I’m to keep my end of the made-up contractual obligation that I never agreed to. Also, they’ve also promised that you can cancel at ANYTIME, well, anytime they see fit.

    Do buy from this company, I assure you there is no product on this earth that is worth the BS you’ll have to go through trying to get the stuff you PAY for. Not to mention they are going to have your credit card information and WILL charge you for future product. This company should be shut down, and the person who replies to this complaint should hang their head way low for working for a company you know rips off unsuspecting consumers, and then reply to emails as if you’re going to resolve their complaint but only to lie and lie more. SHAME ON YOU!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered an eyebrow pencil for my mom as a Christmas present. I ordered it on November 26th (Cyber Monday). I got a confirmation saying it would arrive within 2-7 business days. It is December 24th and I still don’t have it. Tracking says it won’t be delivered until December 28th. OVER A MONTH after I ordered it. I emailed and asked for reimbursement because that’s absolutely ridiculous. I got an email back from customer service just saying "your order is on its way. Here’s the tracking number, thanks!" Awful. NEVER order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible!

    • Florida,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I definitely wish I read the reviews. I ordered one product, which arrived four weeks late, and they automatically added Babebox to my order. On December 2nd, I received an email that an order was placed. I did not place an order and it turned out to be for the Babebox. I emailed them the next day to cancel the order, which was within their 48-hour return policy. I didn't receive a response until a week later with them telling me that the order could not be canceled because it had already been shipped. The problem is the order hadn't been shipped. I emailed them again that I wanted the order canceled. Another week later they said the subscription had been canceled. And now today, three weeks since they placed the order, I get an email that the order was shipped!

    I've repeatedly told them to cancel and refund my card, and they've completely ignored my request and shipped it anyway. Terrible company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It is a ghost company!

    • Bucharest, Romania,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed a big order, they didn't send it, so I asked for a refund. When they receive my request, they immediately sent the order, but they send it wrong, so I couldn't receive it. They sent my order in three different packages, without three invoices for each part of the order. And without the invoice, I couldn't pay our taxes, so I couldn't pick it up, it was paid by my company. Now they received back my order, and also have my money, and refuse to refund me for my paid and lost amount! I really don't recommend Focallure!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Australia,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be careful. I placed an order over three weeks ago and nothing. I keep sending emails to ask for updates (their tracking service doesn't work), and IF I receive anything at all in return it is a drafted "please wait another few days." I definitely won't be shopping with them again. IF I receive anything at all, let alone it being in working order (after reading other reviews), I'll be very surprised.

    Merry Christmas Focallure. Enjoy my money during your festive season.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    BUYER BEWARE

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I would have seen these reviews prior to purchasing an item off their website. Like other reviewers, I have run into the same issues.

    "The products are in a heavy demand due to which our shipping timings are a bit slow. Please give us few days and your order will be shipped as soon as possible."

    I wish I never would have shopped with Focallure. What a rip off and bad customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 435

Write a Review for Focallure!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review