About Freedom Mentor

Created by noted real estate investor Phil Pustejovsky, Freedom Mentor claims to be one of the leading real estate investing programs that can help you become successful faster and easier than doing it on your own. With this in mind, the Freedom Mentor website claims that right now is the best time to make money in real estate, and that the secret to success in this industry is having the right mentor.

But considering that fact that all your net profits will be split 50/50, does the Freedom Mentor program really benefit you, or just put more money in Phil’s pockets? To investigate these claims we did some research, and here’s what we learned.

Who is Phil Pustejovsky?

Before getting into the details about Freedom Mentor, it might help to have a better understanding of Phil Pustejovsky’s background.

After graduating from Vanderbilt University, Phil claims that he became involved in a partying lifestyle, at which point his life began spiraling downward. In fact, at one point he claims that he was homeless and living out of his truck after he initially failed at real estate investing.

After hitting bottom though, Phil claims that he met a mentor named Tom who helped guide him through the real estate investing process. Since that time, Phil claims to have negotiated $45 million worth of short sales and to have built a large portfolio of properties through a variety of lending techniques. In fact, he now calls himself the “nation’s premier real estate mentor” by helping other investors get started, or take their businesses to the next level, using his Freedom Mentor programs.

Freedom Mentor Details

At its most basic, the Freedom Mentor program claims to partner with you and help you make fast cash and build wealth using real estate investments. Through this partnership, the company will share 50/50 of your net profits for each deal that you make, which they claim ensures that each party has equal interest in your success. In addition, Phil claims that his personal mentoring will help you avoid many of the pitfalls and dangers associated with real estate investing, while also providing you with true financial intelligence, more time, confidence, and freedom, and a useable set of skills that you can continue implementing after the mentorship program is complete.

In order to apply for the Freedom Mentoring program, you’ll need to sign up by entering your name, phone number, and email address, after which a representative from the company will contact you. According to the Freedom Mentoring website though, Phil is only interested in working with coachable, action-oriented, honest, and committed apprentices.

In addition to his mentoring program, Phil Pustejovsky also provides a free digital copy of his best-selling book titled How to be a Real Estate Investor after you sign up for his email updates. In this book, he claims that he’s simplified real estate investing in order to make the principles actionable and easy to apply. In addition, Phil claims that this book contains decades of real estate investing knowledge and real-world experience, and that it shows you all the strategies you’ll need, whether you’re a new or experienced investor.

On the Freedom Mentor website you’ll also find a fairly long list of free real estate training courses, which are comprised of 25 different articles and videos, starting with the basics and becoming progressively more complex. You’ll also find a regularly updated blog that contains short articles on everything from renting vs. owning a home, to the top 7 ways to fail as a real estate investor.

Finally, Phil also hosts several real estate investing-related events throughout the country each year, along with the likes of Robert Kiyosaki, George Ross, and others.

Freedom Mentor Pricing & Refund Policy

While Phil Pustejovsky’s book is free, along with the training sessions on his website, there is no pricing information provided for his Freedom Mentor programs. However, after piecing together different snippets of information during our research, we found one relatively recent online review claiming that the company charges $3,000 as an initial fee, a $197 monthly membership charge, on top of the 50/50 profits split.

On the other hand, a consumer who had already been screened by Freedom Mentor employees posted a review on this site, claiming that the fee is $4,750, for which you’ll receive:

  • A personalized investing plan
  • Instructional, lead-generating software
  • Access to a lender database
  • 2 conference calls per week with other mentorees
  • Daily instant messaging with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors
  • 3 live coaching calls per month with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors

It appears that there is also $1K Freedom Mentor do-it-yourself program, which seems to be a scaled down version of the full system.

As such, in order to verify Freedom’s mentorship pricing, you may want to contact the company directly at 877-693-3172 (see more about this in the following section).

What Are Other Consumers Saying About The Freedom Mentor?

