About Freedom Mentor

Created by noted real estate investor Phil Pustejovsky, Freedom Mentor claims to be one of the leading real estate investing programs that can help you become successful faster and easier than doing it on your own. With this in mind, the Freedom Mentor website claims that right now is the best time to make money in real estate, and that the secret to success in this industry is having the right mentor.

But considering that fact that all your net profits will be split 50/50, does the Freedom Mentor program really benefit you, or just put more money in Phil’s pockets? To investigate these claims we did some research, and here’s what we learned.

Who is Phil Pustejovsky?

Before getting into the details about Freedom Mentor, it might help to have a better understanding of Phil Pustejovsky’s background.

After graduating from Vanderbilt University, Phil claims that he became involved in a partying lifestyle, at which point his life began spiraling downward. In fact, at one point he claims that he was homeless and living out of his truck after he initially failed at real estate investing.

After hitting bottom though, Phil claims that he met a mentor named Tom who helped guide him through the real estate investing process. Since that time, Phil claims to have negotiated $45 million worth of short sales and to have built a large portfolio of properties through a variety of lending techniques. In fact, he now calls himself the “nation’s premier real estate mentor” by helping other investors get started, or take their businesses to the next level, using his Freedom Mentor programs.

Freedom Mentor Details

At its most basic, the Freedom Mentor program claims to partner with you and help you make fast cash and build wealth using real estate investments. Through this partnership, the company will share 50/50 of your net profits for each deal that you make, which they claim ensures that each party has equal interest in your success. In addition, Phil claims that his personal mentoring will help you avoid many of the pitfalls and dangers associated with real estate investing, while also providing you with true financial intelligence, more time, confidence, and freedom, and a useable set of skills that you can continue implementing after the mentorship program is complete.

In order to apply for the Freedom Mentoring program, you’ll need to sign up by entering your name, phone number, and email address, after which a representative from the company will contact you. According to the Freedom Mentoring website though, Phil is only interested in working with coachable, action-oriented, honest, and committed apprentices.

In addition to his mentoring program, Phil Pustejovsky also provides a free digital copy of his best-selling book titled How to be a Real Estate Investor after you sign up for his email updates. In this book, he claims that he’s simplified real estate investing in order to make the principles actionable and easy to apply. In addition, Phil claims that this book contains decades of real estate investing knowledge and real-world experience, and that it shows you all the strategies you’ll need, whether you’re a new or experienced investor.

On the Freedom Mentor website you’ll also find a fairly long list of free real estate training courses, which are comprised of 25 different articles and videos, starting with the basics and becoming progressively more complex. You’ll also find a regularly updated blog that contains short articles on everything from renting vs. owning a home, to the top 7 ways to fail as a real estate investor.

Finally, Phil also hosts several real estate investing-related events throughout the country each year, along with the likes of Robert Kiyosaki, George Ross, and others.

Freedom Mentor Pricing & Refund Policy

While Phil Pustejovsky’s book is free, along with the training sessions on his website, there is no pricing information provided for his Freedom Mentor programs. However, after piecing together different snippets of information during our research, we found one relatively recent online review claiming that the company charges $3,000 as an initial fee, a $197 monthly membership charge, on top of the 50/50 profits split.

On the other hand, a consumer who had already been screened by Freedom Mentor employees posted a review on this site, claiming that the fee is $4,750, for which you’ll receive:

  • A personalized investing plan
  • Instructional, lead-generating software
  • Access to a lender database
  • 2 conference calls per week with other mentorees
  • Daily instant messaging with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors
  • 3 live coaching calls per month with Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors

It appears that there is also $1K Freedom Mentor do-it-yourself program, which seems to be a scaled down version of the full system.

As such, in order to verify Freedom’s mentorship pricing, you may want to contact the company directly at 877-693-3172 (see more about this in the following section).

What Are Other Consumers Saying About The Freedom Mentor?

Based on the hundreds of reviews and forum posts we read during our research, there appears to be a general air of skepticism surrounding the Freedom Mentor program; primarily that, while it does seem to provide legitimate methods of making money in real estate, the high entrance fee and 50/50 profit split may not ultimately be worth it in the end. More specifically, many of these reviews claimed that much of the program’s information can be found for free online and in existing books.

For a fairly detailed “insider’s view” into the Freedom Mentor program, we would recommend reading a review by “Margaret Dennis” here.

On top of this, we read numerous reviews claiming that Freedom Mentor’s staff of counselors post fake positive writeups and forum comments in order to boost its appeal, and that you may experience aggressive/high pressure sales tactics after sending the company your contact information.

