About Follinique

If you’re thinning or balding, Follinique is a 2% minoxidil topical solution that claims to penetrate your scalp, stimulate and reactivate hair follicles, and even reverse the signs of hair loss. This way, the company promises you’ll be able to start regrowing thicker hair, maintain your hair’s elasticity, and “love your hair again.”

To accomplish this, we’re told you simply need to apply Follinique to your scalp twice daily as part of your regular regimen, and you could experience results in as little as 2 months.

Sure, these benefits sound great, but can you really expect all of this from Follinique? Is it really clinically proven? FDA approved? We’ll take a deep dive into Follinique’s claims here, all aimed at helping you become a professional shopper.

What Causes Hair Loss? Can It Be Reversed?

Although we can all feel self-conscious once we realize we’re losing our hair, the fact of the matter is that 85% of men will have “significantly thinning hair” by the age of 50, while 40% of women could experience something similar. In other words, if you’re losing your hair, one of the first things you should understand is that you’re not alone.

Another important fact to consider is that, while there can be dozens of causes of hair loss, including natural shedding, hormonal changes, grooming habits (such as wearing hair in a ponytail for too long, or damaging locks from styling treatments), stress, medications, and more. In the vast majority of cases though, hair loss is caused by a condition known as androgenetic alopecia.

Here, an androgen called dihydrotestosterone (DHT) “attacks” hair follicles and leads to increasingly short growth cycles. Eventually, the follicle stops producing hair altogether and enters a dormant stage.

Now, although the cause of most hair loss is fairly well understood, there are no permanent cures, and in most cases the condition is not reversible. What about Follinique’s claims to the contrary, though? Does the company provide any evidence to back them up?

What Ingredients Are Found In Follinique? Will They Regrow Hair?

There isn’t a product label shown on the Follinique website, and the only ingredient we’re told about is 2% minoxidil.

Minoxidil was originally developed in the 1950s and was FDA approved in 1979 to treat high blood pressure, since it acts as a vasodilator to widen blood vessels and improve circulation. However, researchers soon found that minoxidil also worked to regrow hair—although exactly how it accomplishes this, without blocking DHT, remains to be seen.

In general, minoxidil comes in 5% (men’s) and 2% (women’s) strengths in a variety of formats, including gels, foams, and liquid drops (Follinique appears to be the latter).

Important note: It needs to be emphasized here that only minoxidil is FDA approved; Follinique is not. Based on some of the wording on their website though, this might not always be clear. Take the picture below as an example:

Screenshot of Follinique's websiteIn one area, the company claims this graph represents minoxidil use, but in another, they claim it represents results achieved using Follinique. In either instance, only minoxidil is FDA approved, while no clinical evidence is available for Follinique.

Exactly how much hair can you regrow with a minoxidil-based product? For males, about 40% experience some hair regrowth after 3-6 months of regular use. Most of this growth occurs toward the central area (vertex) of the scalp, so minoxidil is not usually effective if you’re thinning toward the front of the hairline.

Related: Keranique Review

Minoxidil also seems to work best regrowing small areas of hair loss (no large patches), as well as in younger men who have been losing their hair for less than 5 years. Just remember that as soon as you stop using minoxidil, your hair loss will resume.

Are There Any Potential Side Effects from Using Follinique?

Again, we’re not told about all of the ingredients contained in Follinique, so we can’t fully understand what kinds of side effects you might experience, if any.

The good news is that most users don’t experience any side effects from using the 2% minoxidil found in Follinique. For those who do, it’s usually mild redness or irritation. In more severe cases, some may experience unwanted hair growth elsewhere on the body, itching, difficulty breathing, dizziness, hand and feet swelling, and more.

Also, minoxidil is known to cause “shedding,” which occurs when hairs in their telogen (resting) phase suddenly fall out. Until these are replaced by hairs in their anagen (growth) phase, this means minoxidil can temporarily increase your thinning.