Based on the hundreds of reviews and forum posts we read during our research, there appears to be a general air of skepticism surrounding the Freedom Mentor program; primarily that, while it does seem to provide legitimate methods of making money in real estate, the high entrance fee and 50/50 profit split may not ultimately be worth it in the end. More specifically, many of these reviews claimed that much of the program’s information can be found for free online and in existing books.

For a fairly detailed “insider’s view” into the Freedom Mentor program, we would recommend reading a review by “Margaret Dennis” here.

On top of this, we read numerous reviews claiming that Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors post fake positive writeups and forum comments in order to boost its appeal, and that you may experience aggressive/high pressure sales tactics after sending the company your contact information.

What’s the Bottom Line About Freedom Mentor from Phil Pustejovsky?

When it comes down to it, if you’re looking to make more money through real estate investing, is the Freedom Mentor program worthwhile? It seems that it could be, although you should keep the following in mind:

Short Sales Galore

First, it appears the majority of the Freedom Mentor program is focused on purchasing short sales through a variety of channels, including hard money lending. As such, if this isn’t your cup of tea, this may not be the mentorship program you’re looking for.

Steep Price

Next, even if you are interested in short sales, the Freedom Mentor program comes with a steep price tag. While the initial fee appears to be scalable between $1K and $8K depending on your circumstances, you’ll also be responsible for a $200 monthly fee, on top of the 50/50 profit split. Speaking of which, this split will occur until you’ve acquired anywhere from $100K to $500K in profits, again depending on your specific contract. And depending on the types of deals you find and how often you find them, this could translate into a very long—and expensive—relationship.

On top of this, several customers stated that much of the information found in the Freedom Mentor program can be found elsewhere for free, such as online, in books, and by networking with a local REI group.

Unanswered Questions

Despite the amount of time spent researching Freedom Mentor, we’re still left with some fairly important questions, such as: How selective is the application process? Exactly how does the mentorship program help you find deals and obtain financing? With this said, based on customers who had been contacted by a screener, it appears that you’ll undergo multiple calls totaling several hours of talk time, so many of these important questions might be answered at that time.

Mixed Reputation

As we mentioned above, it appears that the Freedom Mentor program has been met with a healthy dose of skepticism from the REI industry in general. To be fair though, the reality is that most of the industry’s “gurus” are more than happy to sell you the biggest dream you can imagine, while often providing very little in the way of lasting results.

However, we read several positive reviews during our research from individuals who claimed to be part of the Freedom Mentor program. Most of these admitted that the price is steep, but that the support they received really helped their real estate businesses move forward.

Bottom line: The Freedom Mentor program definitely doesn’t appear to be a scam, although multiple people have wondered if the high price is ultimately worth it. As such, be sure to ask all the questions you can if you decide to contact the company, and remember that any commitment you make might end up being a very expensive one.


Read 41 Freedom Mentor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 35 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • The 1 Guarantee in Real Estate

    • Wallace Township, PA,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One of the most tragic mistakes newbie real estate investors make is thinking that they can figure out what to do on their own, just by using online sources and stumbling along in the real world. I tried it. And I'm very, very intelligent. It's so expensive and so inefficient to go about it that way. Joining the Freedom Mentor Apprentice Program was the best real estate decision I have ever made. Agreeing to share in half of my first $500,000 in net profits with them seemed scary at first. Then I thought to myself, how much money have I made so far, bumbling along the last 2 two years on my own? Oh, yeah, close to nothing! Why should I be so concerned about sharing in profits that don't exist? Once it dawned on me that 50% of something is a whole lot more than a 100% of nothing, I joined. And for the first 5 months, I thought I was doing everything right but hadn't closed a deal yet.

    I got on the phone with Phil, explained where I was at and asked what I was doing wrong. He gave me a few small suggestions but perhaps provided the most powerful advice I could have been given. He said, "You are doing almost everything right. DO NOT change course. Stay the course. You're 3 feet from gold, you just don't realize it yet." He was adamant that when anyone does exactly what I had done, the odds were so stacked in my favor that several deals were inevitable to roll through very soon. And it happened just like he said! All the sudden, I had 4 deals working and now, a month since that avalanche of deals came in, 2 have already closed, the 3rd one is closing this week (Phil is funding the deal) which should make a little over $200,000 (yes, that is the real net profit on a single-family home flip); and the 4th one is closing the end of next week. My half of the net profits on those 4 deals will be more money in my pocket than I have made in several years at my job. And the best part is, I can duplicate these results over and over and over again.

