About Freedom Mentor

Created by noted real estate investor Phil Pustejovsky, Freedom Mentor claims to be one of the leading real estate investing programs that can help you become successful faster and easier than doing it on your own. With this in mind, the Freedom Mentor website claims that right now is the best time to make money in real estate, and that the secret to success in this industry is having the right mentor.

But considering that fact that all your net profits will be split 50/50, does the Freedom Mentor program really benefit you, or just put more money in Phil’s pockets? To investigate these claims we did some research, and here’s what we learned.

Who is Phil Pustejovsky?

Before getting into the details about Freedom Mentor, it might help to have a better understanding of Phil Pustejovsky’s background.

After graduating from Vanderbilt University, Phil claims that he became involved in a partying lifestyle, at which point his life began spiraling downward. In fact, at one point he claims that he was homeless and living out of his truck after he initially failed at real estate investing.

After hitting bottom though, Phil claims that he met a mentor named Tom who helped guide him through the real estate investing process. Since that time, Phil claims to have negotiated $45 million worth of short sales and to have built a large portfolio of properties through a variety of lending techniques. In fact, he now calls himself the “nation’s premier real estate mentor” by helping other investors get started, or take their businesses to the next level, using his Freedom Mentor programs.

Freedom Mentor Details

At its most basic, the Freedom Mentor program claims to partner with you and help you make fast cash and build wealth using real estate investments. Through this partnership, the company will share 50/50 of your net profits for each deal that you make, which they claim ensures that each party has equal interest in your success. In addition, Phil claims that his personal mentoring will help you avoid many of the pitfalls and dangers associated with real estate investing, while also providing you with true financial intelligence, more time, confidence, and freedom, and a useable set of skills that you can continue implementing after the mentorship program is complete.

In order to apply for the Freedom Mentoring program, you’ll need to sign up by entering your name, phone number, and email address, after which a representative from the company will contact you. According to the Freedom Mentoring website though, Phil is only interested in working with coachable, action-oriented, honest, and committed apprentices.

In addition to his mentoring program, Phil Pustejovsky also provides a free digital copy of his best-selling book titled How to be a Real Estate Investor after you sign up for his email updates. In this book, he claims that he’s simplified real estate investing in order to make the principles actionable and easy to apply. In addition, Phil claims that this book contains decades of real estate investing knowledge and real-world experience, and that it shows you all the strategies you’ll need, whether you’re a new or experienced investor.

On the Freedom Mentor website you’ll also find a fairly long list of free real estate training courses, which are comprised of 25 different articles and videos, starting with the basics and becoming progressively more complex. You’ll also find a regularly updated blog that contains short articles on everything from renting vs. owning a home, to the top 7 ways to fail as a real estate investor.

Finally, Phil also hosts several real estate investing-related events throughout the country each year, along with the likes of Robert Kiyosaki, George Ross, and others.

Freedom Mentor Pricing & Refund Policy

While Phil Pustejovsky’s book is free, along with the training sessions on his website, there is no pricing information provided for his Freedom Mentor programs. However, after piecing together different snippets of information during our research, we found one relatively recent online review claiming that the company charges $3,000 as an initial fee, a $197 monthly membership charge, on top of the 50/50 profits split.

On the other hand, a consumer who had already been screened by Freedom Mentor employees posted a review on this site, claiming that the fee is $4,750, for which you’ll receive:

  • A personalized investing plan
  • Instructional, lead-generating software
  • Access to a lender database
  • 2 conference calls per week with other mentorees
  • Daily instant messaging with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors
  • 3 live coaching calls per month with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors

It appears that there is also $1K Freedom Mentor do-it-yourself program, which seems to be a scaled down version of the full system.

As such, in order to verify Freedom’s mentorship pricing, you may want to contact the company directly at 877-693-3172 (see more about this in the following section).

What Are Other Consumers Saying About The Freedom Mentor?

Based on the hundreds of reviews and forum posts we read during our research, there appears to be a general air of skepticism surrounding the Freedom Mentor program; primarily that, while it does seem to provide legitimate methods of making money in real estate, the high entrance fee and 50/50 profit split may not ultimately be worth it in the end. More specifically, many of these reviews claimed that much of the program’s information can be found for free online and in existing books.

For a fairly detailed “insider’s view” into the Freedom Mentor program, we would recommend reading a review by “Margaret Dennis” here.