What’s the Bottom Line About Freedom Mentor from Phil Pustejovsky?

When it comes down to it, if you’re looking to make more money through real estate investing, is the Freedom Mentor program worthwhile? It seems that it could be, although you should keep the following in mind:

Short Sales Galore

First, it appears the majority of the Freedom Mentor program is focused on purchasing short sales through a variety of channels, including hard money lending. As such, if this isn’t your cup of tea, this may not be the mentorship program you’re looking for.

Steep Price

Next, even if you are interested in short sales, the Freedom Mentor program comes with a steep price tag. While the initial fee appears to be scalable between $1K and $8K depending on your circumstances, you’ll also be responsible for a $200 monthly fee, on top of the 50/50 profit split. Speaking of which, this split will occur until you’ve acquired anywhere from $100K to $500K in profits, again depending on your specific contract. And depending on the types of deals you find and how often you find them, this could translate into a very long—and expensive—relationship.

On top of this, several customers stated that much of the information found in the Freedom Mentor program can be found elsewhere for free, such as online, in books, and by networking with a local REI group.

Unanswered Questions

Despite the amount of time spent researching Freedom Mentor, we’re still left with some fairly important questions, such as: How selective is the application process? Exactly how does the mentorship program help you find deals and obtain financing? With this said, based on customers who had been contacted by a screener, it appears that you’ll undergo multiple calls totaling several hours of talk time, so many of these important questions might be answered at that time.

Mixed Reputation

As we mentioned above, it appears that the Freedom Mentor program has been met with a healthy dose of skepticism from the REI industry in general. To be fair though, the reality is that most of the industry’s “gurus” are more than happy to sell you the biggest dream you can imagine, while often providing very little in the way of lasting results.

However, we read several positive reviews during our research from individuals who claimed to be part of the Freedom Mentor program. Most of these admitted that the price is steep, but that the support they received really helped their real estate businesses move forward.

Bottom line: The Freedom Mentor program definitely doesn’t appear to be a scam, although multiple people have wondered if the high price is ultimately worth it. As such, be sure to ask all the questions you can if you decide to contact the company, and remember that any commitment you make might end up being a very expensive one.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 37 Freedom Mentor Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 32 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Hard Sell

    I was contacted and interviewed by an individual named Travis. When I began asking questions about their "creative" real estate strategies, his demeanor changed and he began to become very pushing and demanding. He even went so far to criticize what progress I had achieved thus far. Don’t expect a very pleasant call from this guy if you have questions and are leery of their agency being a scam. Bottom line, they want money up front. And any hesitation on your part is met with demoralizing rhetoric. Hard sell.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Hostile Sales Representative

    Expecting an apprentice program, I found another Guru.

    Where does this program make all its money?

    Is it real estate deals or LARGE upfront costs?

    The difference between a mentor and a guru lies in those two questions and I found the answer.

    I would rather spend my $5000+ failing and learning from my mistakes. With that much money to play with, I will have much better success elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Bunch of BS

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Nov 17, 2015

    These guys called my phone at least 10 times before I answered and talked to them. Phil is a smart guy, and has some great info on his YouTube channel, but the people calling you? Are you serious? This guy would barely let me talk and didn't answer ANY questions. This guy was all pitch looking for a blind sheep to sell. So if you are one, then this program is for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 18, 2016

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This doesn't sound like my company representative that was calling you, at all! When someone applies to our program, we obviously call them back but if the applicant doesn't respond, we assume that they are no longer interested. Perhaps you are confusing my company with another one?


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • Virginia,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys get you on the phone and make you think it is a prestigious program that will lead you to success. They spew the idea of leveraging your credit card to pay $15K - $25K to get into the program and then get really nasty with you when you are responsible and say credit cards and balance transfers are not smart.

    The bottom line is, if you can't get started yourself to be successful, this program won't make it so 90% of the time. I just got off the phone with a guy named Travis, who called from Freedom Mentor, and who then spent five minutes telling me that I cannot be successful without the program and that I have no common sense for not putting $15K on my credit card.

    I don't doubt Phil is a good guy, but you are paying this guy a quarter million dollars to get started! I hope this post wakes you up and gives you the courage to go do it yourself. After I had said no to this program, I went out and closed two deals, with a few others in the works. Half of that profit would have gone to a guy in Florida that I didn't know. It is scary starting by yourself, but I assure you, there are hundreds of great investors in your area that would love to help you out. I found one really easy and he has become my mentor for FREE! I urge you to do the same.