    Getting mentored by Phil and his team (which they are amazing too) is worth every penny of the cost. What I have learned is that you are going to have to pay for your real estate education one way or another. You can't get around the cost. Either you'll pay for it in the real world with mistakes, lost opportunities and years of failures. Or you will get there MUCH faster by paying a great mentor. The real cost of real estate investing education is high, but it's better to pay for it in profits you would have never obtained otherwise. Whether you decide to join Freedom Mentor or not, remember that the cost of your investing education is significant. You won't get around that part. My dad used to say, "There are two guarantees in life, death, and taxes." Well, there is one guarantee in real estate, the cost of your education.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Talent for teaching

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Phil, I want to thank you for sharing your expertise. What amazing and powerful videos you provide. You are a great teacher and definitely have a talent for teaching. I extremely enjoyed reading your book "How To Be A Real Estate Investor" too. For those that never read this book, it is a MUST.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Review UPDATED...

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Nov 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My understanding of the terms of the program (from what I was told in my initial consultation with the representative) was that the students pay an upfront fee to get the education and then students do all the work and give away half of their profit. Hence I left the review...

    After leaving the review, Phil contacted me, on the call he explained the program to me. Turns out, they don't take away half of your profits but instead, it's a profit-sharing model where you find deals and Phil uses his money to fund your deal and then split the profits. Which I think is reasonable...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 27, 2019

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      Daman's revised review is still not accurate. I appreciate his attempt to amend his previous highly erroneous post, but unfortunately, he still didn't get it right this second time around. He's a banker by profession and thus, his only understanding of real estate investing is the traditional way. And it's his deeply embedded traditional real estate mindset that is preventing him from fully understanding how our program works.

      Our program mentors people on creating profits from real estate deals which wouldn't have otherwise existed if not for our tutelage. We share in those newly created profits 50/50. It's based on the fundamental truth that 50% of something is a whole lot more than 100% of nothing.

      And to produce those profits, requires a multitude of highly specialized skills, such as how to find the very best deals, how to structure those deals for maximum profit with the least risks as well as how to organize the closings to hopefully avoid funding altogether, just to name a few. We have literally invented techniques that enable us to do things that most other investors right now have no idea are even possible.

      Meanwhile, a traditional investing mindset person values funding over everything else (like Daman) and therefore considers splitting half the profits in exchange for funding as a reasonable arrangement. We disagree. Funding is simply not that valuable. At no other point in history has there been more access to funding for real estate deals. There are literally thousands of funding sources in America begging to fund investors deals right now. We even have a free resource on our website, called "Hard Money Locator", which helps you find those sources. Funding is everywhere and cheaper than ever. To conclude that because we fund deals for our people, that our 50/50 profit sharing arrangement is reasonable, is missing the entire value that our program provides. Rather than funding, what's truly the most valuable part of real estate investing is knowing exactly how to find, structure and close deals; which is at the core of what we provide. We teach our people how to be first class, market leading real estate investors and these days, many of the top real estate investors across North America got their start with us.

    • Previous review
    • Aug 6, 2019

    Bogus! Beware! Don't lose your money before you even begin...

    I don’t understand who could be that dumb to sign up for this program with the terms that they have. Here is how it works:

    You pay the hefty amount of money upfront, $25000.00, to get "Education" (that is available for free on other sources), and then you pay them HALF of what you make, HALF! You find leads, you find financing (IF you are lucky, they will lend you money on interest), you deal with repairs selling and assume ALL the risk there is AND THEN they will come in and take HALF. Why? Because they gave you education and support which you have paid heavily.