How much will you pay for Follinique’s 2% minoxidil solution?

How Much Does Follinique Cost?

The only way to purchase Follinique is through a 14-day trial, where you’ll pay $4.95 to cover S&H.

While this might sound like a great deal, in our experience, these “free” trials often end by charging your credit card some ridiculously high price, often nearing (or exceeding) $100. The problem is that the company doesn’t tell you how much you’ll pay once their trial ends, or if you’ll be enrolled in any kind of recurring shipping program.

On top of this, there wasn’t any contact information listed on the Follinique website, so we couldn’t contact customer service to ensure that you have all the information you need.

All Follinique orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. According to their Terms though, the “customer agrees to try the product and evaluate its performance before requesting a refund or cancellation.”

Elsewhere, we’re told that “products [must be] in their original, unopened package” in order to qualify for a refund. So, which is it?

Again, there’s no way to contact the company, but the HighYa team has reviewed hundreds of nutritional supplements over the years, many of which use this same wording. Based on the customer feedback for many of these companies, we think it’s purposely used to ensure you’ll never qualify for a refund.

Related: Everything You Need to Know about Hair Supplements in 5 Easy Steps

Let’s continue talking about customers as we come to a conclusion about Follinique.

Is Follinique Nothing More Than False Hope?

Could Follinique forseeably help regrow your hair? Assuming it contains the level of minoxidil claimed by the manufacturer, and that your thinning/balding is occurring on the vertex of your scalp, then yes; it’s certainly possible.

But given minoxidil’s FDA approved status, it’s less a question of whether or not Follinique will work, but more about whether or not it’s the best use of your money. What do we mean?

Type “2% minoxidil” into any search engine and you’ll quickly find hundreds of different products containing the same active ingredient as Follinique, for as little as $22. You’ll also find many of these same products at retailers and pharmacies near you, which could help save even more by avoiding shipping costs.

On the other hand, we’re not told how much Follinique costs, how many applications you’ll get from each bottle, which company manufactures it, or many other important pieces of information. Based on these facts alone, we’d recommend exploring other options instead of placing an order for Follinique.

Did you just learn that the minoxidil in Follinique might not work based on your balding type? If so, be sure to read How to Choose a Hair Loss Product, Even if You Don’t Know What to Do. Then, before trying anything new, be sure to speak with your doctor!

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Customer Reviews for Follinique

Average Customer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not a good company

    • Porter Ranch, CA,
    • Sep 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I fell for getting a product for free. Before I even tried it, I was charged $84 for not canceling. There was no place on the document that said I needed to cancel and if there was it was not apparent. I called to get my money back, and they refused unless I become a member, buy again and get 67% discount. They asked me to send it back if it was not open. Unfortunately, it is open, and I lost $84. It would be good if it works, but I do not think any reputable company treats its customers this way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Yes, don't start

    • Texas,
    • Sep 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got off the phone after two calls and they will not transfer you or give a supervisor name or number, and they then hung up on me. I was never rude or angry to them. They are obviously trained to do this. So when you get the product, they will charge you almost $200. And you will not get anything done about it. What a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Unhappy

    • Fort Lauderdale, Florida,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to try this to see if it would work. I canceled my order never believing or thinking they would charge my bank card for $174 that I definitely could not afford since I only make $8.00 an hour. They took money for my medicine. I have cancer, and it was very mean when I told them there is no way can I afford that.

    So you ask if this a scam? Yes. Once they have your information, they can charge you what they want. Never give your bank information to these ads. It will come to haunt you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Fraud charges

    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a text from my bank about a possible fraud charge. I have never ordered anything from this company, and they tried to charge me $74.95!

    A few days later I received a bottle of their product in the mail. I immediately called and told the first person that I had not ordered this and that someone had charged it on my card. The sales person, Ashley, told me that they didn't do refunds or returns. I kept telling her that someone had ordered this using my card, but it wasn't me. She hung up on me, so I called back. The next person hung up on me as well, then surprisingly, Ashley phoned back and said they wanted to resolve this. She said she was authorized to give me a 51% refund. I told her absolutely not, and I had filed a fraud procedure and canceled my card. She told me that I wouldn't get my money back if I continued the fraud. My bank said that wasn't true and I shared that with her.