On top of this, we read numerous reviews claiming that Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors post fake positive writeups and forum comments in order to boost its appeal, and that you may experience aggressive/high pressure sales tactics after sending the company your contact information.

What’s the Bottom Line About Freedom Mentor from Phil Pustejovsky?

When it comes down to it, if you’re looking to make more money through real estate investing, is the Freedom Mentor program worthwhile? It seems that it could be, although you should keep the following in mind:

Short Sales Galore

First, it appears the majority of the Freedom Mentor program is focused on purchasing short sales through a variety of channels, including hard money lending. As such, if this isn’t your cup of tea, this may not be the mentorship program you’re looking for.

Steep Price

Next, even if you are interested in short sales, the Freedom Mentor program comes with a steep price tag. While the initial fee appears to be scalable between $1K and $8K depending on your circumstances, you’ll also be responsible for a $200 monthly fee, on top of the 50/50 profit split. Speaking of which, this split will occur until you’ve acquired anywhere from $100K to $500K in profits, again depending on your specific contract. And depending on the types of deals you find and how often you find them, this could translate into a very long—and expensive—relationship.

On top of this, several customers stated that much of the information found in the Freedom Mentor program can be found elsewhere for free, such as online, in books, and by networking with a local REI group.

Unanswered Questions

Despite the amount of time spent researching Freedom Mentor, we’re still left with some fairly important questions, such as: How selective is the application process? Exactly how does the mentorship program help you find deals and obtain financing? With this said, based on customers who had been contacted by a screener, it appears that you’ll undergo multiple calls totaling several hours of talk time, so many of these important questions might be answered at that time.

Mixed Reputation

As we mentioned above, it appears that the Freedom Mentor program has been met with a healthy dose of skepticism from the REI industry in general. To be fair though, the reality is that most of the industry’s “gurus” are more than happy to sell you the biggest dream you can imagine, while often providing very little in the way of lasting results.

However, we read several positive reviews during our research from individuals who claimed to be part of the Freedom Mentor program. Most of these admitted that the price is steep, but that the support they received really helped their real estate businesses move forward.

Bottom line: The Freedom Mentor program definitely doesn’t appear to be a scam, although multiple people have wondered if the high price is ultimately worth it. As such, be sure to ask all the questions you can if you decide to contact the company, and remember that any commitment you make might end up being a very expensive one.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

37 Consumer Reviews for Freedom Mentor

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • The best

    • Corinth, MS,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined about a month ago. This program is the best I've seen in the marketplace after more than 25 years of real estate investing. I can’t believe how much I didn’t know about something I have been doing the better part of my life. This company is the real deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Following Phil’s instructions exactly

    • Portland, OR,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently attended Phil's annual Mastery event that he puts on for free for all his Apprentices every year. Meeting people in his program from across North America was really cool, especially hanging out with some graduates, meaning, the people that have made over a half million dollars with Freedom Mentor. What I noticed that really stuck out was that the ones who do the best, are the ones that follow the program’s instructions the closest. The ones that are struggling do some things but not others, or do very little at all. Some people are lazy but others are hard workers but they don’t do what they are taught.

    I didn't know anything when I first got started, so I just followed exactly what they taught and didn't put my own spin on anything. I have closed seven deals since joining 11 months ago. I have put $67,537 in my pocket (that's after the profit split; so I have put that exact amount in my bank account). Joining this program was the best thing I ever did. But I can see why some people don't get the same results as me. They are the ones that don't follow instructions well and instead, do their own thing; or they don’t do anything at all. So if you are the type of person that you can't possibly bring yourself to follow exact instructions, step by step, don't apply for this program. Also, if you think that you don’t have to do anything, but can just sit back and do nothing; this program won’t work for you either. P

    hil and his team are ridiculously detailed and show you exactly how to do everything; but if you don't do it the way they show you, you don't get good results. I truly believe this is the greatest real estate investing program ever created, but I have also had a great experience and have made a ton of money already, so I am a bit biased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    An honest real estate guru?

    I’m a retired contractor. I’ve pretty much seen it all. I bought my first investing course back in the 80s from a guy named Carleton Sheets. It was interesting, I learned some new terms, but it didn’t connect all the dots, it was missing several important pieces of the puzzle, so I was never able to close any deals with it. That experience turned me off to real estate investing courses altogether. I’d see these free seminars come to town and just roll my eyes. I got to the point where I just assumed every real estate “guru” was just a slick talking salesman that made their money selling a pig in a poke.