    After my initial consultation, when I said NO to the "director' who was talking to me, he started basing my current situation. I ran away and never looked back.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Homerun experience

    • Los Banos, CA,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Freedom Mentor is that it has been a homerun. I did my research before joining and I think those naysayers that complain about the upfront cost as well as the sharing in profits are broke minded people. As a long time real estate agent, I understand the costs of real world real estate education. The reality is that very few so called "gurus" actually know the true-blue ins and outs of creative real estate investing. But when you acquire that knowledge, it's an insanely valuable skill. Free resources online get you nowhere in the real world of this business. If I needed help (as a long time agent), then certainly non-real estate people need it more than me. Phil and his team know their stuff. They know it better than anyone else in this country. I have closed several deals, made over $67,869.19 in net profits (after all expenses) and the next two deals I have in the hopper are huge. One of them I am holding long term for over $1,000 per month positive cashflow (plus $100,000 in equity) and the other is a sweet rehab deal that Phil is funding that should net over $90,000. Haters are going to hate and so if you listen to negativity in regards to this program because of its costs, my question to you is...how does it feel to be broke? How has that worked out for you? 50% of something is a whole lot more than 100% of nothing. I'd rather have $67,869.19 in my pocket plus a property with $100,000 in equity that gives me $1,000 per month and a new deal that should put $45,000 in my pocket (half of $90,000) than be making 100% of nothing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Completely changed my life

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Phil has completely changed my life for the better in so many different ways. I am posting this as a gigantic thanks to him for giving me the opportunity to be a part of his program and sacrificing his time to mentor me. I am so blessed to have been apart of the Freedom Mentor Apprentice Program. It's been an honor and a privilege. I graduated recently, meaning, I have made over $500,000 with this program, and $250,000 went in my pocket. I'm a full-time real estate investor these days here in Oklahoma and loving life and making a ton of money. In fact, I make more than my father who is a specialized physician in his early 60s! My dad still can't believe that his non-college educated son out earns him. If you are given the chance to work with Freedom Mentor, jump on it. It's changed my life and it can change yours.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not a typo

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My first deal finally closed with this program after being in it for 6 months. The net profit was $142,958.24. That was not a typo. After all expenses, the net profit was exactly $142,958.24. It was a creative deal that Phil and his team walked me through step by step. We used a technique that Phil invented so I am not at liberty to explain the intricate details here but suffice it to say, I am now completely debt-free and it is the greatest feeling in the world. I have no idea if you would have similar results as me because I am in the State of Washington where the average sale price on a house is much higher than in other parts of the country. The bigger the deal, the bigger the profits! I have several other deals in the pipeline so don't think I just got lucky. I'm just getting warmed up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 14 people found this review helpful

    The best

    • Corinth, MS,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined about a month ago. This program is the best I've seen in the marketplace after more than 25 years of real estate investing. I can’t believe how much I didn’t know about something I have been doing the better part of my life. This company is the real deal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Following Phil’s instructions exactly

    • Portland, OR,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently attended Phil's annual Mastery event that he puts on for free for all his Apprentices every year. Meeting people in his program from across North America was really cool, especially hanging out with some graduates, meaning, the people that have made over a half million dollars with Freedom Mentor. What I noticed that really stuck out was that the ones who do the best, are the ones that follow the program’s instructions the closest. The ones that are struggling do some things but not others, or do very little at all. Some people are lazy but others are hard workers but they don’t do what they are taught.

    I didn't know anything when I first got started, so I just followed exactly what they taught and didn't put my own spin on anything. I have closed seven deals since joining 11 months ago. I have put $67,537 in my pocket (that's after the profit split; so I have put that exact amount in my bank account). Joining this program was the best thing I ever did. But I can see why some people don't get the same results as me. They are the ones that don't follow instructions well and instead, do their own thing; or they don’t do anything at all. So if you are the type of person that you can't possibly bring yourself to follow exact instructions, step by step, don't apply for this program. Also, if you think that you don’t have to do anything, but can just sit back and do nothing; this program won’t work for you either. P

    hil and his team are ridiculously detailed and show you exactly how to do everything; but if you don't do it the way they show you, you don't get good results. I truly believe this is the greatest real estate investing program ever created, but I have also had a great experience and have made a ton of money already, so I am a bit biased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 16 people found this review helpful

    An honest real estate guru?