    She finally agreed to let me return the product but still argued about the money. I told her to cancel the transaction immediately, which she did because my bank wouldn't let the charge go through. Just a bunch of people trying to take your hard-earned money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 25, 2017

      Rozenda Walker

      Well, it happened to me. These people are a ripping off your bank account. I have cancer, and I wanted to try something. I canceled my order and they charged me $174. I absolutely can't afford this making $8.00 hour.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Canceled but still charged!

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled this product after charging my card over $150.00 way last year, to find out they not only charged my card in January of 2017 and never sent the product, but they charged me again in June and placed the charge under some weight loss skinny name. When I called about it and once they found their mistake, I was hung up on by two different people. The product does no good!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Do not order this product

    I ordered the product, and when I received it, I was surprised to see it was some tablets and a liquid. I decided not to use the product and canceled my order. I requested a return label. Later I found the company handling the sale had taken $74.95 out of my account after I had requested cancellation. They continued to send me emails stating they had deposited my refund into my account and the problem was my bank holding it up.

    Needless to say, I never got my money back. I have been hung up on, lied to and accused of not canceling quickly enough. Do not order this product. The reps are rude and lie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried the $5 trial, and when they offered me a second product I clicked no, but they charged me for it anyways.

    When a month later I was billed $136 for another order, I called to cancel and return it. They intentionally hide their contact information. I sent it back as requested and was notified that they'd received it. They only refunded me for one product. When I called their customer service again, the representative told me she couldn't find my account and hung up on me.

    When I called a second time a male told me he thought I had been deleted out of the system and there was nothing else for him to do. They still owed me $75! They DID NOT care. At all. When I asked if there was someone else I could speak with he told me there was no point and was remorseless about the fact they scammed me out of my money. He also hung up on me. It had been three days. They are FRAUDS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Buyer don't buy or you are out close to $150

    • Alexandria, VA,
    • Jan 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Reading into the fine lines does NOT help you!

    Beware when ordering the "trial." If you don't respond in 14 days, they will hit your account for $149.99, and there are no refunds. NOTHING in the trial guidelines stipulates that you're going to get hit with these charges.

    Buyer BEWARE. In my opinion, it's a rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Scam, thumbs down to customer care!

    This product is breaking my client's hair. I have been caring for her hair for more than 20 years, and since the use of this product, she has gotten hair lost.

    I called customer care and they don't have any information on whether you can use it with other products. I tell them that less than two weeks after using this product, my client comes in with a small sandwich bag full of hair. Then they guarantee a refund.

    When you call them and they tell you there is no refund, you tell them the reason you want to cancel is because it is causing damage, not growth. The customer service representatives are selling scams, they don't tell you it would over $100, they say try it, buy it. This is false advertisement. They will be hearing from my attorneys.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Customer service and support

    Regis, a member of their customer support team, raised his voice and started talking to me like I was his child, and if that wasn't bad enough, he hung the phone up on me like a child. I used 0 profanity and even politely told him not to get an attitude with me, sir (yes I even called him sir), and he hung up the phone on me. I was only making sure that I didn't get a new shipment before I wanted it, and I get an overbearing man scolding me instead, so I canceled everything.

    The only problem with this product is that someone like this still has a job there, even when this problem has happened before.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    I was very unhappy with the order process. On the site I ordered from it says I have to pay $5 to get the product, and if I wanted more I would pay more for future orders. I was not aware this would be ordered for me only a few days later by the company.

    On the box it says I would not see results for at least three weeks, but I have to report back to the company in two so I won't get more of something I can't judge properly.

    I canceled my order, and no I didn't see any results from their product. Don't buy it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Follinique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review