    To be honest, I would have never written a review about this program, but the phone call I got from them today really pissed me off. The nerve of this Travis guy to call me and get so angry and forceful trying to hard-line sell me and pressure me into thinking that I will fail without them was awful. Their true colors really showed, and I had to write this to hopefully save someone else the trouble.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 18, 2017

      Company Response from Freedom Mentor

      This review is completely inaccurate. We keep very detailed records of all of our team's correspondence with anyone applying to get into our program. This applicant, Joe from Virginia, did not have the conversations with Travis he has recounted in this review. Either Joe is confusing us with another company he has been recently corresponding with, or he is outright fabricating his account altogether.

      Here are the facts. Here is the detailed recount of all of our correspondence with Joe from Virginia:

      01/13/2017, 17:50:34 (2 minute, 20 second call): Let him know that we had received his application and Joe wanted to know a whole lot more about our program, so he was sent free access to a very detailed video course that will answer many of his questions, and then set up a follow-up call in three days.

      01/16/2017, 14:08:25 (33-second call): Joe said he hadn't reviewed the video course yet and asked for a follow-up call later in the week.

      01/21/2017, 14:00:56: Left a voicemail.

      01/23/2017, 17:52:00 (32-second call): Joe said he is was still reviewing the video course and to follow up in a couple of days.

      01/28/2017 09:10:54 (12-second call): Joe said he was driving and couldn't be on the cell phone while driving and said to call back next week.

      01/31/2017, 18:28:25 (5-second call): Joe immediately hung-up iafter picking up the phone.

      That's it. Those are the facts.

      We do not treat applicants the way Joe described. We don't pressure them in any way. In fact, it's the exact opposite. We interview them to see if they are a good fit. We turn away a very large portion of our applicants, and if they can't get it, we provide as many free trainings as we possibly can for them; from hundreds of free video trainings, to a copy of Phil's book for free, etc.

      We hope that every aspiring investor is very successful. We're not a large company so we can't possibly help the vast majority of people who want to be real estate investors. We have to be very selective of who we bring in. This Joe person obviously never even made it past round one of our interview process.

      We do not spew the idea of leveraging one's credit card into join our program. If someone doesn't have the financial wherewithal to join, we encourage them to try to earn the money through a special course that we provide for free on bird-dogging.

      We have no idea why this Joe person would write such an inaccurate account of our company, but perhaps he was corresponding with a different company at the same time he was talking to us? Maybe he was drunk? Who knows. Lastly, since this individual's account of his interactions with our company is completely incorrect, you may want to exercise extreme caution in heeding any of his other advice.


  • 23 out 25 people found this review helpful

    After almost one year, zero deals

    After letting Freedom Mentor charge my credit card with $10,000 in April 2017, start the program, receive all material and follow the instructions, today, after almost one year, I have zero deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Must read review before sign up!

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an ex-student of Freedom Mentor, and my experience was not the best!

    First, when you get involved, they will ask you how much money you currently have access to. They do this to see how much they can get out of you. For example, I told them I was a college student with an inherent sum of $11,000 from my late father. So, in turn, they responded by saying I would need $7,000 (I know I am a dummy) to join the program. If you look at other comments on Freedom Mentor, you will see everyone is paying different prices for the same exact program! I don't know much about having a coaching program; however, that doesn't seem right to me. I wanted to make sure my claims we not invalid, so I did my own research. Pricing people for the same product is not illegal; however, screening people on demographic background, race, gender, income then deciding what to charge is! This is exactly what they do during this so-called "interview process!" The cost plastered around is $3,000 but don’t let them know you have too much money or they might charge you $30,000.

    Second, during the very lengthy interview stage they bait you by saying stuff like "spots are running out" or "we need to ensure you are right for the program, because we only let elite in," and lastly my very favorite is "your initial investment (my $7,000) will be returned to you at the end of your time with Freedom Mentor." Sounds silly right? Well, I'll tell you one thing, they don’t return your investment…they use clever wordplay to make it seem as if you will be returned the money or at least a portion of it. What they are actually saying is "you give me $250,000 and I will give you back your initial investment." I want to break down the last statement, so you understand. Upon joining the program (AFTER YOU PAID) is when they start to break things down.

    1.) Every deal you do you must split 50/50 with them.

    2.) If you try to do a deal behind their back, they will "make an example of you" is what I was told. Even if you do not use anything to do with their program to help with your deal, they will still threaten you.

    3.) Here my favorite part...After you have already sent the money in, they break down the part of "returning your initial investment." You will only be given your initial investment back if you reach the threshold of earning $500,000. Oh by the way you only get $250,000 of all the money you earned since there is a 50/50 split, but don’t worry in exchange for the $250,00 you give them they will give your $7,000 back...isn’t that nice?