    Recently, after retiring though, I started getting back into the idea of investing and ran across Phil’s videos. He seemed different. I must have watched 50 videos and my attitude toward real estate investing gurus changed because of him.

    Rather than try to piece together everything on my own, I liked the idea of having someone by my side to walk me through the process from start to finish, so I applied for his program.

    The interview process was lengthy, but that encouraged me because I could tell that they weren’t just after my money; they really drilled me on all kinds of questions. Being a contractor for 30 years, I can smell a rat from a mile away, and I never got that feeling from anyone on his team. They were very genuine. I got accepted and joined the program. That was about six months ago.

    My first deal was tiny, only made about $5,100, but it was my second one that just closed, which was really nice. It made a little under $36,000. The seller was terminally ill and actually passed away before we were able to close, so it kind of stretched things out, but the mentors were there to help me get through it. In fact, right before the closing, mentor Brian was able to give me some advice and a technique on how to handle a seller objection, and it put an extra $3,500 in my pocket. We put a little bit of work into the house, but not much at all. The real key was in how it was structured using creative financing and how it was sold in such a way that it created a bidding war.

    In full disclosure, after that second deal closed, I was asked if I would be willing to write about my experiences with the program somewhere online. So I googled, and this site came up, so that’s why it’s here. I don’t know if it’s in the right place or not but I was happy to write this because Phil and his team and Freedom Mentor are fantastic. They filled in all the cracks, provided all the missing pieces, and I’ve made real money from this. And I’m now a believer. There is such thing as an honest real estate guru.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 14, 2018

      Sara

      My husband is doing this with Freedom Mentor and we have two houses at closing, and we are having issues with title companies. Did you have this issue? If so, how did you correct it because his first two deals are similar to what you explained, however, we were lucky and these houses were already updated.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Why one should use this system

    Becoming a creative real estate investor is the hardest thing I've ever done in my life. I am a former chemical engineer, and while I was still employed, I joined Phil’s program simply because I wanted to become wealthy. But a few months in, I was shockingly laid off, and it forced me to either get serious about real estate investing or find a job. I chose to go into real estate full time because I believed in what Phil could help me do.

    But it wasn’t easy for me. I had to come out of my shell and do things way outside of what I was previously used to. There were times when I was down and out, but I would connect with Phil or the other mentors and things would move forward just as they told me.

    On my first deal, it seemed like everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. I had a situation where a title company failed to even start the title work, the seller tried to back out on me, a contractor backed out on me, then on the actual day of closing, the sellers demanded more money or they wouldn’t close. I had a mess of problems on that first one, but throughout it all, Phil and his team were by my side, and I’m glad to say we made $12,376.14 on it.

    This is an incredible program; not just the training, the mentoring, the resources, the tools; but for me, it’s also about the relationships and the growth I have experienced as a person. Leaving a chemical engineering field, basically throwing away my 4-year college degree to pursue this, and then to see that it was the right move, is what makes this so special. My family is very proud of me, I’m proud of myself, and I hope this encourages others who may be scared to take the plunge. It hasn’t been easy for me but it has been worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My review of Freedom Mentor

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined on October 3, 2017. My first deal officially closed and the $7,445.11 in net profits went into my bank account on January 25, 2018. That first deal was very complicated, and for most of the time, I was completely lost, and if not for the entire mentoring team telling me what to do next, it would have never closed. It's a lot more complicated to do a deal that requires none of your own money or credit than meets the eye. It can be done but it isn't easy. After going through the whole experience though, from start to finish, I now have more confidence with my second deal that should close within the next few days, and the net profit on that one will be right around $10,000. I am already recommending this to friends and family. It’s better than I expected and I had high expectations going into it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Inaccuracies

    There are a few inaccuracies in the above article that should be pointed out. I've been with the program for about six months now so I can explain at least some of the things that are inaccurate:

    1. "Short Sales Galore:" Maybe this article was written during the downturn in the market when Phil and his Apprentices were doing short sales? A whole lot has changed in the marketplace since then. I haven't heard of any short sale deals being done in listening to what others in the program are doing since I have been in it.