    I’m a retired contractor. I’ve pretty much seen it all. I bought my first investing course back in the 80s from a guy named Carleton Sheets. It was interesting, I learned some new terms, but it didn’t connect all the dots, it was missing several important pieces of the puzzle, so I was never able to close any deals with it. That experience turned me off to real estate investing courses altogether. I’d see these free seminars come to town and just roll my eyes. I got to the point where I just assumed every real estate “guru” was just a slick talking salesman that made their money selling a pig in a poke.

    Recently, after retiring though, I started getting back into the idea of investing and ran across Phil’s videos. He seemed different. I must have watched 50 videos and my attitude toward real estate investing gurus changed because of him.

    Rather than try to piece together everything on my own, I liked the idea of having someone by my side to walk me through the process from start to finish, so I applied for his program.

    The interview process was lengthy, but that encouraged me because I could tell that they weren’t just after my money; they really drilled me on all kinds of questions. Being a contractor for 30 years, I can smell a rat from a mile away, and I never got that feeling from anyone on his team. They were very genuine. I got accepted and joined the program. That was about six months ago.

    My first deal was tiny, only made about $5,100, but it was my second one that just closed, which was really nice. It made a little under $36,000. The seller was terminally ill and actually passed away before we were able to close, so it kind of stretched things out, but the mentors were there to help me get through it. In fact, right before the closing, mentor Brian was able to give me some advice and a technique on how to handle a seller objection, and it put an extra $3,500 in my pocket. We put a little bit of work into the house, but not much at all. The real key was in how it was structured using creative financing and how it was sold in such a way that it created a bidding war.

    In full disclosure, after that second deal closed, I was asked if I would be willing to write about my experiences with the program somewhere online. So I googled, and this site came up, so that’s why it’s here. I don’t know if it’s in the right place or not but I was happy to write this because Phil and his team and Freedom Mentor are fantastic. They filled in all the cracks, provided all the missing pieces, and I’ve made real money from this. And I’m now a believer. There is such thing as an honest real estate guru.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Why one should use this system

    Becoming a creative real estate investor is the hardest thing I've ever done in my life. I am a former chemical engineer, and while I was still employed, I joined Phil’s program simply because I wanted to become wealthy. But a few months in, I was shockingly laid off, and it forced me to either get serious about real estate investing or find a job. I chose to go into real estate full time because I believed in what Phil could help me do.

    But it wasn’t easy for me. I had to come out of my shell and do things way outside of what I was previously used to. There were times when I was down and out, but I would connect with Phil or the other mentors and things would move forward just as they told me.

    On my first deal, it seemed like everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. I had a situation where a title company failed to even start the title work, the seller tried to back out on me, a contractor backed out on me, then on the actual day of closing, the sellers demanded more money or they wouldn’t close. I had a mess of problems on that first one, but throughout it all, Phil and his team were by my side, and I’m glad to say we made $12,376.14 on it.

    This is an incredible program; not just the training, the mentoring, the resources, the tools; but for me, it’s also about the relationships and the growth I have experienced as a person. Leaving a chemical engineering field, basically throwing away my 4-year college degree to pursue this, and then to see that it was the right move, is what makes this so special. My family is very proud of me, I’m proud of myself, and I hope this encourages others who may be scared to take the plunge. It hasn’t been easy for me but it has been worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    My review of Freedom Mentor

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Apr 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined on October 3, 2017. My first deal officially closed and the $7,445.11 in net profits went into my bank account on January 25, 2018. That first deal was very complicated, and for most of the time, I was completely lost, and if not for the entire mentoring team telling me what to do next, it would have never closed. It's a lot more complicated to do a deal that requires none of your own money or credit than meets the eye. It can be done but it isn't easy. After going through the whole experience though, from start to finish, I now have more confidence with my second deal that should close within the next few days, and the net profit on that one will be right around $10,000. I am already recommending this to friends and family. It’s better than I expected and I had high expectations going into it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 41

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review