    Third, once you buy into the program, they present you with a series of videos. I would guess totaling maybe close to hundreds of hours of video and you are to watch all those, and that is how they teach you how to "work in Real Estate." I don’t want you to mistake me on this, the videos are very informative and can teach you a lot. On top of that they have a messaging system in which you can message them 24/7 and even hop on a coaching call 3 days a week; however, of course in this program, the cons are outweighing the pros on this. Cons as follows:

    1.) Most of your time spent in the program is not live with a person, it is with videos. On top of that, when you finally hop on a coaching call or send a message and get to speak with a live person, the answer to every question is pretty much the same. "Did you check the videos, if you check the videos you will find the answer to that." Gee thanks…

    2.) As I said there is a great messaging system in which you message a coach for assistance! The only problem is they might not respond to you for a couple of days. Sometimes they are quick, but it runs on their time, so they will respond when they have the time. I understand they have their own business to run, but when you spend $7,000 on a program just to be put on a back burner, it doesn’t feel the best. On top of that, in this business speed is key; I couldn’t even begin to count how many deals I lost out on because I had no guidance until days later.

    3.) Coaching calls/private calls are great! They are a good way to speak live to a person and get questions answered. If, of course, they do not refer you to the videos/blueprint.

    Now let’s talk about the videos they provide. The videos are very informative, and I will stand that, but of course, there is an issue that follows. About 50% of the videos are great, the other 50% are so outdated it's not even funny. Imagine paying $7,000 to watch videos from literally 10 years ago. I mean soo much has changed it makes the videos literally useless. When you hop on a coaching call every other person will complain about how outdated the videos are and their response will remain the same throughout the entirety of your stay in the program "we will let someone know."

    I could probably go on for about another 4 pages about the flaws in the program, but I think you get most of it. This program is not looking to help you further your success. Their only concern is money, money, money. It's $7,0000 upfront (depending on how much money you have), 50% of all your profit, and $197 a month (after your 3-month trial), and without naming names the person who is supposed to answer your questions about the program will only respond to your email if you are talking about giving them money. Whether instructed to or not, you will only get a response from support if you are looking to give them money.

    That is the conclusion of my review. I was lucky and was able to learn Real Estate from another who taught me everything! Not just the basics like Freedom Mentor, and I will make money back and have time to recover as I am still in college; however, you might not be as fortunate. There are other plans out there who will do more for you for a couple hundred a month so tread lightly with this program, because THEY DO WANT YOU, THEY WANT YOUR MONEY.

    P.S. The good reviews you see are people I recognize as COACHES IN THE PROGRAM. Not ex-students. Isn’t that interesting. You will also see all reviews are from YEARS ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bogus! Beware! Don't lose your money before you even begin...

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don’t understand who could be that dumb to sign up for this program with the terms that they have. Here is how it works:

    You pay the hefty amount of money upfront, $25000.00, to get "Education" (that is available for free on other sources), and then you pay them HALF of what you make, HALF! You find leads, you find financing (IF you are lucky, they will lend you money on interest), you deal with repairs selling and assume ALL the risk there is AND THEN they will come in and take HALF. Why? Because they gave you education and support which you have paid heavily.

    After my initial consultation, when I said NO to the "director' who was talking to me, he started basing my current situation. I ran away and never looked back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Authentic

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jun 25, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a very different experience than what Lisa wrote in her review. There was no pressure. Instead, it matched up with what Michael Lear wrote. I really wanted to join but was turned down due to my location being Tulsa, OK. Apparently Phil already has a successful student in the area that is doing very well. I can assure you I have plenty of money, was more than willing to pay for the $15,000 level program and still got turned down. So I'm very disappointed I couldn't get in but I agree with Michael's comments that Phil is the real deal. For someone to turn away $15,000 to ensure an existing student doesn't have direct competition is putting your money where your mouth is. Say what you will about him, but I love his YouTube videos and have now experienced that he is authentic, even if it didn't work out for the best for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • Sep 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Phil’s teachings helped me earn my first $2,750 (CAD) yesterday. You're amazing Phi,l keep up the great work. God bless you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great Results

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Phil's methods with great results and for the past year and a half me and my family have bought 5 apartments.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    An excellent program, really great mentoring

    The “Real Deal” comment by Michael said it all. The author of this webpage probably did the best he could with the fragments of information online he could piece together but he didn’t provide an accurate and authoritative description.

    Joining Freedom Mentor was the best real estate decision I have ever made. Phil and his team are operating on a totally different level than anyone else out there. I know this because I beat out competitors that have been in my area for 10 years more than me and have far more connections and cash. When you work with the best, you can become the best yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Freedom Mentor!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review