    2. "Seminars with Rich Dad:" I asked Phil about this because I am a Rich Dad Poor Dad fan and he said Kiyosaki asked him to speak at a symposium back in 2011 and it was in front of a 3,000+ crowd of people in Las Vegas and Phil was already in Vegas visiting family so he agreed to do it. To the best of my knowledge though, he doesn’t ever do seminars. He even has a video speaking out against them! He does do a once-a-year event for his Apprentices to get together, hang out with him and his team, but he also live streams it for people who can't make it because he would rather people save the money on the travel, hotel, restaurants, and invest that money in doing more deals. So I wouldn't consider the yearly Mastery event a seminar.

    3. "Insiders View:" If you want an insiders view of the program, I see where others in the program have made comments on this page below. Read those. And do more research like I did before I joined. Lots of truth out there about this program if you dig.

    4. "Steep Price:" If you think the cost of the best mentor on real estate investing is expensive, try the cost of trying to tackle this business on your own! Real estate is a dog-eat-dog cutthroat business. If you don't know exactly what you are doing, you'll get chewed up and spit out. Happened to my cousin. She lost her shirt!

    5. "Unanswered Questions:" If you have any questions, just ask the director before you join. I drilled him with questions before I joined. As for the selection process, I think it is for real. Someone from my work applied after me that lives in the same town as me, and they were denied because I was already in the program. And that person really wanted in.

    6. "Mixed Reputation:" I don't think it's mixed. It seems to me that you have the people that are in the program that love it and the people who couldn't or didn't get in that get frustrated for not getting in and they mouth off.

    My Bottom Line: Phil is the real deal. His program is terrific. If you are broke though, probably not the program for you. It is a significant amount of money upfront to join, it is your own business so you will have additional costs; but if you are serious about being successful in real estate and you are realistic in your expectations that its not easy and takes effort, this program works and you won't find a better mentoring team. And once you do a deal or two, you pay back all you invested, and the rest is pure profit. I hit my "break even" about five months into it and am all profit these days. Compare that to what I paid for my college education, and I am still paying back those stupid student loans!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    After almost one year, zero deals

    After letting Freedom Mentor charge my credit card with $10,000 in April 2017, start the program, receive all material and follow the instructions, today, after almost one year, I have zero deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Tremendous influence in my life

    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally wrote this as an email directly to Phil, but I felt it would be good to post it online too, to show my appreciation to him and his team for all they have done for me:

    "Phil, please keep doing what you are doing in life and following Gods calling. You have been such a tremendous influence on me in the past couple years and the program has been such a purging/dark night of the soul if you will for me and I am incredibly thankful for it! Although I've closed plenty of deals and made good money during that time, I am finally getting to the position of being able to absolutely knock it out of the park in real estate and other things and I just want to let you know I love you in Christ and I appreciate you!"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Exactly what I needed

    Perhaps I just got lucky, or maybe the person who wrote this article didn’t have access to the most authoritative sources when writing it, but my experiences have been very different. I feel like joining this program was exactly what I needed. Phil is AWESOME. I'm talking amazing.

    This is a small example, but he fills in all the cracks, all the little things that used to trip me up. I was previously a part of another program, and they left me hanging over and over again, and I now realize that the reason they did was because they didn't actually know all the finer details. Real estate investing is not self-explanatory.

    There are a ton of twists and turns, and it's so easy to get stuck, but Phil and all his coaches, they really know what they are talking about. They have gotten me unstuck. I am extremely grateful that I got in because it's a game changer for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 10, 2017

      Water

      Hi Kimberly. Do you how often do you directly interact with Phil or do you only correspond with his coaches?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Purpose filled life

    Phil's commitment to providing the best resources for someone to succeed is by far the best I've seen. He is truly living a purpose-filled life. I've actually prayed that he become even more successful so that he can share his insight/experience with even more people who are seeking financial freedom. There is NO LIMIT to his potential. The business model and system he has built replicates Jesus Christ "system" - living with integrity, making disciples, and teaching others to become financially free from this world's system.

    The principles he implements/follows/teaches come directly from the Bible. I study it quite often, and for the first time, I've actually run into someone who tries to stick to them as much as possible and then disciples others to do the same. It's going to take me a little time to learn this business, but you can rest assured I'm going to master it. The Lord will make Phil the head, not the tail. If he continues to pay attention to the commands of the Lord his God, he will ALWAYS be at the TOP, never at the bottom.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Happy, happy, happy

    That's the way I feel after having joined and been with the program for about a year now. Happy, happy, happy. It’s better than I expected. Real estate investing is so much more involved than I could have ever imagined, but they know everything inside and out, so I know I’m safe and protected.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review